356

3.9 based on 356 customer reviews

195
50
33
19
59
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook (United Kingdom)

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

653 Customer Reviews

0

Faulty sound

UBP-X800 28/04/2021 by IanSt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having read up about this player verses others ofsame sort of spec I was disappointed to find that sound was interrupted at 3 or 4 points during playback of a 4k disc. Tried a std blue Ray and the same result more or less interruptions.. Read some other reviews whi h mentioned sound / picture issues which my player did not have. So have returned for a refund and will now try to decide what to try nxt.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

We like Sony's products, the whole family has not

UBP-X800 23/04/2021 by Hak 55 (USA)

I bought it a year ago and it works great but on the new video formats it can't play them, please if you can update it. As far as I read there are a lot of users like me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Freezing!

UBP-X800 31/03/2021 by Frankiefabd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was using it to watch movies via external hdd and find that the unit freezes and just locks up into a bsod. You have to unplug the unit to get up and running again. Also you cannot add apps

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor quality

ubpx800-b 14/03/2021 by Unhappy w Sony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is beyond repair at less than 2 years old! Hardly used! Sent to Sony authorized repairer who found a board fault, less than 2 years old and Sony don't make the board any longer! Guess Sony realized they had a "Duck" and produced a mark 2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unhappy consumer!

UBPX800 26/02/2021 by Entrepreneur one (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony 4K Blu-ray player has a malfunctioning part which they do not manufacture anymore. So my Blu-ray player is useless!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy set up even for a below average technophobe

UBP-X800 07/02/2021 by SODP (United Kingdom)

Great picture and sound quality even though I don't have the highest rating equipment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Clear Playback

UBP-X800 03/01/2021 by lzsb (USA)

I have accepted the constant freezing of video on this product. What I really want to happen with this product is to have a lot more choices of channels to pick from. Maybe add a browser so you are not limited to a handful of channels. I wish it were user upgradable so I dont have to rely on or wait for Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

bad product

UBPX800 28/12/2020 by yasun (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

it out of work right now. It can not play blueray. can not play youtube and amazon prime.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

5

0

Nice Player

UBPX800 27/12/2020 by Scratch (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for just to play 4K movies and listening to CDs. It has so many capabilities I don’t use as I already have all the WIFI programs on my TV , this is overkill for me. , but it’s still an awesome machine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Freezes up all the time. Useless.

UBP-X800 10/12/2020 by Loebz (USA)

I bought the sony x800 about a year ago. From the very first 4k movie, it froze. No way to power it off without unplugging. I have an elaborate wiring system it is hooked into, and to unplug it is actually a lot of work for me to get access to the plug. I thought it was a fluke, but just about every movie it freezes up. I didn't feel like returning at the time and figured a firmware update would come out since lots of people are having same issue. I am just going to wait to get the PS5 to use as a 4k blu ray player. But this machine is terrible if you get one of the wrong ones. No firmware update since March 2019. It's not going to heal itself. So i just never use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Plastic GARBAGE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

UBP-X800 09/12/2020 by NOYFB (Canada)

Great picture , great sound , that's about it . No Auto Off , will Run til it burns itself out , so don't fall asleep with this GARBAGE on ! Streaming from Wi Fi is a JOKE , Rarely get through a movie on TUBI and you cannot get rid of any of the featured Apps , you're stuck with that garbage on your Screen ... NO WAY TO DELETE THIS GARBAGE !!! Constantly FREEZES while STREAMING .........................GARBAGE ! Bought online ... NEVER AGAIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Seriously Flawed

UBP-X800 13/11/2020 by whitedin (Canada)

If you are buying this to strictly play Blu-rays this is a good choice. However if you will be playing DVDs as well there are better options out there. The reason I purchased this product was due to all the features included (4K, 3D, Hi-Res Audio, Dolby Atmos and DTS:X codecs). No one else offered all this at the time I bought this player. The problem is when I play DVDs. There are way too many problems. the first is when certain discs are put in and the player completely freezes up at the opening screen. I have to unplug the player from the power source and restart to get the disc out as nothing on the player itself or the remote will work. It's not the discs themselves as they work perfectly fine in the other two machines I own as well as my laptop. Nor are the discs from several years ago; they're no older than the player itself. The second issue is navigating DVD menus. The menu will appear but the ability to navigate through it doesn't. I have to stop the disc, eject it and start all over (sometimes more than once) to finally get an icon to choose menu options. For a machine this advanced, there should not be any issues playing a disc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

software update crashed

ubpx800-b 11/11/2020 by wolf broke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

software update crashed making player unusable. sony support not helpful. had to put unit in the trash and buy a new one. again, it worked great until software update.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Freezing issues only way to reboot is to unplug it

