190

3.9 based on 190 customer reviews

97
35
21
13
24
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent replacement 4K Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 14/11/2019 by epicDT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous Samsung disc spinner was not too old but already starting to misbehave. Saw the reviews for the original version so decided to upgrade to the UBPX800M2. Very solidly built, super quite operation and lovely minimalist layout and design. Simple to use and rock solid picture and sound. Very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend. What more can I say; Thank you Sony !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs an update

UBP-X800M2 22/05/2019 by OctavioM (USA)

Splendid look and excellent build quality. Very good picture and sound from BD and Netflix. However there are three problems: 1) Dolby Vision doesn't activate automatically. Must be turned off manually each time you are watching a non DV movie. 2) Does not support Dolby Digital Plus (eac3 codec) when watching movies through USB hard disc. 3) Moving through the Netflix menu is very slow compared to my LG TV or laptop. I hope Sony solve these issues with a firmware update.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0

190 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent picture and sound

UBPX800M2 22/10/2020 by Bearded german (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Far superior to watching 4k on a xbox one fast easy to use however twice now when powered on the screen is scrambled turn it off then back on and works fine

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great overall

UBPX800M2 22/10/2020 by JustAPerson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent, but you need to make certain of using the proper type and quality of HDMI cable. It is not included with the player. Also, I do wish it had a digital audio out jack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So far so great

UBP-X800M2 21/10/2020 by bmd305 (USA)

Razor sharp picture and movie theater sound. Fast [very fast] menu navigation and response. Finds and joins network within 30 seconds. I have never seen such a terrific picture. None of the grain that sometimes accompanied 1080p Blu-ray movies. I also like that it connects to my sound system via Bluetooth or ARC, your choice. The unit is heavy, well built, and runs cool and quiet. Best picture quality over streaming, easily. This player takes the 4K experience to the utmost level. Way to go Sony !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Good features. Unreliable and expensive device.

UBPX800M2 10/10/2020 by LarryInIowa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Often glitches on video (requires unplugging) and Bluetooth sound (requires returning to menu and back to video). Google shows that these are long-standing bugs in this device, inexcusable for such a mature model at such a high price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Great product

UBPX800M2 08/10/2020 by Be blessed2020 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to be able to stream 4K content. The sound quality and picture is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Easily installed, nice features, excellent HD reso

UBPX800M2 29/09/2020 by Manyattempts (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have it for approximately 3 weeks. Excellent product good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Super UBD STUNNING

UBP-X800M2 29/09/2020 by Musicman100 (United Kingdom)

What A Machine excellent video and super hi Def audio best buy e er.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Excellent 4K player

UBPX800M2 27/09/2020 by Ricah1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the overall performance of this 4K player!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

High quality

UBPX800M2 15/09/2020 by Robert A I buy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and sound effects High quality construction

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Works great!!

UBPX800M2 08/09/2020 by RodP52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works like a charm with no problems and is not expensive!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

good picture & sound but no visual display on unit

UBP-X800M2 29/08/2020 by Jay99 (USA)

Picture is very good. Sound is excellent on Super Audio CDs but the player has no display to indicate the track being played. A display on the unit would not be expensive to include.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Amazing Picture

UBPX800M2 27/08/2020 by Daemone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such a great 4K player! Gorgeous colors and super crisp sound through my 5.2.2 surround system. Wish it had more apps than just Netflix, Amazon, and Youtube though. Hulu, Vudu, and HBOmax would be nice. I still have to watch those through my game system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Big disappointment.

UBP-X800M2 09/08/2020 by Terry61 (United Kingdom)

Ridiculously short on apps, now stopped working after less than 6 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

6

0

So far, so very good!

