FE 24-70 mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

$2,899.99

88

4.6 based on 88 customer reviews

67
14
2
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

93 Customer Reviews

0

Amazingly Sharp

SEL2470GM 09/11/2019 by Daniel957 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens before having a full frame camera, but thinking that I would replace my APS-C one as soon a as I could. Finally, I bought a 7RM4, and tried the lease in both cameras. I was surprised by the resolution extent given in my AOS-c, and completely astonished, when I used it on my 7RM4. The only cons I find is its weight and size. Anyway, they are justified once you see the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Tack sharp!

SEL2470GM 05/11/2019 by Charlie679 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased the Sony alpha 7 R iii and the G series 24-70 zoom and this camera and lens combination has made a believer out of me for full-frame mirrorless platform. Hoping to switch completely to G-series lenses and the Sony platform.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic quality, very sharp

SEL2470GM 25/10/2019 by Chick49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced an older lens. The Sony is much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL2470GM 25/10/2019 by jon01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is one of the best lenses i have had in all my years as a Photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

SEL2470GM 07/10/2019 by mdee1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Solid feel to the lens. Easy to use. Good quality in terms of sharpness. Quick to focus when used with Sony A7r iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quick AF. Sharp. Set the button for eye focus.

SEL2470GM 25/09/2019 by Tredtog72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this product. Really pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rubber Band used for Zoom feature

SEL2470GM 18/09/2019 by Emmapt11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Rubber band for Zoom feature is now loose. Not acceptable for a supposedly top Quality lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very sharp, very heavy

SEL2470GM 12/08/2019 by kmcmurtrie (USA)

I've been getting pixel sharp and clean photos with this lens even in difficult lighting. Autofocus is fast and quiet. I don't have any battery drain issues with stabilization. The front glass cleans with little effort and so far I haven't seen any dust inside. The significant downside is that this is a HEAVY lens. It's about at the limit of what you can carry in one hand and it needs two hands for shooting. There's a customizable "focus hold" button between the turning rings that can't be relied on. You can hold it down accidentally in portrait mode but then can't reach it in landscape mode. It's probably best to set the camera to automatically switch to MF when the focus ring is turned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Smooth, sharp, sexy.

SEL2470GM 29/07/2019 by Raychel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FE 24-70 F2.8 GM, with the unmistakeable, polished red square on the side. The focus? Tack sharp, see below. You can see the peach fuzz on the face of your subject. The manual focusing ring glides with your intentional touch, but stays in place for the natural movements of your breathing. The pearl finish on the body of the lens is low-profile and pairs with the Alpha line like steak and red wine--it's sexy, it's refined, it's Alpha. The 24-70 GM is for those who do not sacrifice quality while being unable to decide between having a wide-angle or a telephoto lens--it is the lens you take when you don't know what you'll need. The 24-70 mm is for those who want to thrive in chaos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Crisp and responsive and well balanced.

SEL2470GM 04/07/2019 by NGphotog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works beautifully with my A7R3. Great crisp images and no distortion. Quiet and well balanced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Instills confidence

SEL2470GM 20/06/2019 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Great general use lens, when undecided on which prime lens to take or use. This lens is very sharp when stopped down to f5.6 - f8. Yes the lens is heavy, but instills confidence with high resolution and sharp images!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Beautifully built and very sharp

SEL2470GM 17/06/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s a heavy lens but the payoff is incredible sharpness throughout the whole focal length range. Paired with an A7R III, I am very happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL2470GM 11/06/2019 by Moods (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only used this lens for a few weeks but already I can appreciate the quality. It really is a very good lens. The picture quality is pin sharp, it is smooth and easy to use with rapid focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

24 - 70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 31/05/2019 by Camera17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Own this lens now for two weeks super quality, fast focus great around lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WHERE CAN BUY Lens Zoom Rubber Grip Ring

