242

4.2 based on 242 customer reviews

145
56
13
11
17
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Almost does what is says on the box

BDP-S6700 16/07/2016 by Madonminis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to use and set up. Only complaint is that BBC iPlayer doesn't work

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Complicated to set up with TalkTalk router

BDP-S6700 13/12/2016 by Argon Estate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was very complicated to set up using a TalkTalk router because (as we eventually discovered after struggling for two days) the IPS needed to be changed to get internet connection. Once that was sorted the product worked fine and was easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

242 Customer Reviews

0

Upgrade

BDPS6700 23/06/2018 by Gmans (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Last sony quit after 5 yrs,upgraded to this one.So far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Blu-ray player

BDPS6700 22/06/2018 by SCPORET (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased online. I’ve never owned a player much less one that could stream movies and tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

worked great for 2 days then...

BDP-S6700 22/06/2018 by Bill D (USA)

I bought this for my aunt. I hooked it up and it worked great. Watched Gone with the Wind and several family dvds. Then the screen went black. The input showed that the TV recognized the player, but there was no picture. Same thing happened with the exchange.

0

0

0

Where are the “hundreds of apps”??

BDP-S6700 19/06/2018 by Ted d (USA)

No amazon app unless you have prime... no JW broadcasting app... only 30 or 40 apps

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good, but can't get the volume to work via remote

BDPS6700 18/06/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product. Quick to set up basic functionality, but had some problems trying to get it to work with my stereo. Wasn't clear fromthe sparse documentation that I needed a separate audio cable in addition to the HDMI cable in order to get sould to go through the stereo speakers. I found this out only by checking a YouTube video NOT supplied by Sony. The only other thing I still cant get working is the volume control on the remote - it doesn't work. I have to get up, go to the TV, and adjust the volume,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great upgrade, great value.

BDPS6700 15/06/2018 by art b (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this unit to replace one of the original blu-rays. Smaller, better, less expensive, top performer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice

BDPS6700 14/06/2018 by Jbcss68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed something to stream and this filled the bill at a good price. Haven’t decided on 4K yet but we will see. The picture on my 60” SXRD is pretty darn good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Generally pleased, but some disappointment to.

BDP-S6700 13/06/2018 by ETheRED (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All mostly well with this Blu Ray DVD player. Choose it since it plays most DVD formats (eg DVD+R &DVD -R etc), but be aware that apparently will not play DVD+R unless recording is finalised. So much for some of my old family video recordings then!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great unit

BDPS6700 11/06/2018 by Apain (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced older unit with a bluethooth featured one, great player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Features awesome

BDPS6700 11/06/2018 by Chase 23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a DVD player that played all dvd and that was 4K to go with my new 4K tv and I was beyond impressed with this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good Disc Player

BDPS6700 09/06/2018 by dukester666 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this dvd player because the dvd part of my current combo player is not functioning properly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

great

BDPS6700 05/06/2018 by warriorap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this blu ray player works great. i wish it came with programming the remote instructions and better instructions for set up, but it works fine after you get someone to help you set it up. calling the # didn't work at all. had to get a friend to tell me what steps to follow. still don't have the remote programmed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Overall so far so good

BDPS6700 04/06/2018 by Oldedg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received BR Disc Player and was easy to set up and use immediately

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fairly easy set up!

BDPS6700 03/06/2018 by Studley Hungwell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Plays well for just out of the box with very good features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great product, if you have remote and wifi

BDP-S6700 02/06/2018 by Radioguy1977 (USA)

We do love the product. However, when we took it to our vacation home, we didn’t bring our remote. Wish there was a panel for basic operations. We tried the remote control app that Sony recommended, but we needed a home WiFi connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

POWER BUTTON SUCKS

BDPS6700 02/06/2018 by ZELDA123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE REASON I GAVE 2 STARS IS THAT ONCE YOU TURN OFF THE POWER AND YOU WOULD NEVER TURN IT BACK ON.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Easy to use

