64

4.4 based on 64 customer reviews

46
8
3
2
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20/06/2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05/09/2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

5

64 Customer Reviews

0

An excellent super telephoto lens

SEL200600G 23/09/2020 by BruceNE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mainly for photograhing wildlife. As yet, I've not had an opportunity to test it thoroughly. But I was delighted with its performance recently at Washington Wetland Centre, taking handhold pictures of waders.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great zoom lens

SEL200600G 21/08/2020 by deevee312 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pluses: Small, light, affordable Internal zooming solid build Sharp optics Fast zooming IQ still good with 1.4TC Minuses: No Arca on tripod mount Heavy hood causing front lens element to detach Could be sharper AFC slower than 100-400mm and primes Bokeh so so too dim is used with 2X TC Not sure of differences with OIS modes

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens but:-

SEL200600G 09/08/2020 by Swanie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about 6 weeks ago heavier than anticipated quick n sharp My main issue is the location of focus lock buttons they are positioned exactly wear hand goes for hand holding not great kept accidentally pressing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Extremely disappointing !

SEL200600G 28/07/2020 by SonyFan2020 (Canada)

After 7 months (used only in weekends) the lens started making a buzzing noise in both automatic and manual mode; the camera’s trigger button is not pressed (A7III). It makes also a 2-3 seconds grinding sound before powering down. Left between 400-600mm, the lens does not focus when the camera is turned back on. And to makes things worse there is also dust inside the lens. It’s still during the warranty period but it will take 2 months to fix it; unfortunately this summer I will not be able to use it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

200mm to 1800mm WOW!!!

SEL200600G 16/07/2020 by Echo Aux (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because the 150-600 (to 1800) was not giving proper lens or mm info with teleconverters. The other lens was sharp and auto focus was good. after watching many reviews I chose the SEL200600 over the SEL100400 mainly for its internal zoom that limits dust into the lens but also I like critter, birds and some moon photography. I have the SEL24240 (360mm APS-C) and it is super sharp with a lot of reach but there are times you need 600mm or even 1200mm and then there is that 1800 (2x plus APS-C) that when you are 200 yards away and up high but want that closeup of a White Pelican in flight or Great White Egret in mating plumage that or a Buck in velvet in the morning fog is where 1800mm comes in. And you want the correct shot info in Metadata and that is where this lens combo with 1.4X and 2X teleconverters shine. For the good stuff is the AF and IS...On July 3rd night the Buck Moon was out so I put the lens on my A7iii just regular single shot settings... it lock on AF and IS kept it solid "HandHeld" then pressed the APS-C button and again another clear clear capture at 900mm. The next night the 4th it was out and this time with 2X, a clear 1200mm then APS-C a clear sharp 1800 "Handheld" and I am almost 70 to me that is impossible and that was my first use, WORTH EVERY PENNY to me!!! Look I have been using Sony since Sept. 2014 and the one most important selling point is value per $. Sony knows it is not the pros that keep them afloat and climbing but the guy saving pennies, nickels, and dimes for a dream of good gear that will last and will break that bank open when he has it. Every camera (A7S,A7Rii,A7ii) and from my first lens E 1018 (APS-C) used on the A7S in full frame @ 12mm for Astro Milky Way had pinpoint stars and no distortion with IS/AF and screw on filters $700 now $900+ (everyone FF or APS-C wants or has) 5 years and going strong and value +++. I still have my Canon Ftb from the film days and use FD 20mm f/2 and 24mm f/1.4 on my Sony as well as 35/50/80/etc, Sony made sure there were adapters for other gear when they started to bring other over. That is how Sony Thinks, way way out there. You will pass this lens down to someone and they will also. As soon as I took those first shots I ordered a Lenscoat for it with everything else and is like a bug in a rug. The last shot is with the E 1018 @ 12mm full frame talk about great lenses and cameras bought in 2015 still strong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Precise focussing, excellent images

SEL200600G 14/07/2020 by PMCD3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had for only a week but absolutely love my new lens, super quiet and quick to focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great value for the money...

