223

3.9 based on 223 customer reviews

115
38
28
15
27
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent replacement 4K Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 14/11/2019 by epicDT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous Samsung disc spinner was not too old but already starting to misbehave. Saw the reviews for the original version so decided to upgrade to the UBPX800M2. Very solidly built, super quite operation and lovely minimalist layout and design. Simple to use and rock solid picture and sound. Very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend. What more can I say; Thank you Sony !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs an update

UBP-X800M2 22/05/2019 by OctavioM (USA)

Splendid look and excellent build quality. Very good picture and sound from BD and Netflix. However there are three problems: 1) Dolby Vision doesn't activate automatically. Must be turned off manually each time you are watching a non DV movie. 2) Does not support Dolby Digital Plus (eac3 codec) when watching movies through USB hard disc. 3) Moving through the Netflix menu is very slow compared to my LG TV or laptop. I hope Sony solve these issues with a firmware update.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0

225 Customer Reviews

0

Audio quality is superior

UBPX800M2 02/03/2021 by Dan the man 1105 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds amazing, much better than a Panasonic 4k bluray player I tried first. Picture quality is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony UBP-X800M2

UBP-X800M2 01/03/2021 by Dalj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great looking player. Excellent quality and features. So far so good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

UBPX800M2 27/02/2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and no issues. Settings are easy to navigate.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent build many high end features

UBPX800M2 26/02/2021 by Nickoftime (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall an high end metal cabinet build. Lacks optical out and rca out. Cannot play dvd albums picture quality is magnificent. Definition is so refined it’s only the limitations of our current led screen that deprives your eyes of its full expectation. The Sony upscale is amazing. The software and lack of upgrade or option to add voice command that disappoint an otherwise amazing experience. Software update for discriminating internet users is grossly lacking. The 700 series has more. Overall the product is a joy to operate. Only question the 1 year warranty like competition, if you build a solid unit, why not stand behind it. Recommend the 3 year extended warranty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Products!

UBPX800M2 24/02/2021 by Deesiam00 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting to purchase a new one for a long time. I finally got it as a gift, and I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Fine Multi-Genre Player

UBPX800M2 18/02/2021 by JMPD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because of the variety of disc's it accommodates, from 4k to SACD. ALL WORK WELL.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Avoid at all costs!

UBP-X800M2 13/02/2021 by Whz81 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this player for just under a couple of weeks. This is the second unit I’ve had as the first kept turning itself off and this unit keeps freezing during Blu-ray playback. I’m hesitant to contact Sony customer support as they generally are not very helpful. It looks like this one will be sent back for a refund.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Like the features

UBPX800M2 13/02/2021 by NOLA55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I liked the features of the product and the speed of the unit. Unfortunately it started giving me challenges such as not responding to commands. After resetting the unit it would work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic player.

UBPX800M2 07/02/2021 by Crazywater (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this player. Picture and sound are terrific. I got it not only for Blu-ray but because it supported SACD and DVD-Audio discs. Very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Remote and BLU-RAY Player works perfectly.

UBPX800M2 04/02/2021 by SKATER FORD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with unit features and functions for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Ultra HD player spoiled by lousy remote

UBPX800M2 27/01/2021 by brian27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The UBP-X800M2 is an excellent disk player with a beautiful picture and fast loading. However, the remote control is awful: no backlight and the buttons are hard to identify in the dark. The disc player's front panel is also dark with no indication even that a disc is loaded or playing or how far along it is. To save perhaps $50, Sony left these features out, which is why I lowered my rating to three stars. This is the best and simultaneously hardest to use DVD/Blu-ray play I've ever had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

works great

UBPX800M2 26/01/2021 by Paul383 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After purchasing our new 85" Sony tv to go along with our 65' Sony tv, we wanted another good ultra-hd dvd player. We have one for the 65", but we wanted another good Sony. The picture is fantastic and the upgrade of any blue ray and standard dvd is unbelievable. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Player

UBPX800M2 22/01/2021 by Gordon1954 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No trips or skips, it plays everything I have with no issues. The output is clean and the sound is darn good (Though My TV sound sucks). The remote works great but is not human friendly, but no more than any other I've used.I repeat this is a great player. I should mention the the spin up for some discs is loud but not outrageously so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and loads DVD's quickly.

