193

4.3 based on 193 customer reviews

130
26
14
9
14
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Solid

ubpx800-b 30/03/2017 by BaronMunchausen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mine seems a bit wonky, I'm hoping it isn't defective, but something tells me It is. The disc playback is amazing, but my smart features don't work, and sometimes it just poops out on me. When it works, it's phenomenal and certainly is worth the money. It just doesn't always do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

443 Customer Reviews

0

Beautiful looks and fab features

UBP-X800 20/06/2018 by JJak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This machine allows me the flexibility of viewing all my DVD and Blu-ray discs and now UHD Blu-rays in amazing quality and includes great features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great features

ubpx800-b 20/06/2018 by Selvakumar M D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So so happy about the product............amazingly well done guys..........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

VERY GOOD 4 K SONY BLU RAY PLAYER

ubpx800-b 20/06/2018 by JAV87 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

VERY GOOD SONY PRODUCTS ON BLU RAY PLAYERS 4 K IS GOOD

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

very good but???

UBP-X800 17/06/2018 by el bestia (USA)

very good image and sound the only little problem is every time when turning off and on the internet, settings need start over

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Get less for more.

UBP-X800 15/06/2018 by Sid k (USA)

You'll pay more for this player but won't get dolby vision support and Sony has stated they won't give this player the dolby vision update. You'll pay less for the newer x700 but you'll get dolby vision support. Senseless, frustrating, and just plain sad.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Outstanding Performance

UBP-X800 15/06/2018 by Q3 2015 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having always had Sony products, this one is an upgrade from previous Blu-ray ! Quite Superb quality, even more noticeable is the Sound fantastic. Great performance well done Sony yet again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Like the BDP-800, when it works

ubpx800-b 14/06/2018 by Disappointed UserXYZZY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the UBP-X800 for Christmas. I really liked all the features and picture quality. Unfortunately, I can not recommend it. The player stopped working in less than 6 months. Back in the day, Sony stood for leading products with outstanding quality apparently not anymore.Very sad,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Very Nice 4K DVD Player

UBP-X800 12/06/2018 by TVReviewer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this Sony 4K DVD Player after reading good reviews and also as the standard size of the unit will fit into an existing audio system stack. It will also upscale non-4K DVDs and can play almost any type of media including various CD types, unlike some players. Pictures and sound are excellent and the unit is relatively easy to set up - Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

This Player

UBP-X800 12/06/2018 by Ganishen (USA)

Is Few Good The Product but this can be support read the hard disc just 2 tb is the maximum the few external hard disc can't be support and can't read MKV file for the 4k player file

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony UBPX800 4K Player

UBPX800 10/06/2018 by no such name (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this Sony UBPX800 4K player based on its ability to play every 5-inch digital audio and video format I have, including the fine-but-now-defunct DVD-Audio format and it plays everything I own better than my previous players, including my regular Sony Blu-ray player I have had for years and still works. Those who wanted to buy an Oppo player before they run out of machines should consider this one. Anyone complaining Sony electronics are not 'musical' enough wont be able to say that after experiencing this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent and great features

ubpx800-b 05/06/2018 by henryfua (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought this items, the past year , and work perfetly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best player I’ve owned

UBP-X800 04/06/2018 by Keith1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

You won’t be disappointed when you playback your films through this bit of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Greater than expectations

ubpx800-b 04/06/2018 by CFiles40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased within last three days and I am impressed with results and my decision in purchasing product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4K Blu-ray sound issues

UBP-X800 02/06/2018 by bobsyouruncle (USA)

"Dunkirk" 4K Blu-ray disc audio cuts in and out throughout the movie at the same exact spots each time I play it through. Please advise or patch asap!

0

1

0

Excellent

UBP-X800 26/05/2018 by TheBlueKoi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent player, easy to use and really happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Extremely Disappointed!!!

ubpx800-b 23/05/2018 by Nico46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this 4K Blu-Ray as a gift. Constant freezing and does not respond to the remote. I have to pull the power cord in order for the unit to function. There is no updated firmware since last year.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Ultra Blu-ray UBP-X800

ubpx800-b 23/05/2018 by TopgunGranby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m very disapoint because my IPAD doesn’t work with this Blu-ray

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Love the player but 2 machines freeze!