SEL200600G 12/07/2020 by hoasjoe (USA)

A great value compared to the next closest 100-400 lens. The images came out sharp all the way up to 600mm. With a tripod bracket on the lens, it's easy to align the horizon and switch between horizontal & vertical for landscape shots. The auto focus tend to be slow and sometimes unreliable for a lens this size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What a Fantastic Lens !!!

SEL200600G 05/07/2020 by S2020L (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I first rented this lens for a weekend. When I returned it I wanted to have a little fun so I told the guy I didn't get one good picture. He was quite surprised and said "really ??? " Then I told him I actually got a couple thousand GREAT pictures :) So I then returned the rented lens & walked out with a new one. Getting this photo of the moon was what made me decide to buy this lens And here is a cropped in pic of the head of a Sandhill Crane

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Love it but!

SEL200600G 03/07/2020 by SteveIOM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the lens which I twinned with a new A7iii. Photos sharp, verry happy. Others have seen it and also considering change to Sony. Only disappointment is the fit of the lens hood. It keeps falling off. Have resorted to carrying gaffer tape to secure. Hence only four stars. It would also help to include more detailed instructions to include birds in flight tips etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Image quality is outstanding!

SEL200600G 01/07/2020 by gabrady46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using this lens on the A6300. I don't know why I waited so long to buy it. I was content with my Sony 70-300 but just couldn't fill the frame with my subject sometimes. The 200-600 FILLS the frame. I have used it exclusively handheld and couldn't be happier with the results. Make no mistake this is a 600mm lens and feels every one of its four pounds. But after several days of practice I feel comfortable with it. Two important points: learn to use the zone focus for birds in flight and flexible spot small for stationary animals. Even with the lowly a6300 this lens just plain works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

N.A

SEL200600G 30/06/2020 by DRHA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last week, have not had time to try in the field but seems to be good quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20/06/2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Magnificent lens

SEL200600G 14/06/2020 by Stac (United Kingdom)

This lens is a masterpiece, such a sharp lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

SEL200600G 12/06/2020 by Dave2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent lens and I found that after an hour or two practising I was taking really good images with it. I enjoy wildlife photography and this lens will help me do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I need for wildlife photography

SEL200600G 10/06/2020 by Philbute (United Kingdom)

Still getting used to it, so far I'm delighted. It pairs superbly with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Meets my expectations

SEL200600G 09/06/2020 by Rob 38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only limited use in my garden because of lockdown but satisfied with pictures taken

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding lens!

SEL200600G 04/06/2020 by JRIDLEY1 (USA)

Picked this lens up in March 2020. I traded in my Nikon gear. And now have a Sony A9II.This lens is fantastic super sharp focus very fast. I just love it. Just as sharp or sharper then my Nikon 500mmf4.So far it has been a joy to use. also Sony support freaking blows Nikon away. Great lens for birds in flight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Smoothly sharp

SEL200600G 31/05/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a big lens. Got a big lens. Job done. Not buying for professional use, the cost of the lens was on the edge of affordability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome lens!

SEL200600G 16/05/2020 by WarGriff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not taken it off My A9II since I got it! Picture iq is outstanding at all focal lengths, Af is faster than My 100-400 GM. You guys (SONY) hit a home run with this lens and I'm very pleased with everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Perfect combo of Optics and Prize

SEL200600G 10/05/2020 by hargou23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You might but tamron or Sigma for lesses prize, but the auto focus on this lense is extreme, and matches 90 % to its big brother ,600mm F4 GM( prize 12000$)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lens, but with a problem

SEL200600G 10/05/2020 by thegreyfox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about six months ago and was extremely impressed with all aspects. I particularly like the programmable buttons on the lens, which I used for the DMF function for fine tuning focus. However, over the last two weeks the lens has developed a fault, in that it will not focus at maximum ( probably between 550-600mm) zoom, and you have to reduce the zoom in order to focus, which defeats some of the lens purpose!. The camera makes a whirring sound, which suggests the focus motors are at fault. Because of Covid, I have not taken things further as yet, but am extremely dissappointed that my "go to" lens" requires some fudging before you can use it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great wildlife lens.