UBPX800M2 19/01/2021 by Vic66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was not satisfied with the gaming system I was using to play DVD's. The picture quality was lacking and it was slow to load. The Sony unit offers easy set up, a wireless internet connection and great video. The DVD's start right up. I have an older 4K Samsung TV, which has decent sound and video capabilities and this Sony unit is perfect for me. Nice features for the price. I thought it was a great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT PICTURE QUALITY

UBPX800M2 19/01/2021 by SKATER FORD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I LOVE THE PICTURE AND SOUND QUALITIES OF THIS DVD PLAYER

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

UBPX800M2 18/01/2021 by Eightmile73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in December for a gift and it is great. To me the only difference is that you play 4K movies and it does Dolby vision that a regular Blu-ray does not do. But overall it is great.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome features!

UBPX800M2 18/01/2021 by Chris Joe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this over a month ago and I'm more than satisfied. Sony rocks!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Player at this Price Point !!

UBP-X800M2 11/01/2021 by GAB55 (USA)

Having, the predecessor UBP-X800 for nearly 3 years (without incident,) and also having enjoyed it's "rock solid" performance & construction, I didn't hesitate to purchase the new UBP-X800M2, as my new (Sony) television supported Dolby Vision - a format which I'm convincned will become increasingly dominant in the years to come. So many have "lauded" this product already, among the reviews, that I'll skip parroting those same glaring reviews. I will be brief, and only say, that unless you absolutely require the enhanced connectivity associated with Sony's equally terrific "ES" equivalent, I can assure you that acquiring an "800M2," and integrating into your A/V system will, in fact, be one of the best decisions that you can possibly make - dollar for dollar, they are unbeatable !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

No K8 from YouTube!

UBPX800M2 03/01/2021 by Levibaby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Advertised as a K8 but it does not play K8 from from streaming like YouTube! Sony needs to fix it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

10

0

Love this speaker great sound.

UBPX800M2 24/12/2020 by Green Onions (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker on sale at half price from Best Buy love it so much I went back and bought two more.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

ANOTHER feather in The SONY cap!

UBPX800M2 21/12/2020 by Rosie2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top of the line UHD player with outstanding features at VERY comfortable price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Big improvement over an Xbox as a UHD player!

UBP-X800M2 17/12/2020 by Rickstar79 (Canada)

If you’ve been relying on your Xbox ad your UHD disc player, this Sony is a huge improvement in picture quality. The Sony adds Dolby Vision, and then overall the Sony outputs the picture with more sharpness and clarity and less film grain it appears. The film grain is still present in the source material, but less noticeable, with the picture having a cleaner look. Sony player also operates faster than the Xbox and is whisper quiet. If you’re the type to still buy UHD blu rays, then go that last mile and ditch the PS or Xbox and get a stand-alone player like this Sony. Only downside is the Netflix app on the Sony doesn’t output Atmos, and in general doesn’t have any other streaming apps on it aside from YouTube. As a disc player though it’s a 4.5/5. Highly recommended. So good I took the time to write a review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed in this 4k/blu-ray player..

UBP-X800M2 15/12/2020 by Champeeeen (USA)

Bought this 2 weeks ago along with 3 movies. One i. Ultra 4k, one blue ray movie and one regular DVD. From the moment I turned it on and placed the 4k movie in the trouble began. It froze! I could not even turn the player off. I had to in plug it and then plug it back in just to eject the disc. When the Blu-ray was put in, it loaded but 10 min into the movie it stopped and gave me a black screen and 3 min later it restarted at the beginning. This was very frustrating. The regular DVD movie would not even load up. The tray would go in halfway and stop. The eject button did not work and I had to pull the tray out the rest of the way. I then put the movies away and packed it all up in its original box and took it back to where I bought it. They did not have any in stock but did find one at another store and will be delivered in a few days. Seeing these reviews and from what i have experienced with this product, I will not advise ANYONE to buy this product. I have a feeling that this replacement im getting will do the same thing...

