64

3.5 based on 64 customer reviews

26
10
10
7
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This is an excellent product

UBP-X800M2 23/08/2019 by Bristone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Robust chassis fantastic picture and sound with Dolby vision. Personally going to the setting to start a Dolby vision disk isn't an issue for me. The player does respond to all needs, including 3D , but then like others you stop making 3D 4k televisions for those of us who bought 3D movies in addition to 4k bluays with Dolby vision. Then, people like us are going to think twice about buying a new television . This, the X800M2, is without doubt a really top drawer player. Now let us have inclusion of 3D again on your latest TVs, so we can use it to the full.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs an update

UBP-X800M2 22/05/2019 by OctavioM (USA)

Splendid look and excellent build quality. Very good picture and sound from BD and Netflix. However there are three problems: 1) Dolby Vision doesn't activate automatically. Must be turned off manually each time you are watching a non DV movie. 2) Does not support Dolby Digital Plus (eac3 codec) when watching movies through USB hard disc. 3) Moving through the Netflix menu is very slow compared to my LG TV or laptop. I hope Sony solve these issues with a firmware update.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

0

91 Customer Reviews

0

Great Pictures

UBPX800M2/CA 05/12/2019 by Goofy43 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few days ago. The quality of the sound and picture is excellent when watching Utube. However it is impossible to install the Amazon Prime View app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best yet!

UBPX800M2 04/12/2019 by jrb1505 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned the ubp-x800 for about two years. The UBP-X800M2 is better in every way. Still just as quiet, but better picture and faster when loading disks. The new home menu is much nicer. It has given me zero problems so far. I have 4 other Blu-Ray players right now, but this is the best of the bunch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice

UBPX800M2 03/12/2019 by Gsk405 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month and a half ago and play both blue ray and 4k both picture is good and no problem with it thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointing and misleading

UBPX800M2 01/12/2019 by nepatsken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this streaming blu ray player expecting to have multiple apps on here. It only has 3. How misleading. If I knew this before hand I would have purchased another product. My wife has a streaming blu ray player that’s a Sony and it has multiple apps on that one. The problem with that one is you can’t update it to include new apps (Disney plus). If you can put multiple apps on your TVs you would think you could do it for a blu ray player especially since it is a 4K one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture and Superb Wireless Streaming

UBPX800M2 29/11/2019 by TeddA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Even though selection of Apps is the severely limited, the resulting high quality of the display of movie Blu-ray and DVD discs and the superb wireless streaming get this machine a five stars from me.. Fortunately for me, Amazon Prime is one of the apps so it does not really affect my use of this device but check the apps available before buying to see if your streaming service is covered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great player, very happy!

UBP-X800M2 28/11/2019 by Qui Gonn Jim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven’t actually upgraded to any 4K discs, but wanted the flexibility. This is a top player though, wringing every last pixel of detail out of whatever it plays. The sound is even more impressive, with all sorts of source materials. I’d recommend this machine - the only thing I’m missing is my 4K disc of Bohemian Rhapsody, that I was supposed to be able to claim having bought the player, made the mistake of registering it to my Sony account first and now don’t appear to be able to claim for the disc?! Apart from that though, top machine!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

UBPX800M2 28/11/2019 by Vi12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Again I bought this a month ago and am enjoying it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't purchase

UBPX800M2 22/11/2019 by Ajbfox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this player in May 2019 and it no longer powers on with the remote or the power button on the front of the unit. I have to unplug and plug it back in to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony ubpx800m2

UBP-X800M2 21/11/2019 by Brandy88 (USA)

I bought a month ago and it hasn’t played one disc fully from start to finish. It keeps juddering and freezing. Changed leads and done factory reset and running latest firmware but still not working. I’m getting another delivered on Monday and this ones getting exchanged so il review this next month when I’ve used the new one. Always bought Sony and bought this to partner my Sony KD65AG9 but this is obviously a dud do hope the new replacement does the job

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good machine

UBP-X800M2 19/11/2019 by Alanxxxxxxxxxxx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my Denon 3133 Universal disc transport that had failed. The picture quality is better than the Denon. The sound when playing CD's is good and the built in music player plays my music collection in Flac format very well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only one Flaw

