142

4.8 based on 142 customer reviews

126
9
1
1
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Super sharp lens! Zeiss-worthy

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2014 by JoeFotosiamo (USA)

This lens definitely lived up to its Zeiss name! Superbly sharp across all aperture and from center to edges. The bokeh is very nice and smooth as a 55mm lens and the colors look great. I actually bought this lens instead of the 35mm and have not regretted it yet.

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07/02/2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

142 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent lens in all respects

SEL55F18Z 18/08/2022 by gnomen (United Kingdom)

I recently came to Sony from Leica and was so pleased to discover this lens which has similar character - fine detail, subtle gradations, excellent colour rendition. If I had one design request it would be to add an aperture ring to the next iteration.

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL55F18Z 21/07/2022 by Stuart63 (United Kingdom)

Love this lens. Not up for paying for the 1.4 GM. This is so close in my view at the fraction of the price. Fantastic lens.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp, lovely bokeh

SEL55F18Z 06/06/2022 by Intermediate Bob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens justifies the price. Mates perfectly with a7c to maintain a compact but very powerful combo. The evf on the camera had me wondering a bit about how the photos would translate, but once uploaded, I’m blown away by the sharpness and bokeh. Low light performance is excellent- I’ve yet to wish for a flash for any indoor shot with any light available. Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for my food styling

SEL55F18Z 15/12/2021 by Chrisyfitz (United Kingdom)

I have the 90mm 2.8 macro which I adore but I needed a wider angle for some of my food styling photography. This is perfect. Great bokeh and I can focus relatively closely. It's small and light too so a great lens for carrying around outside.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens for Amateurs and Professionals alike

SEL55F18Z 15/11/2021 by matthewkh (United Kingdom)

This was my first lens purchase after the 'kit lens' and boy what a difference! I am an amateur photographer and new to full frame cameras, but can immediately see the image quality difference in my photos and the potential for future projects. Solid, well built and relatively light weight and has quickly become my favourite lens. I really enjoy using it in a variety of different scenarios. Including both portrait to landscapes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 19/10/2021 by Pietro9 (United Kingdom)

I've used this lens for about a year now and I'm very happy with it. It is soooo sharp - I'm seeing details on screen that I couldn't see during the shoot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nifty 55 for Full Frame

SEL55F18Z 15/10/2021 by LO_photography (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few months back. So far I have been very please with the results and the size and weight of the lens are perfect for my A7M3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
18/10/2021

Hi,

Thank you for leaving your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens and happy with the quality we always aim to deliver! We hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

Please don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/2Xk5rBI to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers!

Mennah @Sony UK

0

Sony 55fe 1.8 zessis

SEL55F18Z 14/10/2021 by Sukhy (United Kingdom)

Very good lens for both stills and video very sharp it’s also not that heavy great for events and weddings and for closes ups

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL55F18Z 13/10/2021 by Mk46 (United Kingdom)

Great lens, would highly recommend . Sharp, versatile and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Simply amazing

SEL55F18Z 14/09/2021 by ThickRebel (United Kingdom)

As we all know by know, this is one of the best lenses ever crated to any camera system. No disappointment in any way. Paired with Sony's AF. Best match.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, compact. versatile lens

SEL55F18Z 24/06/2021 by Andy W63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a standard lens for my A7IIR. Great all day lens, reasonable compact and gives sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 17/06/2021 by Andy1910 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a few days ago and am happy with sharpness and colour rendition. Not impressed with size of hood as it feels too big. Adding a polariser is tricky as not much finger space to screw it in and out easily. So I bought a 5mm extender ring and this has sorted the issue. But outcome wise- great results. So no regrets !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
21/06/2021

Hi Andy1910,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Amazing lens

SEL55F18Z 02/06/2021 by Outlawmedia (United Kingdom)

I have a variety of G Masters lenses and i have to say that this lens is right up there along side the quality and speed of any of them. Really glad i purchased this lens and stays on my camera 90% of the time now

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice small lens

SEL55F18Z 24/05/2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago as a lens for aerial photography. After some ground tests I flew with it last week on my A7Riii. These make a small and easily handled camera system in a cockpit and the results surpassed my expectations - very sharp and with good colour rendition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support
27/05/2021

Hi rogpalmer,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

zeiss lens 55mm 1,8

SEL55F18Z 20/04/2021 by Raicha (United Kingdom)

super quality lens...........................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is a pro lens

