41

3.8 based on 41 customer reviews

21
4
8
1
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good quality player

UBP-X1100ES 15/08/2019 by One Happy Camper (USA)

Dolby Vision auto-detect is missing, so minus one star. Other than that, this thing is a champ. I use it a lot to play SACD's. It works flawlessly. The remote has all the functionality I need and more. It has a wide variety of digital and analog outputs which has proven to be very useful. I really like the minimalistic design. One of the most important things to me when buying electronic components is the customer support. There is no one who does it better than Sony. I can get a live, intelligent person on the phone without having to navigate a maddening menu. All Sony needs to do is release a firmware update for the DV auto-detect and I'd gladly give them their star back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unbelievable there is no Dobly Vision auto-detect!

UBP-X1100ES 12/08/2019 by Super Mega (USA)

Imagine how super annoying it is to have to closely investigate all of the video formats on your UHD blu-ray disc just to see if it supports Dolby Vision, then you have to completely exit to the system menu and toggle it to Dolby Vision output. Next time you watch a movie, rinse and repeat. Oh don't forget that you *must* go into that menu every time you put in a disc just to check which mode it is in, lest you start watching in the wrong mode! Terrible, Sony. This is supposed to be a high end device. So can this be fixed with a firmware update? If not, it's going back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

29

3

41 Customer Reviews

0

Great deck

UBPX1100ES 17/11/2020 by 3bob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really nice deck..not cheaply made...I own the 1000 model .. thought it was nice..this is a great upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My kinda machine!

UBPX1100ES 11/11/2020 by Doug64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this now for nearly a month. I've been a home theatre audio/video nut job since 1990. I remember when Blu Ray first came out. I was working @ Tweeter in Dallas Texas. It was a a Pioneer that we got first. They took what seemed like forever to load a disc? Those days are long gone with this Sony UPB-X1100 ES! It loads ridiculously fast! It is super responsive and plays just about anything you can throw at it? I've only found 1 type of format that it doesn't support, and that is HDCD. Many of you will not even know what that is, so don't concern yourself @ all. It was a format was used on just a few thousand cd titles that basically remastered the album and gave it a MUCH more lush PRESENCE!! If you have never heard one, try to find a way to do so! Moving on, this player throws an amazing image on my new Sony Bravia X950H 65 inch tv! The sound quality is very impressive using my Denon AVR 5803 with the full suite of JBL STUDIO 590'S, 530'S and the matching centre channel. Throw in the SVS SB-3000 subwoofer and, well, you gave visual/audio nirvana! The streaming in this thing is just nutz? STUNNINGLY GORGEOUS! But I am pushing 866 mbps, so I'm sure that helps? Throw in a 3 year warranty and you CANNOT go wrong!! Since OPPO and Samsung has bowed out, this is as good as a machine as you can get!! I'm EXTREMELY HAPPY with my purchase!! I believe you will be too!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SACD misleading

UBPX1100ES 24/10/2020 by Bigorangebuzzy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent the extra money to get this highly rated 4K DVD player from Sony. The main reason for the upgrade was to get the ability to play SACD’s(super audio). What they don’t tell you is that your receiver must also be able to play SACD’s. The music does come through but it’s terrible. I could go on but I won’t.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

The player with the most versatility in the market

UBPX1100ES 17/10/2020 by Humberto3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The cleanest resolution on all media: Not only on CDs and SACDs, but on DVD-Audio, Blue Ray-Audio and...WAV files of all resolutions: from 48 to 192 kHz!!! I am an audiophile and I became such a fan of this product; that I bought this second unit after 10 days from purchasing the first one!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

No video out-or-the box!