SEL200600G 30/04/2020 by Fatbobby1226 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A sharp well made native lens from Sony. I really like that the zoom is internal which improves the weather sealing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Wildlife Zoom

SEL200600G 28/04/2020 by jloz (USA)

Finally an "affordable" option for shooting (photos) wildlife. This lens performs great in well lit environments and focus is fast and accurate. When zooming in and out, the lens feels steady since the lens extends internally. The focusing mechanisms are quiet which is a must when taking photos of easily startled wildlife. The only issues I have with the lens is the lens hood and the weight (to be fair this is a 200-600mm lens). The lens hood does not lock like the 100-400 GM. It can easily unmount when hand holding the lens. The weight will affect when shooting handheld. Although, I recommend using a monopod or tripod when shooting for long periods of time. All in all this lens is fantastic. The IQ is GM quality. This lens pairs well with the α9 or α9II. I use it for my α7RIV and it works great. I highly recommend this lens for wildlife and sports action photography. You will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent quality and good price.

SEL200600G 28/04/2020 by Seekyman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality, light weight, internal focusing. Just what you need for bird, aircraft and nature photography. A very good addition to my lens collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp

SEL200600G 17/04/2020 by button (United Kingdom)

Heavy to hold but the sharpness at full zoom is outstanding. Works much better on my a7riii than my a6300 which struggles with focusing with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Wildlife Lens

SEL200600G 16/04/2020 by Houseman75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this "today on 4-15-2020" but the registration page it says this lens was bought in February, I don't really get that unless it was when Roberts Camera bought it along with two other new ones they had in stock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome telephoto lens

SEL200600G 13/04/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm an amateur photographer and needed a lens with more zoom than my current 200mm lens. I spent a good few months watching reviews on youtube and finally decided to go for it. I've taken some great photos or birds and the moon with amazing detail and clarity. I have been using this lens hand held. It's quite heavy so takes some getting used to but it's worth it. Remember to set the camera to a fast shutter speed when hand held! I'm super happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Depends on which camera you are attaching it to.

SEL200600G 10/04/2020 by cnaray123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There seems to be a incompatibility with the A7R4 for a lot of users. I'm hoping that the next firmware Sony issues will correct this. The hit rate of good photos to bad is a 3 in 10. I understand it works best with the A9M2 for tracking. It's really not the lens, I think. I am having a problem, but that might be because I use it on my A7R4.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very Good

SEL200600G 02/04/2020 by P_C_L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the lens a month now, and used in conjunction with my A7R IV, I'm really pleased with it. Very quick focus, very accurate focus, very sharp, very low distortion. Excellent lens for the money, thoroughly recommend ☺♥

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Still exploiting its capabilities

SEL200600G 27/02/2020 by subs57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 1st large lens, and I am still getting used to handing this physically large item, and while the hand held shots are good, they can be a lot better. I will improve with experience of course, but my opinion is that to get the maximum results out of this lens, a sturdy tripod and mount is required to fully exploit its capabilities. (Hence 4 *)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing performance telephoto

SEL200600G 27/02/2020 by Engineria (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Acquired this last month, and the performance is great, the lens is very compact for 600mm and measures less than 330mm with the lens caps on, so fits in my lowepro flipside 200 bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent build quality

SEL200600G 25/02/2020 by Johnwildlife (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens because I heard that it was good build quality and excellent for wildlife photography. I have changed my whole system to Sony after being a Nikon photographer for 35 years. I believe you are more advanced in you Mirrorless system and the sharpness of your lenses is excellent. I am waiting for the 600mm to arrive in the next week or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The best budget option for wildlife!

