268

3.5 based on 268 customer reviews

105
58
22
29
54
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic treadmill headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 05/01/2018 by Marathonrunner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as I wanted some good quality wireless over-ear headphones for the gym treadmill and they are great! Light, don’t move around, good and loud! Bluetooth connection was super simple plus long battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 30/03/2018 by Yb509 (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Have worn them 10 times both sides broken. How will Sony assist with the repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

269 Customer Reviews

0

Thumbs down for design

MDR-XB650BT 14/01/2021  (Canada)

I like the speaker sound quality but if we talking about the heaphone's speaker design, it cracks like baby toy, and if you broke it then sony doesn't give you any option for parts and you have to buy another piece.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Value

MDR-XB650BT 02/12/2020 by Dorro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphones a month ago, the extra base model. The sound is as good as a Bose pair I have, they connect easilly to my Apple iPad and iPod devices

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bass

MDR-XB650BT 29/11/2020  (USA)

I really want to love these, but taking phone calls are just horrible. No one can ever really hear me. Other than that, the passive noise isolation is adequate. They are comfortable. I've had these for almost 3 or 4 years now. The battery has held up well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

poor quality

MDR-XB650BT 14/11/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought Dec 2019 for xmas present - stopped charging sep - sent for repair - told parts not available as product noe discontinued !! . Money refunded .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One of the Phone on the left is getting detached

MDRXB650BT/B 12/11/2020 by Veerender (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this Head Phone 6 months ago. One of the phone on the left ear is getting detached from the head clip.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Don't make my mistake

MDR-XB650BT 21/10/2020 by Fack thees headphones (USA)

The Build quality is super poor it will barake in lees than a year Sound quality is good but still you gonna need to buy a new one after a year The design is bad to its way to big

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Slick and good features

MDR-XB650BT 13/10/2020 by Danandlauren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought them for our sons birthday. He loves them. They weren’t too hard to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sony - XB650BT EXTRA BASS™ Wireless Headphones

MDRXB650BT/B 05/10/2020 by michealpc34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

purchased a headphones nice clear sound but lacks the bass expected from a extra bass headphone set up. the sturdiness is flimsy around the speakers

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

dont make a mistake

MDR-XB650BT 05/10/2020 by mkbhd (USA)

its simple the headphones are really good but the swivel and the hinge is built very bad. its not a good investment as no matter what they will break in a month and no assistance would be given by sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Great purchase but...

MDR-XB650BT 30/09/2020 by Fuzzybear45 (USA)

I love these headphones. The sound is so good. They are comfortable and even though they aren't noise cancelling, they did a fantastic job blocking out outside noise. Unfortunately after 1 year and 3 months they broke. The part that allows the ear cups to swivel broke. They are are unwearable and unfixable - I tried. I am so upset. These are a huge part of my life. I have anxiety with noise I cannot control and am currently living in a place with daily screaming. These provided me with comfort and control. I could disappear. I cannot afford these again so I will be going with a cheaper brand. I highly recommend them otherwise

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound but they break easily

MDR-XB650BT 25/09/2020 by Dontbuythem (Canada)

Good sound, headphones lasted about a year. Then the swivels broke on both sides, which can only be fixed with duct tape and super glue. Not worth the money

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Poor

0

0

0

Headphones

MDRXB650BT/B 15/09/2020 by Cats meow (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought Sony products for many many years now 16 days ago, I bought these headphones and just now I'm charging it red blinky light it's constantly happening it's not charging properly battery is DEAD it's a DUD!! Won't even turn on does nothing but red blinking light barely can see it does nothing very very disappointed VERY MUCH SO!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Good overall headphones

MDR-XB650BT 07/09/2020 by Brian2928 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

so I have had these headphones for about 2 week and they are good but not brilliant. The quality is awesome as per what you'd expect however they are base heavy headphones so if hip hop and R n B is your thing then these are for you if like me you like rock then I say maybe not. Movies and TV shows are standard not awesome not terrible. Comfort wise these are ON earphones rather than over ear headphones which is a first for me and this is just my personal preference but not a fan these are comfortable I just don't think I like that vibe. Battery is really good also the range on these surprisingly far my house is not a mansion but standard size and I can get full range all over. OK so good headphones and not great but not bad I can't comment on price as they free with an upgrade phone. Hope that helps.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality for the money

MDR-XB650BT 02/09/2020 by Brunswick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sounds, easy to set up, great battery life. Wouldn’t expect anything less from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good, comfy and we'll made

MDR-XB650BT 31/08/2020 by Sporster53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As in review title, a well made product. Last year's model, so £35 instead of £50, so even better!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Impressive!

