503

4.5 based on 503 customer reviews

323
141
19
12
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

Body Only 13/10/2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

Body Only 18/01/2017 by muskturtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

503 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

The features I value at a reasonable price.

Body Only 26/06/2020 by aBcDeFgH12345680 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second RX100m3 I have owned. The first one was stolen. Th picture quality is very good and the viewfinder and swivelling screen make it easy to use and ideal for my travel photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything you need in pocket size

Body Only 31/05/2020 by Whydoineedanickname2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had mine a week, used, and so far only minor niggles. I had to get the hand grip as it would lose another star without it. The features are comprehensive and mostly easy to understand. Sony menu not the best I'm afraid but usable. The only thing I wish there was more of was zoom, but I can live with the 70mm equivalent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good features, unfriendly menu,

Body Only 15/05/2020 by Yarahashimoto (United Kingdom)

The camera is light, small, and with great lens and features, but the menu needs patience and WiFi transfer with an iphone doesnt work

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Excellent compact camera

Body Only 15/05/2020 by Copey 5556 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera replaces the numerous DSLRs and bridge cameras I have used over the years. I travel a lot and am now getting to the stage where carrying a bag full of equipment and bulky cameras is getting a bit of a strain. The features and results from this camera have been fantastic. The larger aperture makes up for the small zoom range. I have taken full wide angle shots and then edited in software to zoom in to points of interest. The clarity of the images has been superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 09/05/2020 by John296 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has all the features I require and is a great upgrade from the mark 2 with the addition of the viewfinder and fully tilting screen as well as a faster lens. It’s small enough to take anywhere and get much better pictures than with your phone. Very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Superb camera 10/10

Body Only 30/03/2020 by Kev66lee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera a few weeks but did lots of research first and can honestly say that it definitely lives up to everything that’s said about it , a genuine first class camera , well done Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Not worth the price.

DSC-RX100M3 / DSC-RX100M3G 10/03/2020 by hadrin85 (USA)

This is not worth the price just because of the quality so what, not worth it at all.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

well built

Body Only 10/03/2020 by rosewood46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although it is early days the camera performs well in all conditions and produces quality photos even at standard setting but the lack of proper user guide is an insult to a customer paying almost £500 for a product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Relatively easy to use once fully understood

Body Only 28/02/2020 by Dicko2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the camera for a few weeks, therefore many features still not trialled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

bridge camera

Body Only 11/02/2020 by Sue 414 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera as a bridge to DLSR. I like the size of the camera and the weight so its perfect for travelling. I'm still exploring all the capabilities but all good so far.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great camera. Shame about the App experience

Body Only 10/02/2020 by JBS43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little pocket rocket with surprisingly good image quality. Fast and responsive. My main gripe is that you need an older computer (Mac) to be able to load Apps on to the camera, including the most important one to enable remote control from your phone. The software does not work on the latest Mac OS. So, until I can find someone else with an older computer who'll let me use that to download the app on to my camera, this important feature which really ought to have been built in anyway is not available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Wonderful camera!

Body Only 01/02/2020 by jimz100 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to photograph a trip to Ireland in 2015. Takes great photos. Dec. 2019 my camera was stolen from my home. I am replacing it with the newer RX100 VA.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

RX100 M3 camera

Body Only 25/01/2020 by Ian276 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My second RX. A brilliant pocket camera extraordinarily versatile. Only fault is that the wifi connection and Sony Apps are difficult to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera

Body Only 18/01/2020 by Johnsav (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera three weeks ago,great features, solid quality feel. The only thing I have trouble. With at present is locating the shutter release when I have the camera up to my eye. I think if the top of the shutter release buttion had a dimple in it would help locate it by feel, at present it is flat level with the camera top face.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great value

Body Only 15/01/2020 by Babis chemist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A camera for everyday with an impressive bright lens for low light and a pop-up electronic viewfinder not bulky but not for beginners. I like the manual exposure compensation for contre jour shots. NFC application for smartphones

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features

Body Only 18/12/2019 by kesp (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 18 months ago; undoubtedly the best digital camera I've owned

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can’t connect to phone with wifi

Body Only 14/12/2019 by Glee100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to connect to my phone with wifi. Tried scanning the QR code, but says it isn’t supported? Need to resolve this as a key feature I wanted.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 3

Body Only 09/12/2019 by weso1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this small but so easy to camera. I find touch screens a pain but this camera still retains button only usage which I much prefer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket rocket

Body Only 06/12/2019 by Feek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Fuji fan for many years and love their products. I have found myself lately being very lazy, and felt having to sling a small mirrorless camera over my shoulder too much trouble. After carrying out several weeks research, I decided to invest in a pocketable camera to take everywhere. The Sony RX100 Mk3 ticked all the boxes for me. A viewfinder being number one, after form factor. I have only had the camera for a couple of weeks, but am liking it more day by day. The range of features is staggering, but am struggling with digging into the menus, to access various features. The low light features aren't as good as I have come to expect from Fuji, or I have to learn how to control it better. So far it has been worth the investment.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

E:91:01

Body Only 01/12/2019 by DaveJan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son got this camera for me, I am very please with it and have taken some great pictures with it. It is very small so go in my pocket. Not long after getting it started showing an message E:91:01 I can not get rid of it, the camera still work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dipping the toe in the water!

