Skip to Content
254

4.4 based on 254 customer reviews

171
49
10
10
14
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Probably the best ANC headphones available

MDR-1000X 04/06/2017 by martininberks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these prior to a flight from London to New York. Glad I did. Comfortable, great noise cancelling but with the flexibility to pause the cancelling or to allow speech or ambient noise to penetrate. Good sound quality also. My one criticism would be there is no provision for the cables inside the case - unlike the Bose QC35. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great features but plastic prone to cracking

MDR-1000X 21/06/2017 by HEXfire (United Kingdom)

I bought this a little over a month ago. The noise cancelling and sound quality are excellent. The features worked as described, with the ambient sound modes being useful and novel. The only minor annoyances were not being able to listen while charging, and simultaneously connecting to multiple audio devices. That said, you can pair a device for audio and one for voice at the same time. A month on, the plastic developed a crack along the foldable joint, resulting in the plastic to protrude and the fit not being as tight. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result. Beware! said cracking is classified as physical / cosmetic damage and not covered under the warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

30

0

257 Customer Reviews

0

Great features

MDR-1000X 17/01/2018 by Gazzahotspur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great headphones, amazing sound. Easy to use and very comfortable on my ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise Cancelling - Never heard anything like it!

MDR-1000X 17/01/2018 by Rob L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are so many good things you can say about these head phones, but far and wide the truly outstanding feature is the noise cancelling. I can sit in my front room, connected to the TV via Bluetooth, washing machine on, going at full spin and I wont even know it's running, add to the that the actual sound quality, a very warm and rounded audio, I cannot recommend these headphones enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones - Noise Cancellation isn't

MDR-1000X 16/01/2018 by jlau (USA)

I love these headphones. The fit, feel, touch controls, they all feel premium and responsive. The bluetooth connection time snappy, the latency between play pause is minimal. They're impressive all around, except for the noise cancellation. For all the type of modes they have, this panel of options doesn't have one that gets rid of sound completely. In my opinion, this model is far behind what other reviews have stated. I am disappointed in this purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Exceptional!

MDR-1000X 14/01/2018 by JALC48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these 2 weeks ago and they exceed my expectations.The sound quality is phenomenal and the noise reduction is superb.All controls are well positioned and easy to operate.Worth every penny!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones but a bit pricey.

MDR-1000X 13/01/2018 by Philipus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good headphones; very comfortable to wear. The noise cancelling and is not as effective as my wife's Bose headphones, but I think the music sounds better with the Sonys.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent noise cancellation

MDR-1000X 12/01/2018 by JENAVAR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought less than a month and have been using regularly. All features work fine. Noise cancelLation is excellent. Touch controls are pretty good once you get used to them. Depending on the ear shape etc. For me they are not too comfortable. They are quit new will see in a month or so if the ear pads get softer, break them in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic sound

MDR-1000X 12/01/2018 by Nikje (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the headphones for a month now. I took my time researching the best headphones and am pleased I choose these. Set-up was easy and the sound is fantastic. I have slight hearing loss but even I can hear the details of the sounds which is amazing. The headphones use touch controls and I had to get used to it but it is so much better than having to use small buttons. Overall a great product made with excellent materials and comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Producr Design and Sound Quality

MDR-1000X 12/01/2018 by askew97 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Reviewed this product carefully as previous sony headphone to headband mounting failed. The 1000X mountings failed on both sides after 11 months usage. To Sony's credit this set has been repaired under warranty, first class service. Trust the construction materials have improved in strength. The sound quality and all featured contections and controls on the 1000x are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

"Stunning"

MDR-1000X 09/01/2018 by Farqy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a long review of headphones I bought 1000X, stunning noise cancellation, great sound quality (what you expect from Sony) very comfortable to wear for long periods. What more do you need.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Noise cancelling is outstanding

MDR-1000X 09/01/2018 by Mikebainesss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to own the Bose QC35 but these failed so I got a return and tried these out instead, noise cancelling is outstanding and I commute on a bus daily. Sound quality amazing and the cover to talk feature is amazing for quick attention. Would recommend to anyone passionate about music or who commutes a lot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds great

MDR-1000X 09/01/2018 by Tazbert1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality fantastic, so easy to use, just great headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous headphones

MDR-1000X 08/01/2018 by Dee11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great noise cancelling. Cuts out a lot of news on commute. Great sound and design too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ahead Of The Game

MDR-1000X 06/01/2018 by Brooksby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound. Nice and comfortable. Easy to connect. Excellent all round headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound paired with brilliant technology

MDR1000X/B 06/01/2018 by cueball9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these to replace the Bose QC 35 II's I got for Christmas. The sound from these is awesome and the Bluetooth connection was fast and easy. The volume control is pure genius.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everthing works a treat!

