139

3.4 based on 139 customer reviews

56
23
12
13
35
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great sound!

MDRXB950B1/B 19/06/2017 by Rugerdabullmastiff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a pair of these and so far I am very pleased with the sound quality, the bass is great, and crystal clear sound. Connected to my phone right out of the box. Had a pair of Beats x for a day and the crackled non stop, Dre needs to stick to making raps period. Thanks Sony 30 + years and still my choice for sound quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Sound Quality. Cheap Construction.

MDR-XB950B1 17/12/2018 by kgoods (USA)

Initially, I loved these headphones. The sound was good, the bluetooth worked well and the battery lasted for multiple long flights. I took care of them because of the price (kept them in a cloth bag when not in use and never put weight on them). However, as you can see in the photo, the cheap plastic that holds the sides to the band has broken on me more than once. The first crack was a small one and I was able to fix it with glue. However, just removing these headphones from your head is enough pressure for the plastic to crack and break. Don't waste your money, you will only be let down. I love many Sony products, but this will sway me to look at other brands for my next pair.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

139 Customer Reviews

0

the sounds is Awesome however the design cheap

MDR-XB950B1 12/01/2019 by Hantague (USA)

i bought these headphones around 10 months from best buy. in Sony's defense the sounds quality is excellent however a month ago with frequent use both hinges broke i tried to fixed them with glue since there's no spare parts available anywhere. this morning they broke again. i got frustrated dismantled the hole thing, paying relatively a high price you expect the thing to last a little longer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great product

MDR-XB950B1 09/01/2019 by Andrei123456 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a week or so ago, brilliant. You get what you pay for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound, cheap plastic

MDR-XB950B1 07/01/2019 by crln (USA)

I got these around a year ago and started using them more frequently around 4 months ago. I really liked the sound quality and the ability to wirelessly connect to my phone and computer. However, after only a couple months of frequent, gentle use, the plastic holding the headphones to the body started to crack. Gluing the smaller cracks was a temporary fix, but just today one of the sides completely disconnected from the body, making it impossible to use. I was expecting a decently high quality product, and while the sound met my expectations, the fact that simply putting them on and taking them off would provide enough stress to crack the cheap plastic material is very disappointing. I see that other customers have also left reviews indicating that they have had the same problem - just wish I had read those reviews before I purchased these!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good sound

MDR-XB950B1 06/01/2019 by Tony981 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace aging Senheiser noise-cancelling headphones which had become very quiet and earpiece pads were deteriorating. Noise-cancelling not very effective. I did not expect £300+ Bose quality, but not so good as my old Sennheiser.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Wire-less perfect

MDR-XB950B1 06/01/2019 by Deb53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a Christmas pressy and for me when around the house I can disappear into a new reality of my own making with music or tv.comfortable and good looking what's not to love!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great

MDR-XB950B1 06/01/2019 by Tootall21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to listen to TV quietly while wife studied for school

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bulky but good.

MDR-XB950B1 06/01/2019 by Hovephoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with these wireless headphones. I find them a bit bulky to wear out and about but they are perfect in the home environment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for my workout

MDR-XB950B1 04/01/2019 by Nickclicks (USA)

I'm a musician and i love to use this wireless headphones for my workout and listening pleasure. It does the job. I love how it gives me the deep bass without losing the mids and the highs of a song. I listen to fusion jazz and old school funk. So imagine what needs to be there to get thise grove going.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

MDR-XB950B1 04/01/2019 by Worthy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good present for Christmas happy days and free too

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound

MDR-XB950B1 02/01/2019 by Moggie (United Kingdom)

Got as Christmas gift and absolutely fantastic sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Sound

MDR-XB950B1 02/01/2019 by Benl02 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones not even a month ago and I already love them. The bass is amazing and does rattle your head if you have the bass effect maxed out in the headphones app. The only thing I do not like is that the headphones do not have a microphone built into the cable included so you cannot use the headphones to talk to people if you are not on Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best sound quality, cheap body quality

MDR-XB950B1 28/12/2018 by daveswift (USA)

Bought them a year ago, and they were great, the sound quality is amazing. Few of my friends bought them, from my recommendation. Unfortunately, the body is broke a few months ago, I applied some glue, but they broke on another side just today, and glue isn't working anymore. I always used a case to store and carry them, never apply pressure or something. Big disappointment

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not good for gaming... =(

MDR-XB950B1 28/12/2018 by ATSnothingELSE (USA)

