94

4.3 based on 94 customer reviews

52
30
4
2
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Both Focus and Exposure Are Fast and Accurate:

DSCRX100M5/B 22/01/2018 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it for a trip to Europe on a tour. I had to shoot fast as I was always with family and a larger group while we listening to a guide. The pop-up viewfinder is really wonderful to use. The photos were in focus with accurate exposure. It worked well both outside and inside. Inside included art museums, churches and castles and bakeries. Because of the high contrast conditions inside (dark objects and bright windows), I set the Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) to +5, which worked well. Upon downloading the files into my computer, I had many nice choices. The files were easy to enhance with photo software. Last, this camera functions delightfully well as a point and shoot. However, I recommend the book by Alexander S. White so that you can get even more out of your camera as it has advanced and professional features. Happy Photographing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14/02/2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

105 Customer Reviews

0

Very versatile

DSC-RX100M5 18/10/2018 by Totts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is ideal for carrying around easily. It has so many features that it will take a while to explore them all and learn how to use it correctly. The photos I have taken so far are excellent quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful

DSC-RX100M5 05/10/2018 by Tournan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Already owner of a Sony RX100, I've found the same picture quality with the Sony RX100 V I definitely recommend this camera, you can not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Failed just out of warranty

dscrx100m5 01/10/2018 by dougd19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera has loads of features and an excellent sensor that can take great photos. Mine went dead a few months out of warranty and the repair was $276. I think the viewing screen is hard to see in daylight. The eye pop-up is good but very small. This is not a camera for any but the nimblest of fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant but complex

DSC-RX100M5A 27/09/2018 by Pauler (United Kingdom)

My initial reaction is that it will be highly suitable as a compact holiday camera instead of my Sony APS-C. In the early stages it seems very complex although versatile might be a fairer description. One seemingly mean feature is the obvious need to buy an (admittedly low cost) grip for such an expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-RX100M5 21/09/2018 by Scammed1 (United Kingdom)

the flash and the viewfinder are flimsy and difficult to use.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Perfect pocket photography

DSC-RX100M5 10/09/2018 by H4 Hornet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to have a larger digital camera and every time you saw a special shot, the camera was not to hand. Then the smartphone started to cope with the instant shots. The RX100V is perfect and has given me the bandwidth to take the shots that I used to only consider with a larger camera. Worth buying the leather case as well to save that endless unpacking/ packing. I do not leave home without it ( work and play).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I’m annoyed

DSC-RX100M5 07/09/2018 by Gauran (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera just about a month and already I have problem with it I’ve had to take it back into store for the camera shutter to be fixed which I’m extremely annoyed about, I buy Sony for a reason and didn’t expect that to happen seems like a common problem with this camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice and compact and build quality

DSC-RX100M5 22/08/2018 by super cue (United Kingdom)

Only had for one day so cannot comment at this moment in time, only negative is that I had to purchase a grip for the camera at extra cost as the camera was difficult to hold. I have read many reviews regarding this matter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

NOT WORTH IT

DSC-RX100M5 21/08/2018 by Mike qwerty (USA)

I bought the first RX100 when it came out, and loved it - used it for years. I dropped it from several feet and it still kept on working. But ... everyone likes an upgrade, right? The first thing that struck me was how much heavier and clunkier this version V is. The selfie flip piece adds significant bulk and is unnecessary. The pictures were good compared with the first RX100, but better? Didn't seem to be.The flash also needs to be manually flipped each time, as opposed to other models. Dumb. It even takes longer to start up than the first model. Anyway, not my biggest problems - though they would have been enough for me to knock the rating down quite a bit. The worst problem - the thing shut down while I was on vacation recently. It wanted to be reset - OK, weird, but fine. Now it won't even open. The best part - I'm one month out of warranty! Nothing about the repair is covered. I'm back to my original RX100, and probably happier. But my pocket is quite a bit lighter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

A small camera with a lot of impact

DSC-RX100M5A 12/08/2018 by Marcia G (USA)

I bought this camera to take with me while I walked over 635 miles across Northern Spain last Fall. I needed something compact (fits in pants pocket) yet took good quality photos. It's spoiled me....though I still love my DSLR and lenses this little camera has proven itself over and over again for quality and impact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Taking time to adjust

DSC-RX100M5 05/08/2018 by Iain Ruadh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to have a small camera I could carry with me all the time so I could occasionally leave the big one at home. So far after a couple of weeks it is working out as I hoped, but with so many functions I think I still have a long way to go to understand all of the things I can do with it. I particularly wanted it for landscapes and quck family pictures and it seems good for that. I hoped to do sports and macro as well, but haven’t really had time to try these out yet.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good pictures

DSC-RX100M5 01/08/2018 by asdfgh (United Kingdom)

I bought the product 1 day ago. First impression is good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fast AutoFocus!