UBP-X1100ES 17/10/2020 by jehill39a (USA)

I finally replaced my ancient BDP-S1 with a UBP-X1100ES, S/N 7011911-6, on Thursday, 10/14/2020. I couldn't perform "Easy Setup" because there was no video output! I had to remove the sticker over HDMI-2 and plug my HDMI cable into it to get video. A message similar to the following appeared: HDMI-1 is video only HDMI-2 is audio only I then moved my HDMI cable back to HDMI-1 and proceeded with "Easy Setup". Others may have returned the unit when they discovered no video. I suspect that this issue is the result of a software error in the latest firmware update. No update was offered, so I assume the latest update is installed. Other than that, the unit appears to work perfectly. I tried CDs, DVDs, SACDs and BDs and all were ready to play instantly and did so flawlessly. The same is true for AVCHD videos and pictures that I have stored on my file server. I am unable to test the 4K features because I only have a 2K Bravia. Overall, I am very pleased with the performance of the unit. I am very pleased with the unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

"Best" Players Only Average Without Slo mo & Zoom

UBP-X1100ES 15/09/2020 by DPED Dan (USA)

As many have long enjoyed from DVD players, wide range slow motion and zoom on the fly control can provide a more varied and intimate connection with visual content. Sadly, thanks to locks imposed by the Blu-Ray Association's BD authoring software (Java BD-J) and licensing that forces compliance on hardware player brands, these slow motion and/or zoom features are disabled when playing most BDs. Even worse, with very rare exceptions most current BD player models have no slow motion and zoom controls at all, denying users such functionality even with DVD playback. The Pioneer UDP-LX500 is the only exception. It also has variable audio level remote control of its stereo outputs and many other features, though it sells for nearly twice the price of Sony's best BD player model. However, as zoom and slow motion are essential features I reluctantly purchased it. And most importantly, unlike the excellent Oppo players, the LX500 allows the user to move the zoomed image to center any part of it on the screen-just like my JVC XV-NA70BK DVD player can from 2004. I will likely be looking for a BD player next year to build a second home theater system. Hopefully, Sony will then have a BD player with "on the fly" 5-step zoom and 4-step slow motion control, movable zoomed image control and variable audio level remote control of its stereo outputs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

7

0

The 4K DVD players do not work

UBP-X1100ES 30/08/2020 by RayK3303 (USA)

I have both an 800 and an 1100 player and both of them skip and jump and get hung up when playing 4K movies. I have this problem with at least 85% of my disk even new disk and when I put the disk in my Denon player it plays fine without any issues.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

10

0

100Mb wired network? Really Sony?

UBP-X1100ES 05/08/2020 by Gmoney1971 (USA)

I understand that you want to leverage between high and low end players, but putting a 100Mb wired controller on this unit really doesn't cut it Sony. I have 4k files I stream that barf on wired and play fine one wireless. Not acceptable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

15

0

Beyond my expectations

UBPX1100ES 24/07/2020 by Felixgeek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased it for the SACD player and got so much more. It is great with my 4K TV also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

15

0

Amazing resolution and clarity.

UBP-X1100ES 14/05/2020 by WoodyB (USA)