UBPX800 28/10/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Player constantly Freezes with no repair in sight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

8

0

The first one died

UBPX800 26/10/2020 by MIDNIRDR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would be a higher rating if this wasn’t the second one I had to buy because the first one died after about 60 plays and of course out of warranty. Never had problems with Sony before but....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Great starter 4k player for release time

UBP-X800 23/10/2020 by McDog (USA)

Sony representative stated as Sony stopped support for this model including firmware updates over 1 year ago will continue to have operating issues ( often unable to load new 4k & blu-ray discs, unable to play when load successful, tray locks with disc inside and cannot release - have to unplug from power and/or perform reset. He said the newer -800M model is still supported @ this time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

7

0

QUIT WORKING AFTER ABOUT 60 PLAYS

UBP-X800 30/09/2020 by MIDNIRDR (USA)

It stopped working after about 60 plays. Of course the warranty had expired by then. This is unacceptable for a Sony product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Control Alt, Delete

UBP-X800 28/09/2020 by Sony75fan (USA)

I purchased this player with a Sony 75 inch F900 TV. For the first year it was fine, then it would freeze up and I called customer service and they told me to unplug it and restart it again. I have done this several times over the few years and it got the better of me last night....We had movie night, last night and it wouldn't even start the movie so I disconnected it walked it out the the curb and smashed until the case came flying off and there was plastic all over the street. Can say one thing the metal chassis is stout. I'm still a Sony guy, but this thing really angered me . My first Sony product was a 7 inch B&W TV back in the mid 60's

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

7

0

Great at first, but has problems later in life

UBP-X800 22/09/2020 by CKeeler (USA)

I've had this unit since early '18. It was great at first, but over the last year it has really started to have problems. It will completely freeze sometimes when trying to access streaming apps. No consistency, just randomly decides to freeze. The only way to fix it is unplug the unit for a minute. Many times it doesn't load the menus on movies. And I have a few movies that it will skip about 2-5 minutes at the same exact spot everytime. I had a Sony HD blu-ray player before that played every single one of my movies without a problem. I thought this unit would be just as dependable. It's not. No update to the unit since March of '19. Over a year and a half without an update, even though it's still listed as a current product. And it seems I'm not the only one with these problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Not worth the money!!

UBP-X800 16/08/2020 by Joray (Canada)

Good player discs wise, picture looks good, sound is great, voices are clear. Getting into what's irritating... Watching Sony rolling out Dolby Vision for the X700 and not the X800 was a gentle slap in the face for future proofing. I got over it eventually but the lack of having Atmos onto the Netflix app AND not having Amazon Prime in Canada is the deal breaker. On top of that, with this player, you'll be getting randomly freezing while watching Netflix.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic player for a reasonable price

UBP-X800 09/08/2020 by MJJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

Sony’s first 4K Blu-ray player - great example of success ! I really enjoyed video quality and upscaling capabilities of this player. Even my older DVD's came back to life again watching upscaled picture. The sound quality of this player deserves a separate award just for that ! Outstanding sound quality, Hi-Resolution Audio support and excellent clarity - simply amazing! The player works extremely well with Sony 7.2 CH STR-DN1080 AV Receiver. I would highly recommend to buy them together for outstanding performance and to open up full potential of this amazing product. The only downside of this player is absence of Dolby Vision. As I owe a 65" Sony TV which supports Dolby Vision it would be great to have this feature on UBP-X800. But, yet again, for the money you pay I think it's a great deal. Pros: Great video quality and detail Superb sound Vibrant colours Excellent build quality Cons: No Dolby Vision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

12

0

Stopped working

UBP-X800 19/06/2020 by UBPX800 (USA)

I have been having this for two year. It worked well. then suddenly stopped working. Blue ray disk can't be played and apps can't be launched. I contacted Sony tech support and reset the player but still not working. I was asked to contact United Radio Service for the repair. I called them. Then he said they no longer have the parts for that device. It's too expensive to have that blue ray player just for two years. I thought Sony is a good and reliable brand. I don't recommend Sony products.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

10

0

UBP-X800

UBPX800 17/06/2020 by Ken Thomas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this from Target on 5/22/2020. The 1st 2 weeks it was operating as expected. As of 6/6/2020 it has been freezing up when I'm streaming Amazon Prime and/or Netflix. The HDMI is premium 6' in length and the firmware is current. It is so frustrating, powering down the internet, unplugging the hdmi, unplugging the network and utilizing easy set up only to have it fail. My internet speed is at 28Mbps. How may I return this to Sony and a possible upgrade to the UBP-X800M2 and/or UBP-X1100ES.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

9

0

Works ok.