UBP-X800M2 16/11/2019 by Jomi18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 weeks ago Great performance, picture and sound ONLY flaw is around "Descriptive audio" I is permanently on with Dolby 5.1 which is what I have so I need to switch to 7.1 to get rid of it but I do not have Atmos speakers so will lose some information

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

better images

UBPX800M2 15/11/2019 by Doctor Bob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Even with my less than newest tehnology TV, the pictures from streaming and CDs is better than ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent replacement 4K Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 14/11/2019 by epicDT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous Samsung disc spinner was not too old but already starting to misbehave. Saw the reviews for the original version so decided to upgrade to the UBPX800M2. Very solidly built, super quite operation and lovely minimalist layout and design. Simple to use and rock solid picture and sound. Very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend. What more can I say; Thank you Sony !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Needs more Apps for it

UBP-X800M2 14/11/2019 by bp44 (USA)

There are only 3 streaming apps Netflix, You Tube , and Amazon. What about Hulu and Disney+?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good but could be better

UBP-X800M2 10/11/2019 by Wakey Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture and sound very very good. Build quality seems fine. Minus points as others have noted are Dolby Vision not being auto detected, (not a problem for me until we upgrade the tv) and lack of atmos support playing mkvs from usb or network, which is annoying.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sleek & slim!

UBP-X800M2 04/11/2019 by BB2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A lovely compact unit which does everything I want with great picture quality - no complaints!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great disc spinner.

UBP-X800M2 31/10/2019 by Tebbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month or so ago and extremely happy with the build and disc playback quality which is all I bought it for. Cannot fault picture and sound quality of 4K and standard bluray discs and that's coming from an Oppo 203 owner. Only given four stars as one or two areas that could be improved. 1) Ability to auto detect and switch between HDR and Dolby Vision. 2) Atmos/DTS X pass-through not available on files played via attached HDD's.This is not a major issue for me as I have a separate player used for files which does this. 3) The flappy cover over the USB slot is cheap and nasty compared to the rest of the machine. A USB slot on the rear would be good. 4) I don't use the apps but the availability could be more for those who intend to use them. Despite the minor improvement points if you are looking for solid build quality and disc play back this unit is highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Reilable player but needs auto Dolby Vis switching

UBPX800M2 29/10/2019 by Jay in MN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player is reliable and produces a great picture but it needs automatic Dolby Vision switching. Having to do it manually is stupid and I just leave DV off most of the time and forget to turn it on when I have DV content so it stays off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Unsupported files.

UBP-X800M2 23/10/2019 by Zsozsó 23 (USA)

I had to watch certain 4K/HD movies directly on my TV from SSD because this product can't plays it.. This makes me sad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great picture

UBP-X800M2 20/10/2019 by Chuck cant help that (United Kingdom)

happy with everything about this product, will buy sony products again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid, Fast, Quiet and feature-packed

UBPX800M2 20/10/2019 by james123321 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best no-frills players Sony has offered in years. Sturdy metal case, very low noise, 4K HDR performace is quite speedy. Doesn't struggle and the remote control is a good size and layout. My only complaint is the STOP button... why is this on the remote? If you hit it accidentally, everything shuts down and you have to find your place in the movie to get it going again. Perfect, other than that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Pleasurable Experience

UBPX800M2 05/10/2019 by gam2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My final selection was this Sony UBP-X800M2 Blu-Ray Player. I researched and shopped players within this price range that would compliment my new AV Receiver and OLED Televison. I decided this unit would fit the bill for me. It has all the newest features allowing it to communicate with my other new feature rich home theater components via HDMI connectivity. It can currently stream Wi-Fi from YouTube, Netflix and Prime Video if needed although I have not performed this task as of yet. This model also came bundled with two 4K Blu-Ray Disks. The unit itself has a well built solid feel to it and has been playing my HD 4K Blu-Ray Discs beautifully as advertised with no problems detected. It's a very feature rich unit with a included remote controlling all of the usual optional features including it's pleasant onscreen menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice player but 4K HDR was disappointing.

