125

4.8 based on 125 customer reviews

112
6
1
1
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07/02/2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

125 Customer Reviews

0

Small but wonderful

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2021 by nelsf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect lense. Wide angle, portrait or fashion shoot this lense is a gem. F1.8 gives a besutiful bokeh. Beautiful color rendering. Super light weight to carry along travel. Perfect match with a7rIV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice lens

SEL55F18Z 12/03/2021 by MRVR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focus not as quick as on the G Master lenses but a gret little lens, light with a classic focal length and decent minimum focus distance. I miss the focus hold button that is found on some of the G series lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Paint has come off lens after first use.

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2021 by Dave 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased fro LCE Bristol, I took lens to do video of deer at local park. Turning th lens, the pait came away on barrel. Very dissapointed as i paid lots of money for thIS. Plus the lens breathes alot for video work. I don't this the shop was familiar with video shooting. I explained to shop paint coming off but nothing about getting a correct lens that doesn't have paint coming off.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Scratches really easy

SEL55F18Z 27/12/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sorry i'm very dissapointed as this cost me £800 and it's not got a decent amount of paint on it to protect it. Powder paint i expect. I wont be buying any more sony lens. 1st time I used this.

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL55F18Z 02/12/2020 by Roxocub3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens after watching many reviews for my new Sony a73 and I absolutely love it! It has it all, nice build, super sharp, much better than the 50mm one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Sharp at all. Chromatic Aberration.

SEL55F18Z 16/10/2020 by EyeWriteLight (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold my Sigma 50mm F1.4 to purchase this lens. But Sigma 50mm F1.4 is sharper than this lens and doesn't have Chromatic Aberration in High Contrast edges.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 06/10/2020 by Flow2 (United Kingdom)

great image quality, build ,autofocus and very compact for a ff lens, impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like the Hubble telescope.

SEL55F18Z 20/09/2020 by Ynos01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The images I’ve taken from this lens are outrageous. Frankly, Sony need to give themselves a good talking to and allow the others to catch up. Buy it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great form factor

SEL55F18Z 28/03/2020 by PJM171 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I could no be more happy with this lens. I have over a dozen lenses but had not got a 50/55 as it was not my favourite focal length, but i had read so many good reviews that i decided to add it to my collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Light, Sharp and good value.

SEL55F18Z 26/03/2020 by Mick A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a long time Fuji user but because I wanted the best BIF and sports action camera I opted for an A9. Apart from the 200-600 for my main use I needed to get an all round street/general photography lens to justify this system along side my Fuji. I have been stunned by the quality of my 55mm. i assumed Fuji had it sown up, but the quality and versatility of this lens has made me think seriously about trading in my Fuji gear and getting the sister 85mm lens for my use.The 55mm is so crisp and the Bokeh is lovely. Get it........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

a super sharp fast lens

SEL55F18Z 03/03/2020 by dad48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens as part of a deal with a A7iii, and I am pleased that I did. It is super sharp across the aperture range and has a quality feel about its construction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wonderful lens

SEL55F18Z 01/03/2020 by MarkQ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly light, very sharp, fast AF and lovely colours and contrast. As good a ‘50’ (ish) lens as I’ve ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Art & Engineering Excellence

SEL55F18Z 28/02/2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with my A7RIV about a year ago along with 3 Sony GM lens. The body and other lenses are all great but this lens is outstanding. It stays on my camera 90% of the time. It's sharp, it's fast and it's tiny. I might upgrade my other gear but this will be with me forever. It's so good I get excited every time I see it. (I know!) If you own a Sony camera you must get this lens, it will be the best purchase you ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Sharpness is amazing

SEL55F18Z 04/02/2020 by Stevo1626 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in December never really considered doing any kind of portrait work but this lens alone combined with the a7iii has really changed my style of photography. Awesome lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp ++

SEL55F18Z 24/01/2020 by FED20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this lens for a few months now, it is a delight. It is used on a Sony A7 mk 3. Very sharp, lovely bokeh. It is well balanced on the camera and has become one of my favourite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 06/01/2020 by D S S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although not a new model this lens gives great sharpness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little lens, big performer

