251

4.1 based on 251 customer reviews

159
31
21
13
27
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Solid

ubpx800-b 30/03/2017 by BaronMunchausen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mine seems a bit wonky, I'm hoping it isn't defective, but something tells me It is. The disc playback is amazing, but my smart features don't work, and sometimes it just poops out on me. When it works, it's phenomenal and certainly is worth the money. It just doesn't always do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

527 Customer Reviews

0

Nice image quality but...

UBP-X800 18/12/2018 by SergioG (Canada)

Watched 4 movies and suddenly stopped working. No sound, no image, just on/of and open/close functions are available. tried to reset but out of luck. Let it overnight and again no luck. I had an older player and worked for years like a charm but this one is very expensive for a few months of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/12/2018

Hi SergioG,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

0

Hmmm

UBP-X800 17/12/2018  (USA)

I bought this 17 months ago. The unit has failed. It will not re-set via powering down, unplugging or any other known work arounds. We have its predecessor Pioneer Elite in the basement which is over 10 years which performed eloquently without any problems. It’s disappointing to have to change your Sony Blu-ray almost as often as your car engine filter. What the blank.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Player but Missing PlayStation Video

UBP-X800 15/12/2018 by Marcus2771 (Canada)

Loyal Sony customer here that is shocked to discover that Sony's own PlayStation Video service is not provided in this player, which is very disappointing. What is the sense in excluding PlayStation Video on a Sony device?? I have purchased over 100 titles on PlayStation Video!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fails to play a disc without issues

ubpx800-b 13/12/2018 by Cooter15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4K DVD player has been used less than dozen times and every time I want to see a new movie, it skips randomly, fails to play and at times shuts itself off. When it does play it provides a fantastic picture and sound to compliment my system. More problem than its worth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

NO longer works

ubpx800-b 12/12/2018 by UBP x800 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lasted a year, now my blu ray player will no longer recognize any dvds or blu ray discs. Also, doesn't play Vudu UHD from the player. I have to purchase and play VUDU UHD from my TV.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great with one reservation.

UBP-X800 11/12/2018 by RickGr4 (USA)

1. + Build quality seems great for the price. 2. + Obviously love the 4K/HDR picture quality on my 65" OLED. 3. + Very predictable control from my universal remotes. 4. - Very limited streaming apps. It would never replace a streaming device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

UBP-X800 11/12/2018 by Derek99 (United Kingdom)

Very clear quality picture when playing a 4K movie

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't waste your money

UBPX800 06/12/2018 by Pdtech (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm on my 3rd one They freeze up you can't do anything with them

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Built like they use to.

UBP-X800 06/12/2018 by osmpony05 (USA)

I just got this unit a week ago.. left it in the box because I was working. On my first day off. I hooked it up. Updated and Wow.. I was using my Xbox one x to watch my HDR 4k disks. But this Sony is not only build like a brick (house)... This picture quality is razor sharp. Loads like a dream. I absolutely love this thing. It is hooked to my LG 4k television and it has never looked better. My tv is compatible with Dolby vision, but since it is really not highly used at this time, I can live without it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stopped working a week ago

UBPX800 04/12/2018 by Solotte (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in February and it worked fine for several months then it started to stop in the middle of a movie or to jump randomly from an episode to another even before the end of playback. Recently I tried to update the connection with the network and when 100% had been reached the screen turned completely black and stayed that way. The green power light stayed on and I couldn't turn it off manually (though the open/close touch worked manually) and the player stopped responding from the remote control (even after changing the batteries)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Horrible streaming device

UBP-X800 02/12/2018 by Dadddio (USA)

We bought this to cut the cable cord but because it fails so consistantly streaming any of the services, we are still cable subscribers. I would not recomend this product for steaming service as it is an inferior product in that regard. It does have a good picture quality on 4K and BD play back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great machine

UBP-X800 01/12/2018 by Brucech (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Highly delighted - very simple to set up quickly, easy to operate with superb features. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

