FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

$299.99

16

3.5 based on 16 customer reviews

7
1
4
1
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20/04/2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Meh

SEL50F18F 03/06/2017  (USA)

I wish I could say it's alright for the price, but I can't even say that because every single lens they produce is way over market value and this is no exception. Focus speed is abysmal, incredibly noisy motor. Image quality is whatever... nothing to write home about. Bottom line I'd rather adapt a 50mm ef that cost me less than half the price of this one... much better image quality and focuses faster, even adapted.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

16 Customer Reviews

0

Slow and not accurate!

SEL50F18F 10/05/2018 by SamNovelli (Canada)

Hi, It's slow and not accurate in version 3. Is it possible to downgrade lens firmware update to version 2 or has the chance to get a new firmware?

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/05/2018

Hi SamNovelli, The updated firmware of the lens cannot be downgraded. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Good all-purpose lens, but slow and noisy focus

SEL50F18F 03/04/2018 by Linkmodo (USA)

The Sony 50mm F1.8 is great for general purpose use. But the focusing mechanism is very noisy and slow reminiscent of an ancient AF lens. It also doesn't focus well in low light, despite having a fairly large F1.8 aperture. The lens produces pleasing bokeh and works well in bright light, just don't expect top-dollar fast prime performance. The lens is made of 100% plastic and is super light, that might be a pro (for travel or backup) or a con (fragile, less durable) for you.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Value Nifty 50

SEL50F18F 18/02/2018 by rmg900 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from both Nikon/Canon and being that the 50mm f1.8 is the work horse of my work, I can honestly say this is the highest quality first party models I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not sharp enough

SEL50F18F 09/01/2018 by Waarnemer (Canada)

Unfortunately this lens is not sharp enough for a Sony. Easy to handle, light, optically okay, great price, only the result is not satisfactory for me. Simply not sharp enough.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

cheap grest that all

SEL50F18F 08/01/2018 by dhardjono (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

much love this lens for the value i use it for video great image

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens on a budget

SEL50F18F 31/12/2017 by Gobs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is nice budget lens, sharp and light, but AF is terribly slow on A7 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Latest firmware update is awfull

SEL50F18F 03/09/2017 by kaseopea (USA)

Hi! I have updated firmware for this lens to version 3 and faced with really slow autofocus. It's not usable anymore - it's slow and not accurate. Tested on my A7 body and NEX-6 cropped body. Is it possible to downgrade lens firmware update to ver.2 ? Any suggestions?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sharp, lightweight & inexpessive...

SEL50F18F 23/08/2017 by jvdc (USA)

this is a good all around lens for the value... it's sharp at 1.8 comparable to other 50mm. lightweight cuase it's made of high quality plastic material; don't drop it; but it hunts most of the time...good for hunters. I use this in my A7ii.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good standard lens

SEL50F18F 08/07/2017 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good lightweight general purpose lens at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Good value

SEL50F18F 04/07/2017 by 3aspect (USA)

Mid distance shots this camera shines. Landscape is a bit weaker as images tend to moire a bit at edges & fringe overall a great first lens investment!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Unable to use phase detection autofocus on AF-S

SEL50F18F 21/06/2017 by CS12 (USA)

I am unable to use phase detection autofocus on AF-S on A7ii even when updated to FW 4.00 Body/FW 03 Lens. The lens focuses using contrast detection on AF-S. It can use phase detection autofocus on AF-C, but the microadjustments in focus burn through the battery very fast.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Meh

SEL50F18F 03/06/2017  (USA)

I wish I could say it's alright for the price, but I can't even say that because every single lens they produce is way over market value and this is no exception. Focus speed is abysmal, incredibly noisy motor. Image quality is whatever... nothing to write home about. Bottom line I'd rather adapt a 50mm ef that cost me less than half the price of this one... much better image quality and focuses faster, even adapted.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great for Portraits

SEL50F18F 13/05/2017 by JRHJohn47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the 55mm 1.8 Zeiss Lens and for the price point of that lens I was able to get two other lens with one being the 50mm 1.8 FE by Sony. I really could not tell a difference between the two unless under microscopic examination and that was with aberration and even then I was hard pressed to tell a difference. Otherwise, I recommend the 50mm for the price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20/04/2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Amazingly sharp lens.

SEL50F18F 12/03/2017 by GrafxArt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a couple of weeks ago and the results from it are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice quality but a bit beyond my expectation

SEL50F18F 14/05/2016 by Jazz123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

"Alright" product but the speed of focusing is slow and make quite loud noise.I'm not satisfied with its image quality. Acceptable prime lens with this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

32

54