105

4.4 based on 105 customer reviews

60
31
9
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28/04/2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by CLR1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

105 Customer Reviews

0

Great Camera

FDRAX53B 13/06/2018 by Black Panther (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for vacation and I'm glad I did, worked out perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice but difficult to use

FDR-AX53 08/06/2018 by Nigi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The image quality and sound are second to none. So as a pick up and shoot camera it’s perfect. It also has many inbuilt options like a more professional camera but these can only be accessed via a touch menu on the screen making setup very awkward and frustrating. The instruction book supplied is also next to useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Super Sony

FDR-AX53 01/06/2018 by Mickieb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good all round video camera great manual features easy to use nicely built cannot fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is good ,but I still learning this

FDR-AX53 27/05/2018 by Revaro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very exited about this camera and looking forward to start make nice videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality movies and perfect sound

FDR-AX53 20/05/2018 by PENDZEL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a choice between Panasonic hc-vxf1 and Sony fdr-ax53. Maybe Panasonic is a newer model and has a bit more possibilities but for me the highest quality of movies is important and the image from the Sony camera suits me better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Meet my expectations

FDRAX53B 20/05/2018 by amarei (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

much easier to work with, as the automated features make what ever you need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New video camera

FDR-AX53 20/05/2018 by Steve 1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 4K camera as a replacement for my Sony Handycam bought sometime ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

FDR-AX53 18/05/2018 by Wesfoulds (USA)

Best camera ever very fast focus goon low light great quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First impression

FDR-AX53 17/05/2018 by Jwe123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have made the step from hd to 4k with this camcorder and am not disappointed. The larger camcorder handles well, and the ring makes manual operation much easier than in my old sony camcorder. A big step up in image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good - almost superb

FDR-AX53 16/05/2018 by MPkr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my AX33 since the additional zoom range is valuable. On wildlife trips around the world I need a light camera. BOSS is superb (as in the AX33) which made me decide on this rather than the heavier AX700 with the larger sensor with faster focusing. Video quality at 4K and HD is superb. The one niggle I have is the same as with the AX33 - the viewfinder - too few pixels and brightness cannot be adjusted. Improving that and putting phase detection autofocusing on the sensor would make an unbeatable small camcorder. The design of the display could be improved. For example the fact that the manual ring is kept on zoom shows a sign in a white box in the display, in an important part of the field of view. I would willingly pay more for the additional features like a better viewfinder, full manual control and higher frame rate 4K.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Like it but found a bad flaw

FDRAX53/B 14/05/2018 by Camcam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I've enjoyed the Camera up until I found out that when I'm using it to live stream... the shutter shuts off every 5 minutes or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Two week review

FDR-AX53 30/04/2018 by Manwithacamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After some inital test usage, I used this camera to record an outdoor musical event. Good feedback from all the artists including a professional who comment on the good sound quality. Disappointed that seemingly no stock of spare batteries currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 26/04/2018 by Gasjkh2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my purchase. I bought this model primarily for the excellent BOSS stabilisation system. Great camcorder.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera so far

FDRAX53/B 24/04/2018 by Pasha16 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera about 5 weeks ago after quite some research and comparison. This is my first camcorder from Sony and I am quite impressed with the video quality. I basically have one issue with it and that is that the scene counter not always stays in the LCD screen or viewfinder. It only does it when the display setting is not in automatic mode in this setting the rec button on the LCD screen is not available what is sometimes inconvenient. It would be helpful if it was always there and the only reason for not giving it 5 stars For the rest great camcorder

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hidden HDMI port

FDRAX53/B 23/04/2018 by Iron Goose (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Handycam is really a nice piece of equipment. The only issue I see is I want to keep the HDMI cable connected most of the time to my video switcher at church but I can't close the monitor door because the cable is in the way. Like to see the HDMI out port relocated or moved down 1/4" so door will shut with cable connected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

FDR-AX53 21/04/2018 by mikesachs53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent video camera with the amazing BOSS system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would Have Been Perfect, But...

