94

4.7 based on 94 customer reviews

78
9
5
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06/07/2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

no good, buy the 70-200mm

SEL100400GM 24/08/2017 by sonyfinatic (Canada)

Hi, I thought you might like to pass this on to your many readers. I have the Sony 70-200 and it's without doubt a fantastic lens so when I read all these reviews on the 100-400mm I was really excited when I got it but you would not believe how disappointed I am and have since returned it at a return cost of a few hundred for restocking. It's nowhere near the performance of the 200 and for the cost it should have been as good as. Not once could I get it to outclass the 200, maybe the 400 was defective if so readers should be warned to test before buying. The picture attached shows the upper picture taken at 400mm and the lower taken with the 200 at 200mm and then I zoomed in on the original to get the same perspective and even having zoomed in it's clearly better that the 400 as taken....the originals can be supplied...taken with the A7r2

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

94 Customer Reviews

0

Great Lens while it lasted

SEL100400GM 13/09/2021 by Cross54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens in March 2021. It performed great the first few times when I used it to take a few shots of the moon (see photo), and a few other shots. I took it on a recent vacation and when I went to use it, I could not get it to focus either in Manual or Automatic mode. The sharpness is no longer there even though I babied this lens, no drops or rough handling. I have no clue as to why, but now I have to go through the hassle of sending it in for repair etc.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
14/09/2021

Hello. Sony's commitment to customer satisfaction is our top priority. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you experiencing issues with your 100-400mm lens. Please contact us using the following link so we may further assist:
https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/support-contact?language=en_US&category=di

0

An absolutely stunning lens

SEL100400GM 09/09/2021 by jderyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens after asking a friend who has one his reply was "you will not regret owning it". He was not wrong this lens is the best I've owned. It is just outstanding. Sharpe, fast focusing and crystal clear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL100400GM 23/08/2021 by Mirpy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So I’ve been using 3rd party lenses for some time and been happy for the majority of the time. I decided having bought a new Sony full frame camera, it was time to invest in a top quality lens so went with my first G Master. All I can say is WOW! The difference between 3rd party and more premium glass is on another level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect lens for getting closer to things

SEL100400GM 07/08/2021 by Del25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens to enable me to capturer things that I was unable to with my previous zoom lens, I have not been disappointed. It is heaver that I expected, however that is also a good thing, in that it's mass makes it more stable to hold however a good tripod is a useful accessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL100400GM 08/07/2021 by Gordon1961 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect for my uses and tack sharp with lightning focus speed. If you are looking for this lens, don't hesitate. You won't regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 01/07/2021 by Jones79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a considered purchase but worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 22/06/2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this lens for just a month and so far it has been outstanding. Fast and accurate with superb image quality, just what I need to take wildlife photographs in any light. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony GM Lenses are Truely Grand Masters lenses

SEL100400GM 21/06/2021 by DrRaj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens few weeks ago. I went out to test this lens today in cloudy day. Took few snaps. What is my impression. Build quality is great. Doesn't feel heavy in hand but eventually you feel it. As paired with my A7R4M its cumulative 2kg. 1.4 kg from lens.Lens zoom part relapse if set on smooth. However if you turn ring towards tight it hold well. Focus is quick but if you have used GM lenses you may feel its not quickest .I think 200-600mm G OSS and 70 to 200mm GM OSS are faster. Works well at 3ft distance in case you wanna shoot something up close. Optics are sharp, but not as sharp as 70-200mm GM OSS.Low light performance is reasonable. Bokeh is creamy. Lens produces superb detail. Noise is very little on high shutter speed even in low light and hand held.Colour reproduction is excellent. When I compare image quality with my SONY FE 24-70GM or FE 70-200GM I feel that its a bit less sharp in detailing. Very difficult to quantify. Its not that its not sharp. Its a great lens I dodnot experience chromatic abrassion. There was no vignetting.Corners maintains sharpness.I have not shot a very tall linear building hence cannot talk about linear distortion. Although it maintained alignment and sharpness when I covered a wide brick wall.Unfortunately I deleted those image. For wild life many times I felt like missing my 200-600mm. But I changed to APSC mode and it was on job again. I didnot felt any loss of quality.It wins on its small length. One can pack 3 lenses and go. As it all fits in small backpack or camera bag unlike 200-600mm G OSS. What is my final opinion, Yes I would buy it, but price is hefty. I would like it to improve at par with FE 70-200mm GM lens. Here I am attaching you few pic from my todays shoot. I used apple photo to edit it. Please leave your comment for me to look into your experience. Its my early review.Thanks for read.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

top notch lens

SEL100400GM 21/06/2021 by T old Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better than I expected, auto focus very fast lock on focus excellent picture quality spot on this is a top notch lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Tack sharp and fast autofocus

