FE 70-200MM F4 G OSS

Product Reviews

$1,799.99

82

4.8 based on 82 customer reviews

68
12
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

85 Customer Reviews

0

Nice lens to work with

SEL70200G 12/11/2019 by BYC0 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used this lens to film a wedding it gave great coverage from wide to zoom ,my clients were not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My go to lens

SEL70200G 08/11/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After switching from a Canon 5Ds to a Sony A7iii I was contemplating adapting my existing canon lenses with an adapter. I found that it worked okay but hunted for focus quite a bit. So I made the decision to sell my canon lenses and go native. I purchased the 70-200 f4 and I can’t believe how sharp and fast it is. It’s half the weight of the canon 70-200 L lens. Works surprisingly well in low light also. I’d definitely recommend this to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 70mm 200mmG

SEL70200G 25/10/2019 by B1ueboy74 (United Kingdom)

I’m an amateur photographer and just do it as a hobby so am no expert, I’m very happy with my purchase and the quality is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travel zoom

SEL70200G 21/09/2019 by VanRobin (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this for a few years and it is a really good lens if you recognize that it isn't a super fast lens. On the other hand it is something that you don't need a rolling suitcase to carry it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hi, VanRobin!

Good to know that you're happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Great lens; sharp images

SEL70200G 06/09/2019 by Topher34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens a few weeks ago and really happy so far. Good in low light and images are crisp and clear. Quality is good and feels well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

the lens ig good

SEL70200G 04/09/2019 by badone (Canada)

I bought this lens less then a month ago The lens hood was locked on and fell off

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2019

Hi, badone!

We are sorry for what happened. We recommend contacting the nearest Sony Authorized Service Center to assist you further: https://ca.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Superb Lens

SEL70200G 01/09/2019 by MinoltaD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought from Camera Centre UK, Sadly the lens hood was missing from the box and I’m still waiting for Sony to send a replacement to the store, need hood to fully test sharpness of this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

70-200mm f4

SEL70200G 30/08/2019 by Reds fan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the lens a couple of months ago. I am absolutely delighted with it. I would not hesitate when advising anyone to purchase this lens. It is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Greate Feautures

SEL70200G 28/08/2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

this lens is amazing for lot of things , i use it for next day wedding photoshoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens with a bargain price

SEL70200G 25/08/2019 by Donkey45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I bought this lens I already owned the 2.8 GM version and this was a purchase for my son. All I can say is wow. It's a joy to use, af is fast and accurate the iq is amazing and it's so light weight. Obviously the 2.8 is better but at this price it's a must have. Buy it you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good lens

SEL70200G 13/08/2019 by Mitchroth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really wanted the 2.8 version but it was $1000 more! Wish I got that one though cause I want to use a 2x tele converter. can not be used on this lens .This lens is very nice and good pics!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Tele lens

SEL70200G 02/08/2019 by borolr (United Kingdom)

I have this lens from a year ago and I am very happy with the results. It produces a very sharp images from corner to corner using the right settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very sharp

SEL70200G 02/07/2019 by Darylg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Tamron SP 70-300 A mount with LA-EA3 adapter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sharp and light in weight

SEL70200G 10/03/2019 by None discript (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and I am glad I was talked out of buying the F2.8 version as it is nearly half of the weight but even at F4 minimum I found this lens to be very sharp and with excellent shallow depth of field. Its lightweight means that I can carry and use a telephoto most of the day without getting tired compared to a very much heavier and more expensive F2.8 70-200 lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

An all round favourite zoom lens for landscape pho

SEL70200G 03/03/2019 by Tripod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this product for eight months in all weathers and have found it to an excellent piece of kit.It's very well balanced making it easy to hand hold and the compact design means it takes up little space in the camera bag.The optics are outstanding and the total weight is comparatively low. Ideal for travel and hiking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Early results a bit soft

SEL70200G 02/03/2019 by PhotoH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ore testing is required. I bought this to have a more portable option to the f2.8 but I think it may not be as sharp, but certainly is more affordable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS

SEL70200G 17/02/2019 by Gracai (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the lens for about 5 months now and I am very pleased with the resulting images that the lens produces, couple with the Sony A7R mkiii it's a wining combination. I used to have a Canon 70 - 200mm F2.8 but I really don't miss it and this lighter lens is a joy to carry around. I am a wedding photographer but this lens is perfect for portraits, landscapes and brilliant for sports.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice quailty lens

SEL70200G 14/01/2019 by jad70 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a perfect mid range zoom lens. It is well constructed and extremely sharp at f11. I only wish that Sony would make a 2x lens extender for the F4 model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

beautiful built lens.

