117

4.3 based on 117 customer reviews

69
31
8
5
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HDRCX405/B 28/04/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to work, little problems on the menu otherwise very functional

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice

HDRCX405/B 04/01/2017 by tails12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont like how its difficult to upload videos to the computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

117 Customer Reviews

0

easy to use and very light weight camcorder!

HDRCX405/B 22/05/2018 by Eugene 2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very easy to use and light weight camcorder. Good and sharp image quality with such a low price to invest.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Be cautious with the reviews!

HDR-CX405 21/05/2018 by Kel1203 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel I have been cheated by the reviews - the sound is rubbish and some say it's brilliant! Such a lie. I used it to interview people and you have to max the TV/PC volume to hear it, the camcorder is generally ok and easy to use, but this is a massive let down. And you can't even attached a mic. If you want it for anything closeup, then this is a winner. I bought this because it can film for a longer period than my max of 30 minute canon camera, but if you 'pause' enough it will be fine - I wish I used my camera instead and certainly will do so in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Top class product

HDR-CX405 10/05/2018 by bern the bolt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is light to carry,easy to use and produces outstanding results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just the right size!

HDR-CX405 01/05/2018 by lululu cannock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this a couple of weeks but the weather has not been good so I have not used it. It looks good and seems simple to operate and easy to switch from video to photo= the easier the better for me. The size is just right to slip into you pocket or a small bag - ideal for holidays. Wish it had come with a case!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

great features

HDRCX405/B 21/04/2018 by izzy652468 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great for recording, easy to use and nice look. love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Youtube Starter Camera

HDRCX405/B 09/04/2018 by Myri Jaz Perez (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice Xmas present to start off my Youtube channel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super little video camera

HDRCX405B 08/04/2018 by Michelle007 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it used but it is working pretty good, works pretty good and as clear view also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HDRCX405B 07/04/2018 by Say Dez (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to make instructional videos, it fills the need very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy use, good quality.

HDRCX405B 30/03/2018 by basketball mom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to video my son's high school basketball games. Quality is great. I don't use a tri-pod, too much to drag in and out of gyms with sometimes no space. videos are very smooth. The camera is super light to hold the entire game, sometimes even two games, JV and Varsity. Love it. Downloading is easy, I am not a tech person. Quick off and on. Occasionally I would need to close the view screen and open it again to start back up, this took only seconds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

HDRCX405/B 21/03/2018 by Juanma88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a three months ago and its amazing. good quality, very slim and confortable to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A little early to comment but.....

HDR-CX405 18/03/2018 by Roc the Curmudgeon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera a few weeks and so far it performs adequately compared to my old Sony Camera. I am concerned that it is so flimsy whilst it is very light weight will it stand up to everyday knocks that my old camera sustained without damage?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

ok - kinda cheap - difficult to transfer files

HDRCX405/B 12/03/2018 by 3426 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

ok - kinda cheap - difficult to transfer files to computer

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great product

HDRCX405B 03/03/2018 by Darrell8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product! User friendly, great picture quality and love the design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and simple to use

HDRCX405B 01/03/2018 by Davidd108 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it for a few weeks and it is just hat I was looking for. Simple, small, takes good video and audio is good even without a mic port.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cool light weight camcorder

HDR-CX405 10/02/2018 by Geoffnewblue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great little camera super light weight and easy to use. Auto settings with face detection is a pain so turned it off but the other features work well

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 25/01/2018 by MaryDC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is so easy to use and light in weight too.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb easy to use product

HDR-CX405 08/01/2018 by Mylakotachris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant, used it at Christmas and for a party afterwards, uploaded and set to disc with so much ease.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Using it for my Karate curriclum

HDRCX405B 08/01/2018 by agelesskarate (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am quite impressed with this product. Only because most cams are from the 90s we all use our phones now. So its nice to have something from the balst of our past. But its very modern and sleek and affordable for what you can do with it. Its handheld and you can move around with it too. The micro chip you can get at 64 gigs and extra batter packs is recommended if your doing big projects. Anyways thanks SONY love your products you can check out our curriculum at Ageless Martial Arts Las Vegas on youtube for more info about us.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great basic camcorder.