BDPS6700 28/05/2018 by Trish10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loving the ease to go to Netflix, Prime etc! Very easy to set up!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Blu-Ray

BDPS6700 28/05/2018 by agreene2102 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a DVD Blu-Ray player that included access to the internet, and this fit my needs. I am a fan of Sony products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A major PAIN

bdps6700-ca 25/05/2018 by RDHunt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the 5th replacement...even upgraded. Every model does the same thing. Freezes up so I have to unplug/plug back in. Now the youtube doesn't work. Rewind something I'm watching..then the sound won't return.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brand new Blu-ray that doesn't get YouTube

BDPS6700 21/05/2018 by Psax (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Blu-ray. Watched YouTube for 2 weeks then it freezes with the YouTube logo when I try to strean it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

BDPS6700 21/05/2018 by ccra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A few weeks back we bought one Sony DVD player and liked it so much we have purchased two more for our other rooms with televisions. It's easy to hook up to the internet and the remote is easy to use. Also, it automatically connects to the television eliminating the need for more than one remote!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful Picture

BDPS6700 20/05/2018 by Nashboro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Blue-ray player about a month ago from Amazon. Hook up was super easy. The picture quality generated from this player is incredible. I do not have a 4K tv, but I am certain the upscaling feature dramatically improved the picture quality on my hi-def, 1080P tv. The smart feature is a wonderful addition to the player. It worked flawlessly when I opened Netflix.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

4K Upscaling great

BDPS6700 12/05/2018 by The Old Guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this model to improve viewing with 4K Upscaling since we are streaming Cubs games almost every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Plenty of features, great picture

BDP-S6700 10/05/2018 by PS001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about four weeks ago. Was simple to install using wireless WiFi. Mine was bought in Greece with Greek instructions but it was easy to download a manual in English and other languages.....but controls are user friendly and straightforward. Picture is a definite improvement on the old machine it replaced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features & I can use my blutooth

BDPS6700 28/04/2018 by Sjtoole79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth capacity & not bulky. Very easy to install plus now I can take it anywhere

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES, GOOD SIZE

BDPS6700 22/04/2018 by ARTIE 72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BROUGHT THIS PLAYER ABOUT A , MONTH AGO AND I JUST LOVED THIS PLAYER...CUSTOMER SVCE WAS GREAT AND VERY HELPFUL....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little player

BDPS6700 18/04/2018 by D234 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this bluray player because it's small, compact, and can do a lot. I use it to watch my dvds and stream shows. It's quick and easy to set up and super easy to use. The only thing is that it seems to freeze up from time to time. Usually turning it off and on works but sometimes I have to unplug it to get it to turn off. Otherwise it's a handy and compact player.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Like the wireless internet feature

BDPS6700 17/04/2018 by Bob268 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second blueray dvd player with wifi that I purchased this year. The first one stopped working 94 days after I bought it. Hopefully this new one will last at least 95 days, or more. If not, Samsung gets my next purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent blu ray & dvd player

BDP-S6700 17/04/2018 by Simon H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this unit for a couple of weeks now and have been delighted with the quality of the picture and the features. Superb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A lot in a small package

BDPS6700 16/04/2018 by Tazbat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect compliment to our smart tv. Easy to install and setup

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect

BDP-S6700 15/04/2018 by dougdraws (USA)

I bought this player because of the built-in bluetooth. I have a pair of Bose QC35 headphones and I wanted to be able to use them while I was watching movies. First initial hookup was fine, but then after I hit "pause" and was gone for a while when I came back the headphones had lost connection and I had to repair them. This happened again numerous times and is quite annoying. It's great when it works. Second issue is that the disc would not eject (using the button on the remote) and the button on the unit wouldn't eject the disc, either. All for all it's a decent blu-ray player and I do have pairing issues with the Bose on my computer sometimes so that's totally the fault of the player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Compact Wonder Machine

