FE 20 MM F1.8 G

Product Reviews

$1,199.99

36

4.7 based on 36 customer reviews

31
2
2
0
1
Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

36 Customer Reviews

0

Wonderful lens

SEL20F18G 19/03/2022 by Harstoner (United Kingdom)

This surprisingly light and well-balanced lens feels great on my A7R4A. Picture quality is as good as I have seen with razor-sharp acuity and excellent contrast. Definitely one of the best lenses I have ever used and it is now a staple in my camera bag.

0

0

0

Great for both photo & video

SEL20F18G 28/02/2022 by JustJus (United Kingdom)

This a great lens for my use case. It produces fantastic sharp images but is also great for video in addition if you want to use your mirrorless camera as a web cam the field of view is spot on.

0

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL20F18G 07/02/2022 by S Kelty63 (United Kingdom)

Only had this lens a very short time but the results I've seen are outstanding, really well balanced on A7 body, love the aperture ring focus hold and focus switch looking forward to using it.

0

0

0

Wow. GMaster class for a fraction of the price.

SEL20F18G 19/01/2022 by Kevastley25 (United Kingdom)

A must in every ca era bag. Sharp, light and rugged build. Sony quality stamped all over it.

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
21/01/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your SEL20F18G and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Great results

SEL20F18G 19/01/2022 by Standonman (United Kingdom)

This was a Christmas present to add to my collection of lenses. The results have been very good indeed. The lens is well made and up to G Master standard.

1

0

0

Excellent wide angle lens

SEL20F18G 07/01/2022 by HK852 (USA)

I've been using this wide angle lens for a little over a month. Sharp images and its also great for astrophotography! I love this lens and glad that I bought it.

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL20F18G 23/12/2021 by Seeky59 (United Kingdom)

Fabulous lens, edge to edge sharpness, virtually no distortion, excellent bokeh and lightweight. I use it in DMF mode on A7 iv for ultimate focus for all subjects. A joy to use.

1

0

0

Sharp sharp!!

SEL20F18G 29/10/2021 by PeteNick (USA)

Super sharp lens, great focal length, well built with all the manual controls.

1

0

0

A versatile, sharp lens

SEL20F18G 16/10/2021 by BruceNE (United Kingdom)

The Sony 20mm f1.8 G is a versatile lens: great for landscape, astrophotography and architecture. It's incredibly sharp, compact and relatively light.

7

0

0

Blown away by the quality

SEL20F18G 16/10/2021 by Greg C (Canada)

This lens is incredibly sharp. I really didn't expect it from a wide angle G series. The sharpness is such that it totally justifies getting an A7Rxx camera. The build quality is also great, it's very pleasant to the touch and it looks very solid, yet it's relatively lightweight.

0

0

0

Too Sharp !

SEL20F18G 28/09/2021 by Hammyuk (United Kingdom)

This lens is often too sharp , i chose this lens for an all round wide angle landscape lens that was also perfect for astronomy, its light / compact / very high build quality. I personally think it should be priced more in the £825 range due to it no boing a GM lens.

0

1

Response From Sony support team
30/09/2021

Hi HammyUK,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Sharp image

SEL20F18G 25/09/2021 by SURINDER (United Kingdom)

This is my favourite lens on a gimbal the image is much superior. Really impressed. Sharpness and autofocus is amazing

0

0

0

GM20 1.8 Review

SEL20F18G 13/09/2021 by LDUNN1 (United Kingdom)

