454

4.2 based on 454 customer reviews

252
125
39
9
29
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

454 Customer Reviews

0

Instructions

DSCW800 22/05/2018 by lhoward51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SIMPLE instructions on the basic use of the camera are needed. For ratings below, I have not yewt used the camera enough to give it a meaningful rating.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Magic camera

DSC-W800 18/05/2018 by Ron234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good replacement for broken W810. Easy to use.Quality pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very handy

DSC-W800 17/05/2018 by octopus18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this was bought as a standby for my wife and it does the job

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very useful camera

DSC-W800 13/05/2018 by PEB21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera because of its small size making it easy to slip into small pocket or carry bag. I use it for recording pictures of installations and equipment during maintenance or repair as well as personal family photographs. Really useful camera. It is easy and quick to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Buy Camera

DSC-W800 11/05/2018 by Pattifromoxford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little camera is simple to operate and perfect for slipping into a handbag or pocket on a day out,giving excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great buy

DSC-W800 07/05/2018 by Jilly7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a camera that was easy to operate and this is. The size is just right easily fits into a bag, very pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice little unit

DSC-W800 01/05/2018 by Bluejim22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the camera 5weeks Before it decided it was,not going to work anymore Very disappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very easy to use...

DSC-W800 24/04/2018 by Dabs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a month ago. I wanted a straightforward camera to replace one which was dying after ten years of good service. This new camera is perfect for me. Simple, lightweight, petite - it's ideal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

W800 camera

DSC-W800 21/04/2018 by Vogue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The size of the camera makes it ideal for slipping into a pocket or handbag, the length of time that it has been in my position has not enabled a qualified assessmet of it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simplest digital camera you can use.

DSC-W800 20/04/2018 by Andreas2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony digital camera was easy to use and the quality of picture on the view screen was crystal clear. The camera is fun to use too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-W800 18/04/2018 by Pathsbooks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A camera you can put in your pocket ready for any event. Simple to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to operate.

DSC-W800 16/04/2018 by Teen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used it once and is light and easy to use. simple to operate instructions good. I had hoped it was a bit more sturdy as I am not sure about all the plastic used. Taking it away on holiday soon and will transfer photos onto laptop, lets see how this goes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Problems - but solvable!

DSC-W800 14/04/2018 by JanetS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed more information on box and leaflet. Rang Customer Service as needed help with setting up. They were very good. Then internal memory ran out after only about 4 photos and had to search for a memory card stockist while on holiday. Suggest Sony charges more to include a memory card, or states on box and leaflet that you MUST buy one when purchasing camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Didn't work properly

DSC-W800 13/04/2018 by Wannabe81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wouldn't hold the exposure setting even after following the Sony support instructions. Bought the WX350 which is great.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

reasonable features only

DSC-W800 06/04/2018 by trousigmt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this at Christmas to replace my FUJI. Peformance/features is OK at best and not as good as my previous camera. Build quality is inferior and camera has already been replaced as lens jamned. Sadly Fuji no longer make cameas of this type and I thought buying a brand such as SONY would have been a good replacement. Sadly not - maybe ok for some buyers but, had I the opportunity would look for an alternative.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

I dropped my previous Sony Cypershot camera-- God

DSC-W800 04/04/2018 by pmreichold (USA)

I've missed it. I love this camera. I can see the view screen clearly in the bright FLorida sun. The controls are easy to access. I can adjust shooting mode and settings easily. The shutter release and the zoom switch are right where they need to be. It works well for 99% of shots with the Intelligent Auto setting. I can adjust exposure, white balance and sensitivity (Iso) easily and qucikly for the rest. I can set the timer to a variety of settings. It takes outstanding shots in all lighting conditions from bright sunlight to moonless night. I have essential tremors, so there will be some movement. It compensates for my shakiness amazingly well- no blurred images from camera shake. IF you're not stupid enough to move the camera while shooting you won't have a problem. It's rare for a product to live up to its advertising as well as this camera does.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ALWAYS GREAT PRODUCTS FROM SONY

DSC-W800 26/03/2018 by richardgogar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera, easy to use and great quality in both product and pictures. I've never been let down by Sony across its whole product range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature

DSC-W800 25/03/2018 by John74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a birthday gift to replace a damaged easy share camera. It replaces this with added features. Good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent small camera

