FE 135mm F1.8 GM

Product Reviews

$2,599.99

32

4.8 based on 32 customer reviews

28
3
0
1
0
Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

32 Customer Reviews

0

What's all the fuss about

SEL135F18GM 21/03/2022 by Minolta4me (United Kingdom)

135mm has an historic interest for anyone who used to shoot film [allegedly the longest lens you could focus on a rangefinder] but has not interested me till I was invited to photograph dance practice. The low stage lighting used meant even my 70-200 GM f2.8 would struggle to freeze motion without resorting to even higher ISO. The lenses ability to separate the subject from the background, to make colours "pop" and its speed of Auto Focus will all be tested to the limits.

0

3

Response From Sony support team
23/03/2022

Hi Minolta4me,

Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

The sharpest lens I have ever used.

SEL135F18GM 30/01/2022 by Swanni (United Kingdom)

This lens has not left my camera since I got it. It is soo sharp even wide open. Gives you complete control over depth of field. Highly recommended.

1

2

0

Sharpest lens I have owned

SEL135F18GM 28/01/2022 by PGPC (USA)

Just an amazing piece of glass on my A1. It will always be in my bag. A must for any Pro.

0

0

0

Pin sharp

SEL135F18GM 07/12/2021 by Peter 112 (United Kingdom)

I usually work in very low light and love this lens, it’s pin sharp wide open, giving an image quality similar to medium format.

1

0

0

Sharp Lens

SEL135F18GM 13/10/2021 by JohnWildlife (United Kingdom)

This is one of the sharpest 135 lenses on the market. This lense is exceptionally good for portrait photography.

1

2

0

Poorly constructed

SEL135F18GM 13/10/2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a few months ago have hardly used it but the front ring has fallen off so I am unable to attach filters or a lens hood. It is a very flimsy ring that is apparently glued in place. I Took it back to shop where I bought it they said it will take 1 - 2 weeks to repair under guarantee even longer if it is sent back to Sony. (They kindly offered to rent me one in the meantime.) I am a TV cameraman, and have been for 30 years, I use this lens on a Sony FX9 camera as the auto focus is extraordinary, far better than me. However in my 30 year career I have never had a lens fall apart on me and until now I have never used Sony lenses. In my work I require my equipment to be reliable and rugged. I also require a decent after sales service neither of which seem to come with this lens.

0

2

Response From Sony support team
03/02/2022

Hi Jonathancallery,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that your lens is damaged.
Having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Sharp Sharp Fast Fast

SEL135F18GM 13/10/2021 by iZaZA (United Kingdom)

This is the sharpest lens I have ever used, solid build and amazing bokeh

1

0

0

Fantastic Sharpness , even at maximum aperture

SEL135F18GM 13/10/2021 by BobRriach (United Kingdom)

I have an range of Sony’s premium lenses and I am very impress with Sony’s optics. The FE 135mm F1.8 GM is one of the most impressive with its amazing sharpness and gorgeous bokeh. This is likely to appeal strongly to portrait and wedding photographers.

0

0

0

impresive picture quality

SEL135F18GM 13/10/2021 by mishko (United Kingdom)

I have seen reviews before purchasing the lens but it blows my mind every time I use it and see results. It reproduces the light and clarity to a new level and I own some very sharp Sony lenses

1

0

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL135F18GM 30/09/2021 by alans220 (United Kingdom)

Best lens I have ever used, the most expensive lens I have ever bought, but worth it...

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL135F18GM 26/09/2021 by Aaronuk (United Kingdom)

Got this over a month ago and it’s the best lens i own

0

0

0

stunning lens

SEL135F18GM 23/07/2021 by photobrad (USA)

This is the lens you've heard about, and it lives up to all the hype. Bokeh is amazing. AF is super fast. As good as it gets

0

0

0

What a treat!!

SEL135F18GM 19/07/2021 by Reynolds (USA)

I have been a Leica shooter for decades. Since purchasing an A7r IVa and the spectacular 135 GM and the 24-70 GM, I am now convinced that this glass is every bit as sharp. Coupled with the A7…extraordinary!!

