8

4.3 based on 8 customer reviews

5
2
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

8 Customer Reviews

0

Love everything Except!!!

FDR-AX700 04/06/2018 by BriTur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upon opening the box I was suprised at the size, it is the length I was expecting but it is a lot fatter, making it wider than other camcorders I have used. The weight is less than I was expecting and it should not be a problem to hand hold for long periods. The lens is amazing with outstanding clarity and brightness and a massive zoom even before you get into digital degradation. Video quality again is outstanding even on full auto but with all the pro tweaks it is broadcast quality. The new menu system is a little better with a little joystick to navigate, the touch screen functionality seems to have been reduced to very little. The microphone is OK but an external one would be better. Then we get into the stills which are fixed at a very compressed jpeg and sadly ruined by the compression, why did sony not allow for raw shooting which the sensor obviously can manage!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect....

FDR-AX700 22/03/2018 by parovo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Slightly too large, does Sony think we need to see something substantive for our money? Slo motion could with auto-focus rather than manual. Stabilisation is ok but not when walking and videoing, how come my gopro Session5 can do that in the software? Needs a dedicated photo button rather than programming one to do it. Also, to toggle between 4k to 1080p ( to do slo mo for instance ) means going into the menu and toggling features, why not just have a slide selector on the outside to do this? eg. the ND filters work well for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Same as my AXP33.

FDR-AX700 21/03/2018  (USA)

Bought it but sent it back. Why? Despite of superb colours and superb sharpness, I saw on different places in the footage irritating glittering. The same problem with my AXP33 and I saw on Youtube the same issue. The other problem was maybe only the camara which I ordered, but the hinge fastening of the screen was very weak. Put the camcorder in your fotobag and the camera goes automaticly on, so the battery is empty before you know it. The screen did not close properly. The coil spring was too weak to close it tight to the body of the camera. Rotate the camera to the left side and the screen came off the body and the camera was active on. Are there other owners who has this problem?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

fantastic camera

FDR-AX700 18/03/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

love this camera small with fantastic picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent camera

FDR-AX700 15/03/2018 by TonyG73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the ax700 as an upgrade to the already brilliant ax53 camcorder and really pleased with the initial results. Excellent manual controls and stunning 4k picture quality. The hybrid autofocus is excellent. Now awaiting for the release of the Rx100 mark 6 (hopefully with a longer reach) to compliment my line up. Brilliant camcorder!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Better grip, amazing autofocus, superb!

FDR-AX700 18/10/2017 by lacobo (USA)

Owning 7 FDR-AX100's I know all ins and outs of that cam. Now I bought an FDR-AX700 and am very pleased with it. The grip has improved tremendously and the autofocus is very good and fast (the only disadvantage of the AX100 is the slow autofocus after a theater-blackout). The menu is now the same as the pro-line (like the PXW-X70), witch is a good thing. I'm so pleased with the AX700 that I buy another one tomorrow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

8

0

Great video camera

FDR-AX700 06/10/2017 by Erick79 (USA)

Had a chance to try it. Feels very solid, and above all very ergonomic, just like it's predecessor. Loved the quality in low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

3

0

Sad it doesn't add 4k 60p

FDR-AX700 19/09/2017 by Jrva82 (USA)

I bought and I'm totally satisfied with the fdr ax100, it's so sad that almost 3 years later Sony won't improve this line to 4K 60p, I'll stick to my old hardware

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

78