SEL55F18Z 19/04/2021 by pbwfoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very nice lens. There is a bit of magic in the pictures. Beautiful bokeh, there is some magic to the pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very good lens

SEL55F18Z 12/04/2021 by PEPPUZZO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a few weeks ago and I amvery with this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but wonderful

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2021 by nelsf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect lense. Wide angle, portrait or fashion shoot this lense is a gem. F1.8 gives a besutiful bokeh. Beautiful color rendering. Super light weight to carry along travel. Perfect match with a7rIV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice lens

SEL55F18Z 12/03/2021 by MRVR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focus not as quick as on the G Master lenses but a gret little lens, light with a classic focal length and decent minimum focus distance. I miss the focus hold button that is found on some of the G series lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer support
15/03/2021

Hi MRVR

Thank you for your review.

We're glad you like the lens and have passed your valuable feedback about focus holding and speed through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support UK

0

Paint has come off lens after first use.

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2021 by Dave 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased fro LCE Bristol, I took lens to do video of deer at local park. Turning th lens, the pait came away on barrel. Very dissapointed as i paid lots of money for thIS. Plus the lens breathes alot for video work. I don't this the shop was familiar with video shooting. I explained to shop paint coming off but nothing about getting a correct lens that doesn't have paint coming off.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony support
15/02/2021

Hi Dave 5,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you went through this experience.
Having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support UK

0

Scratches really easy

SEL55F18Z 27/12/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sorry i'm very dissapointed as this cost me £800 and it's not got a decent amount of paint on it to protect it. Powder paint i expect. I wont be buying any more sony lens. 1st time I used this.

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL55F18Z 02/12/2020 by Roxocub3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens after watching many reviews for my new Sony a73 and I absolutely love it! It has it all, nice build, super sharp, much better than the 50mm one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Sharp at all. Chromatic Aberration.

SEL55F18Z 16/10/2020 by EyeWriteLight (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold my Sigma 50mm F1.4 to purchase this lens. But Sigma 50mm F1.4 is sharper than this lens and doesn't have Chromatic Aberration in High Contrast edges.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 06/10/2020 by Flow2 (United Kingdom)

great image quality, build ,autofocus and very compact for a ff lens, impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like the Hubble telescope.

SEL55F18Z 20/09/2020 by Ynos01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The images I’ve taken from this lens are outrageous. Frankly, Sony need to give themselves a good talking to and allow the others to catch up. Buy it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great form factor

SEL55F18Z 28/03/2020 by PJM171 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I could no be more happy with this lens. I have over a dozen lenses but had not got a 50/55 as it was not my favourite focal length, but i had read so many good reviews that i decided to add it to my collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Light, Sharp and good value.

SEL55F18Z 26/03/2020 by Mick A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a long time Fuji user but because I wanted the best BIF and sports action camera I opted for an A9. Apart from the 200-600 for my main use I needed to get an all round street/general photography lens to justify this system along side my Fuji. I have been stunned by the quality of my 55mm. i assumed Fuji had it sown up, but the quality and versatility of this lens has made me think seriously about trading in my Fuji gear and getting the sister 85mm lens for my use.The 55mm is so crisp and the Bokeh is lovely. Get it........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

a super sharp fast lens

SEL55F18Z 03/03/2020 by dad48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens as part of a deal with a A7iii, and I am pleased that I did. It is super sharp across the aperture range and has a quality feel about its construction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wonderful lens

SEL55F18Z 01/03/2020 by MarkQ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly light, very sharp, fast AF and lovely colours and contrast. As good a ‘50’ (ish) lens as I’ve ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Art & Engineering Excellence

SEL55F18Z 28/02/2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with my A7RIV about a year ago along with 3 Sony GM lens. The body and other lenses are all great but this lens is outstanding. It stays on my camera 90% of the time. It's sharp, it's fast and it's tiny. I might upgrade my other gear but this will be with me forever. It's so good I get excited every time I see it. (I know!) If you own a Sony camera you must get this lens, it will be the best purchase you ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Sharpness is amazing

SEL55F18Z 04/02/2020 by Stevo1626 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in December never really considered doing any kind of portrait work but this lens alone combined with the a7iii has really changed my style of photography. Awesome lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp ++

