E 30MM F3.5 MACRO

Product Reviews

$349.99

32

4.5 based on 32 customer reviews

19
10
3
0
0
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03/05/2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

29

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08/04/2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

33

16

32 Customer Reviews

0

Nice macro for the smaller wallet!

SEL30M35 18/10/2021 by ilwphotos (United Kingdom)

I wanted to try macro-photography, but I just wanted to see if it's something I like. This lens isn't expensive and is super sharp! You can get close to the subject and after you learned to work with it, you can make great pictures with it. It's a very great lens to start with macro-photography. There is only one little thing; the lens is quite short, so you must avoid working in your own shadow and watch out you don't create a shadow while getting very close to the subject. But you can work around that pretty easy. It's also a great lens for portraits and landscapes. I use it on my A6000 and I would definitely recommend this lens.

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20/10/2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Lens, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're glad to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.
Rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony Support UK

0

Great!

SEL30M35 31/01/2021 by Duck230 (USA)

Great lens for the price. Light, fast, quiet and macro ...

3

0

0

easy to use

SEL30M35 22/01/2021 by Fenboy (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month unfortunately covid has limited time and use . The one time I used it I got a good shot of a fox using it on auto, pleased with the result. It also helps for me in its size and weight for ease of handling.

1

13

0

Excellent Macro Lens

SEL30M35 09/08/2020 by Rikyrocky (United Kingdom)

Being a mirrorless Sony user, I needed a solution for macro work and this lens fits the requirement very well. The attached photo shows dew droplets - notice the lens created by the largest deop [~2mm dia] and the detail of the actual web and micro droplets. This was handheld with a Sony 6300 and this lens

6

0

0

Macro Magic!

SEL30M35 19/06/2020 by oskiwoski (USA)

Depth of field, clarity and speedy. This lens won't fail in any situation.

1

0

0

Really good macro lens, for the price

SEL30M35 19/01/2020 by Mxchris (United Kingdom)

Very good macro lens, for the price; the f3.5 can be an issue indoors. Takes excellent photos.

2

0

0

Slow macro lens with shallow depth of field

SEL30M35 18/09/2019 by sizeof wales (United Kingdom)

Works OK outside on a bright sunny day but not on an overcast day. Not a good macro lens for living things - may be OK for inanimate objects.

1

1

Response From Customer Support
20/09/2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. You can improve the performance of your lens by making sure that the firmware is updated as explained here https://bit.ly/2m4bqHW . If you are still facing issues with your lens, you can contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Great lens

SEL30M35 24/03/2019 by Mick 85 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 3weeks ago it’s not been off my A6300 fantastic street lens and macro is great but why not black

1

0

0

I like this lens

SEL30M35 25/10/2018 by JeffG53 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of years ago. The focal length is perhaps shorter than I'd like for macro work - but the autofocus gives me something that my older macro lenses lack. It's also a pretty good standard prime lens on the A6000 or A6500. 49mm filters can attached to the lens itself but then the lens hood cannot be used, however the same 49mm filters can instead be screwed onto the end of the lens hood.

3

0

0

Early Days

SEL30M35 01/08/2018 by LJP52 (United Kingdom)

This is still a new accessory for my camera and I have not put it to full use yet, but will be later this weekend. I did a quick trial and was amazed by the initial quality of the close up photos that I took.

7

0

0

On the Sony a6300, a wonderful lens

SEL30M35 10/07/2018 by Outdoorman (USA)

Bought this lens several months ago to use on my a6300. Great results--sharp subjects, wonderful bokeh. Not just a macro lens, but also a nice walk-about one too.

0

0

0

Great lens fo jewelry photography

SEL30M35 30/06/2018 by 1bwana1 (USA)

Great size, easy to use. This lens produces very sharp images, and the focal length gives a decent depth of field for my primary use of gemstone, and jewelry photography.

3

0

0

Standard macro

SEL30M35 03/01/2018 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

Generally good, however using the lens hood with a filter is virtually impossible due to the fit of the hood - if this was not a problem, I'd have given the lens 4 stars.

2

5

0

Love this macro

SEL30M35 17/09/2017  (USA)

Haven't had a true macro before, and some are saying this is to short to be considered a true macro but it focuses so close that even at this short 30 mm (35mm equivalent to 45mm with APS-C sensor in my a6000) I can see pollen grains, so whats the issue! Fabulous resolution! Haven't worried about edge to edge but getting great stuff with florals and insects

6

0

0

Great macro lens

SEL30M35 05/09/2017  (USA)

I've been using this lens for ca. 2 years already, mostly underwater. The pictures are extremely sharp and I actually adore it. I really like the focal distance - 30 mm, thus I'm not also able to make nice pictures of small critters, but also film some average size animals.