SEL100400GM 07/06/2021 by MarkSD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a few weeks ago and am overjoyed. It actually weighs less than the 70-200 GM and is incredibly sharp. Really glad that I made the purchase. Wish that the lens foot had an Arca Swiss dovetail built in so that you don't have to either add a lens plate or spend the money to replace the foot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply a great lens

SEL100400GM 04/06/2021 by Bashee (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens in March for wildlife photography and it has not disappointed, it is simply the finest lens I have ever owned. Thanks to its excellent image stabilisation it produces pin sharp pictures from its maximum 400mm extension even hand held. It is lighter than my previous lens of this size, important when out for a whole day in the field. Even cropped pictures retain a quality that is a significant cut above the norm. A brilliant product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Action delight

SEL100400GM 16/05/2021 by Grenache (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is incredible for everything from close up shots of flowers or hummingbrids to fast paced action of breaching whales in rough seas. The image stabilization and autofocus are outstanding. It is also built like a tank without feeling excessively heavy or at all off balanced. Fantastic lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Image quality and autofocus speed

SEL100400GM 06/05/2021 by Ahoule (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it for cinema + wildlife photography. Very light, yet powerful and of high quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All in one

SEL100400GM 12/03/2021 by Gatekeeper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent lens purchased to accompany my A9 camera. Having already used the A mount version on a Sony A77 I was aware of the versatility of this lens for wildlife photography. Foreign trips with bulky 500 mm prime lenses are a thing of the past with no more bulky luggage and packing dilemmas . Excellent product combining all my photographic needs in one !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I Love this lens!!

SEL100400GM 22/01/2021 by Pedalmasher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been shooting Canon gear for many years and after seeing that my Sony RX10III got better results than my Canon 7D Mark II equipped with Canon's 100-400 MM L lens, I decided to look into high end Sony equipment and purchased this lens with a Sony A9 II. Amazing results - I was blown away by the immediate acquisition of birds in flight which is one of my favorite subjects. I am totally sold on this and my A9 II camera!! I also love the fact that the lens as a programmable button on it which I use to transfer the camera to crop mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pronounced Vignette

SEL100400GM 05/12/2020 by Kent_B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In low light conditions this lens has a pronounced vignette at 200mm and beyond. When paired with a teleconverter the vignetting is especially strong.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

I love it

SEL100400GM 26/09/2020  (USA)

I just switched from Canon to Sony ( a7Rlll and a7Riv) I was using canon and Sony both and i have now three GM lenses 24-70, 85mm 1.4 & 100-400 i am a event photographer was looking to buy the 70-200 2.8GM unfortunately Adorama have pre order the 70-200 so i decided to go with 100-400 .. i was little bit worried about because of the 4.5-5.6 but i am very happy now it is really Amazing lens and super quality of the picutre, sharp and fast focus.. i am enjoying it ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Quality product

SEL100400GM 24/09/2020 by TweePet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely impressed with the quality of build and pin sharp focus of this lens. Bought for sport and wildlife, I have no regrets about splashing out - but perhaps I should not be surprised given all the good press around G Master lenses. It's true.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Fantastic lens

SEL100400GM 28/08/2020 by Meagain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb lens, works so well with the a7r3. I was extremely impressed with the quality of this lens, ease of use,and the excellent pictures. Not too heavy either

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

beautiful wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 25/07/2020 by Bammers54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

been using the 100-400mm with a sony 2x teleconverter on a 7M3, mostly photographing butterflies, dragonflies and the odd bird. Very impressed with the sharpness and the speed of the lens using autofocus. Excellent replacement for my old canon 5D and 300mm, 2.8 USM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Amazing all rounder