UBPX800M2 01/10/2019 by PMBA (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

In general I like this player. Quality seems good. The 4K resolution looks amazing on my XBR-55X900F. BUT, 4K HDR was a bit disappointing, and it's not just Sony but HDR in general. I popped in a 4K UltraHD disk (SOLO) and was surprised how dark and flat it appeared. The Blu-ray disk for the same movie was much brighter and contrastier. A bit of research on the internet and it seems this is the general consensus for 4K HDR. If there is any ambient light in the room then 4K HDR will seem dark and flat. And with Dolby Vision the brightness and contrast are baked into the file format - I couldn't adjust the brightness. Later that evening I watched another movie in 4K HDR (The Mummy) and I had the room totally dark, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Luckily most, if not all, 4K UltraHD discs come with a Blu-ray disc, so I'll save my 4K viewing for the night and enjoy Blu-ray in the day. Blu-ray looks fantastic on this player. Even my old DVDs look great. I also like that I can stream music from PC through this player to my surround speakers. I would recommend this product with the above caveat about HDR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hi, PMBA!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Seems to be a good machine out of the box.

UBP-X800M2 29/09/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only owned this just over a week. I only own two 4k movies. But it is only as good as your tv. I wish you could tell when it is on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

so easy to use

UBPX800M2 28/09/2019 by Jim C 1942 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a samsung and it out shines it by 1000 % The colors are richer and brighter Sony never a disappointment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very nice premium built with DV

UBPX800M2 28/09/2019 by Joser68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the Sony 700, much better premium built, very quite during playback. No front display, which I like. Paired it with my new Sony 950G 65inch tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

cracking machine

UBP-X800M2 28/09/2019 by DH Sea Vixen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

got given end game on 4k and did not have a 4K player so went for the UBP-X800M2 as this now has doldy vison

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Pics and sound is great

UBP-X800M2 26/09/2019 by MobyDick1 (United Kingdom)

Richer Sounds are very helpful and the product is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Features that are advertised don’t work

UBP-X800M2 24/09/2019 by Johnnybeatles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because it said it played SACD it does not.I thought it was faulty so took it back to the shop.In the manual and online it said it plays SACD. I now have my money back.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

A1 picture

UBP-X800M2 23/09/2019 by AngloBM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No isuues as yet Bought to replace 2 year old UBP X800 that failed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Got what I wanted

UBPX800M2 21/09/2019 by Laatinsi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Did me right. All the features performed exceptionally well. One set back if I could fix anything would be DRM collections while wanted and forward thinking it’s critical that your 1:1 archive gets a bail in keeping the original, restored is all signature dimensions. Signs of the age we living in ~ Thanks your investment procured for a handsome turnout:

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Picture Quality and Excellent Sound

UBP-X800M2 19/09/2019 by Thomas 3366 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted that I Bought This Blu Ray Player ok

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great player with one software glitch

UBPX800M2 16/09/2019 by retired101 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp picture to my UHD 4K TV. The only problem that I see is that the pop up TV display always shows no disk even when a Blu Ray or DVD is inserted. Movies play as they should as soon as I hit the play button. I have already updated the firmware so that is not the solution. I wish the controls on the box were illuminated. As it is one must use the remote for all tasks in a dim room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic player

UBP-X800M2 16/09/2019 by Cpp67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really great player. Only thing to improve wpuld be to bring back a digital display on front of player and to make it multi region for dvds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features,but big price

UBP-X800M2 10/09/2019 by Lavonas1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy about 2 weeks ago,his look same like UBP-X800(I have too),same remote control(I dont like this remote,dont have a light because what I am using player in night time)only diferent interface when you using menu...If you dont have good home cinema speakers dont buy this model,because what UBP-X800 same only price about 100 pound cheaper

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Faster that the previous X800

UBP-X800M2 08/09/2019 by New800MUser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to my previous UBP-X800 and find the performance is a lot faster. The image quality is as brilliant as before, and the system a lot easier to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Beautiful Machine