UBP-X800 Slow U I, Application Streaming "FREEZE"

ubpx800-b 30/11/2018 by randog311 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this UBP-X800 Febuary 2018, Picture and DTS Sound is Amazing when "Not Freezing-Up" requiring a "Hard Re-Boot" to get it working again. I have found the User Interface to be Slow especially on Start-Up. Until Sony provides an Update to correct the "Freeze-Up Issue" (I Primarily Stream using Netflix), I will use another 4K Streaming platform that I own...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

SONY 4K UHD BLU-RAY PLAYER UBPX800/CA

UBPX800/CA 27/11/2018 by susan53 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item 10 day ago. I love it. It was quick and easy to install and super easy to use. The speed is amazing. I highly recommend this to everyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

hate it

ubpx800-b 26/11/2018 by maria1111 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got this fancy DVD to replace the old one. All I wanted to use it for is for some old DVD workout. It worked before the upgrade but now any DVD I wanna play it tells me: "Unable to play this disc. Please check: is the disc in the format playable by this unit?Is the disc clean with no scratches or fingerprints? " I hate it. I wish I wouldn't have update it to the new SW version.

1

0

0

Has potential.

UBP-X800 23/11/2018 by Rowdymoon (Canada)

Had for about 6 to 7 months, discs will freeze on occasion but the biggest annoyance is the netflix app, hard to search because the screen goes blank randomly ( and by randomly I mean every10 seconds as you search) to reload netflix screen. The occasional disc freeze albiet a pain I can live with...now if netflix app worked as good as their PS4's did I would have given this one full stars....and yes software up to date.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
24/11/2018

Hi Rowdymoon, we are sorry for the inconvenience this issue has caused you. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Great Picture and Sound!

UBPX800 21/11/2018 by Arob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After the setup and put in the first CD to play, I am amazed at the sound! Have it connected to my Denon AVR-X2400H Receiver. I could tell a big difference in the sound right from the start of CD. After the CD I tried Amazon Video app on it and it streamed just fine, even with this in my basement. Very quick startup. So far I can't find any cons. Love it! The design is simple which is fine with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great customer service

UBPX800 20/11/2018 by Bill 71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A year ago I was updating my A/V system along with a new Sony 4K tv a new Blu-ray 4K DVD player. Everything worked great awesome picture. Then in October popped in a dvd and nothing, called Sony they had me do some test, they said it’s broke and it’s under a year so pack it up send it back and we will send you a new one. Start to finish 10 days. So yes I recommend Sony to everyone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great audio performance.....plays dvd audio discs,

UBPX800 16/11/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

perfect video and audio ....eazy menu screens.GREAT PRICE.Nice and heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ALL THE APP

ubpx800-b 14/11/2018 by MELLA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I LIKE THE PRODUCT YOU MUST BE IMPROOVE THE SETTING

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

good bluray player

ubpx800-b 11/11/2018 by mbartlett (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is not a good streaming device. I have never had a poblem with a Sony product until this one. It is a good Bluray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

No visible display!!

UBP-X800 11/11/2018 by Sieleecee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after reading up on 4K players available at the time, I was aware that it had no visible display, as this player is the slowest I’ve ever come across in terms of software and getting to the startup menu is kind of a stoke of luck rather than pressing a button, only if you put a disc in and close the door does it start correctly and go to the disc menu, not once has it actually started into the main home screen....this is very annoying and having a display would at least let you know what’s going on!! It’s yet to be seen as to whether the player will last more than a year because not once in around 5 Sony dvd/Blu-ray systems over 25 years has the player lasted the lifetime of the system, always skipping or plain just not playing at all.. because of the high praise of this device I’ve given them another chance. Playing Blu-ray or 4K discs looks exactly the same to me no difference in picture quality between them, or sound for that matter & i’m running on a Denon receiver 5.2.2 Atmos system on an advanced next gen of 4K screen. Films run amazingly well and everything sounds fantastic I just hope it will stand the test of time, that missing display though maybe I’d have chosen differently had I know just how slow the software startup is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Easy to use

