12

3.2 based on 12 customer reviews

4
2
2
0
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good quality player

UBP-X1100ES 15/08/2019 by One Happy Camper (USA)

Dolby Vision auto-detect is missing, so minus one star. Other than that, this thing is a champ. I use it a lot to play SACD's. It works flawlessly. The remote has all the functionality I need and more. It has a wide variety of digital and analog outputs which has proven to be very useful. I really like the minimalistic design. One of the most important things to me when buying electronic components is the customer support. There is no one who does it better than Sony. I can get a live, intelligent person on the phone without having to navigate a maddening menu. All Sony needs to do is release a firmware update for the DV auto-detect and I'd gladly give them their star back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Freezing up after 4 months of ownership

UBP-X1100ES 01/11/2019 by retroalli (USA)

I bought this player as soon as it came out and have been very pleased with its performance and video quality but, after four months, it has now frozen up and shut itself down three times in one week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

15 Customer Reviews

0

Great Sound and Great Picture

UBPX1100ES 07/11/2019 by JDawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I mostly use this unit for listening to SACDs. It does a great job and is so much better than other models that play CDs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Freezing up after 4 months of ownership

UBP-X1100ES 01/11/2019 by retroalli (USA)

I bought this player as soon as it came out and have been very pleased with its performance and video quality but, after four months, it has now frozen up and shut itself down three times in one week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Steaming what happened!!

UBP-X1100ES 28/10/2019 by Audio Video Innovations (USA)

I had the UBP-1000ES and it had a issue of rebooting every now and then so Sony was very nice to send a replacement the UBP-X1100ES. But the home page is very basic and only has netflix / amazon / and youtube. were is everything else?

2

1

0

Great features and exceptional build quality

UBPX1100ES 23/09/2019 by Dreday1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine a month ago and I love it The player is built like a tank with awesome features and picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best DVD Player for OLED Television

UBPX1100ES 21/09/2019 by Follower of Christ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Movies load quickly and the navigation is easy. The available apps are easy to maneuver. Easy to set up. I have a nice receiver, but it is pre-UHD passthrough. This DVD player allows me to send UHD signal to TV, separate from audio so I'm still able to get the best picture with great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Freezes

UBP-X1100ES 16/09/2019 by techplayer (USA)

This is the 3rd model Sony UHD Blu-Ray Player I have purchased and they all Intermittently freeze during playback of UHD discs.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

3

0

Look for that Dolby Vision logo on the Disc's Case

UBP-X1100ES 29/08/2019 by Bravo Bravia (USA)

How ridiculous would this sound (see title)? Sony, please push a firmware update to let this 4k blu-ray player auto-detect Dolby Vision as we customers are not spending high dollars and still having to do this MANUAL work! It's supposed to be your flagship and we're in year 2019 now! Get your act together and have this fixed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

1

0

Good quality player

UBP-X1100ES 15/08/2019 by One Happy Camper (USA)

Dolby Vision auto-detect is missing, so minus one star. Other than that, this thing is a champ. I use it a lot to play SACD's. It works flawlessly. The remote has all the functionality I need and more. It has a wide variety of digital and analog outputs which has proven to be very useful. I really like the minimalistic design. One of the most important things to me when buying electronic components is the customer support. There is no one who does it better than Sony. I can get a live, intelligent person on the phone without having to navigate a maddening menu. All Sony needs to do is release a firmware update for the DV auto-detect and I'd gladly give them their star back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Unbelievable there is no Dobly Vision auto-detect!

UBP-X1100ES 12/08/2019 by Super Mega (USA)

Imagine how super annoying it is to have to closely investigate all of the video formats on your UHD blu-ray disc just to see if it supports Dolby Vision, then you have to completely exit to the system menu and toggle it to Dolby Vision output. Next time you watch a movie, rinse and repeat. Oh don't forget that you *must* go into that menu every time you put in a disc just to check which mode it is in, lest you start watching in the wrong mode! Terrible, Sony. This is supposed to be a high end device. So can this be fixed with a firmware update? If not, it's going back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

21

2

0

Superb picture quality

UBPX1100ES 08/08/2019 by pyue (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

