220

3.6 based on 220 customer reviews

88
52
19
20
41
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic treadmill headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 05/01/2018 by Marathonrunner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as I wanted some good quality wireless over-ear headphones for the gym treadmill and they are great! Light, don’t move around, good and loud! Bluetooth connection was super simple plus long battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 30/03/2018 by Yb509 (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Have worn them 10 times both sides broken. How will Sony assist with the repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

220 Customer Reviews

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB650BT 08/01/2020 by Me12321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality - wish I could turn off flashing Bluetooth led

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Have used for 3 years

MDR-XB650BT 22/12/2019 by Teemo (USA)

I got these headphones for Christmas 3 years ago, and I still use them to this day. First off, the sound quality is amazing. Next, the Bluetooth connects very quickly. Lastly, the fit is also very comfortable. However there was bumps along our journey. About 1 1/2 into using this product the plastic to start cracking in multiple location. My large head might have been problem but it may have also been the poor build quality. However using super glue and duct tape I was able to fix the cracks. I though this would be a temporary solution but it is still holding up. If you have a normal sized head I would recommend this product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

disappointed

MDR-XB650BT 20/11/2019 by ashtag (Canada)

They broke after 1 year. ear piece just fell off as I was putting them on my head. (I don't think I have a big head)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/11/2019

Hi, ashtag!

We are sorry about what happened. We recommend visiting our service website at https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US to have the headphones serviced.



Regards,

Erin

0

Great product 0

MDR-XB650BT 10/11/2019 by Jan 54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound quality and comfortable to wear. Good arrangement of features.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good purchase

MDR-XB650BT 04/11/2019 by Richard041951 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these for a few week now sound is good and I find them relatively compatible to where. Bluethoot is a little out of sync with my old version three iPad but I think that is more the iPads fault. Over all happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bass response excellent, 30 hours use per charge

MDR-XB650BT 19/10/2019 by Greatwill (USA)

Purchased about nine months ago.I can see now from the reviews there are some real weak spots. The swivel, and the fork below the swivel. When using these headphones putting them on you should not grab the headphones themselves grab the metal band above to put them on. This being said every time you expand you can possibly weaken the swivel and the fork. Place them on your head use the metal band to expand the headphones. Less wear and tear on the fork and the swivel. Purchase a carrying case. On sony.com or You can get those on Amazon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

2 broken pair in 7 months

MDR-XB650BT 17/10/2019 by RandomBruin (USA)

I love Sony audio products. Sound quality is great! However... we bought a pair for son for Christmas. The ear cup broke at the pivot point 4 months later. Sony warranty provided a replacement pair! 4 months later... they have broken at the same point once again. Sony will replace them with another pair once again but I only have 90 days worth of warranty. I guess it is time to start finding a new headphone manufacturer. I'll need a new pair in 4 months.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A fragile but fair pair of headphones.

MDR-XB650BT 11/10/2019 by nick979 (USA)

The overall sound quality is good however there is some bass bleed. There is one major problem though. The swivels break so easily. Other than some small things like that, they are a fair pair of headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB650BT 04/10/2019 by dale5175 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 2 weeks ago and they are great, sound is good and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB650BT 24/09/2019 by Pathways70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these at John Lewis, easy to use and does the job perfectly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Audio Quality!

MDR-XB650BT 20/09/2019 by zacha_000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a few weeks ago and when I first tried it on, the audio was the best I've ever heard! The battery lasts so long and has easy button functions on the side of the unit which also give me double audio control for the best sound ever!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great sound quality, but has physical weakpoints

MDR-XB650BT 15/09/2019 by Iguesswhatever (USA)

I bought my first pair of these almost 2 years ago now. But I've exchanged them for a new pair plenty of times at Best Buy. This is solely due to the fact that they have a structural weak point. I found with the 8 pair I've had the swivel hinges above the earpiece break easily. I do enjoy listening to them all of the time, you can pretty much find me wearing them all the time for anything I'm doing. Just wish they wouldn't break so often.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hinges break too easy

