572

4.3 based on 572 customer reviews

319
168
40
21
24
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02/10/2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29/09/2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

572 Customer Reviews

0

Fabulous!

DSC-W830 30/11/2019 by ejbg2001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and I think its wonderful. It is so compact I can carry it around everywhere, it is so responsive I can take awesome snaps and so quick I can use it any time. It has improved my photo taking many times over.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Point and shoot compact

DSC-W830 19/11/2019 by Teedy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as it is small and compact and can be carried in my pocket. Works well and takes excellent quality pictures. Would have liked a higher zoom but most cameras this size have a lower zoom so it's not to bad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Replacement camera

DSCW830B 12/11/2019 by havahart 2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delivery was prompt. Camera was a bit disappointing as it didn't have the features my old Sony had even though it was similar in model and price range. Display is grainy and the photo processing is slow.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 27/10/2019 by Sophie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old camera had broken and I wanted a similar one. This one is even better, bigger zoom, smaller size and better automatic shooting, even macro

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-W830 22/10/2019 by Mandery (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tricky to turn on, often have to have a couple of attempts. Often slow to focus or takes blurry photos. Display is poor quality. Not as good as my previous Cannon.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 22/10/2019 by Rene12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only recently bought this camera, so only used it a few times, but found it very easy. Also it's size means It fit easily into my bag or pocket so It's easily accessible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect holiday Camera

DSC-W830 20/10/2019 by Commando68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for snapping away on holiday but pretty much have it with me all the time now. Fed up taking pics on my phone only to delete later to free up memory. Read reviews that complained about the on off button. Yes it’s a little fiddly but not enough to complain about. Great battery life. Good quality pictures. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Point and shoot

DSCW830 15/10/2019 by starman913 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd Sony camera over the years Great product easy to use Great value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSC-W830 10/10/2019 by Mr Harry O (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago wanted an easy to use camera andx it does not disappoint

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fits all my needs

DSC-W830 03/10/2019 by JBRUSSELL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera just two weeks ago, I have not put it down since then, the size, zoom lens, sharpness and quality of the photos met all of my expectations. great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

just what I wantede

DSC-W830 03/10/2019 by ohme (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because I wanted a simple small unit to take on holiday instead of the big one I had been using. I'm glad I did because it does exactly what I got it for. Easy to use and very good value.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Pocket sized camera of quality.

DSC-W830 02/10/2019 by Sutton70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An update to my old W200 was overdue. This replacement is just excellent. Lightweight and with quality photos and video. A delight to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Capable Little Camera

DSC-W830 26/09/2019 by Davy100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and after two weeks in Cornwall where a lot of video was taken it performed extremely well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-W830 12/09/2019 by Caza (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with it apart from the on/off button being very small

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

DSCW830 10/09/2019 by Dancer69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice easy to use and great pictures and the features and easy to access making it simple to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An Excellent User Friendly Camera

DSC-W830 08/09/2019 by budgie 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to replace an older camera and it has been used on many occasions with no problems and has taken many excellent photos .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 06/09/2019 by Moonyean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as old Nikkon Coolpix no longer working. The only drawback that it did

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSCW830B 04/09/2019 by Kayak Kate (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera prior to a trip to the southwest . Great pictures right out of the box!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use point and take picture

DSC-W830 30/08/2019 by halfwelsh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is light but steady in the hand to shoot. Camera lens gives good clear picture in viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Photo and Video ability!

DSCW830 30/08/2019 by Crunchy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has great focusing ability. It also can take "MACRO" photos, too!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too clever

DSC-W830 26/08/2019 by steve 36 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

You cant buy a simple camera anymore. Its a little small for my liking, almost awkward to get hold of, difficulty in turning on unless you have long fingernails, too many settings, ergo, hard to find the setting you want before moment gone. having said that some auto settings are very convenient and nice clear shots. The flimsy piece of paper optimistically called an instruction manual is sadly inadequate and after registering my purchase to access the help line there were so many links that told you sod all I couldn't even find a page that told me how to download photos to computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera features

DSC-W830 14/08/2019  (United Kingdom)

I brought the camera three days ago and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CHEAP, EASY TO USE.