HDRCX405B 27/12/2017 by ScottInSC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All the reviews on this camcorder were great and it has lived up to it. Great video quality, lightweight, easy to use... Can't believe that you get all this for the price. WIFI connectivity would be nice but that is in the next model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

HDR-CX405 25/12/2017 by Avalon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product to video my great granddaughter's growing progress

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony camcorder

HDRCX405B 04/12/2017 by Tommy1947 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

a good HD camcorder. Sony is what was on my mind when I went looking.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD CAM, NEED MORE PIXEL AND WIFI CONNECTION

HDRCX405B 03/12/2017 by SIDDIQ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GOOD CAM, NEED MORE PIXEL AND WIFI CONNECTION TO TRANSFER FILE ONLINE, NEED TOUCH SCREEN

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great product and loving it

HDRCX405B 23/11/2017 by Garry25 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought today and its excellent. I have been really lucky

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

for my son's soccer games

HDRCX405B 19/11/2017 by moon7sun6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't know yet I will use it tomorrow for my son's soccer games

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Great little camera

HDR-CX405 17/11/2017 by SallyAction (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for business use to film short video clips for our website and it is very easy to use, produces excellent quality video footage and is ultra light weight. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a good quality basic camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

So easy to use

HDRCX405B 12/11/2017 by Dave747 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was surprised at how light in your hand this camera is and the controls are right where they should be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features and simple to use!

HDRCX405B 12/11/2017 by Mazola (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a video recorder to record my daughter's concerts at college. This was very inexpensive and does everything I need. The instructions are very easy to follow and the playback is very clear, both video and audio. I have had more expensive camcorders before, but they had features that I never used. I really like the USB cord attached directly to the camera. This helps prevent having to search for cables! I can just record the concert and when I get home, I just plug in the camera and download the video. I can even edit the video with the free software!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome for short films

HDRCX405/B 04/10/2017 by Darrell J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an awesome product, very easy to use very awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I am happy with the cam.

HDRCX405/B 25/09/2017 by Muscle man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is easy to use. It offers great value. I highly recommend it to any one who wants a cheap cam.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very stylish

HDR-CX405 20/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This will replace a very old Sony camcorder that has seen better days and stopped working

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great love it

HDRCX405B 20/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good cam i love it easy to use nice and the auto feature for pic or videos love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Cam not working

HDRCX405/B 12/09/2017 by Bhasy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to use cam as the VF screen not sensitive to touch. No action possible incl recording. Review not possible now. The review given below is bsed on my views on the other 2 Sony Handy mams I bought in last 9 yrs. Need help to activate the cam. No warranty fm Sony. Only 39 days warranty by Seller, according to Invoice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

handy camera

HDRCX405/B 09/09/2017 by Drdre (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

so far it's great..camera is easy to use and operate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

having trouble

HDRCX405B 07/09/2017 by Carole28 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this to record my son's band and i can't even access the videos to download them to my computer i wish i could this faster without having to check a bunch of sites for help

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2017

Hi Carole28, We apologize for the inconvenience. It's easy to transfer recorded videos to a computer. The link provided will show you the proper steps on how to import movies from this camcorder to a computer. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/35806

0

Excellent cam for regular users

HDRCX405/B 04/09/2017 by Pastor Chui (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has been working fine without problems for a couple of years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I just got this product and it is very easy to use

HDRCX405/B 04/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product / affordable price. I am replacing a Handy cam and I am very excited to see the differences.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good

HDRCX405B 01/09/2017 by dashy1970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product - does as it's advertised. The wifi hardware is built-in I guess but does not have firmware. It should come with the wifi feature. Sony, this is cheap, that you have built the feature but has not enabled it in this model, for that we have to go to the higher model.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great product, it does the job and user-friendly!