DSC-W800 24/03/2018 by Autolycus99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my wife a Sony W800 for her birthday and was so impressed I bought one for myself. It is a really great camera, I have been taking photographs for a very long time and this is a revelation in how far small cameras have come in terms of facilities and quality. I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-W800 20/03/2018 by Lui the Pirat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 month ago and I'am so happy......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD LITTLE CAMERA

DSCW800/B 19/03/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT CAMERA AND EASY TO USE AND CARRY AROUND. EASILY USABLE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and compact

DSC-W800 16/03/2018 by Mothergoose13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice 60th birthday present easy to use and put in handbag

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad instructions to get started

DSC-W800 12/03/2018 by peterbh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'how to use' instruction leaflet does not include anything about setting up with language, date, etc. so I could not use it for three weeks after purchase, by when I had been and returned from holiday.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very compact

DSC-W800 09/03/2018 by bellson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a damaged Samsung camera and it is great. Very compact and lightweight, just what I need to keep in my back pocket when cycling.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-W800 02/03/2018 by katy1947 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a gift about a month ago..I really am very happy with it..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Natty............

DSC-W800 24/02/2018 by Kiwilass45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have found this wee camera the easiest I have ever used. And it is much clearer than others as well. I just love the 'point and shoot' feature as I need the least instructions possible. Simple - easy is very good in my book. it's a cracker camers...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very handy

DSC-W800 19/02/2018 by GymB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because it was a compact. Very good spec, point and shoot.i have had a compact before and this beats the features on that.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

W800 Camera

DSC-W800 10/02/2018 by Pete 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, compact in size for ease of carrying, very portable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

you don't have to waste $$$$ on batteries!

DSCW800B 05/02/2018 by ask her (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

found this wonderful camera while flying, as a friend had one, so purchased it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Value for money

DSC-W800 03/02/2018 by Timewasting (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a gift for a beginner. Good value entry product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera with excellent features

DSC-W800 01/02/2018 by KH99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with the results from the camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Small size

DSCW800 28/01/2018 by stella1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small and fits my hand and carries in my purse. Good pictures that print well. First camera failed and there was no problem having it replaced. Good customer service.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Seems easy enough to use

DSC-W800 21/01/2018 by xyx654321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Requested this as a Christmas present 7 so far have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

very handy size

DSC-W800 20/01/2018 by Big papa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had given to me as a gift and very pleased so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rubbish pictures

DSC-W800 18/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does not produce very good quality pictures menu quite hard to get to grips with

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Very easy!

DSC-W800 18/01/2018 by CathTen1827 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to set up, use and save pictures. Very happy with this product. Only the focus is hard to control when taking pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-W800 17/01/2018 by chickenlicken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a present to be a replacement for my previous camera which gave up the ghost after many years of service. I have only tested this one a little but was very disappointed to find that I could not edit, and retain, taken images by using the zoom feature, something my last camera did. To be sure I hadn't misunderstood the instructions I emailed Sony who confirmed that this camera did not have this feature. Otherwise it seems a basic pocket camera, easy to use, although like most cameras it is difficult to see what's on the screen in very bright conditions. I have not yet tried to edit photos online.

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 12/01/2018 by T2m34m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this as an Christmas present and I am thrilled with it and its functions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

DSC-W800 12/01/2018 by FROGGY 47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

EASY TO USE WITH EXCELLENT RESULTS IN ALL LIGHTING CONDITIONS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

ms

DSC-W800 08/01/2018 by miss piggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present from boyfriend love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

Small and compact

DSC-W800 07/01/2018 by Mart 62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a Christmas gift for my husband it is easy to use compact and portable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great compact

DSC-W800 04/01/2018 by clobb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for Xmas and for a small point and shoot, videos also, its superb. Highly recommended at this price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SMALL, COMPACT AND LIGHT

DSC-W800 03/01/2018 by Cunning (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a small compact camera and this one fits the bill

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very poor quality images

DSC-W800 01/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed this for close up work . It turns deep reds faded pink , deep blues faded sky blue . The only plus i can find is good battery life as i have tried umpteen times with different settings to no avail but at least the battery held up! Deleting images is also a chore needing 2 buttons and drop down menu

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0