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by tvs17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling is great and hand movements to increase or decrease sound etc is very useful

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, comfortable experience.

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by Swiss Garry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these for Christmas, after trying on multiple options in store (sorry dear for that!). I was happy I made the right choice then, and I’m even happier now. The noise cancelling is brilliant, it even blocks out 98% of the underground which is too noisy, and most of the time I have NC off because the isolation alone is perfectly fine in most situations. And the touch features on the ear piece, make the whole thing seemless, I’ve yet to see this on any other pairs. Great battery life too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing so far

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by Pet_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these a couple of weeks ago, and so far only used a handful of times, but they are absolutely amazing. The sound quality is very good as is the noise cancelling. Holding you hand on the right headphone to stop the noise canceling and boost the background noise so you can hear announcements etc is a great feature and on every used a lot on my commutes. The volume seems to dip every now and again, but this might be my phone, so the only reason I give it 4 rather than 5 stars, but doesn't reduce the listening experience and I'd still fully recommend. Especially as it still cancels the background noise. The battery life is good so far, and like that it adds the headphone battery life to the Bluetooth icon on my phone once connected

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight and comfortable

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by SmartMart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After checking out some reviews i decided not to buy Bose headphones. These Sony ones fit just right and they don't move when you move your head. I really like having the option of being hard wired or wireless and the blutooth connectivity is easy to set up. The carry case is nice for protection but i think i would have liked the cables a little longer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile Headphones

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by ChrisPops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received these for Christmas so did not choose them but since using them I would have definitely chosen these. I have used them with my phone producing Hires music via Bluetooth and sitting down late at night watching TV listening to the Sound bar also through Bluetooth so as not to disturb the rest of the household. Noise cancelling works really well and the touch controls are really useful overall highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound Quality Awesome.

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by wes1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A Gift from my wife, Sound quality awesome, I'm getting it linked to my Phone, TV and GIGABOX via Bluetooth at the age of 64 its like a new world of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb! Better than Bose?

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by Sam95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was bought these after selecting them for Christmas, and couldn’t be happier! The sound quality is incredible, with a fantastic range, solid bass and good mid tones. Noise cancelling is virtually perfect and the optimiser works well. The added features of ambient sound, are very helpful and allow for more functionality in a variety of environments. However the optimiser can occasionally make the noise cancelling worse and it is then a faf to switch them on and off again! The added features for both noise cancelling and song/ volume changes make these and excellent purchase. With them also being incredibly comfortable, I can hardly fault them. Would definitely recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good noise cancelling but unfortable

MDR-1000X 03/01/2018 by cdias (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the MDR-1000X for 2 weeks now. I used to own the base QC35, so a lot of my comparisons are based on the QC35. I read a few reviews which called into question the quality of the headset, but having used it for 2 weeks, I can say the headset is well built. The Good: Excellent noise cancelling and features like the tap to hear hear voice. The sound quality is on par with the QC35. Battery life is fantastic. I can get 3 to 4 days out of a single charge with about 4-5 hours of listening per day. The Bad: Uncomfortable for periods over 30 minutes. The padding is adequate, but the elliptical nature of the cups does dig into my ears. I am not sure if this will adjust oveer time. The headset does not connect to multiple devices like the QC35. You can only connect to one device at a time, which is a shame. The audio quality on calls is not very good. It is passable but nothing to write home about. Overall Cerdict: Decent headset with excelent noise cancelling. Good features, but a bit of a let down in terms of comfort compared to the QC35. The price is a lot less than the QC35, so I would recommend buying if budget is your main concern. These are great at noise cancelling and if you can ignore a couple of the issues like connection to multiple devices, it is a good investment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I am in love

MDR-1000X 03/01/2018 by luciarb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly comfortable, noise cancelling is incredible, sound quality is gorgeous, bluetooth range is really good. Setup was easy. I can't (and am not) taking these off. I also love the way you can pause, skip forward/back, and increase volume with gestures on the right hand side headphone. Would definitely recommend (and already have!).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome headphones

MDR-1000X 03/01/2018 by fasi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable, noise cancelling is brilliant and there is an ambient noise feature for outside if you don't want full noise cancelling. The touch gestures are good too meaning you don't have to get your phone/iPod out your pocket. A great set of headphones and awesome if you travel lots