UBP-X800M2 01/09/2019 by TeleAddict (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is so much to tell you about this player. The first thing you notice about the player is its weight. It is a proper heavy player at 3kg that’s a whopping 8lbs. The players weight may be explained by the premium chassis it uses to reduce micro vibrations. It is a full size machine and it’s width fills the shelf it’s resting on. It is however much slimmer than my old machine. One slight annoyance I find with the fixed cable and moulded UK plug. As I am using an oak tv cabinet the plug would not go through the port in the back of the unit. I would have preferred a detachable lead. That aside, Sony has done a great job of mixing materials that give the player a High end feel and appearance. I particularly like its sharp corners and rectangular shape that will integrate well with the most expensive audiophile systems and the plastics used have a metallic feel. Setup is quick and easy and mine has the latest firmware installed. I chose WI-FI connectivity over LAN and the player supports 2.4 & 5GHz. I couldn’t get WPS to work and lost patience with it.Probably finger trouble but I couldn’t get it to accept my password first go either and it connected to the adjacent router at 2.4GHZ by default when it did? The Sony boasts a myriad of hi res sound and picture specifications (not photo cd’s) in its resume. There is a dedicated HDMI sound port and with the latest Bluetooth connectivity (LDAC) works well with Bluetooth headphones. I opted for a Bluetooth speaker to pair it, this had no lip sync issues although it can be tweaked in the settings if necessary. I then tried a 5:1 sound bar via HDMI. Sound quality is excellent for both music and movies and could only be bettered had I got an Atmos setup (this is on my Christmas list). On the subject of ports aside from HDMI the only other connectivity is Coax SPDIF (for none HDMI amplifiers) with very little by way of instruction for the latter contained in the operating manual? The specifications too are a little vague. I eventually found the HDMI port is 2.0a for HDR and supports BT.2020 colour palette. The front cover hides the one and only USB port and Is horrible. I do not like this design; make proper hinges Sony! Spinning a 4k disc takes around 10 seconds to load but unlike my old player operation is totally silent perhaps due to the metal chassis. In fact the Sony is so quiet had it not been for the tiny led in the corner of the box one might be forgiven for thinking it had stopped working when not in playback mode? The remote is simplistic and matches the shape of the player with its straight lines and square angles. I particularly like the fact in can be just used! It is intuitive unlike my complex old player where I have to study every function. It has a Netflix button. Netflix is one of a very limited number of preinstalled apps on the very minimalist menu. There is also a programmable function via a heart button and the tv can be operated by the remote. My tv turns on and off when controlled by the player despite not being a Sony tv. On the subject of apps I have a number of movies stored on Sony Pictures servers, wouldn’t it be great to see a native app to play them back? Dolby Vision is breathtakingly good, although the function is not turned on by default and I think it stays on and has to be toggled off? Deep blacks and vibrant colours are eminent with no signs of artifacts, colour bleed and smooth motion without the dreaded soap opera effect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Awesome Player

UBP-X800M2 31/08/2019 by Iceleviathan (Canada)

The perfect UHD disk player. Strong picture and build quality ! A must have. Work perfectly with my Samsung Q80R.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/09/2019

Hi Iceleviathan,

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Sony 4K x800m2

UBP-X800M2 30/08/2019 by Andyskywaker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good. Good build quality, excellent picture and great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Rip Off

UBP-X800M2 28/08/2019 by JohnD25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player is a good well engineered piece of kit. It is silent in operation and has played all types of discs that I own ranging form DVD's, Blu ray, 4K Blu ray, 3D Blu ray, CD's and SACD. I have some DVD audio discs but have not yet tried these. I would certainly recommend buying this player. On first switch on of the device and connecting to the Internet, it automatically updates its firmware. Once connected to your network, you can then, should you wish, stream other devices through it (I do not as I stream other devices through an AV receiver). The picture is as good as I have seen from a player. So why only three stars and a rip off. The player was advertised on Amazon sold by a third party company - TPS - and shows an accompanying 4K DVD, Bohemian Rhapsody. However it is only on receiving the player that you find you have to log into to Sony for the DVD to be sent to you. There are some terms and conditions, none of which are shown on the Amazon site and you can only see them by logging into the Sony site given on the leaflet in the player packaging. On sending away for the DVD I was returned an email from Sony stating "Thank you for sending us documents with regards to your purchase. After validation we have noticed that you have purchased from 3rd party dealer on Amazon. Based on this information your participation is unfortunately no longer valid. " This despite TPS being listed in their website where you request the DVD be sent. Whilst I did not specifically buy the player for the DVD, it certainly leaves a sour taste to the purchase which is a shame because as I stated earlier in the review, the player is a good piece of kit. So whilst I can recommend the player, be aware you might not get the accompanying DVD depending on where you purchase it. This does seem somewhat penny pinching on Sony's part, bearing in mind this is DVD costing £25 if bought separately on a DVD player costing £350.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

15

0

The picture is great and connects right away.

UBPX800M2 26/08/2019 by richp74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This makes everything look great including DVD's and connects instantly to the Wi-FI.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Don't bother claiming the free blu-ray dvd.

