75

3.7 based on 75 customer reviews

34
16
8
4
13
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best Investment

DVPSR210P 21/09/2013 by Nun24 (USA)

I would buy this player if I were buying it for me. When I bought 2 of them they were for other people and they are happy with their purchase. A++++

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

very disapointed in this product

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014 by muggers (USA)

this product[dvd player] stopped working in less than 6 months. would not load any dvd. I own many sony products tvs,stero.etc. and have never had a problem.this is very disappointing.

9

0

75 Customer Reviews

0

Good brand name

DVPSR210P 05/10/2022 by Ivory (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is great. Sony product has always good quality. Product will last longer.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

DVPSR210P 24/01/2022 by AV Wiz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player a couple of days ago and I have been nothing but impressed. It's a basic player without smart features like Wifi and streaming capabilities but it works well. I have bunches and bunches of DVDs and wanted a good player after my DVD-VCR combo bit the dust after 20 years of service. I have loved Sony products and I have a few of them. They all are built with good quality. This DVD player is no different. I'm sure it will provide me with many years of enjoyment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Died less than a year

DVP-SR210P 11/05/2021 by ZsaZsa (USA)

This is the 2nd DVD player I purchased and it died less than a year ~ No More Sony DVD's for ME!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Horrible Product

DVPSR210P 20/02/2021 by very angry (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

My elderly mother received this for Christmas. It stopped working in less then 2 months. A complete waste of money!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Can't Remember Squat

DVP-SR210P 17/01/2021 by FTUHCIKS (USA)

Owned 3 months. It won't remember internet password or any login info. I have to reenter everything each time I want to watch. Absolutely JUNK!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

FITS NEATLY ON SHELF ABOVE TV

DVPSR210P 08/09/2020 by Jerseyguy49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this DVD player to replace one that was 10 years old. Took it out of the box and set up in short time only issue is I have one video input and naturally I chose the wrong Vid out from the DVR and only got B&W. Switched to the other output and color came right up. Works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Already quit working.

DVP-SR210P 19/08/2020 by Wontbuythisagain (USA)

Bought this less than two mon this ago. Have watched perhaps six movies on it. It started getting finicky about working properly, and now it won’t load movie at all. Just spins and spins. Garbage.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Disc doesn't start when tray is shut

DVP-SR210P 16/07/2020 by Linke (USA)

When you put a disc on the tray and close the tray the DVD player doesn't acknowledge the disc. When you open it and close it a second time it acknowledges the disc and itplays it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

No support

DVP-SR210P 05/06/2020 by Joe 68 (USA)

Lost instructions to player and remote. Two moves later I have this dvd gather dust. I can play a dvd in it. There is no way to find information from sony on how to program any of their remotes to the DVD. This is not why I bought Sony products. It is also why I gave them such a low rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi Joe 68,

We sincerely regret to hear what happened. Here's the information about the operating instructions of the unit https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4447/d1526642f56f7d2c942c4598ea9add71/44474743M.pdf.

The RMT-D197A is the remote for DVP-SR210P. You can control the player even without programming.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great dvd player for the price.

DVPSR210P 11/04/2020 by Jdog92 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like it. It takes up less space on my dresser,it's beside of my tv. It works really well. This is a good basic DVD player. Sony products are awesome. I really like them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/04/2020

Hi, Jdog92, That's great to hear! We are happy to hear that you really like your new DVD player. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Not dependable

DVPSR210P 31/03/2020 by North wi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last Nov. it’s now March and it freezes. Do not buy

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi, North wi,

We are sorry to hear that. We suggest playing several different discs to see if the issue is with the player or the discs. To isolate the issue further, please perform a power reset: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00175201.

If you are still having the same issue, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Not Worth It

DVP-SR210P 01/03/2020 by Denise2000 (USA)

Just picked this up from the store. Was not an easy install. Once installed and put in DVD, it played in black and white. Could not get it to play in color. The pictures were distorted and could not fix that. The troubleshooting area, of the instructions, was not helpful at all. I will be returning this to the store tomorrow and will find another brand to buy.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/03/2020

Hi, Denise2000,

We are sorry for what happened. The issue with the color and resolution could be the cable used. Usually, the cable is not connected securely to the player and the TV. If you still have the unit, we suggest checking the cable used.

If still unresolved, kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Great features and design

DVP-SR210P 06/01/2020 by Mr sun (USA)

I this yesterday and is awesome to use thank you so much Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Showing dvds in black and white. I just don't know

DVP-SR210P 17/08/2019 by Katt69 (USA)

Got this product as a gift. Have several Sony items.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
21/08/2019

Hello, Katt69!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

RCA jack outputs.