DSC-RX100M5 26/07/2018 by marian05 (USA)

I purchased this camera last year and loved it. Then a new model was supposed to come out and I sold it. Received the new model and realized I made a mistake. Returned the new model and re-ordered the RX100 V. Excellent pictures and very fast. Love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fit for purpose

DSC-RX100M5 14/07/2018 by Contract Guy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As expected from SONY, a high quality, well featured camera that is extremely convenient and can produce some brilliant images. Over 60 years, I have owned all sorts of point-and-shoot to high-end cameras and it is impossible to find a perfect balance in one camera between ease of portability and range of features/focal-length but this comes close. The pop-up viewfinder is a brilliant (and necessary) feature for certain light conditions and handling dioptre adjustment but is a bit flimsy and I am concerned how it will stand up to long-term use but other than that, it does exactly what I expected and I am enjoying ownership!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good Back Up

DSC-RX100M5 06/07/2018 by yyyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for the times I don't want to carry my Nikon SLRs around. Still getting to know all the features, but happy so far with results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mini Marvel

DSC-RX100M5 30/06/2018 by normanb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wee gem a few weeks ago to replace my mirrorless Panasonic G8, i was fed up carrying all the gear around so wanted something that could do most of the things my 4/3 camera could do and this does it in spades. I may have given up a bit of telephoto range but have an amazing small zoom the is F1:1.8, terrific.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Portable and stunning 4K video

DSC-RX100M5 30/06/2018 by Little owl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to use as a carry around when DSLR and lenses can be heavy and obtrusive. It is an excellent camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Beautiful pictures of Sydney

DSCRX100M5/B 26/06/2018 by Marky1Mark1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for a trip to Sydney. The pictures turned out beautiful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A pocket sized powerhouse

DSC-RX100M5 25/06/2018 by ragingaardvark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd been having an argument with myself about buying one of these for many months and, now I have taken the plunge, I couldn't be more happy. It's reasurringly weighty and oozes quality. I've only tried a few of the function so far, but the pictures have been excellent. The battery life is generous and the speed of lens and write to card are both superb. I take it with me everywhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Too slow

DSC-RX100M5 24/06/2018 by Jen77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Take a quite long time to switch on or off after I press the button

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 Expensive and problematic

DSCRX100M5/B 18/06/2018 by eddie colla (USA)

I bought this a few months ago. Great camera. Lately it turns on and off by itdelf constantly sometimes when its just lying on a table untouched. You cant put it in your pocket or a case or it starts turning on and off by itself. I bought it for a manth I'll be spending in France . This was to be my main camera and now it's useless. so it's back to my samsung camera phone. It takes amazing pictures but lasted 2 months before i had major problems with it. This is a point and shoot is amongst the most expensiveon the market. It's super disappointing to spend that kind of money and be stranded without a camera while traveling for a month.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great features,lightweight and pocketable.

DSC-RX100M5 15/06/2018 by Peter9999999999999999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to replace my Canon compact and having fully researched on line came to the conclusion that the RX100M5 was the best. Now that I have it, I feel confident it is. One month later they come up with the mark 6.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent all round

DSC-RX100M5 12/06/2018 by bonneville650 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera Learning how to use the menus is very important.It can be complicated. I would recommend that you get to know all the menus and settings before starting to use the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best compact camera

DSC-RX100M5 02/06/2018 by Alanh01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a small “pocket camera” for hill walking and cycling holidays that offered the features of a good SLR and the convenience of a phone camera. The Rx100M5 fits the brief perfectly and the image quality is amazing for such a tiny camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M5 30/05/2018 by Immy_loves (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this camera. Takes great pictures and good for vlogging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow

DSCRX100M5/B 28/05/2018 by Davorvekic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it as a gift as requested gor long time to my spouse. Great as ever gift that keeps on giving for long time in the future. I’ll study it as it is overwhelming to learn, trial and error would be great execution in beginning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Features; good camera.