0

0

0

Stunning lens - pity about the Cashback terms

SEL135F18GM 24/06/2021 by Harstoner (United Kingdom)

This is a stellar lens - possibly the best in terms of sharpness, contrast, colour accuracy and AF that I have ever used in more than 50 years of photographic activity. My only gripe is that Sony ask you to disfigure the box in order to claim the Cashback. This affects the resale value of the lens and significantly reduces the attractiveness of the Cashback offer. Shame on you Sony! Canon and Fuji, brands from whom I have also claimed Cashbacks, don't ask for such ridiculous conditions.

3

2

0

Extremely sharp and auto-docus is unbelievably fas

SEL135F18GM 03/12/2020 by Papayaw (United Kingdom)

I bought this less than a month ago and I'm blown away by quality of pictures from this lens. This is the best lens I've used up to date.

3

0

0

Well engineered & razor sharp.

SEL135F18GM 29/10/2020 by Col278 (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased, initial impressions are very positive. Solid, well engineered lens and while pretty heavy it balances well on an A7Riii. Very comfortable to use. AF is very quick & accurate; MF mode is also a pleasure to use. Images appear razor sharp, even wide open at at minimum focus distance (manual); bokeh is amazing (better than my Zeiss Batis 85mm/f2). Although expensive, I have no regrets in buying this lens.

1

0

0

Very Sharp, Very Nice Bokeh

SEL135F18GM 16/10/2020 by EyeWriteLight (Canada)

After this lens, I have purchased lots of other lenses. This seems to be sharpest lens I have in my kit.

0

0

0

fabulous lens

SEL135F18GM 12/09/2020 by cale33 (USA)

I've never seen a lens like this one. Gives beautiful, clear shots in low light. A dream lens!

0

0

0

Good Lord, what a product!

SEL135F18GM 19/08/2020 by Leslie55 (USA)

I to took the lenses out of the box and off I went! This is what happened after a couple of hours with no Lightroom!

4

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL135F18GM 13/07/2020 by CeeJaySee (United Kingdom)

I am very surprised that the lens switches are so stiff. This is not the case on any other of my Sony lenses. I have also seen this mentioned elsewhere on the internet.

1

2

Response From Customer Support
16/07/2020

Hi CeeJaySee,

Thank you for your review.
Having read your feedback, we need to gather more information to be able to assist you further, don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support team

0

This lens is a game changer!

SEL135F18GM 06/06/2020 by Mono135 (United Kingdom)

After starting my Sony journey with a second hand A6000 and kit lens(which is a great camera by the way, but has its limits ) I was itching to step up to a full frame body and lens, and a more capable prime lens as well. After much research I decided on the A7R3 body and because of the high 42.2 mp resolution, I wanted to pair it with an equally good lens. Because I shoot a lot of outdoor, full body portrait for my website, I needed crisp images and bokeh, from a distance, as I wanted a certain look for my product photography. The images are just unbelievable and the clarity and sharpness of the subject, in full frame and in crop is staggering. Drawbacks, while there are not many, you will have to stand quite a distance from the subject to get top to toe in the frame, so you'll need plenty of space. Also one thing to keep in mind is its a big lens(weighs a bit too) and with the hood attached, which is always attached its even bigger, so don't expect to be discreet. To conclude, if you have the money and a good camera body(so it can play to its potential) I wouldn't even think twice. It doesn't matter if you're a pro or intermediate, it will transform the appearance of your photos and the satisfaction from looking at the raw images is worth the price of admission. Believe all the hype, this lens really is a game changer.

6

0

0

Outstanding performance for portraits

SEL135F18GM 01/05/2020 by qntt2002 (USA)

Sharp as a razor, beautiful bocke fast focusing. The quality of the lens in general is flawless. I can’t fault it at all. It is quite expensive but the results justify the price in my opinion. One observation that bothers me: The sunshade is very deep and the grips for the fingers on the lens cap are quite shallow not allowing for a secure grip. In this awkward position the cap has the nasty tendency to jump off from your fingers hitting the glass! For such a big lens cap deeper recesses for a more secure finger grip would be appreciated. It is not a fault of the lens, just a design flaw of the lens cap. I wasn’t able to find something better from a third party manufacturer so Sony maybe an optional cap wouldn’t be too much to ask.

4

1

0

The “Sharpest” lens I own!

SEL135F18GM 29/03/2020 by DMS2018 (USA)

I am new to the Sony photography ecosystem. The FE 135mm f1.8 GM is the first of two Sony lenses I purchased. This by far is the “Sharpest” lens I’ve used in a very long time! The colors it produces are stellar! I am amazed at how I can hand hold my camera with this lens at shutter speeds as low as 1/10. The sharpness is there! I would recommend this lens to every photographer!