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best headphones

MDR-1000X 31/12/2017 by Aled Tudur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Expensive but worth it. Touch sensor takes a lot of getting used too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good noise cancelling, terrible sound quality

MDR-1000X 30/12/2017 by varsakov (USA)

Bought this offline but the sound quality is terrible.. sounds way too bassey, and sound attenuation is really low.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent Noise cancelling and sound quality

MDR1000X/B 30/12/2017 by narayan1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I almost tried all the noise cancelling headphones(Bose QC35, JBL NC750, Beats Studio2) and finally I landed with SONY 1000X. It got blend of excellent noise cancelling capability with superior sound quality. this is great!! Down sides: I feel to bulky compared to the other headphones, and touch controls are too sensitive. Also the volume level is low when you connect using bluetooth. other then these too, I don't think it should under go any major design changes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for everyday

MDR1000X/B 30/12/2017 by mteseaeag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones since Sept, and can't imagine my life without them now! I'm a computer science student and these headphones really help to completely block out my surroundings if I choose to use them in that mode. But being able to still hear my surroundings for when I'm out in public is great too! I have a pair of audio technica headphones and those sound great but after awhile with becomes slightly uncomfortable. These do not have that problem at all! I can wear them all day and only have some slight warming when wearing. They are made of great materials and can't recommend these enough!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

click sound occur

MDR-1000X 29/12/2017  (USA)

this is the second time. I have already exchanged this headphone once. When you connect it with Bluetooth, click sound occurs. Very nervous. I am worried about whether I should exchange again or just refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Headband cracked

MDR1000X/B 24/12/2017 by Keegan313 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Headband cracked like everyone else's defective set heard a rumor that Sony is replacing headsets that make number fall between 5xxxxx-and 5xxxxx and yes mine does fall between the rumord make number

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, great sound

MDR-1000X 24/12/2017 by shrub (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for use on flights and train journeys. The sound is so good I've spent many hours listening music just for the pleasure of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features sound quality

MDR-1000X 23/12/2017 by Thio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with everything about this product. It however gets a little tiring using them for long hours

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise Cancelling and Mic not so great !!!

MDR-1000X 21/12/2017 by Partha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling in London Tubes are great... Also, while taking calls, my voice is superseded by background noise...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic Product

MDR-1000X 21/12/2017 by Kil4u2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing looks and design, fantastic sound quality and extremely comfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-1000X 20/12/2017 by SecJenn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this pair a few weeks ago and have loved them. Great number of features for those who don’t always want NC on. Comfortable and great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning sound

MDR-1000X 19/12/2017 by ChrissyCakey (United Kingdom)

Great pair of headphones. Have had them since Black Friday and have used them daily. After reading reviews about them cracking was a bit nervous but they seem made to a high standard

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awful product no power after light use

MDR-1000X 17/12/2017 by Jesus9814 (USA)

Ir does nota power only workshop sometimes detective product with Hugh Prince Tag don't buy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good Quality Noise Cancelling headphones

MDR-1000X 16/12/2017 by philoli (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy, that I bought these hedphnes. I didn't think, I would need Noisecancelling Headphones, until I had them. Living in a big City like London can be very noisy. This just gives you a very smooth commute. And even when flying you can hardly hear the engine. Very smart in cancelling noise, but keeping the voices around you at a good level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Product

MDR1000X/B 16/12/2017 by dydy392 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great device I love this is one of the best headphone, The serial number is under the letter L on the left side, that's the only thing I couldn't find

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound - great feature

MDR-1000X 16/12/2017 by Yadgi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased after checking reviews and can say I'm very happy with the sound and noise reduction performance - competes with the best and gives more features especially the "hold hand over right speaker" to mute the track and close off the noise reduction which allows you to hear outside content i.e someone wishing to talk to you, train/flight announcements etc. Using the touch sensitive surface of the right ear cup to adjust track volume or track select is not that easy as you can find yourself inadvertently changing track when adjusting the volume. Takes a bit of getting use to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

super

MDR1000X/B 16/12/2017 by chris123456789 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with my purchase.... this is the best so far

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

MDR-1000X 15/12/2017 by sparkind (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for a recent trans-Atlantic flight, and they were fantastic! Excellent noise cancelling, great sound, a really useful features. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Headphones

MDR-1000X 14/12/2017 by Whytegir7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones couple of weeks and so far they have lived up to what I expect from a Sony product. Only time will tell but for now I'm so blown away with these headphones as they were a replacement for a pair that I had lost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good features & sound quality but...