BDP-S6700 12/04/2018 by Windmilltilter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible performance from a deceptively small package. With picture quality so good you feel like you could walk into the picture. And superb upscaling means legacy dvds still have a life. Then as if that were not enough it also streams online media content effortlessly. Yes it is another Sony miracle of technology !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, simple setup

BDPS6700 11/04/2018 by NicProc072 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was needing a new BR player that was compatible my home theater that I just purchased, didn't have much money to spend. I'm glad I found this one

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for Blu-Rays and upscaling DVDs

BDP-S6700 09/04/2018 by DJS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent Blu-ray player at a reasonable price. The picture and sound quality on Blu-rays is as good as you would expect and the upscaling of DVDs is so good you won't feel the temptation to upgrade all your DVDs to Blu-rays - so it could save you money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great budget option

BDP-S6700 09/04/2018 by KeithRan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to connect to my small front room Sony TV. Picture quality and Sound (through Soundbar) are very good. Also has Netflix, BBC iPlayer, YouTube and a few additional services that I don't use. The additional services work well but the interface is slow and a bit clunky

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent player

BDPS6700 06/04/2018 by MUDDERBEHR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player does everything well. It is also very easy to install.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Picture

BDPS6700 04/04/2018 by Rastlin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great blue ray player the 4K UHD Upscale makes a big difference the picture quality is wonderfully good!!! very happy that I bought it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

S6700 Blu-Ray DVD Player

BDP-S6700 04/04/2018 by R E G (Canada)

Purchased this item 3 weeks ago, and am very happy with the easy setup, and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/04/2018

Hi R E G,

We are glad to hear that you're happy with your purchase, thank you for choosing Sony!

0

Not enough info

BDP-S6700 02/04/2018 by JCS1 (USA)

Bought this to play the latest 4k discs and upscale regular blu rays. Why would a player that says 4k on the box only upscale and not play 4k discs?? Like I know the difference. Technology changes all the time Sony, when you come out with a product you need to be clear about what it can and can't do!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

great product i am enjoying my dvd player

BDPS6700 30/03/2018 by gherring (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i just bought this today and it was easy to set up ,i am very happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture and sound.

BDP-S6700 30/03/2018 by SonyP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I can operate it over wifi using TV Sideview. It works very well, has good had picture and surround sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great blu ray player

BDPS6700 25/03/2018 by Ronnie627 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy hook up and workability. Great features, great picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value.

BDPS6700 22/03/2018 by GW Jones (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned Sony for years and matched perfectly. ******

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BDP-S6700/BM

BDPS6700 22/03/2018 by irate irate (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The unit froze during the first software update. Searched the internet and found that other users experienced the same issue. Could not find a viable solution.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony forever

BDPS6700 21/03/2018 by Br43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this unit for a month and I am happy to say that I am very satisfied with it. Sony has been reliable for me since the 60’s. I am encouraged to see that Sony has maintained integrity for such a long time. Keep up the great job, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty good Blu-ray player

BDP-S6700 21/03/2018 by RichC72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall a decent, compact Blu-ray player, easy to set up and use, good internet apps. My only criticism is that it makes a bit of noise when a disc is spinning. Could Sony please update the firmware to turn off the disc drive when using an app (like my old BDP-S1500 did) which would help this situation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blue ray with 4 k upscale

BDP-S6700 20/03/2018 by Sweep100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product. Bought to replace old Blueray player. Excellent picture also plays cds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the features

BDPS6700 19/03/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not sure If I wanted to spend the extra money for a Bluray player. But it was worth it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice product.