SEL200600G 25/02/2020 by MEARNGCSM (USA)

Excellent sharpness and ease of use! I paired this lens with the A7RIV and have been very pleased with the results. Not the best for low light but overall I love this lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Really Like the Lens

SEL200600G 12/02/2020 by rvsparky47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this mainly for taking Bird In Flight photos where I could hand hold the camera & lens combo. This has worked out better than my expectations since I have a hand tremor to compensate for as well. I'm getting probably a 85-90% in focus shots. The other 10-15% is mostly the guy behind the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible with the a6400 for BIF and Wildlife

SEL200600G 08/02/2020 by Ramjet31 (USA)

What a fantastic lens. I have only owned it for a couple of weeks and have already taken some of the best images I've ever captured. I moved to Sony from Canon (5Ds) and will never go back. The autofocus and image quality are both exceptional. I will be buying a Sony full frame body to accompany the excellent a6400 very soon!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony 200-600mm

SEL200600G 06/02/2020 by Wingnut photos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens Sony! Portable and light weight for size! Zoom action superb!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If it were only perfect!

SEL200600G 01/02/2020 by Nancy 474 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my lens in November, but couldn't find an a9II camera to buy until a month later. So it took a while for me to get to use the lens. At first I used the camera and lens hand held and was pretty happy. But when I tried to attach it to my tripod, it seemed I couldn't tighten things up enough to hold it perfectly steady. It wasn't until I got a Really Right Stuff (RRS) lens foot (LCF-102) to attach lens to the tripod that I realized it was the lens attachment apparatus' problem, not my tightening. The attachment for the the Sony foot to the lens collar didn't fit well. And it didn't fit well with the RRS foot either. We attached both my Sony foot and my RRS foot to my husband's new Sony 200-600mm lens. Each one worked perfectly. No play or wiggle. It was then that I realized this wasn't about my not being able to tighten things down enough, the problem lay with the Sony part of the lens collar that attaches to the lens foot. The Sony person I spoke to said they will send me a shipping label to send the lens to a repair facility in CT. I am not happy! These are expensive items, and now I have to go without my lens for at least two weeks and maybe longer, and see whether their "repair" (replacement of a basic part) works satisfactorily. I might add that I was looking for the emailed shipping label when I got this questionnaire. I don't understand why it has taken more than 24 hours for them to email it to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

OOS doesn't work properly in video mode

SEL200600G 21/01/2020 by Matej 1 (USA)

Hello, weeks ago I bought new sony FE 200-600mm lens but I think the OSS doesn't work properly on my sony A7R IV photo camera in video mode. If I start shaking camera on tripod OSS start working properly after 3 or 4 seconds and hold image very well but not for long time, maybay only 10 seconds. After that is image again shaky. I try everything and the problem is still here. I went to my friend and test his new lens FE 200-600mm on my A7R4 camera but the same problem even with his lens and on his camera A7R IV. In photo mode (M, S, A and P) both lenses start working immediately if I press shooting button and OSS stabilize image excellent. Only in video mode it's not working immediately. I think this is not mechanical problem but software problem, because both lenses behave the same in video mode. This problem happening to other Sony video cameras like A7S, FS7 and FX9 I tested. Big downsize for such a good lens. I had to sale my lens to photo user. I hope Sony will soon release new firmware for this lens and solved the problem. Regards, Matej

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent fast focusing lens

SEL200600G 18/01/2020 by Jumbo 57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great coverage for nature and sports photography. Internal focusing is great to have. Works brilliantly with my Sony a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect sports lens

SEL200600G 17/01/2020 by Sharpysurf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I shoot surfing for a living so when Sony announced this I ordered one straight away. I loved the 100-400 but for surfing this lens is hard to beat. The non-extending design is a real help as I often shoot in terrible weather. AF is incredible and for stills and video this is my go to action lens. It’s also good for lifestyle, assuming you can shout directions at your subjects. Super impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent results

SEL200600G 11/01/2020 by Mr P H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only been using this for a couple weeks with the A7III and I have been very impressed with the photos that I've been able to take of distant wildlife. The autofocus works great, the build quality feels solid and I'm getting the photos that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Lens! Shockingly Good!