3

0

0

Simply Stunning

SEL135F18GM 17/02/2020  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Lens not only for studio work, but also for creating shallow depth of field for Street Time Lapse. It's such a creative lens and fulfils my thought process in every way possible. The click free aperture ring is a gem when ramping exposures and slick enough not to move camera during shoot on my motorised head. If you're thinking of moving to Sony, this would be a very good excuse.

7

1

0

Much more than a portrait lens

SEL135F18GM 28/01/2020 by Chasdog (United Kingdom)

Been using this a month in my sports imaging. It was bought primarily for portrait work and weddings but is actually a real joy for sports, My only gripe would be more to do with me than the lens. I have large hands and perrenially use long lenses with plenty of room to support the lens without fouling the focus or aperture rings. Quite tricky on this lens especially in gloves but I am impressed by the way it feels in the hand, the solid build quality and excellent images especially in low light.

5

3

0

Sharp as a razor!

SEL135F18GM 10/01/2020 by Stopher77 (United Kingdom)

I decided to purchase this lens as I wanted a telephoto low aperture lens and traded in my Sony FE 70-200 F/4. Wow! What a purchase. This lens is razor sharp even wide open. This is marketed as a portrait lens, however, I have seen incredible results using it for landscapes paired with my Sony A7 III. My only minor issue is the weight, although, it is reassuringly heavy.

11

1

0

Next Level Lens

SEL135F18GM 17/11/2019 by jloz (USA)

I waited and waited to purchase this monster lens and the long wait is over. When I say monster, I mean it is huge! It is a great workout for your forearms as it is very heavy. The IQ this lens delivers is next level. You will not be disappointed, even if you are an image snob. It focuses lightning fast. Performs well in low light conditions. The bokeh melts like butter. Even at $1900 this lens is a bargain. After reading my word salad, go to your nearest online or B&M retailer and do not waste another moment. P.S. Do not purchase the Intl' version. It may be $150 cheaper but it does not come with the manufacturer's warranty and the mount is made of plastic.

12

1

0

Faultless

SEL135F18GM 16/10/2019 by Chimneyfinder (United Kingdom)

This is a very fine lens. The sharpness is incredible and impressive for maintaining such a high level not only through the aperture range but from close to far distances. Focus speed is at a pro level response. Resistance to flare, ghosting, veil, etc. is very high. The weight and size comes with the design capability so it would be fatuous to criticise it for this. Really, I can not say that this lens is lacking in any department and very few lenses would achieve this in my experience. I have this lens (it is the longest lens I own) as it sits in the mid range of a 70-200mm, and it covers what I want as a telephoto. As I go out walking for a whole day the f2.8 zoom would need a larger bag and it can start to feel heavy. Apart from that the 135 is an absolute joy to use and, being used to prime lenses for 40 years, framing isn't an issue, it suits my eye. I am delighted and fortunate to have such a great lens.

15

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 23/09/2019 by Snowsurfer55 (USA)

This lens is sharp and has an amazing focus system. Great bokeh for portraits and prefer it over an 85mm. So far this is my first GM and it is well worth the money.

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2019

Hi, Snowsurfer55!

We are glad you like your first GM lens. Thank you for the feedback and for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Absolutely the best 135mm fast len I've ever used.

SEL135F18GM 29/08/2019 by NRE 12 (USA)

This lens is totally fabulous particularly, for low light work. I tried it out at a stage performance this past summer and immediately returned it to the rental shop with money in hand. I've shot at least 10 low light stage performances sine then and have not regretted paying top dollar for this glass.

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, NRE 12!

We are glad to hear about your experience with your Sony SEL135F18GM. You made the right decision choosing this lens. Thank you for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 29/07/2019 by Doug75 (United Kingdom)

Unbelievably sharp lens. The Eye AF tracks perfectly for portraits even in low light. The two focus hold buttons instead of the one is very useful when rotating the camera for portraits. The lens is expensive but you get what you pay for with the G master lens. Very happy.

17

0

0

ZEBRA

SEL135F18GM 11/06/2019 by Amancio8 (Canada)

Excellent!...and for great shots in any area. Amazing!!!

0

0