ubpx800-b 21/05/2018 by SergeiK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought machine 3 weeks ago. Picture froze 3 times requiring power off to continue, so I returned it. Second player freezes every 30 minutes requiring power off. I have high end chocolate HDMI cable and Pioneer Elite receiver outputting to Viewsonic Projector. Love the Sony machine but will return it if I cannot troubleshoot my problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible sound

UBP-X800 18/05/2018 by Patsyc (USA)

I bought this installed it by instructions ... put in 4K uhh movie and about 5 mins the sound cut out.. did this many times during movie... took it back to store and exchanged for different brand... much happier.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Fantastic all rounder

UBP-X800 16/05/2018 by Shaun1313 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having recently bought a new 4k TV I decided to also upgrade the Blu Ray player. In doing so I sought one which could also play the handful of DVD-Audio and SACD discs I own. This player does a great job with all - also integrates brilliantly with Sony TV and Amplifier so I don't even need to use its remote control. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Stunning Picture

UBP-X800 12/05/2018 by steve2452 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with Sony 4k Tv Great Combo. Picture is stunning

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great color

UBPX800 10/05/2018 by Edith55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently. It was so easy to stall. The picture of the movies are beautifull.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

It freezes all the time!

ubpx800-b 09/05/2018 by norbac65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 4K machine a few months ago thinking to replace my "old" Sony Blu-ray player. My old blu-ray was purchased some 7 years ago or so. I was thinking seven years later the new features on a blu-ray/4K player must be off the chart! Wrong!! This machine constantly freezes every time I put a DVD or a blu-ray disc in it! The only way to fix that is to unplug it and plug it back on! What a piece of junk this turned out to be! I've been a Sony loyal costumer for life and this is the very first time I've been truly disappointed by one of its products. A real shame!! On the plus side, when this thing works, it does produce a stunning image--and sound...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

fabulous machine for th money

UBP-X800 06/05/2018 by JFG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

after investigating a number of machines bought this with new 4k tv and the upscaling of DVD and Blu ray is top notch great 4k playback and sound improvent through cimema system very noticeable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very Dissappointed with this Player

ubpx800-b 01/05/2018 by Groceryjedi1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve been buying Sony products for over 20 years and found them superior to other brands so I was looking for a new 4K player for my new TV. I read reviews and chose the Sony UBP-X800. I like the construction of the player and the features it has. I’ve only owned it for a month and the player freezes up while I’m watching movies with my children. Screen goes black and it takes a while for the player to start back up again and it starts back at the beginning. I’ve done all the resets and things that Sony requires and it still freezes. I’ve unplugged it, I’ve held down buttons and nothing seems to fix it. Very dissatisfied right now.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Excellent build quality. Great picture and sound.

UBP-X800 30/04/2018 by Digsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned this for two weeks and put it through it's paces. The picture and sound are fantastic even on a non 4K TV. Apps are good although could do with a few more ready loaded. This is my third Sony player and as as expected a great product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

GOOD

ubpx800-b 29/04/2018 by elDon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

NEED MORE APPS AND BROWSER FOR INTERNET CONNECTION

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Makes even non-4K videos much better.

ubpx800-b 27/04/2018 by burn19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player makes pictures great and also gives us options to other apps not available on other products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Poor Quality Playback

UBP-X800 26/04/2018 by SiWest (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Viewing of discs is ruined by the continual jumping and blank screen when playing all discs. Hardly using it now and I am looking for a replacement. It will not be Sony.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Excellent.. Marvellous

UBP-X800 26/04/2018 by Jokiesor (USA)

Excellent picture and sound amazing i wonder to see the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great except for inability to play older Bluray

ubpx800-b 25/04/2018 by JohnJarhead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This cannot play 1990 Version of Blu-Ray "The Longest Day", that runs fine on another Sony Blu-Ray player and an Oppo Bluray player. I have updated the software for this new player and all Blu-Ray DVDs run fine, but not this DVD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Is it 4k

UBP-X800 24/04/2018 by Pjb2310 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 4K picture is poor compared to a blue ray disc on screen I brought to play 4K discs disappointed with the quality of playback

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

Silent and amazing and stunning

UBP-X800 17/04/2018 by Fallen Butnotdown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A stunning player, with great picture from any Blu-ray, and a truly stunning picture from 4K UltraHD, the player is also very quick to start up and totally silent. Upscales all my music whether from CD or USB to an amazing quality of sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Decent player with bugs