SEL2470GM 29/04/2019 by leonW (Canada)

hey,sony,where to buy the Lens Zoom Rubber Grip Ring For Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM ? used this 2 year,but the zoom rubber Grip ring is very loose now

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality but zoom rubber grip gone lose

SEL2470GM 29/04/2019 by K Hussain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its a Great lens for photo and video. Unfortunately the zoom rubber grip gone lose after 18 months i don’t have idea how and why

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Eyes Wide 0pen

SEL2470GM 24/03/2019 by Johho (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days, but so far, sharp impressive results.Glad I went for the 2.8, good low light performance and control over depth of field. X

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The 24-70mmG Master is a Classic!

SEL2470GM 05/03/2019 by Cadeyrn Drust (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After purchasing the A7 RIII on September 30 and shooting with 5 other native lenses (16-35mm/2.8 G Master, 24-105mm/4 G, 55mm/ 1.8, 35mm/1.4, and the 35mm/2.8 on both the A7 RIII and A7 RII, I made the decision to purchase the 24-70 G Master 2 weeks ago. On my first outing with the lens, I noticed how effortless it was to meter my compositions using my A7 RIII. The color was superlative...rich yet not oversaturated and natural...The sharpness was superb throughout all focal lengths...absolutely no vignetting...Although needless to say, but to report anyway, all the G Masters are built solidly and the weather sealing is immaculate ( and I'm speaking from prior experience of owning the 15-35mm/ 2.8 G Master)...There are no cutting corners or compromises in the build quality of any of these lenses...The Sony 24-70 G Master lens was not a work in progress...Sony pegged it with this one and no doubt it ranks among the absolute best, if not, the very best of all the 24-70mm Full Frame Lenses... Well worth the investment...Endorsed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

An All Round Good and Useful Lens

SEL2470GM 26/02/2019 by Loopy Lou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the lens that I turn most of the time. It does not let me down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic but very heavy

SEL2470GM 19/02/2019 by iza123hop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is very sharp and work perfect with Sony A7Rii. One minus is that the lens is very big to the body and to heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharpest Lens There Is:

SEL2470GM 09/02/2019  (USA)

Bought this for my A6000, and let me tell ya, it's almost too sharp. I know what everyone is thinking, can't take good pics with a A6000, but I'm telling you, is is fantastic. Now the bad part, no image stabilization, but you learn to adjust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional Quality

SEL2470GM 08/02/2019 by Toffeeman55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and have been delighted with the results so far. The build quality is excellent, and the focus ring and focal length ring both have a very reassuring feel to them with just the right amount of resistance. Image quality is superb. This is an expensive lens but you get real quality for your money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best standard zoom out there

SEL2470GM 08/02/2019 by Ct1983 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is fantastic, it is by far the best standard zoom lens I’ve used. The sharpness is edge to edge and is great for eventing, landscapes portraiture etc. The only thing Which would improve this lens is adding more focus hold buttons like I have on the 70-200 2.8 for when shooting in portrait orientation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp from the centre to the edges

SEL2470GM 07/02/2019 by Sebwa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp from the centre to the edges, working ok in +30C like -20C

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fanstastic lens

SEL2470GM 08/01/2019 by Johnwick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Apart from a bit heavy, this lens is amazingly sharp! Im happy with thw purchase, get youseld one now !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I have a (A7ii)

SEL2470GM 27/12/2018 by Donald M 1971 (USA)

All the photos I would love to show are to large for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great lens as expected

SEL2470GM 26/12/2018 by AusTexan05 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m used to shooting with prime lenses but understand the benefits of a variable zoom lens. I always heard how sharp the 24-70 G Master lens is and I was not disappointed. It is tack sharp, and the bokeh is really smooth. I have been very happy with the performance of the lens. One thing is it’s a hefty lens but that just affirms the build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing piece of equipment, a must have lens!