SEL55F18Z 24/11/2019 by jloz (USA)

This lens is lightning fast and easy on the wrists while delivering IQ expected of Zeiss. I mainly use this lens for poorly lighted indoor/outdoor portraits. Even at high ISO (up to 6400), IQ is still good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A eternal classic

SEL55F18Z 17/11/2019 by CARLOSANDRADE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it a week ago anyway I have already some pics that confirm why I choosed theese lens as premium lens for my A6400. Quite sharp, and colour rendering fantastic. That's why passing years they are one of the best...a classic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My first Prime for Sony

SEL55F18Z 15/11/2019 by MarkIsMe (USA)

I bought this lens 4 years ago when I purchased my a7r2. Now that I’m on the a7riv, It is still my “go to” lens when traveling a new city or only have the chance to carry a single lens on the camera. While in Boston I happened to be snapping away at the skyline in Boston Common. A squirrel caught my eye. Had to be 10 meters away. I clicked over to continuous focus and caught several images of these guys. This is cropped in at 100%. This is such a fast lens, it keeps autofocus and gorgeous bokeh. Just buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Why buy the 50mm?

SEL55F18Z 09/10/2019 by noahthomas03 (USA)

I bought this lens after reading comparisons between this one, and the Zeiss 50mm. Needless to say I'm very happy I saved some extra cash and went with this one. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great construction

SEL55F18Z 11/09/2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense around a month ago and I am very pleased with the outstanding results it gives me especially when doing night street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best lens I have ever had! expensive but the best!

SEL55F18Z 08/09/2019 by GrégoireC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Trials, first time using the lens, great fun to experiment..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Most versatile lens!

SEL55F18Z 20/08/2019 by Noornuri (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens can do it all, from micro to macro. A must have!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best prime lens for the A7iii

SEL55F18Z 05/07/2019 by Rookwood Productions (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tax sharp and a great all rounder lens. I use this lens most on my camera. Quickest auto focus I’ve ever seen. And stable as any thing I’ve ever used. Now looking at the 35mm prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12/06/2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it!

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2019 by Atabales (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and I am so happy with it. Can wait for more Sony lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16/02/2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07/02/2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07/01/2019 by docv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04/01/2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

0

Best prime I've ever used!

SEL55F18Z 02/01/2019 by Scott SW (United Kingdom)

5 months in with this awesome lens (on A7iii) and absolutely loving it. I'm at wedding photographer and switched from Nikon to Sony this year, so glad I did! This lens is tack sharp at all apertures, lightening fast, beautiful bokeh, great contrast, tiny, light and great build quality. The only con - no manual focus / auto focus switch but hey that can be mapped to a custom button. If you're worried about the price over another 50mm you will be pleased you took the plunge on this one. Ref. I've owned Nikon 50mm f1.4G & Sigma Art 50mm f1.4. Many thanks, Scott

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp as Heck!

SEL55F18Z 30/12/2018 by Sierra NV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp. Solid build yet light and compact. Overall, great prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tack Sharp & Fast.

SEL55F18Z 11/12/2018 by Teotizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last 1stDec'18 with A7III as a package after I straight swap it with my Nikon arsenal D300, battery grip, nikkor 24-70f2.8, 105f2, Tokina 100 macro, Tokina 11-18, SB800, nikon tele 2X, R1 macro flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Technological Marvel

SEL55F18Z 26/11/2018 by Hillclimber (USA)

I've owned this and several other Sony/Zeiss lenses for a while now, and this lens is special. It's not the sharpness that everyone talks about. It's the color rendering and bokeh that make it so special. The size and weight are also a big plus. It's just the most reliable producer of interesting images of any lens I've used. Can't say too many good things about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Small but well-formed

SEL55F18Z 01/11/2018 by Leftyrex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony 850 from some time back, decided to upgrade to an A73R. Most of my lenses are ~1kg apiece, and part of the point is to reduce the weight for everyday photography. The 55mm is small, and seems very well made. From what I can see - limited experience so far - the product is producing nice images.

