CLOCK RADIO

Product Reviews

$39.99

71

3.4 based on 71 customer reviews

23
16
11
9
12
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Small, practical with a good sound.

ICF-C1T 19/09/2016 by Murghy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was better than expected. I was able to pick up a local commercial radio station, which was not possible previously. The clock function is very practical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

ICFC1TWHITE 04/11/2014 by Reddi (USA)

Was unable to tune in area FM public radio station. Tuner knob is very small, difficult to tune in stations. Item was returned (return shipping cost was half the original cost of the item.)

9

0

71 Customer Reviews

0

AWFUL

ICF-C1T 06/01/2020 by ARMJAM79 (USA)

We bought this clock radio to replace another one we had. This is the worst. Doesn't keep the right time and you CANNOT shut off the radio or alarm without pulling out the plug.Very frustrating at 5:00am.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Features I was looking for

ICFC1TBLACK 30/12/2019 by RTorres81 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking for a product that is just a clock. Doesn't connect to the internet, no extra features like wireless charging, clock projector, connect to phone. Just a dual alarm with radio. This is what I was looking for and got. The price was right for the features I was looking for just a clock radio with dual alarm. The mirror face is a plus I didn't expect it to have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features Am and Fm radio!

ICFC1TBLACK 05/10/2019 by Hitheir (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product great for AM broadcast! We just listened to game one of Houston ASTROs!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good

ICF-C1T 06/09/2019 by Web9 (Canada)

I received this second hand, was easy to set up, and works great! Love the dual alarm. Wish the colours were different, but like the battery backup with an indicator on the face.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/09/2019

Hi, Web9! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Very disappointed

ICF-C1T 03/09/2019 by Gayle 44 (USA)

I won't buy this again. Not the same as it was years ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Sony Cube Radio

ICFC1TBLACK 14/07/2019 by Vsherman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cool radio ... we replace one that was 41 years old! Unfortunately, the backup battery in our new radio has to be replaced. We'll be making a trip to Best Buy to see if they can make it good.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Lovely bedroom clock

ICF-C1T 09/06/2019 by Lb06 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this clock and love it I can see the display clearly and just plugged it in and the correct time was on the screen perfect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Disappointed in New Model

ICFC1TB 22/05/2019 by Patty08 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift. I have used Sony square clock radios for over 20 years. My new clock keeps losing time, it is currently 5 minutes behind, within the next several hours, it will be 10 to 12 minutes behind. I have older models that work perfectly but this one is not of the same quality.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

New alarm clock

ICF-C1T 12/04/2019 by Atomicd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only one of its kind available on a Sunday. Came with ‘battery failed’ indicator. Settings not too difficult, seems to keep decent time.

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Clock Radio

ICFC1TBLACK 24/03/2019 by Wickerinthemorning (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This clock radio has everything I was looking for. Two alarms. auto daylight savings time set and easy to use. Highly recommend. Great item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good clock - not so good keeping time

ICF-C1T 08/03/2019 by SP in ATL (USA)

I have had this clock for a few years now, and it consistently loses time. Loses about 1-2 minutes per month. Frustrating.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Missing features

ICFC1TBLACK 23/02/2019 by windsorrider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks like a decent clock radio but it could have been better. The radio tuner is something out of the 1960s, analog, with a tiny dial. Setting the radio to the right station has to be done by ear, the tuner jumps from 88 FM to 92 FM in about a quarter of an inch, which is useless. For the price I expected a digital tuner. The display is rather small, given that it has a 4 x 4 display area all to itself, the clock numerals are only about an inch. Hard to read with my glasses off. And, nothing else displays, you can see which alarm(s) are set, but not what they are set to. To check the alarm, you have to turn it on, and once on, there is no way to display it again. I needed a clock radio quickly., and I trust the Sony brand, but this is a weak product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Not great product

ICF-C1T 12/02/2019 by Extremely Disappointed 2 (USA)

Purchased this product year ago. Followed manual precisely to set up. Have had multiple issues since purchasing. Past few weeks radio quit working. Now, clock randomly starts beeping then flashing month, date, hour and minute (without even touching it). Only way to get it to stop was by unplugging, since none of the buttons worked. After plugging it back in, unable to change any numbers displayed. Just flashes numbers and beeps, still no radio either. Tried to add video to show, but sony requires to be posted through you tube, which I don't have.