MDR-1000X 14/12/2017 by Keesh246 (USA)

I purchased these headphones around the end of September. I will say, the sound quality is good, and they have very nice features. The noise cancelling was good, but I really can't compare this to anything since these are my first pair of noise cancelling headphones. Overall I am pleased with the performance and the design of the headphones. However, I am very disappointed with the build quality, especially for the price. I read the reviews but chose to ignore the warnings about the build quality and boy am I sorry I did that. 2 1/2 months in and the headband has cracked on the left side. I am soooo disappointed in Sony. They should really offer better quality for the prices they charge for their products.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good sound but bad meterials

MDR-1000X 13/12/2017 by Sistr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought that headset 1 year ago. After 5 month the plastic on the side started to break a little bit. It's just aesthetic if you don't have long hairs. If you have long hair they'll get stuck in the crask and when you remove the headset it'll be very painful ^^ Specially if you do that multiple time a day. I now have an ugly tape on the crack but at least it fixes the stuck hair issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice but..

MDR-1000X 13/12/2017 by Yalwarthan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As first impression, the device have everything I'm looking for. However, yesterday I found out that on medium sound level, other people could hear what I'm playing! Sometimes I like to enjoy the music a bit loud so it is bit frustrating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

MDR-1000X 12/12/2017 by Ducug (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and to be honest I was looking forward to it after I read its reviews online but what I have here don’t know if it’s a defective one as the sound isn’t great and when I take calls people can’t here me from the other side. It’s broken my heart as I was really looking forward to using this

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

MDR-1000X 12/12/2017 by Active (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound with really good noise cancellation. Quality of build is very good. All round these are the best noise cancelling headphones I have owned.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunningly Good Sound and Noise Cancellation

MDR-1000X 11/12/2017 by Alex982374 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely happy with these headphones. I purchased a pair myself after giving a gift. Commuting to work on the train and noisy air conditioning fans in the office both are eliminated with the noise cancellation which I am stunned actually works. Also, there is a button to allow people talking (such as train announcements) to be unblocked and other noise to be blocked. The battery life is great and I also can wear whilst at the gym/jogging. Great headphones. Easily synced to my iPhone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really Good

MDR-1000X 09/12/2017 by Aljuda (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphones to use with iPad,iPhone and PC and it works fine with them all , actually paired with 6 devices and the sound plus the simple operating features make them a must . I found them comfortable to wear but pleased I don't have large ears as the cups are a bit on the small size. I do however have a couple of concerns 1. The only method of charging is via a PC or laptop which is fine as i have both but what if your away from home? 2. the charging USB cable is way to short so i employed an extension and Sony could have included a mains charger.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant sounding.

MDR-1000X 08/12/2017 by Ashley 007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones sound great and connects to all my Bluetooth devices including LG tv, Lenovo lap top, I pad air 2, Samsung phone (5 year old) and a Sony ax1 I bought for them as some reviewers don’t think they connect well via Bluetooth with other brands but no problems for me..I needed a new phone anyway. Easy to control when you get used to them, i have them on for about 5 hours at a time and are comfortable. The noise cancelling is great, I was doing some washing and couldn’t hear the machine spinning away which was weird. Although they have a plastic feeling to the shell you forget that when wearing as the ear cushioning is soft as is the band that sits on the head is soft too. Tough choice between the bose and these but saw them at a big discount online and didn’t hesitate for once and got them. Happy days !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice phones

MDR-1000X 08/12/2017 by Keithwr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these for a week or so now and am pretty happy with my purchase. Not totally convinced with the sound balance that they provide but it's pretty good. The touch features and buttons work well and the noise cancelling appears to be excellent though yet to try it in a really noisy environment.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Bluetooth Headphone

MDR-1000X 07/12/2017 by Olufjam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony MDR 1000x about 2 weeks ago and so far i only had a short listening session, but, first impression is good,also i have one negative about charging the headphone, which Sony says you should only use usb via computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

MDR-1000X 06/12/2017 by BassHorizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones for about 3 weeks now and can't really fault them. Easy to set up and excellent sound quality via Bluetooth or the wired connection. Hi Res files sound crisp and clear via the Sony Hi Res walkman players that I use. Comfortable to wear for long periods

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and comfortable

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by Videotel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a pair of over-ear headphones to use for video and sound editing, and no cable draping over the keyboard. These tick every box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best headphones .

