FE 20 MM F1.8 G

Product Reviews

$1,199.99

17

4.9 based on 17 customer reviews

16
0
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

17 Customer Reviews

0

Best landscape astrophotography lens made

SEL20F18G 03/02/2021 by _dan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

tack sharp, lightweight, image quality is crazy good couldn't ask for more for my use(astrophotography)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excelent glass

SEL20F18G 30/01/2021 by SR_S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The combination of FOV and aperture is an excellent choice for landscape photography. Combined with 7S series, it creates magical night sky sceneries.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens!

SEL20F18G 08/01/2021 by WarGriff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wildlife shooter looking to branch out to other forms of photography. After much research I went with this lens and so far I'm really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality!

SEL20F18G 12/12/2020 by kkygeek (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for street photography, landscape and night shots. Excellent picture quality and bokeh, easy to use and size is just perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Sharp But Maybe Expensive?

SEL20F18G 10/12/2020 by ItchyPong (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp not too big for a full frame lens but it is quite pricey. Maybe the 16-35mm f2.8 G would be a better option if you don't need the f1.8 and want more for you money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL20F18G 23/11/2020 by DFresh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 20mm F1.8 is a must to have! I love it! One of my favorite lenses so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fantastic for a G-series lens.

SEL20F18G 05/09/2020 by OrceO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month and and am so happy I did. It's sharp and has excellent color.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Who needs a G Master

SEL20F18G 27/08/2020 by supertaf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this lens only a short time but I am very impressed with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. I have not really used wide angled lens in the past as I tend to shoot wildlife but had nothing to shoot wide vistas hence the purchase. This is a stunning lens for the price and am glad that I did not buy the 24mm f1.4 GM as I feel I am getting 95% of that lens and saving several hundred pounds. Unless you are absolute pixel peeper the 20mm F1.8 is a must have for your photos. I should also say that it is ridiculously light and compact so it makes a good travel lens as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great, but....

SEL20F18G 26/08/2020 by Cix1 (USA)

HI, i bought the lens for my camera. The only problem with this is that the inside of the lens shakes back and forth, so is this a manufacturing problem, or is this just a feature in the lens?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

13

0

incredible resolution and focus

SEL20F18G 27/07/2020 by mapy1 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with this lens. It is very light, takes super sharp photos even wide open, and has a very fast focusing with my a7III. I love the aperture ring - so easy to use, with a helpful de-clicking switch for smooth and silent video use. It is a little hard to see how this lens wasn't graded as a GM lens - it certainly benefits from lots of GM type features, and it is really brilliant value for its quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Clearly an Amazing Lens - Street, Astro, Landscape

SEL20F18G 01/07/2020 by alma175w (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a special little lens. I'm sure "little" will be in every review, but it is so strikingly compact, even sitting next to it's FE 24 F/1.4 GM sibling. It's just small! But, it really delivers, with focus speeds, sharp images edge to edge, incredible corners, especially for stars, and just a unique rendering quality. I really like this lens a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL20F18G 23/05/2020 by Mr Marvo (United Kingdom)

Got this lens only a few days ago, and although the coronavirus lock down means that subjects are very limited, I can tell that this is going to be a fantastic addition to the Sony lens range for the A7 Mk 2

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

Wide, light and fast!

SEL20F18G 21/05/2020 by Las Cruces Photography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the widest prime lens released so far by Sony. At f1.8 it can almost shoot in the dark. Autofocus is immediate. Close focusing is near-macro. It weighs less than a pound, so hand holding at slow shutter speeds is not a problem. Add to those features a very affordable price and you’ve got a Sony full frame prime lens worth owning!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A really great lens

SEL20F18G 28/03/2020 by Terry Dover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has been building its inventory of lenses for E-Mount cameras. We can now say that Sony has arrived with this lens. So... if you purchase an E-Mount, you should have what you need to shoot great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL20F18G 24/03/2020 by Alstomping (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens for a couple of weeks and have fallen in love with it Very high quality - small and light - amazing sharpness,corner to corner - I also really like this focal length - no real distortion I can see . Great features - love the clickable aperture,and manual focus switch. I think it is/will be a classic lens ! Highly Recommended !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sony crushed it!

SEL20F18G 13/03/2020  (USA)

This lens is pretty much a G master. It’s not just super sharp with low distortion, it portrays the essence of the subject so well. It really brings the scene to life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Another WINNER!

SEL20F18G 10/03/2020 by SamS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been shooting the 24mm F1.4 GM for few months and extremely impressed with the results this lens produces. however, I would prefer wider prime native lens, hence, the new 20mm F1.8 G. I bought this newly released 20mm F1.8 with the hopes that it will be my go to everyday lens; I have a feeling that it will be. This is by no means a full review but I wanted to see how it performs in close up situations so I snapped couple shots in my backyard; it certainly holds up to the hype. I'll be taking it out in the next couple of days to do some landscapes testing at Joshua Tree National Park (day & Astro tests). I have to say that Sony did it again, they delivered a "Tiny-but-Mighty" master piece with small size, light weight, silent autofocus, aperture ring, and super sharp just to mention few great features. Yes, it is expensive but worth every penny for me as I can travel much lighter going forward. Technical values for both shots taken with A7R-IV in RAW straight out of camera. The only thing I did is square crop them both then export from LR as small JPGs : The Rose: F/1.8 1/500 ISO 125 The Watch: F/5.6 1/100 ISO 125

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0