DSC-RX100M5 11/05/2018 by cmtavares (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend this camera because it has features above average, taking into consideration other cameras of the same range; However, I do not understand how it is possible for a customer not to be able to buy Sony Playmemories apps, when he is from a country where is not available. It’s a shame for Sony. That’s the reason for not giving 5 star

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to carry with you

DSC-RX100M5 27/04/2018 by buster 83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was fed up with carting my camera and lenses abput

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrific spec for a pocket size camera

DSC-RX100M5 18/04/2018 by Marlow One (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera several weeks ago so have not used it very much. I am delighted with the results so far although the camera had to be returned for repair when the electronic viewfinder pulled out and could not be returned to its correct position.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

3

0

0

Takes great photos not just snaps

DSC-RX100M5 08/04/2018 by Finni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it as a travel camera and took it to Paris for the England France game. Takes great land scapes and great for street photography. Very versatile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Superior pocket camera

DSCRX100M5/B 06/04/2018 by kbruff2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply put this camera is fun, powerful and reliable - feature packed and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Something else

DSC-RX100M5 05/04/2018 by Kevin27 (USA)

To have in camera slow motion up to 960fps alone's insanity, but with an end trigger option??? -----

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

EVF problems

DSC-RX100M5 05/04/2018 by aa_harvey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with imaging, but EVF ..I'm unable to retract, although Sony product, only Sony Europe Warranty honoured and camera was bought on holiday from Sony dealer in Hong Kong

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top of the Line Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04/04/2018 by bob_the_builder (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony is the best - I had a RX100M4 and decided to upgrade to RX100V. Not disappointed. What a high speed versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wrong dimension

DSC-RX100M5 24/03/2018  (USA)

The camera thickness dimension is wrong in the ad. 41 mm is not 8"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Time for a longer range

DSC-RX100M5 22/03/2018 by Photorara (USA)

I own a rx100 mk1 and just finished using this mk v, while there are speed improvements and better video on this new model, the 24-70mm range is now obsolete. To have a worthwhile upgrade it is overdue To extend the range to at least 120-200mm at the long end.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

0

Outstanding performance

DSC-RX100M5 16/03/2018 by Jules0606 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera around 4 weeks ago and it's not left my person. I needed something alittle smaller than my Sony A7r when out and about and as a wheelchair user this camera ticks every box for me. It has fantastic focus speed and great Zeiss fast lens so ISO can be nice and low. Would recommend this pocket rocket to anyone, professionally and as a amateur.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

good

DSCRX100M5/B 04/03/2018 by lakevin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

want to take lots of good pictures, travel a lot, meet many people and leave good pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great and compact

DSCRX100M5/B 26/02/2018 by Sadra1988 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Advanced features in the small body Superb photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality, interface and manual focus not

DSC-RX100M5 26/02/2018 by madaeon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Photo quality and video quality is very good. The 1000fps feature and AF are very good. Navigating through the settings using the interface is not intuitive and complicated. Using the manual focus is not easy in video mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

camera is good but horrible sony online support

DSCRX100M5/B 17/02/2018 by faisaltaher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am trying to add application timelapse but cant do it and there is no proper support

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Both Focus and Exposure Are Fast and Accurate:

DSCRX100M5/B 22/01/2018 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it for a trip to Europe on a tour. I had to shoot fast as I was always with family and a larger group while we listening to a guide. The pop-up viewfinder is really wonderful to use. The photos were in focus with accurate exposure. It worked well both outside and inside. Inside included art museums, churches and castles and bakeries. Because of the high contrast conditions inside (dark objects and bright windows), I set the Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) to +5, which worked well. Upon downloading the files into my computer, I had many nice choices. The files were easy to enhance with photo software. Last, this camera functions delightfully well as a point and shoot. However, I recommend the book by Alexander S. White so that you can get even more out of your camera as it has advanced and professional features. Happy Photographing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic autofocus

DSC-RX100M5 12/01/2018 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought mainly for video, the way it snaps onto what you wanted to show almost instantly is amazing. The way the rear screen folds up, while useful, seems clumsy and part of the screen is hidden, plus it will get damaged against the camera body if you don't have a protector on. Stills are outstanding too though I have noticed moe noise than expected in the background of expansive scenes. The viewfinder is potentially useful but my previous (Canon) didn't have one so have got out of the habit of using one, and forget it's there. I would much rather all that space was used for an external microphone input, and a way to mount a small microphone is sorely missed too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

no software

DSC-RX100M5 08/01/2018 by wendo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was a Christmas present. It is a fine camera but I cannot use the RAW options as my old version of lightroom (5) cannot upload the RAW files. The download software wont work on any of my 4 computers windows or MAC. I am in despair. I have a very expensive camera that I can only use a limited amount of functions.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Great starter camera!

