57

3.8 based on 57 customer reviews

27
12
6
3
9
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

BASS FRIENDLY

MDR-XB550AP 01/08/2017 by Bass Head (USA)

The headphones are fantastic. just got them a few weeks ago and the headphones don't let you miss out on anything. the sickest thing about them is that they rumble with bass. Sony has defeated Beats entirely. it would be cool if i could test all of Sony's headphones and leave reviews but thats a lot of money. maybe one day. Sony keep up the great work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good

MDR-XB550AP 16/04/2021 by cat23 (USA)

I got them as a birthday gift and they're good when it comes to the sound. But it's been about a year and a half and the insides of it are already ripping. Not very durable... (they started wearing off just weeks after I started using them)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

57 Customer Reviews

0

Sony

MDR-XB550AP 28/07/2021 by Levente78 (United Kingdom)

Always Love Sony products I'll remember that in 1990s the headphones has more Bass then now.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

Good

MDR-XB550AP 16/04/2021 by cat23 (USA)

I got them as a birthday gift and they're good when it comes to the sound. But it's been about a year and a half and the insides of it are already ripping. Not very durable... (they started wearing off just weeks after I started using them)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great, but...

MDR-XB550AP 16/03/2021  (USA)

I used to have a pair of these headsets for about 5 years and loved them. They were awesome to play a war game with or to watch a movie with. Unfortunately though, they broke at the swivel point. I would recommend this product but you got to handle it with care like it’s your great great grandmother’s punch bowl. If you had the spare time and were crafty, you could make something to strengthen the pivot point so they don’t break as easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Tough AF

MDR-XB550AP 30/12/2020 by Jkwk (Canada)

I beat the living hell out of these headphones and they have survived much longer than any previous headphones I have owned would have. Sound quality isn't revolutionary, basis all right. Good for gaming.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

poor quality

MDR-XB550AP 18/11/2020 by Fara20 (USA)

I bought this product because I thought Sony is a good brand, when i try to take it out on my head it broken. I'm disappointed

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

17

0

One of the Best headphones that sony makes

MDR-XB550AP 16/10/2020 by The Chief40 (USA)

These are the best sounding headphones for the price better than beats solos low end bass and crisp mid/highs over all good stereo sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Un Excelente producto

MDR-XB550AP 13/10/2020 by MaggotT97 (USA)

los colores del producto son geniales, en cuanto al sonido es muy aceptable acorde al precio, el bass es notable, el sonido es claro y no se distorsiona, sus 102 db son mas que suficientes, estoy satisfecho con mi compra

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Perfect sound

MDR-XB550AP 04/09/2020 by LTJackTTV (Canada)

There's 2 things I love from the XB550AP. First of all, the sound quality and the extra bass. Secondly, the fact that it cover the exterior sound. I can concentrate on the music and I use 'em to game also.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones!

MDR-XB550AP 13/08/2020 by TroyDesargo (USA)

I've bought these headphones 3 years ago and they have been working perfectly ever since. The only issue I've experienced was the casing of the cup tearing after long term usage. However, 3 years is a long time. The sound is what I like the most. You can still hear your surroundings, which makes these headphones safe for a crowded area or an industrial site. I would surely recommend buying these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Excellent sound

MDR-XB550AP 31/05/2020 by MDR XB550 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased these headphones a few weeks ago for listening to music on my MacBook Pro and they have exceeded my expectations. Superb bass and clear audio no matter what you’re listening to. Only downside I have found is that the ear cups can make the top of your ears hurt as if they are being squeezed if worn for long periods of time other than that they’re a great pair of headphones at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

5

0

Unsatisfied

MDR-XB550AP 16/04/2020 by AyoItsFoxy (USA)

I bought the headphones a few weeks ago. Everything was fine but a few minutes ago the right side stopped working. Please help me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/04/2020

Hi AyoItsFoxy, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. We hope you enjoy MDR-XB550AP's EXTRA BASS which enhances all your low-end frequencies for deep, euphoric sound. Please follow this link to better fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wired-headphones-in-ear/mdr-xb550ap/articles/00024605

SONY provides a 90-days limited warranty for this unit. If you're unable to resolve the issue, please contact our support team through Chat and email https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/support-contact?language=en_US

~Earl

0

Very nice sound and bass!

MDR-XB550AP 14/04/2020 by ttttttony (USA)

I bought them about a month ago, very nice headphones with great build quality. For this price they are the best that you can get!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi ttttttony, we're glad you like our product. Let the music flow through you with the power of EXTRA BASS. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

very good

MDR-XB550AP 07/04/2020 by MMelih (United Kingdom)

this is a very good product however mic got broken in almost a year time and it was not registered to guaranty. I bought exactly the same one again and registered it this time :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

2

0

Excellent Sound Quality!

MDRXB550AP/B 22/03/2020 by PrinceD (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost a month ago, and I am very happy with its performance so far. The chord is tangle-free, and it has actually lived up to the name. it is great to use with some devices that require plugging in, or that do not have bluetooth. Overall, I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2020

Hi, PrinceD, That's nice to hear. We are glad you are very happy with your new Bravia unit. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

excellent sound very good bass

MDRXB550AP/L 10/03/2020 by Haunted (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought this I was about to buy them umm I can't remember what it's called it has a big b on it....... oh well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great features.

MDR-XB550AP 04/02/2020 by February 2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item about 2 months ago and I am so glad I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Best headphones i've ever owned.

MDR-XB550AP 24/12/2019 by davidmtb56 (Canada)

I bought these headphones around 4-5 months ago. I wear headphones almost all day, and these were comfortable. These are on-ear headphones, so occasionally my ears would get sore. The sound quality is phenomenal, and the bass is punchy. There are easily comparable to another pair of bose's that costed twice the amount of this one. Sadly, these headphones don't have good clamping force on my head, so if the cable gets caught on anything, these will actually go flying across the room. I was bending down, and while i stood up, the cable got caught on my left knee and sent the headphones off my head, pretty hard into the ground. That was the last time the headphones worked. I'm giving it 4 stars only because of the clamping force problem. If you are going to be doing anything with these headphones besides sitting in an office chair, then I would recommend spending 50$ more to get some headphones with better build quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2019

Hi, davidmtb56!

We are glad that you like the headphones and we're sorry to hear about what happened. You may visit our service website to check for your repair options.

https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

Regards,

Erin