Body Only 08/11/2019 by Gordon64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Sony RX100 Mk3 just over a month ago, as a first 'proper camera' after decades of point & shoot or mobile phone cameras. Still finding my round it, but so far I'm impressed with its ease of use, its solid, quality feel and to date, good images in poor lighting conditions. Looking forward to getting to know this better!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony

Body Only 05/11/2019 by Shadow260847 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this product a month ago and fulfills my requirement excellent product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Product reference standard

Body Only 31/10/2019 by Greystoke30 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased as a lightweight top quality camera for touring

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, light and easy to use.

Body Only 21/10/2019 by Flash Mike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera does what it claims to do. It is very small and light and yet takes great pictures automatically, although the more experienced photographer has the option of varying settings such as aperture and focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but powerful camera

Body Only 05/10/2019 by Bangorman56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently and am still getting to grips with all its features. However, early results show how easy it is to produce great photos with little effort. Looks like it's going to be my perfect packet camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely camera

Body Only 05/10/2019 by Panya (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the camera as an upgrade from a list of previous from Canon Ef to Canon EOS to Sony DSC digital cameras to Fuji digital bridge. Quite simply this camera makes me want to take pictures again. Beautiful quality great range. Am sure not as good as a full dslr with interchangeable lenses but a very, very nice camera that produces great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pocket camera

Body Only 02/10/2019 by Crispything (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted something that was very portable, not "shouting" photographer but that also gave me more than my smartphone. I have a great DSLR but needed something to travel very light. This is a great camera with fantastic picture quality and clever features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent photo quality

Body Only 20/09/2019 by Jennni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting to know all the settings but overall I'm happy with this camera. Had to buy an extra battery and charger. I like tilting screen. But battery life is awful. Poor zoom. Very costly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small & capable

Body Only 14/09/2019 by junofirst (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a small compact camera of better quality that could also do hand-held HDR. Being as the best camera is the one you have with you.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Simple to understand and use.

Body Only 13/09/2019 by Stillie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found the RX 100 111 a great size to handle and so easy to use. The photographs I have taken are extremely sharp and colourful, I am looking forward to using the camera next month when abroad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top notch

Body Only 10/09/2019 by Joss Sheepdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought a similar camera from P.........ic ( a T......80), its image qualith was very disappointing, after a month I traded in against this RX100 III. Jusr getting to grips with it but what a difference in image quality! Bomb proof construction and a fast crisp lens, colours look right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

perfect pictures

Body Only 09/09/2019 by photosnapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago for our holidays. brought back great holiday photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful camera

Body Only 01/09/2019 by JulianK7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently and it’s has everything what I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent little camera

Body Only 30/08/2019 by Gareth295 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this so I had a small camera to vary around on my motorbike. It has all the versatility of larger cameras, has full manual controls and shoots in RAW. So far I have no, comaints at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good weather

Body Only 30/08/2019 by Thabi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can’t load my photos because it says they are too large

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact and lightweight for travelling.

Body Only 24/08/2019 by Pkitch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera has a quality feel and images so far have been excellent quality. Everything I want from a compact camera at this price point. There are plenty of features that would suit the advanced photographer and also full auto for the less experienced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sleek Little Camera

Body Only 31/07/2019 by Sandy Beach (United Kingdom)

Great little camera takes crystal clear pictures. Love the flip screen great for taking selfies.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing details

Body Only 30/07/2019 by Walkaholic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is a lot wrong with this camera, the lens isn't particularly wide and far from a zoom. Macro isn't close enough as far as I'm concerned either and the feel of it is cold and uninviting. However the image quality and features are outstanding, the lens produces a sharp image and the bracketing and hdr is amazing. I think most people wouldn't need as high a quality image as this camera produces, there have been a few shots I've taken that I've gasped at when I've seen the result. Price is a bit high, wait for a sale to get a bargain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Overall fantastic compact camera

Body Only 29/07/2019 by 1PacMan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Slim, able to fit in your pocket. The 180 degree flip screen is useful Autofocus from video is very efficient and quick to respond Fantastic video quality Excellent lowlight performance Stable imagery is good Packed with plenty of features. Cons: No Mic-In Jack/input Weak battery life Rolling shutter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Perfect pocket camera

Body Only 27/07/2019 by Amman95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because every time I put a photo taken on a phone on a large 4k screen, it lacked detail and became very noisy. The photos on this camera look excellent ion a 4k screen. The camera is really easy to use, has more features than I can use, the viewfinder is great, battery life is really good and the build quality is excellent. My only slight issue is to get 60p video, the camera has to be set to NTSC and every time the camera is turned on there is a notification to say it is running on NTSC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just about perfect walkabout camera.