SEL70200G 19/12/2018 by Mikeybikey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

only had the lens for a month but what I see is sharp corners even a f4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lens

SEL70200G 18/11/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in the spring before my 2 week vacation. It worked very well. I am sure there are better lens out there but for the money its a great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 16/11/2018 by fredbollox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this summer and really enjoying the balance on my A7R body. Seems to be sharp pretty much across the range with fast accurate autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

SEL70200G 30/10/2018 by W8STY (United Kingdom)

Used it when I was lucky enough to go on cruise to Greenland _ very pleased with photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Incredibly sharp and versatile

SEL70200G 25/09/2018 by JaWalUk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp, versatile, great functions and size. Came from a 2.8 version and much happier with this as it's light enough to keep in my bag at all times. Brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL70200G 04/09/2018 by Javamidge (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this lens for about a month and have taken approx 1000 shots with it. The results are stunning. Extremely sharp and quick to lock focus. I am very happy with the performance of this lens and would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

AMAZING

SEL70200G 01/09/2018 by TOPCOACH (United Kingdom)

TRULY AMAZING GLAD I MOVED TO SONY FROM CANON, WELL BETTER PRODUCT IN 4K ALSO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent if you get a good example!

SEL70200G 11/08/2018 by iMarGo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My lens is super sharp, handles really well, OSS is amazing, really happy! Only problem is you’ve got to get a good copy, my first one was terrible, blurry shots, OSS issues but was claimed to be ‘within spec’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Best lens in the case

SEL70200G 11/08/2018 by Rjbeecher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has an amazing 200mm zoom. It has captured some of my best shots without being invasive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality. and great features.

SEL70200G 08/08/2018 by Geoff42 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens in June and have now had the time to use it in many situations and I cannot fault it. it is a good all round lens and a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Lens minus the tripod collae

SEL70200G 19/07/2018  (Canada)

Literally the best lens for your money. 900% would reccomend except the tripod collar comes loose so they messed up the design there. But that doesn’t matter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ultimate Action Lens

SEL70200G 12/07/2018 by DelayedPleasure (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great lens. F4 may not be as shallow as 2.8, but it still does a fantastic job!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200G 25/06/2018  (Canada)

I Love it. Sure, is Ridiculous Expensive, I think Sony need to review it's price, it's heavy, it's big, it's Beautiful, it's insanely Sharp, Fast AF, robust, really well built and the pictures, are amazing. I just love it, specially the hold buttons, the right amount, 3 of them, so when I use in a portrait mode I still have a button on my finger tips, just love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

high quality, very practical.

SEL70200G 14/06/2018 by TerenceM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this about 4 times - taken a few hundred shot. It is reliably sharp from f4 to f22. also at low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this lens

SEL70200G 13/06/2018 by Scorpio2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good images with super colors and sharpness! Great in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My 70-200 f4

SEL70200G 29/05/2018 by Raybelline (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value and good images..................................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love the lens as an all around

SEL70200G 09/04/2018 by cutolo (USA)

I bought this lens few months before Sony released the 2.8 version. I was not sure I did the right buy but eventually it turned out to be perfect for my need. I used mostly in the day light and for landscape on tripod. I am not looking for fast AF as I use it mostly manual focus. The sharpness is as expected and the colours are the strengths of most Sony lens and camera. To close very satisfied and think twice to buy the 2.8 version as I see that lens for different users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice medium telephoto

SEL70200G 01/02/2018 by Deejay53 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to get a bit of reach for some wildlife photography in the mountain forests of Uganda. Worked well despite some focus challenges as the subject was hidden behind leaves and branches. Spotfocus was a help. Would have liked an f2.8 but could afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than I expected.

SEL70200G 26/01/2018 by Bounty Hunter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was apprehensive about getting this lens as all my other lenses are prime lenses. I considered that this lens would not be as sharp and the quality would be lacking however I was pleasantly surprised and I can honestly say that I am not disappointed. It offers great versatility whilst on a shoot, it looks good and it performs very well indeed. I am glad I made the decision to buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice

SEL70200G 28/12/2017 by tom557 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens performs extremely well, just buy it! Pics are sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A terrific lens

SEL70200G 18/12/2017 by DigitalAlan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for a couple of weeks and very pleased with the results on my A7RII. Focus is very fast and it tracks well. Images a very crisp and colours well captured. A great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic lens

SEL70200G 23/11/2017 by brum1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great allrounder lightweight first expensive lens not sorry brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens. Shame about Sony's pricing

SEL70200G 17/11/2017 by Hughzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is often overlooked as people seem to be drawn more to the G Master. This is ashame as this lens is a fantastic performer and extremely light. It's just ashame that Sony still sells its lenses at prices that are far too high