MDR-XB650BT 07/09/2019 by Whymeohio (USA)

Great sound and all. Plastic is of low quality and therefore the hinges snap too easily on an expensive item rendering them useless as headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great product

MDR-XB650BT 26/08/2019 by Lusardi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones about a month ago as tired of wires trailing whilst I was working out! What a difference, once I got used to these headphones I can honestly say they are great! They stay on whilst working out, running etc and have a good quality sound system, blocking out all outside noise, the controls are easy to find and use on the head set just perfect I would definately have these again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

First Pair Broke

MDR-XB650BT 17/08/2019 by Itme (United Kingdom)

Bought these in John Lewis, they were fine as a mid priced pair of headphone for commuting and travel. Disappointed that the hinge broke after about 22 months, luckily JL have replaced them, will see how this pair last. Sound is ok, not excellent, like being able to control music from the device itself. Happy with the battery life. Original pair were blue but now out of stock so have the black pair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Good value

MDR-XB650BT 07/08/2019 by Doc67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with the purchase - excellent quality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Superior Sound Quality, Uncomfortable, Delicate

MDRXB650BT/B 05/08/2019 by SnifflingFrog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After eleven months of purchase, the produce has held up relatively well. Sound quality is amazing if this headset is connected to a device that does not have wi-fi turned out or a microwave is nearby, which is understandable, given that microwaves will affect Bluetooth connections regardless of product.. The problem begins when wi-fi is turned on though. No mannger which wi-fi hotspot used or which device the headphones is connected to, if the device is connected to wi-fi, the audio will stutter, with lots of static and lag if the audio is in conjunction with a video. The audio plays crisply throughout my house, playing through walls, closed doors and even floors when the above conditions are met. What's nice about this product in terms of longevity is that it won't cut out on the sound in one of the ear cups, something I've experienced with 5 earphones and 4 other headsets, some cutting out just 3 months in, and others having a maximum lifetime of 6 months before the audio never plays from one side ever again. That said, this is the only headphone I have ever owned where the headset itself has damaged from no particular mishandling of the item itself. I have never dropped, mishandled, over-twisted the swivel, etc. The only strain I have ever put this headphone under was adjusting it to my head, whereas one day, the ear piece cracked for no conspicuous reason putting the headset on. I have read others complaining about the fragility of the unit, and it would seem my experience has not deviated from this common phenomenon.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent Headphones

MDR-XB650BT 01/08/2019 by AjaxtheGreatest (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy my headphones. The battery life lasts for ages and they’re really durable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Broke

MDR-XB650BT 27/07/2019 by Slick1955 (USA)

Im now out of a second pair of mdr 650 bt.......the first has been broken for months...and the second about a month later...like the sound and comfort but i really expected quality construction would be better...please let me know what i can do im a loyal sony man..but really cant afford 3

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Great Features and Battery Life

MDR-XB650BT 24/07/2019 by Ramz123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Brought these headphones a month ago, and I have to say the battery life on them is great. I have only charged them once. This headphones also have great easy access controls.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Quality of product

MDR-XB650BT 22/07/2019 by bombshi63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought in this month. It is quite good more than I expect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Perfect

MDR-XB650BT 20/07/2019 by Nadu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love them. Good built quality and comfortable. The bass is there when you need it. They connect to my phone almost instantly. The Sound is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB650BT 19/07/2019 by Dgs1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for me as a gift, they work great everything anyone could expect. My only gripe is that you cannot connect via bluetooth and nfr at same time but it's a small issue

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Amazing sound and comfort

MDR-XB650BT 16/07/2019 by Viktor97 (USA)

I bought them today, and since i first tried them now 3 hours continuously not stopping to listen on them.. Sound is very very good and bass is strong but exactly how i like it not over the top, i hope the swivels will hold long as i see lots of people face those issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not what I was expecting

MDR-XB650BT 09/07/2019 by KatC77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't use a cable, so can't be used in a plane. Apart from that they were good headphones. I returned them and bought the model down from this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Lack of detailed audiophile friendly exact specs