DVPSR210P 08/08/2019 by SonyUser2598 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine because it had the Red, White and Yellow RCA jack outputs. I am happy about this. I don't have to switch over everything I own.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hello, SonyUser2598! Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear that this unit meets your expectations. Thank you so much for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

Average DVD player

DVP-SR210P 15/07/2019 by Lockas (USA)

I bought this due to my old DVD player being destroyed, this vs. the old silver box looked a lot better on my entertainment center, (black blends perfectly.) The only flaws I would like to mention is, the product doesn’t have a pause button on the actual box, the player is slow to respond to the buttons, and the spring that closes the front where the disc tray comes out, it popped off once (it took forever to fix,) it popped off again never to be found. Other than these things, the player is good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Poor Design, Doesn't Work Without Remote

DVP-SR210P 04/07/2018 by Elita (USA)

This was purchased with good intent as an anniversary gift for my husband. It turned on once. The remote control it seems is the problem. Broken. And it's a very poor design as you can do almost nothing without the remote control. Had read good reviews and had high hopes. Very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2018

Hi Elita, We're sorry to hear about what happened. Kindly check on this link for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00006827
~Ralph

0

Stopped Working

DVP-SR210P 30/06/2018 by Mandy24 (USA)

I bought this nine months ago and it stopped working. It loads the disc continually, got it to work a couple of times, Not sure why it stopped working, no changes were made to equipment, no damage. ???

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Difficult to decipher set up directions

DVP-SR210P 09/01/2018 by Caathy (USA)

Set up diagram is not clear. Troubleshooting guide is not helpful. 2 sets of cables are required and only one set is included. Took 2 online chats and an email to get clear set up instructions and confirm need to obtain another cable. All items required for set up should be included with initial purchase!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/01/2018

Hello Caathy, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Sony takes into consideration all feedbacks and suggestions to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.
Thanks! _Bob

0

DVD Player

DVPSR210P 19/10/2017 by Cherry Jean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazingly easy to hookup and setup. We have several Sony Products in the house, TV's and DVD players, and are amazed how far the setup technology has come to make it easy for a non-tech person to hook them up and setup. Everything in the directions worked just like the instructions said and it works great, even on our old TV. Thank you for a job well done, it is so nice to have something this easy and can enjoy the product in about 30 minutes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sony Luminous DVD player

DVP-SR210P 09/07/2017 by DarkSinistar (USA)

I got the Sony Luminous DVD player for my birthday last year. It made all movies look so much better! Almost 3-D! I was very impressed! After awhile it began to say "Loading..." then pause. Sometimes it would start back up. Unfortunately the problem got worse and it began to just pause and none of the buttons on the remote would work at all. That was when watching the Netflix or Amazon app. I would have to unplug it and I noticed it was very hot. After waiting for it to cool down I plugged it back in. This has been progressively worse. Now it will not even get through a whole movie. Since it has a USB port, I plugged it in to watch some saved shows, and it worked great for awhile now it is locking up and I cannot even back out to see where I am in the show. The picture looks great so this is really a shame. It won't even turn off unless I unplug it. I even sat it up so it was not sitting directly on anything and can get cool air under it but it heats up anyway. It is past the return time or I would return it. Sony products are usually great but not this time. Disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2017

Hi, DarkSinistar, It is sad to hear that the unit doesn’t go well. We highly recommend resetting the unit to factory settings to isolate the issues. More troubleshooting steps can be found here: https://docs.sony.com/release//DVPSR210P.pdf (p8). Regards, Vincent

0

breaks in < 3 months

DVPSR210P 07/07/2017 by Alan_UIC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a few months it wouldn't respond to remote control, or even front panel buttons.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/07/2017

Hi, Alan_UIC, We apologize for any inconvenience. We suggest performing troubleshooting steps to isolate these issues:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/29977,
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/76256.
Hope these help.
-Vincent

0

Does not read the DVD movie that I bought

DVPSR210P 09/05/2017 by Red76 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it today with and I bought a DVD movie that has 3 CDs and only reads one. I try a music CD and has a strange sound.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Easy to use,as always estatic

DVPSR210P 07/05/2017 by BOULDER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had Sony products forever my two TVs,my old DVD player. No real problems, most minor handled by phone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

easy navigation

DVPSR210P 14/04/2017 by 70Muscle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i love it but i had to give it 4 of 5 because it isnt quit as durable as i thought. a year old and it already is making noises.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

my 2nd one

DVPSR210P 29/03/2017 by BlackieU (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had one that I liked and decided to the same kind. Just got this one but hope that it is as good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

problems

DVPSR210P 28/03/2017 by mossett65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With only 3 months of use, the DVD drawer will not open. I am not happy. Also plugging in the wires to connect with the TV was confusing. One yellow plug had to go to a green receptacle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sony CD/DVD Player

DVPSR210P 18/02/2017 by Tip Toe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two of these and I'm very happy with the product.this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sluggish Operation

DVPSR210P 10/02/2017 by Ross12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Control buttons are sluggish and remote control is sluggish. The setup must be done to use component video. Picture and sound are very good once you get it operating. Usual DVD features are missing due to the low cost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Set up a breeze

DVPSR210P 13/12/2016 by hello123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought the DVD player, easy set up, I am NOT tecno-savvy. The remote works and it plays well. So far so good..... I was considering a wifi and or USB port model, this is a good no frills device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

35/35 New Features !!