BDPS6700 15/03/2018 by sparker8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd have given it 5 stars were it not for the hassle of not connecting to the internet after a power outage. Apparently this is a common issue from what I've read online. It shouldn't be this much of a headache.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great smart tv aps

BDPS6700 13/03/2018 by Choza (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is very versatile and small. Has a lot of fixtures and works great even with no branded different format discs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Far superior audio and video quality

BDP-S6700 13/03/2018 by WWye (USA)

Got this as an upgrade to put in place of a 3700, whose thin sound left something to be desired through our AV system. This is far richer in both sound and vision, especially where upscaling is involved. It also loads menus and responds to commands faster. Sony doesn't make it all that obvious in the specs how superior the 6700 is to the 3700, and most reviewers don't even address audio quality. Yet even though the AV handles the decoding, the difference in the signal delivered to that stage is large enough to make an immense difference. Probably wouldn't be noticeable if using the TV's speakers, but through a good sound system, an essential improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Registration review

BDPS6700 07/03/2018 by DLC1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

works good,but language instructions are in brazilian or portugese. have not been able to change to english.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

0

0

0

No sound after 3 months

BDP-S6700 06/03/2018 by MaggieSue (USA)

I've only had this for about 3-4 months (but past the return date) and the sound no longer works. I have it connected with an HDMI cord to my tv and have tried both HDMI ports on the tv and it still won't work. I had it happen 2 or 3 times at the beginning but after unplugging it and plugging back in, the sound would work again. Well now it won't work at all no matter what I've tried and I can't find anything else to try. I'm very disappointed because it seemed like a good little device with all the features we'd ever need.

1

0

0

Assume Streaming over Fiber

BDP-S6700 05/03/2018 by Computer John (USA)

I purchased this because I needed a DVD and I needed a streaming solution that would avoid WIFI - I have 1G Fiber to the House - so I needed an Ethernet and CAT6 to my ONT (Optical Network Terminator) so no excuses! performance on HULU / YouTube - exceeds my expectations. I have an EUG LED Projector - so mission accomplished!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Missing a Web Browser - otherwise Excellent

BDPS6700 05/03/2018 by sovin (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought the unit 2 weeks ago. i am connected via wi-fi and am using it with the logitech wireless keyboard. i am VERY HAPPY with all the available dvd-player features (Netflix for example is just fabulous) except: it does NOT have a web browser - this was one of my reasons for the purchase - the S6500 for example does have it, but i did not check the S6700 specifically.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to Set-Up and Use...

BDPS6700 03/03/2018 by MmeMoxie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Blu-Ray Sony for several reasons. First of all, it plays Blu-Ray Discs. Secondly, it is a Wireless WiFi unit, so I can use my Amazon Video and Netflix programs. All of this in one simple to use unit! It was very easy to set-up for simply using DVD discs. Then to set-up WiFi was also easy to do. Using the Smart Apps is wonderful, since I do not have a Smart TV. I do have a 1080p on my TV, so I can see things in HD. Should I ever purchase a 4K TV, my Sony Blu-Ray DVD player can do 4K. I also like that this Sony Blu-Ray DVD Disc Player is low in height and can fit in low height places. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase and again, Sony's reputation is superb and fulfills all of my needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simplicity with Quality

BDP-S6700 03/03/2018 by Chris590 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this player after purchasing a new Sony television, set up was easy and uncomplicated. Quality of product isn't in doubt as with all the Sony goods I have purchased over the years - excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony bravia,, 43 "" "inch excel tv only griis hdmi

BDP-S6700 27/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased oursony bravia excellent TV only gripe is hdmi only,, 2

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Blu-ray player ever!

BDPS6700 25/02/2018 by Bernie shytownone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this player set up was a breeze the features are listed to the right no more scrolling I like this player so much I bought 2 more. It is so compact takes up very little space.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good. Some concerns.

BDPS6700 24/02/2018 by Moose14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit because I needed a DVD player that could provide MLB-TV Premium programming. The season has begun and streaming keeps pausing and restarting. I also lose video at times. Maybe it’s a MLB-TV problem??? It has worked well for DVD’s and Netflix. Amazon Prime has been a problem. When first put on the audio sputters and I have to keep restarting the player and app. Hopefully, the glitches will go away.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0