MDR-XB650BT 26/06/2019 by phil 009 (USA)

Self explanatory ... Question for those looking after updates to Sony's online content: How does an 11.82in driver typo survive for so long on your pages? Do you want to know how many of your users will have their swivel hinges broken within first 12/24 months of gentle use of this item? Having researched this topic I am asking a rhetorical question here, and you my friends at Sony Support may need to do a series of surveys to find out why increased number of former Sony fans is switching away from their favourite brand. Since my MDR ZX330BT set suffered a hinge fracture (which i was able to work around temporarily until contacts for rechargeable battery got severed within the swivel) - I am in the market for a new set and will think twice (having visited this page and not having found what I was looking for) before I give Sony my business again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Doesn't last.

MDR-XB650BT 23/06/2019 by GrumpyConor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Made from a brittle plastic .. both earphone hopes have snapped .. just outside 12 month warranty. Not robust enough.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great sound quality

MDR-XB650BT 21/06/2019 by Anonymous 124 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it after alot of research, so worth the investment!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Sound, Bad Design

MDR-XB650BT 15/06/2019 by Roejoe25 (USA)

I have had these headphones for a while now and have enjoyed every second of the great audio quality. Its hard for me to see such a good product be completely useless because it breaks to easily. Both of my swivel pieces broke, and after superglueing them back in place, they have now broken on the handle. Sony can you please help! I want to stay a fan but this product is just too weak.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Best sound and comfort

MDR-XB650BT 08/06/2019 by Ali245 (USA)

Had the blue colour for more than a year and is still perfect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worked until out of warrenty

MDR-XB650BT 27/05/2019 by EddieD (USA)

It worked fine until I have to reboot my cell phone, then went silent. Just goes to show what 99$ headphones do. Fail.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Bluetooth issue

MDR-XB650BT 26/05/2019 by Cling Cling (USA)

I had this gift from my boyfriend and recently the bluetooth wont recognized anymore on any devices. Is there a way to fix this? I had this last year end of Nov 2018.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Easy out-of-the-box

MDRXB650BT/B 23/05/2019 by PattyH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have upper range hearing loss and the extra base boost on these is great for me! They are comfortable and look great (I bought red!) Really good value for under $90. Hooking up to Bluetooth was a snap. Very pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Durable

MDR-XB650BT 23/05/2019 by JackieJack (USA)

Received them as a gift, I was very excited. I use them everyday and the sound is great. Suddenly one day while placing them on my head, they crack at the swivel. Not five minutes later on the same side the swivel cracks making them unusable. The sound and bass are incredible but useless if unavailable to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Take a beating

MDR-XB650BT 15/05/2019 by The America Farmer (USA)

I’ve had these about 4 or so years and put several hundred hours on them mowing grass weed whacking or back in our fields, I have it tree branches, dropped, and actually flung them off my head and hey they still work besides the part where the the head band connects to the ear part. Although they still are still though as heck and defiantly worth the money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Comfortable, quality headphones

MDR-XB650BT 11/05/2019 by Vandenburgh3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First time I've ever used bluetooth headphones so nothing to compare them to, but so far, so good. They are easy to connect, comfortable to wear and give fine sound quality. I'm using them for night time television watching, not for mobility, so can't comment on useable distance from source. Am a little concerned that the charge might fail without warning in the middle of watching a program, and apparently you cannot use them and charge at the same time, which is the only reason I'm dropping a star. Otherwise, one satisfied customer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB650BT 03/05/2019 by JRive (USA)

I bought them 3 years ago and they still sound great, but they recently broke since I use them mostly for sleeping. I'm impressed that they lasted for this long since I tend to move a lot when I sleep. They do cover external sounds, which is something that I tend to look for when buying headphones. I recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Compatible with sony smart tv. No

MDR-XB650BT 30/04/2019 by sawneybeem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones are really good overall. Very comfortable, very good sound with the extra bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Breaks way too easily

MDR-XB650BT 29/04/2019 by Cadenneedshelp (USA)

The headband breaks too easily had these for a month. Will Sony please help?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great product - would recommend.

