FE 70-200MM F4 G OSS

Product Reviews

$1,799.99

110

4.8 based on 110 customer reviews

93
12
3
1
1
Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

WoW fast focus

SEL70200G 06/04/2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

Using this lens with a mirror less camera is just awesome. It's light small and has an image quality second to none. Used with the A6000 it's focus capabilities are fantastic, Using it with 36 mp gives an image quality which will amaze.

35

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Tack sharp

SEL70200G 30/11/2019 by Vats (United Kingdom)

While everything about this lens is to be liked - there is one particular problem that is pretty annoying. There is loads of purple fringing in high contrast areas. To go for a 2.8 is way out of my means, the reviews that I had read before making this selection is that you lose 1 stop of light compared to f2.8 but everything else is comparable. Not saying regretting the decision but when you pay over a grand you expect the native lens to stand head and shoulders above similar 3rd party lenses

3

0

110 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing lens!

SEL70200G 31/05/2022 by Ramdown (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for the past 2 or 3 weeks. It has so far made my life easier, the quality of the glass is just so good. I never thought I could take photos as good as I did with this lens. It has a lot of switches for focus, stabilisation, focus lock just like it should. The weight is ideal. Being a lens that doesn't extend and with a constant F4 is very useful, but if I could improve on that, I'd like an F2.8 or lower (I know there is an F2.8 GM version but for almost twice the money). In evenings you start to struggle unless you have your own lighting. An amazing lens that I do not regret spending my hard earned money on, at all! The zoom and focus rings are very good, with the perfect amount of dampening and the zoom ring has a shirt throw so you can be precise and quick. Autofocus does a great job, you would almost never have a situation where you'd have to use manual focus. I use it with an A6400 and it does a tremendous job. Couldn't recommend it more!

0

0

0

Great AF and bokeh

SEL70200G 25/05/2022 by Alexander B (United Kingdom)

I bought this over the 100-400 a month ago and am delighted with the purchase. The bird eye AF is superb and sign has short throe on zoom which allows shots I never had before, great reach cf 100-400 and can still use a telconvertor . Plus it is great value for money

0

0

0

Love it. For an F4 it’s perfect

SEL70200G 18/04/2022 by Trudgin (United Kingdom)

Focus hold us excellent. It is so light, it weighs like a cheap lens and shoots like a pro. Pity about no 2.8 but the weight would double just pray for sun. Image quality is excellent - did I mention light

0

0

0

Excellent, fast focusing and compact lens

SEL70200G 25/03/2022 by draganmikki (United Kingdom)

For the first time I decided to buy this kind of zoom with F4.0, the widest aperture. As zooms go this is a quite a compact one. Quality of the images is exemplary, as long as you are happy to settle for slightly deeper depth of field. Focusing is fast and precise, and overall this is an excellent lens.

0

0

0

Great all round lens

SEL70200G 15/03/2022 by oldcol (United Kingdom)

I have owned the lens for a couple of months now great wildlife lens use it all the time

0

0

0

Bought with expectation of £200 cashback

SEL70200G 28/10/2021 by Kevbha (United Kingdom)

I bought the FE70200 F4 from Wex in Whitechapel when Sony was offering £200 cashback but the cashback never materialised. Why Sony? I registered the product as was required for the cashback.

0

6

Response From Sony Support Team
01/11/2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you didn't receive the cashback on your lens.
From the screenshot you've sent us, it shows that the date of purchase as the 30th of July 2021. Which means that the lens was part of the summer cashback campaign which has ended unfortunately.
As the campaign period was [5 May 2021 - 31 July 2021], and you need to claim it after 30 days of the date of purchase between [4 June 2021 - 30 September 2021], and you can check the rest of the terms and conditions through this link: https://bit.ly/3GGPAib.
And, after you register it on your MySony account, you need to submit the claim separately through this link: https://bit.ly/3jVyHXm.
Again, we're sorry about any unintended inconvenience.

If you've already submitted the claim but there's an issue with it, you can reach back to us and we'll gladly assist you: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sawy @ Sony Support UK

0

Great mid-range telephoto zoom lens

SEL70200G 24/10/2021 by Laiso (USA)

Despite the fact that it opens up to f/4 only, it can handle every situation: portrait, sport, motor sport, landscape. Picture quality and sharpness are on point.

0

0

0

Excellent results.

SEL70200G 16/10/2021 by Cheslyn (United Kingdom)

I have being using for nearly six months. Very happy with the quality and results of the lens, the only thing I can criticise is that it is slightly heavy for me personally.

