240

3.7 based on 240 customer reviews

109
52
20
16
43
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Liked the features

CFDS70BLK 22/09/2020 by Lemae (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a month ago and really liked it, however, now when I put a cd in, it stops. Cd is turning, but not playing. This has happened with 4 cds so have ruled out the problem is with the cd. It will play a short time before stopping.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

240 Customer Reviews

0

Does not function properly

CFD-S70 29/11/2020 by Never use nick name (Canada)

The tape player will not play any tapes at all of any Type. In the instruction manual it says it will only play Type 1. It won't even play tapes that are Type one. The Cd Player will sometimes play a CD all the way through. Other times the same CD will keep saying Read Only even though this is a purchased CD not a recorded one. the other issue is sometimes the same CD will play only 3 songs and then quit. I have tried store bought many CD's and the issues mentioned above apply to all of them. The radio is also full of static no matter how it is adjusted.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Disappointed in product.

CFDS70BLK 25/11/2020 by Weezer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product so I could play my tapes but they didn't play on this machine. Also sound is not very good when playing cd's.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good value if your expectations are realistic

CFDS70BLK 08/11/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very basic and compact boombox compared to my two '90s Sony boomboxes, which are still functioning very well. The sound quality isn't quite as good as my older units. It does offer better quality and sound than competing brand units, which I've bought and returned. Here are the big pluses for me: T1) This unit plays MP3 CDs as well as standard CDs; 2) cassette playback is fair-to-good with most old cassettes; 3) cassette recordings made on the CFD-70 from CD or radio are good, they sound pretty decent when played on a good home-audio deck; 4) FM and AM radio reception are good; 5) there's an aux input to plug in an external audio device; 6) using the headphone jack, this unit sounds even better on headphones or connected to an external sound system. Once you follow the owner's manual directions, the CFD-70 is easy to use. Based on quality, in a small room the unit is nice, and for that purpose I'd buy it again!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Adequate sound quality, decent functionality

CFDS70BLK 08/11/2020 by ronniebear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compared to my old Sony boomboxes - the CFD-S33 and CFD-151, which both still operate - the CFD-S70 is a much smaller unit. The sound isn't as rich and there are fewer features. However, if you want a brand-new CD/Radio Cassette-Corder which can play MP3 CD-R discs plus has a 1/8-inch Aux Input jack, the CFD-S70 seems to offer better quality than other brands I've tried and returned. If you wish, you can use the 1/8-inch headphone output to connect this to a home audio stereo system or other devices. This is an old-school unit, there's no USB jack or Bluetooth connectivity. If you want to record your own cassettes from CDs, radio or Aux input, this unit can make a decent recording. My main disappointment is the enclosed speakers are rather bright; the Mega Bass only makes the sound a tad warmer. The sound isn't as pleasant and won't play anywhere as loud as my older Sony units or my other high-end boombox with its bi-amped speakers and graphic equalizer. For casual use in my office, this very compact unit is pretty good for the price point.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

CD error message

CFDS70BLK 26/10/2020 by ttevans (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unit purchased from Amazon displayed error message No disc. Will not even spin.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Love everything about it, once I can turn on!

CFD-S70 16/10/2020 by murphy713 (USA)

I bought this unit to replace my old unit that finally died. For months all was perfect. Two weeks ago it would not turn on. Now I need to press the power button repeatedly to finally get it to come on. But all you have to do is slightly touch the power button to turn off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

looks great.

CFD-S70 03/10/2020 by povester (United Kingdom)

very satisfied so far,sony are normally good products.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very compact

CFD-S70 26/09/2020 by Odd Socks (United Kingdom)

Usual excellent product from sony.As I am of venerable age the added bonus of having the cassette player is a boon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

Liked the features

CFDS70BLK 22/09/2020 by Lemae (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a month ago and really liked it, however, now when I put a cd in, it stops. Cd is turning, but not playing. This has happened with 4 cds so have ruled out the problem is with the cd. It will play a short time before stopping.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

quality not like my older model,

CFDS70BLK 15/09/2020 by drhandles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

feels like cheap toy compared to my older model. radio only works with antenna up.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great Product

CFD-S70 14/09/2020 by subata96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like the product features--AM/FM radio, cassette tape player and CD player. CD player has acted up several times-stopped playing and was reading CD. But runs good most majority of the time. May notify Sony before warranty expires.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Ugh

CFD-S70 13/09/2020 by Pixiesummer (USA)

It's nice but won't record. I purchased this hoping to record old voicemails of my mom who passed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A great boombox with great sound

CFD-S70 04/09/2020 by Legend85 (USA)

I recently bought mine on my last payday. It is fantastic! I listen to all my favorite radio stations and burned CDs on it. I paid a fair price and I love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Small and compact

CFDS70BLK 03/09/2020 by Meg22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love my Sony boombox. Its light and easy to carry around. Has a great sound to it and is easy to function. I use it for outdoors in my backyard for when Im in the pool or gardening and bring it back indoors after use. Has radio, tape and cd player so multi functioning. Sony is a great trusted name.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great little CD/Cassette player

CFD-S70 02/09/2020 by Steeley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am glad I ignored a lot of negative reviews on different sites about this little machine. It has a great sound, is compact, looks good in white and is perfect in my new Kitchen/Diner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

No better that RCA

CFDS70BLK 02/09/2020 by Disappointed consumer (USA)

No better than RCA. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Clear sound, Great features,Good price

CFDS70BLK 31/08/2020 by Gramma Ruth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the third Sony boom box we have bought in the last 10 years because they are so reliable. If I hadn't broken the antenna on my bigger model, I would have all three.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent for the price

CFDS70BLK 28/08/2020 by Honey71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a gift from my son. I told him no bells and whistles.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

CFD-S70 28/08/2020 by Mirrenj113 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Audio System because of the CD Player. It’s not easy to find a small appliance with this function. It was bought to replace an old Sony which I had in the kitchen for over 20 years, and am very pleased with the quality and sound - what else would you expect from Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Does all that I want it to

CFD-S70 25/08/2020 by Seat (United Kingdom)

This was a replacement because the CD had stopped working, so far so good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Much better than I thought it was going to be.

CFDS70BLK 22/08/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading reviews prior to my purchasing this product I had some doubts, and looked at other units in this price range, they pretty much sounded the same. I like Sony products so I went with them. I was very pleasantly surprised at how good the sound quality is, in all modes. If the life span lasts 2-4 years I'll be very happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0