UBP-X800M2 26/08/2019 by Anne5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product last week the build of the product is very good indeed with excellent features and easy to setup, in with the product was a offer to claim a free blu-ray movie disc i followed the instructions to claim the disc, example photos of the sales invoice and also photo of the serial number. After a few days i received a email from sony stating that i was not allowed to claim the free disc as i had purchased the brand new sony player from a third party dealer so i think the offer is misleading and a total waste of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

This is an excellent product

UBP-X800M2 23/08/2019 by Bristone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Robust chassis fantastic picture and sound with Dolby vision. Personally going to the setting to start a Dolby vision disk isn't an issue for me. The player does respond to all needs, including 3D , but then like others you stop making 3D 4k televisions for those of us who bought 3D movies in addition to 4k bluays with Dolby vision. Then, people like us are going to think twice about buying a new television . This, the X800M2, is without doubt a really top drawer player. Now let us have inclusion of 3D again on your latest TVs, so we can use it to the full.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Must have

UBPX800M2 22/08/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A must have for my new Sony OLED tv. Super clear Nice upgrades on non 4 k disks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sony boycott

UBP-X800M2 17/08/2019 by nafletcher (USA)

I was deciding between a new 4k tv and player for a great room I had just added to my house when my old Sony player discontinued supporting a streaming service that is still available on another brand. Any company that sells you on a products capability and later changes what it can do does not instill a desire to use the company. I am now boycotting sony for all future business.

1

4

0

Excellence at a great price

UBPX800M2 15/08/2019 by Fallout9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a dvb audio collection that I have not been able to enjoy to its audio fullest. The choices available were very expensive (Oppo, Pioneer Elite) and I wanted one that would do UHD. This player does everyth9ng I want. It even shows bit rate for dvd audio when a new track starts. The UHD with HDR looks su0erb. My TV only does HDR so I don't care about dolby vision. This is the s4econd Sony disc player in the house. The other is #D. I am very pleased with the addition of this player to my high end home theater setup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Well engineered and high specification

UBP-X800M2 15/08/2019 by Andysmokey1 (United Kingdom)

The item arrived in sturdy packaging. I would have preferred that the internal packaging was recyclable. The item was easily set-up with good documentation clear instructions. I was pleased that the unit could be connected to my network and the ability to do it wirelessly was a real bonus. The ability to connect to YouTube, Netflix and Amazon Prime is a useful addition. The menus are easy to navigate and the remote worked well. DVDs and Blue Rays played on the unit and the image and sound quality are very high. This unit is well engineered and good value considering the high specification.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

1

0

0

A Great machine

UBP-X800M2 13/08/2019 by Thornton 1 (United Kingdom)

I have been using the Sony UBP-X800M2 for a few days, I am very happy with my purchase of this machine. After switching on the Machine I was presented with a clean and simple start menu screen including the only three apps on there for Netflix ,Amazon Prime and You Tube. The menu was easy to navigate and the machine was set up and running quite quickly using the remote control which for me was the right size and the controls was easy to use. Dolby Vision is on this machine this helps to deliver sharp and stunning pictures in vibrant colours with amazing details when using the 4k discs and with 4k media on the You-Tube channel. There is an option for Blu ray 3D as of now i have not been able to try. I love Dolby Atmos so i connected the machine to my sound bar to utilse this function, the sound was powerful, crystal clear with a rich deep bass which was delivered using the digital sound enhancement machine. The machine is great in design with just a little green light to show it is on and is quiet running.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

1

0

0

Excellent

UBPX800M2 09/08/2019 by Raybee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up. Good value. Pleased. All of my Sony items have been trouble free, easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Unreliable

UBP-X800M2 09/08/2019 by BobBBBB (USA)

I bought it seven months ago and it froze twice out of six uses, needing to be unplugged and plugged back in. I finally called Sony and they will replace it under warranty. I replace d an upscale Sony that only lasted four years with this one. My Sony TV and ES receiver are still going strong after eight years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

Excellent but Dolby Vision needs an update

UBP-X800M2 05/08/2019 by EclipseVV (USA)

This is an excellent player, video and audio quality are absolutely outstanding. Dolby Vision implementation is lacking, and I hope can be updated in a future firmware update: there is no way to select "auto" for Dolby Vision: if it's enabled, every disc (even if SDR / HDR10) will be played as Dolby Vision with wrong colors. So, the only way is to MANUALLY enable and disable Dolby Vision for each disc. That is the only issue preventing a 5 stars rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Fantastic 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player!

