36

4.8 based on 36 customer reviews

30
6
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

36 Customer Reviews

0

Super sharp lens

SEL1635Z 07/11/2018 by Bloberoonie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this lens for landscape and architecture and so far i’m Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Stunning Super-Wide With Little Compromises

SEL1635Z 16/10/2018 by privado (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you own any of the E-series Sony digital cameras, stop looking around: this is your ultra-wide zoom. It's got the Zeiss pop, the tack sharpness, and great bokeh. Stopped down, and pushed to the super-wide portion of the zoom the depth of field goes on forever. On the full frame it covers every wide angle option, if with the normal amount of distortion typical of a ultra-wide zoom. No pain, no gain gentle reader. If you own the APSC series of Sony cameras, this is still a worthy walk about lens that goes from normal to fairly wide with the penalty of a one stop over the competition. Over a prime 1.4 it gets a whole lot more painful, at F 4 this is nobodies idea of a night shooter. The compromise here is that the lens is rather slow, and you quickly run out of options in the dark because the APSC series cameras get noisier quicker than their full-frame stablemates. Pumping up the ISO on the 6000 / Nex series cameras (or any of the SLTs series other than the full frame A99) is just not the same as doing the same on the full frames. Sorry kiddies, physics is physics and photons are photons, there's no way around this. One stop can be the difference between a usable photo and something less so. Two stops, even more so. Placed on a solid Tripod and used for its designed purpose, sweeping landscapes and architectural shots, this lens is just awesome. Jammed into a tight spot, you can zoom out and get shots that more "normal" wides just are unable to supply. You can get up close and personal with this lens and there hangs a tale. This means that cropping a marginal photo in post is not necessary, you can get it right in camera and without having to put life and limb in danger. This is a real world problem when things like barbwire and twisty roads power packed with motorcycles and zooming cars get in your way. It is also a real issue when working is super-tight environments where you subject is is in one place and a big honking obstruction like a wall or building is right next to it. I can not tell you how many images were possible only because of the reach of the lens. This lens is one of my go-to lenses in my goody bag, there are almost no shoot where this little gem does not get placed on my full frame and the whole business get placed on a tripod. This is my weapon of choice when shooting landscapes and architectural shots, it gets more work than my 24-70 and spends more time on the camera than it's bigger brother. Because it almost always is on a camera, on a tripod it creates more considered and well composed shots. Your mileage may vary from mine but if you have a full frame this lens not only belongs in your bag or backpack but deserves pride of place. On a APSC shooter it's very worthy, if more limited, walk about option than the G series 2.8. It's sharper, has better pop, and all that deliciousness that Zeiss brings to the table but it is a full stop slower and has no telephoto reach to speak of. As a "normal" lens for the APSC cameras, it's a bust, get it's purpose-built brother the 35mm 1.4 or 35mm 2.8 if you are looking for a "normal" in APSC format. For the smaller format the lens is a sold four stars, maybe even four and half, but there are too many compromises here to give it five stars on the NEX / 6000 series cameras, that is a bridge too far; it's too slow, and lacks too little reach, any discussion of bokeh is a very mixed bag as the F 4 brings a bit too much depth of field to the game in even in full format. the bokeh is great, don't get me wrong it's typical Zeiss buttery, creamy goodness with just a touch of nervousness, but forget trying to erase either your foreground or background to nothingness, that is a job for the prime 1.4. This lens is in it's element stopped down to an 8 or 11, even 5.8 is more than decent. Opened up, meh, it's a little soft in the corners and still provides more depth of field than you probably want in most situations. In that it is a very standard super-wide with all the baggage that entails, the distortion that has to be fixed in post, the softness when fully open, serious weirdness in your shots when not absolutely level when at the widest part of the zoom. If you know about super-wides, you know the drill. If you love this type of lens this particular example is one of the best, and for Sony Full Frame Cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice sharp wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 16/10/2018 by Bethune23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this when I broke my 5d Mark iii along with the A7Riii and the image quality is loads better than with my 11-24mm. Focus is quick and overall image qulaity is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compared to canon 16-35mm f/4 is

SEL1635Z 04/10/2018 by Dave81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picked up this lens a week ago and have tried it out at home and at a wedding. I recently traded in my canon 5divs for two a7iii's and the 16-35 was a lens I used for a limited number of shots during the day, yet essential ones. it joined my new 85 1.4 G master and 35 f1.4 distagon (please make a Gmaster 35 f1.4 as soon as possible!). I am pleased to report that the 16-35 f/4 vario- Tessar is not only comparable to the canon version, but it seems to be sharper, while being slightly smaller lighter. Probably because of the absence if is, but still. A great lens that I'm very glad to have in my kit. My only gripe is that it is a little expensive for what you get, and I am not sure why. I gave design four stars because the focus is not internal and I would like a manual focus switch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid, quality feel

SEL1635Z 19/08/2018 by Mad Snapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've not used the lens in 'anger yet apart from quick test shots so can't comment on the quality of the images it produces but as far as the look and feel of the lens is concerned up to now I am very happy. Beautiful satin black finish, the lens fits snugly and tightly to the camera body, much tighter than my Canon 5d Mk3 body and lenses. Comes with a lens hood which clicks nicely and securely in place, a carry pouch, and, obviously, front and back caps. The zoom ring I particularly like, its a good size and is smooth to operate across its range and has reassuringly high amount of friction as you zoom in or out. No sloppiness or sticking so no problems if you wanted to use the lens for video as well as stills. Just waiting for an opportunity to get out and see how the glass performs now . . . .