DVPSR210P 24/09/2016 by yoons (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony DVD Player is great and so this is somewhat to be great product i've ever see.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Great product (like all Sony gear)

DVPSR210P 03/10/2014 by WillieRay (USA)

I've had this for well over a year & use it quite a bit. Never had a problem. I've never had an issue with any Sony product I've purchased.

5

2

0

surely a great price for a great product

DVPSR210P 05/09/2014 by ganelli (USA)

for the cost,this product is certainly a power buy..not much more than a basic dvd player but a great remote is worth more than the price. i recommend this product unless u want something more like blu-ray.

3

2

0

This machine is a slight step backwards

DVPSR210P 29/08/2014 by cathielolo (USA)

I don't like that I have to press PLAY - my 5 year old DVD player automatically began once you turned it on.

1

7

0

Worth the price i payed for it..

DVPSR210P 28/08/2014 by Budster (USA)

I was really wanting a DVD player with a a display on the front of the unit, but have been unable to find one made anymore. Was surprised at how easy it is to use the on screen display and buttons on the remote. I not only use this player for watching movies, but can listen to Cd's without having the tv on by having it hooked up to stereo. Buttons on remote are easy to use without having to have tv on when listening to Cd's.

9

2

0

Easy to use

DVPSR210P 26/08/2014 by weddinggal10 (USA)

I needed just a simple DVD player for a spare bedroom. This has a quick & easy set-up & is very simple to use. My only disappointment is that there is no readout on the device; only on-screen. Minor thing. Otherwise, it's a great value.

3

1

0

great player

DVPSR210P 25/08/2014 by dick42 (USA)

Works Great

1

3

0

Best DVD Yet in Price and Quality

DVPSR210P 24/08/2014  (USA)

The is the best DVD I have bought over the course of my life. Not expensive quality brand and easy to use.

2

2

0

GOOD FOR OUR NEEDS

DVPSR210P 16/08/2014  (USA)

iT'S WORKING FINE FOR DVD PLAY WHICH IS OUR PRIMARY USE

1

0

0

GOOD PRODUCT

DVPSR210P 16/08/2014 by bartmav (USA)

great player

1

0

0

Exceeds Expectations

DVPSR210P 16/08/2014 by Cardfan (USA)

Tremendous value with many features. I purchesed this player for an extra TV and have been very pleased with all of its operations. I got more than I expected.

3

0

0

Awesome DVD Player

DVPSR210P 14/08/2014 by Nihilist (USA)

This DVD player works great and looks great too. A perfect edition to our kitchen entertainment center.

1

0

0

DVPSR210P 12/08/2014 by Stacy (USA)

Nice product. Very satisified.

1

0

0

Does the Job

DVPSR210P 08/08/2014  (USA)

I wanted a basic DVD player, no frills and this is it. Small, compact, takes up very little space and sleek in design.

4

1

0

Works Well

DVPSR210P 06/08/2014 by Mac59 (USA)

DVD player is working well. I bought the player for our church Bible studies. We only use it a few times a month and it is working o.k.

1

2

0

DVPSR210P 05/08/2014 by Smithrow (USA)

We've only used the player twice and have had no problems. We bought a Sony product because of the name. Our TV is a Sony and we have owned several other Sony products. We will probably make whatever our next electronic purchase a Sony regardless of what it is.

0

1

0

not good

DVPSR210P 02/08/2014 by greg123 (USA)

I am not happy; ,this dvd player is a Sony; I grew up with quality Sony products, but after 10 hours of operation this dvd player quit loading any of my dvd's .what a bummer

8

0

Response From Sony Support
07/08/2014

Oh no! I'm sorry to hear that. Please visit us at esupport.sony.com for some helpful troubleshooting tips and technical assistance.

0

very good purchase

DVPSR210P 17/07/2014 by Dilligas (USA)

Performs very well and does exactly what it is supposed to. Simple controls and design.

0

1

0

Great Fit

DVPSR210P 16/07/2014 by ChplnDon (USA)

Needed a small unit for my camper and this fits the bill perfectly. Great unit that fits in a small overhead compartment and plays our movies while traveling. Definatly recommend this unit even if it isn't blueray.

0

0

0

Works good!

DVPSR210P 16/07/2014 by Bitsy (USA)

DVD player works great, very happy.