UBPX800M2 06/08/2020 by TheGunny6414 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The wife let me update the main living room's video system, and since we had a Sony 4K TV I decided to get a 4K player. I did some quick research and the UBP-X800M2 came up highly rated in many reviews. I've always been a fan of Sony, so I was intrigued and took the plunge. Full disclosure: at the time of this review I have yet to purchase/view a 4K disc, so I can't really comment on that. What I can say is that the player really upgraded the visuals of my bluray discs. I watched the old Kurt Russell movie "Soldier" on it the other night and although it was my first viewing of the disc since purchase, it seemed that the picture just popped. I have a lower mid-level soundbar so I'm sure I missed out on some of the audio options, but overall I really enjoyed watching the movie for the first time in many years. At some point I may have to do some song and dance to get another one of these for the Man Cave and really run it through its paces with my home theater receiver.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Great DVD & App Streamer

UBPX800M2 18/07/2020 by Larry Z (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent Sony quality, performance and product documentation, as usual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Great Product!

UBPX800M2 12/07/2020 by Utzman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been having issues with another brand player we have had for a number of years, so it was time to upgrade, and glad i did. Resolution is incredible and so far so good on the reliability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Beautiful 4K Picture

UBPX800M2 11/07/2020 by Robaire (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this in place of our other Blu-ray player, and the difference is astonishing, even though we do not have a 4K set as yet, with our very high speed HDMI cables, it is an incomparable picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Excellent Picture and Sound Output.

UBP-X800M2 09/07/2020 by Daddy Cool (United Kingdom)

A great 4K player with excellent picture and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Excellent UHD Player!

UBPX800M2 09/07/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have Samsung smart TVs and wanted a Samsung player but they stopped making Blu-ray players. I purchased this Sony player and I'm very happy with it. It's a good looking unit and built well. The menus are well-layed out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Not a fan

UBPX800M2 08/07/2020 by Louis5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got a warranty replacement for the original unit purchased last November because the player would continually lock up every few weeks. The only way to correct the situation was to unplug the unit and plug it back in, a frustrating experience since Sony hard wires the cord to the player. In addition, the remote control is way too small for anything other than playing a disk. Try maneuvering around while watching streaming video and you will quickly find that the "HOME" button is too close to the down arrow, causing the player to revert to the home page due to a slight error in placing your finger. Also no visual displays on the player and the power on light is way too small. If that isn't enough, I run the player through a Yamaha audio visual center. When playing a disk, the audio was not synced with the video requiring an adjustment on the Yamaha to correct it. Hopefully, that was another fault with the original player and not a normal characteristic of the player. Bottom line, buyer beware

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

0

HurryupandFreeze

UBP-X800M2 04/07/2020 by uhapppycustomer (USA)

I just bought this unit brand new, full price. Played brand new movie purchased at same time, Invisible Man. Movie froze @ ~1:35 in. Took 4 minutes for unit to respond. I was replacing the worlds first 4k player, Samsung UBD-K8500, only because I wanted to play my SACDs. My Samsung has NEVER froze, EVER...! I was so impressed with the packaging and build quality. Only for it all to be ruined by a freeze at an extreme climax of a movie. Unreal...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

A+++++++++++++ :)

UBPX800M2 01/07/2020 by JCR0007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Anything Sony I love the Rolls Royce of electronics but just 1 buggy thing if it stops turning on just unplug it then back in & change the power saver to turn on slow & that fixed the problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great features

UBPX800M2 30/06/2020 by M S Owen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy that I bought it. Great value. Tell friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

It's great

UBPX800M2 29/06/2020 by Little flower (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This DVD is the best picture I have ever4 had.....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Only 3 streaming apps?