This is quite a substantial piece of equipment with some really impressive technology that really makes your images and audio quite superior. I was initially amazed at the weight and sturdiness of the assembly, this thing is really solid and not much about it seems cheap or flimsy. It has more than the inputs and outputs in a variety of formats than I can use with the other equipment I have it hooked up to. I am currently not using a Sony TV or Sound system but it appears that if I were, the setup would be even more seamless. Sony's up scaling technology has never been anything but the best. There are no disappointments here, even with DVD's trans-coded to single layer low res copies of dual layer HD DVD's or blue ray disks, still got a really acceptable picture. Drop in a Blu Ray disk and the results are stunning, drop in a 4k UHD and the results are spectacular. Start up was seamless, plug in your cables, hook up your LAN cable, plug it in and turn it on. It finds your network, logs on, downloads any updates and you are ready to go. It does start out very good with the default settings and then gives you a lot of options to further tune up your video and audio settings to customize your setup for optimum performance for the other components you have it connected to. This did take some time but was accomplished with a bit of trial and error to really tune it in to my preferences, and I accomplished this while watching a pile of movies without any real issues and was able to return to my films easily to see the results of my tune up changes or easily go back to change or reset them. It was apparent very early on that this player is customized for a professional installer who can set it up to an exact set of specs for their equipment's specifications, the player does have additional inputs that I don't have the equipment to access their functions. If you would like to go down that path there are lot of vendors that can do this for you, a web search will help you find them. I will say that setting it up myself so it looks really good for the way I want it to look and sound was not a big deal, and with little effort I have it tuned in to a really impressive playback machine. It does have some options to access media from a USB input, a media server, and a few pre selected streaming services but a very limited selection, however this is a 4k UHD player and not a full blown media center and the disk player portion of this is amazing. The compatibility list of disk types and formats supported is extensive, I wasn't able to find a single disk in my collection that was not on the list. The IR remote that comes with this player is truly my biggest disappointment with an otherwise excellent player. Cheesy build on the remote for this quality of the player, lame or non existent compatibility with my other devices. I was able to eventually figure out how to get it to sort of work with my TV but the only functions that I can access are volume, and power, I cannot access any of the functions on my AV receiver. It is not programmable and most of the functions that control the player are only accessible through the remote, the player doesn't have any buttons to push to access the player functions other than open/ close, on/off. So it's obvious that this machine is really engineered to be part of a home theater installation professionally installed and set up, and controlled by a proprietary remote or computer control system, So not going that way for my setup, I now have a several remotes I need to use just to watch a disk. However my biggest concern is that if the cheesy remote that shipped with a spectacular player fails, the player is basically dead as well. I also spent some time verifying the compatibility of the disk types listed in the specifications and played every type and format I had available, including some DVD's and Blu Rays that I burned that failed. These were known bad disks that on my previous Sony Blu Ray player would stop playing, occasionally with an error message, I could then eject the disk, put in another and continue. This player on the other hand just crashes completely, locks up, none of the buttons on the remote or the player have any response. The only fix I found was to unplug the player for a short time and when I plugged it back in everything worked normally. This thing also locked up after a power outage and the power came back on after several on and off events. The player was locked up solid, but again unplugging and re plugging corrected that. It's hard to understand how this player is in the under $1000.00 category. When evaluated against players in the above 1K range it compares well to them for build and output. It is solidly built, looks professional, offers a large array of options to help tune in your images to your exact liking, plays a huge variety of disk types and formats and makes them look really amazingly sharp and clear. Playback of a 4k UHD disk is stunning, and the up-scaling of lower resolution formats makes them look superior to any of my other players. The quality of the build and the quality of the image surpassed my expectations significantly. This is a great player, well worth the price and the build quality leads me to believe that what I see on the outside carries over to the really important parts inside as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

38

0

Awesome player

UBPX1100ES 23/04/2020 by colombiashae (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great 4k Blu-ray player, has all the features you would ever want and plays almost any optical disc format. So far I've tried CD's, DVD's, Blu-rays, and UHD Blu-rays all without any problems. The picture quality is incredible and it does upscale everything to 4k. My only criticism is a minor one: there is no automatic detection of Dolby Vision but it's not a big deal and I got used to it relatively quick. Overall I do think this is the best 4k Blu-ray Player you can buy since it's right in the middle of the price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

33

0

My second Sony 4k player

UBPX1100ES 23/04/2020 by Alabama MM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased with a Z9F television. Works great, No complaints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

30

0

Easy to set up

UBPX1100ES 17/03/2020 by Raviyaa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good SACD player.. Blu-ray excellent sound and video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

36

0

Freezes when playing UHD Discs

UBP-X1100ES 05/03/2020 by sonyman3030 (USA)

This is the 3rd model Sony UHU BluRay Player I’ve had. I previously had the UBP- X700 and the UBP -X800M2. All 3 models have the same problem. They intermittently freeze during playback only when watching UHD discs. I’ve gone through all the troubleshooting and spoke to support and nothing has fixed the issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

35

0

Nothing special

UBPX1100ES 02/03/2020 by Kennyg71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It works. The graphics for the setup screen and selection screen look like they’re from the 90’s. I’m not sure that this is any better than a cheap 4K player.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