UBP-X800 16/04/2018 by Libr (Canada)

Overall it's a decent player but not without annoying issues. Straight from purchase had issues. 1. First time I plugged it in the disc tray would not open, power would not turn off. Had to physically unplug it from the wall. From there on it freezes up from time to time during playback and needs to be restarted/unplugged. 2. Does not recognize many files on external storage even though the files are compatible with the player (as advertised). My other blue ray player (Oppo Digital) plays these without a problem. 3. The interface is bit of a let down. For example I have not figured out if it is possible to browse files on your storage drive during playback. It would be a nice feature since the only way to browse files as far I am able to is to go back in the menu which also interrupts the playback. Maybe I just got spoiled with my other blue ray player that excels in all these areas and more. I realize the other player cost almost double of this one but these issues are quite basic operation.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sony UBPX800

UBP-X800 15/04/2018 by zen10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a month ago to go with Ultra HD Sony TV which I have had for a couple of years. It is good to look at and have only watched one 4K disc so far which was excellent. Also watched parts of a couple of Blue Ray discs to "test it out". It does "upscale " them. Very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

amazing picture

ubpx800-b 14/04/2018 by SonyUserSince1973 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this player one month ago as an update for an older SonyBlu-Ray player. Great improvement in ease of use, picture quality, quick response, and streaming. Even plays old homemade dvds with amazingly improved clarity. Great product! Somewhat pricey, but well worth the money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality Product

ubpx800-b 14/04/2018 by adelegam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this player. I have many dads and it handles all of them quite nicely, even the older ones. Great picture. Great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture and sound

UBP-X800 13/04/2018 by JBgolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with product would recommend to others. Only slight down side is finding items on the menu as there are so many

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Great piece of kit

UBP-X800 13/04/2018 by samurai1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I had purchased a 4K TV and decided to make full use of it. what a difference in picture quality over the PS3 I had been using to play BluRays before. Even standard BluRay discs are improved in quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Excellent produce

UBP-X800 12/04/2018 by NP52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality item. Easy set up. Was recommended to us by store representative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

superbe player

ubpx800-b 11/04/2018 by babba (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

picture and sound coming out is perfect.wow easy to set up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent as expected

ubpx800-b 09/04/2018 by Wanzing (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy to buy a Blueray player after using Sony's DVDP for 20 years. Excellent video quality and sound quality with a cool look. One minor thing is that some mkv files are not played from a media server. Other than that no complainments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Sony's Blu-ray has it eveything is need more!

ubpx800-b 07/04/2018 by pike21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it is great to have blue ray it gives new demsion and great viewing like none out there. Clear, crispy picture,sound and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

High quality video and sound output

UBP-X800 06/04/2018 by robsrockets (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality video and sound output - but where is the counter display to show where you are in a movie or which track is playing on a CD. This is a serious omission on a player in this price bracket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

Plays all formats

UBP-X800 02/04/2018 by CFB1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the X800 Blu-ray player, it supports 4K, 3D, SACD, DVD-audio, Blu-ray and DVD - upscaling non 4K discs to give excellent picture quality. It's super quiet, and we'll built. Only issue I'm having is with the play back of 3D discs, randomly I lose the picture (goes black) for a few seconds - hopefully Sony will release a fix soon..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

works great for blu-ray disks

UBP-X800 31/03/2018 by Hazic (USA)

I got the player this past christmas and i love it..... then I realized that i could not download any apps It comes pre-loaded with a few apps and thats all you get. You cannot download the HBOGO, ABC, CWSEED, or any of the network apps to watch specific shows. I want my player to be the Heart of my system but as of now its not gonna happen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Locks up at random times frequently

ubpx800-b 28/03/2018 by Rick46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement for one that didn't function properly and it does the same things the other did except it doesn't lose the wifi connection because it is a wired connection. It doen't matter if the disks are commercial or backups. Sometimes it will allow us to eject the disk and then continue. Other times we have to unplug it and start over. I tried several different setting changes but it still locks up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Amazing

UBP-X800 26/03/2018 by Damien6968 (USA)

Amazing performances amazing picture.................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

WILL NOT CONNECT TO WIFI

UBP-X800 24/03/2018 by TURBO MIKE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