UBP-X800 09/06/2020 by Nushie (USA)

It plays 4K and bluray movies however I have had some freezes and could not continue watching the movie. It has audio problems with most of my DVD movies. It will only click and garble and I cannot watch the movie. I would think that a high end unit would have no problem playing older DVD disks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

0

ULTRA BAD PRODUCT

ubpx800-b 08/06/2020 by RSONAB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE HAD SEVERAL DVD & BLU-RAY PLAYERS. THIS IS BY FAR THE WORST PLAYER I HAVE EVER OWNED. I PURCHUSED THE SAME UNIT PRIOR TO THIS ONE AND RETURNED IT BACK TO THE RETAILER AND PURCHASED THIS ONE. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN FROM PRIOR EXPERIENCE ON SAME MODEL I RETURNED TO NOT TO PURCHASE ANOTHER ONE. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT GREEFE WITH THIS UNIT, EVERY TIME I PUT IN A DISK IT DOESN'T WORK WIGHT OUT SCREWING WITH IT. EVEN WHEN STREAMING MOVIES THE UNIT CONTINUES TO LOCK UP WHERE I HAVE TO UNPLUG THE UNIT AND START ALL OVER AGAIN TO GET THE MOVIE I WAS WATCHING. 2 NEW UNITS BOTH BAD THIS SUCKS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

8

0

One minor problem.

UBP-X800 27/05/2020 by Micheal49 (USA)

I have had this device for over a year. Every six or seven weeks it will either stay on but not connect to media or will not turn on. It will have to be completely unplugged for five or six minutes in order to re-set the device. A minor inconvenience to be sure, but still there is something awry either with hardware or firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

10

0

Sony's Worst

UBP-X800 22/05/2020 by Disappointed Patron (USA)

Purchased the UBP-X800 and it appeared to be a great product. Quality picture and sound, substantial feel and loaded with smart features. However, a bit slow on the loading and play mode. Then the Sony virus appeared. Would not eject the disc loaded in the player or turn off unless hard rebooted. Regardless of reboots, would not play a disc and would not update despite saying it needed to update. Unplugged, rebooted and tried to install update from flash drive. Nothing worked. Web posts revealed this to be a common problem. Took it to certified repair center and they could not repair without replacing the circuit board (costs more than a new X800. If you see an X800 for sale which is not an X800M2, DO NOT BUY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

10

0

Outstanding!

UBPX800 22/05/2020 by Alfredo X (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quick upstart, easy controls, excellent picture, works well together with Samsung Atmos sound bar!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

Only lasted 2 years

ubpx800-b 18/05/2020 by DROD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quit working after only 2 years..hoping the next one last longer

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Excellent performance

UBP-X800 16/05/2020 by Tricky Trev (United Kingdom)

I've had the product for a year now and it has been superb. It really does bring the best out of my Blu-ray collection in both vision and sound. Absolutely fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

NO UPDATES FOR TWO YEARS NOW

UBP-X800 11/05/2020 by samsonex1 (USA)

i bought about two years ago, i have been using ever since but am disappointed buy SONY. They are not providing updates for this product. for two years now without the update

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

6

0

Amazing 4K Blu-ray player and great value.

ubpx800-b 15/04/2020 by Dealzguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s been almost 2.5 years of this player and still is amazing. Very fast. Well built compared to any other flimsy built players out there. Seems like a keeper for few years for sure! Only bummer is even after registration with Sony for the 2 free 4K Blu-ray titles, Sony never sent it in spite of follow ups . So kind of feeling cheated here... Not sure if Sony will ever honor its promise

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

0

NEEDS FIRMWARE UPDATE NO DOLBY ATMOS

UBP-X800 12/04/2020 by Polywogg (Canada)

I Bought this Sony UBP-X800 Ultra 4k bluray A few months ago I Know it`s not supposed to support Dolby Vision But it supposed to support Dolby atmos Please update the Software it`s been a while Otherwise Great Quiet Unit Thank you Sony ??