UBP-X800M2 04/08/2019 by Dswag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony UBP-X800 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player after doing some research and reading some rave reviews. I also looked at a few other players before I decided on ordering it from Amazon. Compared to some other players the Sony is built like a tank! The build quality is fantastic, it feels strong, solid with some weight about it and feels like it’s going to last a long time! I tested it with my Samsung UE55JU6500K and watched The Martian extended edition 4K Ultra HD and was not disappointed! The Sony operates quickly and silently and the picture quality is fantastically detailed and crisp! It’s jaw-dropping in fact! For £279 it represents fantastic value for money! The build quality is amazing and the picture quality, sound, smooth & silent operation will not disappoint you!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great pictures

UBPX800M2 30/07/2019 by JackieB19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has a great picture, great sound and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best 4K player on the "mainstream" market

UBP-X800M2 23/07/2019 by Webz (USA)

I've been using an Xbox 1S for my UHD disc playback, and decided to upgrade to a real player, because the Xbox kept not sensing a disc in the player, as well as not truly having Dolby Vision for movies. I bought this player and it's not only better than the Xbox, it blows the xbox away! Picture quality is superb. Vivid color, tight blacks, and no jitters with animation. Audio is fantastic with ATMOS and my 7.1 system. Bootup is quick, disc loading is speedy, and options are fantastic. On top of that, it plays many types of frequently found video containers such as mkv files. Really is versatile. Only two negatives are it has limited streaming apps and no auto DV/HDR10 switching. You have to have a Roku, AppleTV or smart TV if you want a lot of streaming options. You have to manually turn off DV if you want to watch a movie in HDR10.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great DVD Player!

UBPX800M2 18/07/2019 by GaryDB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This DVD player provides excellent connectibity and all the features anyone could expect in this type of product and more...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great player but lacks functionality

UBP-X800M2 15/07/2019 by AfonsoS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the player last month and I’m quite happy with the result. However, it lacks the ability to add Apps and the setup menus are. It friendly at all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

15

0

Bad Features

UBP-X800M2 13/07/2019 by GaryWi (USA)

Netflix, Amazon Prime and YouTube...that's it for online streaming. I'm sending it back. Why limit the choices?

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

8

0

DISAPPOINTED!

UBPX800M2 09/07/2019 by Maxman43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great player except for one thing: the 'pause' doesn't hold very long on many Blu-ray discs and you have to start over from the absolute beginning each time you come back to the movie. This is ridiculous when much lower priced players (LG) don't have this issue. Very disappointed that Sony overlooked this simple item on a pricey 2019 model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Overall Very Good Purchase

UBPX800M2 08/07/2019 by billT72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exceptional Sound and Picture quality. I do need to research further to see how the upscaling is implemented in Bravia mode. Have this going to the XBR55X950G Bravia through the Yamaha RX-V685 which has the 4K eARC passthrough and is Dolby Vision compatible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Review of UBP-X800M2

UBPX800M2 06/07/2019 by PDB35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this amplifier/receiver for about a month and it is working well for me. It has many features which I may never use, and a software manual which takes quite a while to print (over 130 pages). I have much to learn about the amp, but so far it does all that I need. My previous amp lasted me about 12 years. I hope this one lasts longer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

15

0

Awesome Player

UBP-X800M2 25/06/2019 by Big Jerry (USA)

I bought this player at Best Buy a month ago. It looks great, you know like an actual AV component and not a plastic piece of junk. The build quality is excellent. The picture and sound are awesome! I play discs, so I really don’t care one bit about streaming. Those complaining about not having their favorite streaming site app available, you just learned a valuable lesson... Buy the disc! If you don’t see your streaming app, buy a fire stick and use the USB port. My only complaint is that there is no display (a very minor complaint). This is a great player for the money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Excellent player

UBPX800M2 25/06/2019 by The Mr B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent disc player. You do need to select app Dolby Vision in the menu. When Dolby vision is on the Bravia feature is disabled. Some reviews have stated you can't play discs without Dolby Vision when the Dolby Vision is on. You can play discs that don't have Dolby Vision with the Dolby Vision app is selected. I like the new home menu which is simpler without all the apps the previous model 800 had,. It is great disc player for CD"s and a SACD's. Picture and sound for video playback is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Excellent player but with one major flaw

