23

4.4 based on 23 customer reviews

15
5
1
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

23 Customer Reviews

0

Performs very well

SEL24105G 29/04/2018 by JohnED (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focussing performance much better than the A711 kit lens and the increased zoom range is useful. I have not found the additional weight to be an issue. Images are very sharp with good colour balance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best walk around lens I have every owned.

SEL24105G 27/04/2018 by svcace (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recent trip to the big island of Hawaii was a thrill for me using this wonderful lens. The shot of Akaka Falls was one of my favorites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great images

SEL24105G 26/04/2018 by Herr Flick A700 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this lens to go with my new A7iii, a great match, great images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Produces sharp pictures

SEL24105G 26/04/2018 by Cropper 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good general use Lens which is light enough to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice handling And Pics.

SEL24105G 25/04/2018 by jazthedj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

6 days in and I like what I see. I love the size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful Lens.

SEL24105G 16/04/2018 by Lightening (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought this lens recently but have been using almost daily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic All Around & Travel Lens

SEL24105G 06/04/2018 by MCB99 (USA)

Fantastic all around & travel lens. For this category of lens the sharpness is great, the motor is quiet, it focuses quickly, the build quality is solid, the focus and zoom rings work flawlessly, there's neither noticeable focus breathing nor lens creep. AND...Eye AF works awesome. People don't know how to read the manual to set it up (Custom Button Functions) and thus think it doesn't work or is not compatible. Great Job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Popular addition to FE range

SEL24105G 06/04/2018 by bazookas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perhaps a bit bulkier than equivalent lenses for crop-sensor cameras but Sony has tried to keep weight down and it takes superb pin-sharp pictures. A welcome addition to FE range

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No Eye Detection Function

SEL24105G 19/03/2018 by Josefo (USA)

Surprised about buying a brand new lens with certain features missing. No way to find out from Sony website that I could find to see its deleted functions when compared to the GM line; I could have gone GM if I would have known. This is not a total game changer to send the lens back. Otherwise it performs well with an ideal zoom range, size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

20

0

FE24-105 F4

SEL24105G 15/03/2018 by Mike 61102 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Seem to work ok-would have like a little more range for the weight

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

I have waited a long time for this lens

SEL24105G 10/03/2018 by Stanspur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 24-105 mm lens was always my every day lens when I was using Minolta cameras. I have had the equivalent for the Sony 6000 and 6500 for some time but the lack of the full frame version was a problem. I purchased the 27-70 CZ lens as a stop gap but was never really happy with it. Now I am very happy this lens is just what I wanted and the performance is superb, I have just spent two weeks in Burma (Myanmar) where 80% of my photos were taken with this lens. I am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Auto focus problem

SEL24105G 02/03/2018 by Borat (USA)

Send my for repair under waranty .Call Sony than was sent to Phototech for repairs (((

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

4

0

Initially dissapointed

SEL24105G 15/02/2018 by dscobie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens is defective with an acknowledged problem affecting a significant number of these lenses (focussing using the AF-S mode under certain conditions). I was able to use in AF-C and it was fantastic. Currently it is away being repaired. I'm sure it will come back soon and all will be well but until then.......

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Best travel lens for FF E Mount

SEL24105G 08/02/2018 by Dhina (United Kingdom)

I waited so long for this 24-105mm zoom. I was using other brand 24-105mm with 3 different adapters but had low light AF issues and doesn't work consistently. Having a lightweight native lens and with better performance is just awesome. Also the smooth bokeh rendering at f4 feels like f2.8. Love this lens. Well worth the wait and money for me. FYI I'm a hobbyist and not a pro.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

2

0

The Best Zoom Lens Available....