SEL200600G 31/12/2019 by PV23 (USA)

I went back and forth about buying this lens- I already I own the 100-400GM, 70-200GM as well as the 1.4X and 2X teleconverters. However, on a recent trip to Sri Lanka it quickly became my go to lens for wildlife and birding. Even with the 1.4X converter under heavy canopy it still performed incredibly well. While the speed of the 600mm F4 GM would have been nice, flexibility as animals moved closer would have been comprised. I found the build quality to be great and the lens itself light compared to other lenses I've owned. Bokeh is great! Autofocus with the A7Riv was unbelivelably fast and devivered razor sharp images- even shooting handlheld at 600mm!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 24/12/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you need 600mm and can't justify the prime, this lens is excellent. Importantly, it's very strong at the long end between 400-600mm, with excellent sharpness at f6.3 and superb sharpness when stopped down to f8. The internal zoom is a nice feature of the 200-600; the lens doesn't extend. Build quality feels just okay, with the general body not feeling particularly solid, but for a G series lens rather than GM this is fine by me. The zoom and focus rings feel great; smooth and no significant play. I own a 600mm f4 from another manufacturer and the sharpness of this 200-600 zoom at 600mm is amazingly close given that it's not really intended to be in the same 'class'. Overall, I'm very happy with it (I primarily use it for birding and moonscapes).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fabulous Zoom for a Fair Price!

SEL200600G 30/11/2019 by bwana (Canada)

I've been shooting with this lens for about a week; everything from birds on wing to landscapes AND love it. Lens (with Sony A7 III) has amazing autofocus. Half rotation zoom from 200-600 is very fast. Great stabilization even at 600mm which makes is quite easily handheld throughout its zoom range. Lens is very solidly built but as a result is about five lbs; for long duration shooting I'd recommend a tripod or, at the very least, a monopod. The sharpest lens I've ever owned when compared to my previous Canon & Pentax lenses and current Sony lenses. Very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

200-600 with A7r4 is made for birders.