3

2

0

Possibly the sharpest lens I've ever owned

SEL55F18Z 20/10/2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

When I got my A7R3 I planned to build up a set of primes to go with the zoom I purchased with the camera, and this was first on my list. If I'm honest before buying I would have preferred a 50mm, but I'm happy to say the 55mm has worked out OK for me; in practice I've not noticed the extra 5mm. The title says it all - this is lens is amazingly sharp. It also focuses very quickly, and I've found it to be excellent for portraits and as a general walk-around prime where wide shots aren't needed. I've noticed some lateral chromatic aberrations (colour fringing at the point focus drops out) in certain circumstances, but it isn't a deal breaker by any means - I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice it. I wouldn't hesitate to use this lens for paid work at all. Contrast is great, as is colour rendition, though I'd say its more neutral than saturated. Camera settings can change this, of course. I like that the lens is relatively compact and very light, which makes it easy to carry as an alternative to a heavy zoom. It's also nice to see that it includes a lens bag and hood, but then it isn't a low cost lens at all. It's pricey but well worth the cost in my opinion, and I stand by my comment about sharpness - it's amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 24/09/2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

outstanding pictures and sharpness of the lenses The camera feels like a extension of your hand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super sharp and super quiet.

SEL55F18Z 07/09/2018 by Andyvalver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantasic little lens. Silent autofocus and a super sharp image. Really impressed with it. I just wish there was a 35mm 1.8 for around the same price or less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens.

SEL55F18Z 23/08/2018 by Mark C (United Kingdom)

This lens is truly stunning.Vibrant colours,the detail is amazing across the frame. The handling is superb,small,light with super fast accurate focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome Lens!!!

SEL55F18Z 03/08/2018 by Ray Picart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the sharpest and the best lens money can buy. You will never regret buying it. Portable, light, durable and fast. Definitely I would recommend to a friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

New Zeiss 55mm lens

SEL55F18Z 15/07/2018 by Jim4848 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This my first Sony Lens and it is wonderful and very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens, amazing sharpness

SEL55F18Z 29/06/2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has to be one of the sharpest lenses you can buy. but for me it's not just about that. With great micro contrast, beautiful colour and the Zeiss "pop" you will love the images. It's small enough to work well with any of the a7 models and unlike some other lenses out there you can use it wide open a f1.8. Such a lovely walk about lens if you don't want the bulk of anything larger. Well worth the money paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 21/05/2018 by Asela (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really please with this lens. It's lightweight and portable. The pictures are crisp and sharp, autofocus is fast - overall a very good versatile lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If You Love Street Photography, Must Have.

SEL55F18Z 15/05/2018 by Whyment (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great prime lens for street photography, food, people and any daily use. Pro: Sharp, excellent pic quality Beautiful Bokeh Light weight Tiny size Con: N/A

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Compact lens

SEL55F18Z 05/05/2018 by Lees123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very high quality lens which is not only light but I’ve found it be very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact, fast and sharp.

SEL55F18Z 22/04/2018 by Tom R (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to this lens from the basic 50mm Sony lens, and am greatly impressed by its performance and image quality. Solid, crisp focus under a wide variety of conditions. Great bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice lens

SEL55F18Z 13/04/2018 by Clived (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a lovely lens, images are really crisp with nice bokeh. Focus is fast. It is everything I hoped it would be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Gorgeous Lens!

SEL55F18Z 13/04/2018 by craigbrandau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely bright, light and feels solid. I just got it and it will use it everywhere!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

outstanding fast prime

SEL55F18Z 01/04/2018 by drewp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 is sharpest lens I've experienced in 50 years of photography. What would make it better is to have non focus-by-wire, because (occasional) manual focus is tiresome. Small compact light fast and extremely high performance. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens. Wonderful pictures.

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens for all styles of pictures. Wonderfully sharp and wonderful bokah. At first look it seems pricey but this is one lens that wont gather dust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact brilliance

SEL55F18Z 24/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant image quality in a compact size. Amazing resolution and IQ. Lenses are generally getting larger in order to achieve the resolution figures required for today's high megapixel sensors, but this lens proves that it can be done in a compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens primarily for portraiture, but it excels in most situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

One of the sharpest lens made

SEL55F18Z 03/02/2018 by Son1man (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Outstanding sharpness, excellent bokeh. Focusing is almost instantaneous.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best lens ever !

