7

4.6 based on 7 customer reviews

5
1
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

No Comparison to the Factory Speakers

XS-R1646 02/12/2019  (USA)

My Jeep Wrangler Unlimited with the factory premium speaker system needed a little extra for when the top was off as the wind noise would drown it all out. I replaced the 5.25" factory speakers in the rollbar sound pods with these 6.5" speakers. No cutting was necessary as the screw holes lined up and the Sony speakers fit in the hole perfectly. I did have to use longer screws though, but that wasn't a big deal. Now, I can hear parts of the music that I couldn't before at 65mph and no top. I liked them so much that I'm replacing the 4" dash corner speakers with the matching 5.25" (or 4x6") versions of the Sonys and replacing my old other brand media player with a DSX-B700 Media player that I just ordered. Now if only Sony made a 6.5" subwoofer that would mount in the factory location in the console.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great highs, poor lows.

XS-R1646 07/04/2020 by CMC4 (USA)

I bought these to replace my stock speakers in a Mitsubishi Lancer. The stock ones hit WAY harder than these. I have a Sony head unit, and hoped these would pair well with it. I was literally screaming in my car at how bad these were on the low end. If you have a subwoofer, these would be great for the high and mid range sounds, but dont buy them if you want lows at all. You can pretty much tell by the magnet size, that these aren't going to be good for lows. They are also smaller than 6.5" I had to buy washers just to make them fit. I also gotta buy different speakers, so I can have a full sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

7 Customer Reviews

0

Great highs, poor lows.

XS-R1646 07/04/2020 by CMC4 (USA)

I bought these to replace my stock speakers in a Mitsubishi Lancer. The stock ones hit WAY harder than these. I have a Sony head unit, and hoped these would pair well with it. I was literally screaming in my car at how bad these were on the low end. If you have a subwoofer, these would be great for the high and mid range sounds, but dont buy them if you want lows at all. You can pretty much tell by the magnet size, that these aren't going to be good for lows. They are also smaller than 6.5" I had to buy washers just to make them fit. I also gotta buy different speakers, so I can have a full sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2020

Hi CMC4, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

No Comparison to the Factory Speakers

XS-R1646 02/12/2019  (USA)

My Jeep Wrangler Unlimited with the factory premium speaker system needed a little extra for when the top was off as the wind noise would drown it all out. I replaced the 5.25" factory speakers in the rollbar sound pods with these 6.5" speakers. No cutting was necessary as the screw holes lined up and the Sony speakers fit in the hole perfectly. I did have to use longer screws though, but that wasn't a big deal. Now, I can hear parts of the music that I couldn't before at 65mph and no top. I liked them so much that I'm replacing the 4" dash corner speakers with the matching 5.25" (or 4x6") versions of the Sonys and replacing my old other brand media player with a DSX-B700 Media player that I just ordered. Now if only Sony made a 6.5" subwoofer that would mount in the factory location in the console.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

best 6.5 speaker there is

XS-R1646 04/11/2019 by Silvestre (USA)

I bought these speakers about a month ago. The bass in them are amazing as i expected cuz there Sony and there at such low price I have these and there 6x9 by Sony and there the perfect match. I also have the Sony xb41. the best Bluetooth speaker on the market

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best bang for the buck in this price range!

XS-R1646 24/10/2019  (USA)

The highs and lows on these speakers are equally impressive. I'm surprised at the bass these speakers put off but I still would not recommend going with out a subwoofer if you really like music like I do. I listen to pretty much everything except qrap, but I mostly listen to Rock and Electronica.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, Al Figred! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

superior

XS-R1646 10/09/2019 by Superdave59 (USA)

Just like their tv’s—top quality and impressive—-you win again Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi, Superdave59!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Awesome sound!

XS-R1646 12/07/2019 by Punchy (USA)

Great for blasting metal in the morning! I love the bass!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great sound

XS-R1646 27/01/2018 by speakersandtweeters (USA)

I installed today in my car ,great experience , this is amazin I heard today songs that i has been listening all my live and I notice today sound tha i did not heard before.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0