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

I Have Never Gotten The Correct Time - Slow

ICF-C1T 10/01/2019 by Beautiful (USA)

I have the white version of this clock. The clock has never given me the correct time since I took it out of the box and plugged it in. I can't figure out how to adjust it. It is now off by over 10 minutes. Can you help me with this? The reason why I purchased this radio was because of the SONY name. I've always chosen SONY products over the years for their quality. This little radio was very disappointing because a radio with a digital clock should be adjustable if needed. New York time is EST. No matter the Time Zone it displays the incorrect time. Not good for waking up or staying on schedule for this simple reason. The channel choices are very limited and the reception changes, and you have to fine tune the channel often (or move the clocks position. You also sometimes lose the channel when you try to fine tune it. I keep it in the bathroom to listen to, but I can't use its features.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

The clock is not accurate

ICF-C1T 12/12/2018 by hunmin (Canada)

I bought this when it first came out few years ago. Only find out after the warranty expire that the clock will slow a minute over the course of time. Probably 5 minutes in six months or so.This is the first time I experience inaccurate timing on a digital clock. I always thought digital clock is the most accurate timing device. It's really disappointing.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
14/12/2018

Hi hunmin, we regret to hear what happened. Here are the troubleshooting steps to follow to fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/radios-clock-radios/icf-c1/articles/00026233


Regards,
Erin

0

Looks nice but cannot keep time.

ICF-C1T 09/11/2018 by Arpeet (USA)

I bought this years back but haven't found where I can get support for this. I've struggled with it losing a minute every so often. Since my last adjustment, it's now 8 minutes behind. Please invest in better circuit designers as I didn't purchase this to get something made by interns. Or, correct your sourcing strategy.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Looks great, but disappointing design

ICFC1TBLACK 29/10/2018 by CraigSG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The unit looks good, but I'm somewhat disappointed given Sony's great reputation for well designed products. Quality of the speakers is not very good. Controls and buttons are not ideally located - it's too easy to accidentally touch the tuner dial and lose your station. The tuner dial is not well designed - it's too small with too few numbers, making it hard to locate a station. Also the labels next to the buttons are printed too light and hard to read. I do like the snooze features and blinking indicator though.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible Product

ICF-C1T 24/10/2018 by Aaron2018 (USA)

I bought This clock radio Sr. # F4145945. I regret buying it. It gains a minute every couple of days. So surprised that company like Sony cannot make a simple clock. I am going to trash this piece of sh...t.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Poorly designed

ICF-C1T 12/10/2018 by fence post (Canada)

I bought this clock a few months ago. It's always been a major challenge to set the correct time, alarm etc. The print on each button is illegible - black print on black and very small. Even a magnifying glass didn't help much. The cube design makes it very hard to hold when you're trying to set it. After putting up with it all this time I've decided there's only one place for it and that is in the trash.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/10/2018

Hi fence post, we regret to hear that your clock radio failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Good sound clock radio

ICFC1TBLACK 23/06/2018 by Rbpatch (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it for the battery backup during a storm and was surprised that the radio reception was excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Features

ICFC1TBLACK 13/06/2018 by No names ever (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a clock alarm radio Looks are ok But I’m not too happy with setting up time etc. You could make it easier

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/06/2018

Hi No names ever, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

The great coverup???