FDRAX53/B 11/04/2018 by AlienWaldo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera would have been perfect. It has many great features, the 1080p60 footage was great, but it has one major flaw. After getting my new SD card that would allow me to shoot in 4K I was very disappointed. Once setting the camera to 4K mode and hitting record, the camera would crash. It would shutdown and restart. Formatting and trying a new SD card changed nothing. After looking into it I discovered this was an issue that is known to affect this particular model. The camera was returned and I went with the next best option, the AX33, which after some research, had no instances of recording in 4K crashing the camera. Buy the AX33 if you want to be sure to avoid this issue, if you need the 20x optical zoom that badly then I would just be cautious with expectations of shooting 4K throughout the camera's lifespan.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great features

FDRAX53/B 07/04/2018 by shep538 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

only had the camcorder a few days. noticed you can't pause and batt pack is big on the back of cam.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great quality and video stabilization

FDRAX53B 05/04/2018 by Greg5003 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 weeks ago and is OK for me , but I need more time to make some super movies in nature

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth The Money!

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by darmstro64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera met all my expectations in terms of performance and build quality. I bought it to replace an ageing HDR-HC9E, and it certainly is a great improvement. I have not fully tested it yet, but initial results were very good. The stabilisation system works well and the menus are easy to navigate. The quality of the Full HD footage is excellent - I have not tested the 4K format yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 23/03/2018 by CLR1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good camcorder, not great.

FDR-AX53 09/03/2018 by Tech1Tv (USA)

I have this camcorder since 2016 and it work well, the video quality is good in 1080p and 4K. The sensor is really small so it's not good in low light for videos

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Happy Youtuber!

FDRAX53/B 19/02/2018 by unomanso (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a videographer, and I am very happy that I brought this camera, it has enhanced my youtube channel!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great video camera

FDR-AX53 18/02/2018 by Runner 55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for a holiday to India and have been amazed at the quality of the videos taken. Zoom is brilliant and the graphics of fantastic. Have managed to take some superb videos of tiger and leopard which have made this purchase worth while. This video is easy to use ,light to carry and a good price. Very pleased with the purchase. It also takes excellent pictures a definite added plus. Overall a great buy and would recommend for a first purchase for novice video users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb quality

FDR-AX53 17/02/2018 by Merlin7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had it for over a seek but immediately the high quality of the camera was evident. I am thrilled with it and am enjoying the experience of getting to know all of its superb qualities..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX53 07/02/2018 by Champy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent product in every way..... so impressed with the 4K ..brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality but not always instinctive to use

FDR-AX53 02/02/2018 by Worsley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Many features are an improvement on older models, but editing parts of shots for example was much easiere with tape model. Still trying to work out how to do 'in-camera' edits as I shoot with this digital version for example. Picture quality excellent compared to tapes, lighter and good lens etc. Happy on the whole so fa, will be very happy once I crack the code in the manual and work out what I'm supposed to do to access all but the most basic features. For the money a properly written manual in full should be included, not a skimpy one then an on-line poorly translated one lacking clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great stability/ Great zoom/ easy to use.

FDR-AX53 19/01/2018 by Stargeezer1947 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a good video camera for videos of my granddaughter’s and the Sony AX53 4K just fitted the bill. It as a very good sensor and low- light feature and a long zoom that comes in handy for those far hard to reach places, it has a good steady shot feature it’s just like having a gimbal permanently fitted to it. It’s all automatic for people to use but if you want to get more creative you can use manual modes to better your understanding of video film photography “Would I recommend this camera to the biginer “ yes I would as you can leave it in automatic and it does it all for you and the film a still photo’s that it produces are excellent and very professional and it comes in at a very reasonable price and gives the compertision a run for it’s money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FDR AX53 No Playback Audio

FDRAX53/B 16/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a Sony FDR AX53, great camcorder but the owner's manual leaves something to be desired. When playing back on the camera, I can hear no sound. I've adjusted the volume in the menu settings and I still can't hear the audio becuse I get no sound no matter what

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

easy to use

FDR-AX53 12/01/2018 by jeddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to use light weight good quality picture easy to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Camera is excellent BUT the Guidance is Poor.