SEL55F18Z 24/01/2020 by FED20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this lens for a few months now, it is a delight. It is used on a Sony A7 mk 3. Very sharp, lovely bokeh. It is well balanced on the camera and has become one of my favourite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 06/01/2020 by D S S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although not a new model this lens gives great sharpness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little lens, big performer

SEL55F18Z 24/11/2019 by jloz (USA)

This lens is lightning fast and easy on the wrists while delivering IQ expected of Zeiss. I mainly use this lens for poorly lighted indoor/outdoor portraits. Even at high ISO (up to 6400), IQ is still good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A eternal classic

SEL55F18Z 17/11/2019 by CARLOSANDRADE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it a week ago anyway I have already some pics that confirm why I choosed theese lens as premium lens for my A6400. Quite sharp, and colour rendering fantastic. That's why passing years they are one of the best...a classic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My first Prime for Sony

SEL55F18Z 15/11/2019 by MarkIsMe (USA)

I bought this lens 4 years ago when I purchased my a7r2. Now that I’m on the a7riv, It is still my “go to” lens when traveling a new city or only have the chance to carry a single lens on the camera. While in Boston I happened to be snapping away at the skyline in Boston Common. A squirrel caught my eye. Had to be 10 meters away. I clicked over to continuous focus and caught several images of these guys. This is cropped in at 100%. This is such a fast lens, it keeps autofocus and gorgeous bokeh. Just buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Why buy the 50mm?

SEL55F18Z 09/10/2019 by noahthomas03 (USA)

I bought this lens after reading comparisons between this one, and the Zeiss 50mm. Needless to say I'm very happy I saved some extra cash and went with this one. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/10/2019

Hi, noahthomas03!

This shot is perfect! We are glad you are happy with your new Sony lens. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

great construction

SEL55F18Z 11/09/2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense around a month ago and I am very pleased with the outstanding results it gives me especially when doing night street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best lens I have ever had! expensive but the best!

SEL55F18Z 08/09/2019 by GrégoireC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Trials, first time using the lens, great fun to experiment..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Most versatile lens!

SEL55F18Z 20/08/2019 by Noornuri (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens can do it all, from micro to macro. A must have!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2019

Hi, Noornuri!

We are glad to hear your positive feedback on your Sony SEL55F18Z lens. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

The best prime lens for the A7iii

SEL55F18Z 05/07/2019 by Rookwood Productions (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tax sharp and a great all rounder lens. I use this lens most on my camera. Quickest auto focus I’ve ever seen. And stable as any thing I’ve ever used. Now looking at the 35mm prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12/06/2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it!

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2019 by Atabales (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and I am so happy with it. Can wait for more Sony lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16/02/2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07/02/2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07/01/2019 by docv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04/01/2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

3

0

Best prime I've ever used!

SEL55F18Z 02/01/2019 by Scott SW (United Kingdom)

5 months in with this awesome lens (on A7iii) and absolutely loving it. I'm at wedding photographer and switched from Nikon to Sony this year, so glad I did! This lens is tack sharp at all apertures, lightening fast, beautiful bokeh, great contrast, tiny, light and great build quality. The only con - no manual focus / auto focus switch but hey that can be mapped to a custom button. If you're worried about the price over another 50mm you will be pleased you took the plunge on this one. Ref. I've owned Nikon 50mm f1.4G & Sigma Art 50mm f1.4. Many thanks, Scott

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp as Heck!

SEL55F18Z 30/12/2018 by Sierra NV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp. Solid build yet light and compact. Overall, great prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tack Sharp & Fast.

SEL55F18Z 11/12/2018 by Teotizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last 1stDec'18 with A7III as a package after I straight swap it with my Nikon arsenal D300, battery grip, nikkor 24-70f2.8, 105f2, Tokina 100 macro, Tokina 11-18, SB800, nikon tele 2X, R1 macro flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Technological Marvel

SEL55F18Z 26/11/2018 by Hillclimber (USA)

I've owned this and several other Sony/Zeiss lenses for a while now, and this lens is special. It's not the sharpness that everyone talks about. It's the color rendering and bokeh that make it so special. The size and weight are also a big plus. It's just the most reliable producer of interesting images of any lens I've used. Can't say too many good things about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Small but well-formed

SEL55F18Z 01/11/2018 by Leftyrex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony 850 from some time back, decided to upgrade to an A73R. Most of my lenses are ~1kg apiece, and part of the point is to reduce the weight for everyday photography. The 55mm is small, and seems very well made. From what I can see - limited experience so far - the product is producing nice images.

