165

4.2 based on 165 customer reviews

95
41
10
6
13
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great little camera

DSC-HX80 12/01/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bougt the camera a couple of weeks ago ... i bougt it to replace my lovely HX 60 as the flash is no longer working ...i have taken some reasonable macro pics with it and lovely sunsets ...so i am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

It feels flimsy and has failed within one week

DSC-HX80 16/06/2017 by Z M G (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pop ups for the view finder and flash feel so flimsy tha t I am reluctant to use them as I feel they could break at any time The first time I took out the SD card and tried to re insert it it would not click down I took the camera back to the shop and it was replaced The card problem has disappeared but my longer term reliability doubts have not Having said this the actual results in terms of photographs have bee very good and the useability is excellent

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

166 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera no bigger than a wallet

DSC-HX80 14/07/2020 by Birds 77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have this camera for 6 months it goes with me all the time fits in pocket and takes great photos / videos wildlife is my passion using a 7d 11 with 600mm lens is great for long distance but small birds that pop up at shorter distance this does the job well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy Dandy

DSCHX80/B 11/07/2020 by Nordskoven (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bump up the ISO, pamper the plastic tripod screw insert, and enjoy long battery life taking crispy pics with the 30X optical zoom and electronic zoom and HD video with built-in mic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very technical for a 70 year old

DSCHX80 22/06/2020 by deepdx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am willing to give up some of the functionality for a camera that is easier to operate. (Older people will have difficulty seeing the minute labels on the camera) Otherwise, the pictures are fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Small and compact with a great zoom!!!

DSCHX80/B 05/06/2020 by zoomie (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera but my only dislike is not being able to upload the videos anywhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-HX80 24/05/2020 by Nero77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the camera a while now, I always used my phone before. But the quality of picture and video on the sony camera takes pics of family gatherings etc to a whole new level. Would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Claim

DSCHX80/B 06/05/2020 by Theboys22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The site show going to file a claim, but keep taking me to where my camera is already on the site. Guess this another Sony don't have to do claims

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb Digital camera

DSCHX80/B 29/04/2020 by Maddog2020 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for over two years now and it remains in top notch condition. No problems thus far and it sees regular usage. Another superb product brought to us by Sony. Thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

disappointed

DSCHX80/B 24/04/2020 by Lonajean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been unable to take a still picture off a video. Let me explain, with my smartphone or my previous canon camera I would video my granddaughters during their gymnastic competition. After I downloaded to my computer, I could then save a picture off of the video. I have not be able to do this with this camera. I am very sorry I bought it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travel camera when it works

DSCHX80/B 29/03/2020 by dnw5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for travel & it is great when it works. However, it has quickly developed an intermittent failure mode where it is unusable. Also, it lets dirt get onto its sensor (giving blob in every pic), even when kept in an almost cleanroom environment. Apart from these 2 big problems, it would get 5 stars. Review should have a reliability section, as we customers care about that.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Broken DOOR

DSC-HX80 28/03/2020 by BERT1234 (USA)

I bought this a year ago and the door to the battery and sd card is broken and will not stay closed (only made of small cheap plastic) . other than that I have loved the cameras and features

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Problem for Apple users

DSCHX80 12/03/2020 by Little Ricky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great little camera; however, Sony has not supported it well in my opinion. I have been unable to get the camera to link with either my Apple iPhone or my iMac. I am running the OS Catalina, version 10.15.3 which does not work with this camera. I purchased this camera to record videos while traveling, but now I can't the videos transferred out of the camera! Very frustrating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Not had a chance to use it yet

DSC-HX80 24/02/2020 by shedpuler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only taken a few shots but I do notice that when using the zoom its very lumpy does not run smooth

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Sony hx80

DSC-HX80 12/01/2020 by Dipsy (United Kingdom)

Bought as 60 birthday gift by family member excellent product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

The product is the most useful on the market

DSC-HX80 03/01/2020 by Househopper (United Kingdom)

Wanted a camera that I could point and shoot and this just the one.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Well made but...............

DSC-HX80 18/12/2019 by Snapwild19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera about a month ago,it's well made seems to be a quality product......I'd love to be able to say I've taken some great photos with it....but the instruction manual is a complete joke,no explanation of what the screen icons are,no user guide to suggest the best settings to help you to get the best from the camera.....the online guide is just as useless.....beginning to regret buying it now.....it would appear that Sony don't care.....looks like my only option now is to buy a guide book....and I really shouldn't have to do that. NOT happy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

WHAT EVER

DSCHX80 09/12/2019 by REQUIRED WHY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I WOULD BE ALOT HAPPIER WITH THIS CAMERA IF I COULD TRANSFER MY PICTURES BY WIRE INSTED OF WIFI

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Sony HX80 Brilliant.