Body Only 26/07/2019 by shoarthing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace an RX100M1. I shoot RAW, using mostly manual settings. Pleased & surprised by quality of shorter, wider, & quicker lens . . . . it’s so good that I shoot almost entirely at f1.8. This means using the built-in ND filter - indeed, in this un-British & summery summer have bought & fitted a magfilter adapter & surprisingly often use an ND8 filter. Unless your primary use is to shoot video - & I use an RX10 for that - this M3 is probably the sweet-spot in the RX100 range as your walkabout camera: compared to earlier models it has an decent quality pop-up viewfinder & an improved sensor, while retaining the quality-oriented basic design.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A camera that challenges my DSLR

Body Only 25/07/2019 by tonyh53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is small and compact but provides me, an amateur camera club ability photographer with all the features I need for high quality photographs in RAW. Holidaying abroad with hand luggage meant that a big camera and three different lenses was not on for a three/four day break, but this gives me the flexibility to get great shots without the weight of a camera bag or the look of a tourist. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great photos, video - poor sound for qualitycamera

Body Only 23/07/2019 by Moridura (United Kingdom)

Great photos, video - poor sound for quality camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightweight marvel

Body Only 20/07/2019 by Carolyn23 (United Kingdom)

This is my 2nd RX100, love it. I have already recommended it to a number of friends.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fab, small take anywhere camera.

Body Only 14/07/2019 by Wignut (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is great for everything. It will suit novices and more experienced photographers. Small enough to put in your pocket, but great on quality photo’s. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact Beauty

Body Only 11/07/2019 by Richard200 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera after reading a review in Tech Radar. I wanted a compact camera with a viewfinder. It is easy to take great pictures but there are a lot of features which I have yet to explore. The only thing I would have liked is a booklet on the camera to fully understand all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No ordinary point and shoot!

Body Only 09/07/2019 by JRPHOTO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Chose this camera after looking at lots of reviews/ratings. Only had it a week so still someway to go and a truly mind blowing amount of options if you want to go manual! I have had to watch a lot of youTube videos to get the hang of settings as manual provided is useless. By the time you have purchased a screen protector/stick on grip/case it is an expensive package. Shame there was no separate battery charger which was another expense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent, well-featured camera for outdoors

Body Only 25/06/2019 by MunroMan (United Kingdom)

I needed a new camera for hillwalking. The RX100iii is perfect. Excellent piece of kit - lightweight, great sensor, lots of controls and modes - both manual and programmed as required, good access to all controls. Having an excellent electronic viewfinder is a huge help in bright conditions. The high-quality, tilting screen is also a big help. I have been shooting in RAW + JPEG - camera does a great job in processing and produces excellent JPEGs as required. Very pleased indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera

Body Only 24/06/2019 by how to manuel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera from PC world ,they did not help at all. Camera is fine had to purchase a book on the dsc-rz100m3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Heavy, Solid Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M3 / DSC-RX100M3G 12/06/2019 by zoomu1 (USA)

camera takes beautiful pictures and video. you can tell the difference with the one inch sensor. a down side of the camera is the stereo microphone quality, the sound is tinny sounding, cheap microphone. my cell phone video microphone sounds better than this. That's why i gave it a 4 star. Other than that i love the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of features, perhaps too many.

Body Only 09/06/2019 by Bryan72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had the camera for long. The camera provides well detailed images with reasonable depth of field. The options allow for complete control or point and shoot as desired with the usual options in between. The movie option seems straightforward. I must admit that the number of possible settings is daunting so it will take some time to get to grips with them all. The main selling point for me was the integral viewfinder and it works well. The articulated rear LCD screen could do with being fully articulated rather than just tilt up and down. A way of connecting an external flash would be useful but there doesn't appear to be any way to do so unless there is a flash that can be triggered via USB or Wi-Fi. Connecting to the computer is a problem. The display on the back of the camera when connecting via USB is confusing, at first I didn't realize that it had connected and on the computer it shows up as just another hard drive. I found it impossible to connect to the computer via Wi-Fi. The information in the help guides and on the internet refers to registering via superseded software. I have not found a method of registering it via the replacement software. I have however been able to connect via Wi-Fi to my tablet although I did have to disconnect the tablet from my internet hub first. In summary it is very easy to use for a beginner with the intelligent Auto option but the number of menu options appears daunting and the integral viewfinder is aboon in bright light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A clever little camera that deserves more respect