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

First impressions

SEL70200G 09/10/2017 by alanealing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have not had the chance to test in depth, I took the lens with my A6500 along a Thames walk last week. Highly impressed with the sharpness from all angles. Zoom is smooth. Colours accurate on the sunny day. Autumn colours especially. Lens is heavy which I expected, but I carried it around all afternoon with no fatigue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Not a robust lens

SEL70200G 30/08/2017 by Pietmann (USA)

Looks like a tank and appears as an competitor alternative. Lens is not pro grade and can't be used as I used my competitors white lens. Focus not working after a impact within the camera bag. Inside it is a plastic lens, cheaply made. A big surprise to me. I googled and many 70-200 f4 and f2.8 users have the same experience. It's a pity that a small steel ring gets bended and fail the focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

11

0

Impress but lacking a tad

SEL70200G 26/08/2017 by Lrs Photog (USA)

This lens is awesome when it's on .... but do to some focus haunting and slow focus I had to knock it down a star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Fabulous lens for travel

SEL70200G 25/08/2017 by svcace (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

While it is true the newer Sony lens is faster, the fact is it is really heavy and the barrel extends. If you travel or do hiking, it is a load to take. The f4 G OSS is simply a wonderful lens and razor sharp at nearly every point. Frankly, the A7'rII I have has such a wonderful low light ability, a faster lens simply is not a priority for me. I can't recommend this lens highly enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Superb Portrait and Landscape Lens

SEL70200G 17/06/2017 by JPearson (Canada)

I have had this lens for a couple months and absolutely Love it! Great focal range, optical quality and solid build. Could not be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good optics but no teleconverter available

SEL70200G 08/06/2017 by Desoscar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As above when are Sony going to make more lenses/converters

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Just the best

SEL70200G 19/04/2017 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This brilliant lens that complaments my Sony A7, so pleased to have it in my bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Just the ticket

SEL70200G 23/09/2016 by Camshy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On camera most of the time since getting. Size and weight are reason I chose this rather than to f2.8, being I shoot landscapes f4 is fine. Stabilization works great for hand held shots though that's rare. Image quality so far from lens and the A7R have really helped take my photography to a new level, so much so that I now have prints rather than just digital copies. Regularly print 20" x 30" and 16" x 36", also a 20" x 59". Anyone with E mount who shoots landscapes should get this lens as it doesn't disappoint.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Spot on!

SEL70200G 26/06/2016 by Kohakoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read a few negatives about this lens being soft max zoom. I think I'm one of the lucky ones, its spot on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Light, versatile, accurate and extremely fast auto

SEL70200G 18/01/2016 by dynot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased last month and has been my main camera lens so far and I am very pleased with the results. Though rated at F4 the Sony A7Rii that I am using it with far outweighs this. I am looking forward to Sony releasing a 2,8 which I am sure, when released will become the lens of choice for many photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

A must have lens for sony e-mount users

SEL70200G 09/06/2015 by Fatbobby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great lens for both my A7 and A6000 . Excellent image quality on both cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

nice balance with camera

SEL70200G 22/05/2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

fitted in well with my setup and the screen helps with low level shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Switching to Sony

SEL70200G 23/04/2015 by mehansen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been a Nikon user forever - shifting to Sony -The 70-200 and the camera combined feel like they weigh less than the Nikon 70-200 alone. and the clarity/sharpness is right there - Thanks Sony - Now you need a 2x like my nikon and we're really in business!

13

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 15/04/2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used this lens for a number of weeks on a 7R, I am very pleased with the purchase. I have used it as a general purpose lens, because it has the image stabilisation which my prime lens does not have and with the 7R you do need to be careful of camera shake/movement, so when I cannot use my tripod I like to use this lens. Of particular note for me are some of my outdoor portrait work with this lens, producing excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smooth

SEL70200G 14/04/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Even though I have had less time using the lense than I would have liked I have found the lense smooth and steady with crisp detail even when hand held and the light levels are not at their best . Worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

WoW fast focus

SEL70200G 06/04/2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this lens with a mirror less camera is just awesome. It's light small and has an image quality second to none. Used with the A6000 it's focus capabilities are fantastic, Using it with 36 mp gives an image quality which will amaze.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

32

0

0

Portrait Lens? Who Knew!

SEL70200G 28/03/2015 by CraigC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In addition to be the obvious telephoto lens it was designed for, finding some creative uses as a portrait tool.