All in all, UBP-X1100ES is a remarkable machine. Since this is a high end UHD Blu-ray player, I suppose that the owners of this machine likely pair it with a decent 4K TV though not mandatory. I have some UHD Blu-ray discs with 4K/60p 4:2:0/10bit source contents. When I play those discs, UBP-X1100ES downgrades them from 10bit to 8bit. In order to get the most (4K/60p 4:4:4/12bit) out of UBP-X1100ES, I need to switch my TV (Sony XBR-77A9G) external input from 4K HDMI "standard format" to "enhanced format". However, this high bandwidth setting may upset other 4K devices (such as Fibe TV box from Bell Canada) connected to the same AV hub/receiver/amplifier. Each time I have to switch between "standard" and "enhanced" in my TV, which is a bit inconvenient but no major issue. I don't know if every 4K TV is capable to handle this high bandwidth (4K/60p 4:4:4/12bit) signal. Although this is a UHD Blu-ray player, I suppose most of the owners of this machine still play HD Blu-ray discs. Moreover, we cannot merely talk about the Blu-ray player and completely ignore the TV display from which we ultimately see the picture. Just before I acquired the UBP-X1100ES, I had played HD Blu-ray discs with 1080i 30fps 4:2:0 8bit source contents with my old Sony BDP-S760 connected to my brand new XBR-77A9G. The picture quality was very good. However, now, with the UBP-X1100ES, it simply pushes the quality of 1080i to a higher level. UBP-X1100ES uses bit-map and signal processing upgrading the 1080/30i 4:2:0/8bit source contents to 1080/60p 4:4:4:/12bit. Pairing it with my XBR-77A9G, I don't recall that I have ever seen 1080i contents in such clarity, vivid color, and fine detail. Perhaps my anecdote, I, now, start noticing some picture details that I missed from the discs watched multiple times before the UBP-X1100ES. I can be easily fooled to think the HD source to be 4K. Having said that, not all HD blu-ray discs look like that! For some of them, the quaity improvement is marginal. Incidentally, those discs with 1080/24p contents are not brought up to 1080/60p though it still upgrades from 4:2:0/8bit to 4:4:4/12bit. I subjectively find that the improvement of 1080/24p is slightly less dramatic than that of 1080/30i. I guess that most of the image quality improvement is attributed to the combination of the the artificial intelligence based super resolution feature (scaling up from 1080 to 2190) of the XBR-77A9G and the 1080/60p 4:4:4:/12bit input. For 480i SD DVD, there is also noticeable picture quality improvement over my old BDP-S760.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2019

Hello, Pyue! Thank you so much for sharing this helpful feedback. We're glad to hear that you're happy and satisfied with the performance and quality of the units. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Dolby Atmos for Netflix and Imax

UBP-X1100ES 23/07/2019  (USA)

The UBP-X1100ES player is not supporting Dolby Atmos for Netflix application and it is not a Certified IMAX product. I think this is a negative point for the product.

12

6

0

NO DOLBY VISION AUTO DETECTION!!!

UBP-X1100ES 21/07/2019 by Dre327 (USA)

Not having this feature is inexcusable! Sony needs to add Dolby Vision auto detection to their players ASAP!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

25

4

0

Awesome Player of All Formats

UBP-X1100ES 19/07/2019 by Big Jerry (USA)

I love this player! I was leaning towards the new Panasonic DP-UB9000, but it is not a universal player and it is $400 more. This player does it all playing any format. It has two HDMI outs, two digital outs, RCA analogue outs, ethernet, RS232C, WiFi, and Bluetooth. It is solidly built and looks like a component. Picture and sound quality are amazing. Though the specs on the Sony ES UBP-X1100ES are pretty similar to the Sony UBP-X800M2 (I have one of these as well), this is an upgrade all around from that unit. You will love this player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Bad DV Implementation

UBP-X1100ES 13/07/2019 by Jr1971 (USA)

$600 for a player that can't auto detect DV? No thanks. Sony should know better. Every 4K player in the market can do DV auto detection except for Sony. This is an ES model and there should be absolutely no reason for this player not to have DV auto detection. I'm always been loyal to Sony but sadly they are forcing me to go with a different brand. Sony listens? Listen to this: A lot of loyal customers aren't happy about your players manual DV implementation, please do the right thing and fix this up via firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

31

9

0

VERY GOOD

UBP-X1100ES 04/06/2019 by DJS7744VJS (USA)

VERY GOOD 4 K BLU RAY PLAYERS VERY GOOD AUDIO AND VIDEO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

41