AS A PLAYER I CANNOT FAULT THIS MACHINE BUT TO CONNECT TO WIFI INTERNET HOT SPOTS IS USELESS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

7

0

Hacksaw ridge

UBPX800 23/03/2018 by Jude20 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy watching the 4k movie and it was so amazing. The sound and the picture is different. I am so impressed and happy. Sony is the BEST and number 1

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Very happy

UBP-X800 20/03/2018 by Mason123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would recommend very pleased and happy with service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great Performance and quality

ubpx800-b 20/03/2018 by GEJF (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for long time for Sony to release the Sony real 4k blue ray player, I was expecting the release of it since I got my Sony 4k TV, and this 4k blu ray has a lot of unexpected features. It can stream 4k videos, using several built in app, like vudu, Netflix, amazon, etc. I have all my movies linked to Vudu, so basically I can stream using just one app, vudu. The 4k Blu ray performance is great!, Now I can say that I am getting the most of my Sony 4k TV. First at all, the setup up is extremely simple, I hooked up physically to the network using the Ethernet port, and I did it in this way because my Satellite Routers is just beside the unit. I tested the wifi connection and works great too, no drops. The hook up and system set up are very intuitive and was completed in a matter of minutes and the first thing is going to ask you is to update the firmware, which I highly recommend to do it, based on my experience with previous products set up. The first thing I noticed was the 2 hdmi out ports, so the second port allows me using my older non-4K receiver by assigning it to audio out in settings, it is a great idea!. I have used blu ray, MP4, MP3, +r recorded different discs formats etc, and everything played so far. Loading of 4k movies is fast. Even when navigating and using the included apps, it is excellent. The video quality gives a beautiful, clear and as precise a picture you could want. The Unit has a blocky finish and attractive look. So far I haven’t had any video playback issues at all. If there was any issue, the firmware update that was applied at the beginning might corrected it. I have always love the USB port on this unit, I can play my mp4 videos and mp3 music. It is an option that is worth it. I also try the Bluetooth connection to my Bluetooth earphones, what a great idea! While watching a movie at night without waking up my family, you can stream to externals speakers to!, I did this while watching a concert and streaming the audio to my speakers at the backyard. This purchase includes 2 4k movies code, that will be delivered to your email once you register the device in Sony. The only cons that I have found so far, is that sony should include with this unit the HDMI cable necessary to get the best picture and sound, I still waiting for the right one that I ordered later after I have got the unit. s. That aside,. I'm running the player through a Sony 4K television set and have been generally pleased with the picture and sound quality that I'm getting (also using a Sanyo sound bar system). You have to take advantage of another great feature, this unit comes with a user manual!, so please take your 10 minutes of time to check it out and customize the unit for your preferences, but the standard settings works fine, beside the fact that it will adjust the video quality the best suitable for the TV. Overall, I am very pleased with this unit ant the long wait to have it was worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Amazing Outstanding Excellent !!!

UBPX800 19/03/2018 by MichellePisces (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Picture quality is Off the charts/extremely detailed I've tried/seen other 4k ultra HD players like the new Samsung and the Samsung before that and they can't come close to what this Sony ubp x800 can do overall in 10 out of 10 I give it a 20+ rating I held off on buying a 4k player until I saw this one and how many stars it has as well as reviews I couldn't be more satisfied and happy thank you Sony I've always been a Sony person there the best they go all out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice except freeze problems with 4K upscaling

UBPX800 17/03/2018 by grandoak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When it works, it's great. But unit keeps freezing when playing Blu-Ray disc on 4K Ultra HD TV. A *REAL* PIA to have to keep ejecting, cycling power, or just skipping part of a movie because system FREEZES when trying to play a BD!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Beautiful picture when it works

UBPX800 13/03/2018 by ljdaniel1616 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture and sound is awesome. However, when watching 4K and regular Blurays the player tends to lock up. By this I mean that the picture freezes and the player cannot be powered off with the remote or the power button on the face of the unit. The unit also has locked up on me when streaming Netflix. This is my third unit via store exchanges and they all have the same problems. Sony, please get your act together.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

King of 4k Players

UBPX800 12/03/2018 by Rich64 (USA)

I am so happy I bought this product. It is the best 4k player!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Not happy

ubpx800-b 11/03/2018 by PVDBOS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement for an older Sony Blu-ray and it is a very good upgrade for my 4k OLED however with no Dolby vision update for this machine, I'd tell all of to pass this up. I will move away from Sony Blu-ray to a better competitor unless Sony provides Dolby Vision update for this machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

