4

4.0 based on 4 customer reviews

3
0
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply Stunning!!!

SEL50F14Z 26/05/2017 by Stephen5393 (USA)

Ever since my purchase (January this year), it has become the Best companion in every photo sessions. Portrait/studio, as well as outside and street shots are just stunning!! Light intake is phenomenal, extremely sharp and well balanced. Feels good (with exception of its a bit heavy weight) and looks lovely. I use it with A7II body, ..and it enhances the camera body/look(!). (Do get lots of compliments!) Premium quality. ..and yes, 11 blade makes stunning bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Repair recall

SEL50F14Z 03/02/2018 by Wolfie London (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a week ago. Updated the software at home only to also discover the product serial number is subject to a repair recall? Why was it available for sale at all. I have already asked the dealer (Park Cameras Rathbone Place London) to replace it and am still awaiting a response. I don’t think it is right that a branks new product hasn’t been recalled by sony since the repair notice is from November 2017.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

4 Customer Reviews

0

Repair recall

SEL50F14Z 03/02/2018 by Wolfie London (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a week ago. Updated the software at home only to also discover the product serial number is subject to a repair recall? Why was it available for sale at all. I have already asked the dealer (Park Cameras Rathbone Place London) to replace it and am still awaiting a response. I don’t think it is right that a branks new product hasn’t been recalled by sony since the repair notice is from November 2017.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect

SEL50F14Z 07/06/2017 by Sup3r (USA)

50mm is my favorite focal length. It's very versatile and great for travel, street photography and portraits. The images I get from this lens is truly amazing with very good sharpness throughout the frame, especially the center, even when shot wide open. CA is controlled well, distortion is almost non-existent and while there is obvious vignetting at f/1.4, it doesn't bother because it's correctable in Lightroom. The build quality is amazing. I love the aperture control ring that Sony has been adding with their current lenses and the focusing ring is super smooth. The AF/MF switch is such a welcomed addition as well. Overall, if money is no object, and you're looking for a bokehlicious lens with excellent light-gathering capability, this is the way to go. Albeit it's more expensive and larger than both the 50mm f1.8 and 55mm f1.8, it's really the best native 50mm lens for the FE mount I have used to date. It's permanently affixed on to my A7II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Simply Stunning!!!

SEL50F14Z 26/05/2017 by Stephen5393 (USA)

Ever since my purchase (January this year), it has become the Best companion in every photo sessions. Portrait/studio, as well as outside and street shots are just stunning!! Light intake is phenomenal, extremely sharp and well balanced. Feels good (with exception of its a bit heavy weight) and looks lovely. I use it with A7II body, ..and it enhances the camera body/look(!). (Do get lots of compliments!) Premium quality. ..and yes, 11 blade makes stunning bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL50F14Z 17/09/2016 by A doctor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks and feels great. Premium quality. Very well ballanvlced on A7rii and amazingly quick and silent focus. 11 blade makes bokeh look stunning. Very sharp and bright. Great contrast. An amust lens for a7rii and a7sii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

11