DSC-HX80 08/10/2019 by bownsaway (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small compact lightweight great for holidays and trips going on walks you can take it anywhere in your pocket or handbag takes fantastic photos can be used by a novice or professional a true all rounder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great all around camera / Great Zoom & Speedy

DSCHX80 05/10/2019 by Revan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality photos - awesome zoom - pretty fast response time - very awesome all around camera -- you won't go wrong with this. I had an HX90V I carried in my pocket and this is just like it - only reason I replaced my HX90V was after 20,000+ pics and ~5 years mostly carried in my pocket with my keys eventually the battery holder side of the casing wouldn't hold the battery door shut. Even that one still takes awesome pics if I clamp it closed. I compared other makes and models recently at Best Buy and came to the same conclusion. Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

DSCHX80 03/10/2019 by Kevin 44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is really a great Camara, and the features that come with this Camara

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dont waste your money

DSC-HX80 22/09/2019 by Buttercup7 (USA)

This camera is way to complicated ive been trying to help my mom out on how to use n get better shots but not only do the pictures turn out dreadful when taking but way to complicated for a beginner n its HORRIBLE. I do photography n this is not easy even the instruction manual is dreadfull or info. DO NOT WASTE your MONEY on this piece of JUNK.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great pocket size & Great Zoom

DSCHX80 14/09/2019 by RobsPhotos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my former HX80 that quit working after 30 months. I researched other pocket camers but made the decision to stay with the HX80. I wish it was environmentally sealed & had a 1 inch sensor. That's the only thing I'd change. Maybe Sony will produce one in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect pictures, as well as video quality

DSCHX80 08/09/2019 by jay11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy i got this i am a vlogger on youtube and it has made a huge difference, i would choose this over the canon similar to this sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pleasantly chuffed

DSC-HX80 27/08/2019 by Seed Drill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for a couple of weeks and am pleasantly surprised by the picture quality. I wanted a small camera to carry around when cycling. I always use manual settings so I can't speak for the auto settings. I've found it easyish to use, it has a good focussing system. I've brightened the screen & view finder since I found the default settings too dark. The LVF is a bit fiddly but I have used it on occasions & I like the tilting screen which helps improve some compositions. As expected hand held shots taken on high zoom aren't brilliant without a tripod. I haven't used all the features yet but the camera is achieving what I expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Wonderful or The Money -

DSC-HX80 30/07/2019 by Lindell (USA)

This is our second Sony Camera, we have a DSCW830. We took it to The Amazon Jungle Rainforest for a week. It was the most Nasty place, I had ever been. This camera was for my wife. Now she can take great pictures. I'm sold on Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A nifty compact camera

DSC-HX80 26/07/2019 by davidoff1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with my purchase. The camera has the benefit of a pop up viewfinder and a tilting screen so as to take acurate selfies. In addition there is a pop up flash.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not bad, could be a lot better

DSC-HX80 17/07/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price I expected more, What is the point of giving partial professional features like Aperture Priority etc but with NO Raw, only Jpeg.... Confusing to say the least. Its not great in low light and produces a lot of noise. My only use now for this is to be used as a point and shoot camera which at this price I could have done a lot better.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Enoying so Far

DSCHX80 14/07/2019 by shirleyj (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

A month since purchase and it's been a learning experience for a lady of 80 years. It is exciting to explore, learn, develope new photos. So pleased with this camera. IT does so many things I love.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

camera does not charge new sony battery

DSCHX80 08/07/2019 by unsettling (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for business documentary work. It will not charge new battery to 100 percent. I thought is was the battery at first. Bought another sony battery and same problem. Battery will not charge. Now I have to send camera to sony service center, 7-10 business days, for assessment and service with no backup camera to continue documentary project. Totally unsatisfactory.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

It's a great little camera!

DSC-HX80 23/06/2019 by Pentahawk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a week ago and it is superb!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

First initial review

DSCHX80 11/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for my YouTube channel...I’m so happy I finally went and bought it...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

my first impressions, the first month of use.