SEL200600G 22/11/2019 by Ebird (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought an A7r4 and this lens a month ago, waited until yesterday for the lens, as it is quite popular. and there is a waiting list. This is my first Sony full frame, and I have spent the interval learning the system and setting the camera up. (I also got a Zeiss Batis 18mm, amazing lens) First impressions: I would not classify this kit as lightweight, but it is substantially lighter than anything else similar capability. Image quality is simply awesome, in FF or crop mode. I suspect most birders will use the crop mode more than the FF mode, particularly for small and/or distant birds.The lens becomes a 300-900 in APS-C mode (Called super 35mm here). First order of business is to assign this to a custom button. Cropability of the images is also eye-popping. Resolution is reach, and this oozes resolution. Image stabilization is amazing, I can't hold this rig all that steady, and yet it is tack sharp at relatively low shutter speeds. I haven't started playing with the three modes on the lens yet. So far I am using silent shooting for everything but BIF. Works great, but there is a risk of shutter roll with the tracking focus, hence regular shuttering for BIF. I am using hi-speed shooting mode (10fps, but am thinking about slowing it down except for BIF.) Auto Focus is also highly capable. As a start, I am using DMF with center mode for perched birds, or birds in clutter (often the same). Also have a set up with C-AF and Expand Flex spot. For BIF I am using C-AF with wide focus area, so far in limited action grabs right onto the bird Rear focus button is your friend; use it, and disable the shutter release focus. I also have an Olympus ee-1 red-dot sight for BIF, where has this been all my life?? Makes tracking BIF so much easier. (Note to Sony, build something like this into the view screen, make it assignable to a custom button, or just make it standard above 200-300 mm or so.) As for the infamous menu system, it is really a reflection of the extremely customizable nature of the camera. You aren't really going to use most of it, but you need to know what it all does. It is fairly easy to assign the settings you actually need in the field to the custom buttons, dials, fn menu and the "my menu" slot in the top menu row. I also recommend backing settings up to both the in-camera card(s) and to another (old) card that you carry in your bag. And copy them to your computer as well. And as you set the camera up, keep a chart on what you did, and keep that on your phone. (Note to Sony: you should have an option in the camera to offload something like this as a PDF) (Additional note to Sony: you should provide an option to make ANY setting a favorite from the setting itself. The process of going to the "my menu" section and using an add function is not only cumbersome, but impeded by the fact that the add function uses a different numbering system than the actual menu tree). Couple of random notes about the lens: The tripod foot is not Arca-compatible, you might want to get a third-party one. Look for one that will allow it to mount to the tripod without removing any carrying strap attachment. (Note to Sony: ????!!?). I got a set of camo lens-coats, the lens is pretty white to point at birds. Also, you should buy some lens caps with built in leashes. You can attach the leash to the tag on the lens coat section that covers the hood, using a couple of small cable ties. (be sure that said tag points toward the ground with when locked into place). The leash will reach the lens with the hood in either position, and keeps the cap always at hand. Couple of random notes about the camera. The FF files are very large, a reason to use the crop mode if you are going to crop the photos at least the much anyway. I am recording compressed RAW plus JPEG, given the size of the RAW files, having the JPEGS speeds up workflow considerably. Best advice seems to be that unimpressed RAW is only better for night shooting and astrophotography. Setting can be put into one of the easy to reach places if you want to switch it, for birding it seems superfluous. High capacity UHS-2 cards are NOT an option, unless you like watching your buffer write. The ergonomics of the camera are really excellent (I am average size, wear a mens large glove). It feels great in the hand, and the buttons are well-placed and easy to ID by touch. So, basically happy with it so far, will post some more when I have used it awhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Best wildlife lens!

SEL200600G 19/11/2019 by sky67ro (Canada)

The only lens out there that combines amazing image quality and handling. Did I mention the price? Price is pretty good too. I love the most the fact that its zoom is all internal. very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Focus issues

SEL200600G 04/11/2019 by Imastarkidder (USA)

I was so excited to finally receive this lens after waiting a month. Unfortunately, the lens I received hunts focus and when it does focus, as soon as I press the shutter to snap the photo, the lens loses focus and the image comes out blurry. At some focal lengths it doesn't do this but the longer lengths it does it most of the time. I found myself either having to use the focus hold button on every shot or just using manual focus. The images that are in focus are very good, but I think I got a defective lens and am returning it to the seller. Very disappointing. I researched and can't find any other related issues on the internet. All reviews rave about how fast and accurate the lens focuses. I will try again after they have been in production longer and hopefully any problems have been resolved. Love my other Sony lenses and AR7IV!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

10

0

Superb lens.Exceeds all expectations.

SEL200600G 23/10/2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

Exceeds all expectations.I have been using the lens with the latest Sony A7RIV and the resulting are simply stunning.The photos that i have included are all very highly cropped j pegs fine.The details are simply remarkeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Remarkably good lens.

SEL200600G 19/10/2019 by JAWJR (USA)

Sony sent me several lenses to test, along with the A7RIII and A9 bodies. The 200-600 was/is the make-or-break lens in my decision to switch from Canon to Sony (which I am doing based on these tests). I currently shoot the Canon 5Dsr and 5DmkIV, and my go-to long lens is the 500 f4 L v1. So the bar was set pretty high for the Sony 200-600. It cleared it nicely. Throughout its zoom range, the 200-600 is critically sharp, even wide open, delivering images that scream, "Great glass!" at 1:1 on my monitor. Some of that may be due to the excellent sensor in the A7RIII, but that doesn't matter to me because I use a system, not single components. The internal zooming is extremely smooth and makes for a consistently well-balanced kit. The AF and IS are both great, yielding fast, accurate focusing and steady, shake-free images. And, it's light, about 5lbs lighter than my Canon 500mm. This means I'll carry the Sony to more, and more remote, places where I'll get that 600mm reach. This is the lens I've been dreaming about for years, and Sony has really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Appreciable lens for appreciable price