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

8

0

Doesn't play 4K disc

UBPX800M2 15/12/2020 by IN Cog Nito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Registered on 12/3/2020. Didn't work. Contacted support who assured me an exchange unit would be sent in 5 to 7 working days! Not a peep yet out of SONY

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

Excellent Blu-ray Player

UBPX800M2 13/12/2020 by KG66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with this product. Works exceptionally well. Great picture, great sound!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Great Picture

UBPX800M2 07/12/2020 by Joe R (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It really provides a wonderful picture on our LG OLED TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Region free

UBPX800M2 07/12/2020 by Kneedragger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont have to worry whether the DVD i pop in is region 1 ( USA ) or not. They all play very well here. Plus its 4K too. Wish it came with the HULU app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Excellent DVD, Blu-Ray, 4k Blu-Ray player.

UBP-X800M2 06/12/2020 by Twied73 (USA)

I upgraded from a Samsung Blu-Ray player that I'd had for probably ten years, WoW! What a difference in the picture quality, even my standard DVD's look much much better. Im guessing the upscaling software for standard DVD's in the Sony is much better than my old Samsung because all my standard definition DVD's look great now. Dune in 1080p Blu-Ray played on this Sony looks amazing! 4k Harry Potter is stunning and the audio on the 4k discs is incredible. By this player then watch all your movies again and see what you've been missing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bad device

UBPX800M2 05/12/2020 by kjkjk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony UBP-X800M2 my personal opinion 1. Pixel motion in smooth and good " 24p True Cinema movie " 2. Very low background noises Compressed colors, there is no wide stage for colors, faded and poor quality paint a. No good conversion to 4: 2: 2 or 4: 4: 4 and not 12 BIT - the mechanism works but weak, good idea but weak hardware. 4. HDR is weak and imperceptible 5. Missing details in color 6. Lack of shades in color 7. Medium contrast 8. Lack of image sharpness 9. It is not possible to hear DD + and not Atmos TrueHD / via USB and even on original discs these formats cannot be heard 10. No sound conversion from 48HZ to 96/192HZ 11. Remote control lacking lighting 12. Slow film loading 13. Color can only be calibrated in two foci and not at a quality level 14. Only one USB port 15.there is no sharpness mechanism 16.there is no texture mechanism 17. Outdated image calibration - missing gamma calibration, no sharpness calibration, no Cinema Motion / Smooth Motion and more .. 18. Noise reduction mechanism / noise filter - weak and imperceptible 19. No marking for movies - HDR10 + or HDR 10, only HDR mark 20. Bonnie seals the image from noise with chrome which prevents seeing texture, details, shades so the image quality will always be mediocre a. In light of this there is no difference between 1080P and 4K film in this device because no details and shades of colors can be seen b. HDR on this device only ruins the image more 21. "The player can support video bit rate up to 40 Mbps " -It is listed in the operating instructions, when 4K is over 100mbps the device does not come close to OPPO 103 in image quality a very mediocre device, smooth and pleasant film movement. the processor is very weak and took time to load a film. the processor cannot convert color quality or sound quality. can't believe OPPO has not been producing 4 years and Sony look like a joke !!! HDR 10 or 10+ is not noticeable that works at all no depth to color or quality to color I did a test - I brought 15 people / couples to see HDR in my house 1. I showed them OPPO 103 and told them it was a 4K HDR movie In practice it was a 1080P SD movie 1.1 I then showed them a full ultra ray on a Sony UBP-X800M2 + NVIDIA PRO level 4K device all 15 couples / people were in shock I told them that what they see in OPPO103 is normal blue ray 1.2 All men and couples preferred the movie on OPPO rather than on X800M2 + NVIDIA PRO devices not a serious product, a big disappointment from Sony. no wonder people do not buy Blu-ray - because it ruins the experience and quality of movies compared to a computer can't believe how Sony is ruining its name! there is no service in Sony like talking to a computer that will not help you in anything. I hope I no longer have to buy a Sony