DSCRX100M5/B 29/12/2017 by Taramisue (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago for a birthday present to myself. I have really only had experience with camera phones so I am excited to learn on this camera. Right away I am impressed by the quality of the images and the ease of finding information on settings to get the most out of this product. I am excited to learn more about this camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nearly Perfect..

DSC-RX100M5 21/12/2017 by gurjj (United Kingdom)

I can not fault it in terms of the quality of image or video it produces but I do have a few wishes for it. It would be great if there was an audio input for an alternate mic, the software could be better and surely the screen should be touchscreen in the next model. Would be great to control when to shoot with a bluetooth remote. The app you can download to view what is on the screen needs to be improved so it has move functions. All the software stuff can be fixed which would make this camera the go to point and shoot as the hardware is solid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony

DSC-RX100M5 13/12/2017 by Rombud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for holidays nearly as good as canon DSLR also own mk 1

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Awful Software -Unable to use on Apple Mac

DSC-RX100M5 11/12/2017 by Marksy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

While the camera is OK the complete lack of up to date software for a Mac to enable the photographs to be transferred to a Mac is unbelievable - and what makes it worse is Sony just don't seems to care. I contacted customer services and they said "it does not work" The best option is to take the card out and copy the photographs using this method. I am sure that this will not be available on Son'y site but if not then I will put it on plenty of other site. They just don't seem to care and just shrug me off. I have spent a lot of money on this camera and this has spoiled my whole experience of Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

0

Size and features.

DSC-RX100M5 11/12/2017 by Pehan1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Without doubt quality of workmanship and lens. SW - you need to spend some time to learn all benefits. Basic features are clear enough. I am more at home with still pictures and I wanted to have camera which I shall have in my pocket all the time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact, versatile, powerful

DSC-RX100M5 08/12/2017 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs something compact to carry with me all the time. Something with quality images and a wide range of shooting parameters. Delighted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very high quality images

DSC-RX100M5 05/12/2017 by Rubica (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been very impressed with the results I have been able to achieve with this camera so far, especially in low light conditions. It gives me image quality very similar to my much larger (and heavier) interchangeable lens system camera, and does so with very little fuss. As a carry around camera when I don’t want to be lugging bags of kit it is superb. The only problem I have found is as a result of the factor that is also its main advantage which is the size. You do need to pay a bit of attention to which controls you are using, but this is inevitable in a camera so small, and I would not want it to be any larger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The best pocketable ‘proper’ compact you can buy!

DSC-RX100M5 01/12/2017 by KavKav (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the Mark 1 and also the Sony RX1 do I have plenty to compare the mark V with. To have all of the features I want in a camera this size is remarkable, added to which the markV delivered superb pictures and is very fast. It is hard to see how the upcoming markVI can meaningfully improve on this. 10/10 Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 22/11/2017 by Leave blank (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible power in a tiny body - exactly what I wanted in a second camera to back up an interchangeable lens system. It gets some flak in reviews for its complex menu system, and yes it takes a good deal of time to research and set the camera up to one’s preference. But I do have a PhD and enjoy that kind of thing! The range of focussing options is particularly complex, and could do with better explanation. However once there I really like the system; everything you need to find is quickly accessible without diving into menus. And it works so well, particularly the focus system. The battery life is not good, but a price I am happy to pay for the compact size and level of performance. However given that, it is poor that Sony fail to supply a battery charger, and that their branded batteries are so overpriced. Charging is by micro usb lead to the camera itself, rather fiddly, and in my experience that connector is not very robust. So I suspect most owners will be driven to the aftermarket for batteries and charger, with its associated risks. Sony, please include a second battery and charger in this premium product. I originally rejected the RX100 series because the included viewfinder didn’t work well for spectacle users, in particular it just got pushed back in when placed at the eye. I am learning to live with it, but it would go from good to great with the simple addition of a lock. I haven’t used the camera enough to make a definitive judgement on the all important subject of image quality, but initial impression is that discerning users wil be satisfied with the lens and sensor performance. Zoom range is limited at the long end, but a necessary compromise for the compact size of body and sensor size. Some competitors have extended the long end, and this should be a target for the next model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great quality and features in a tiny package

DSC-RX100M5 21/11/2017 by joskiboy (United Kingdom)

Downsized a DSLR for this and am very pleased. Really fast to use, really fast to focus (phase detect is great). Image quality is great. Shame there is no touchscreen but it is really quite amazing how many features and what such quality they have crammed inside such a small machine. Easy enough to be with me whenever I need it and more than good enough picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A big-hearted camera in a very compact body.