MDR-XB650BT 23/08/2020 by Dio81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and quality build! Easy to use and connect to various devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Swivel Breaks sony will not help!

MDR-XB650BT 20/08/2020 by disapointed1 (Canada)

Bought these they broke at the screws. this is a known issue, DO NOT BUY THESE HEADPHONE!!. this is a well documented issue that sony has decided to ignore.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Delicate garbage

MDR-XB650BT 08/08/2020 by MrTaylor (Canada)

Bought these about a year ago to wear on a flight, and to watch Netflix on my iPad at home. The sound is good but despite the only occasional and gentle use one of the ear pieces completely broke of from the headband, rendering it useless.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

DO NOT BUY THESE HEADPHONES!!!

MDR-XB650BT 18/07/2020 by DavidRyan (Canada)

Behold, everybody, the headphones that will break your heart! DO NOT PURCHASE THESE HEADPHONES. Long story short: - Bought these headphones December 2018 - They just stopped working one day, August 2019, 8 months after purchase - Sony sent me a replacement pair - April 2020 replacement pair broke, earpiece completely snapped off (I was only taking them off my head, did not drop them) - Sony refused to replace them, so I glued earpiece back on, I was able to keep using them - July 2020 they completely stopped working again, just like the first pair. - I spent a few hours with Sony Customer Care, online chat and on the phone. They were very robotic, they couldn't have cared less that these $200 headphones (TWO PAIRS) just stopped working. Customer service was completely unhelpful. Very frustrating. I treated these headphones with total care, I never dropped them, I was always gentle, followed all the correct procedures as far as charging, caring for them. I beg you, save your hard earned money, and buy your headphones from another company. Honestly the sound quality was very good, and I loved these headphones when they were actually working. But they will not last. Do not buy these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Wireless Headphones

MDR-XB650BT 14/07/2020 by punterbren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent sound and a great battery life one of the best I have ever brought

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound , bad swivel dezine

MDR-XB650BT 04/07/2020 by Boosted_01 (USA)

I bought them about 4 years ago and my main issue is the swivel broke 2 times , I admit iv dropped them a couple times and things have fell on them but replacement parts are available

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Poor quality hardware

MDR-XB650BT 30/06/2020 by Melomano1973 (USA)

It was a gift from my wife, but it broke less than a month.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very very good until they broke

MDR-XB650BT 27/06/2020 by jjss2020 (United Kingdom)

Have been very pleased with these, good quality for price, comfortable and stylish. Unfortunately the right side broke off after 5 months of use which is disappointing. Overall i think it's a good product though

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Perfect for music lovers

MDR-XB650BT 19/06/2020 by billyedenfield15 (USA)

I bought these and I loved them, especially with the the EXTRA BASS booster.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nice design

MDR-XB650BT 16/06/2020 by Chloeliz84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my headphones a year ago from Currys for 60 quid and it worked really well. A few weeks ago, the sound in the left ear went out for no reason. If the average life of the item is only a year, they are not worth buying, I will not be buying another pair.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Don't fall asleep with these on

MDR-XB650BT 28/05/2020 by Dave V (USA)

I received a pair of these as a gift & use them to watch the Telly in bed. Even though they charge well &sound good, they are prone to breakage above the swivel ear pieces. Mine have broke several times & in order to continue to use them I've glue them, repeatedly. Poor, poor design, don't these companies test their products anymore or is it all just a CASH grab now...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

super awesome sound

MDRXB650BT/B 24/05/2020 by pauliek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

got these as a present from fam to go with my Bravia TV. Sound is most awesome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love these headphones, EXCEPT !!!!