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

ubp-x800m2

UBPX800M2 04/12/2020 by DannyDanDan319 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pretty simple player don't like that Dolby Vision doesn't get automatically detected and turn off and on. Also the remote feels cheap in my hand. But good picture and player seems well built.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Very easy to setup and picture is great

UBPX800M2 26/11/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this today 11/23/20 and I am very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Player freezes when playing 4K disks

UBP-X800M2 19/11/2020 by SKP49 (USA)

I regret not having done more research on this player, for if I had one so I would have learned that the unit has a history of freezing when playing 4K disks. I learned the hard way that it often freezes about 3/4 of the way through the movie and there is no firmware update for this player. All I can say is that it is a disappointment and a waste of money. I was looking forward to replace my 1080P Blu Ray disks with 4K versions of the same, but now I don't see that as a wise idea.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Unreliable

UBPX800M2 10/11/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since I purchased this blu ray player I've had problems with the unit stopping playback on both CD's and DVD's. In order to get it to respond it is necessary to unplug the unit before it will restart.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

0

Exceptional picture and sound.

UBP-X800M2 01/11/2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and it was so easy to set up and it looked great next to the new Sony TV. However after a recent software update it will not play a blu ray disc of any type.Sometimes it will not recognise it has one.Other times it will read the disc load it and freeze at the films menu screen.Also it will freeze at it's own start screen.It tends to shut itself down. To say I am not happy about this is an understatement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great new tech but sadly lacking high end features

UBP-X800M2 30/10/2020 by Cebs uk (United Kingdom)

While a great 4k player, well styled and loos amazing. Zero noise when spinning a disk. What has happened to premium players..? It's nicely built compared to lots of lower down models but the remote is the most cheap and basic remote I have ever seen on a 300 pound product. It's like a firestick or now tv remote, we don't all want to just press play. How can I get to track 20 on a cd..? Hitting fast forward 20 times... What if an mp3 disk with 100s on...? Also Sony dvd players used to have great features, use dvd image when paused, store dvd image as permemant logo, controls on the front, jog shuttle frame by frame advance options. No angle button, no pure direct mode button. Can't do any of that any longer, isn't tech supposed to improve.. Why have these features vanished..? Sometimes I wish I still my old 725 dvd player. Might have to dust of my 900 and use that for my sacds, at least I can directly get to track 20.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Excellent picture and sound

UBPX800M2 22/10/2020 by Bearded german (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Far superior to watching 4k on a xbox one fast easy to use however twice now when powered on the screen is scrambled turn it off then back on and works fine

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great overall

UBPX800M2 22/10/2020 by JustAPerson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent, but you need to make certain of using the proper type and quality of HDMI cable. It is not included with the player. Also, I do wish it had a digital audio out jack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

So far so great

UBP-X800M2 21/10/2020 by bmd305 (USA)

Razor sharp picture and movie theater sound. Fast [very fast] menu navigation and response. Finds and joins network within 30 seconds. I have never seen such a terrific picture. None of the grain that sometimes accompanied 1080p Blu-ray movies. I also like that it connects to my sound system via Bluetooth or ARC, your choice. The unit is heavy, well built, and runs cool and quiet. Best picture quality over streaming, easily. This player takes the 4K experience to the utmost level. Way to go Sony !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Good features. Unreliable and expensive device.