SEL24105G 30/01/2018 by Vanderwar (USA)

This lens is, as most photographers know, an incredibly useful focal range, but not only is it extremely useful in that regard... this lens is SHARP. The color rendition combined with my A7R-iii is simply stunning and there is simply no issues with chromatic abborations even in the most harsh environments while testing, even with dark subjects against a snow background in mid day sun at all focal lengths. It is tack sharp at 24mm, and the same at 105mm, and has truly caused me to pull out my primes less often than normal which is extremely unusual for me. I much prefer this lens to the 24-70mm GM, and in my testing it is as sharp as most of my primes at many focal lengths, and in some cases much sharper. An obvious advantage to primes however is their shallow depth of field, especially for portraits and low light, however F/4 combined with the capabilities of the A7R-iii body is more than enough to get stunning photographs even in low light venues and during weddings and events. This lens has become the true "jack knife" of lenses for me, and I have since sold my 24-70mm GM , IMO this lens is simply superior and almost half of the price. As far as color rendering goes compared to the 24-70mm GM, It out performs the GM also, and has much better Micro Contrast. At 24mm there's very little barrel distortion for a lens of this calibur, or any 24mm lens for that matter, making it my go to for a lot of my landscape shooting, and all around I could not be more impressed with the image quality of this lens. As for the build quality, it's truly impressive as well, and includes all of the features that I have come to expect and love from Sony Glass. This lens is 100% what you would expect as a professional photographer in need of professional tools to get the job done well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Love this lens. Period.

SEL24105G 27/01/2018 by Allimac (USA)

I shoot a lot in back country - skiing, biking etc. - and the size and weight of this lens together with the a7RIII is just perfect. The quality is excellent aswell. This setuo is going to be my favorite light weight setup for shooting in remote locations.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

0

Well built quality lens with useful range

SEL24105G 16/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this just over a week but the early signs are that it is meeting my expectations. I bought it to replace the Zeiss 24-70 F4 lens because I wanted a higher quality lens with a longer reach. From my time with it so far the quality is excellent (images and lens build) and better than its predecessor (although that wasn't a bad lens by any means). Also the switches for AF/MF, image stabilization are a very useful upgrade. Downsides - well it is bigger and heavier but overall I'm glad I changed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

4

0

Not bad, not very good

SEL24105G 10/01/2018 by ozturert (USA)

Absolutely better than the Zeiss 24-70mm f4 OSS, especially to the edges. My problem is this: I use this lens with NEX7 and A6300 and at 24mm the edges and corners are not very good up to f8. Even with an APSC sensor, 24mm is not usable up to f8? Really? Better at 35mm, 50mm and surprisingly at 105mm. In fact, my copy is really good at f5.6 and 105mm. I also have a Canon 24-70mm f4 L IS and it is much better at f4 at all focal lengths even with a Metabones adapter. I also get some false positives in AF with A6300 (Nex7 has no problem). Is it due to phase detection AF? Don't know but this is real. Also the OSS is not as efficient as I expected. Maybe it'd be better with sync-OSS. Now I sold A6300 and will give this lens one more chance with some A7 body.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

21

0

My first lens

SEL24105G 01/01/2018  (USA)

This lens is so great design. A picture is very smoothly.a cost is very very good . And I bought this lens like I bought three lens . 3 in 1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Great Walk Around Lens

SEL24105G 26/12/2017 by PeteC21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the focal range of the 24-105G and it's a perfect walk around lens! It has great IQ, is well built, and light weight. It is mounted on my a7Rii and is the center peice along with the FE 70-300G and Sony Carl Zeiss 55.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Fantastic pro grade lens

SEL24105G 23/12/2017 by hidaven (USA)

Amazingly sharp from f4 on. Color and IQ are great, slight CA but managable. Lens does it all from wide to tele. Good bokeh and again super sharp at ff at ALL focal lengths.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Lense

SEL24105G 01/12/2017  (USA)

I'm really impressed !! This is a great lense, Super sharp from corner to corner all the way from 24 to 105 mm. Very smooth, quite and very resposive. Super fast focusing. I'm amazed with the quality this lense produces.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

11

0

Very sharp photos and lovely colours!

SEL24105G 19/11/2017 by hkhawaii (USA)

I bought this lens last week and have been happy with its performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5