MDR-XB650BT 24/05/2020 by Needmoreheadphones (USA)

I was a proud owner of the MDR-XB950BT headphones. I wore them 5 days a week for a total of about a hour a day, walking and sitting on a bus for two 30 minute trips. After about a year and a half, the front attachment arm on the right side cup broke at the screw below the swivel joint. Before I could find the time to contact you, I got a pair of the MDR-XB950B1 for a gift. Thinking that laying the first pair down on the shelf every day at home may have somehow stressed that joint, I purchased a stand for the new pair and religiously put them on the stand or hang them in my work locker when the were not on my head. So much for that because the new pair broke in the same exact place as the others and at around the same time after purchase as the others . I am an avid SONY fan with Sony product's in almost every room in my home and I was very pleased with the performance of both pair of headphones up until the point in time they broke. I am now having to go without my music during those points of travel time in my work commute because though I have headphones that work, they are unwearable. I just can't see giving Sony more of my money for a product that obviously has some kind of design flaw.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great purchase

MDR-XB650BT 08/05/2020 by g666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy about headphones,excellent. Great product...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Watch out for manufacturing error

MDR-XB650BT 04/05/2020 by dabio (USA)

Good headphone but there is a common error where it does not charge or turn on and a red dim flashing light appears when u plug it in. To solve this take out the battery park were the red cable is most likely disconnected and you have to solder it back on. Other than this the area connecting the head strap to the earpad easily brakes as well. Other than this its good earphones if your not scared of it braking lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect

MDR-XB650BT 04/05/2020 by Purist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What can I say, it's Sony! When you pay for the best, you get the best. These headphones are exceptional. The quality of sound is outstanding. The design is brilliant. Do not buy cheap or you will get a cheap sound. These are worth every pound and more. Thank you Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fragile parts

MDR-XB650BT 27/04/2020 by Hillb (Canada)

The sound quality is very good, but the parts that hold the ear pieces together are fragile and will eventually break. We purchased a pair as a present for my daughter and she loved them. After about 5 months, the rotating swivel piece cracked so that one of the ear pieces just hangs by its wired connection. So, thinking that was a fluke, we bought one more pair to replace them. This second pair, after 4 months, has now broken as well. This time, the piece that holds the ear piece cracked and finally broke. My daughter is a young teenager and is using the headphones as intended, so they should be able to stand up to normal use. I attempted a repair using epoxy. Perhaps incorporating some metal into the parts to strengthen them would help to increase the longevity of the product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/05/2020

Hi Hillb. we're sorry to hear that you have a breakage issue with your SONY unit. Your unit comes with a 1-year limited manufacturer's warranty. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Comfy, Good Sound and Noise Reduction

MDR-XB650BT 25/04/2020 by Landers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed to replace my in ear phones as my ears were sore due to the increased number of web conferences working from home during the COVID-19 lockdown. These headphones were quick and easy to setup on my Windows 10 laptop too and last nearly all week! Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HURT my ears. Sound and bluetooth connection good.

MDR-XB650BT 23/04/2020 by InPain (USA)

My wife won these in a conference so we didn't pay for them. I wouldn't pay this much and here's why: they hurt my ears. They squeeze in on my head like a vice. I've adjusted in so many ways and it still hurts. I am a woman with normalish head not some enormous man with a fat head so how can it hurt so much? The sound is good and I love that I can go around my house while still listening to the endless Zoom calls these days but WHY do headphones have to squeeze like this? I'd LOVE to find a pair that is comfortable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Love MDR-XB650BT EXTRA BASS

MDR-XB650BT 16/04/2020 by Os3WaRp (USA)

I bough this product to use for my phone & computer. because I didn't want to buy another pair of Beats headset since I didn't want to fork over another 299.00. so my beats stay with my Harmon / Karmon 2000 vintage home system. Walmart had a deal on the Sony Wireless Headphones for 75.00 USD. I couldn't pass up the deal and i wish there was more mid range on the Sony Headphones. Over all this product is grate.!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

After 3 years of use

MDR-XB650BT 08/04/2020 by RitzNightsky (Canada)

Plastic nows a bit brittle, sound and battery lifetime still good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/04/2020

Hi, RitzNightsky, We appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Like all others. Great speakers but..