MDR-XB650BT 25/04/2019 by Jill C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks good and sounds better. Comfortable to wear even in the Gym with no falling off/slipping. The base is strong which I like and the controls are easily used even when running.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not too impressed

MDR-XB650BT 23/04/2019 by Geepa 281 (USA)

Operationally this is a good product. The problem is cheap materials in the ear speaker swivel. I use this product with great care but, it broke is several places. Very disappointed in Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great sound and features

MDR-XB650BT 22/04/2019 by Steve2010 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to use with my iPad and I phone whilst travelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Breaks way too easily

MDR-XB650BT 22/04/2019 by 444474 (USA)

My son bought me these for Christmas. The sound is great but the design is too fragile. Dropped them from their feet onto carpet and swivel on left side broke. Cheap design for $80 price should be sturdier. Will not be buying Sony again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great until they stop working

MDR-XB650BT 19/04/2019 by Stevenba (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sounding but packed up after 13 months so out of warranty. Bought another set as a replacement as do like them but they should lasts good 5 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use, great full sound with nice tone.

MDR-XB650BT 13/04/2019 by PEJ53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these smart looking headphones to listen to music on my iPad, easy to set up following the quick start instructions. I really like the comfort, tone soundstage, exactly what I was looking for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

MDRXB650BT/L 10/04/2019 by Nooru (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound + good design and quite user-friendly accompanied with lots of customers reviews online

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good quality; great price

MDR-XB650BT 05/04/2019 by Boop bopp beep (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love these headphones. Really good quality for the price range. Being able to forget about cables and not be constantly yanking them out of my phone, is such a relief. These are great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would not recommend!!! :(

MDR-XB650BT 15/03/2019 by Meeeeeyo (USA)

Was gifted my headphones for Christmas 2018 I nearly 2 months later and less than a handful of times used Started having problems pairing to my phone did a reset and the left speaker stop working called customer service and they say without a receipt They cannot help needless to say I will not be Wasting my time on this And will definitely keep using my other brand headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Junk, Two pair , same problem

MDR-XB650BT 06/03/2019 by Bradley123 (USA)

I bought two pair the first lasted six months and then would not charge and the latest pair lasted two months and the same charging problem..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

hard to connect

MDR-XB650BT 06/03/2019 by Harryk (Canada)

not happy. find it hard to connect the blue tooth...

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
02/04/2019

Hello Harryk,

We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with these Headphones. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/xb650bt/v1/en/contents/TP0001034969.html

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 03/03/2019 by Nana199 (USA)

I bought this last year and the still work like new. I love to use them. :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Features

MDR-XB650BT 01/03/2019 by EricaB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a present. It is great that it is cordless and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Difficult to pair

MDR-XB650BT 01/03/2019 by SteveThomp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pairing of these headphones to different devices is fraught with problems. Having to switch of Bluetooth of one device in order to pair to second device. Also unlike other headphones these do not pair to second or more devices simultaneously. Apart from this, the headphones are comfortable and the sound quality is very good with excellent base level

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent sound quality

MDR-XB650BT 06/02/2019 by Petrus123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones a couple of weeks ago. The sound quality is very good and much better that other of a similar price.They attached via the bluetooth easily. I like the fact that you can adjust the volume on the headphones and you do not have to look for the remote or volume control on the device you are linked to. They are reported to have up to 30 hours of battery life but I have not yet tested this claim. My only minor gripe is that you cannot really see how much batter life is left. Press the heaphne button and it appears always to say medium. Think I would place more trust in a visual representation of battery life. Notwithstanding this minor gripe, they represent excellent value for money and would have no hesitation to reccommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Swivel broke.

MDR-XB650BT 29/01/2019 by Ana A (USA)

I got this headphone with my rewards points and the swivel broke. I am hoping Sony can repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Good quality value and battery life

MDR-XB650BT 21/01/2019 by Hugh01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift for Christmas. Cant fault other than lack of control over amount of base. For most part amount of base not a problem but with some music it seems excessive. Extra Base button would be welcome

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0