35

0

Freezes when playing SACD and HDMI CEC is used

UBPX1100ES 23/02/2020 by jsaito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Steps to freeze the player: 1. Hook up the player and the TV with HDMI CEC so the TV remote can be used to control the player 2. Play SACD 3. Turn off the power with the TV remote. With HDMI CEC, it should turn off power of the TV and the player. 4. Open the disc tray using eject button on the player 5. Turn on the TV using TV remote, make sure the player's menu is controllable with TV remote 6. The disc tray is frozen in place, no matter what you do. You cannot even turn off the power at this point, The only way around is to unplug the power and plug it back in. I confirmed this only happens with SACDs, not with CDs or blu-rays. This bug is already reported over the Sony support service phone call under case #05814453.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

28

0

Excellent Blu-ray Player!!

UBP-X1100ES 09/02/2020 by rafael6867 (USA)

Having just purchased the Sony UBP-X1100ES blu-ray player, what can I say but WOW!! The picture and sound are Pristine!! Not a deal breaker for me that it doesn't automatically switch to Dolby Vision!! I see everyone making it a big deal but I'm fine with it! The player loads fast and it is SUPER quiet when playing a disc. It also has tons of features when it comes to tweaking the video and audio contents. Regarding the fact that it only comes with 3 apps, again not a deal breaker! To me, this product is first and foremost a blu-ray player and not a streaming machine! I use my Smart TV if I want to stream content and not the player. Sony? You have really outdone yourselves this time with this wonderful player and No One does it better than Sony!! If you want the Best that's out there, this doesn't get any better guys!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

29

0

Improved picture

UBPX1100ES 30/01/2020 by TolzerVman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace an LG Bluray player. I have not watched a 4k blu-ray DVD yet, but this definitely improves my DVDs and ordinary Blu-rays. I do watch this on a Sony OLED A8F. I also like how the tv automatically named the input and comes on when I start the DVD player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

excellent audio and vidio performance

UBPX1100ES 25/01/2020 by WRH1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good solid build quality, have an extensive sacd collection, and it plays beautifully, no harshness, great dynamics. So happy that Sony still chooses to include sacd playback capability. My only disappointment was that the track display is way too dim, even when set on its highest setting. I use this player mostly for music, and don't want to turn on my 75 inch TV everytime I pay cds, so I can find track I want to play. The display can not be read across room so this was a disappointment for me. For others, it may not be an issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

9

0

Great AQ/PQ

UBPX1100ES 21/01/2020 by 4runner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm happy with the unit so far. I replaced a UX-80 and am pleased with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

No Apps

UBP-X1100ES 12/01/2020 by NVsarge (USA)

Very disappointed the functionally I enjoyed with the 1000ES is gone with this unit. No app install option (Hulu, Disney, XM, etc.), limited to 3 streaming services (two of which I have no interest). Outstanding picture and audio though. Returning and re-racking the 1000ES.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

Outstanding video and audio quality - No Apps

UBPX1100ES 12/01/2020 by Steve 911 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing video and audio throughput, makes my purchase of an OLED so much more worthwhile. Easy to setup, lots of auto tuned features so you do not have to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to optimize video/audio settings. Sadly lacking in apps to utilize other streaming sources - a bitter realization at this price point. On the Apps that come on this product for network streaming, picture/sound/no latency is impressive. Again, only 3 services that work with this product - a serious design flaw.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Still Curious about Streaming

UBPX1100ES 04/01/2020 by manniquin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still Curious about Streaming. one of the reasons to buy this was to have the ability to stream Disney +... So far, it 'appears' that will not be possible with this device. But I did need a new 4K player and OPPO jumped out of the market, so I went with Sony. The TV has worked flawlessly for a year

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

8

0

Great product

UBPX1100ES 31/12/2019 by James BNC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, so far I have it for a month and all works well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

4K Blu-ray to blow you away!

UBPX1100ES 16/12/2019 by Kitchenman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently installed my new UBP-X1100ES as a upgrade from my two year old Sony UBP-X800 Blu-ray player. The new model offered faster starts, a picture upgrade and additional analog RCA outputs. The build quality is excellent and it fit into my equipment setup with ease.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

8

0

Works great. Very fast. Great features.