MDR-XB650BT 08/04/2020 by PupTeddyBear (USA)

No one will say the internal speakers are bad so not the problem. I haven't had an issue with the pivoting swivel yet though I do hate those I get why it's there but it makes it rather lose on the ear then to compensate it they are a bit tight. All normal these days so my issue is the spot on the ear muffs split. It's only a few month old and I rarely use them. Replacements cost more then a new set. With it split sound becomes a little mute as it goes in to the cushion. Not sure if I can fix it. It should be under warranty but paid cash and not sure walmart is willing to look it up. Old receipts faid fast wonder why walmart. Anyway only other issue I had is it's really noisy if a pillow brushes up against it. So can't lay to play. What's really sad here is I used to get the $20 wired ones didn't have any of the issues people complain about.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

MDR-XB650BT 06/04/2020 by I reviewed the thing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this two weeks ago because of self isolation and having to work from home. It works great, sound is really good and looks very nice and sleek. It just may be a little bit pricy, but all in all - definitely worth it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ok

MDR-XB650BT 06/04/2020 by KFZ KFZ (USA)

I bought 2 pairs of headphones in 2019 Q1. + good sound, good autonomy, goog conectivity - broken and unusable After 8 month of use, for 1st was broken hinge, afer 2-3 month same hinges for 2nd. Now they are unusable.... Very disapointing!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good earphones good bass

MDR-XB650BT 12/03/2020 by Gale force (United Kingdom)

I bought these a week ago still learning how to use Bluetooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Still going strong since 2016!

MDR-XB650BT 04/03/2020 by Eronhope (USA)

I love my 650BT's! Great sound and bass! I love Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sound, terrible design

MDR-XB650BT 01/03/2020 by catbug (USA)

I was so happy with the sound when I first got these two years ago, then one year after purchase the bluetooth stopped working. Okay, I can still use them. Then a few months later the joint on one side cracked off, okay nothing glue and some duct tape and eventually twine wrapped around the joint couldn't fix. Swivel is gone on one side but whatever still sounds good. Then a few more months pass and the other side cracks off...okay I DIY repair again. Then a few more months and the material on ear cuff foam rips, oh and guess what, another crack in the joint in a different spot. I am a student so if you intend to ever put these headphones in a bag to walk to and from the library, consider something else, because that was too much trauma for these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound But...

MDR-XB650BT 28/02/2020 by Ashen (USA)

I bought this product around a year ago and so far it has delivered amazing sound, but thats the only thing good I can say. The build quality is creeky exspsally for the earcups. And you have to be careful. I was leaning on a pilliow an the earcup fell out so i had to superglue it together, lossing the swivel feature

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Both ear cups broke off after 2 years of use

MDR-XB650BT 23/02/2020 by GmaShopsPa (USA)

I received these Sony headphones as a birthday gift in December of 2017 and now only 3 years later both ear cups broke and were dangling by the wire. I had to use electrical tape to keep them from dangling so I could use them instead of throwing them out. Since this is a Sony product I am Very disappointed in the quality of the plastic mechanism that attaches the ear cups to the headband. Without excessive use they should last longer than 3 years. I don’t have an issue with the sound quality or noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Stopped Working!

MDR-XB650BT 13/02/2020 by stv88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this 13 months ago and the headset has stopped working. Repair cists quoted by Sony are in excess of the purchase price and as the item is just outside of the warrenty period i will have to purchase a new set of headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Pivoting earphone connections sheer

MDR-XB650BT 03/02/2020  (Canada)

On both left and right earphones the pivot has now sheered off completely leaving the headphones useless after less than a year of usage. I expect a far more durable product. I would give it zero stars if I could based on the poor design quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Nice headphones

MDR-XB650BT 26/01/2020 by Judge Death (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had them a couple of weeks and they do the job perfectly. Once they are set up they are easy to use and I've had no problems yet. Perhaps a bit more of a detailed set up process as I have never connected wireless headphones to my computer before and it was the computer side I needed help with. Had to go to Sony website for more detailed installation but at least they had what I needed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

absolutely rubbish product

MDR-XB650BT 20/01/2020 by buzzkiller (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was sold this item by asales rep at pc world for it to be used to listen to the tv?movies from my tv, It doesnt even connect to my tv via bluetooth!!!!!? Looks like we going backwards towards the days of the caveman!!! It is only usable with your phone.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

11

0

Comfortable with great features

MDR-XB650BT 19/01/2020 by CRJB115 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this headset about a month ago and I’m really pleased. I wanted some headphones to use at the gym for cardio/weight training and this model ticks all the right boxes!! Comfortable, lightweight and easy to use functions on ear piece. I would highly recommend this product,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB650BT 08/01/2020 by Me12321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality - wish I could turn off flashing Bluetooth led

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2