UBPX800M2 10/10/2020 by LarryInIowa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Often glitches on video (requires unplugging) and Bluetooth sound (requires returning to menu and back to video). Google shows that these are long-standing bugs in this device, inexcusable for such a mature model at such a high price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

10

0

Great product

UBPX800M2 08/10/2020 by Be blessed2020 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to be able to stream 4K content. The sound quality and picture is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Easily installed, nice features, excellent HD reso

UBPX800M2 29/09/2020 by Manyattempts (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have it for approximately 3 weeks. Excellent product good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Super UBD STUNNING

UBP-X800M2 29/09/2020 by Musicman100 (United Kingdom)

What A Machine excellent video and super hi Def audio best buy e er.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Excellent 4K player

UBPX800M2 27/09/2020 by Ricah1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the overall performance of this 4K player!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

High quality

UBPX800M2 15/09/2020 by Robert A I buy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and sound effects High quality construction

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Works great!!

UBPX800M2 08/09/2020 by RodP52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works like a charm with no problems and is not expensive!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

good picture & sound but no visual display on unit

UBP-X800M2 29/08/2020 by Jay99 (USA)

Picture is very good. Sound is excellent on Super Audio CDs but the player has no display to indicate the track being played. A display on the unit would not be expensive to include.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Amazing Picture

UBPX800M2 27/08/2020 by Daemone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such a great 4K player! Gorgeous colors and super crisp sound through my 5.2.2 surround system. Wish it had more apps than just Netflix, Amazon, and Youtube though. Hulu, Vudu, and HBOmax would be nice. I still have to watch those through my game system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Big disappointment.

UBP-X800M2 09/08/2020 by Terry61 (United Kingdom)

Ridiculously short on apps, now stopped working after less than 6 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

6

0

So far, so very good!

UBPX800M2 06/08/2020 by TheGunny6414 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The wife let me update the main living room's video system, and since we had a Sony 4K TV I decided to get a 4K player. I did some quick research and the UBP-X800M2 came up highly rated in many reviews. I've always been a fan of Sony, so I was intrigued and took the plunge. Full disclosure: at the time of this review I have yet to purchase/view a 4K disc, so I can't really comment on that. What I can say is that the player really upgraded the visuals of my bluray discs. I watched the old Kurt Russell movie "Soldier" on it the other night and although it was my first viewing of the disc since purchase, it seemed that the picture just popped. I have a lower mid-level soundbar so I'm sure I missed out on some of the audio options, but overall I really enjoyed watching the movie for the first time in many years. At some point I may have to do some song and dance to get another one of these for the Man Cave and really run it through its paces with my home theater receiver.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Great DVD & App Streamer

UBPX800M2 18/07/2020 by Larry Z (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent Sony quality, performance and product documentation, as usual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Great Product!

UBPX800M2 12/07/2020 by Utzman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been having issues with another brand player we have had for a number of years, so it was time to upgrade, and glad i did. Resolution is incredible and so far so good on the reliability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

Beautiful 4K Picture

UBPX800M2 11/07/2020 by Robaire (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this in place of our other Blu-ray player, and the difference is astonishing, even though we do not have a 4K set as yet, with our very high speed HDMI cables, it is an incomparable picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

Excellent Picture and Sound Output.

UBP-X800M2 09/07/2020 by Daddy Cool (United Kingdom)

A great 4K player with excellent picture and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

9

0

Excellent UHD Player!

UBPX800M2 09/07/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have Samsung smart TVs and wanted a Samsung player but they stopped making Blu-ray players. I purchased this Sony player and I'm very happy with it. It's a good looking unit and built well. The menus are well-layed out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Not a fan

UBPX800M2 08/07/2020 by Louis5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got a warranty replacement for the original unit purchased last November because the player would continually lock up every few weeks. The only way to correct the situation was to unplug the unit and plug it back in, a frustrating experience since Sony hard wires the cord to the player. In addition, the remote control is way too small for anything other than playing a disk. Try maneuvering around while watching streaming video and you will quickly find that the "HOME" button is too close to the down arrow, causing the player to revert to the home page due to a slight error in placing your finger. Also no visual displays on the player and the power on light is way too small. If that isn't enough, I run the player through a Yamaha audio visual center. When playing a disk, the audio was not synced with the video requiring an adjustment on the Yamaha to correct it. Hopefully, that was another fault with the original player and not a normal characteristic of the player. Bottom line, buyer beware