ICF-C1T 28/05/2018 by Aakar (USA)

I took the time to write a review in 5/18, apparently Sony was not happy with what I had to say, as it has now gone missing!!!!???? So to repeat The "tuner" is a tiny little ANALOG number, exactly like you would find on a 1960's transistor radio!! There are NO presets To change a station, you must use one hand to hold magnifying glass, one hand to turn the tiny analog wheel and one hand to hold the radio @an angle The radio does NOT keep accurate atomic time, is always ahead of all other clocks, setting is almost impossible There is NO way to know what station is playing, and as said before changing station is a complicated, full time issue Sony has replaced my original radio, with another with the same identical issues My reason for complaining is because Sony customers are perfectionists who are willing to pay extra for high end products, if this radio is where Sony is going, we all, the customers and company have a huge problem.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

It's OK; not quite as nice as I had hoped

ICFC1TBLACK 28/05/2018 by MarsbarCT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this mostly for the radio. I'm disappointed that there is no bright display of the radio station you're on--instead there is this TINY (repeat: TINY) faint "dial" on top of the unit. Also, the buttons are so tiny, you could never see them in the dark, nor could you distinguish them with your fingertips. The radio OFF button is utterly not obvious. Come on Sony....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good, but I lost the instructions.

ICF-C1T 19/04/2018 by toothfairy (USA)

The item works great, however losing the instructions, the site makes hard to get a print-out and I had to unplug it and maybe get one less complicated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Big disappointment

ICF-C1T 08/04/2018 by Disappointed10003 (USA)

Difficult to set the time accurately if not impossible. Despite "DST" button, clock must be reset manually twice a year. Today is April and, when I woke, the clock was back at standard time. Impossible to see the station setting without turning on a light, sitting up and, if one needs glasses to see tiny things, putting on glasses to read the tiny station number in the tiny window. I wanted a 'real' clock radio -- with station showing on the face and ease of use -- the old ones that were about twice as wide as this one, but Sony no longer makes them. I seems that no one does!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

HOW DO YOU SET THE TIME AND ALARM?

ICF-C1T 14/03/2018 by GMT2 (Canada)

Size is handy, can't set time and alarm. Followed instructions just goes back to whatever it wants. It is possessed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/03/2018

Hi GMT2,

Kindly follow the suggested troubleshooting steps from this link to isolate the issue: https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39780

Regards,
-Erin

0

Easy to use

ICF-C1T 12/01/2018 by Ryano (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and set up even for a technophobe like me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

ICF-C1T 06/01/2018 by rosiesmam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a Christmas present and was pleased at how easy it is to set and use. My only issue is that one of the lines which make up the 1st number 2 is missing. Although it doesn't affect the performance I was disappointed to find out when I registered it, that because I don't have the receipt I can't get it fixed without paying for it even though it is under guarantee. Apart from this small issue I haven't had any problems with its use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

compact & easy

ICFC1TBLACK 30/11/2017 by EllenMH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the small size and the fact that the orange-colored display is not too bright in a dark room, yet is easily visible in daylight. I'm so glad I found this clock radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

ICF-C1T 24/08/2017 by Brian999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, good sound and nice to look at and reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cheap radio

ICF-C1T 21/08/2017 by Ian57 (USA)

They say preset 10 stations. I thought I could set ten stations. So I also thought the stations would be Digital also like the time. If only want this clock to wake you up in the morning excellent buy. If you expect anything more then poor buy. The dream machine was ten times better than his product. If it isn't broken why fix it? Still have a dream machine clock since 1998. I bet this clock will not last a year. Two years tops.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good alarm clock

ICFC1TBLACK 02/08/2017 by akv54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this item is good as a clock and alarm. The date is also registered but not displayed. An analog Radio is however an outdated concept and should have been digital.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Cannot adjust time of day

ICF-C1T 21/07/2017 by SonyCollector (Canada)

When I opened the box and plugged it in, the battery was obviously dead as the face just flashed 1:30 AM. I replaced it with a brand new CR2032. This did nothing and there was no way I could discover to adjust the time of day either in the instructions or by playing with the buttons. I tried the solution offered to "ClockIsLate" and there are no solutions for adjusting the time of day. I own a tremendous number of Sony products. This is very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony
22/07/2017