SEL200600G 17/10/2019 by ArielP (USA)

I was looking for the 400mm 2.8 or the 600mm f4 but found out that it is a pre ordered thing. Bought this lens in Singapore instead 4 days ago but was hesitant that it will satisfy me...and it did after taking some photos to a nearby bird park.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Well balanced, short throw zooming beauty!

SEL200600G 12/10/2019 by Kwitty (USA)

I recently switched Canon to Sony and was attracted to the 200-600 zoom that Sony offered and I primarily shoot wildlife, small birds and birds in flight. This lens compared to other brands of zooms I have owned is a superior in sharpness wide open and fast to focus and does not vary in length when zoomed. Zoom ring is a short throw design and can easily be thumb rotated. Stabilization is impressive too! All good on this one with color and sharpness and pinpoint focus accuracy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

incredible hand held performance for a super tele

SEL200600G 09/10/2019 by mackle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

have shot this for a little over a month. using with a7r4 and a9. everything that is advertised and more. couldn't be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Versatile and Great Design, but Poor QC

SEL200600G 01/10/2019 by MightyDog (USA)

I had many telephoto lenses from Nikon and Canon, and now Sony. I just got rid of a 100-400mm in order to get this 200-600mm. This is what I was looking for so long because I take aviation pictures. I love its speed, picture quality, and mostly all, coverage. However, when I pulled it out of a box a few days ago, the lens (it was wrapped) was covered with dirt/particles and a couple of big particles were in the lens. One of particle is stuck to inside of the front of the lens and won't move. I'm extremely disappointed by Sony's quality control since the particle is very visible; Sony should review its manufacturing environment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

0

Impressive lens

SEL200600G 22/09/2019 by santa claus (United Kingdom)

Haven't used seriously yet but my initial test are very encouraging. Focussing is so much quicker than my previous lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

7

0

Excellent Lens

SEL200600G 12/09/2019 by Low country Frank (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and very happy with the lenses performance. Great pictures and the lens features are outstanding. It’s a little heavier than I’m used to but I am very happy with the overall package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05/09/2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

5

0

dust in the wind...

SEL200600G 01/09/2019 by PBon (Canada)

Ordered a brand new 200-600 from a shop in Canada. When i inspected the lens, i found dust spekc Inside the front element… This was my 1 Sony product as i was starting to change from Canon… This experience turned me off Sony product. The quality control for this lens seem's very poor..

8

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2019

Hi, PBon!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. To help you with this, we suggest visiting this link: https://www.sony.ca/en/electronics/support/articles/00028651. We will forward your feedback to the relevant department.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Follow up review

SEL200600G 29/08/2019 by Mxer1255kxx (USA)

The only option Sony would give me is to send the lens in for repair. I also found a second particle on the inside body of then lens. Barely a week old when the issue happened and just over 2 weeks since I got it. This is not how you handle customer service. Furthermore I will not send this lens in repair because the facility they want me to use severely damaged a 24-70 F2.8 GM lens of mine a few months ago. I love every other product including this lens until all these particles started showing up inside the lens. I will be returning this lens today and waiting who knows how long to find another when they become available. Big let down Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

15

0

Great at first, not so much now.

SEL200600G 25/08/2019 by Mxer1255kx (USA)

I had this lens about 1 week and was loving it. Then a giant spec of something appeared inside the lens on the front element. $2090 for a sealed lens that doesn’t extend and STILL gets a large piece of something inside the lens after less than a week. Very disappointed in the quality. None of my 4 other GM lenses or Zeiss lenses have anything inside and they were all used.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

12

0

Sony hit a home run with this lens.