UBPX800M2 22/06/2020 by raeddy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very surprised this machine does not support a suite of streaming apps. Only Amazon Prime, Netflix, and Youtube. Disapointed

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

9

0

4K Wow

UBPX800M2 19/06/2020 by USAF E8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed a new blu-ray play and purchased Sony UBP-X800M2 4K UHD player with HDR. Have been watching a show on Regular Blu-ray player and the upgrade produces a clear, bright picture. Very happy with this 4K player. Worth every penny and definitely recommend this unit. Did not by for streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

13

0

Falls Just Short

UBPX800M2 17/06/2020 by Gtiguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just set this up a day ago. Tv has great picture and can be seen from the side very well. Sound is not as good as expected but since it didn’t come with a Owners Operation Manual I may not have it set up correctly. The remote works well but instead of little colored buttons why not have a couple for Hulu and Sling. My complaint here is that I have a Amazon Firestick plugged into it and I can choose what I want to watch with the tv’s remote but can’t control sound or pull up menu. That’s Crazy. These are the short comings , setup sheet should have better instructions, tv should have operators manual, remote lacks access to other program providers. All this being said is why it’s not 5 star.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

14

0

The non plus ultra in home theater experience

UBP-X800M2 17/06/2020 by Badado (USA)

Unpacking the Sony UBP-X800M2 is already an experience of its own. While unwrapping the product you realize immediately from the weight that the produce has been built differently from every other consumer blu-ray players. Solid and well constructed. The Audio and video experience is of another planet. Vibrant colors and deep contrast, crystal clear sound and full bass make the UBP-X800M2 the non plus ultra in high end audio/video products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

15

0

definitely an upgrade from the X-700

UBPX800M2 13/06/2020 by sudara1978 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I retired my mostly functional X-700 to the bedroom and upgraded to the X-800M2 for my main theater and Its quality build is immediately apparent and its Stylish as well but Its Not Just about aesthetics, I also notice the big Improvement in clarity even in already exceptional HDR Enhancements. Does Help Having A QuantumLED TV the X-700 Was Good enough But the X-800M2 is Immersively vivid and Bright and the contrast in the picture is the best I've seen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

20

0

Terrible Waste of Money

UBPX800M2 11/06/2020 by toddca1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for Black Friday in 2019 to replace my existing Sony Blue Ray player which has become increasingly unresponsive to remote input over the years. I was initially disappointed to find that the UBP-X800M2 does not allow installation of any additional apps, so you are stuck with Netflix, YouTube and PrimeVideo. That eliminates our ability to use Hulu, DisneyPlus, HBONow and VUDU for which we also have subscriptions. I was willing to live with that, but, due to the fact that we typically just cast the other services from our phones using Chromecast, we really didn't use this thing much in the last 6 months. So just a day or two ago I went to turn it on so my 4 year old could use the remote to watch Netflix (without the need for my phone) and low and behold the UBP-X800M2 turns on but will not transmit a signal to my TV over the same HDMI that it's been connected to since November. Additionally, the remote control will not open the disk tray, but when i manually click the bottom on top of the UBP-X800M2 the disc tray opens. I put brand new batteries in the remote to double check and it still won't open, nor does it appear to respond to any of the other button clicks, except the TV on/off button, which does indeed turn my TV on and off. So in short, owned it for 6 months, barely used it because there's a limited app support, and it crapped out. And naturally I didn't keep my receipt, which is required for proof of purchase to register this thing online and make a complaint, so I'm stuck with a $150 electrical paper weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

17

0

Missing remote features

UBP-X800M2 08/06/2020 by art c (USA)

No replay or advance features on the remote. Should be standard for all dvd players.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

19

0

Exceeded expectations

UBPX800M2 06/06/2020 by Ssirguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a dead blu-ray player. I was reluctant to purchase because everything is about streaming these days. I wish I would have not waited so long. What a difference. I expected a better picture but the sound is amazing. All of my old DVD’s have never looked or sounded better. Really good upscaling. Bought on sale so was reasonably priced. Player is solid and heavy and does not look cheap. I hope it lasts for a long time. Can’t comment on Netflix. I don’t use it for streaming I have other devices that I use for Netflix, YouTube, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