0

0

0

Excellent value for money

SEL70200G 13/10/2021 by Cjbradbury91 (United Kingdom)

This lens is my go to telephoto lens to match with my a6400. The compact size and light weight keep my keep easy to transport and fairly discreet. The f4 aperture gives a nice bokeh for portraits and the sharpness is out of this world for the price of the lens. The tripod mount is strong and sturdy and can be adjusted to rotate the lens to any angle. The zoom ring is smooth in its action and the range of motion to go from 70mm to 200mm isn’t so long that you have to strain to reach from one end to the other. The internal zoom action keeps the lens compact and balanced and the case and lens hood are of excellent quality. I would definitely recommend this lens to others and it is incredible value for money for the sharpness and image quality that it produces.

0

0

0

Goo sharp images

SEL70200G 13/10/2021 by mountainman2 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, great sharp images, is well balanced, a joy to use.

0

0

0

Still waiting for £200 cash back

SEL70200G 15/08/2021 by Kevelo (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens on the basis of the Sony £200 cash back offer but am yet to receive the voucher code necessary to process the cashback. Please can this occur before I am asked to review the lens?

0

6

0

Fantastic lens

SEL70200G 03/08/2021 by Savvy21 (United Kingdom)

Bought this last month and I am stunned with the quality of the photos. It has improved my photography so much, it is my favorite lens

0

0

0

Fast and Sharp

SEL70200G 10/05/2021 by Naj41 (United Kingdom)

I decided this would be best for low light photography of Birds

0

2

0

Excellant sharp lens

SEL70200G 08/05/2021 by BOYGED (United Kingdom)

I have use the lens for portraits and wildlife and the lens is light to carry about and the images are nice and sharp

1

0

0

Excellent

SEL70200G 09/03/2021 by Coolphill (United Kingdom)

Not used much yet but so far extremely happy Possibly a little heavy but no more than competitors

0

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL70200G 18/02/2021 by Adriansviewpoint (United Kingdom)

It was a toss-up between this and the G-Master.... I opted for this due to price and size. I'm sure the G-Master is amazing, but for the saving in cost and weight I am more than pleased with this lens.

0

0

0

Sharp and Crisp

SEL70200G 09/01/2021 by High Noon (United Kingdom)

The new lens lens gives me the ability in getting more intimate landscapes and I have discovered that the lens is very sharp and crisp throughout the focal range

0

0

0

Even better than I expected!

SEL70200G 21/08/2020 by chrisprice1986 (United Kingdom)

amazing sharp picture, beautiful Bokeh and alpt lighter than i expected

0

0

0

Great Light Lens

SEL70200G 19/06/2020 by Craig749 (United Kingdom)

Been shooting with this lens for a few years with my A6300 and A7iii and its a great lens. Its compact, lightweight and internal zoom which is great for shooting in wet conditions such as the UK. My only two Gripes I have are aesthetical. The white isn't ideal for shooting in muddy environments and also travelling around as i screams expensive lens and i much would have preferred black. Being a landscape photographer the tripod collar would be much better if it was already designed to support Arca Swiss tripod heads instead of buying a 3rd party collar. Apart from those its a fantastic lens!!

0

0

0

Nice solid lens.

SEL70200G 29/05/2020 by Howie24 (United Kingdom)

Only used a few times with lockdown, but very pleased with the handling and quality

0

0

0

Good

SEL70200G 11/05/2020 by Robbie101 (United Kingdom)

Not had much time to put it through it's paces due to this lockdown but tryed it in the garden very impressed with quality of the images carnt wait to go out properly with it

0

0

0

Great sharp lens.

SEL70200G 28/03/2020 by BobTaylor (United Kingdom)

Had this lens for about a month, super sharp with fast autofocus. This is a great lens on my A7iii.

0

0

0

Compression master

SEL70200G 27/03/2020 by mikey222 (United Kingdom)

This beauty completes my ideal range of lenses. I have used this lens only for a few shots to date, but the sharpness, speed, and compression needed is quite exceptional. I did not find a need to go to the f2.8 as most of my work would be from f5.6 -f11

0

0

0

Sony 70-200 f4

SEL70200G 15/12/2019  (United Kingdom)

Perfect lens not to heavy and fits in my camera bag perfectly so its always with me.