HDRCX405B 28/08/2017 by Niecie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This item is a gift it's user-friendly and I am having a blast videoing summer keepsakes and memories!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great video recorder

HDRCX405B 26/08/2017 by dopey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for several months now and I LIKE it very much. It is very light to hold, the 'steady shot' feature works well. I have taken videos while walking and you cannot see any movement in the video. The 60X zoom is excellent. Better than I expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact and easy to use

HDRCX405B 25/08/2017 by chizzilla75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this cam for a summer trip to Japan and its the most memorable trip ever all captured on this tiny jewel. I was surprised at the length of time the battery lasted. It was contact right to fit into my pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use and compact.

HDRCX405B 25/08/2017 by Jhybridge (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to store and carry along. It is light weight and the battery life is good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It is a great starter camrecorder

HDRCX405/B 24/08/2017 by Papa D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm going is it for my you tube channel. I got it as gift, easy to use, has on board mic, it works ok .The zoom on the lense 60 x, small and a flipout LCD sreen for viewing.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple but powerful

HDRCX405/B 22/08/2017 by Odjie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's use to make my own documentation, All this function help me to make it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

cx405

HDRCX405/B 23/07/2017 by Himself Devine (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to record Celtic Tenor concerts in Ireland. It worked great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy size, easy to fit in pocket

HDR-CX405 19/07/2017 by Padetrois (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I which gave sterling service. bought this to relace a Sanyo Xacti which recently packed in. The Sony is very user friendly, the on screen menus are easy to navigate and understand. I've used it to make videos and stills of my grandchildren and so far I'm impressed. Don't know about battery life yet as there's always been loads for what I need. Transfer of data to my laptop couldn't be easier. Quality is escellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

pretty sucky sony site

HDRCX405/B 16/07/2017 by qpat00 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the vid camera worked fine taking the video as far as i know-its trying to get the vid to my computer that is sucky-going to sony site is totally unfriendly.....multi billion dollar company and the site is sucky. cant really take the Q&A since i have no idea how to get these vids to my computer first. i registered yet it wont allow me to create a user id and password. it wont allow me to download playmemories home version. I have impt vids, peple are expecting them and i cant do anything with them.

0

0

0

Confusing, disjointed and I can't get my videos!

HDRCX405B 03/07/2017 by Welltraveled (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera hoping that I could plug it into my computer to get my videos. No such luck. Download, register, tell Sony you don't want them to sell your information, register some more...and all the while, I can't get the video off of my camera!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent Product

HDRCX405/B 02/07/2017 by LindaLou (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera before our camping trip out west and I'm so glad I did! It takes such crisp clear videos and photo's. And the zoom feature is awesome! It zooms in so close from so far away. It's very light and small and there is no shake in the videos. excellent camcorder!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Camera

HDRCX405/B 24/06/2017 by ab2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really enjoying it. Easy to use. Our church purchased this camera for video use.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simple and Clean

HDRCX405/B 16/06/2017 by NorthernKaos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just a quick upgrade and was worth it. This replaced our previous model and it was a huge step forward. The picture quality is great and the zoom outstanding. It is as simple as point and shot. Any one can pick up this camcorder and make movies in seconds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great camera

HDR-CX405 03/05/2017 by POPSICKLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I AM PLEASED I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA AND WILL ENJOY USING IT ON MY CRUISE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great to Handle

HDRCX405/B 01/05/2017 by Rogue Trojans (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This by far is the best camcorder I've ever purchased period!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice and compact. Very easy to set up and use

HDRCX405B 02/04/2017 by Mooneyman (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it today and had it set up and running in a few minutes. It is compact yet has a big view screen and a good size hand strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

HDR-CX405 27/03/2017 by Pacoll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Much mo sophisticated than I had expected for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HELP!!!