DSC-HX80 06/06/2019 by whippetman2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was immediately impressed with the small size and the "heavy" weight, build quality and the zeiss lens. the weight gives one confidence and stability in use. I detest llightweight cameras(i also use an "old" nikon dslr). It had to be VERY GOOD to equal my (now Broken) TZ60, and it does! the most impressive feature for me is the viewfinder, which contrary to a lot of reviews, I find perfect, giving a crystal clear image, actually brighter than the scene itself which aids focussing. Macro, was hard to find, until I realised it was automatic when you held the camera close to an object, all in all, a worthwhile addition to my nikon and a better replacement to my previous compact "travel" camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

To complex

DSC-HX80 28/05/2019 by Mr Very Angry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not at all intuitive, to complex for its own good, why o why do you have to download apps to transfer photos to Your PC I honestly can’t see the point , well disopointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Great photos

DSCHX80 23/05/2019 by Rambus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good for my picture taking purposes year round

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ergonomically very poor

DSC-HX80 29/04/2019 by Blighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is too fiddly to use, even the on/off button is nearly impossible to operate. Setting up NFC and Wi-Fi is tiresome and the software has been updated but not the instructions, which is very poor. On the plus side it takes good pictures and movies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Great compact camera with special features

DSC-HX80 24/04/2019 by manrow (United Kingdom)

Brilliant compact camera, with optical viewfinder and 30X zoom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Small but powerful

DSC-HX80 21/04/2019 by FrankDavid (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera before going on safari and obtained results that compared well with a bigger and heavier digital reflex camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Error message on screen after 14 months

DSC-HX80 14/03/2019 by Popspublisher (USA)

Great camera....while it lasted.2 months out of warranty and an error message appeared on the screen. The flash also would not work and there was no way to get rid of the annoying message in the middle of the screen. It has been in the shop for 6 weeks waiting for parts! I will never buy another Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing First time Camera

DSCHX80 11/03/2019 by Blackapino (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a Good Point and Shoot and knew of Canon, and Nikon and Panasonic,but when it came to Sony i knew they had some High End Camera's but all were pretty pricey, BUT...I watched a few Youtube Video's and decided on the HX80 and I LOVE It, FULL HD at 60fps and the Zoom and it's Amazing...but The ONE feature I bought it for an that was the Flip up screen WHICH is an AMAZING Feature for Vloggers such as Myself. GREAT Camera for that first time vlogger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Can’t upload my videos

DSCHX80/B 04/03/2019 by Portia (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can’t upload my videos no matter what instructions I follow. Plus I have to go through play memories to get on my computer file.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great pocket camera

DSC-HX80 01/03/2019 by Happysnapper19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a large SLR and have to say it's great. Picture quality is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great zoom feature

DSC-HX80 14/02/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present so couldn’t use it straight away, but once it was charged up I was raring to get started and I wasn’t disappointed. What a Super camera, really sharpe and clear photographs also the battery seems to last along time,so loads of pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great zoom

DSCHX80 24/01/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is compact but offers a great zoom. Camera takes the same space has my cell phone but offers so much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera that makes photography complicated.

DSC-HX80 23/01/2019 by MrSnowman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Put a week aside to go through all the menus, to understand all the menus, to think of the scenarios when you might want to use each of the menus, and to read the on-line 230 page Help Guide. My head hurts. The flap that covers the USB terminal is too flimsy. ISO only goes to 3200.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Not bad for the price

DSC-HX80 21/01/2019 by bird of prey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera a reasonably OK but did find it fiddly to work with - probably because used to working with DSLR camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Very good camera but could be better

DSC-HX80 19/01/2019 by Lazy Eye Metaphor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Feels great to handle and produces some excellent results. The software to connect to a smartphone or PC works okay but can be a bit frustrating to get started. I just wish Sony had chosen to have a slightly bigger sensor (say 1/1.7) to improve low light performance and put clear daylight between this camera and that of a smartphone. That would mean the lens would have to be slightly bigger and no doubt increase the cost, but I think it would be worth it. In some circumstances my Xperia XZ1 smartphone, with its f/2 maximum aperture, takes better photos than this camera! Nonetheless compared to other equivalent cameras in the price range, the HX80 is maybe the best choice. Overall, I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Zoom range

DSCHX80 07/12/2018 by rkreissmd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had a chance to take a lot of pictures with this camera. However, the ones I took appear to be sharp and properly exposed. This camera is basically for my wife to use and to be a substitute for my Sony Alpha 6000 when I don't need/want to carry the extra lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Best Camera I have used for Everyday Carry

DSCHX80 06/12/2018 by Yardman100 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I carry a camera with high zoom in a case on my belt every day. I use it in place of a phone camera because of the zoom. One use is as an arborist I often need to see and photograph things high in trees. This new camera is smaller than my last camera, but it has several new very nice features. It has a flip up screen so I can take selfies with items in the background I may be working on. Also it has a pop up eye piece which allows me to aim the camera in heavy sunlight. I love those features. I also use the remote control on my iPhone to work the camera when taking group shots and when walking thru trails and other places with friends. If I am in the lead I can take shots back over my head of others enjoying the hike without them posing for shots. The photos are very much enjoyed when I share them. Great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth the extra.

DSC-HX80 05/12/2018 by Movedaway (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Paid the extra over HX60 to get the Zeiss lense and viewfinder. A good decision if you are serious about your photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1