FE 85 mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

$2,399.99

17

4.9 based on 17 customer reviews

15
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

17 Customer Reviews

0

One the best portraits lens in the game!

SEL85F14GM 13/08/2018 by AJMCRPhoto (United Kingdom)

One the best portraits lens in the game! Game changer and faster than other brands at focussing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All I hoped for.

SEL85F14GM 09/07/2018 by Sussexandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After much deliberation I part exchanged all of my APS-C equipment and bought an A7-3 and this lens. The lens is magnificent, it is heavy but re-assuringly so, the quality of the images are all that I hoped for. I take many pictures in low light (dawn and dusk) and prefer to avoid external light sources, absolutely no problem for this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharpest and Colourful 85 on the market!

SEL85F14GM 20/04/2018 by GMAN2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely LOVE this lens! Skins tones and colour pop is second to none - truly beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice focal length

SEL85F14GM 05/03/2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great focal length for head to full portrait. The f1.4 aperture draws my subject out from the diffused background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Portrait photography

SEL85F14GM 02/03/2018 by Rudy M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve been using this lens with my Sony A7rii and it’s my go to set up for my portraits photos. Nice solid lens. Amazing bokeh affect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Paradigm shift in 85mm portraiture

SEL85F14GM 13/01/2018 by muhuai (USA)

The rumors were true, it can be said without exaggeration that based on its incredible sharpness and flawless bokeh rendering this lens marks a new paradigm in 85mm portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing glass

SEL85F14GM 13/12/2017 by Photosbydjj tw (USA)

This is my favorite lens the picture is very sharp and the glass is fast. The drop off is very special. I'm using it with my A6300 and I can't wait to start using it on my A7R3 next year

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Build

SEL85F14GM 10/10/2017 by DaneIsaac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I primarily shoot portraits and this was a much needed adition to my line-up. From the creamy bokeh, great image quailty and solid build this is going to be a go to lens for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Glass

SEL85F14GM 22/09/2017 by CameraLaw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I purchased my Sony a7R II, the 85 mm GM was the only lens available. It was, by far, the best piece of glass I’ve ever used. It has rapid autofocus and in aperture priority, I’m able to use it wide open in almost any situation and get amazing results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sony 85mm G Master

SEL85F14GM 10/06/2017 by FearNoMortal (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome bit of glass. 85mm fixed focal length may not suit all however this is a wonderful lens...... bokehlicious with the 1.4 aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Best Portatrait Lens

SEL85F14GM 05/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful lens, very sharp and lovely bokeh. Just an annoying autofocus noise

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

You get what you pay for

SEL85F14GM 31/03/2017 by KEF 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Magical glass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

This lens will be legendary.

SEL85F14GM 14/02/2017 by Sspencer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I plan to keep this lens in my kit at all times. It's an absolute must have for portrait work with Sony E mount cameras. The only issue I can point out is the auto focus noise. It doesn't effect me because I will not use an on camera microphone. If it was a quiet lens then it would be an easy 5 stars from me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

First class lens.

SEL85F14GM 30/11/2016 by Anhow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best lens I've had in 60 years of photography, very pleased with all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

very sharp lens but with few shortcomings

SEL85F14GM 25/10/2016 by OlivierLondon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very impressed with the level of details I get from this lens and I am glad with my purchase. However it is a bulky object that defeats the purpose of my 7RII. Also it is let down by a rather slow autofocus. I thought it would be on par with the best in the business at this price but clearly it can't compete with the likes of Canon or Nikon lenses. I understand it has got a lot of glass to move but stil...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

20

0

Superb glass

SEL85F14GM 25/09/2016 by Aquila1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Stunning Bokeh and pin sharp. Absolute best portarait lens out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

probably the best 85 available

SEL85F14GM 29/04/2016 by BAzzFreeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is probably the best portrait 85mm available right now. The resolving ower is designed far past what todays sensors are capable of which should give it a long useful life. It's a little expensive bu the cost of ownership should even out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45

35