HDRCX405/B 27/03/2017 by papajim42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to use. Still do not know if I can record to a disc and play on my computer. Manual is as clear as muddy water.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

8

0

size, easy to handle

HDRCX405/B 01/03/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product over a year ago ,works likes new

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Little Camera

HDR-CX405 26/02/2017 by shitwig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had it a week so I'm still getting used to it. So far I' very impressed with the quality of the movies and the stills, and also the ease of operation. Having some problems downloading to the computer but that's down to me being not too computer literate. Time will tell but I think we are going to get along very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Zoom

HDRCX405/B 16/02/2017 by Lisa82 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder takes great HD video and the zoom is very nice. It's very lightweight and the hand strap fits perfectly. Still photos and low lighting video come out nicely.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Camera

HDRCX405B 15/02/2017 by Dekeman10 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the features of what I can do with it. EXCELLENT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

love it

HDRCX405B 13/02/2017 by king t (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Just used it this weekend and it's easy to use and works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera for the money.

HDRCX405/B 13/02/2017 by asdfghjkl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, light weight, good quality videos. I like that it automatically links to my Sony TV and that I can use the TV remote to navigate and play videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

SOFTWARE FAULT PLAY MEMORIES

HDR-CX405 08/02/2017 by willywinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

NOT UP TO SONY STANDARDS NOT FIXING PLAYMEMORIES SOFTWARE PROBLEMS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

8

1

0

All The Goodies For A Buffet Price

HDRCX405/B 07/02/2017 by kajguy2012 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the MSRP, the HDR-CX405 present an outstanding value. Packed into its feather-lite form factor are some of the major the technologies in Sony's much more expensive products, including the BIONZ X processor and the Exmor R CMOS. The feature set is just right for this price point and the Zeiss lens in thrown in for extra measure! The quality of the video is exceptional for what you pay, and, at the highest setting, leaves little to be desired. The BIONZ X processor produces vivid color and the Optical Steady Shot is almost invisible in its operation. Oh, there is also a 60x Clear Image Zoom that allowed me to shoot some birds atop the clock tower of the iconic Tower Theater in Downtown Los Angeles. I was quite impressed! The videos are easy to process with the proprietary Sony PlayMemory software that can be downloaded from Sony's wed site. No software comes in the package. However, in addition to an AC charger, there is a HDMI connector so you can enjoy your videos on your HD TV. The only downside is that the viewing screen is not touch enabled, required navigation through a tiny joystick. But, in practical use, this is not an issue. Well done, Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great buy

HDRCX405B 16/01/2017 by jiji5 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use. user friendly, it takes 10 minutes to get familiar with all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Camera

HDR-CX405 16/01/2017 by Bandit999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with the purchase of the camera, easy to use, very light as well... super quality results from this little camera, worth the money! the only downside is there is no external microphone jack, but of course you cant have everything..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice

HDRCX405/B 04/01/2017 by tails12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont like how its difficult to upload videos to the computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Simple to Use & Lightweight

HDRCX405/B 27/12/2016 by Antdog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's light to hold so my arm doesn't tire when I have to hold it up for extended periods of time. I also like how simple it is to use. Just flip open the screen, and push a button to shoot a still photo, or start recording video. I've owned it less than a week... so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Feels cheap and flimsy

HDR-CX405 04/12/2016 by Yorkshirevideos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Sony DCR-SR52 that has given several years of excellent service. It had a metal body and was strongly constructed. Although the CX405 works well and gives good results, the body is plastic and feels cheap and flimsy. I doubt that it will last very long.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lightweight and easy to use

HDRCX405B 16/11/2016 by telebiker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this video camera for my girlfriend's mom's 90th birthday party. Very easy to use and excellent video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Starter Camera

HDRCX405/B 16/10/2016 by DarqJacq (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very excited to learn about this camera. I wish the included instruction booklet had a bit more detail about how to use all camera features as I am an absolute newbie to camcorders. I also wish it came with a memory card. Overall, it is easy to use. I think it's a great starter camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

bought for hunting

HDRCX405/B 15/10/2016 by msburrage74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

used it today for the first time for hunting. It worked great! actually filmed 2 small does with it. easy to operate, ultra light. and great picture on the recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light and compact

HDR-CX405 11/10/2016 by Mcrhegolfer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camcorder has a wide range of facilities and is surprisingly easy to use. Small ,compact and easy to handle and carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2