Hi SonyCollector,
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue? If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

0

Loses one minute every month

ICF-C1T 14/07/2017 by ClockIsLate (Canada)

It doesn't keep time well. It loses about one minute every month so I must reset the time regularly. This seems unbelievable for modern clocks to be so inaccurate and especially up in this price range. There is no way to adjust the clock to run faster so I have to live with it. I also found the design of the controls more complicated to use than they could be. I do like the look of the clock which is why I bought it.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/07/2017

Hello ClockIsLate, we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Below is the troubleshooting link to help fix the issue.
https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39780. If the issue persists, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com to further assist you.

Regards, -Erin

0

Lovely product

ICF-C1T 21/06/2017 by John BFS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was pricier than I had planned to purchase, but I liked the styling. A little disappointed that the tuning is so manual but still a nice item.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great alarm clock

ICFC1TBLACK 15/06/2017 by annac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We enjoy the ease of use of this alarm clock. I just wish we could adjust the brightness a little more

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I like the sleek look and it works really well for

ICFC1TBLACK 04/04/2017 by Dan32 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old RCA clock I had for years. Changing from large blue numbers, I was hoping the amber light would reduce overall lighting of the room, and it definitely does. It has brightness settings that also helps this. The only problem I can think of are the small buttons. While that does help to keep my toddler from changing my settings, the alarm button is hard to find sometimes in the dark, but I am adjusting. I have had it for about 3 months now and it works great! I do recommend this clock.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

sony radio alarm clock.

ICFC1TB 18/03/2017 by snuggle (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

We are please with this product. It has a lovely sound and it fits our needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Issue with the wake up alarm

ICF-C1T 08/02/2017 by smalldages (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this radio 1.5 month ago as I really like the shape and the design. However I want to return it as I have a problem with the alarm. It happened 3-4 times already that when you set the alarm for the morning, when the time comes the radio switches on but the radio not in tune so you can't hear anything. Due to this I missed appointment. I read a few other reviews and same problem occurs to other users.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Features

ICFC1TB 05/02/2017 by smidley (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased yesterday, so I am just getting used to it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat with a good sound

ICFC1TB 27/01/2017 by Joan70 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two days ago and I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact. Nice sound.

ICFC1TB 16/01/2017 by ChrisVancouver (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

It works. Sound quality is very good. Display is good. I am not a fan of the ergonomics of the buttons for the various functions. Here is why I have this opinion. Print descriptions for the buttons have a small font size, and the logic behind the button placement is a mystery. Turning the radio on is the third button of four across the top. Turning it off is a solitary button. The buttons also seem small.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very functional

ICFC1TB 31/12/2016 by niko234 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after buying another alarm clock that we didn't like. This one is great, easy to use and like that there is a radio as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact, multi-feature, radio alarm clock

ICFC1TBLACK 23/12/2016 by john80249 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a former employee, I have great faith and pride in all Sony Products; this radio alarm clock was an outstanding value right out of the box! It was easy to configure for operation. I especially like the battery backup for the clock and automatic conversion to daylight savings time and back. Great sound, great value, I'm pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony clock radio

ICF-C1T 30/11/2016 by Rumby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had 2 of this product both of them had dead batterys

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

1

0

Top notch clock radio

ICF-C1T 24/10/2016 by Margsman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This replaced a previous Sony clock radio which we have had for many years. It is just as user-friendly and is even better as the two alarms can be set for either radio or beeper rather than radio for alarm A and beeper for alarm B on the old one. A 10cm cube, it takes up less space on the bedside cabinet than the last one and is very smart in appearance with its gloss black finish and mirrored front. The time display can be set to one of three light levels and is easier to read. Sound quality not great but I only listen for a few seconds as it wakes me anyway. All round, a really good piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small, practical with a good sound.

ICF-C1T 19/09/2016 by Murghy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was better than expected. I was able to pick up a local commercial radio station, which was not possible previously. The clock function is very practical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0