485

4.3 based on 485 customer reviews

264
152
29
19
21
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02/10/2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29/09/2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

485 Customer Reviews

0

A all round good camera with great features

DSC-W830 16/07/2018 by johwoen502 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found this camera to be a good all round camera with very good picture quality and good zoom and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Probably Stolen

DSCW830 14/07/2018 by Thomas400 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked Great. Used it once and that day it may have been stolen by someone I gave my old Kodak digital camera to

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has great features

DSC-W830 14/07/2018 by Carol Denise (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a replacement.Its very compact,and will easily fit into a handbag. The on/off button is a little small.but overall its a great little camera .I am very pleased with it. Glad I brought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent

DSC-W830 11/07/2018 by Dikips (United Kingdom)

Bought this in June as I forgot my SD card for my 20 yr old camera,while on holiday.It was cheaper to buy this new camera with a free SDcard than buy a card for old camera. This is a very compact little camera and takes great pics..It does everything I want in a camera..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

DSCW830 07/07/2018 by sanduta (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy with purchase i have to learn how to use it hope is easy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great bit o kit

DSC-W830 06/07/2018 by majikmick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

needed camera for holiday seen this w830 compact camera takes really good pics and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Camera

DSCW830B 06/07/2018 by BunECarlos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a broken Canon camera, glad I chose Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-W830 30/06/2018 by SurferDude (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased to say it does what it says on the tin. I needed something small but with more megapixels than a phone. It does almost as much a s a BIG camera and the zoom is very good. perfect for the holiday season.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

PERFECT POCKET CAMERA

DSC-W830 25/06/2018 by MIKE REES (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

EXTREMELY GOOD RESULTS AND YET FITS IN THE POCKET PERFECTLY

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-W830 22/06/2018 by Zip234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pictures are really good quality. It has really amazing features, such as editing and enhancements (skin tone, tooth whitening, etc.) of the images on the camera itself. The Panorama feature is really easy to use, giving great results. The on-board software is very easy to customise. It takes a big, full-size SD card, although that's not mentioned in the product specs.! It's quick to recharge. One down point is that after you take a picture the processing speed is slow. The USB cable supplied is specific for this camera. So, don't lose it as it's not a regular cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Could be better.

DSCW830 21/06/2018 by Trickie Rickie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the Sony-W830 for six months now. It has performed as expected of a Sony product. I should have bought a camera with blue tooth compatability but there are always work arounds. Thinking out-of-the-box it could have been designed more ergonomically for one handed operation. Cameras do not necessarily have to look like a camera. All in all, I am very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

DSC-W830 16/06/2018 by Angie60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to update from my old Sony DSC-30 which I have had for 14 years. It's lighter and slightly smaller but really good. I look forward to using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and easy to carry around

DSC-W830 15/06/2018 by Snapshot kid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Snug in your hand, very practical and easy to use.Good features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use!!

DSC-W830 14/06/2018 by PtoD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently, to replace an older version of the Cyber-Shot, no longer in use. It was so much easier and efficient to use than the previous one. For the price it was a bargain and so compact, you could put it in your pocket. One to recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera operations

DSC-W830 08/06/2018 by Karsura (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because my previous one had failed on the battery and this one has good zoom, panoramic and video which I used up the Zudpitze mountain in Bavaria this week

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This Camera fully suits my purpose.

DSC-W830 08/06/2018 by Bunting 1952 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bough this camera in March of this year and well suited with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

compack easy to carry

DSCW830B 06/06/2018 by marge19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

got a new computer unable to find disc for uploading pics, sony says they don't stock anymore, very disappoited

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor Features

DSC-W830 06/06/2018 by Varun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought last week. I am not happy with photo quality. My mobile have much better quality.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent small digital camera

DSC-W830 01/06/2018 by Trom12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had some bad experiences with compact cameras in the past, so thought very carefully before buying this time. So far so good. The Sony is very easy to use and produces quality photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delighted user

DSC-W830 22/05/2018 by GrandmaJohn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with the camera, its features and the ease to use them. Favourite pictute to date a landscape one of a bluebell wood in Hampshire

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

surprisingly disappointing

DSC-W830 13/05/2018 by oblivion62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old Samsung compact camera. The specs of the W830 are excellent; however, the photo quality in general seems far more noisy than I'd expect (and MUCH more noisy than the old Samsung, despite its age) and the way some of the facilities are hidden in odd parts of the menu system makes it a lot less easy to use than I'd like. I'm hoping I've just not been using it properly but I'm not sure I made the right decision with this one.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great Camera

DSCW830 12/05/2018 by Martha711 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this little jewel apx 4 years ago and have had wonderful results with photos and ease of uploading them!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and compact

DSC-W830 12/05/2018 by Micks356 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this for a couple of weeks now. Generally pleased, though far from perfect. However, when you consider you could pay 10 times as much for a compact camera, it seems churlish to be picky

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beautiful Images

DSC-W830 12/05/2018 by lensman70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this Compact Camera for my wire as a Birthday present, and she is over the moon with the ease of use, and the close up clarity that this camera's lens can achieve, and also the Panoramic video facility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does exactly what it says on the tin...

DSC-W830 10/05/2018 by rockchef (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my new Sony W830 Compact Camera & I'm glad I chose it over the Canon equivalent which I had also been considering. I have to admit, I was first attracted by the Zeiss lens because I'm aware of the quality. This camera hasn't disappointed so far & I look forward to using it more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficult to Find Out What Memory Cards Work

DSCW830 23/04/2018 by Jerry99999999999999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The manual provided with the camera is very brief. I am trying to use a San Disc 16 GB Class 4 card, but the camera does not recognize it. Have not been able to take any pictures and the online information for SD cards looks like only Sony cards will work. However, I saw an ad for this camera with a 16 GB San Disk included in the camera package.

0

0

0

Best product ever purchase

DSCW830 20/04/2018 by NL2010 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This compact camera is so beautiful, handy though got all I want and most important takes very good pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but Powerful

DSC-W830 20/04/2018 by Dan888 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 3 weeks ago wished I had got it sooner, pic quality excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Time between flash shots too long

DSC-W830 20/04/2018 by Arby in NY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed by the quality of flash photography too easy to blur a shot

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good price camera

DSC-W830 18/04/2018 by Brookie1983 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an alternative to using the camera on the smart phone as zoom functions are quite poor for your average priced smart phone. Overall I'm satisfied as it is great to have in your pocket when you're out and about without having the bulk of a DSLR camera. Don't expect the camera to have the same image quality of your typical DSLR camera or sensor for grabbing those fast moving images. A good average priced camera with all the typical features that you would normally expect from a camera of this type.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

works great

DSCW830 17/04/2018 by 61271 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

just got this camera and love it, so does my wife who is going to buy one herself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First class compact camera

DSC-W830 13/04/2018 by Oil Can Andy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If your looking for a compact camera and want some decent results look no further than the W830. Its all you could ask for in a compact pretty much point and shoot camera. With 20mp quality and a 8X optical zoom the results are comparable to some much more expensive DSLR's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-W830 11/04/2018 by Delighted customer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with the camera although I have not taken many photos yet. The size of the camera is great as it is easy to carry around and always have it on hand when you need to take photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0