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by wilkies80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these 2 weeks ago and they are fantastic. The noise cancellation works perfectly and the sound clarity is ridiculous.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by Jazzy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super headphones, great song and great features, only been using them for a week or so but so far loving them. Great battery life.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Wireless Headphones

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by Blunderside (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at many headphones around the same price and decided on the Sony 1000X after reading a Hi-Fi magazine review. They are superb headphones with some great features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-1000X 04/12/2017 by kareem96m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and features. The only thing i could complain about it the look (too bulky, not slimline) and they heat up my ears and make them sweat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cracking cans

MDR-1000X 03/12/2017 by Billybadger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product, a great replacement for my Bose headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great noise reduction around power equipment

MDR1000X/B 03/12/2017 by gasdoctor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in June of 2017. Used them all summer and fall around variety of power tools/equipment. They do a wonderful job of knocking down the ambient noise generated by riding mowers, chainsaws, among others. Best I have used to date. Great sound to boot. I have heard vocals and instruments in songs that I have never heard before even in music I have listened to for over 40 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Magic on long haul flight

MDR-1000X 02/12/2017 by Mintcake (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchase prompted by a long haul trip from UK to New Zealand. Really glad I spent the money. I have kept them on the whole trip for the noise cancelling (although discovered I had to keep them for lugged in or they would turn themselves off. Battery stood up to manufacturers promise for the use so dmfar (although as being used with the jack rather than Bluetooth that should extend life anyway.)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cables not included in package

MDR-1000X 24/11/2017 by barisic (USA)

The specification says the package should contain airplane audio adapter, audio cable, and USB charger cable. None of that was included in the original package I bought through official Sony reseller.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

MDR-1000X 23/11/2017 by Oril (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the Sony 1000x a few weeks ago excellent service and product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Wowww - Great for Travellers

MDR1000X/B 23/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting to buy this for quite sometime and finally bought it yesterday. I have tested this more than twice and liked the great features and the NC quality. Thanks Sony for making such a product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great, best headphones i have ever used

MDR-1000X 18/11/2017 by imzino (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find most high end headphones perform similarly, just as smartphones these days. However, it caught me by suprise that that Sony would compete with Bose, Bowers & Wilkins and such by implementing an even better noise cancellation option where competitors have ambient sound modes which is also offered at different levels, a very nifty feature. On the other hand, during calls it is nearly impossible for the person on the other side of the call to hear me, which i believe could be due to the noice cancellation mics picking up excess noise, which could be fixed with a software upgrade...but the likeliness of Sony offering it now is the same as it was a few years ago when it released.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sound Over Noise Yes

MDR-1000X 14/11/2017 by out2bme (USA)

I had invested in several cheap Bluetooth headphones over the years and wore them briefly before they were set aside to neve be used again. I had never considered buying an expensive set of Bluetooth technology headphones, until I happened upon the Sony booth. I tried a pair on and was blown away by the noise canceling property, the sound quality and overall features that the headphones provided. I had been against spending that kind of money on any headphones, neither Beats or Bose would have compelled me to buy a pair of expensive headphones. In all fairness, I tried the Bose headphones and was disappointed in the noise canceling property. The sales rep kept turning the volume up to drown out his voice. The Sony headphones did it effortlessly and at a very low volume. I was totally impressed and bought two pairs. Way to go Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

commuters best friend

MDR-1000X 12/11/2017 by Yizoyizo (United Kingdom)

I've had these now for 2 weeks and primarily use them on the commute to work. When i initially got them out of the packaging i did think - wow !!! - these look really good. Soft to the touch and really comfortable and light for the daily commute. The sound is ok especially when combined with my device equalizer. The NC is effective especially on the London Tube - you will be immersed into whatever your'e listening to. Over all the good set of cans for the money The down sides - when receive a call i have to shout and the cable does not have in line remote but is good quality. The hinges do feel a little delicate when i do unfold them but once they're on they do feel solid. For the duration of time i have had these i am happy so far - let's see how durable they are over time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Simple to use, simply brilliant

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by Newty (United Kingdom)

Noise cancelling excellence that deliver superb sound and totally eliminate background nuisance noise .. Wish I'd got them ages ago...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for music; not so much for phone calls.

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by Hoppie (USA)

Love listening to music with these. However, phone calls are always muffled and others say they can’t hear you very well. The mics are placed above your ears, away from your mouth. Engineering failure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0