89

4.0 based on 89 customer reviews

49
20
5
4
11
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player won't read a CD

CFD-S70 12/03/2018 by roxieann (USA)

Bought this CD/cassette player 4/30/2017. The CD player says "NoCD". I Went thru procedures of the trouble shooting guide. Still doesn't work. Online chat says to unplug, then replug. Can't get thru the warranty service number, so I guess I'm stuck with a broken dust collector. This is NOT worth the price.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

90 Customer Reviews

0

great sound but wont play CDs after 7 months

CFD-S70 14/08/2018 by dintx (USA)

Great sounding but now say no CD! Worked great for about 7 months. Played CD one day, next day it stopped. Tape player works and sounds great but bought so I could listen to both! Very annoying. Now I'll have to but a separate CD player. The last Sony CD player I owned lasted 10 years. Hoped to get more than 7 months out of this new one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Dissapointed!!

CFDS70BLK 13/08/2018 by Jackson33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Boombox with DC/Radio/Casette 9 months ago. Was initially very pleased with it. Very good sound quality. However, it will no longer play CDs. It reads "noCD" even though there is a disc in it. I tried several different discs and tried every step in the trouble shooting guide. Has a 1-year warranty, but it seems like a big hassle to have to ship it back and pay for shipping.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

All the features that I wanted and more.

CFD-S70 07/08/2018 by Stokie60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All I wanted and more as the cassette was a bonus. The timer is useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

antenna

CFD-S70 02/08/2018 by jaie (USA)

the antenna was very hard to turn and finally broke. hard to replace hard to find repair shop near.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good product

CFD-S70 23/07/2018 by Stevie t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this unit for our granddaughter and she’s over the moon with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!!!

CFDS70BLK 17/07/2018 by Sierra15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this unit. Great sound quality and worth the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cd dont work........

CFDS70BLK 28/06/2018 by Frankjdm (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this mini cd boombox and the cd dont work! It always tell no cd, i try with many cd and dont work

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/06/2018

Hello Frankjdm, we're sorry to hear that. You may visit and follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to fix the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00027417
Regards, _Bob

0

good product

CFDS70BLK 28/06/2018 by noooooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was hesitant about buying it at first. I thought it was too small, but it's great and has a good sound. To make this radio perfect, find a way to store the electrical cord inside or with a couple of clips on the outside and wrap the cord around them. If you think it may look ugly, thats okay. I will least likely misplace or lose it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

CFDS70BLK 25/06/2018 by WireMan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Sony boombox was showing its age and finding a replacement was probematic because "they don't make them like they used to." This model proved to be a very satisfying replacement plus it does not weigh a ton like the old one. The mega bass actually enhances the sound. It pulls in FM louder and clearer than any of my other devices. I do wish it had a balance and tone adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice to have CD, cassette & radio in one item

CFD-S70 20/06/2018 by Army barmy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with item only downside the power connector comes out when boombox is moved otherwise would have given it 5 stars

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Junk

CFD-S70 14/06/2018 by Dennis1 (USA)

Bought the first one in April of 2017. In November it stopped playing CDs. Returned to Sony for replacement. New one stopped working in June of 2018. Sony says replacement only had 3 month warranty instead of original 12 months. Neither unit worked more than 7 months. Since replacement warranty is less than original warranty Sony must know it is an inferior product. Save your money buy something else

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact Sound System

CFDS70BLK 04/06/2018 by Anna Lucinda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because I was moving and missed my full sound system while packing. This unit is great - I could easily move it from the old house to the new house while doing the "soft" move.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hard to find replacement parts.

CFD-S70 28/05/2018 by Singerman27 (USA)

I have a CFD S05. It was working fine until 4 months ago. When I turn on the power, it cuts right back off. Tried to replace the circuit board, but could not find the part.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well written instructions

CFDS70BLK 12/05/2018 by Leader man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the design and appearance of my unit. It has many features that are attractive.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy and convient to carry.

CFDS70BLK 07/05/2018 by Sam456 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's easy to carry and has good sound for its size. I'm glad that it has a cassette feature since a lot of other brands don't have this feature anymore.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good allrounder for the price

CFD-S70 27/04/2018 by jock 19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with product however I must express my surprise at the extremely poor power cable connection this is not to usual sony standards,the slightest movement causes cable to disconnect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

cd

CFD-S70 24/04/2018 by PapaMN (USA)

we have had this unit for about nine months. all was great til today. The cd player has stopped working. Can find no troubleshooting in instructions. could you advise what to do?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Good Product

CFD-S70 17/04/2018 by Pea50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this item so far, I hope it lives up to expectations.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very basic boombox

CFDS70BLK 12/04/2018 by libraryspecialist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A little disappointed. Speakers are weak, so is the Mega Bass. Rewind and fast-forward do not stop immediately after winding tape. No remote. Has an aux-in jack (cable not included). Overall, a no frills lightweight basic radio.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very poor quality

CFD-S70 28/03/2018 by Dtq7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and was very disappointed by the sound quality - very tinny with virtually no bass. I then tried to use the headphone socket and found it did not work. It went back to the retailer yesterday for replacement.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Compact design

CFDS70BLK 28/03/2018 by Gail S (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased the radio and like the options available

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good performance

CFD-S70 20/03/2018 by 68Kev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up radio stations from the instructions supplied

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Was nice, but broke before 1 year

CFDS70BLK 20/03/2018 by mominstitches (USA)

I appreciated the Brand Sony, however, I am not sure if I just got a lemon or there products are going down hill. I hope it was just a lemon because I really have respect for SONY products. My present boombox is only good for the radio. The CD player stopped working several months ago. I bought this 4/24/17, it's not even one year old. I could probably pay to have it fixed/replaced, I don't think it would be worth it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

CD Player won't read a CD

CFD-S70 12/03/2018 by roxieann (USA)

Bought this CD/cassette player 4/30/2017. The CD player says "NoCD". I Went thru procedures of the trouble shooting guide. Still doesn't work. Online chat says to unplug, then replug. Can't get thru the warranty service number, so I guess I'm stuck with a broken dust collector. This is NOT worth the price.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Problem with CD player

CFD-S70 01/03/2018 by LueL (USA)

There is a problem with the CD player. After a few months, when you put a CD in to play, it says NO CD. We called Sony customer service and they sent a new boombox. The same thing happened after a few months. Our product is less than a year old and is no longer under warranty. Troubleshooting tips have not helped. I believe there is a flaw in the CD player.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Operations of this product

CFDS70BLK 15/02/2018 by Docgord (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

very poor sound quality considering it's a Sony as compared to other products of similar size

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/02/2018

Hi Docgord,

We regret to hear that this boombox failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

Very Satisfied

CFD-S70 09/02/2018 by frankbbb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I surveyed the market and found this model which meets all my needs. I'm glad I did as it is neat and smart with good performance and is easy to use at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good quality for the money

CFDS70BLK 01/02/2018 by Mateos (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the 3rd unit of this model I have bought--one for my Mom, one for school (I'm an educator) & one for home. There aren't a lot of models of this type of portable stereo anymore, but this is the best of the bunch at a very competitive cost. It's all digital, which is great for listening to radio & my wife likes that you can program up to 9 preset channels, so you don't have to toggle up & down to stations all the time. The CD & cassette work well (I'm still old school) & it has a good bottom end. The only thing I don't like about the sound is it's a little "boxey", not as clear as other brands & a bit muddy in the mid range. I wish I could control the EQ a little bit, other than to turn the Mega Bass on & off (I prefer it on for more bass). My wife also likes that it's compact & doesn't take much space on the kitchen table.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0