SEL200600G 22/08/2019 by Ross G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Every since I changed over from my a-mount cameras to e-mount this is the lens that I have been waiting for. It has very fast AF and great sharpness. I am a wildlife photographer and this lens fits right in with my FE 100-400GM. I am using the 200-600G on my A9 and this is a killer combination. I will highly recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

0

Requires high ISO shooting, even in good light...

SEL200600G 19/08/2019 by johp (USA)

I appreciate many Sony's lenses, especially the GM lenses (of which I own all except the 100mm f/2.8 STF GM). I particularly love the 70-200 GM and the 100-400 GM lenses, so I was very excited to hear of the new 200-600 G lens that was getting so many positive reviews from Sony representatives... Unfortunately, my experience with the lens has been mixed. The slower aperture glass requires higher ISO shooting, so that, for example, even in full sun the A7R3 often requires ISO 1000+ when shooting wide open at 600mm at 1/500- 1/800 shutter speeds. I compared this result with my Nikon d850 using the 200-500 5.6 VR lens. I set the aperture of the Nikkor to 6.3 to match the Sony lens and set the focal length to 500mm and was able to shoot 1/500 at ISO 320 with no problems. The image stabilization of the 200-500 is actually far better than the OIS of the Sony lens, too, so I could actually bring the ISO down to 100 and handhold the lens at 1/100 (and even lower!) with no image quality loss. With the Sony lens, on the other hand, the shutter speed must be quite high to compensate for lens shake at longer focal lengths (even when using IBIS and with the lens' Optical Steady Shot set to on). The upshot here is that the Sony lens requires higher ISO shooting, resulting in noisier images that will require post-processing to clean up. It's too bad Sony didn't take a page from Nikon on this lens. I would have preferred a constant aperture f5.6 lens even at the expense of the extra 100mm on the long end instead of a lens that stops down to f6.3 at 300mm or greater... I realize there are design and engineering trade-offs, of course, and that Sony made some compromises to keep costs down. Unfortunately for me, and probably for other photographers, the slower glass combined with higher ISO requirements will present challenges in all but the most well lit situations. On the positive side, however, the lens is well balanced and when you nail focus and don't have any lens shake, the image quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

25

0

Ease of operation!

SEL200600G 17/08/2019 by Spontin (USA)

I replaced my GM 100-400 with this lens. Might be a lesser quality image, but it is so much more fun to use this lens. Smooth, modern zooming process (internal lens zooming), sharp and just a pleasure to use!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Finally a long zoom for Sony!

SEL200600G 16/08/2019 by BillyS (USA)

This lens just came out, and I have just had it a few days, but I am so excited to review it! I am coming from the Sigma 150-600c with the MC-11 converter, which worked well, but was very slow to focus, and missed focus much of the time. As a wildlife shooter this meant many lost moments. I love Sony cameras, but was jealous of friends that had fast focusing lenses at over 400mm. I am using the 200-600 on my a6500, and it is night and day! The autofocus speed feels just as fast as my Sony 24-240 lens, which is to say, really fast. It is also silent, I can't believe it can move that much glass so fast without making a noise! I didn't know what to expect out of the all internal zoom, but it improves balance over the Sigma noticeably. The lens also feels lighter than the Sigma, even though it is spec'd a bit heavier. I was pleased with the Sigma's image quality, but this is another level. Sony hit it out of the park with this one! I've been wanting a Sony native extreme tele zoom for years, and couldn't be happier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

4

0

Disappointed

SEL200600G 12/08/2019  (USA)

Pre ordered this lens without reservation as all my previous Sony lens are great products and far exceed third party lenses. This lens "hunts" to focus and even in bright daylight requires a very high ISO. Even higher the my 100-400 with 1.4 extender. Would not recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

42