0

Sony TV excellent. Blu Ray not as much

UBPX800M2 05/06/2020 by Benny30 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new one to replace one that I had less than two years. Before that I had one that didn't even last that long. I did buy the extra ins. but because of the covid virus I couldn't get help with that. It's just my husband and myself and the only time we use it is in the evening and I clean it periodically so I am not pleased with the lasting power. I am pleased with the sharp color and I would not have replaced AGAIN if I didn't basically like it.I am so hoping this one last since I couldn't get ins. on it because of the covid. It was nice to be able to tell the store what one I had and to order a new one and do a pick up because it was a necessity, again because of covid. Anyway I hope you can improve their lasting power.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

0

Yes it plays discs

UBP-X800M2 31/05/2020 by Rowdymoon (Canada)

Had it for about a year now, plays discs ok..4k good,blu-ray good...online not so good....if you plan on using this for netfix,you tube etc than you may want to get something else....it is like it doesnt have strong enough net adapter or processing power....had to go back to using the PS4 for online apps....was dissapointed because I wanted to use this for everything ( other than games of course )

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent performance but not user friendly

UBPX800M2 28/05/2020 by Darren1701 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality and overall performance are excellent and the inclusion of SACD and DVD-A playback is very welcome, but as others have pointed out, the Dolby Vision implementation is abysmal and there’s no reason for it to be so difficult to to switch to. After many firmware updates without resolution, I’m assuming there is not going to be any fix for it anytime soon which is why I’m leaving only three stars. Also, the lack of streaming apps is annoying since the previous model in the line included many options. Note to Sony: You don’t gain customers by removing popular features from your newest models of electronics. Overall, good performance but lacking in user-friendly features and use. If the DV issue is ever fixed, I’ll gladly re-evaluate my rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

13

0

Nothing but issues from the start!

UBPX800M2 26/05/2020 by wjohn61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this player for a little over 2 weeks. I've used, or tried to use to be more accurate, the player maybe a dozen times in that time period, and I have yet to start it up once and make it through a movie/show without having to restart the player. It either completely freezes, or more often lately, the picture cuts out and audio continues running. It's nothing in my setup causing the issue, it's the unit. Returning it this weekend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

11

0

Good Buy!

UBPX800M2 24/05/2020 by Oldphred (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still new, but works great! All the features are exactly as advertised and set-up was easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11

0

Great working player but no Hulu or Vudu

UBPX800M2 22/05/2020 by Putintane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great working player but it only has Netflix, Prime and YouTube. I had to install a separate stream box to get Hulu and Vudu. Overpriced for getting mainly just a player. I have the 2017 version of this player and it has the streaming apps. Come on Sony, why so stingy. Bring back the apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

Best Blu-ray I’ve ever owned

UBPX800M2 21/05/2020 by rusty nova (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything works great features and great and user-friendly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Easy operation

UBP-X800M2 20/05/2020 by Johnnie38 (United Kingdom)

I have just bought this product. Found set up easy and operation very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Great design and video quality but chassis twisted

UBP-X800M2 19/05/2020 by justadude (USA)

First off – I love the player's video quality and design and would definitely recommend it to others. However, there is one thing that bothers me a little – I have purchased three of these so far, two used and one new from a very reputable authorized Sony dealer, and none of them sat flat on a perfectly flat, even surface. With the used ones I assumed that it was because of shipping damage and sent them back, however, the brand new one, which was double-boxed and came sealed in a glossy Sony box that had zero damage and not even a single dent or scuff on the outside, had the same issue. It goes without saying that I have tried multiple flat surfaces – first the TV console, then coffee table, and finally a side table with a glass top. The glass top is definitely perfectly flat, and I tried it just in case the wooden tops are not. On all of those surfaces my brand-new X800M2 rocks a little. A 1/64" thick piece of electrical tape under one of the feet will fix this, but I feel like I should not have to do this. If this is a manufacturing issue and the chassis cannot be made perfectly flat, one of the feet simply has to be made adjustable the way furniture makers do it. Actually, Apple had the same issue with their latest iPad Pro, which also arrived to some people slightly twisted, and Apple's response was that it is impossible to make them perfectly flat. I suspect that the same is true of Sony's Blu-ray player frames. Based on my web searches, others have noticed this issue as well, although from what I see it is not a common complaint. Again, this is not a deal-breaker to me, just something to be aware of. If the player is unsteady, it can start skipping due to vibrations from the subwoofer, speakers, and people walking by. Sony – Is this normal?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