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

0

HurryupandFreeze

UBP-X800M2 04/07/2020 by uhapppycustomer (USA)

I just bought this unit brand new, full price. Played brand new movie purchased at same time, Invisible Man. Movie froze @ ~1:35 in. Took 4 minutes for unit to respond. I was replacing the worlds first 4k player, Samsung UBD-K8500, only because I wanted to play my SACDs. My Samsung has NEVER froze, EVER...! I was so impressed with the packaging and build quality. Only for it all to be ruined by a freeze at an extreme climax of a movie. Unreal...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

A+++++++++++++ :)

UBPX800M2 01/07/2020 by JCR0007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Anything Sony I love the Rolls Royce of electronics but just 1 buggy thing if it stops turning on just unplug it then back in & change the power saver to turn on slow & that fixed the problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Great features

UBPX800M2 30/06/2020 by M S Owen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy that I bought it. Great value. Tell friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

It's great

UBPX800M2 29/06/2020 by Little flower (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This DVD is the best picture I have ever4 had.....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Only 3 streaming apps?

UBPX800M2 22/06/2020 by raeddy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very surprised this machine does not support a suite of streaming apps. Only Amazon Prime, Netflix, and Youtube. Disapointed

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

0

4K Wow

UBPX800M2 19/06/2020 by USAF E8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed a new blu-ray play and purchased Sony UBP-X800M2 4K UHD player with HDR. Have been watching a show on Regular Blu-ray player and the upgrade produces a clear, bright picture. Very happy with this 4K player. Worth every penny and definitely recommend this unit. Did not by for streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

14

0

Falls Just Short

UBPX800M2 17/06/2020 by Gtiguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just set this up a day ago. Tv has great picture and can be seen from the side very well. Sound is not as good as expected but since it didn’t come with a Owners Operation Manual I may not have it set up correctly. The remote works well but instead of little colored buttons why not have a couple for Hulu and Sling. My complaint here is that I have a Amazon Firestick plugged into it and I can choose what I want to watch with the tv’s remote but can’t control sound or pull up menu. That’s Crazy. These are the short comings , setup sheet should have better instructions, tv should have operators manual, remote lacks access to other program providers. All this being said is why it’s not 5 star.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

14

0

The non plus ultra in home theater experience

UBP-X800M2 17/06/2020 by Badado (USA)

Unpacking the Sony UBP-X800M2 is already an experience of its own. While unwrapping the product you realize immediately from the weight that the produce has been built differently from every other consumer blu-ray players. Solid and well constructed. The Audio and video experience is of another planet. Vibrant colors and deep contrast, crystal clear sound and full bass make the UBP-X800M2 the non plus ultra in high end audio/video products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

15

0

definitely an upgrade from the X-700

UBPX800M2 13/06/2020 by sudara1978 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I retired my mostly functional X-700 to the bedroom and upgraded to the X-800M2 for my main theater and Its quality build is immediately apparent and its Stylish as well but Its Not Just about aesthetics, I also notice the big Improvement in clarity even in already exceptional HDR Enhancements. Does Help Having A QuantumLED TV the X-700 Was Good enough But the X-800M2 is Immersively vivid and Bright and the contrast in the picture is the best I've seen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