DSC-RX100M5 21/11/2017 by HMhappysnapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for about a couple of weeks now. Being a long-term SLR user I wanted to try a compact that fulfilled the range between point-and-shoot with the ability to benefit from features that a full-blown SLR could provide. This certainly does not disappoint. The quality and capabilities of this little camera have amazed me. It goes with me everywhere (in my pocket) and gives me opportunities for those shots that would previously have required me to carry bulky camera gear. I am still learning how to take advantage of of its many capabilities and will continue to enjoy doing so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M5 20/11/2017 by oasissteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera and I am happy with it but I have issues with processing raw files in Lightroom and using my iPhone six for camera remote which is the only disappointment I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-RX100M5 18/11/2017 by zdzyisiek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to add to my collection. It is easy to use if you are used to Sony cameras. Otherwise it is of the quality you expect for this price and it fits in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ultimate pocket camera, most probably!

DSC-RX100M5 02/11/2017 by Injun (United Kingdom)

I bought the Mark V (M5) as a replacement to the my ‘aging’ M2. However, the M2 is till ca very capable camera - but I now needed to upgrade to a better design Zeiss lens (equivalent to my Canon 24-70 mm f2.8L II lens for Sony A7rII). The results so far from the M5 are outstanding and I am very satisfied - and certainly of high quality and able to produce A2 prints if required. The technical upgrades since the M2 are most welcome, however, in my current area of photography 4K video capability is secondary, but delivering high quality images is my primary reason for purchasing the M5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony RX100 V

DSC-RX100M5 17/10/2017 by paul_ie (United Kingdom)

I purchased the RX100V to support my USA photo trip. It was to be my record shot camera backing up the DSLR but I found myself reaching for this camera before the DSLR. The handling and fast AF and 4K video meant good sharp shots and true exposure reproduction. Feature packed, retractable view-finder and flash, adjustable LCD screen, good long-lasting battery. All-in an excellent camera for every-day shooting or special trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A truly awesome camera. The best point and shoot.

DSC-RX100M5 09/10/2017 by PheasantPluker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera blows me away with its ability to take stunning images and video. I’m an amateur videographer and I have fallen in love with this camera. It’s so versatile and the ability to take amazing images and video in low light is the icing on the cake for me. The only con for me is the price. A very expensive point & shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Size/Compact! Perfect!! Weight! Perfect!!!

DSCRX100M5/B 01/10/2017 by Quetal1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I will use it today for the 1st time, so I can't say much yet.And fulling around with it this morning, it is EASY...I gave my Sony AX plus 2 lenses to my grandson because I just didn't want to carry weight anymore. Will review after my trip to Nevada City

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great pictures

DSC-RX100M5 18/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, great pictures and can go anywhere in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

good quality video recording

DSC-RX100M5 11/09/2017 by Johnnnn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have upgraded from the RX 100 3 because I wanted the improved video quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior Quality For A Compact Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I searched a lot for a compact camera before I settled on this one. The 1.0-type sensor was the selling point for me. I've had it for over a month now, and I can safely say that I'm pretty happy with it. Pros (what comes to mind) - Surprisingly good in low light - Responsive - Lengthy battery life - Video stabilisation - Ergonomic - Easy to use - Electronic view finder Cons - Disappointing quality in HFR (High Frame Rate mode) - Electronic zoom slower than expected Feature Request (Below are things that I already knew about before purchasing, so they're not disappointing. Nevertheless, it would be nice to see them added in future generations.) - Mechanical zoom - Bigger zoom range - Touchscreen - GPS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M5 04/09/2017 by Sbradec (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned the two previous models of the RX100, it is a great camera, the Mk5 makes a good camera, a great camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Studio quality on the go!

dscrx100m5 29/08/2017 by BRealz81 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these for about a year.5 now and I use them everyday during my travel to work. I high recommend ... hands down one of the best wireless headphones I've ever tried and owned. The Bass Boost button is what makes the ultimate difference in my opinion (it's what separates it from the rest - it deep rich bass). The only one negative would be the size (they're quite bulky).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

10

0

RX100M5 is a great compact camera. Best for travel

DSCRX100M5/B 17/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 days ago and took quite a few photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

DSCRX100M5/B 15/08/2017 by onsunset (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My only problem is the lack of long range capability; hope a lens can be added in the future. Realize this might offset the benefits of it fitting in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0