134

3.6 based on 134 customer reviews

57
31
10
10
26
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player won't read a CD

CFD-S70 12/03/2018 by roxieann (USA)

Bought this CD/cassette player 4/30/2017. The CD player says "NoCD". I Went thru procedures of the trouble shooting guide. Still doesn't work. Online chat says to unplug, then replug. Can't get thru the warranty service number, so I guess I'm stuck with a broken dust collector. This is NOT worth the price.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

134 Customer Reviews

0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13/01/2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

bad service

CFDS70BLK 11/01/2019 by geewizwarren (USA)

runs ok out of box missing part, look fir replacement part

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Do these even work?

CFD-S70 10/01/2019 by arcticvixen (USA)

I bought this device a few years ago. With little use and just over 30 days it did not work at all. (I do not recall the problem as it was so long ago but I think it would not turn on.) I sent it back to Sony and received this current boombox. Again, with little use (I am not home a lot), and within about six months, I had a new issue. This time, the display indicated "noCD". Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. Sometimes it works for some songs on a CD but not others. Sometimes it will work if I put in a different CD - but not always. I did not bother sending it in as having received two lemons I no longer have confidence in the company and will look elsewhere for a replacement.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Happy listener

CFD-S70 09/01/2019 by Phamie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with my purchase. Good sound quality and easy to operate

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact features

CFD-S70 09/01/2019 by Janram (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently as we needed both a radio and CD player and it works well for both. It was easy to programme our favourite radio station in for quick and easy access.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value

CFD-S70 08/01/2019 by Myra3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this CD/cassette/radio as a replacement. It looks stylish and good value for money. The sound quality is also good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Simple to use

CFD-S70 05/01/2019 by Chris 80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought the Radio/Tape/ Disc player as we have a lot of Tapes etc so wish to play them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

CD error - No DISC

CFD-S70 04/01/2019 by jlw09 (USA)

I bought this CD player in summer of 2017, but now get the NO DISC error when I try to play ANY CD. I went to put a couple different BRAND NEW (just took cellophane off them) CDs from Christmas in thinking it was an old disc w/ scratches at first. Nothing will play. I have unplugged, followed all trouble shooting in book, etc. with no luck. I even put the CD back in that I listened to last before I got the errors, and error is still there.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

great sound

CFDS70BLK 30/12/2018 by serene (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present. so far I love it. it has great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A disappointing product fro Sony

CFDS70BLK 30/12/2018 by Charlesdd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a month ago and am very disappointed in its sound. The most disappointing feature of its sound is its lack of good bass. I also bought it because it plays cassettes, but it does not play chrome or metal cassettes. Its bass sound is quite puny both for CD and cassette. If Sony makes a boombox it should advertise that its product will only record on normal Type 1 cassette tape. I have a large cassette collection and didn't discover this until after opening the carton. The radio tuner section is quite good. It pulls in local stations clearly. My main wish is that it had better bass, not necessarily booming bass but accurate bass from the playback source, CD or cassette. Its design is very nice.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Looks the part

CFD-S70 30/12/2018 by a1n2d3y4 (United Kingdom)

I was bought this for Xmas and, apart from checking it works have not yet used it in anger.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Errors

CFD-S70 27/12/2018 by Trump2020 (USA)

I got on to play some watchdogs 2 with my friends and every time I would click on the game with the disc in and it would exit me out of my ps4. So then I restart it and it does nothing, so I unplug it and plug it back in Then the game says that the data is corrupt and I need to delete the game and re enter the disc. Totally different apparently, because when it finishes re downloading the same thing that happened earlier happened. So I am forced to DELETE EVERYTHING off my ps4 and when I go to sign back into my ps4 it won't let me go because of ANOTHER error. Error after error after error. Now, I gave up and after trying to find sony support for a while I couldn't. I am disappointed and expected way better from a company like sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A product that still plays cassettes and CD's

CFDS70BLK 26/12/2018 by RonT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this boom box because it is one of the few that still plays both CD's and cassette tapes. The sound is OK for a device such as this. It's not great, but not bad either. I would have rated this unit higher but the instructions for setting the station presets is confusing and not very clear. I used swear words that are not in any dictionary trying to set the stations. It takes multiple steps using multiple function buttons and they must be in exact sequence or you have to start over. It's overly complicated . That design function detracts from an other wise nice product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cassette tape player

CFDS70BLK 19/12/2018 by John6818 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a year ago for my cassette’s, I use it and it’s wonderful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

CD stops working

CFD-S70 15/12/2018  (USA)

Bought this boombox in November 2017. Worked great for a while, was very happy with it. Then all of a sudden it stopped playing CDs, around November 2018. Says noCD, no matter how many discs I tried. Also tried everything on the troubleshooting page, nothing. Very disapointed that this product only lasted a year. I do not recommend buying this, waste of money

1

0

0

Excellent buy

CFD-S70 15/12/2018 by Tjon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted. Always value Sony products. This player is easy to use and great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

my purchase

CFD-S70 08/12/2018 by desmondo22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

a very wonderful piece of audio equipment personal & private use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

CD player broke twice

CFDS70BLK 06/12/2018 by Florida Bound (USA)

Ordered the boombox. CD stopped working. Exchanged it for a new one. Again, the CD stopped working. Waste of money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 25/11/2018 by Cho cho (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this about three weeks ago and I am so happy that I did

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Lovely sound even with my hearing aids

CFD-S70 25/11/2018 by Maureencampbell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Find the display very confusing but am of an older age

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Very good features and user friendly.

CFD-S70 24/11/2018 by Rawpork (United Kingdom)

A replacement for a friend who had hers stolen, as she was lost without it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1