UBPX1100ES 05/12/2019 by TRex67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This replaced a UBP-800 and it's been a great replacement. I've only used it about 2 weeks but so far it's amazing. The picture quality is awesome. The speed of power on to ready is super-fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Great Sound and Great Picture

UBPX1100ES 07/11/2019 by JDawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I mostly use this unit for listening to SACDs. It does a great job and is so much better than other models that play CDs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Freezing up after 4 months of ownership

UBP-X1100ES 01/11/2019 by retroalli (USA)

I bought this player as soon as it came out and have been very pleased with its performance and video quality but, after four months, it has now frozen up and shut itself down three times in one week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

8

4

0

Steaming what happened!!

UBP-X1100ES 28/10/2019 by Audio Video Innovations (USA)

I had the UBP-1000ES and it had a issue of rebooting every now and then so Sony was very nice to send a replacement the UBP-X1100ES. But the home page is very basic and only has netflix / amazon / and youtube. were is everything else?

7

10

0

Great features and exceptional build quality

UBPX1100ES 23/09/2019 by Dreday1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine a month ago and I love it The player is built like a tank with awesome features and picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

0

Best DVD Player for OLED Television

UBPX1100ES 21/09/2019 by Follower of Christ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Movies load quickly and the navigation is easy. The available apps are easy to maneuver. Easy to set up. I have a nice receiver, but it is pre-UHD passthrough. This DVD player allows me to send UHD signal to TV, separate from audio so I'm still able to get the best picture with great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

Freezes

UBP-X1100ES 16/09/2019 by techplayer (USA)

This is the 3rd model Sony UHD Blu-Ray Player I have purchased and they all Intermittently freeze during playback of UHD discs.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

6

0

Look for that Dolby Vision logo on the Disc's Case

UBP-X1100ES 29/08/2019 by Bravo Bravia (USA)

How ridiculous would this sound (see title)? Sony, please push a firmware update to let this 4k blu-ray player auto-detect Dolby Vision as we customers are not spending high dollars and still having to do this MANUAL work! It's supposed to be your flagship and we're in year 2019 now! Get your act together and have this fixed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

18

3

0

Good quality player

UBP-X1100ES 15/08/2019 by One Happy Camper (USA)

Dolby Vision auto-detect is missing, so minus one star. Other than that, this thing is a champ. I use it a lot to play SACD's. It works flawlessly. The remote has all the functionality I need and more. It has a wide variety of digital and analog outputs which has proven to be very useful. I really like the minimalistic design. One of the most important things to me when buying electronic components is the customer support. There is no one who does it better than Sony. I can get a live, intelligent person on the phone without having to navigate a maddening menu. All Sony needs to do is release a firmware update for the DV auto-detect and I'd gladly give them their star back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

0

Unbelievable there is no Dobly Vision auto-detect!

UBP-X1100ES 12/08/2019 by Super Mega (USA)

Imagine how super annoying it is to have to closely investigate all of the video formats on your UHD blu-ray disc just to see if it supports Dolby Vision, then you have to completely exit to the system menu and toggle it to Dolby Vision output. Next time you watch a movie, rinse and repeat. Oh don't forget that you *must* go into that menu every time you put in a disc just to check which mode it is in, lest you start watching in the wrong mode! Terrible, Sony. This is supposed to be a high end device. So can this be fixed with a firmware update? If not, it's going back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

29

3

0

Superb picture quality

UBPX1100ES 08/08/2019 by pyue (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