SEL2470GM 23/12/2018 by operator46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am incredibly happy with the product, its been with me every time I go out. Excellent lens, a must have piece for every street, landscape and travel photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

counrtyfile calendar competion

SEL2470GM 13/11/2018 by Black Bessie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I first brought the Sony A7R II. With the 70/200 F2.8 GM. Loved it so after a few months. I then went back and purchased Sony a9 . With 100/400 GM. And 24/70 F2.8GM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very slick

SEL2470GM 10/11/2018 by The Silverback (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First use on a photo shoot and the lens performed flawlessly and was simple to use. Moving from a Leica M, I am very satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best Lens In It's Class

SEL2470GM 03/11/2018 by tony71571 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had reviewed so many lenses and even owned the Sony/Zeiss 24-70 f4. This is the lens to have. Sharp, sharp sharp!!!! Color rendition is perfect. Don't waste your time searching for other brands if you own a Sony Camera. This is it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Expensive but worth it

SEL2470GM 31/10/2018 by TerenceM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a number of Sony lenses. Also APS-C and full frame. I finally decided to upgrade to the top of the line. This is used for general photography outside, so landscapes and street. Also indoor event with room light. It handles all situations well and stands up to my Zeiss lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well built, quiet and great images

SEL2470GM 29/10/2018 by Miiick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use with a feel of top-notch quality and sturdiness

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 23/10/2018 by Tonyh432 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first lens to go with my A7R3. Very impressive sharpness throughout the range. Clearly a very well built product and 24-70 being an extremely useful range. The only slight downside is the weight but thats more than made up for by the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL2470GM 17/10/2018 by Sue80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to go with my Sony a7ii and it’s absolutely fantastic! I photograph weddings, babies and pets professionally and the lens is fantastically versatile. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Workhorse lens

SEL2470GM 17/10/2018 by Smartjack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My standard lens for my A7r3, I have other lenses but this stays on the camera most of the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive until Failure

SEL2470GM 06/09/2018 by Armand190 (USA)

Good compromise of optical quality and portability. Lens failed after 8 months of light to moderate use. The autofocus and manual focus stopped working, in addition to loosing the ability to select the aperture when in aperture control. Two weeks after sending lens for Warranty Repair service have not had any feedback as to when lens will be repaired.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very impressive

SEL2470GM 20/08/2018 by Arthur2Sheds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this lens for 2 weeks: purchased together with a Sony A7 III and an FE 100-400mm lens. Moving from a Nikon format the quality of the lens is very impressive: high quality glass providing very sharp images indeed. Overall the quality of Sony camera gear is remarkable: expensive yes but, quality over quantity any time. I wanted just 2 lenses and, although I also looked at the FE 16-35mm I opted for the 24-70mm which is now my 'go-to' lens of choice: I leave to on the camera most of the time. I will enjoy experimenting with the new camera and the supporting lenses over the coming months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great Lens

SEL2470GM 04/08/2018 by Videroc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago for a wedding and it proved to be a fantastic purchase the sharp clear images are amazing easy to use large and well placed focus and zoom rings

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous lens

SEL2470GM 03/08/2018 by Dr Dog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just switched to Sony any paired with A7iii. Lovely lens, simply great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Average

SEL2470GM 11/07/2018 by jjboy91 (USA)

Been using it for portraits for 6 months en the A7RIII thinking I would get sharp pictures as advertised. All of them are so soft even when using eye-AF. It's a big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

12

0

Awesome Lens

SEL2470GM 05/07/2018 by leslied1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens even more than I thought I would!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

SEL2470GM 25/06/2018  (Canada)

I really love my 24-70 and I use a lot because of the range. Sure, it's Ridiculous Expensive and I do think Sony need to review the price of it's lenses, specially because they are gib and heavy. But it's well made, I would love to have 3 hold buttons like my 70-200, on portrait the button doesn't really work because of it's position, but the build quality is amazing, the image quality it's outstanding, AF not to fast, could be better and should because of it's price, but it's good enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The Master Lens for almost situations.