21

0

Terrible Waste of Money

UBPX800M2 11/06/2020 by toddca1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for Black Friday in 2019 to replace my existing Sony Blue Ray player which has become increasingly unresponsive to remote input over the years. I was initially disappointed to find that the UBP-X800M2 does not allow installation of any additional apps, so you are stuck with Netflix, YouTube and PrimeVideo. That eliminates our ability to use Hulu, DisneyPlus, HBONow and VUDU for which we also have subscriptions. I was willing to live with that, but, due to the fact that we typically just cast the other services from our phones using Chromecast, we really didn't use this thing much in the last 6 months. So just a day or two ago I went to turn it on so my 4 year old could use the remote to watch Netflix (without the need for my phone) and low and behold the UBP-X800M2 turns on but will not transmit a signal to my TV over the same HDMI that it's been connected to since November. Additionally, the remote control will not open the disk tray, but when i manually click the bottom on top of the UBP-X800M2 the disc tray opens. I put brand new batteries in the remote to double check and it still won't open, nor does it appear to respond to any of the other button clicks, except the TV on/off button, which does indeed turn my TV on and off. So in short, owned it for 6 months, barely used it because there's a limited app support, and it crapped out. And naturally I didn't keep my receipt, which is required for proof of purchase to register this thing online and make a complaint, so I'm stuck with a $150 electrical paper weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

17

0

Missing remote features

UBP-X800M2 08/06/2020 by art c (USA)

No replay or advance features on the remote. Should be standard for all dvd players.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

19

0

Exceeded expectations

UBPX800M2 06/06/2020 by Ssirguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a dead blu-ray player. I was reluctant to purchase because everything is about streaming these days. I wish I would have not waited so long. What a difference. I expected a better picture but the sound is amazing. All of my old DVD’s have never looked or sounded better. Really good upscaling. Bought on sale so was reasonably priced. Player is solid and heavy and does not look cheap. I hope it lasts for a long time. Can’t comment on Netflix. I don’t use it for streaming I have other devices that I use for Netflix, YouTube, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

17

0

Sony TV excellent. Blu Ray not as much

UBPX800M2 05/06/2020 by Benny30 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new one to replace one that I had less than two years. Before that I had one that didn't even last that long. I did buy the extra ins. but because of the covid virus I couldn't get help with that. It's just my husband and myself and the only time we use it is in the evening and I clean it periodically so I am not pleased with the lasting power. I am pleased with the sharp color and I would not have replaced AGAIN if I didn't basically like it.I am so hoping this one last since I couldn't get ins. on it because of the covid. It was nice to be able to tell the store what one I had and to order a new one and do a pick up because it was a necessity, again because of covid. Anyway I hope you can improve their lasting power.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

0

Yes it plays discs

UBP-X800M2 31/05/2020 by Rowdymoon (Canada)

Had it for about a year now, plays discs ok..4k good,blu-ray good...online not so good....if you plan on using this for netfix,you tube etc than you may want to get something else....it is like it doesnt have strong enough net adapter or processing power....had to go back to using the PS4 for online apps....was dissapointed because I wanted to use this for everything ( other than games of course )

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent performance but not user friendly

UBPX800M2 28/05/2020 by Darren1701 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality and overall performance are excellent and the inclusion of SACD and DVD-A playback is very welcome, but as others have pointed out, the Dolby Vision implementation is abysmal and there’s no reason for it to be so difficult to to switch to. After many firmware updates without resolution, I’m assuming there is not going to be any fix for it anytime soon which is why I’m leaving only three stars. Also, the lack of streaming apps is annoying since the previous model in the line included many options. Note to Sony: You don’t gain customers by removing popular features from your newest models of electronics. Overall, good performance but lacking in user-friendly features and use. If the DV issue is ever fixed, I’ll gladly re-evaluate my rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

13

0

Nothing but issues from the start!

UBPX800M2 26/05/2020 by wjohn61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this player for a little over 2 weeks. I've used, or tried to use to be more accurate, the player maybe a dozen times in that time period, and I have yet to start it up once and make it through a movie/show without having to restart the player. It either completely freezes, or more often lately, the picture cuts out and audio continues running. It's nothing in my setup causing the issue, it's the unit. Returning it this weekend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

12

0

Good Buy!

UBPX800M2 24/05/2020 by Oldphred (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still new, but works great! All the features are exactly as advertised and set-up was easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11