UBP-X800 08/11/2018 by Ebveracvm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the unit for one week,and find the ease and quality of the said unit very good. Although I do miss the apps I had on my previous one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent universal player

UBP-X800 01/11/2018 by DJob (United Kingdom)

Purchased ex-display, this player is slim and unobtrusive, quiet in operation, and has played everything I've thrown at it - 4k BLu-Ray Ultra HD DVDs, standard DVDs, CDs, DVD Audio, SACDs, and various streaming audio & video file formats (MP3, MP4, FLAC, Ogg, Aiff). The interface is simple and straight-forward & there are apps for the standard online music & TV services. A refreshing change from the noisy, clunky Samsung DVD player it replaces!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Software is a wreck!

UBP-X800 29/10/2018 by Tarz (USA)

Hi, i just bought this player (Blu-ray player Sony UBPX800B) and installed the lastest software version, unfortunately i experience only problems turning on the device, playing netflix or youtube. I get almost every time a black screen when i m turning on the player. To get it work i have to cut its power. Sometimes it starts fine, but it wouldn't open any app. I intend to bring it back as it has cost me a lot of money and i expect quality! Moreover i tried to set the internet connection using the wire. I have nowhere to insert the internet password. It only works whenn conected via wireless. Pls support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Won't update

UBP-X800 29/10/2018 by TMH726 (USA)

I purchased two units for my home, one operates great and I would normally highly recommend it. However, the other unit will not do updates either wired, wirelessly or by usb. After trying every way I know how to, it currently won't even play a disc. I have no such problems with the other unit. They are both, of course probably 6 months out of warranty. I have been a Sony fan for a long time but this was very disappointing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Blu Ray Stopped Working in 4 Months?

UBPX800/CA 29/10/2018 by baigilyas (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Blu-Ray player from Amazon, on June 25, 2018 - it stopped working Oct.28.208. The Blu-Ray is completely frozen, and it wont even do a Software update. I am finding out now that this product is very buggy.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2018

Hello baigilyas, we do apologize for the inconvenience. You may visit the link below and perform the troubleshooting steps to isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00030275
Regards, _Bob

0

Worked Fantastically Till Last Night

UBP-X800 27/10/2018 by Cinenerd (USA)

Went through 2 LG players before switching to Sony. While my TV has Dolby Vision, I hate it and wanted a player that didn't have that, while being able to support my 3D collection. Dolby Atmos and DTS:X support an added bonus since I have both. Everything was great until I didn't take my wife's advice last night and was dumb enough to download the new firmware update and now I'm stuck with a brick that won't play anything. Smooth move Sony. Good thing I always spring for Geek Squad protection. Back to Best Buy for you!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Can add Apps!

UBPX800 24/10/2018 by Erdoc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player in order to watch dvds from other regions. It is a modified version of the devise, at a greater cost, and does that job well. It is advertised as being compatible with more than 300 apps. That is blatantly false. It has very few apps and does not support the addition of other apps that are not already installed, like HBO GO or PBS. I was hoping to be able to eliminate my ROKU but I guess not. I am happy the device does what I purchased it for, but I am disappointed in the apps. Very much so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought for picture quality

UBP-X800 24/10/2018 by Billy 2 rivers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month now, great picture in 4K even streaming

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Quality multi purpose player

