49

2.9 based on 49 customer reviews

14
8
3
7
17
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No other model choices!

MDR-RF995RK 18/08/2017 by 383 D (USA)

I bought this a few days ago and the left ear adjustment arm has loosened and will not stay in place. I have also experienced the and "of and on again" sound issue with these headsets. This one is going back for a replacement. If the replacement does the same thing, I will NOT be buying three additional units for my TV sets. I will update this at a later date...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

49 Customer Reviews

0

Too much Static

MDR-RF995RK 08/07/2018  (Canada)

This is a bad choice if you want to go wireless. The sound had too much static. They would have been fine 10 years ago but they don't deliver the quality a bluetooth transmitter/receiver setup would give. This is a $30 product at best.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2018

Hello Brian Hodgert, we're sorry to hear that. You may isolate the issue by simply following the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-info.pl?info_id=1727&kbid=00086441&mdl=MDRRF995RK
Regards, _Bob

0

Excellent Choice

MDRRF995RK 15/05/2018 by Rich35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to replace a worn out older pair, love them. Makes my wife happy.....to not have the tv on LOUD

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good as other Sony [roducts I have

MDRRF995RK 10/05/2018 by DJ39 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife will be delighted with the sound quality while watching TV in the mute setting

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

MDRRF995RK 08/05/2018 by JackJill (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago, and only manage to make it work for a day. Since, it worked 2 or 3 times for short periods. I've changed the batteries to no avail. The transmitter seems to be working (green and red light), but the headphones don't respond to the signal. I've been through troubleshooting from Sony's webpage, and still can't manage to make it work.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2018

Hello JackJill, we're sorry to hear that. You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate the issue:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4691893111.pdf, see "Troubleshooting".

If the issue persists, you may contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com.
Regards, _Bob

0

Sound breaks up constantly

MDR-RF995RK 06/05/2018 by lyndalee (USA)

We have had Sony wireless headphones for about two decades and always loved them - until this unit I bought today. We tried everything suggested to eliminate snapping, popping and static, which gets worse when you are more than 10' from the base. Nothing worked. These were purchased as an "Open Box" item from a big box store and we will never do that again. Someone else probably returned them because of snapping, popping and static! Tomorrow I will exchange this unit and I HOPE that the replacement unit will be as reliable and perfect as my previous units. Also, the design of the volume control and on/off buttons on the headphones are harder to use than my previous unit.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Not impressed.

MDRRF995RK 29/04/2018 by cactus52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as an "open box" product at a big box store. I had problems almost from the very beginning. The audio kept cutting out. On advice from Sony tech support I tried various channels on the headphones/base without improvement. I was only about ten feet from the base station without any sources of interference. Returned to the store for a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor battery on two consecutive models.

MDR-RF995RK 25/04/2018 by labrieja (Canada)

Well the headset itself is really good. Good sound, great support to stay on the head. BUT the battery... I've bought one on december for wife and after a month returned the item because the head set shuts down after 15 minutes. I had a new item good. After a month the second model is doing the same thing!!! SONY why putting NI-MH battery on this ?!?!? Put Li-ion !!! Ok on forums a lot of people have tha same issue. Solution put normal battery ?!?! So why the charging station ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/04/2018

Hi labrieja, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and let us see how we can improve your experience. Thank you. -Erin

0

Great sound and features

MDR-RF995RK 25/04/2018 by greatphones (USA)

I bougt a the headphonesin the military exchange due to noise around me after a couple of weeks my wife said she wanted a pair because she wakes up inthe middie of a night. We both enjoy them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Work well as advertised, but...

MDR-RF995RK 09/04/2018 by Flaps70 (USA)

The sound quality coming from the headphones is fine for my needs. The ear cushions surrounding the ear pads, however, have recently begun deteriorating and flaking off their black color coating, leaving bits of residue on my ears. I would expect better quality from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Did not last long.

MDRRF995RK 24/03/2018 by FXDCFXDC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wireless sony headphones for my wife for Christmas on 12/10/2017. We hooked ip up in Jan. It did not last but three months. It failed to take a charge after 3 months of use. Very dissapointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

worst sony product i ever bought

MDR-RF995RK 21/03/2018 by photographe (Canada)

I bought two pairs for my daughter and son-in-law three weeks ago to replace tmr rf4000. these headphones are absolute junk. sitting 8 feet away from transmitter, they will cut out if I do not sit perfectly still. lots of static. the range is ridiculous. they will cut out if I move to the next room. with the old tmr rf4000, I could get good reception even outside the house.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent sound!

MDRRF995RK 19/03/2018  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great through the headphone jack of my tv and with my boom box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality for the price you pay, disappointed.