SEL55F18Z 30/01/2018 by Nick1212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with the optical quality . A very precise lens .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Well designed

SEL55F18Z 26/01/2018 by Ceeque73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light, easy to use, excellent image quality! Can use for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2018 by gater27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very pleased with overall quality and images, if I was to ask for one more thing it would be a slightly closer focussing distance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens at a sensible price

SEL55F18Z 12/12/2017 by morse4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply put this lens is stunning and the image quality does not match the way it looks. When I first saw it I thought it might be a kit lens .... how wrong could i be. I tend to shoot weddings with 35/85 but I occasionally switch and use the 55mm 1.8 and i am never left disappointed. The focus is fast and when paired with the A7R2 or 3 the image quality is very professional. Something I really love about it is the size.... again something that I thought in the old days was a negative but now I know clients could not care less I use it a lot as a versatile lens. If I could only have one lens it would be this one, and I have some amazing G master and Ziess glass. The only downside is for manual focus for video. Focus by wire is not good to rack focus or be creative as its just strange.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stunning contrast, colour and sharpness

SEL55F18Z 07/12/2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent and relatively lightweight prime for full-frame Sony cameras. Beautiful IQ.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great portrait lens

SEL55F18Z 12/11/2017 by Andrydeen (United Kingdom)

With Sony 6500 it is perfect combo , especially for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent picture quality - noisy focusing

SEL55F18Z 18/10/2017 by Greg007 (USA)

The only negative I can say about this lens is it can get a little noisy when it's focusing. Coming from G Master lenses which are completely quiet, this may be important for video people. For them I would recommend the ZEISS Loxia 2/50 which is manual only focus lens. Little cheaper. About the same small size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 28/09/2017 by OwenP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a low light lens for filming on my A7RII and this is the perfect solution. The Lens is sharp wide open and produces decent bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Build quality sucks

SEL55F18Z 11/09/2017 by FUsony (Canada)

After a year of usage barely took it out and shoot with it most of the time I had my zoom on the paint scheme wares of I do not abuse my gear and Sony does not do anything for me to help this situation my last Sony product

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2017

Hi there! We regret to hear that your camera doesn't go well. We will have this forwarded to the relevant department as your honest feedback is a vital part of our continued growth and improvement. If you wish to have it serviced, please visit our eService website at https://esupport.sony.com/CA/p/service.pl

0

Clean and Clear.

SEL55F18Z 01/09/2017 by ScottPhotoNYC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this now knowing if I would use this on a regular basis. I actually find this to be a go to lens for me. It's small enough to use almost anywhere. I find it to be fast and give me the clean results I'm looking for. It worked great on my A7 & A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight

SEL55F18Z 26/08/2017 by Stables3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice lightweight lens on my A6500, good sharp image with nice contrast. Too early to give a long review as just had the lens a few couple of weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is my all time favourite Prime!

SEL55F18Z 19/06/2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the SEL55F18 Zeiss Plannar for 18 months it's my favourite lens - it's the sharpest lens I have ever come across and this is also reflected in DXO Mark for the E-Mount series. I cannot highly recommend this lens enough - The Bokeh is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional lens for a6000

SEL55F18Z 19/06/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this FF lens in anticipation of buying A7x camera. On a6000 gives excellent sharpness, nice colours. Also very light and compact and remarkably 'thin' for a FF lens. Satisfactory only for macro, but very good for portraits with especially nice bokeh. A bit expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Must have lens

SEL55F18Z 10/05/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FE 55mm is a must have general purpose, short portrait lens. The images it produces are fantastic. They are sharp and the subjects pop. I highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Favorite Lens

SEL55F18Z 07/05/2017 by Teddi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely LOVE this lens with my Sony A7II. It takes great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Lens

SEL55F18Z 06/01/2017 by Rush Videos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this lens to use with our Sony A7sii & couldn't be happier. The lens not only captures great color and depth of field for video, but also works well with the A7sii low light capability. The only reason it received a four star is we feel it coud've been a faster lens for focusing. The pictures this lens are beyond amazing. Overall the build is very well & definitely great quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4