584

4.3 based on 584 customer reviews

323
171
42
22
26
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02/10/2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29/09/2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

584 Customer Reviews

0

all the different modes means whatever the picture

DSC-W830 02/07/2020 by David St Helens fan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camera has different modes this means whatever the picture you are taking there is a setting to help from macro to infinity

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy and great photos

DSC-W830 29/06/2020 by The Huzz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gréât zoom lightweight quality pictures. Simple to Operate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera, but tricky charging connection

DSC-W830 15/06/2020 by xxxyyyzzz (United Kingdom)

I have now had THREE of these cameras but they have a tricky charging connection which you have to be VERY careful with - otherwise I would only have had one !! Got my money back on the previous one - same fault as usual -could no longer charge it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No good with CCD sensor

DSC-W830 12/06/2020 by US Resident (USA)

Never a good camera with CCD sensor even with zeiss lens. Take blurry pictures. Same quality but much cheaper on a Kodak FZ53. Kodak reigns on this sector. The only thing Sony could remind me is the invasion of Pearl Harbor by Japanese empire.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good Camera

DSCW830 08/06/2020 by Maria Jose Rosa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My brother bought the Sony camera for me. It's a good camera but not perfect. You can use your Sony Camera to upload photos on social media sites like Facebook and Twitter. You can upload videos on Facebook and YouTube but I'm disappointed I couldn't use my Sony camera to upload videos at Twitter. I could only use my Sony camera to upload photos at Twitter. If you can use your Sony camera to upload photos at Facebook and Twitter than I'm sure it works fine for Instagram too but I wouldn't know! I also don't like the fact that I need to have Play Memories to upload photos and videos into my computer. I can't upload photos and videos into my computer without using Play Memories, so I think my Sony camera is a good camera but it's not perfect, so I'm giving Sony at three!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Samart looking compact camera

DSC-W830 27/05/2020 by Gen 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera a couple of weeks, and only taken a few snaps with it. First impressions good, but not quite sure about colour correctness.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

A useful wee asset

DSC-W830 22/03/2020 by Eejit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had to buy a camera to upload photos on a form. This one served the purpose admirably. Would have helped if the memory card had been included.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

DSC-W830 22/02/2020 by aaaa22122 (USA)

Everything about it is great. The images (if you are in a bright enough environment), the video, they are all really good. The only problem being that the on/off button feels too sloppy. Having to push an entire finger in or using fingernails just doesn’t feel enjoyable. Beside that, everything is perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impossible online help

DSC-W830 07/02/2020 by jmitto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very poor instructions on sony website so returned camera to retailer for a refund.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Awesome and compact

DSCW830B 06/02/2020 by Carla50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this from son and his wife as a Christmas present. My other camera was destroyed in my truck when it caught on fire. That camera was too complicated and I seldom used it this wonderful compact fit in your pocket camera is perfect for me, it takes the most wonderful pictures and it guides you to take the best shot. I would highly recommend this to anyone from 10 to 80. I actually brag about this compact camera to anyone who is willing to listen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Photos not as clear as I would like.

DSC-W830 13/01/2020 by DorsetBoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I returned this camera after I found that the photos were not as sharp as I expected. I spent more money and purchased a Canon SX 620HS which has much better zoom, improved features and sharper prints.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

neat. fits in pocket

DSC-W830 28/12/2019 by bessie 231 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very difficult to use, will not go off Video shooting,

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Fabulous!

DSC-W830 30/11/2019 by ejbg2001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and I think its wonderful. It is so compact I can carry it around everywhere, it is so responsive I can take awesome snaps and so quick I can use it any time. It has improved my photo taking many times over.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Point and shoot compact

DSC-W830 19/11/2019 by Teedy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as it is small and compact and can be carried in my pocket. Works well and takes excellent quality pictures. Would have liked a higher zoom but most cameras this size have a lower zoom so it's not to bad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Replacement camera

DSCW830B 12/11/2019 by havahart 2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delivery was prompt. Camera was a bit disappointing as it didn't have the features my old Sony had even though it was similar in model and price range. Display is grainy and the photo processing is slow.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 27/10/2019 by Sophie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old camera had broken and I wanted a similar one. This one is even better, bigger zoom, smaller size and better automatic shooting, even macro

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-W830 22/10/2019 by Mandery (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tricky to turn on, often have to have a couple of attempts. Often slow to focus or takes blurry photos. Display is poor quality. Not as good as my previous Cannon.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 22/10/2019 by Rene12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only recently bought this camera, so only used it a few times, but found it very easy. Also it's size means It fit easily into my bag or pocket so It's easily accessible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect holiday Camera

DSC-W830 20/10/2019 by Commando68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for snapping away on holiday but pretty much have it with me all the time now. Fed up taking pics on my phone only to delete later to free up memory. Read reviews that complained about the on off button. Yes it’s a little fiddly but not enough to complain about. Great battery life. Good quality pictures. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Point and shoot

DSCW830 15/10/2019 by starman913 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd Sony camera over the years Great product easy to use Great value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSC-W830 10/10/2019 by Mr Harry O (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago wanted an easy to use camera andx it does not disappoint

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fits all my needs

DSC-W830 03/10/2019 by JBRUSSELL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera just two weeks ago, I have not put it down since then, the size, zoom lens, sharpness and quality of the photos met all of my expectations. great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

just what I wantede

DSC-W830 03/10/2019 by ohme (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because I wanted a simple small unit to take on holiday instead of the big one I had been using. I'm glad I did because it does exactly what I got it for. Easy to use and very good value.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Pocket sized camera of quality.

DSC-W830 02/10/2019 by Sutton70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An update to my old W200 was overdue. This replacement is just excellent. Lightweight and with quality photos and video. A delight to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Capable Little Camera

DSC-W830 26/09/2019 by Davy100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and after two weeks in Cornwall where a lot of video was taken it performed extremely well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-W830 12/09/2019 by Caza (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with it apart from the on/off button being very small

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

DSCW830 10/09/2019 by Dancer69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice easy to use and great pictures and the features and easy to access making it simple to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An Excellent User Friendly Camera

DSC-W830 08/09/2019 by budgie 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to replace an older camera and it has been used on many occasions with no problems and has taken many excellent photos .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 06/09/2019 by Moonyean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as old Nikkon Coolpix no longer working. The only drawback that it did

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSCW830B 04/09/2019 by Kayak Kate (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera prior to a trip to the southwest . Great pictures right out of the box!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use point and take picture

DSC-W830 30/08/2019 by halfwelsh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is light but steady in the hand to shoot. Camera lens gives good clear picture in viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Photo and Video ability!

DSCW830 30/08/2019 by Crunchy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has great focusing ability. It also can take "MACRO" photos, too!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too clever

DSC-W830 26/08/2019 by steve 36 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

You cant buy a simple camera anymore. Its a little small for my liking, almost awkward to get hold of, difficulty in turning on unless you have long fingernails, too many settings, ergo, hard to find the setting you want before moment gone. having said that some auto settings are very convenient and nice clear shots. The flimsy piece of paper optimistically called an instruction manual is sadly inadequate and after registering my purchase to access the help line there were so many links that told you sod all I couldn't even find a page that told me how to download photos to computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0