FDRAX53/B 09/01/2018 by Ellis1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have found it extremely difficult to get to this point (downloaded video from camcorder to my computer). I printed the User Guide (the printed copy with the camera is small print and hard to read), read pertinent parts, searched the digital copy, found sections e.g. 51, 55, 57 about transferring, tried to view on TV monitor without success, chatted with Sony rep who gave me a link to PlayMemories, which I downloaded and installed; the info in the link was the first time I read about having to use the USB cable rather than the HDMI cable to connect to the computer, etc., etc., Bottom Line: Lots of Guidance but not very helpful. A knowledgeable person should be able to combine the PlayMemories info and the User Guide and condense it down substantially.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

REPUTABLE PRODUCT

FDRAX53/B 08/01/2018 by Phoenix2018 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the AX53 Handycam because of the satisfaction that I got from my previous Sony Handycam and the very positive reviews from existing customers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k camcorder

FDR-AX53 05/01/2018 by Brisals (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camcorder now for couple of weeks, over all i am happy with it but there are some functions that i'm not happy about, like the lose of IS when on a tripod, and there is only 12 seconds of slow motion video,also you have to use a computer to put "together" time laps video whilst other camcorders do it while recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

An embarrassment of riches

FDR-AX53 02/01/2018 by Alek Hidell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4K camcorder proves that the format is far from extinct. It can double as a very competent stills camera and does so very successfully. The 30x optical zoom is very clean, and the ability to program the “focus” ring to other functions is very useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

FDR-AX53 14/12/2017 by saab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent Camera beautiful 4K Videos a proud owener love the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 14/12/2017 by HowH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product does exactly what it is supposed to. Easy to use and set up. Excellent video and stabilsation works well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but needs more manual control

FDR-AX53 13/12/2017 by Demmy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best camera I ever bought in my life, couldn't ask for more except full manual control over the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Eyepiece does not block out winter sun glare

FDRAX53/B 07/12/2017 by steve1916 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Setting up new camera: downloading to existing PlayMemories Home is not covered. Password change process does not reveal that existing account does not exist. Sony Electronics account does not work. Sun glare makes using camera in winter or in sun rise and sun set conditions is very difficult. It does not appear that a consumer upgrade is possible. Coupled with the excessive post-processing effort required to remove sections of bad video in PlayMemories Home, it appears that excellent design is severely compromised by marketing and sales compromises.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent Product

FDRAX53/B 24/11/2017 by Aliism (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product and easy to use. I bought it to record football game and it is very good. Quality is much better than others.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value for money

FDR-AX53 20/11/2017 by chasjardine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago to replace my 12 year old HD Sony, This new AX53 4K is a great upgrade, Sony have always made great products. I use it to record speaking engagements and some outdoor activities, really good in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Value

FDR-AX53 19/11/2017 by Luccombe Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera, which works great in Auto mode. I like the touch screen, and the fact you can turn it to face you, which is great for Vlogging. But, I would have liked S-log gamma control.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can't charge it using a USB port.

FDR-AX53 18/11/2017 by twik99 (USA)

Cannot charge camera using a micro-USB port which on my case, renders this camera useless. While everyone has gone to USB charging, Sony requires you to lug a large charger for the camera. Sony engineers just do not want their users to be comfortable with a common charging platform amongst electronic components like the micro-usb charger. Maybe the Sony engineers think that it's best for their customers to take video with an empty battery. Why is it important to be able to charge via the micro-usb port? Take my example, I need to run a generator in order to have 110V to charge this camera. I can use my solar panels to charge my phone, my other cameras, my handheld radios, etc.. The only item I can't charge is the fancy Sony Camcorder. It costs me everytime I need to charge it? I take a lot of video, all over the world. Since I can't charge this camera using the micro-usb port, it has been flat since I first exhausted the battery. Hence, 1 star is as good as this camera gets.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

