523

4.4 based on 523 customer reviews

312
148
30
10
23
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera

DSCH400/B 03/05/2015 by frugalchariot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera in late June, 2014 and have used it regularly. My photographic interest is the outdoors, both scenic and wildlife from closeup to telephoto, and the wide angle with 63X optical zoom allows amazing reach. The 20 megapixel resolution allows fine tuning and cropping on the computer with no loss in quality of the end product. And the camera is not heavy or bulky, is easily carried, and relatively easy to hold steady even on telephoto shots. Overall, the camera is a bargain at its asking price; I would recommend it without question to anyone who wants simplicity and great photographic range.

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could do with some better firmware and fasterfocus

DSC-H400 02/07/2017 by MAD MAX (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony Camera has been dogged by constant problems with focus. By pressing the shutter button partially it pulls into focus, then at the point of shutter release, loses it frequently. It also loses it's way and saves "invalid" files, that is most unpredictable. Focus - when it works is painfully slow. Multiple shutter release has never worked. It is also not possible to take control of focus, for example leave it on infinity. Aperture and Shutter priority pictures are fit only to delete. This is a very poor excuse for a camera. Shame because it is light, has a marvellous telephoto capability - but so little of the electronics really work properly. Unreliable and not really much use, I have initialised this camera on nearly every outing to get it to work at all. I will more than likely end up throwing it in the dustbin.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

523 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use

DSC-H400 18/07/2018 by KCcol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this model recently and have used it on several occasions. Easy to use and produces good shots. Battery provides good level of photos before recharge. Nice to hold and added bonus of viewfinder for zoom shots and more accurate photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-H400 15/07/2018 by Dave113 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this camera for 1 month & find it good except at extreme range of zoom.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

new camera

DSC-H400 10/07/2018 by dougal 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

still learning but a great camera.it is so easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile camera with a good range of features

DSC-H400 07/07/2018 by DJM53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera to replace a Nikon bridge camera that had died on me after about 5 years of regular use. Have had it about a month now and have been very impressed with the quality and variety of photo settings and am pleased with the pictures that I have been able to get.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great feature

DSC-H400 05/07/2018 by Isanue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this product sights good and pictures are excellant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Bad product

DSC-H400 29/06/2018 by Ranga1982 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this three weeks ago in Trondheim in Norway. It had a big problem. When I switch ON the camera, the lence usually work UP an DOWN without any control. Really sad bout this product

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

great little camera

DSC-H400 27/06/2018 by skiprat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

just bought the dsc h400 and am really pleased would have liked more info on all the features of camera especially the best settings for attaining the maximum view of this camers

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

EASY TO USE

DSC-H400 26/06/2018 by Koiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this unit for several weeks now. So far, very pleased with it. The full test will be in July at the Farnborough Air Show.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Inadequate Manuel

DSC-H400 25/06/2018 by david 64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At the time I was bought the camera for a birthday I didnt have a computer, I could not download anything , I am not satisfied with not having a manuel, the print out I eventually downloaded was not sufficient

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great camera, easy to use and fantastic zoom.

DSC-H400 21/06/2018 by Willpuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my upcoming trip to Alaska. Great camera, easy to use and fantastic zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

many great features

DSC-H400 18/06/2018 by gwbert (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this camera a couple of weeks ago after being satisfied that it was the best value for the money that i wanted to spend. after using it i am sure it was the right choice. it makes me feel like a profesional

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Very good camera

DSC-H400 15/06/2018 by Kippers1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased wifh H400 camera great features and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Good and the Very Bad!!

DSC-H400 13/06/2018 by Tonys Dandan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good short focal length photos but Very bad long and full length focal photos.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A easy to use bridge camera

DSC-H400 13/06/2018 by Abraxos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a dream to use. The menu system is clear and uncomplicated, and the diopter, though not of the best quality, is sufficient to do the job. The resulting images are clear, although will always benefit from a little judicial sharpening at the higher resolutions. All in all, a wonderful camera for it's cost.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional value

DSC-H400 09/06/2018 by Not got one at all (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having planned my trip to the West Coast of the US I felt I needed a special camera to view some of the most spectacular scenery one could imagine. This camera is definitely the one. Great features easy to use and looks and feels more expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Having fun learning about the camera

DSC-H400 16/05/2018 by Ali boase (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with the photos and l am happy with the camera and l will post pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent option for value/quality

DSC-H400 11/05/2018 by Phil02 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only have started to familiarise myself with the DSC-H400, but seems to fit the bill an de meeting my expectations. Bought as replacement of my old Fuji FinePix S5600 (which feels tiny in hands now). And as an alternative to my Nikon 3100 + 18-55mm + Tamron 300. Still have to carry out field test (travelling soon for 3 weeks in Madagascar) but already find easy to handle. Liking 63x zoom ( probably most important point in buying decision process). Only minus for now is the lack of cord/tie from camera to lense cover, meaning when shooting need to hold/drop or put in a pocket. Happy otherwise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - DSC-H400 Good and not quite so good

DSC-H400 10/05/2018 by Belmont36 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In general the camera is very easy to use, picture quality has surprised me by how good it is and the ZOOM. Superb !! This was the feature the camera was bought for and it has not in the slightest disappointed. Even when using the digital zoom, picture degradation is less than expected. Not so good points - speed of writing to the SD card. Even when using lower quality setting, somewhat slower than expected. But does this detract from the camera overall - that depends upon the type of subject you'll be photographing. Finally, I haven't yet found a dedicated macro setting. A slight annoyance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointed

DSC-H400 29/04/2018 by stelianbirea (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does not focus in low light conditions if zooming even just a litte, and struggles a lot without zoom. After a couple of charges , the contact between socket and charging cable is unstable and i need to keep the camera lens down to work.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Mega camera.