0

0

0

Biggest Bargain on the internet

DVPSR210P 16/07/2014 by mammascookin (USA)

This is the second DVD player of this kind we have purchased. It's so easy to hook up and use...even for someone over sixty like me!

1

0

0

Great DVD unit

DVPSR210P 16/07/2014 by WTXGunRunner (USA)

DVD player is very good. Easy hook up and very easy to use. Nice quality in playback. Well worth the investment. Very Pleased!

2

0

0

Sony DVD Plyer

DVPSR210P 16/07/2014 by Arkansas (USA)

The DVD player works great. After purchase and use, I wished I had gotten the up covert model to work with my current TV.

0

0

0

Sony DVD/CD Player

DVPSR210P 15/07/2014 by Discomotofish (USA)

I recently purchased a Sony DVD/CD player to replace a Toshiba player that lasted 12 years. I'll primarily use this player for CDs. It was a very good value and performs quite well. If it lasts as long as the Toshiba, I'll be very pleased.

0

0

0

Great Deal!

DVPSR210P 15/07/2014 by Patepluma74 (USA)

The best service and the best products are always at the Sony Store

0

0

0

Works OK, but can't get color

DVPSR210P 08/05/2014 by Sabby6 (USA)

Everything seems to work just fine except I haven't figured out how to get the color. I don't see anywhere indicating it only shows in B&W. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

3

1

0

Great DVD Player

DVPSR210P 08/05/2014 by MissPeach (USA)

I purchased this item from Walmart and what I liked about it was the price and the small size. I Love and I have had no problems with it since I purchased it.

4

2

0

Good DVD for the money

DVPSR210P 06/05/2014 by Blackcats (USA)

This unit was bought as a gift and as far as I know my friend is enjoying it and able to watch any discs without problems. She said it was very simple to hook up.

0

1

0

Best purchase that I made ever.

DVPSR210P 05/05/2014  (USA)

Love the product.

0

0

0

Great litt player

DVPSR210P 05/05/2014 by snored (USA)

excellent price, works great. Have used it for about 6 months with no problems, great buy

0

0

0

Surprised by this DVD player

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014  (USA)

Always believed that Sony was ahead of others in dependability and performance. Our DVD player was a suprise. Purchased in June 2013 from Walmart it only lasted until the last week in April 2014. We tried to clean it with the DVD cleaner, but it continued to show only slanted vertical lines.

6

0

0

very helpful DVD player

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014  (USA)

Very nice product

0

0

0

very disapointed in this product

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014 by muggers (USA)

this product[dvd player] stopped working in less than 6 months. would not load any dvd. I own many sony products tvs,stero.etc. and have never had a problem.this is very disappointing.

9

0

0

best purchase

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014 by angie31 (USA)

It is great

0

0

0

I like it. Small, lightweight, single disc player

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014 by Ichthus (USA)

A great value, single DVD Player, easy hookups to my LCD-TV, RCA Cables included. The sound bar I purchased was a compliment.

0

0

0

Great DVD player!

DVPSR210P 04/05/2014 by Roho (USA)

Purchased this to replace a 13 year old Hitachi player that had seen better days. New player has been great and takes up much less space than the old one. Could not beat the price either! Great purchase and would highly recommend to others. Being a Sony it should last as long, if not longer, than my old one.

0

0

0

Great product

DVPSR210P 03/05/2014 by Shelleygirl (USA)

Works great. Doesn't take up a lot of space. Worth every penny.

0

0

0

Good basic player

DVPSR210P 03/05/2014 by pjhirz (USA)

This is a good, basic DVD player that was given to me as a gift along with a collection of DVDs. I've put many hours of use on it, and have never had a problem.

0

0

0

Loved it!

DVPSR210P 29/10/2013 by proudparent8809 (USA)

I bought this DVD player my senior year of high school. It lasted me 4 years and didn't give me a problem until it was worn out and quit working. I got a lot of use out of this DVD player it was constantly on we cleaned it periodically to help it's performance to stay as it was when it finally broke down from just being worn out I couldn't say it was a waste of my money. I will absolutely buy one of these again without question!

4

0

0

very slow while loading disc

DVPSR210P 03/10/2013 by balaspider (USA)

Trusted and bought three days before, after very much satisfied with sony laptop. But not fruitful it takes long time to play the movie and load disc.

4

3

0

Best Investment

DVPSR210P 21/09/2013 by Nun24 (USA)

I would buy this player if I were buying it for me. When I bought 2 of them they were for other people and they are happy with their purchase. A++++

5

0

0

Not User Friendly

DVPSR210P 30/03/2013 by webpete (USA)

The remote does not respond to commands other then On-Off and Eject It is very difficult to re-start a movie from the start after it has once played.

9

5