9

0

ROGER

FDRAX53/B 15/11/2017 by Road Warior (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up! Great memory options.Great for recording grandkids ball games.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality video pictures, not such good sound

FDR-AX53 13/11/2017 by Gricerman (United Kingdom)

I bought this Handycam 3 months ago and thought the picture quality was, as expected, excellent. The image stabilisation is also excellent. However I find the microphone being located on top of the camcorder with only a small; aperture pointing forward, does not give the best quality sound recordings. I shall have to purchase a separate microphone to plug in to give me better sound recordings to go with the video I am also concerned that the microphone being on top and exposed may be damaged if there is any mist or drizzle when recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

performance universal camera

FDR-AX53 12/11/2017 by Michal_k (USA)

excelent stabilization, a little bit problem with focus in interior wonderfull pictures and colors handycam usability I use camera in mountains and climbing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One big flaw

FDR-AX53 30/10/2017 by Mediamaker (USA)

The flip-open shoe cover on top of the camera flops around annoyingly during setup and in the heat of run-and-gun handheld action, striking the camera body. I've also found that tapping the follow-focus command on screen as gently as possible still shakes the camera, even on its VCT-VPR1 tripod, and the zoom command is difficult to set at a predictable, desired speed using any of the camera's zoom controls. The VPR1 tripod does offer slow and fast zoom on it's remote — if you can live with only two speeds rather than an infinite choice! Everything about the video quality and lens is wonderful, but these problems detract from perfection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Cracking smallish 4K camcorder

FDR-AX53 29/10/2017 by Somerset Pete (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace an HDR-SR12E, superb picture quality, slightly more bulky than SR12E (bigger battery doesn't help) but great wide angle bigger zoom lens. Zoomed subjects tend to wander about a bit on Steadyshot, so still needs a steady hand. Bought a 256GB card so 5+ hours of shooting at full 4K 100Mb/s rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great B roll and secondary camera

FDRAX53B 17/10/2017 by Quezy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this camera With my Sony PMW 200 and it does the job well. I biught 2 if this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX53 27/09/2017 by Gaynor Cliff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excited to start using this camera and recording family memories

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THIS is the 4K Camcorder You're Looking For

FDRAX53B 23/09/2017 by B Stockwell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been hemming and hawing about making the move to 4K. All those hours spent on YouTube paid off. There was never a question of not going with Sony. The questions was WHICH camcorder would do the trick. A side-by-side-by-side comparison of three different Sony 4K camcorders made this model the one. The bigger sensor and the BOSS stabilization sealed the deal. No more shaky telephoto shots, no more tripods or steadicams needed. There are enough options and manual overrides to keep me happy. The image quality is astonishing and yes, I bought a 4K Ultra HD television to go with it. I sank some serious money into this and am relieved at the result. I film a lot of outdoor footage and buying this camcorder puts me ahead of anyone shooting 1920x1080p. There's a bit of a learning curve, but that always comes with buying any electronic item with bells and whistles. Still, I was shooting 4K within a few hours of unboxing and going over the manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great images

FDRAX53/B 18/09/2017 by dykeoki (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

image quality is great. had to do a manual power reset after the 2nd shoot. camera would not power up. trouble uploading 2nd shoot as saved in 4k but dropping frames when saved to hard drive. trying to see if can save as lesser quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for travelers

FDRAX53/B 17/09/2017 by grandpa norm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for trip to new Museum Of The American Revolution in Philadelphia and other sites. Also 4th of July fireworks on Washington Mall etc. Mt. Vernon and Monticello. Walking video was great! Screen grabs were as good as my Nikon DSLR. Still photos steady and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome camera

FDRAX53B 25/08/2017 by Bearkisser (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for my trip to Africa. It was so great to have a camera which has great stabilization. It was easy to follow a charging elephant without showing my shakiness. Also does wonderful photos and I won first place in county fair on pictures taken with this camera. I love that it takes pictures in the dark.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Really useful handy cam

FDR-AX53 25/08/2017 by Gourdando (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just resonantly had the camera but was drawn to its size and and its promises of excellent specs . Not been disappointed love the use of its 16-9 chip and the motion cancelling properties ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great piece of kit

FDR-AX53 24/08/2017 by Paulmcq1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ag for a holiday and updating my cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

FDR-AX53 09/08/2017 by Stephen52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to film my son's wedding and it is just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Packed full of features....