A bit of background: I was on the Canon Eos system for 3 decades prior to buying my first Sony (A7R3) at the end of 2017. I have used adapted Eos lenses using the Metabones & Sigma MC11 adapters. I also adapt a wide range of old 'classic' lenses to the Sony camera too. I only bought one Sony native lens, GM85, when I bought the A7R3 as I wanted to have one native lens so I can better judge the camera by & compare to my adapted lenses, I went for the GM85 because its a portrait lens & the A7R3 has eye AF - it would be rude not to have gone for a portrait lens! At the end of 2019 I added the G200-600, which was on a 'double sale'. At the very end of 2020 I added the GM24 having deliberated for a long time between it & the 20 1.8. A focal length of 24mm on full frame/35mm film has always been a strong preference for me photographically, so it got the nod over the 20mm, I purchased when it was also on a 'double sale'. I am biased toward Landscape type of photography, but shoot a bit of everything. I tell you the above to help frame my following comments about the 20mm. Why did I get the 20mm when i had the 24mm? Well, I think there were three 'drivers' for me. I added an A7S3 in the first half of 2021 (separate story), & amongst other things, used it for a vlogging camera when I was out shooting, I obviously used the GM24 for this, but it felt a little too tight when at arms length, especially when using image stablisation which crops in a little. Second, I've also shot the night sky alot over the past decade, with motorised telescopes & cooled mono CCD's etc - full astro imaging rigs. These are computer controlled & once setup & going I then leave them running all night & then get out camera & wide angle lens to shoot nightscapes, both the 20 & 24 are good for this, but the 20 gives a more sky, so arguably is the better option. Thirdly & finally, the G20/1.8 was on a double sale for a few weeks in the summer of 2021 - that was the tipping point for me in a 'now or never' kind of way. The G20/1.8 is perfect on the A7S3 for a vlogging lens, its quite light & a little more compact than the GM24. I also see that I will use it for hiking - both for vlogging the trip & also doubling up as a light weight wide angle landscape lens, & if/when those hikes include an overnight camp, then for nightscape/astro use too. If I am not vlogging, or not needing to hike light, then I would probably take the GM24 as it would be my preference for landscape use. Both a great lenses optically I think, the GM24 does feel slightly better in the hand, more solid/substantial, but the G20 being lighter & feeling 'less solid' as a result is both a pro & a con. Just waiting for the Sony 14/1.8 to be on double sale now ;-)

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL20F18G 10/07/2021 by Gabriel010357 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the lens. Excellent results. Very simple handling and incomparable quality.

0

0

0

Sharp!

SEL20F18G 10/07/2021 by Kev239 (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with this lens. Takes very sharp images and perfect for landscape work. Highly recommended.

0

0

0

sony 20mm f1.8 waste of money

SEL20F18G 19/04/2021 by Ram101 (United Kingdom)

expensive lens, its actually quite bulky on A7R IV with lens hood. Quality is ok for a lens costing 950 pounds. I have seen fantastic quality from other lenses such as Voigtlander, leica. This lens is not in their league.

0

15

Response From Customer Support
26/04/2021

Hi Ram101,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the lens, and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony Support UK

0

Sony - FE 20mm F1.8 G

SEL20F18G 07/04/2021 by TMAK333333 (United Kingdom)

Not had this long but i am impressed . Very well put together and very light.

0

0

0

Defect?

SEL20F18G 17/03/2021 by TimW25 (USA)

I just took delivery of this lens and have not used it yet so I cannot verify performance. But I am questioning the construction. When I hold the lens horizontally and gently rock it back and forth, I can feel a weight shift from end to end stopping with a gentle thud on each end. It is hard to tell but the distance of travel could be a cm or so. The construction does not feel tight; all my other Sony lenses over the year (about 8) have all felt rock solid. Is this lens defective? I will test out the optics and focus performance this weekend.

1

9

0

Good equipment

SEL20F18G 12/03/2021 by Lifestylemaddie (United Kingdom)

I recommend to anyone who already has a base as a camera, it is enough to buy a lens

0

0

0

Best landscape astrophotography lens made

SEL20F18G 03/02/2021 by _dan (United Kingdom)

tack sharp, lightweight, image quality is crazy good couldn't ask for more for my use(astrophotography)

6

0

0

Excelent glass

SEL20F18G 30/01/2021 by SR_S (United Kingdom)

The combination of FOV and aperture is an excellent choice for landscape photography. Combined with 7S series, it creates magical night sky sceneries.

0

0

0

Awesome lens!

SEL20F18G 08/01/2021 by WarGriff (USA)

Wildlife shooter looking to branch out to other forms of photography. After much research I went with this lens and so far I'm really pleased with it.

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality!

SEL20F18G 12/12/2020 by kkygeek (Canada)

Bought this for street photography, landscape and night shots. Excellent picture quality and bokeh, easy to use and size is just perfect.

0

0

0

Very Sharp But Maybe Expensive?

SEL20F18G 10/12/2020 by ItchyPong (United Kingdom)

Very sharp not too big for a full frame lens but it is quite pricey. Maybe the 16-35mm f2.8 G would be a better option if you don't need the f1.8 and want more for you money.

1

1

0

Excellent Lens

SEL20F18G 23/11/2020 by DFresh (USA)

The 20mm F1.8 is a must to have! I love it! One of my favorite lenses so far.

1

0

0

fantastic for a G-series lens.

SEL20F18G 05/09/2020 by OrceO (USA)

I bought this lens about a month and and am so happy I did. It's sharp and has excellent color.