5

0

0

Great macro lens that doubles as a standard

SEL30M35 19/07/2017 by SteveB1959 (United Kingdom)

I've had this over a year and it's brilliant for all types of close up or landscape with my a6000.

4

0

0

This is a good lens

SEL30M35 19/07/2017 by Nyoongen7 (USA)

This is original file Im just try to use this lens to hunting

4

0

0

Excellent lens for the price

SEL30M35 21/06/2017 by luke72 (USA)

I am just an amateur when it comes to photography, but I have really enjoyed using this lens for closeups of flowers, insects, etc. I love just how close I can get and still get a great looking picture. On the flip side, I've even used this lens for portraits with great results. The photos I've included are some of my favorites as a beginner. Only the first two photos have had some minor enhancing done in editing. The others are JPEGs straight from the camera.

10

2

0

Great value but not a perfect macro

SEL30M35 06/06/2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Affordable Sharp center Good as an allrounder Cons: Too wide for a macro (limits use to non moving subjects) Soft corners Ugly appearance

1

4

0

Good value macro

SEL30M35 18/07/2016 by deegee2006 (United Kingdom)

First tests suggest it does a good job at a realistic price. Works well with the A6000

3

2

0

Nice little macro lens

SEL30M35 20/09/2015 by N Emes (United Kingdom)

It's an affordable yet quality built macro lens, perfect for close up pics and videos. Using it with Sony A7S I'm happy with it.

2

2

0

Value for money

SEL30M35 14/07/2015 by DavidH6269 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my daughter a month ago and she is so pleased, it is great value for money. The lens takes amazing, crisp photos. After you have taken a photo, when you zoom in the picture is just as crisp as when you were zoomed out. It is worth the money, she is so pleased with the lens.

2

1

0

Light weight

SEL30M35 15/06/2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom)

Have been using the lens for almost two weeks mainly for botanical close ups. Brilliant. Works so well with my Sony a6000. The best macro lens I have ever used.

2

0

0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03/05/2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

29

0

0

Great thing, nice to use

SEL30M35 12/09/2014 by Dalia G (United Kingdom)

It's a great macro lens. Great quality of photos, it's also sharp. I'm happy that it's also quite small, so doesn't make any problems often carrying it with me. The only drawback that I know is slow autofocus. And often when I want to focus on something rather small it doesn't get it.

16

1

0

Great Camera for Aspiring Photographers

SEL30M35 14/12/2013 by TheMortallyWounded (USA)

I purchased the Alpha A3000 on a whim, after having looked at it for some time and imagining the possibilities. I've been hoping to find an inexpensive camera to do some long-exposure photography, and this baby has impressed me immensely. It may not be a high-end Nikon or Canon, but the quality of the photos is very impressive and I think the final product will rival most professionals. With that in mind, this is NOT a professional camera. You may be able to attach it to some very, very nice lenses, but it is still a high-quality entry level unit. The features are kept to a minimum but it has some interesting creative options, stuff that you can do better with the right software on your PC. For me though, it's all I could want in a camera for now.

5

23

0

The next level

SEL30M35 12/09/2013 by Teamdeez (USA)

I always wanted a macro lens and had tried out reverse rings in the past. The experience with this lens blows them away and is totally worth it... Does well as a prime portrait too. I use this with the NEX 3n

13

1

0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08/04/2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

33

16

0

A macro Lens I love

SEL30M35 27/02/2012  (USA)

There isn't a moment I love using this lens :) I took a picture of this fern in the process of unrolling. This is a macro lens you can't pass up with the nex-5n :) - Armando

23

7

0

Swell

SEL30M35 25/02/2012 by DalekSec (USA)

I really enjoy this lens, I have been using it on my VG10 to take head-shots and the results are stunning. The images come out nice and are easily editable in photoshop if I want to remove/change the background or touch-up the subjects.

6

1

0

SEL30M35 19/11/2011 by mikofish (USA)

No noise when focusing, completely silent. Front doesn’t extend when focusing as in the Sony 100mm macro, it keeps its original length. This makes it easy to "fit or use" in underwater housings. The image I uploaded shows the results when used in landscape photography.

44

3

0

Makes my NEX even better

SEL30M35 05/11/2011 by photokid (USA)

All I have to say it amazing. I love this lens. I'm not a pro photographer by any stretch. I don't know much about f stops and all that jazz but I do know that this lens and my NEX-3 were born for each other. I bought the nex because I wanted to take my photography to the next level it does that better than expected. Then add this lens and we have amazingness. The lens produces crisp photos that are stunning. I love macro photography, and it works great with flowers and nature. The lens itself not only looks great but feels great. The metal used is a little more shiny, and lighter than the 18-55 mm lens that I bought with the camera. it also has more of a, light and almost hollow feeling . Over all if you like simple macro photography and own a NEX camera, then this lens needs to be in your colection.

75

4