FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

$2,999.99

9

3.9 based on 9 customer reviews

6
0
1
0
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

9 Customer Reviews

0

As sharp as a prime

SEL1635GM 30/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This super-wide zoom lens is as sharp as a prime at all focal lengths, extremely resistant to flair and doesn't soften when used wide open. The perfect super-wide imaging tool.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Outstanding Detail

SEL1635GM 10/03/2018 by donjay (USA)

I'm very happy with the detail in my photos. I had the Sony Zeiss f4 16-35mm previously, with which I was very happy. However, the the photo quality I'm getting now from the G Master version is definitely superior. I don't know if it's worth all the extra money, but I do think this is a better lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sticking to the Zeiss

SEL1635GM 08/02/2018 by Stormyseas (USA)

I have the Vario-Tessar 16-35 and love it but thought that this would be a nice upgrade. It's not. The quality is noticeably less than the Zeiss lens, in more shots than I care to think about. I took it on a recent overseas travel trip and after going through the pictures am kicking myself for not sticking to what I knew was amazing. If the price were lower, perhaps it would be a better fit for some, but at it's current price it's.. not reasonable.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

18

0

Brightest Sharpest Lens I've ever used!

SEL1635GM 06/01/2018 by mauiair (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used it a few days but the difference is so noticable there is no going back

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony - FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

SEL1635GM 24/10/2017 by luis678 (USA)

Hands down the best 16-35mm 2.8 lens I've ever own!! Sharp,Sharp,Sharp even at 2.8 beautiful color and awesome bokeh!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Worst lens ever

SEL1635GM 19/10/2017 by brandonwaring (USA)

This lens is a terrible waste of money. Don't buy it. The design is flawed, the picture quality is below average and over all the product doesn't do what it should.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

179

0

Super lens

SEL1635GM 05/09/2017 by pheel (USA)

Bought this on release after wanting it for so long to pair with my A7Rii. It is a full stop faster than the Sony/Zeiss 16-35mm f/4 and the benefits are tremendous. Better low light and action performance and OSS is not really necessary or beneficial on the newer bodies that have IBIS. Focus hold button that can be reprogrammed for several other functions (but not as many as a programmable camera button) is useful too. No zoom lock button like the longer/heavier 24-70mm 2.8 GM but doesn't need it as the barrel does not extend when held upside down (at least not now!). This lens, at least my copy, is very sharp from the center to the edges and pictures look so much better than the Zony. Bokeh looks nice at 35mm wide open. But what really makes a huge difference is how relatively compact this lens is. Slightly smaller and lighter than the Zeiss 35mm f1.4 (distagon) but seems smaller due to the design somehow. The build does not have a metal external barrel but it looks and feels better than the Zony 16-35mm f4 and the 35mm f/1.4. I sold both both of those lenses as this is my new primary walkabout lens (as my Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 II was when I shot Canon). Amazin lens and only negative is the somewhat exhorbitant price as all camera/lens makers shift towards pro prices as smartphones continue to destroy the DSLR/mirrorless market like they did with PAS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

42

8

0

Manual focus ring doesn't work

SEL1635GM 31/08/2017 by Greg007 (USA)

I just bought these lens for my Sony a7 RII and found out that the manual focus ring won't work. Badly disappointed with Sony right now and now I understand why people use Canon...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

7

178

0

Incredible

SEL1635GM 20/08/2017 by Rundepot (USA)

I Shoot with the A7Rll the Image quality is absolutely amazing never expected a wide angle zoom to be this good I also have the 24-70F2.8GM but this lens blew me away if you don't already own it you should it's that good at all FStops here are some sample photos to demonstrate the amount of cropping you're able to do shot at 35mm F2.8 1/60 ISO400 the photograph of the barn was taken with 24-70 GM another incredible lens 70mm F11 1/6sec ISO50

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

9