0

0

0

Tack sharp

SEL70200G 30/11/2019 by Vats (United Kingdom)

While everything about this lens is to be liked - there is one particular problem that is pretty annoying. There is loads of purple fringing in high contrast areas. To go for a 2.8 is way out of my means, the reviews that I had read before making this selection is that you lose 1 stop of light compared to f2.8 but everything else is comparable. Not saying regretting the decision but when you pay over a grand you expect the native lens to stand head and shoulders above similar 3rd party lenses

3

0

Response From Customer Support
04/12/2019

Hi Vats,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. To improve the overall performance of the lens, we recommend ensuring that the lens is running the latest software version available for download under the downloads section here: https://bit.ly/2LnkGAJ. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM

Sony Support Team

0

Nice lens to work with

SEL70200G 12/11/2019 by BYC0 (United Kingdom)

I used this lens to film a wedding it gave great coverage from wide to zoom ,my clients were not disappointed.

0

0

0

My go to lens

SEL70200G 08/11/2019  (United Kingdom)

After switching from a Canon 5Ds to a Sony A7iii I was contemplating adapting my existing canon lenses with an adapter. I found that it worked okay but hunted for focus quite a bit. So I made the decision to sell my canon lenses and go native. I purchased the 70-200 f4 and I can’t believe how sharp and fast it is. It’s half the weight of the canon 70-200 L lens. Works surprisingly well in low light also. I’d definitely recommend this to anyone.

1

0

0

Sony 70mm 200mmG

SEL70200G 25/10/2019 by B1ueboy74 (United Kingdom)

I’m an amateur photographer and just do it as a hobby so am no expert, I’m very happy with my purchase and the quality is brilliant.

11

1

0

Great travel zoom

SEL70200G 21/09/2019 by VanRobin (Canada)

Have had this for a few years and it is a really good lens if you recognize that it isn't a super fast lens. On the other hand it is something that you don't need a rolling suitcase to carry it.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hi, VanRobin!

Good to know that you're happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Great lens; sharp images

SEL70200G 06/09/2019 by Topher34 (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens a few weeks ago and really happy so far. Good in low light and images are crisp and clear. Quality is good and feels well made.

0

0

0

the lens ig good

SEL70200G 04/09/2019 by badone (Canada)

I bought this lens less then a month ago The lens hood was locked on and fell off

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2019

Hi, badone!

We are sorry for what happened. We recommend contacting the nearest Sony Authorized Service Center to assist you further: https://ca.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Superb Lens

SEL70200G 01/09/2019 by MinoltaD (United Kingdom)

Bought from Camera Centre UK, Sadly the lens hood was missing from the box and I’m still waiting for Sony to send a replacement to the store, need hood to fully test sharpness of this lens.

0

2

0

70-200mm f4

SEL70200G 30/08/2019 by Reds fan (United Kingdom)

I purchased the lens a couple of months ago. I am absolutely delighted with it. I would not hesitate when advising anyone to purchase this lens. It is superb

2

0

0

Greate Feautures

SEL70200G 28/08/2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

this lens is amazing for lot of things , i use it for next day wedding photoshoot

1

0

0

Excellent lens with a bargain price

SEL70200G 25/08/2019 by Donkey45 (United Kingdom)

When I bought this lens I already owned the 2.8 GM version and this was a purchase for my son. All I can say is wow. It's a joy to use, af is fast and accurate the iq is amazing and it's so light weight. Obviously the 2.8 is better but at this price it's a must have. Buy it you won't be disappointed.

2

1

0

Good lens

SEL70200G 13/08/2019 by mmr1 (USA)

I really wanted the 2.8 version but it was $1000 more! Wish I got that one though cause I want to use a 2x tele converter. can not be used on this lens .This lens is very nice and good pics!

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/08/2019

Hi, Mitchroth!

It is good to know that your shots are good using your new Sony lens. We will forward your feedback about the price to the relevant team. We appreciate your time and thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great Tele lens

SEL70200G 02/08/2019 by borolr (United Kingdom)

I have this lens from a year ago and I am very happy with the results. It produces a very sharp images from corner to corner using the right settings.

0

1

0

Very sharp

SEL70200G 02/07/2019 by Darylg (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a Tamron SP 70-300 A mount with LA-EA3 adapter.