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Performance

SEL1635Z 17/05/2018 by johnkant27 (USA)

Got this as a gift. I personally don't like wide angle lenses because they have frequent problems with the picture and performance. However, this lens solves all of that. I currently owned other wide angle lenses(not from Sony) but this lens is the best one I'd had so far. The only flaw that I don't personally like; the focusing wheel and zoom wheel are a bit stiff and hard to use at first. But you get used to it after a while.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wide angle

SEL1635Z 15/04/2018 by Ady669 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used it a few times but the pictures of buildings have turned out great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new best lens

SEL1635Z 18/03/2018 by GWCJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Sony FE lens, and I am really happy with it. It handles really well and the photos it gives are sharp and vibrant. The 16-35 range is great for landscape photography which is what I do mostly. Zeis and Sony teamed up for a fantastic lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 26/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for landscape photography. The images are super sharp, even hand held. The 16-35mm focal length is ideal for landscapes. F4 is not the fastest but for landscapes this is fine. Anything faster and the price goes way, way up. The build quality is great, the focusing ring is smooth. On my a7ii body the auto focusing is very quick. I havent had any flare problems to this point. I wish Sony had included a distance scale on the lens. All in all i am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I love this lens

SEL1635Z 19/01/2018 by tacit25 (USA)

Got this lens a little after picking up the A7II and I love it. Images are sharp and have excellent color.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality and durability

SEL1635Z 01/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7Rii about a year an a half ago. It is robust and really well made, the quality is flawless, it has a little bit of distortion at 16mm but it isn't terrible. I love this lens and would recommend for any serious photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 26/08/2017 by Razzz16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it! Very sharp, no aberration at all ! I love the focal length

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent full frame lens vario-tessera

SEL1635Z 02/08/2017 by Daddy g (United Kingdom)

Great lens for my new Sony E frame camera that I have Olympic had just over a week

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Switching over from Nikon

SEL1635Z 01/07/2017 by D18UNK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the Sony A7R11 for around a month. Decided to move over from Nikon as a press photographer I thought long and hard before I took the plunge. I purchased the 16.35 and 70-200 f4 lens . I must say I am pleased with the results and the operation and menu settings. Will be adding the 24-70 f2.8 soon. Not yet tried it for the football so the Nikon gear is still around for the time being.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Reliable, Love this lens.

SEL1635Z 20/06/2017 by javinef (USA)

I've had this lens for over a year now and I absolutely love it. It even works for portraits. Incredibly versatile and reliable. I wish I would have bought the F2.8 because I shoot a lot of event photography at night but I really recommend this lens to anyone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

A reliable and robust traveling friend

SEL1635Z 21/02/2017 by domblack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens about a year now and I am very impressed, I am not a pixel peeper exactly, but it appears tone sharp at any settings, it is relatively compact an whit IS I don't really need the extra expense and weight of faster glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 19/12/2016 by Petedox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens just two weeks, so have not had a great chance to use it yet. However early test shots show that it has the Zeiss contrast and colour rendition that puts it in a league of it's own. This is my second Zeiss lens, this time I went for the 16-35 rather than the 24-70 as I have a Sony A6000 (APS-C format) and thought this would also be a pretty decent wide angle even on the smaller sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony / Zeiss Lens

SEL1635Z 07/12/2016 by ekroy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another good Sony lens to add to my arsenal. This one bought for tavelling to fit my A7R2 abd A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

great lens

SEL1635Z 16/10/2016 by J Brad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 2 months ago as i was going on vacation to NYC, i was not disappointed with its performance, the pictures were exultant quality all hand held with difficult lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Superb lens if you are lucky to get a good copy!

SEL1635Z 07/05/2016 by Caris21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have tried 5 copies of this lens in total - 2 were decentered - always soft on one side in all focal lengths, 2 had soft corners until stopped down to f11, my final copy is still not perfect but the best of the bunch. The wide end 16-24mm is superb even wide open but from 26-35mm things get progressively worse with 35mm being virtually unusable until f14. This is not what I would expect form an expensive lens with a Zeiss logo. The stress associated with securing a good copy is really too much - Sony must do something to eliminate the sample variations - the production QC is below standard expected at this level. My experience has really put me off from buying another expensive Sony FF lens. The built quality is superb but it's not that important if the optics are below par! I would still recommend this lens but only if you get a good copy, otherwise you would be better off using a 3rd party manual wide-angle zoom with an adapter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

13

0

Perfect focal length for landscapes

SEL1635Z 21/12/2015 by JohnR52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has joined my selection of Sony lenses. Being s recent convert from Canon L series glass I am quality conscious and can say this lens meets and exceeds my expectations . Great partner to the 55 MM and 85 MM Batis