3rd player works

UBPX800M2 18/05/2020 by angst (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the 1st 2 players i got from best buy skipped. the final one sent from texas works. i would like you to notify me and best buy what caused the skipping problem?

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Decent update, but not keeping pace

UBPX800M2 17/05/2020 by ConsolidateNow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a 13 year old Sony. The previous model was good, but had a few quirks That seems to be a trend with sony. The new model Is sleek and I like the form factor. They just don't go far enough on the features. No USB connection, despite what the manual and software say. You can stream NetFlix, Amazon, and YouTube, but not YouTubeTV. Disney plus requires an Android TV. The product details says "may play more streaming services", but that apparently is wishful thinking. I can see these limitation if you are looking at a $50 model, but at $250, I was hoping not to be so limited. I don't think Sony really cares about this technology like it should. I am looking for a device that I can centralize everything. But as it is, I need Roku and a DVD player...more devices and multiple remotes (have not found a universal that works well with what I have.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Unit

UBPX800M2 16/05/2020 by Inspector869 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent unit. Is much heavier than previous player, operates very quite, easy to use, set up was a breeze. Bought to mate up with our new 75X900F and picture and playback is excellent. I don't require a lot of apps as the TV already has them, and I prefer to unit to be focused on its primary function anyhow. We have been building our 4K movie library and we really enjoy getting the full benefit of the playback in 4K. I would recommend this unit and look forward to many years of service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

What happened to all the apps????

UBPX800M2 14/05/2020 by marganon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I also own a UBP-X800, and I bought this unit thinking it would be comparable. I am sorry to say it falls way short of the X800. The X800 has Pandora, Hulu, Sirius XM, Slacker Radio and so many other wonderful apps. All this has is YouTube, Netflix, and Amazon Prime, as does the X800, but out of all of those, I only use YouTube. Sirius and Pandora would have been nice as I bough this unit for the living room and I do have subscription. A weak imitation of it's older brother. The only thing I can say is a superiority about this unit is that its YouTube app works better than its older brother. It does not truncate the beginning of videos like the older model does. I am disappointed, and it is your own fault, Sony, for setting such high standards and then not keeping up with them.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Skips

UBP-X800M2 11/05/2020 by RW59 (USA)

For the moment, wanted to just use it to play audio CDs. Skips within every song. On every CD. Had to plug in my teenage daughter's cheap, portable kareoke machine for no-problem results. Also, there's no front panel display to indicate what is going on. I guess this is supposed to be progress. What a disappointment.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Very high quality player

UBPX800M2 06/05/2020 by joel105 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player is made extremely well and is very fast compared to others I have owned. I love it! What I don't love is the way Sony is dragging their heels with regard to my missing sony reward points. It has been many months now and I have heard nothing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great new quality product

UBP-X800M2 30/04/2020 by Ropes (United Kingdom)

Too early to comment. However first impressions great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony - UBP-UX80 Junk

UBP-X800M2 26/04/2020 by Ggggrrtt (USA)

Unit is a piece of junk. Bought 14 months ago and after expires the unit keeps shutting down. Turn it back on repeatedly and it just shuts down. Rebooting does help. Happens every time it is used. Expensive and a piece of absolute junk Do not buy for any reason

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony quality

UBPX800M2 25/04/2020 by Bertag40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love my new Sony 4K player, brilliant match with my Sony 4K TV. All I buy is Sony because of the quality and reliability. Highly recommended to all !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Meh