Body Only 07/06/2019 by Johnnie 95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was bought to be a companion to my existing camera equipment. It is capable of producing competition quality images and I predict that it will probably get more use than my cumbersome DSLR. However, it is seriously let down by the instruction manuals that Sony provide. In my opinion, Sony is not giving this camera the respect that it deserves. I would have given a five star rating if there was a proper instruction manual.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great take everywhere compact

Body Only 24/05/2019 by Jomoma (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

own high end dslr Nikon that gets less use since I bought compact rx100m3

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 23/05/2019 by Barb66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this camera and so far, I love it! It's small enough to fit in my purse. The pics I taken so far ad very good. I'll know more after a month or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New camera

Body Only 19/05/2019 by Kiraabel (United Kingdom)

Bought this model as my dad had one and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality

Body Only 04/05/2019 by JPilling (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had long so can't do in-depth full review yet, but excellent so far. Did quality lens tests compared to my digital SLR and excellent quality. Only moan, come on Sony let's have a proper good old fashioned instruction manual included, especially for the price we are paying for this camera. Also better grip rather than having to pay for accessory.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The Camera is excellent

Body Only 25/04/2019 by Pedro M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not suitable if you want a long lens. Downloading pictures to an Apple I-phone or I-Pad without removing the card and using an adaptor has so far been beyond me. NFC only works with suitable android devices. WiFi - entering password data is laborious.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great pictures

Body Only 15/04/2019 by Glen1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted. If not somewhat weighty but the results outweigh this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

Body Only 08/04/2019 by Donkeydick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for the Mark 11 version and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant!

Body Only 03/04/2019 by Pelyn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and have to say on opening that the software is very user friendly. The camera is easy to handle, comfortable to hold and the quality of picture upholds it’s price tag. The only issue and this is probably not the cameras fault, is the video, which has three modes, will not replay on my iPad Pro. Windows ok but you will probably need a converter to get them to work on iPad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Crystal clear images, easy interface

Body Only 26/03/2019 by IdahoDad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this M3 used after using my son's M2. I was so impressed with the M2, but having the same with the eyepiece and wifi additions put me over the top. I love the quality of the images, the super fast lens, and the easy to learn interface. My work DSL is my Canon d700, but the quality I get from this M3 makes it hard to pull out that big gun. The only thing missing for me (personal preference) is a scale display for the meter rather than numbers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatility, in a small package.

Body Only 04/03/2019 by GrantGB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When deciding to buy a camera like the RX100 III you have obviously, already, decided to make compromises with the camera, in this case, probably in the favour of having a compact camera which can easily be carried around. I wanted a camera which was small and portable, but still retained the creative flexibility of a DSLR/Mirrorless camera. This was why I chose the RX100 III. OK, it doesn't have the interchangeable lens facility, but when I looked at the photography I do, a 'long zoom' is rarely required. That said, this is where the RX100 III does have a bit of a surprise. The optical 2.9x zoom, which is great for adjusting composition, can be extended, with the clear image digital facility, to 4.9x, with little effect on image quality. OK, the RAW facility is lost when any digital zoom is used, but that was the reason I chose this camera. I wanted to have the freedom to compose the image, in camera, as I wanted it to be, due to not being a great fan of post processing using software. Owning such a versatile camera as the RX100 III means I can create the images I want and know that post processing can be kept to a minimum!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast shutter speed

Body Only 01/03/2019 by Ross J (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony camera previously and although happy with it the shutter speed was too slow. I spoke with several friends and a knowlageble shop assistant and all advised that Sony make the best cameras so I confidentally bought another one which I am very happy with.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome for travel - great overall quality

Body Only 27/02/2019 by THEO805 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used for both photo and video - my only complaint is the hinges that hold the screen on, they have both come undone buy easy to repair myself

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony camera

Body Only 26/02/2019 by prithiviraj (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

very satisfied . i really mean it.easy to carry .ok

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many good features

Body Only 25/02/2019 by gillk (United Kingdom)

Very happy with results looking forward to many more pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Programme Guide poor

Body Only 13/02/2019 by X357 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All good, except the fact that the programme guide is too small and cannot be enlarged for those without 20/20 vision. I see that many other people have the same problem and as I do not wish to have a screen the size of a wall, I would probably not buy another Sony only due to this problem.

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 09/02/2019 by Magsy May (United Kingdom)

Purchased very recently, bought the Sony A6000 last year, wonderful camera, this I wanted as a smaller pocket/handbag size camera. Quickly realised the menu is very similar to A6000. very pleased , absolutely delighted

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

loads of functionality

Body Only 03/02/2019 by Cornishman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to take to my son's wedding so that I didn't have to worry about a DSLR and all the equipment. Small size, functionality, controllability and quality were important factors for me. The RX100 III meets all requirements - so far. As I have only had the camera for 2 weeks and the wedding is yet to happen I cannot say much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0