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/04/2020

Hi Polywogg, We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Please check our website for our latest news and product updates. Erin

0

Great player.

UBPX800 06/04/2020 by Hockey1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player has a great picture and sound to it. Very sharp picture. A well made unit. Keep up the great job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

When it works, it’s great.

UBPX800 06/04/2020 by Gman72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve found a few disks that won’t play on this machine, and they all will play on other machines. Also some 4k disks will pause several times during their play. But when it’s working it’s a great experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Paperweight

UBP-X800 26/02/2020 by prix03gt (USA)

Worked well for about 6 months, then began randomly freezing. The device would get into a state where it could not be powered on or off and the only resolution is to power cycle the product. After power cycling, it will work for a time, and then misbehave again seemingly at random. I am running the latest firmware, which has not been updated by SONY since the month I purchased the product almost a year ago. This is my second AND LAST sony player. Both SONY devices I have owned have become paperweights within a year of service. It's almost as if they are designed to fail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Very Glitchy and poor user experience

ubpx800-b 24/02/2020 by SonytechGuy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 4K player in mid 2017 and experienced unit issues within 6 months. I had a total of 4 malfunction issues and finally retired the unit in early 2020. This player would initially power on but nothing could be done after it was on. The Sony logo would appear on my Bravia TV and then...nothing. The remote was unresponsive and I couldn't even power down the unit manually. Very disappointed with this specific Sony UBP 800 unit. I am a loyal Sony electronics customer and simply chalk it up to poor unit Quality Control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

250.00 wasted

UBP-X800 15/01/2020 by Canuck68 (USA)

Had it less than 6 months when the streaming stopped working then a week later power wouldn’t shut off and didn’t function at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Failed 16 days after warranty expired.

UBP-X800 08/01/2020 by ToolShedd (USA)

I have owned this player for just over a year. After 381 days of very light use the tray no longer opens. I used it primarily to play my SACD and Blu-Ray Audio discs once or twice a month. It did that very well and I was very happy with it. I don’t think I ever used it to watch a movie. I contacted Sony support and was told that they would not cover it as the warranty had expired, $300 for a device that fails after only one year of use is way overpriced.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Used 4 times then stopped working

UBPX800 26/12/2019 by Ryanformat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did purchase this unit in Jan 28th 2018 and loved the picture quality when I got a 4K movie. I had used it hook to 4K Xbr Sony tv about 4 times and when I went to use it again this Xmas it did not boot up. I had to unplug then plug back in and it turned on. Then it would not let me play a movie without freezing. It did tell me to update but it failed ever time I tried any way wired wireless and usb. Called Sony tech support and they told me out of warranty here is a repair shop. Well not the response I expected from Sony customer support. Well I am out a 259$ Blu-ray player. I also don’t believe in extended warranty since product quality should be present. If you google this problem I am not the only one with the same thing. i feel this should be covered under defect in manufacturing or software issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Just what I wanted

ubpx800-b 25/12/2019 by PreEsprit Guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this unit for over a month, and I'm very happy with it. Picture quality with DVDs, Blu-Rays amd 4K discs is all I could ask for on my Sony 4K TV. The remote is compact and has just the buttons I need--it doesn't over-complicate things. I don't have to resort to using the T's remote at all. My only nit-pick is that I wish the unit had a front-panel display, rather than having to use the on-screen display to check on elapsed or remaining time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent 4K player !!

UBPX800 07/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This $k player is very easy to use, friendly remote and the picture is unbelievable nice, I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good 4K - Blue ray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Constantly Locks Up

UBP-X800 07/12/2019 by Josh23 (USA)

Constantly locks up and now it’s died. I waste of $300. It started locking up a few months after I bought it and completely died after about 18 months. This will be the last Sony product I purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Locks Up

ubpx800-b 07/12/2019 by Josh23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k bluray player has a fantastic picture and great features when it works. The problem is it constantly locks up. No matter how many software updates it does or how many times I unplug it and plug it back in. It started doing this a few months after I purchased it and after about a year and a half I can barely get it to turn on now. I wanted to like this bluray player, but unfortunately I’m now stuck with a $300 paperweight. Sony refuses to acknowledge this issue even though they are well aware this is a common problem. Just very poor product and customer service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

No manual play button

UBP-X800 28/11/2019 by francis1945 (USA)