UBP-X800 23/10/2018 by Steve1987 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great peice of kit. Materials and finish used on this product make it feel like a very expensive machine unlike most consumer electronics today. Picture quality is amazing from standard DVD’s up to 4K HDR titles. Love the network feature so I can stream music from my NAS and love that it has Bluetooth output. Only downside as with most Sony products, is the graphical interface feels cheap and cluttered, wish you could remove apps you don’t want too. Mabye a LCD screen on the front of the unit would have been a nice touch too. Apart from that, can’t fault. Would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Terrible 4k Player

ubpx800-b 22/10/2018 by aLeX_83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very upset my sony 4k player started freezing, getting black screen, loading problems and other video glitches. It worked fine for a few weeks but those defects ruined my whole experience when it happened. I dont have the time or the patience to go through the customer service about my problem. I regret not buying the extended warranty at Target to return the item if there was a problem. Now I'm stuck with this expensive paper weight and regretting every day purchasing this 4k player. I won t recommend any 4k players made by Sony to my friends, family and colleague. Avoid this player at all cost! You have been warned. Others are experiencing this problem if you search online forums.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

BEYOND EXPECTATIONS.

UBPX800 15/10/2018 by DaYna (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I gave my self the gift of a 4K Bravia..and liked all of it..even if the remote is a bit fussy..I have always liked watching DVDs so I went all in and got this player, even if it was the most expensive one I have ever bought..I am mad happy with it..it has woken up all my old movies and the sound is so much better...It streams flawlessly and those are all much better... I do wish there was a way to know how to fine tune the options..but out of the box its great..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Updated firmware has screwed up 2 new units

UBP-X800 15/10/2018 by EdSz (USA)

I bought this unit new. No apps loaded. Had to "update firmware" to get apps. Updated firmware and lost the "Home" screen. No way to access anything... setup, apps, firmware update. Everything. Took the unit back and got a replacement. Updated firmware to get apps. Got the apps, but then couldn't play any DVD's. Not regular, not BluRay, not 4K UHD. Not even brand new DVD's I purchased. Looked on Sony "Support" page, and found a Sony rep that told other customers to unplug the unit and let it "Reset". So I unplugged the unit. Plugged it back in, and now I get the "Black" screen of death. No "Home" page, won't play DVD's. Nothing! This is by far the worst Sony product that I have ever purchased. Two brand new UBP-X800 units, same issue. I would say don't upgrade the firmware, but then you don't get any apps: Amazon Prime, Netflix, YouTube. Nothing! Now I have a dead DVD player in my brand new Theater Room, and can't watch any DVD's. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Very poorly designed--no thought for UI/usability

UBP-X800 13/10/2018 by SonyUBPX800 (USA)

Bought it about a week ago. The product is really bad. The build quality is cheap for both the DVD player and the remote. The SW and UI are not even half finished -- probably they believe that with FW upgrades they will fix this. However, I am not sure how something this bad can ever be fixed. My observations about the product: -- Netflix APP sucks big time. No support for bit-rate metering. Displays the video resolution and bit-rate received plain wrong. -- YouTube APP works OK. -- No support for downloading APPs or browser. What kind of Blu-ray DVD player is this? -- Keeps complaining randomly about HDCP 2.2. -- The APPs and software hangs randomly and frequently.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Works as expected and more

ubpx800-b 12/10/2018 by HunBroader (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've bought this 2 years ago and it's still working perfectly. Perfect picture quality with my Sony XBR-55X850C TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NOT HAPPY FOR 3 MONTHS NOW

UBP-X800 30/09/2018 by FREDDIE NII (USA)

I AM VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER SETTING UP MY NEW UBP-X800 PLAYER. NOT A SINGLE APPLICATION ON THE HOME SCREEN. NOT EVEN THE APPS ON THE PACKAGE BOX . YOUTUBE, NETFLEX, & AMAZON VIDEO... WHY ???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great 4K Blu-Ray Player

UBP-X800 28/09/2018 by MavrickTopgun (USA)

Great player. Plays 4K discs as well as most formats of video and audio. Easy setup and the user interface is very simple to use. All streaming apps are availible. BUT, certain apps don't stream in 4K. SONY needs to work that out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Problems conecting to the Internet

ubpx800-b 25/09/2018 by Erwincito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product on line in Amazon, in December 2017 and bring it to Guatemala. At the biggining, was working very, very good. But after a couple o month, it not recognize the Internet connection any more, so I can´t see this type of channels. I try to actualize the equipment via Internet, but it doesn´t work. What can I do? Please help me.