0

1

0

Sharp and light in weight

SEL70200G 10/03/2019 by None discript (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and I am glad I was talked out of buying the F2.8 version as it is nearly half of the weight but even at F4 minimum I found this lens to be very sharp and with excellent shallow depth of field. Its lightweight means that I can carry and use a telephoto most of the day without getting tired compared to a very much heavier and more expensive F2.8 70-200 lens

4

0

0

An all round favourite zoom lens for landscape pho

SEL70200G 03/03/2019 by Tripod (United Kingdom)

I've been using this product for eight months in all weathers and have found it to an excellent piece of kit.It's very well balanced making it easy to hand hold and the compact design means it takes up little space in the camera bag.The optics are outstanding and the total weight is comparatively low. Ideal for travel and hiking.

4

0

0

Early results a bit soft

SEL70200G 02/03/2019 by PhotoH (USA)

Ore testing is required. I bought this to have a more portable option to the f2.8 but I think it may not be as sharp, but certainly is more affordable.

0

0

0

Sony - FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS

SEL70200G 17/02/2019 by Gracai (United Kingdom)

I have had the lens for about 5 months now and I am very pleased with the resulting images that the lens produces, couple with the Sony A7R mkiii it's a wining combination. I used to have a Canon 70 - 200mm F2.8 but I really don't miss it and this lighter lens is a joy to carry around. I am a wedding photographer but this lens is perfect for portraits, landscapes and brilliant for sports.

2

0

0

Nice quailty lens

SEL70200G 14/01/2019 by jad70 (USA)

This is a perfect mid range zoom lens. It is well constructed and extremely sharp at f11. I only wish that Sony would make a 2x lens extender for the F4 model.

1

0

0

beautiful built lens.

SEL70200G 19/12/2018 by Mikeybikey (United Kingdom)

only had the lens for a month but what I see is sharp corners even a f4

1

0

0

great lens

SEL70200G 18/11/2018  (USA)

I bought this lens in the spring before my 2 week vacation. It worked very well. I am sure there are better lens out there but for the money its a great lens.

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 16/11/2018 by fredbollox (United Kingdom)

Bought this summer and really enjoying the balance on my A7R body. Seems to be sharp pretty much across the range with fast accurate autofocus.

0

0

0

Ease of use

SEL70200G 30/10/2018 by W8STY (United Kingdom)

Used it when I was lucky enough to go on cruise to Greenland _ very pleased with photos

1

0

0

Incredibly sharp and versatile

SEL70200G 25/09/2018 by JaWalUk (United Kingdom)

Sharp, versatile, great functions and size. Came from a 2.8 version and much happier with this as it's light enough to keep in my bag at all times. Brilliant

3

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL70200G 04/09/2018 by Javamidge (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this lens for about a month and have taken approx 1000 shots with it. The results are stunning. Extremely sharp and quick to lock focus. I am very happy with the performance of this lens and would definitely recommend.

1

0

0

AMAZING

SEL70200G 01/09/2018 by TOPCOACH (United Kingdom)

TRULY AMAZING GLAD I MOVED TO SONY FROM CANON, WELL BETTER PRODUCT IN 4K ALSO

0

0

0

Excellent if you get a good example!

SEL70200G 11/08/2018 by iMarGo (United Kingdom)

My lens is super sharp, handles really well, OSS is amazing, really happy! Only problem is you’ve got to get a good copy, my first one was terrible, blurry shots, OSS issues but was claimed to be ‘within spec’.

3

4

0

Best lens in the case

SEL70200G 11/08/2018 by Rjbeecher (United Kingdom)

This lens has an amazing 200mm zoom. It has captured some of my best shots without being invasive

0

0

0

High quality. and great features.

SEL70200G 08/08/2018 by Geoff42 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens in June and have now had the time to use it in many situations and I cannot fault it. it is a good all round lens and a joy to use.

0

0

0

Amazing Lens minus the tripod collae

SEL70200G 19/07/2018  (Canada)

Literally the best lens for your money. 900% would reccomend except the tripod collar comes loose so they messed up the design there. But that doesn’t matter.

0

0

0

Ultimate Action Lens

SEL70200G 12/07/2018 by DelayedPleasure (United Kingdom)

It's a great lens. F4 may not be as shallow as 2.8, but it still does a fantastic job!

0

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200G 25/06/2018  (Canada)

I Love it. Sure, is Ridiculous Expensive, I think Sony need to review it's price, it's heavy, it's big, it's Beautiful, it's insanely Sharp, Fast AF, robust, really well built and the pictures, are amazing. I just love it, specially the hold buttons, the right amount, 3 of them, so when I use in a portrait mode I still have a button on my finger tips, just love it.

1

1

0

high quality, very practical.