UBP-X800M2 24/06/2019 by picktownboy (USA)

I have this player as well as its predecessor, the original UBP-X800. It plays movies, CD's and SACD discs beautifully. It does not have as many apps as its predecessor but that is irrelevant as every app I need is on my Sony 930E Android TV. The M2 has the same excellent build quality as its predecessor. I bought this player for one reason: to add Dolby Vision. And that is the rub. Sony added Dolby Vision to its 930E series televisions and I wanted a play to match so I had that option. The Sony TV readily switches from HDR10 to Dolby Vision depending on content. Unfortunately the X800M2 does not. You manually have to switch the player from one format to the other. While I have heard many technical and operational explanations of why this player does not yet do auto switching I don't understand why Sony cannot incorporate that feature into this player. Hopefully Sony will release a firmware update that enables auto switching between HDR10 and Dolby Vision, both for this player and the previously released UBP-X700, Meanwhile I am enjoying everything in HDR10. I could go to the bother of manually switching formats. My wife? No way! So, the new M2 is connected to my 930E and the original X800 to my Sony 900E. I love the player but will love it more if Sony updates it to auto format switching.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

14

1

0

Not as good as sony claims

UBP-X800M2 22/06/2019 by AnilKamal (USA)

I am surprised that why did sony claims that ubpx800m2 plays everything bcoz this player does not support mkv audio & slow to load disc and usb. I am very disappointed i want my money back

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

18

0

Great 4K Blu Ray!

UBP-X800M2 21/06/2019 by anfield ace (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with purchase! A great 4K Blu Ray Player, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Excellent multimedia player

UBP-X800M2 19/06/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the UBP-X800 3 weeks now, I am very happy with it. Why? - excellent picture AND sound quality on 4K Blu-ray content. - Built-in Netflix allows you to have Netflix on (not so smart) TV sets - Plays many formats, including SACD which for me was important - Built quality of the device itself. The only downside for me is that there is no display buit in. All information is viewed on the TV, which is normal for Blu-Ray, but not so for CD or SACD playback.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

Dolby Vision still not fixed?

UBP-X800M2 18/06/2019 by Bignick1090 (USA)

The average consumer will not adopt DV if cant automatically be detected like every other consumer media sold. This unit has great potential but needs auto detect DV and access to more APPs, it should have more not less than the x700. Also where is the update to fix the sound field switching issue on the STRDN 1080?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

17

1

0

Horrible

UBP-X800M2 16/06/2019 by Pete813 (USA)

Really only 3 apps on a 300 dollar blu ray player, returning to the store ASAP

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

17

0

Nice build quality, but features missing

UBP-X800M2 15/06/2019 by theghost69 (Canada)

The x800m2 included Dolby Vision but without no automatic function...useless. Canadian model got only youtube and netflix apps....what is going on with Sony No more mirror function anymore on this model....my 2017 unit got it. No HDR 10+ Ugly menu icons display My unit got back to Best-Buy now. Sony need to get some work done on this unit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/06/2019

Hello theghost69,

We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.

Regards,
Zac

0

No Vudu app

UBP-X800M2 12/06/2019 by Telco Rob (USA)

No Vudu app like previous players. I have a 300+ movie collection and with no Vudu app I can't play it on my Sony projector.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

14

0

Great Potential

UBPX800M2 11/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If exceptional features and cutting edge technology are what you seek, one can hardly do better than Sony's UBP-X800M2 4K Blu-ray Player. Now that OPPO is no longer a viable option it's good to see that Sony is producing quality universal disc players for a reasonable price. This ultra sleek machine plays virtually every disc known to man! Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-Audio, CD - you name it but there is still room for improvement. I would like to give the X800 an excellent rating but it has been unresponsive on a few occasions necessitating unplugging and plugging the unit back in, which is maddening. It's only happened a couple times but I hope what-ever caused this issue can be remedied by a future firm-ware release, still all in all I'm very happy with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

No Vudu app

UBP-X800M2 10/06/2019 by Karen 555 (USA)

No Vudu app, can not play my movie library! Sony support is worthless!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

8

14