7

4

0

hard to focus in low light

SEL70200G 23/03/2015 by cyclemichael (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to focus in low light is probable more of a problem with my Sony a7. Even when using my BIG Sony flash, its hard to focus in low light because there is no IR Preflash focus assist

7

5

0

Fantastic Glass

SEL70200G 03/03/2015 by Gmoney4u (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens new and have been completely pleased with its operation. It takes exceptionally clear images at all focal lengths. The auto focus is crisp and fast. The lens is light and well balanced for controlled hand held telephoto shooting. The lens feel solid and well built and looks good.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stable picture even handheld

SEL70200G 28/02/2015 by simonog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last week. This is the first telephoto I have had where used with a Sony Alpha 7 II I can take a full zoom picture handheld and it's rock solid stable. Well made lens with easy action and good performance.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best Bargain Of My Year

SEL70200G 25/02/2015 by BigELVIS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I borrowed this lens last summer for a very intensive shoot overseas in Korea for two weeks. It was a life saver. Using the Fe 70-200 F4 G OSS was the same as finding an oasis in the desert. The lens was so light on my Sony A7 so that even with a bum shoulder I always would forget about it until I needed it. Working with it and my 24 to 70 mm F4 lens was a pleasure and I really worked it hard. I shot every day In all kinds of conditions sometimes in really dark places and using the 70 to 200 mm, I shot a lot of interesting photos without a tripod shooting wide open at F4. I made images with that lens at 1/15 of a second handheld and sharp as a razor's edge. I was able to capture the subtle color that lived inside the color photographs that I saw in some very dark places. Buying this lens may be the best deal that I may have made recently. It is small and light and travels well. You can carry it in a jacket pocket or photo vest. And finally - the lens sturdiness is a plus and it is also as sharp as a serpent's tooth. It's a truly great lens!

11

0

0

Excellent, sharp lens.

SEL70200G 10/02/2015 by ClarkyAviation (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely excellent lens. The build quality is fantastic, although with my sample the tripod collar moves too easily when it is supposedly locked down. The IS is decent, not as good as a cheaper competitor lens that I have, but it is a heck of a lot quieter. Focussing is essentially silent, as is changing aperture. This lens feels like it's built like a tank and could really stand up to abuse. The size is great for an FE system like my A7s, although I feel it's a lot more comfortable to use with a battery grip installed. It's a bit pricey for what it is, to be honest, but offset against the cost of the camera (in comparison to the competition) the overall price about evens out. But the lens is super sharp, lovely bokeh. I've been using it for aerial photography, and just general photo taking, and it's performed extremely well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love my new Lens

SEL70200G 06/02/2015 by forgiven (USA)

I took my Sony FE70-200mm F4 G OSS lens on a road trip. The photos I took out the window of my car while the driver was going around 60 miles per hour. I was very happy with how clear and crisp the photos were. I have a Nex 7 camera and the colors were great. I have loved my NEX 7 and find this new lens a great addition. The lens fits well in my hand. The only draw back is the weight when I carry it around. Both photos below were taken while the car was moving at a good speed.

16

0

0

an excellent lens

SEL70200G 04/02/2015 by jotaenege (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the 70-200, but rather wait if they make a 70-300 with a similar design

1

5

0

Simply put, a terrific lens!!!!!!!!!!!

SEL70200G 14/01/2015 by CharlieS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is well worth the money. You get what you pay for.

1

4

0

Super Lens

SEL70200G 03/01/2015 by photooutdoorsman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony FE70-200 F4 G OSS E-mount Zoom Lens is just abnout the best that money can buy. This lens is sharp as a tac and delivers constantly great images.

4

0

0

Optimus Prime

SEL70200G 30/12/2014 by ProArte (USA)

If you own an a7R, this is definitely the lens to capture images of sports, birds, portraiture, and videos. It is the only zoom lens that has the razor sharpness to match the high resolution sensor of the a7R; for example, when you take a picture of NASCAR 51, you will be able to discern each and every hair of Justin Allgaier's eyebrows. I have been using this FE 70-200 F4 G since it was first issued by Sony for everything but macrophotography. The color is perfect and there is no distortion. Marvelous landscapes come from closing the aperture down to have foreground to infinity in focus. Attach a polarizing filter and capture rainbow trout swimming in the clear mountain streams. Project the image on a 12 ft screen to see shimmering fish scales. If you are going to attach a zoom lens to the a7R, make it this one; and take spectacular photographs everywhere you go.

16

0

0

Great lens

SEL70200G 29/12/2014 by ezgl33 (USA)

This lens provides excellent image quality in a not too big package. It is a great addition to any full frame E-mount kit.

3

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 27/12/2014 by calm1954 (USA)

One of my favorites. This lens is sharp and has a fast AFS. I highly recommend this lens!

3

0

0

Superb ... as in GOOD

SEL70200G 27/12/2014 by Smart45 (USA)

Purchased specifically for a safari trip to Africa. It performed flawlessly. I took several thousand pictures and my only complaints had to do with the number of shots of my feet (taken by mistake).

2

0

0

Superb!!

SEL70200G 25/11/2014 by Grrrowl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent build quality and superb fast sharp AF all in a nice tiny package. OSS is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0