UBPX800M2 25/04/2020 by Gtrmantb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had an oppo bdp before this and loved it. However, it started having trouble reading disc so I replaced it with this Sony. I don’t think the picture is as good and it has some artifacts that show up. Not great.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent

UBPX800M2 21/04/2020 by Silver Wolf67 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product, easy to set up, resolution terrific

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/04/2020

Hi, Silver Wolf67, Thank you for sharing your great experience with your 4K Blu-ray player. We appreciate it. Thank you for choosing Sony! -VIncent

0

Almost Perfect

UBP-X800M2 19/04/2020 by MattyT (United Kingdom)

Had this almost 6 months now and no problems (touch wood)! To sum it up in three words, slow, slick and silent. For 4K discs I have to say its a little sluggish for load times - but only 4K discs (which I guess you could argue is the main point of having it) Obviously there is a huge amount more data on a 4K UHD disc compared to a Blu Ray disc, but pop a Blu Ray inside and it's rapid. Scene selections are instant. Upscaling fantastic too. I'm not going to review picture quality (although mine is simply outstanding) as it will depend on what television you have. I cannot get over how silent this machine is - I don't think I've ever heard it. Audio features are excellent, I also use mine for CD's. Interface is a little bog-standard, but simple and concise. The unit had a great weight and size - and even sits under my bravia - not in the telly stand. It looks so slick too, remote simple. All in all, I wish it was a little nippier for 4K discs loading times and to turn off can take a while, but this isn't enough to knock it down a star. 5/5!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Loving it!

UBPX800M2 16/04/2020 by chris123454 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Puts a great picture on my TV screen. Easy to set up and use, including the remote. It all makes sense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Very limited media apps

UBPX800M2 16/04/2020 by Dudedad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was expecting to be able to access media apps on the device. It only comes with three and NO WAY to add more; very dissapointed,

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

Better than my previous Sony DVD player

UBPX800M2 14/04/2020 by Rob713 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it just over a month ago. Much simpler and easier to use than my prior Sony DVD player I bought 11 years ago. Highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent Player

UBPX800M2 10/04/2020 by Jseward99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player was easy to set up and connect with my wifi. It plays 4K movies beautifully and I can’t believe the excellent sound when I play CD’s. It also plays other hi end music formats.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great support fromSony

UBPX800M2 09/04/2020 by Tiger1lam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Get replacements when product not working, very happy with product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

The software feels dated

UBP-X800M2 09/04/2020 by VoobdooV (USA)

My experience with Sony has typically been that they make good hardware, but mediocre software. The same is true with this Blu-ray player... and it manifests itself in the controller design. Dated Controller Design The usability of the controller feels like it's 20 years old when compared to the usability of the Apple TV controller. - My biggest complaint is the placement of the stop button. Why is it so close to frequently used controls? Do you know how annoying it is to press stop when the UHD Blu-ray from Paramount doesn't know how to resume the movie and you are forced to sit multiple screens before you can search your way to the place your were at? And what exactly is the difference between the Stop button and the Home button? Why do we even need the stop button? - If you press Pause and then Fast-Forward, you step through the frames... but if you press Pause then Rewind, you Rewind... how does that make sense? - Having to cycle through 24 different subtitles in order to turn it off because you pressed it accidentally - that's 20 year old stuff. The Subtitles button should open/close a menu on the screen with all the subtitle choices. This is not the same as the popup-menu, which opens the entire main menu. The same goes for the Audio button. - A dedicated Netflix button also feels like it's 20 years old. In players that support multiple tasks (disc or streaming), a task switching button/function (like on cell phones) is a better idea. Odd Default Settings - Why is Playback Options/Picture Quality Mode not set to "Direct" by default? Playback Options is a "hidden" menu that is available only during playback. The default setting applies Noise Reduction, which removes the sharpness of Blu-rays. - Why is Audio Settings/BD Secondary Audio not set to "On" by default. Some Blu-rays apparently use that for the soundtrack. If this is disabled, the menu will have sound, but the movie will be completely silent. I can't imagine a usage scenario for this feature, let alone for it to be the default setting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Works great.