DSC-H400 25/04/2018 by kayjay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a great camera, lots of useful functions and easy to use. A great purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Need better instructions

DSC-H400 12/04/2018 by Sue63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was brought for my as a gift, being a beginner would have liked more detailed instructions with it so that I can use it to its full potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Better than expected

DSC-H400 08/04/2018 by GeorgeSkye (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was requested as a 65th present , so pleased. Zoom is great for wildlife , easy to use . Very light in weight, could do with a full manual , either cd or one to down load , just for guidance, but , very pleased . Picture quality is very good .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great weight

DSC-H400 07/04/2018 by online34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera,great handle clear precise pictures.Great value camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME PICTURES

DSCH400B 01/04/2018 by ANNE9391 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE HAD THIS CAMERA FOR A WHILE NOW, TAKES AWESOME PICS AND VIDEO, THE ZOOM IS SUPERB, I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMEND THIS CAMERA TO ANYONE!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review

DSCH400B 28/03/2018 by ByeGiminy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A wonderful wrench! Almost too many features. Like

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

DSC-H400 21/03/2018 by Slates (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a gift to me from Linda my partner.The best camera i have had the pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastoc product

DSC-H400 21/03/2018 by Wardy38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good build easy to use great photos. And a fair price as well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-H400 18/03/2018 by Suebu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive tried using super duper cameras and I can’t seem to get it right so went for this bridge camera Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Life changer for the better I now have a new hobby

DSC-H400 14/03/2018 by Linda7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this particular Camera as I was told it was the very best value for money. It has proved to be much more.. I have now go out to the beautiful countryside where I live neary every day to take photos which are beautiful - sharp, colourful and I can get close up shots of birds by using the zoom lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super Shooter

DSC-H400 09/03/2018 by DickYDiDO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought This For My Long Break To London..Wish I bought One Sooner..Easy To Use..Easy Touch Buttons On Top For Quick Access..Great Pictures...Super Zoom Lens...And A Great Bag It Came With...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-H400 08/03/2018 by Nunker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the camera two or three times now and I can't find a fault fantastic cheers Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good

DSC-H400 07/03/2018 by Iiooiiiii (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought it for a New York trip so happy with it took really good photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not entirely Satisfied

DSC-H400 04/03/2018 by Curry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera works OK but as you will see Later I have afew Issues

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great camera and not too complicated for this OAP

DSC-H400 03/03/2018 by Yorkshire Grandma (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a couple of weeks ago as due to have a trip of a lifetime and wanted a camera that was easy to use, I am not disappointed as taken some lovely photos during the recent snowy weather.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall, brilliant.

DSC-H400 03/03/2018 by sophiea (United Kingdom)

This was given to me as a christmas present a year ago and i’m so grateful that it was. I’ve been into photography for a few years now but I never had an actual camera and by reveiving this, I feel like my photography has really improved and evolved since. However, some of the features can be really tricky to understand, especially when trying to figure out the best time to use them and i often find the focus very tricky to adjust manually as it blurs more often than not or the quality doesn’t come out the best. Overall, it is a good product once you can efficiently use and understand the features. (:

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sony

DSC-H400 22/02/2018 by Stephencov1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a little while ago Enjoy using it Great features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GOOD IMAGES EASY TO USE

DSC-H400 15/02/2018 by derek1956 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

ONLY HAD THE CAMERA A FEW WEEKS VERY GOOD VALUE AND EASY TO USE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Beautiful camera

DSCH400/B 14/02/2018 by Lkxxxu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m a beginner when it comes to photography and I was able to take great pictures right out of the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature

DSC-H400 01/02/2018  (USA)

It is the one of the most beautiful camera I think

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-H400 31/01/2018 by Graham 1972 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using it since Christmas absolutely love the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

useful bit of kit

DSC-H400 17/01/2018 by pmjay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to fill the gap between my smartphone and DSLR. I opted for a bridge as it would let me get close to my subjects without the need to carry a range of lenses. The H400 I felt fitted the bill. The only negative I have is the need to present the button to switch between viewfinder and LCD, I find it to be a right pain. That said, the rest of the camera I will not fault. Easy to use, good quality images at all focal lengths with some degrading at extreme zoom but no more than expected. Picture quality seems fine and responses more than adequate. Fulfills my needs and I would be happy to recommend the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Perfect Bridge

DSC-H400 17/01/2018 by Mickell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera only aware of a fraction of it's features and available settings etc. I only discovered these by diligently reading through the online manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The ease to use

DSC-H400 15/01/2018 by Graeme 45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was Given The DSC- H400 as a christmas present it is my first compact camera it is so easy to use and the pictures are great even for a beginer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fantastic zoom and auto focus.

DSC-H400 13/01/2018 by madbob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have had a lot of cameras in the last 18years and as i go to Scotland every year this camera has given me lots of plesure as i can show my friends the bautifull views.thanks sony for all the plesher and fun bob

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just what I wanted

DSC-H400 12/01/2018 by Dave1953 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have not really used this yet, the little I have it seems to do what you would expect of this type of camera. It could do with a few more features on it, as a basic camera it fits the bill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great features and easy to use

DSC-H400 10/01/2018 by Myl123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few weeks ago as a replacement. I really happy that I made the right choice. I looked the other reviews and that also helped me to buy this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony cybershot

DSC-H400 05/01/2018 by Flynn1916 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this as a Christmas gift I can not express how pleased I am easy to operate excellent features and pics

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Really easy

DSC-H400 04/01/2018 by Kath T (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for Christmas off my husband it is very easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Looks good

DSC-H400 03/01/2018 by baubles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a gift and I have yet to give time to using it to its full potential

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Love It!

DSC-H400 03/01/2018 by Glynbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a lovely camera. The quality of the photos are very good. It is not too heavy. I would recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0