SEL100400GM 08/07/2020 by Rich images (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I rented this lens several limes before buying it. I found it very versatile, the main thing that sold it to me is the auto focus on this lens is amazing. This lens has optical steady shot as well that allows you to get away with some very slow shutter speeds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL100400GM 01/07/2020 by alma175w (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A bit of a learning curve as this is my first long lens, previously I shot with the FE 70-200 F/4, which is an amazing lens in its own right, but when I get the focus correct, this lend absolutely delivers. I have since added the 1.4TC, and using an a7riii, in crop mode, 840mm shots of the moon are incredible. The only weakness is NOT having the dedicated lock-switch for the zoom. The resistance ring works well, but even at its tightest setting it does not stop lens creep. Really wish it would. And yes, it is expensive, but I don't know what could be done about that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Switch to Mirrorless

SEL100400GM 18/06/2020 by Stew8351 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this lens as it was the best choice for me to purchase along with the a7lll. I am delighted with the image quality and the Sony products have boosted my photographic experience. Still experimenting and enjoying the new learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

An excellent lens, with good features.

SEL100400GM 11/06/2020 by Bones1945 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for wildlife filming. I usually work underwater with macro subjects, so land wildlife with a zoom was something very new. This lens has not disappointed, it is easy to use and not too heavy. So far the images and video I have produced are better than I had expected. It maybe sometime before I can get back under warm waters, so I will have fun with this lens in the meantime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

On location shooting Eagles

SEL100400GM 13/02/2020 by Euphman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to take on a wildlife trip to Norway in January. I have the 100-400 but needed a little extra distance and did not want a ‘trombone’ mechanism to zoom. The lens was easy to transport and was no problem with my carry on back pack with airlines. Temperature on location was not extreme, -4degrees with snow and some showers. No problems with the lens functioning at all. I used the lens on a fixed gamble, hand held and in a boat across several Fjords. There were no problems using the lens hand held, the eye tracking and focusing was exceptional. My hit rates increased considerably with pin sharp images. I am very pleased with my purchase and the images I managed to take. An excellent lens for this type of shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Not for video, otherwise great lens

SEL100400GM 30/12/2019 by Mirek S (USA)

This is fantastic lens for photography with practically no compromises but if you look for wild life video lens, this one is not for you. image stabilizer is not optimized for video and achieving smooth footage even from tripod is impossible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/01/2020

Hi, Mirek!

Make sure the lens and your camera are both updated by downloading and installing their latest firmware. These will improve the performance of both the camera and the lens.

If you are still having the issue, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Current Location


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Very sharp. Quick focus

SEL100400GM 25/12/2019 by Elmersquirrel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have enjoyed this for several months and it lives up to my expectations. It is much better than my previous brand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Taking Photography to a new level

SEL100400GM 19/12/2019 by texadian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

have been taking pictures for 60 years, from a Kodak Brownie, to SLR, to SLT to mirrorless. This lens paired with the Sony A7Riii takes my photography to a new level. The lens is as sharp as any I have used. The optical Stabilization is unbelievable. Co-ordinated with the stabilization in the camera I can hand hold at 400mm for less than 1/100 of a second with out visible shake. It is clear that my 70 year old hands can't hold a 3 lb lens that steady but the stabilization of lets me do the impossible. If I had any negatives it would be the weight of the lens. But it is expected in a long lens of that quality. Also the fall off of the lens is less than I hoped for meaning I need to blur many shots in processing. (I never thought of complaining that a lens is too sharp). Sony has outdone itself with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Sharp, light, love this lens

SEL100400GM 17/12/2019 by robwas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens instead of the 70-200 since I've always had 70-200's with other systems and have not regrets. Paired with my A7R3 this lens is even good for doing concert photography with marginal light. The only thing that could make this lens even better would be cutting the lens shoe to fit arca swiss, it'd be such an easy mod and if I still worked in a machine shop I'd have done it myself but instead bought an aftermarket foot to accomplish it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Outstanding Product G Master FE 100-400 lens

SEL100400GM 03/12/2019 by Lour (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is outstanding and gives you the versatility for photographing portraits to birds in flight. The lens is lite enough that you can take handheld pictures . I mostly photograph landscape and the versatility NYC skyline from NJ. And this lens has become my go to lens. I would recommend buying the 1.4 teleconverter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Love the tracking for the

SEL100400GM 18/11/2019 by Northern Gale (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens and the A7RIV a few weeks ago and have been very happy with the lens quality and the tracking. I shoot mostly wildlife and it seems like I am always in low light. From all the reviews I was reading I thought I would give it a try as my second camera and lens. I have a Nikon 850 with a 200-500 lens also with me at all times. It is hard to say which is my favorite at this time. I am excited to see how the Sony preforms in the next few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL100400GM 15/10/2019 by Hispeed (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens works wonderfully on my Sony A9. The focus is super fast and the image quality is what I have come to expect from Sony products - which means great! The image quality is just as good when I use my 2x converter with this lens. I have only been using this lens for a month but am extremely happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2019

Hi, Hispeed!