UBPX800M2 05/04/2020 by jfd1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player about 4 weeks ago to replace my old Samsung Blu-ray player. Easy to use and provides a great picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great product

UBPX800M2 02/04/2020 by Olex70 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad to have it again. I like Sony products. High quality. But I think that the front opening door is a little bit too big. That's it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 01/04/2020 by Walshy66 (United Kingdom)

I have just starter to use the Blu Ray player so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Amazing

UBP-X800M2 31/03/2020 by AlanHinckley (United Kingdom)

Had this a little while now and still getting to grips with everything it can do, however, so far so amazingly good. Firstly the picture quality of my (mostly old) DVDs has suddenly renewed my pleasure at seeing my favourite DVDs like they were Blu-rays. This in itself is a huge bonus, one that makes the cost of this player worthwhile and yet on top of that, the even better picture quality of my Blu-rays (and the sound is far better too) blows me away. AND I have not yet mentioned 4K - all I will say is that until you see it you won't believe the difference. OK so I have a new Sony 4K TV so it was 'necessary' for the player upgrade, but in all honesty I was not expecting such a huge quality increase. Wow! At this time of needing to self isolate my wife and I are watching a lot more television so I am patting myself on the back for getting the new tv and player at just the right time. In all honesty, I do believe I am enjoying my favourite films more now than ever before. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Awesome product !!!

UBPX800M2 24/03/2020 by Mrmoses1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This DVD Player makes my Sony Bravia picture even that much better . Both work and perform flawlessly !! Thanks Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture Quality.

UBPX800M2 22/03/2020 by ptsteno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has another player that plays everything. HDBlurays, CD’s, SACD, etc....An easy to set up, easy to use player. And picture & sound is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good image but bad features!

UBP-X800M2 19/03/2020 by 94suburban (USA)

I bought this to upgrade my theater room to 4k. The image is good and it loads quickly, but why won't Sony fix the Dolby Vision setting to auto?!!! I have read many complaints about this and no one from Sony deals with this issue. If it was noted on the package I would not have purchased it. Seems like a simple fix!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Good value for the money.

UBPX800M2 16/03/2020 by pjb83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player has outstanding picture quality puts the 4k LG it replaced to shame.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Flawless Performance!

UBPX800M2 10/03/2020 by nuge48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only use Sony Blue Ray Players. They are the best!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy and Fast with Excellent Performance

UBPX800M2 07/03/2020 by circlingwater (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This blu-ray player has a lot of nice features including app support. Able to improve older TVs or other non-smart TVs. Easy and clean firmware upgrade once it was connected to the internet. Easy setup. Fast loading of movies and flawless playback so far. I like how it grips to the glass table I have it sitting on so it can't be picked up easily or slid about.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Second Sony DVD BluRay Player, even better

UBPX800M2 05/03/2020 by Sparkie_GB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the ultra high-definition Sony UBP-X800M2 after reviewing what is on the market currently. This is my second Sony Blu-ray player, paired to a new OLED TV I recently purchased. Set-up was quick and easy, construction appears to be solid, performance has been perfect with both DVD and blu-ray discs. The outer surface of the player is perfect, giving it a smudge-free appearance. So far, no complaints or problems!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

GREAT 4K UPSCALE STREAMING

UBPX800M2 05/03/2020 by BASSETT7755 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

IVE had this player for about two weeks now and love it.. VERY GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT.. It even upscale regular DVDs and streaming.. I would recommend this to A FRIEND.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

BEST BLUE RAY PLAYER I HAVE EVER OWNED

UBPX800M2 23/02/2020 by Harleyrider69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k Blueray Player is from SONY and the picture quality on my 4k Samsung TV is quality without saying any more. It plays my 3D discs also! Simply the Best!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1