0

1

0

V V Happy

ubpx800-b 25/09/2018 by Master 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sharp picture, compact, sturdy and it complement with Sony TV XBR75X900F and Sony Sound Bar HTZ9F.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid Performance & Great Features

UBPX800 25/09/2018 by paul96753 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've had this Blu-ray player for only a couple of weeks, but are extremely happy with the purchase. Its audio and video performance thus far has been rock solid. It has a wide range of features that are actually useful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very solidly built & stylish piece of equipment

UBP-X800 24/09/2018 by Monitorlizard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recent purchase to complement my 55" Sony OLED UHD TV.Does the job perfectly.Upscales normal dvd`s & BluRays to a very high level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony fan.

UBP-X800 21/09/2018 by Shuperman (USA)

I love the product and the coorporation. Top of the line when it works. "But" I have had to unplug or disconnect from the power source multiple times due to freezing. Whether a movie be playing or on the home screen, it will lock up until you disconnect it from the power supply. Nonresponsive to remote when trying to turn off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Prone to freezing - on to 4th player

UBP-X800 20/09/2018 by SergeiK (USA)

It is a shame. This machine is a beauty. Wonderful picture and sound, features, sturdy build. But it randomly freezes up to 5 times playing new DVDs, requiring manual pulling plug from wall. I now have power off switch on wall. I am taking my third machine back for a fourth since it is under extended warranty. A common complaint but not a universal complaint judging by reviews on retailer sites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook (United Kingdom)

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

I love it when it works.......

UBP-X800 12/09/2018 by Tri4Him (USA)

Great picture and sound on 4k DVD I play and Blu Ray, but occasionally locks up during playback on some DVD's and for the last 2-3 months freezes at the language selection screen on regular Disney/Marvel DVD's - then have to unplug it for a minute just to be able to remove the DVD

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

UBP-X800 08/09/2018 by Jack0018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this blu-ray player as I thought it was the best on sale at the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Feels like a quality product

UBP-X800 08/09/2018 by Col44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player does exactly what you expect of it, my one small issue is no visual display of any kind.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ggreat product

UBPX800 07/09/2018 by rock0 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Will by Sony again. The price was right and it works as described

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No surround output from COAX digital for SACD/DVDA

UBP-X800 07/09/2018 by Nayge (USA)

No documentation (manual or otherwise) states that the player will only port 2 channel stereo out the COAX digital output while playing SACD or DVD-A multichannel.

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

brandsmart

UBPX800 03/09/2018 by aunttammy55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

we are sony people. have had sony tv's and radios all my adult hood

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor gloss plastic

UBP-X800 02/09/2018 by DavidDD (USA)

Second day of owning. If you touch the gloss front, either the power or eject button it will leave a fingerprint like normal plastic. If you use a microfiber cloth made for cleaning plastic alone finger prints do not come off. If you use spray cleaner designed fro plastic (tried several brands in several places) it will have a chemical reaction and haze the plastic. You can bet Sony did not touch the power or eject buttons and then clean the area when the add photos were taken. Also the IR is all the way to the right of the unit. This is not good if you have a glass cabinet door with a wood frame. I would hope sony would keep some of those older av engineers around. They can get them past some of these design problems. I do like that the power light is subtle. Great frame and rigidity. No RCA audio out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

It's a Sony

UBP-X800 02/09/2018 by Watchmaster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an existing Sony Blu-Ray player and upgrade to 4K. I bought it on the strength of my old player which has been faultless. This one is exceptionally well built, looks very neat and stylish and has some excellent features. It linked to my network immediately and, as such, provides a very reliable connection to the inbuilt apps. Looks better, works better and offers better features than any of the competition for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just one problem

ubpx800-b 28/08/2018 by kernelthai (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely piece of equipment that would have earned 5 stars if SONY had bothered to include the batteries for the remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the second HDMI port.