3

2

0

Possibly the sharpest lens I've ever owned

SEL55F18Z 20/10/2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

When I got my A7R3 I planned to build up a set of primes to go with the zoom I purchased with the camera, and this was first on my list. If I'm honest before buying I would have preferred a 50mm, but I'm happy to say the 55mm has worked out OK for me; in practice I've not noticed the extra 5mm. The title says it all - this is lens is amazingly sharp. It also focuses very quickly, and I've found it to be excellent for portraits and as a general walk-around prime where wide shots aren't needed. I've noticed some lateral chromatic aberrations (colour fringing at the point focus drops out) in certain circumstances, but it isn't a deal breaker by any means - I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice it. I wouldn't hesitate to use this lens for paid work at all. Contrast is great, as is colour rendition, though I'd say its more neutral than saturated. Camera settings can change this, of course. I like that the lens is relatively compact and very light, which makes it easy to carry as an alternative to a heavy zoom. It's also nice to see that it includes a lens bag and hood, but then it isn't a low cost lens at all. It's pricey but well worth the cost in my opinion, and I stand by my comment about sharpness - it's amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 24/09/2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

outstanding pictures and sharpness of the lenses The camera feels like a extension of your hand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super sharp and super quiet.

SEL55F18Z 07/09/2018 by Andyvalver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantasic little lens. Silent autofocus and a super sharp image. Really impressed with it. I just wish there was a 35mm 1.8 for around the same price or less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens.

SEL55F18Z 23/08/2018 by Mark C (United Kingdom)

This lens is truly stunning.Vibrant colours,the detail is amazing across the frame. The handling is superb,small,light with super fast accurate focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Awesome Lens!!!

SEL55F18Z 03/08/2018 by Ray Picart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the sharpest and the best lens money can buy. You will never regret buying it. Portable, light, durable and fast. Definitely I would recommend to a friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

New Zeiss 55mm lens

SEL55F18Z 15/07/2018 by Jim4848 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This my first Sony Lens and it is wonderful and very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens, amazing sharpness

SEL55F18Z 29/06/2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has to be one of the sharpest lenses you can buy. but for me it's not just about that. With great micro contrast, beautiful colour and the Zeiss "pop" you will love the images. It's small enough to work well with any of the a7 models and unlike some other lenses out there you can use it wide open a f1.8. Such a lovely walk about lens if you don't want the bulk of anything larger. Well worth the money paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 21/05/2018 by Asela (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really please with this lens. It's lightweight and portable. The pictures are crisp and sharp, autofocus is fast - overall a very good versatile lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If You Love Street Photography, Must Have.

SEL55F18Z 15/05/2018 by Whyment (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great prime lens for street photography, food, people and any daily use. Pro: Sharp, excellent pic quality Beautiful Bokeh Light weight Tiny size Con: N/A

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Compact lens

SEL55F18Z 05/05/2018 by Lees123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very high quality lens which is not only light but I’ve found it be very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact, fast and sharp.

SEL55F18Z 22/04/2018 by Tom R (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to this lens from the basic 50mm Sony lens, and am greatly impressed by its performance and image quality. Solid, crisp focus under a wide variety of conditions. Great bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice lens

SEL55F18Z 13/04/2018 by Clived (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a lovely lens, images are really crisp with nice bokeh. Focus is fast. It is everything I hoped it would be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Gorgeous Lens!

SEL55F18Z 13/04/2018 by craigbrandau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely bright, light and feels solid. I just got it and it will use it everywhere!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

outstanding fast prime

SEL55F18Z 01/04/2018 by drewp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 is sharpest lens I've experienced in 50 years of photography. What would make it better is to have non focus-by-wire, because (occasional) manual focus is tiresome. Small compact light fast and extremely high performance. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens. Wonderful pictures.

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens for all styles of pictures. Wonderfully sharp and wonderful bokah. At first look it seems pricey but this is one lens that wont gather dust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact brilliance

SEL55F18Z 24/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant image quality in a compact size. Amazing resolution and IQ. Lenses are generally getting larger in order to achieve the resolution figures required for today's high megapixel sensors, but this lens proves that it can be done in a compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens primarily for portraiture, but it excels in most situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1