FDR-AX53 09/08/2017 by Rich_camera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought my AX53 a month ago after years of using a smaller camera that just wasn't up to the job. This is a lot heavier but the image quality with improved sound so far is great. Plus it's easy to use and is robust in design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love compact size

FDRAX53/B 30/07/2017 by shroudie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love all the features of the camera, but are unable to produce a DVD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

The best BOSS ever.

FDR-AX53 29/07/2017 by 98Dave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The stabilisation is brilliant, although I wish it would not disable itself when on a tripod. So far its lack of fully manual control has not caused me any concern whatsoever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Video Quality is Excellent

FDRAX53/B 17/07/2017 by flipthevideoguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best picture Quality I've ever had period And I shoot video 24/7

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camcorder with all its new features

FDR-AX53 12/07/2017 by Chris Loren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought as an upgrade for my next holidays and ended up using this on a professional shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony's best Handycam!

FDRAX53/B 04/07/2017 by JDMricist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is definitely Sony's best Handycam that checks all the right boxes. 4K, GREAT built in optical image stabilization!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 15/06/2017 by Michael12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to take 4K glad i did very good images lots of features can well recomend to anyone buying a good Camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great concept but lack of manual and ND filters de

FDR-AX53 13/06/2017 by Togshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you want a fully auto handycam this hits most of the right notes....but the lack of full manual control and ND filters detracts from its overall usability and appeal. Sony really need to re-think usability. Also, if using an external microphone, which I do, you will need a riser to prevent the wind cover from encroaching into the field of view and shot!!!! Overall, the AX53 4K does produce good results albeit point and shoot users will have highlights blown-out unless you attach screw-in filters! In summary, too many shortcuts taken by Sony and these detract from the cameras potential. Real pity but there you have it............for me, a good backup option in cloudy conditions..

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Very pleased with this I have had it for 3weeks

FDR-AX53 05/06/2017 by JD21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this model is heavier than expected this helps to keep it stable Very pleaswed with the floating stabilizer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

2

0

Initially very good

FDR-AX53 17/05/2017 by Rogh11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this camcorder a few weeks, so I have not really given it a good road test. Initial impressions are very good. I bought this model because I felt it had the right level of features, with some manual control for filming my holidays. The only slight problem I am having is getting my hand in the correct position to hold the camcorder and operate the record and zoom buttons. It feels very different from my last Sony event tape camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Best in class

FDR-AX53 17/05/2017 by Skipper11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of the footage this camera produces is nothing short of stunning. The optical stabilisation is on a par with aftermarket gimbals and the slo-mo function works brilliantly. The zoom is astonishing - even the digital zoom. At it's price point it is the best there is. Faults? None although the zoom button is too small for me. But that's a minor quibble. This is the current market leader and integrates with all my other Sony gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Simple to use

FDR-AX53 16/05/2017 by DH88Comet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Handycam as a replacement for my ageing Panasonic TM80 which I was beginning to find very limiting as all settings were accessed by nested menus via the touch screen. Although the AX53 also uses menus they are not so deeply nested. When I was researching video cameras I wanted more manual control, being able to assign functions to the manual ring is a definite boon. The other factors which drew me to the AX53 is the five-way image stabilisation and the Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Super 4k Camcorder

FDR-AX53 03/05/2017 by ChrisH57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this online as we are planning a once in a lifetime trip overseas and want to record the event.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0