3

0

0

Who needs a G Master

SEL20F18G 27/08/2020 by supertaf (United Kingdom)

Have had this lens only a short time but I am very impressed with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. I have not really used wide angled lens in the past as I tend to shoot wildlife but had nothing to shoot wide vistas hence the purchase. This is a stunning lens for the price and am glad that I did not buy the 24mm f1.4 GM as I feel I am getting 95% of that lens and saving several hundred pounds. Unless you are absolute pixel peeper the 20mm F1.8 is a must have for your photos. I should also say that it is ridiculously light and compact so it makes a good travel lens as well.

8

0

0

great, but....

SEL20F18G 26/08/2020 by Cix1 (USA)

HI, i bought the lens for my camera. The only problem with this is that the inside of the lens shakes back and forth, so is this a manufacturing problem, or is this just a feature in the lens?

1

21

0

incredible resolution and focus

SEL20F18G 27/07/2020 by mapy1 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with this lens. It is very light, takes super sharp photos even wide open, and has a very fast focusing with my a7III. I love the aperture ring - so easy to use, with a helpful de-clicking switch for smooth and silent video use. It is a little hard to see how this lens wasn't graded as a GM lens - it certainly benefits from lots of GM type features, and it is really brilliant value for its quality

6

0

0

Clearly an Amazing Lens - Street, Astro, Landscape

SEL20F18G 01/07/2020 by alma175w (USA)

This is a special little lens. I'm sure "little" will be in every review, but it is so strikingly compact, even sitting next to it's FE 24 F/1.4 GM sibling. It's just small! But, it really delivers, with focus speeds, sharp images edge to edge, incredible corners, especially for stars, and just a unique rendering quality. I really like this lens a lot.

12

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL20F18G 23/05/2020 by Mr Marvo (United Kingdom)

Got this lens only a few days ago, and although the coronavirus lock down means that subjects are very limited, I can tell that this is going to be a fantastic addition to the Sony lens range for the A7 Mk 2

9

3

0

Wide, light and fast!

SEL20F18G 21/05/2020 by Las Cruces Photography (USA)

This is the widest prime lens released so far by Sony. At f1.8 it can almost shoot in the dark. Autofocus is immediate. Close focusing is near-macro. It weighs less than a pound, so hand holding at slow shutter speeds is not a problem. Add to those features a very affordable price and you’ve got a Sony full frame prime lens worth owning!

5

1

0

A really great lens

SEL20F18G 28/03/2020 by Terry Dover (USA)

Sony has been building its inventory of lenses for E-Mount cameras. We can now say that Sony has arrived with this lens. So... if you purchase an E-Mount, you should have what you need to shoot great photos.

7

2

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL20F18G 24/03/2020 by Alstomping (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a couple of weeks and have fallen in love with it Very high quality - small and light - amazing sharpness,corner to corner - I also really like this focal length - no real distortion I can see . Great features - love the clickable aperture,and manual focus switch. I think it is/will be a classic lens ! Highly Recommended !!

14

0

0

Sony crushed it!

SEL20F18G 13/03/2020  (USA)

This lens is pretty much a G master. It’s not just super sharp with low distortion, it portrays the essence of the subject so well. It really brings the scene to life.

11

3

Response From Sony Social Support
14/03/2020

@Rejected Mike Free, Awesome! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Another WINNER!

SEL20F18G 10/03/2020 by SamS1 (USA)

I've been shooting the 24mm F1.4 GM for few months and extremely impressed with the results this lens produces. however, I would prefer wider prime native lens, hence, the new 20mm F1.8 G. I bought this newly released 20mm F1.8 with the hopes that it will be my go to everyday lens; I have a feeling that it will be. This is by no means a full review but I wanted to see how it performs in close up situations so I snapped couple shots in my backyard; it certainly holds up to the hype. I'll be taking it out in the next couple of days to do some landscapes testing at Joshua Tree National Park (day & Astro tests). I have to say that Sony did it again, they delivered a "Tiny-but-Mighty" master piece with small size, light weight, silent autofocus, aperture ring, and super sharp just to mention few great features. Yes, it is expensive but worth every penny for me as I can travel much lighter going forward. Technical values for both shots taken with A7R-IV in RAW straight out of camera. The only thing I did is square crop them both then export from LR as small JPGs : The Rose: F/1.8 1/500 ISO 125 The Watch: F/5.6 1/100 ISO 125

17

0