FE 28mm F2

Product Reviews

$599.99

19

4.8 based on 19 customer reviews

15
4
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

19 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Lens

Lens Only 12/04/2018 by Silver61 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent lens! Very pleased with the clarity and sharpness of this lens for the price. I wish Sony would produce more like this in this price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good wide angle lens

Lens Only 03/04/2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in conjunction with the 21mm Ultra wide conversion and very happy. 28mm is one of my favorite focal lengths and this gives very pleasing results. The Ultra wide is a simple attachment for those specious scenes when required. Great price as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Blown Away by the results

Lens Only 19/02/2018 by rmg900 (USA)

I generally don't use wide angle lenses in my work, but decided to take the plunge with my my Sony because I use it to make videos. I have been very surprised by the quality of this lens. Distortion is easily managed and the detail in its images was awesome.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Excellent wide little lens.

SEL28F20 20/12/2017 by Sashabg81 (Canada)

This is my every day carry lens and I love it. Wide, fast and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for video and stills

Lens Only 30/11/2017 by wardenet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great lens i brought it mainly for vlogging and needed something that would be good enough to focus and also give good depth of field, i do use it every now and again for stills.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great for street photography

Lens Only 13/05/2017 by JRH46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Clarity across. I was disappointed at first until I realized that not all software reads raw images the same. ACDSee for example opens the raw image but the image is slightly blurred compared to the JPG that I thought I had a camera or lens problem. Then I used Capture One software for Sony Cameras and the images are crisp and clean and when converting from raw to JPG is excellent using Capture One. Just keep that in mind.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great but has a clunk noise to it when focusing

Lens Only 30/03/2017 by PhillyPho (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use it on my a6000 and the pictures are sharp but there is a noticeable clunking noise. Not sure if that is normal but the images are great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Sony FE28mm f2.0 lens

Lens Only 22/02/2017 by Altrekkie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over a year ago to fit on my Sony A7m2

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

16

0

Cracking lens

Lens Only 14/02/2017 by Jacko Jackson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the first lens I bought for my A7ii and I am very, very pleased with them both. The lens is very quick to focus the images are very sharp. The wide F2 gives me great control over focus. I really love the 28mm focal length. What I particularly like is that it gives me the right size frame to use a landscape as a background for someone that is near to me or something that is happening near to me. There is plenty of space to capture a subject right in front of me but I still get plenty of background too. The above coupled with it being small and light means I can take it running in the hills to capture the action & the hills! Awesome value, high quality lens, takes cracking pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

3

0

LIGHT, SMALL AND SUPER SHARP

Lens + Ultra Wide Converter 01/08/2016 by chrisraph (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

SUPER SHARP, FAST - EXCELLENT great value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

FE28/2 - small light and able

Lens Only 06/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few months back, great little lens to keep in the bag

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Very Sharp

Lens Only 03/04/2016 by Notginvok (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this lens, good allround performer and nice sharp results even wide open.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Excellent lens

Lens Only 13/02/2016 by la46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent additional lens to my Sony A7, great wide angle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great value lens

Lens Only 13/01/2016 by Russtafab (United Kingdom)

I initially had my doubts about this lens. Since purchasing my Sony a7Rii camera I have spent a considerable amount of money on E mount lenses which cost far more money that this FE28mm F2 lens. I love this lens and it really fits that specific niche for me. With the recent price drop of the Carl Zeiss Vario Tessar T* FE 24-70mm f/4 which is next on my list, I will still be using this 28mm lens a lot. I am not a professional but merely a keen photographer. What I really like with primes is that I have to "work hard' to get the shot and this often captures much better images for me. Also the Sony a7Rii is a really great Video camera. I work in Post Production and will be using this 28mm quite a bit for shooting video. Great lens, do not underestimate it, nor think less about it just because it is cheaper than most of the other E mount lenses. Really recommend this lens, always has a spot in my "kit bag"

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

28mm f2 full frame e mount

Lens Only 28/11/2015 by Seba84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worth every penny, quick autofocus, crisp sharpness even wide open, you do not gonna be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great for street photography

Lens Only 27/11/2015 by Dr Paddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this lens for the last couple of weeks and find it great for street photography. Though Raw files show a lot of edge distortion, Lightroom sorts it out very effectively. Once shut down to f8 or f11 it's very sharp throughout. Very good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Excellent Value and versatile lens

Lens Only 15/10/2015 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just acquired this lens 10 days ago. Little usage but pleased with performance, handling and ergonomics.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

6

0

Beautifully crafted piece of kit.

Lens Only 11/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of the images are outstanding and it meets all my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Such good value for money

Lens Only 22/06/2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own the FE55 F1.8 the FE35 F2.8 and the FE28 F2 completes the trio Although the FE28 F2 is not a Carl Zeiss it has the image and build quality to match my two other primes. I now use these 3 lenses with the A7R to shoot weddings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0