SEL2470GM 11/05/2018 by Whyment (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Someone might said this lens is pricy, but if you pick one up, you will say WOW. Pro: Sharp Focus speed is really fast Quite Hight quality on pic and build Con: Heavy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fast&Accurate

SEL2470GM 25/04/2018 by jasloo2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very expensive len but it does stand for the higest quality among SONY lens family.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great lens

SEL2470GM 23/04/2018 by Andy2k79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for two week after go through alot review online , and finally i decide to purchase , im very happy with my decision. reason i give four star is not ballance well with my A7rMark3, i move from canon to sony for lightweight but the lens still heavy , plus is more expensive than company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Love it!

SEL2470GM 15/04/2018 by thelegacypro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens. It's such a versatile lens. I can travel with this lens and use it for all of my traveling needs. Great job Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Optics

SEL2470GM 13/04/2018 by PhilInTN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to use on the new Sony a7iii. The optics are great with smooth and fast focusing. I am used to the a77m2 with large lenses so the weight is not an issue. Build quality seems to be top notch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL2470GM 13/04/2018 by Photoman1956 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned it for 14 months and it needs repair the front lens barrel is loose when the lens is extended, not a terrible amoumt of use over its life should not have loosend other than that i really like it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Lens

SEL2470GM 16/03/2018 by akosinate15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is very sharp. Sturdy build. Excellent image quality. A little front heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really Good Lens

SEL2470GM 06/03/2018 by Gotcha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens out on several shoots and the performance has been outstanding. Focusing is fast and accurate with outstanding clarity. This is one of the finest lenses I own and the best 24-70mm amongst my other 24-70mm lenses from other manufacturers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Superb lens

SEL2470GM 07/02/2018 by Jim2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used this lens for about 1 year. I've traveled to various parts of the world and this lens with my Sony AR7 2 is absolutely incredible. Either closed all the way or wide open the pictures come out clear and sharp color performance is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

24-70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 01/02/2018 by Redrossi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted an all rounder lens for weddings and portraits and heard so much about the Sony G Lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

High Quality Standard Zoom Lens

SEL2470GM 16/01/2018 by ipollen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a superb standard zoom lens giving excellent image quality at all focal lengths. The weakest focal length is 70mm where the extreme edges do fall below the other focal lengths.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great, but with room for improvement

SEL2470GM 02/01/2018 by LuisR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The F/2.8 max aperture is great for low light photography without having to do long exposures, and the 24-70mm focal length range makes it quite versatile. It's my only lens and I haven't felt the absolute need to get a lens with more zoom yet. It's a bit soft on the edges of the photo and has a lot of purple fringing, at least at wider apertures. The lens is larger and heavier than your average lens under 70mm which makes it impractical for traveling or street photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Great lens for every use

SEL2470GM 28/12/2017 by gugo_1990 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It isn't a cheap lens, but it worth it. No comparison with the cheaper Zeiss 2470F4 but if you don't care about the dimension this lens is absolutely astonishing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Superb optics

SEL2470GM 12/12/2017 by Dead eye Dick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a first class professional quality lens. I hope I can do justice to it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

70

0

The Perfect do everything lens!

SEL2470GM 12/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently made the jump from Canon to Sony with the A7RII & A6500. Being used to the quality of the Canon glass i was expecting big things from the Sony 24-70mm F2.8 GM after all i had heard through the channels. I was not disapointed with this lens one bit! The quality of the images produced by this lens is second to none. Sharp from corner to corner at all ranges. Extremely quick AF & Eye AF works flawlessly. Build quality is exceptional and with excellent weather sealing. Mix into the equation the existance of the 70-200mm F2.8 GM (which i also own) i am able to basically capture anything and everything with 2x lenses which is a massive benefit when trying to keep kit to a minimum to conserve weight. The ability to replace 7x Prime lenses with 2x top class Zooms is becoming an incredibly enticeing prospect! A complete no brainer for anybody who is willing to invest in the best will be rewarded with top quality results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