ubpx800-b 28/08/2018 by None29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony products have never disappointed me. Definitely to be trusted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Failed after one year

ubpx800-b 27/08/2018 by Deane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit August 16, 2017 and it stopped working on August 26, 2018. The tech at the store where I purchased it said that it was definitely a hardware issue and the factory warranty had run out. Rather than having to deal with safely packaging the blue ray and arranging for its shipment and repair, at significant cost, I bought a new Sony Blue Ray. This time I got the UBP-X700 rather than the X800. All of my other 4K equipment is Sony and all is working just fine. It's just this one unit I'm having a problem with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features, Sound/Picture Effect

ubpx800-b 24/08/2018 by Rickey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player as an upgrade for our current Sony Blu-ray Player for our new 4K HDR TV. The picture & sound effects are excellent on both regular Blu-ray & plain DVDs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Player

ubpx800-b 22/08/2018 by Billevy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best part is that I do not own a 4K TV, but 4K movies play in my 1080P Panasonic Plasma (The very last of them) flawlessly with the UBP-X800.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY PLAYER

UBP-X800 20/08/2018 by tilly33 (USA)

My player was refurbished 6 weeks ago. Everything worked fine until two new DVD's froze the player up. Sounds like this is a common malfunction. Other movies play fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great player, when it works

UBP-X800 16/08/2018 by Toddwrtr (USA)

This player has some great features, such as SACD and DVD-Audio playback, Bluetooth headphone compatibility (great for late night viewing), and a solid chassis build. The unit is severely lacking in its available 4K video streaming apps (only Netflix, Amazon, and YouTube are 4K, Vudu is still only 1080p), and the unit does not have the capability of Dolby Vision HDR (yet the lower priced X700 does). I've had my unit for just over a year, and has had several lock-up issues. Sony has replaced the unit twice for these issues, which are well-documented on Sony's own community forum, yet Sony refuses to admit there is an issue, and am still having lock-ups on my third unit, which is now out of warranty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor quality product

UBP-X800 14/08/2018 by Bfason (USA)

3rd times a charm, All ne ga ti ve co me nts are mo de ra ted, go od lu ck on ge tt ing go od in fo. 1st unit lasted a month, 2nd unit almost a year. It gets used for 2 to 3 movies a month. Look up model and freezing, there will be plenty of reviews not on so ny

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Good quality product

UBP-X800 06/08/2018 by AnthonyE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm extremely pleased with this purchase, with Sony quality, ease of use and design. I would recommend this product, due to the fact that it also covers all DVDs, and not only Blu-ray Disks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not up to standard

UBP-X800 04/08/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very poor Sony product. Colours not good, very slow to turn on and off. Jams too often. Terrible.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Good build quality

UBP-X800 28/07/2018 by Mick72 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this player in 2017 with use with an older Sony 4K TV, however it would not play 4K discs in 4K, as the electronic handshake on my older 4k TV was not compatible. However now having upgraded to a 2018 Sony TV, I can now say the 800 player picture quality across the range of formats is excellent, including the sound output.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture

ubpx800-b 26/07/2018 by donlduck (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this unit for a brief time but the 4K images from 4K BluRays is amazing. Absolutely gorgeous. The unit was very easy to install and set up and the handshake with my Sony 4K TV was seamless and happened automatically without having to do a deep dive into setup menu. So far so very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bought to replace another make 4k player.

UBP-X800 20/07/2018 by Oakesy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great producto at a very good price . Reviews in all related magazinescapable superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony 4K Ultra HD Blu Ray player

UBP-X800 17/07/2018 by Gazchelski (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought this sony player to a replacement for another sony i had had for many years, the new one is an absulut dream, excellent picture Quality with online acess, hightly recommend this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0