SEL70200G 14/06/2018 by Terry Dover (USA)

I have used this about 4 times - taken a few hundred shot. It is reliably sharp from f4 to f22. also at low light.

0

0

0

Love this lens

SEL70200G 13/06/2018 by Scorpio2 (USA)

Very good images with super colors and sharpness! Great in low light.

0

0

0

My 70-200 f4

SEL70200G 29/05/2018 by Raybelline (USA)

Good value and good images..................................................

0

0

0

I love the lens as an all around

SEL70200G 09/04/2018 by cutolo (USA)

I bought this lens few months before Sony released the 2.8 version. I was not sure I did the right buy but eventually it turned out to be perfect for my need. I used mostly in the day light and for landscape on tripod. I am not looking for fast AF as I use it mostly manual focus. The sharpness is as expected and the colours are the strengths of most Sony lens and camera. To close very satisfied and think twice to buy the 2.8 version as I see that lens for different users.

1

0

0

Nice medium telephoto

SEL70200G 01/02/2018 by Deejay53 (Canada)

I bought this to get a bit of reach for some wildlife photography in the mountain forests of Uganda. Worked well despite some focus challenges as the subject was hidden behind leaves and branches. Spotfocus was a help. Would have liked an f2.8 but could afford it.

0

0

0

Better than I expected.

SEL70200G 26/01/2018 by Bounty Hunter (United Kingdom)

I was apprehensive about getting this lens as all my other lenses are prime lenses. I considered that this lens would not be as sharp and the quality would be lacking however I was pleasantly surprised and I can honestly say that I am not disappointed. It offers great versatility whilst on a shoot, it looks good and it performs very well indeed. I am glad I made the decision to buy it.

0

0

0

nice

SEL70200G 28/12/2017 by tom557 (USA)

This lens performs extremely well, just buy it! Pics are sharp

0

0

0

A terrific lens

SEL70200G 18/12/2017 by DigitalAlan (United Kingdom)

Had it for a couple of weeks and very pleased with the results on my A7RII. Focus is very fast and it tracks well. Images a very crisp and colours well captured. A great lens.

0

0

0

fantastic lens

SEL70200G 23/11/2017 by brum1234 (United Kingdom)

great allrounder lightweight first expensive lens not sorry brilliant.

0

0

0

Fantastic lens. Shame about Sony's pricing

SEL70200G 17/11/2017 by Hughzy (United Kingdom)

This lens is often overlooked as people seem to be drawn more to the G Master. This is ashame as this lens is a fantastic performer and extremely light. It's just ashame that Sony still sells its lenses at prices that are far too high

5

1

0

First impressions

SEL70200G 09/10/2017 by alanealing (United Kingdom)

Although I have not had the chance to test in depth, I took the lens with my A6500 along a Thames walk last week. Highly impressed with the sharpness from all angles. Zoom is smooth. Colours accurate on the sunny day. Autumn colours especially. Lens is heavy which I expected, but I carried it around all afternoon with no fatigue.

1

1

0

Not a robust lens

SEL70200G 30/08/2017 by Pietmann (USA)

Looks like a tank and appears as an competitor alternative. Lens is not pro grade and can't be used as I used my competitors white lens. Focus not working after a impact within the camera bag. Inside it is a plastic lens, cheaply made. A big surprise to me. I googled and many 70-200 f4 and f2.8 users have the same experience. It's a pity that a small steel ring gets bended and fail the focus.

9

17

0

Impress but lacking a tad

SEL70200G 26/08/2017 by Lrs Photog (USA)

This lens is awesome when it's on .... but do to some focus haunting and slow focus I had to knock it down a star

3

2

0

Fabulous lens for travel

SEL70200G 25/08/2017 by svcace (USA)

While it is true the newer Sony lens is faster, the fact is it is really heavy and the barrel extends. If you travel or do hiking, it is a load to take. The f4 G OSS is simply a wonderful lens and razor sharp at nearly every point. Frankly, the A7'rII I have has such a wonderful low light ability, a faster lens simply is not a priority for me. I can't recommend this lens highly enough.

6

0

0

Superb Portrait and Landscape Lens

SEL70200G 17/06/2017 by JPearson (Canada)

I have had this lens for a couple months and absolutely Love it! Great focal range, optical quality and solid build. Could not be happier.

0

0

0

Good optics but no teleconverter available

SEL70200G 08/06/2017 by Desoscar (United Kingdom)

As above when are Sony going to make more lenses/converters

7

0