It sucks! It may be a great product and has proved itself in the past. But currently the remote will not work (and yes I put in new batteries). What really sucks about it is that there is no 'manual' play button. If you lose the remote or it doesn't work you cannot push a button the the unit itself to make it play. There is a manual turn on and eject button, but no PLAY button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

best blueray player

ubpx800-b 17/11/2019 by kilgore 95 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It plays cds,old dvds,new dvds, bluerays, practically it plays every thing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

kept locking up - died completely at 13 months

UBP-X800 11/11/2019 by looking for value (USA)

Sony had a good name - what happened? New high dollar DVD player is junk. My old ones still work great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Be careful

UBP-X800 09/11/2019 by Lionking1969 (Canada)

I had my unit for little over one year. The PCB is kaput and shows black screen with Sony logo. I read online many users with same issues and no resolution from Sony. Caveat emptor. I do not recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hi, Lionking1969!

We are sorry to hear about what happened. Please try following the steps on the link below to isolate the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/bdp-s6700/articles/00031837

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please visit our service website at https://ca.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_CA to locate a servicer near you.


Regards,

Erin

0

My third Sony UHD Player

UBPX800 02/10/2019 by Saundra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two other units and bought a 3rd for my daughters bedroom.Works great. Even standard DVD and Blu Ray Disks look better on this player. She plays DVD's every day so we needed a rugged dependable player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointing

UBP-X800 30/09/2019 by Ben57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There seems to be a problem with using USB stick containing movie (mp4) downloads. Keep getting a message that the file is corrupt or unsupported. But if you leave it for a few minutes then suddenly files are ok and you can view them. Had the same problem with a Sony TV bought at the same time but I have since replaced it with another Sony TV that doesn’t have this problem.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Best DVD PLAYER I've used so far

UBP-X800 28/09/2019 by Smith9107 (USA)

Only complaints is when playing old DVDs systems completely freezes, had to perform hard reboot multiple times (no audio past DVD MENU, picture freeze & pixelated, complete system doesn't respond to buttons & remote. (couldn't watch a whole season of a show, 7 of 8 seasons worked) Main purpose for buying was just for HI-RES AUDIO. It makes everything sound better/clearer. Using with SRSZR7 via Bluetooth. Video upscaling is pretty good. (tried connecting old 720P TV, made it look better than 1080P) using with xbr800e Sony customer for life, (Tvs, smartphone, HI-RES AUDIO products, mp3 players)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sleek Design

UBPX800 25/09/2019 by Mattizsokewl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this product easy to use and I have a awesome picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible 4k player -- No sound comes out.

UBP-X800 25/09/2019 by DisappointwithSony (USA)

I bought this player for my new Epson projector in my home theater. No sound comes through the system but when I plug in my old blueray player, the sound does work. I spent 4 hours with Sony technical support and they refused to replace it or refund. This is a terrible product and horrible customer service. I expected Sony to be much better.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Sony 4K Player

UBP-X800 20/09/2019 by Nails 59 (Canada)

Bought 6mths ago . Will play just about anything including DVD-Audio, SACD. Picture is amazing , but I have a Sony OLED . 5star rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2019

Hi, Nails59!

We're very glad to hear that you liked the product! Thank you for giving us a perfect rating!

Regards,
Sam

0

All round impressive product

UBP-X800 17/09/2019 by Aztec51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k ultra hd blu ray player has so much more - many apps including Netflix and Amazon Prime Video and terrific sound reproduction including HDD. Great value and very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High Hopes

UBPX800 17/09/2019 by Rusty 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a warranty replacement unit, my previous unit would intermittently freeze and lose all programming. I have had this unit for a couple weeks, and I have high hopes. It seems that the included apps are sparse and Grace note is no longer available. Sound and picture are wonderful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolute Sub-Par Product not worthy of Purchase

UBPX800 29/08/2019 by Not Happy with Sony (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Blu Ray Player, after 6 months, I had to return because the entire machine kept freezing up to the point that it wouldn't even open. After receiving the second blu ray player, the same problem as occured, and my one year factory warranty finished in June 2019. This particular model was absolutley horrible and I would not recommend.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/09/2019

Hi there,

We regret that the player had to be returned due to the issues you have experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better.

Erin

0

Great player with great features

UBPX800 29/08/2019 by rishii (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this product for several months now and it's been great. I've used it to watch 4K movies and the picture are clear as it can be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0