DSC-W830 11/08/2019 by alxcaz (United Kingdom)

Camera is very easy to use, feels a bit flimsy, but does what i want, it's small and compact, with a good battery life, and it's easy to transfer photos to my PC for editing, and saving or printing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cannot recommend

DSC-W830 09/08/2019 by Disappointed Dave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a lot of research, I decided to purchase this camera. There was one negative review amongst loads of other very positive ones that I dismissed; however I wish that I had paid more attention to it. The main reason that I cannot recommend this camera is that, when taking a picture, an image preview appears on the screen, which is useful if required. However, you cannot switch this function off. I have consulted with Sony, and they agree that the image preview cannot be switched off. In reality therefore, it means that from taking one picture to being ready to take the next one takes around 5 seconds, and there is nothing you can do about it. If you want to take lots of pictures quickly, you can't basically, and can miss important moments. It is really annoying and frustrating. Why is it on a mobile phone you can take say, 3 pictures a second, and on a dedicated camera of the quality of Sony, you can't. I also don't recommend it because the auto focus takes a while and is a bit hit and miss, and the on/off button is very fiddly, and again if you want to take a picture quickly, I have lost valuable time or the moment fiddling around trying to turn it on. Whilst the quality of the pictures is good, for the really frustrating points I've mentioned above, I without doubt cannot recommend this camera. I should have paid more attention to the negative review I read, which basically said the same as I have done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SONY W830

DSC-W830 01/08/2019 by LeymoorTerrier (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After my 'Canon PowerShot 470' finally gave up the ghost, I thought I'd give this one a try. It's a bit 'fiddly' small for my ageing fingers, but, like everything else electronic, quite powerful. I like the panorama feature, good for covering my bowling green!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ok for the price

DSC-W830 29/07/2019 by RayH10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's not a bad camera. In certain conditions it's quite good. You have to play around with the settings to get a decent shot. Would be nice if you could use one setting for general picture taking. I'm not an expert but I do expect a decent picture when you zoom in. Don't like the power button, would prefer it to protrude a bit more. However on a plus side, a fairly decent camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best value for the money.

DSCW830 28/07/2019 by fish catcher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and video quality for the money you just can't beat it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy Assemble

DSCW830 14/07/2019 by Rose1306 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for an affordable, small, easy to use camera to travel with, although I have not used it yet, I can tell you, for a non-tech person, it was easy to assemble. I will write again after using on my trip.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

colour quality

DSC-W830 13/07/2019 by Terry 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

my only disappointment was the too brief instruction booklet, and particvularly the brevity re connection to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

poor instructions/directions

DSCW830B 08/07/2019 by raydoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought camera as a simple point and shoot. followed instructions to copy on play memories-after 4 calls to sony i still cant share pictures . i cant recommend a product which your own people cant help me fix

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

quality photogrsphs excellent zoom capability

DSC-W830 03/07/2019 by clazh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Remarkable quality photos' the zoom capability is outstanding , the automatic mode is excellent , all this in such a small package.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact camera

DSC-W830 30/06/2019 by Patricia 68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera good size, fits into my small handbag, so ready to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Price for the Quility!

DSC-W830 30/06/2019 by Marsh97 (Canada)

I just bought one of these in Silver 2 weeks ago and all of the pictures I have taken so far with this camera have been great. Now of course it's not at the level of a $2000 camera, but that's to be expected considering it only costs $150. Overall, great product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Great Camera

DSCW830 29/06/2019 by DaylilyDawn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this camera to replace my original DC-W560 that disappered from our car I love the picture quality it takes and the color balance is awesome. All in all I highly recommend this camera if you are in the market to buy one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Upgrade from the W530

DSC-W830 27/06/2019 by Bewildered Too (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the W530 a number of years ago for survey work, Now I am travel and the W530 continued to be excellent then began to lose focus. The W830 appears to be advanced in features and I am looking forward to putting it thru its paces. I purchased this camera due to my complete satisfaction with the W530.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

dissapointed

DSCW830B 25/06/2019 by 1946rich (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't download to computer instructions faulty no phone number to call for help

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

very good

DSC-W830 15/06/2019 by carchie016 (United Kingdom)

this is my 2nd one and it is grate... the camera is small, good quality image, and lite. would recomend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Classic

DSCW830 12/06/2019 by CKS75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony's Cybershot range of cameras are a staple of reliable, simple and easy to use cameras that get the job done. They also do this in a compact manner (compared to its competitors) and the classsic styling make them age well. Overall a very good point-and-shoot camera that will last for years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1