We are glad to know that you are extremely happy with your SEL100400GM lens. Thank you for the positive feedback and for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Lemon

SEL100400GM 21/09/2019 by Mikrolabstudio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens comes with the build quality I expect with regard to materials but I think I got a lemon because the picture quality is sub-par. Even from tripod and auto focus the pictures are not crisp. Sent in for repair twice now and waiting for second return to test the workmanship. I would like to think this lens was skipped during the manufacturing quality checks. I have several Sony lenses and this was the first time I had issues but will most definitely purchase again!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hi, Mikrolabstudio!

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
[Insert platform name] Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.


Sincerely,
David

0

Very versatile lens

SEL100400GM 29/08/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this lens after lots of thought and I'm so glad I did, I previously had the 70-200 and x2 converter but this 100-400 is a much sharper option its not too heavy for the range either, ideal for hiking with your 24-70 and have everything covered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25/07/2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20/07/2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL100400GM 14/07/2019 by Theforth9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens still adjusting to the weight, it has a great range of focal length. Some might say a little overkill for a a6400 but a must have for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13/07/2019 by PatJF69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22/06/2019 by Broono (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Compact and sharp

SEL100400GM 22/06/2019 by aamirsab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks back to give me extra reach

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Awesome Lens

SEL100400GM 19/06/2019 by GeeDaDa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens, along with the a6400 mirrorless camera, and I am getting some very sharp photos. I am pleased with this set up and would recommend for wildlife photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Masterful lens

SEL100400GM 29/05/2019 by JulianS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good all-round lens as well as excellent performance as a telephoto lens. Versatile and adaptable in a range of conditions. Image quality produced is excellent and I am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Incredible lens

SEL100400GM 21/05/2019 by angelsodyssey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently switched from Canon to Sony but kept all my Canon L lenses. I was so impressed with my A7RIII that I sold all my good lenses for the 100-400mm GM – I am not disappointed! This lens is super sharp and the focusing is very fast. I mainly photograph wildlife and this lens is perfect for the sort of environments I photograph (mainly around ponds and woodland). The OSS seems to work very well, and I have no problem shooting at 400mm handheld. Having the programmable button(s) on the barrel is fantastic and it is great being able to have focus lock right where I am holding the lens. The only downside is the colour (not the best for wildlife photography), but thankfully there are third party neoprene camouflage sets available. While it is an expensive lens, you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Fast focus & pin sharp

SEL100400GM 10/05/2019 by JLS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with the quality and performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent in all aspects

SEL100400GM 07/05/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally a lens with effect stabilization and excellent optics. Years of using a variety of Canon super telephotos resigned me to thinking I could only get sharp images if I spent 10k dollars or more. This lens is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

First was worst but now it's wow!

SEL100400GM 07/05/2019 by Cutthroatangler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens at the end of December and did not have much opportunity to test and use it for the first couple of months. When I did, I was frankly disappointed in the sharpness of the lens across the field. Finally I called Sony about it and they decided that we should send it to Precision Camera for warranty service. It came back to me in a week. They returned it to factory specs and updated the firmware. The lens is now incredibly sharp. Now it's wow! So I'm very impressed not only with the lens, but with Sony's warranty service. Thanks so much Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL100400GM 11/04/2019 by Photo2001 (United Kingdom)

Had this some time, excellent image quality, fast focus, well made. Expensive but good things are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superlative

SEL100400GM 20/03/2019 by Steveah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Phenomenal long distance image quality when paired with my A7Rii I have been a keen photographer for over 30 years, using some seriously good kit and this lens still managed to blow me away with its results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

great quality

SEL100400GM 13/03/2019 by merlot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very sharp and fast