The ultimate lens

SEL2470GM 25/11/2017 by MaBB (USA)

I´ve been using this lens for a couple of months now. I shoot mostly outdoor and destination photos, and for me this is the ultimate lens to bring with me on trips. Super sharp, and awesome in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Awesome

SEL2470GM 22/11/2017 by Fuzzball (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is my first lens for the a7rii. i don't have much experience with this level of equipment, so needless to say that i love it and think it's the best range for taking indoor photos where there's not a lot of room to back up away from your subjects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Worthwhile Upgrade

SEL2470GM 17/11/2017 by hmy7k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a few weeks ago to go with my A7rii camera as an upgrade from the 24-70mm F4 lens. I wish I had purchased it earlier. Whilst it is noticeably bigger and heavier its worth it for the extra sharpness and lens performance. I also like the focus hold button on the side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Disappointed

SEL2470GM 14/11/2017  (USA)

I bought this lens 3 weeks. After my second use, my camera couldn’t detect my lens. As I have tourist waranty, I have to send lens to fix. You should replace me the new one instead of fixing mine. It seem like I got a refubish lens at this new price. This is unacceptable error for lens at this price

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

23

0

Lovely lens

SEL2470GM 14/11/2017 by CalvinD (United Kingdom)

Ive had lens about 2 weeks so very early to truly review. However I'm very pleased so far. I love the starburst effect possible with this lens and it's crispness/clarity. Only downside is it is heavy. It is a go-to lens so use it alot but would struggle if I only used a strap rather than a chest harness. However, it did replace the F4 and a Batis 80mm for travelling so is marginally lighter overall and takes less space in my backpack. Attached photo was an experiment of starburst, taken at f18.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

1

0

Severe flare issues

SEL2470GM 10/11/2017 by Nzmumt (USA)

I am using this lens with my A7rii. In the long exposure it has severe flares that ruins the shot. I have 16 -35 zeiss f4 ı had no flare in the same conditions. This lens is such a disappointment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Just awesome!

SEL2470GM 10/10/2017 by AndyDMC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in the summer, couldn't be happier! Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Outstanding Pro Performance

SEL2470GM 15/09/2017 by Action Photography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great complement to my A7rII. Bright, sharp and clear. Auto focus is extremely accurate,locked right on the little bird without any searching.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Minor quibbles - Overall very good

SEL2470GM 03/09/2017 by MNPNW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The optical performance of this lens is very good. I've used two copies, one a rental and the other purchased. Lens hood attachment not as robust as the Canon. Mounting on body is stiff on my new version. Zoom ring movement (force needed to zoom) varies a lot in the two I've used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Prime performance with zoom

SEL2470GM 25/08/2017 by J Mad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this lens is heavy and expensive but if you demand excellent sharpness and image quality, this lens is a must have Sony E zoom. Works equally well on my a7ii and a6500 but with obviously different effective crop and t-stop. It's my primary go-to lens for most situations now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Useless lens for useless camera

SEL2470GM 22/08/2017  (Canada)

I didnt waste my money on this product but have handled it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2017

Hi, MartinReid, You may find these links helpful in resolving the issue with your unit/s:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4576640021.pdf,
http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/?area=us&lang=en&mdl=SEL2470GM.
If you still need assistance, you may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Please include your product details, exact issue and reference number (if available). Regards, Vincent

0

Outstanding quality

SEL2470GM 21/08/2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the SEL2470GM about 2 months ago and used it for the first time on a holiday to Tenerife combined with the Sony A9 it gives outstanding images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Beautiful design and performance.

SEL2470GM 29/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Optical, mechanical and electrical perfection all in one lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Too expensive compare to its IQ

SEL2470GM 17/07/2017 by Sunshine7913 (USA)

Dont buy this just because of optical quality. It has soft edge sharpness while 16-35 provide a center to edge fine sharpness.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

14