JUNK

UBP-X800 09/03/2018 by Nonicknamee (USA)

I've had this player for about 2 months now and twice it just froze while watching You Tube. I had to unplug it and when coming back on I have to set it up and reconnect to the Internet with passwords. I'll never buy another SONY PRODUCT!!!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Picture

UBPX800 07/03/2018 by WILLCHIP1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4K Blu-ray player does it all. Great upscaling of regular Blu-ray discs look amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

fantastic bit of kit

UBP-X800 06/03/2018 by red rob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This must be the best Sony i have had and i have been buying Sony since the sixties

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing immersive experience

UBP-X800 03/03/2018 by Dhinesh (USA)

I bought just now with 4K Sony tv. Excellence in Picture quality. But Can anyone help me to connect this thorugh my home theatre system? I m already having Sony BDV E2100 home theatre systems.How to connect this bluray player to My home theatre system? I want to see 4K picture qauality with 5.1 Sorround sound .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Solid Performer

UBP-X800 27/02/2018 by vihealey67 (Canada)

After a lot of research on the best 4k blu-ray players on the market I picked the UBP-X800. I can't comment on the 4k as I am using it with my 55" 1080p Samsung 3D TV. I have it paired with my Sony STR-DN1080 AV reciever. It is not a simple plug and play and I recommend that you read the setup manual and take into considerations your entire home theater setup to get the best out of the player.Be patient as the first time using it after plugging it in it froze using Netflix and i had to pull the plug to get it to restart. After a little research and an in depth setup with the extensive setting option it is working flawlessly. Netflix opens much faster than on the PS4. Picture and sound with Dolby Surround for Blu-Ray and Netflix is amazing. Bluetooth to my Sony headphones was quick to pair and the sound was even better than pairing through the receiver.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good but one failure

ubpx800-b 24/02/2018 by JJ57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good 4K ultra blu-ray player but the only complain I have is that at times, it freezes and I can't do anything on it, not even turning it off works. The resolution I have its to completely unplug it from the power outlet and then it works. This usually happens when watching Netflix, which I do a lot. It has happened 3 times already since I purchased it Nov 2017.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product from Sony

UBP-X800 24/02/2018 by MF69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading several reviews for various players I decided to go for the Sony and I’m glad that I did. Excellent picture and sound quality. The ability to play any file types that you offer it from either the usb slot or over your home network is the icing on the cake for me. Hi-res music sounds fantastic when hooked up with my sound system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Best Blu-ray player yet

UBPX800 23/02/2018 by wpwood3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from an LG HDTV and LG blu-ray player to a Sony XBR-55X900E 4K TV and Sony UBP-X800 4K blu-ray player. What an upgrade! The video performance of the X800 is unsurpassed but, it is also simple and intuitive to operate AND is VERY reasonably priced. I'm thinking of buying another one to use on another TV. The only con is the lack of Dolby Vision which is a moot point for me since my TV doesn't support DV either.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great piece of video equipment.

ubpx800-b 23/02/2018 by PPBM (USA)

We purchased this Sony BluRay after much reviewing of reviews by other customers. Well, it lives up to the excellent reviews. Happy we purchased it after our old dvd player needed to be replaced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Poor Quality Control

UBP-X800 23/02/2018 by Rich58b (USA)

I just returned the second purchase of this player. The first one would not put out sound of any kind. After many hours of set up adjustments and internet searches, I finally gave up and returned it. I bought a second one thinking that I had perhaps, gotten a lemon the first time. Unfortunately, the second one, although I got good sound from it when it worked, had many other problems. While streaming Netflix, it would start to cut out sound every 30 seconds or so. This occurred frequently during the week and a half I had it. It would occasionally seize up, and the only way I could get it to work was to unplug it and start up again. On several DVD discs, the menu would not work. You couldn't choose "play" for instance, because nothing was highlighted to choose. I tried these same discs with my previous player and had no problem. Sound and picture quality were first rate when it worked properly, I was sad to have to return it. Not too many years ago, if you wanted a high quality piece of electronic gear, Sony was the answer for a well built, high quality product at a reasonable price. It's sad that Sony has lost the ability to provide this any longer. PS: I updated the firmware when I first installed it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1