MDRRF995RK 10/03/2018 by Stumpychuck (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product has a lot of static, goes dead and you constantly have to adjust something to make work.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good Quality Sound

MDRRF995RK 08/03/2018 by HAIG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to install. Sound quality is excellent. Feels comfortable on my head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Stopped working

MDR-RF995RK 21/02/2018 by AnDi66 (USA)

I bought these in Dec. for an uncle in a nursing home. In the next few weeks they stopped working for him 4 times. Each time I drove the 2 hours to go troubleshoot. When he said the sound would come and go, l went to a different store to buy another set. Hope they work!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

More than expected

MDRRF995RK 18/02/2018 by Im just sayin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these head phones for an older plasma tv , was scepticale but they are excellent , great sound and can walk around the house and continue listening , enjoying these a lot

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Had great features.

MDRRF995RK 13/02/2018 by Jim18 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We had it for a week ,then it started to shut off after two hours.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Frustrating to set up

MDRRF995RK 08/02/2018 by annek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these headphones to use while exercising in another room. The set up was easy, just plug in charge and play. Well, that did not work. I plugged and unplugged multiple times, charged, tried and tried and no sound. The uit came with a single plug audio plug and that was the problem. I bought a red/white RCA adaptor and the unit finally worked. After all the frustration, the unit is working fine and the sound is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Product quality

MDR-RF995RK 06/02/2018 by relianceguy (USA)

I bought this headphone on ebay and it shortly started crackling and the sound became intermittent and would drop out. It then lasted one month and quit altogether. Research on reviews (unfortunately after the fact on my part) showed that this is a common occurrence with this model unit. My question is: does Sony stand behind their products that have a less than good reliability for their customers? Your website suggests that help is available on socialsupport@ am.sony.com but I cannot get any acknowledgement from that address. I have had many Sony products throughout the years and have been totally satisfied with their quality and performance.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stopped charging after three weeks

MDR-RF995RK 05/02/2018 by strike6 (USA)

I am disappointed that the headphones stopped working after three weeks.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Did not perform up to description in ad

MDRRF995RK 30/01/2018 by Jack3288 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound waivers when walking away from the transmitter

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/01/2018

Hi Jack3288, thank you for sharing your experience with your headphones. The optimum distance is up to approximately 45 m (150 ft) without the system picking up some interference. However, the distance may vary depending on the surroundings and environment. To avoid sound issues with, please ensure that we are within range. For reference, please check here: https://docs.sony.com/release/Manual_4691893111.pdf


Regards,
-Erin

0

Great features and sound.

MDRRF995RK 29/01/2018 by ggeorge44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would give a five except for the wheel volume control needs to be extend out more for easier control turning up or down of the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

trouble shooting

MDR-RF995RK 21/01/2018 by shipyard (USA)

first headset works great. the other one will not charge properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works as expected

MDRRF995RK 19/01/2018 by Shadini (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my husband and it works great. Nice that I can turn the volume down to my comfort level and he can still hear the TV without complaining.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Headphone plastic not strong and is easily broken.

MDRRF995RK 14/01/2018 by zekeyoyo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is t he second headphone from Sony I have purchased. The first one had to be replaced because the plastic ear piece support broke. I purchased a second one. This new one had been redesigned and appeared to be sturdier. However, the new one ear support plastic has also broken. I simply put the set on a table and it broke.I registered the new 0ne in August 2017. I can not afford to buy new ones every six or seven months. I am US Army service connected handicapped veteran. The headphones are needed to watch TV. What is the warranty on this headset and will Sony replace it???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Crisp clear sound with optional features

MDRRF995RK 06/01/2018 by mitzie499 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saved my Marriage! Loud blasting TV due to hearing & understanding deficiencies was absolutely horrible!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Disappointed

MDR-RF995RK 27/12/2017 by Taco81 (Canada)

Got this as a gift , looks nice , might work good , don't know cause the 2 dollar 3.5mm stereo jack to 2 RCA connector, for optional hookup ,is not included ! Now got to go hunt one of those down to connect this thing, and being in a remote area , not so handy !

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/12/2017

Hi Taco81, we apologize for the inconvenience and we do appreciate providing us these feedbacks for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.
Best regards, _Bob

0

Disappointed

MDR-RF995RK 27/12/2017 by dmm40 (USA)

Replaced my old style Sony headphones that sat in a base which worked perfectly but finally wore out. I never had a problem with reception and could walk around with excellent sound. From day 1 with these new phones you had to keep your head totally still or the sound would go out and you could not leave your chair without the sound going away. Now after six months sound only comes from one earphone but at least I can move my head. Totally frustrating especially after owning the older style head phones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

better sound

MDRRF995RK 26/12/2017 by hump (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always had a radio shack and I love my Sony a lot better sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Perfect

MDRRF995RK 24/12/2017 by Quill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very comfortable with great sound. The price was very fair.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Mono headset

MDRRF995RK 13/12/2017 by sad man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this headset in hoes that it would help me ear TV better. I am able to hear better and have tv volume lower however it only work on one side! This os very disappointing! Also the headset tends to become uncomfortable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great features

MDRRF995RK 06/12/2017 by Honeycleo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good. Clear sound, rolling volume control, comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Product

MDRRF995RK 08/11/2017 by Nalu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift from my son to replace my previous Sony MDRRF970R which is out of production now. This product is much better.Great sound quality, snug fit, and better charging system. Old one was a struggle to make contact.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good experience

MDRRF995RK 06/11/2017 by Papa1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones replace a very similar set of Sony headphones. my experience with them led me to sray with Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lose sound

MDR-RF995RK 28/10/2017 by maryjoe (USA)

when I plug headphones in lose TV speaker audio. wanted to use with someone that has bad hearing and myself hear regular TV speaker

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

HEADPHONES

MDR-RF995RK 27/10/2017 by BULL DOG (USA)

I PURCHASED THESE TO REPLACE A OLD PAIR OF SONY HEADPHONES.THE OLDER ONES ARE MUCH BETTER.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

great sound until...................