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great lens for a7R

SEL1635Z 08/12/2015 by Mickpic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial impressions are excellent build quality and ideal for landscapes. Very sharp and at 18mm the horizon appeared dead straight with just the preset basic lens correction in Lightroom. It's also nice that the front ring doesn't move when you focus, which is handy if you've lined up a graduated filter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A great wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 11/09/2015 by Billphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased this lens to complete my FE lens collection. As a simple amateur I think the quality is superb, and the field of view excellent. It is sharp and produces with my A7 and A7s excellent images. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent wide angle zoom

SEL1635Z 09/09/2015 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens. Build quality is excellent. Feels great on the A7 body. Optically first class. The OSS will be of great help in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

Good Wide Angle Lens

SEL1635Z 16/06/2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this lens for a month, so my experience is short. The lens was bought a I needed and wide angle lens particularly for interior and architectural photography, but also would use it for landscapes. The lens performed well with my A7R, acquiring good autofocus with good dynamic range and colours. When photographic interiors which were very close there was considerable distortion of the verticals, but this is to be excepted and can be corrected in Photoshop. The lens performed well in landscape with no visible distortions. In both genre the photos were pin sharp. The build is exceptional in is feel and look, with smooth control rings. Although I normally use a tripod, the stabilisation appeared to work well when I used hand held, with no noticeable movement blur, even at high resolution.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Truly Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 07/06/2015 by CandidCondor45 (USA)

I have used this lens starting in December 2014. It is very sharp and the colors are very pleasing. The 16 mm setting allowed to take really nice photos at Machu Picchu and the lakes in the California Sierras. The photos are crisp from foreground to background. The entire range of focal lengths produce excellent photos. It works well with the Sony A7R.

9

5

0

The must-have lens for social photography

SEL1635Z 06/05/2015 by edurocha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image quality, and a perfect focal range for any occasion where people will gather. Zeiss glass will never disappoint you. Paired to my Sony A7II camera, it focuses in a snap, and I never miss a shot.

8

0

0

GREAT LENS, GREAT GLASS, GREAT VALUE

SEL1635Z 16/04/2015 by EchoAux3 (USA)

I have used this lens for landscape and closeup photos. Closeup very narrow/shallow depth @f/4 and great bokeh is an added greatness. For landscape great clarity out far and in close manual focus out to 3/4 way very easy on the A7s with aperture selection f/4-22 for great depth clarity.

10

9

0

impressed!

SEL1635Z 22/03/2015 by JayH (USA)

I was skeptical if this lens would produce the goods on the A7R, it does!!!!

7

2

0

Nice to have a lens like this in an FE mount.

SEL1635Z 25/01/2015 by MarkyM38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have just returned from holiday so have taken around 1000 frames so far. Always wanted this wide angle zoom length. Although heavier than the 24-70mm it still balances nicely on my A7r. Internet reviews seem to suggest its strongest at 16mm and f4 which appears to be true. You would think that stopping down to f5-11 would sharpen things up nicely but the reverse seems to be true. This together with the 55mm is a good combination. Still deciding whether to get the 70-200mm FE lens. (The 55mm is stunningly sharp so any other lens never seems quite as good!)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My new best friend.

SEL1635Z 21/01/2015 by photon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality is excellent, it's sharp, has well saturated colours, and good contrast. Classic design, good functionality. Robust build quality, beautifully engineered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good but too early to fully endorse

SEL1635Z 15/01/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this lens for a few weeks so it is too early to pass a comment that is based upon experience. However this is a superb lens and fills a gap at wide angle so together with the 24-70 lens I have a very complete package

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 06/01/2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only used it a couple of times. Results are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 21/11/2014 by LensGuru (USA)

Great contrast and color, typical of a Zeiss lens. What amazes me is how sharp this lens is at corners, even in the extreme wide angle end (16mm). The distortion is superbly well controlled too. The sharpness in the corner indicates that the lens is inherently free of severe distortions, because the interpolation performed to correct the distortion often loses resolution in doing so. Goes to show how much quality optic this lens really is! Highly recommended.

27

1

0

Just Released in the USA

SEL1635Z 21/11/2014 by AndyV (USA)

Superb .... Just purchased this lens on 11/20/14 Took it for ride this morning. Shot some landscape in Raw (A7r) Very impressive resolution and color accuracy A must have for Landscape users Love the F4 at all zoom levels. Not too heavy either .

22

8

0

Great lens but expensive

SEL1635Z 21/10/2014 by JianXiangPhotography (USA)

This is a very nice lens, I can give 9.5 out of 10 for the image quality of this lens, except for one little obvious defect: 90 percent of the area is very sharp except the very edge area has a bit of blur. There are also some distortion on the four corner too, but it's a ultra wide angle lens, and that cannot be avoid. I love this lens' exterior look and its build quality. The price is a bit high compare to sel2470z, probably the devaluation of Canadian dollars played some effect on pricing.

18

21