All in all, UBP-X1100ES is a remarkable machine. Since this is a high end UHD Blu-ray player, I suppose that the owners of this machine likely pair it with a decent 4K TV though not mandatory. I have some UHD Blu-ray discs with 4K/60p 4:2:0/10bit source contents. When I play those discs, UBP-X1100ES downgrades them from 10bit to 8bit. In order to get the most (4K/60p 4:4:4/12bit) out of UBP-X1100ES, I need to switch my TV (Sony XBR-77A9G) external input from 4K HDMI "standard format" to "enhanced format". However, this high bandwidth setting may upset other 4K devices (such as Fibe TV box from Bell Canada) connected to the same AV hub/receiver/amplifier. Each time I have to switch between "standard" and "enhanced" in my TV, which is a bit inconvenient but no major issue. I don't know if every 4K TV is capable to handle this high bandwidth (4K/60p 4:4:4/12bit) signal. Although this is a UHD Blu-ray player, I suppose most of the owners of this machine still play HD Blu-ray discs. Moreover, we cannot merely talk about the Blu-ray player and completely ignore the TV display from which we ultimately see the picture. Just before I acquired the UBP-X1100ES, I had played HD Blu-ray discs with 1080i 30fps 4:2:0 8bit source contents with my old Sony BDP-S760 connected to my brand new XBR-77A9G. The picture quality was very good. However, now, with the UBP-X1100ES, it simply pushes the quality of 1080i to a higher level. UBP-X1100ES uses bit-map and signal processing upgrading the 1080/30i 4:2:0/8bit source contents to 1080/60p 4:4:4:/12bit. Pairing it with my XBR-77A9G, I don't recall that I have ever seen 1080i contents in such clarity, vivid color, and fine detail. Perhaps my anecdote, I, now, start noticing some picture details that I missed from the discs watched multiple times before the UBP-X1100ES. I can be easily fooled to think the HD source to be 4K. Having said that, not all HD blu-ray discs look like that! For some of them, the quaity improvement is marginal. Incidentally, those discs with 1080/24p contents are not brought up to 1080/60p though it still upgrades from 4:2:0/8bit to 4:4:4/12bit. I subjectively find that the improvement of 1080/24p is slightly less dramatic than that of 1080/30i. I guess that most of the image quality improvement is attributed to the combination of the the artificial intelligence based super resolution feature (scaling up from 1080 to 2190) of the XBR-77A9G and the 1080/60p 4:4:4:/12bit input. For 480i SD DVD, there is also noticeable picture quality improvement over my old BDP-S760.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2019

Hello, Pyue! Thank you so much for sharing this helpful feedback. We're glad to hear that you're happy and satisfied with the performance and quality of the units. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Dolby Atmos for Netflix and Imax

UBP-X1100ES 23/07/2019  (USA)

The UBP-X1100ES player is not supporting Dolby Atmos for Netflix application and it is not a Certified IMAX product. I think this is a negative point for the product.

15

8

0

NO DOLBY VISION AUTO DETECTION!!!

UBP-X1100ES 21/07/2019 by Dre327 (USA)

Not having this feature is inexcusable! Sony needs to add Dolby Vision auto detection to their players ASAP!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

32

4

0

Awesome Player of All Formats

UBP-X1100ES 19/07/2019 by Big Jerry (USA)

I love this player! I was leaning towards the new Panasonic DP-UB9000, but it is not a universal player and it is $400 more. This player does it all playing any format. It has two HDMI outs, two digital outs, RCA analogue outs, ethernet, RS232C, WiFi, and Bluetooth. It is solidly built and looks like a component. Picture and sound quality are amazing. Though the specs on the Sony ES UBP-X1100ES are pretty similar to the Sony UBP-X800M2 (I have one of these as well), this is an upgrade all around from that unit. You will love this player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Bad DV Implementation

UBP-X1100ES 13/07/2019 by Jr1971 (USA)

$600 for a player that can't auto detect DV? No thanks. Sony should know better. Every 4K player in the market can do DV auto detection except for Sony. This is an ES model and there should be absolutely no reason for this player not to have DV auto detection. I'm always been loyal to Sony but sadly they are forcing me to go with a different brand. Sony listens? Listen to this: A lot of loyal customers aren't happy about your players manual DV implementation, please do the right thing and fix this up via firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

36

9

0

VERY GOOD

UBP-X1100ES 04/06/2019 by DJS7744VJS (USA)

VERY GOOD 4 K BLU RAY PLAYERS VERY GOOD AUDIO AND VIDEO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

42