MDR-RF995RK 19/10/2017 by mo1971 (USA)

if it wasn't for this one problem, i would give these speakers a 5, but.............. the problem is when i am using them, the sound is great, everything is fine and then i get blasted with static and the headphones go dead. i have yet to figure out why the static occurs, but when it does my ears get blasted with static and the speakers go dead. not happy. would love to hear from customer support regarding this issue. if i could get rid of the static blast i would be very happy! thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Product

MDRRF995RK 15/10/2017 by d424 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My hearing isn't what it used to be. The rest of my household gets blasted my TV volume. I have not sacrificed sound quality with these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Works great with hearing aids

MDRRF995RK 03/10/2017 by edwardo2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The MDR-RF995RK headset fits better on my ears than my earlier model. Volume is better over the older Sony MDR headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage, do not buy.

MDR-RF995RK 21/09/2017 by Blister762 (USA)

Had these less than 2 days and has been the worst Sony product I've ever purchased in decades. Proprietary battery that wouldn't charge past 1.35 volts and will only last 3 hours at that charge. Will run on AAA's but even using Ni-Mh cells it won't recharge them so after a several hours I had to swap them out and recharge them on an external charger. Noisy. Popping, hissing and crackling even when no audio signal. Put the AC adapter on a filter and it still was noisy. I bought these to replace my old Auvio wireless that cost half as much but were twice, no ten times the quality. Returning them not exchanging them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Waste of money!!!!!

MDR-RF995RK 24/08/2017 by bsalm1277 (USA)

I don't know how Sony puts their name on these. I wish there were other options out there. The charge light comes on as it is supposed to and stays on as long as it is supposed to, but the battery will not charge. I even bought new batteries, same exact specs as the factory specs, same thing, charge light comes on, stays on, but the battery won't charge. Now I am reduced to using replaceable batteries on these things which is annoying. To make things worse, the sound and reception is terrible. I am literally 5 feet from the transmitter and it is crackly and bad sounding. I couldn't be more disappointed. I wish I had kept my receipt!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

4

0

No other model choices!

MDR-RF995RK 18/08/2017 by 383 D (USA)

I bought this a few days ago and the left ear adjustment arm has loosened and will not stay in place. I have also experienced the and "of and on again" sound issue with these headsets. This one is going back for a replacement. If the replacement does the same thing, I will NOT be buying three additional units for my TV sets. I will update this at a later date...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Good buy

MDRRF995RK 15/08/2017 by Meatloaf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product very much. I like the features Sony provides.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Requires higher audio output than my TV provides

MDR-RF995RK 10/08/2017 by BILLinAZ (USA)

Purchased these to use with one of the household's 2015 major brand TVs that has the proper RCA audio outputs. The output is at a fixed (line) level which is apparently not strong enough to be recognize by this headphones' transmitter. I cannot increase the level. Works fine with a similarly connected radio, but not the TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not very impressed

MDR-RF995RK 10/08/2017 by Tech1230 (Canada)

Bought these for my elderly mother to use while watching tv, testing them in my house before she gets them. Sound totally cuts out in the next room only 20 ft away. These will not work at 150 ft even in line of sight.Also the sound cuts in and out in the same room only 10 -15 ft away.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2017

We appreciate your input, Tech1230. Make sure the units are away from many steel file cabinets, electrical appliances capable of
generating electromagnetic fields or on a metal instrument. These may reduce the reception range or cause interference. For more details, please visit this page: https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4691893111.pdf. We apologize for any inconvenience, Regards, Vincent

0

poor quality

MDRRF995RK 19/07/2017 by dksully (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I obtained this product with my credit card points so I am unable to return it. The reception was never very good, it would cut out in the next room. After only 4 months it does not hold a charge any more, it will only last about 5 minutes and only charges for about 30 seconds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

3

0

0

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks

MDR-RF995RK 07/07/2017 by hcook (USA)

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks. They worked fine and liked the product, but had to be replaced as they were not working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Dissapointed

MDRRF995RK 29/06/2017 by Calin2017 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it few weeks ago, not impressed. bad reception, lot of static, only works fine in front of the receiver. Cut off often becoming annoying, try all the three channels on back of the receiver, changed locations, bought a new cable, quality of sound poor.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/06/2017

Hi Calin2017, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. You can troubleshoot the issue by following the guidelines here: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39681. -Erin