SEL100400GM 11/03/2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first time I used this lens I was shocked on how sharp and fast it was the lens produces great quality images and well worth the price I paid I would definitely recommend this lense

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Outstanding sharpness from a super telephoto

SEL100400GM 26/02/2019 by DavidHogg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the original Canon 100-400 lens before and always knew that its sweet spot was around f/8 or thereabouts ... but by contrast this lens seems to be razor sharp wide open at any focal length! It's truly astonishing ... the sharpness at f/5.6 at 400mm is as good as you'd get with a 400mm prime. If you can afford it, go for it, there's no way you will be disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good

SEL100400GM 22/02/2019 by worldaviation4k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the sharp and clear quality. I used it on my Tokyo Haneda Airport live streams at night time (the ones that look brighter as i used to switch sometimes to my camcorder) for my worldaviation4k channel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 19/02/2019 by dnfb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is focuses very quickly and has amazing resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great

SEL100400GM 16/02/2019 by kimkim90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Is a great great just expensiv I recommend to evryone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Sharp and clear at times

SEL100400GM 16/02/2019 by Go britexit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed my set up from a canon to Sony last year. Generally you can get some really sharp images with this lens, yet one of the most frustrating parts I find as it’s a variable length same with the Canon L series variable lens, is that that it doesn’t hold securely when you change the length of the lens. The lens is quite heavy to compliment the mirrorless range of full frame cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Ultra fast to focus and tack sharp even at 400mm

SEL100400GM 10/02/2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp at every length, and super fast to focus when paired with my A9, this is a very versatile tele zoom. It's great for picking out detail in general shooting as well as the obvious use in wildlife and sport. No compromises here!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A super lens, right in there and as sharp as a pin

SEL100400GM 03/12/2018 by Mark Poly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A lot sharper than the Zeiss lens that I bought with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Sony Lens Ever

SEL100400GM 06/11/2018 by KP2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp! It's my favorite lens. Fast focusing and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

superb lens.

SEL100400GM 19/10/2018 by Frank171 (United Kingdom)

Always had a 200mm lens but upgraded to the 100-400 cant rate it enough, super fast and pin sharp focusing, a superb companion for the A7riii. Amazing results, and very acceptable with the 2x converter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fabulous resolution and clarity

SEL100400GM 14/10/2018 by MarkM (United Kingdom)

Very impressed, even with the 1.4 teleconverter, image sharpness and focussing is impressive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 27/09/2018 by Mel1of4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use with a7rii and have added 1.4xs converter. Reducing to APC delivers as much as 896mm focal length at f8. Autofocus can still cope and I have good results. The lens is even manageable hand held. Do not be greedy and go for 2xs converter unless you have the a9. A7 and 2xs will drop to f11 and you will be manually focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 31/08/2018 by Bob_Riach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens works well with the A9 still waiting fro the 1.4 extension the lens is also not heavy to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great telephoto but a little husky!

SEL100400GM 10/08/2018 by cvctiger (USA)

I bought this lens because I needed the focal range for my action photography. Nice sharp photos through out its focal range. Only thing I probably have to get used to is its heftiness at just over 3lbs.....that's me coming off an APS-C format camera setup with kit lenses that weigh much lighter. I guess this is where monopods and tripods will help. Lastly I think the price is a little on the high side when comparing it to other mfgs that have similar focal lengths and specs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03/08/2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2018

Hi FITZGERALD, Please make sure the firmware of both the camera and the lens are updated. This may resolve any possible software issues. Reset the camera and see if the issue will resolve in case the issue persists.
We will forward your feedback to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Brilliant for wildlife.

SEL100400GM 28/07/2018 by Robonova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just the job for nature walks because you can use it for distant birds etc. or because it focuses so close at 400mm macro's of butterflies etc. & its light as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06/07/2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL100400GM 02/07/2018 by Bigshot (Canada)

Great lens for fast focus and sharpness ,great build quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17/06/2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15/06/2018 by Maaggiem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best purchase

SEL100400GM 10/05/2018 by Pro Papa (USA)

Bought this to photograph my little ones, sports in the future and some nature/animal shots. Love to be far away and get their pure joyous smiling faces. Highly recommended if you didn’t mind the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent performance

SEL100400GM 06/05/2018 by IkeG (USA)

I am happy with performance, very sharp images at the right light of course. Bit slow but that what to expect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0