I bought this headphone as an all purpose headphone and since it has a mic, you would think you can use it for online gaming. Well... Thing is, if you use it with Windows, you have two options: 1) Stereo mode (without mic) 2) Heads-free mode (with mic, but only mono and shiftier sound quality) So that means, during gaming you hear the same sound in both ears, so you won't be able to tell where sound is coming from (which is kind of crucial if you play battle royal games...). Other issue is, there's audio cable in the box in case you run out of Battery, but again, with the audio cable attached you can't use the mic since the cable only supports the speakers, but not the mic... Why there is no stereo mode with mic support? Why there is no mic support with audio Cable? Why there is no remote control on the audio Cable? Why you can't use the headphone while charging? Why you can't use the headphone trough USB in digital mode? Why Sony? Why?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Plastic cracks very easily

MDR-XB950B1 27/12/2018 by Freak69666 (Canada)

The plastic is very cheap. I have bought those a year ago and Sony replace it after 2 months due to broken plastic and the second pair broke at the same place. Waste of money, I will never buy Sony headphone again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2018

Hello Freak69666, we regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectations and we thank you for taking the time in writing us honest feedback. We would like to hear more from you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and kindly indicate this post on the email so we can assist you further.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Incredible!

MDR-XB950B1 26/12/2018 by Gmac02 (Canada)

Very clear sound and very comfortable! Best I’ve had the pleasure of hearing through a pair of headphones. Some minor tweaks that could be better but overall an excellent pair of headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent sound, but not that comfy and cheaply built

MDR-XB950B1 25/12/2018 by KentB (USA)

I bought these last year for a Black friday sale. I got these for a decent price. The pros of this was that the sound was pretty decent, especially the bass for what I listen to primarily. It was extremely easy to pair with my iPhone. The cons? Well, they werent that comfortable to wear at first. Took me a while to get used to especially coming from a pair of Bose headphones I happened to lose a few months prior to it. Oh and just this past week, the plastic holding the right ear broke apart. These headphones never saw any rough handling a day in their life. See picture below. Extremely disappointed in that. I had been contemplating finally upgrading to a pair of noise cancellation headphones maybe a few weeks before these broke, and was very interested in the M2s or M3s, but these breaking so easily kind of has me worried about buying another pair of headphones from Sony to be honest.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mind blowing!

MDR-XB950B1 23/12/2018 by bananasssssss (USA)

This thing is awesome, from build quality to sound quality but the price is a little bit high. Besides the price, these pair of headphones are amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolute Disappointment

MDR-XB950B1 21/12/2018 by xvelx (United Kingdom)

Ok, we shouldn't mention about the price in the review. How else I can justify my rating for this product ? I will try my best. I used to be a fan of sony products, this one and the NWZ-B183 walkman made me to rethink about sony product. The sound quality in this headphone is not good. If you don't believe me, search for professional review on the internet, you will see (I didn't believe them and I paid the price). I didn't expect poor sound quality for the heavy price I paid for this product. My JBL headphone which is half a price of this one has better sound quality than this. Yes design of this headphone looks sexy, feels comfortable on head and made with right material, but where is the sound quality. When I play heavy metal song with max volume, this headphone doesn't give me the chill I expect. DISAPPOINTED

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Sound Quality. Cheap Construction.

MDR-XB950B1 17/12/2018 by kgoods (USA)

Initially, I loved these headphones. The sound was good, the bluetooth worked well and the battery lasted for multiple long flights. I took care of them because of the price (kept them in a cloth bag when not in use and never put weight on them). However, as you can see in the photo, the cheap plastic that holds the sides to the band has broken on me more than once. The first crack was a small one and I was able to fix it with glue. However, just removing these headphones from your head is enough pressure for the plastic to crack and break. Don't waste your money, you will only be let down. I love many Sony products, but this will sway me to look at other brands for my next pair.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Lots of bass

MDR-XB950B1 16/12/2018 by Davey27 (Canada)

Offers a lot of bass. Big ear cups have a notch in them to comfortably fit ears into.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased

MDR-XB950B1 14/12/2018 by fox11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife got these headphones for after my Bose buds stoped working very pleased good sound and very comfortable

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the bass

MDR-XB950B1 13/12/2018 by Thejoshuaclark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the mdr-650bt before this pair, and the increase in sound quality is noticeably better. The only negatives are, I was it could tell me a number percentage for the battery life, and if I tilt my head back they very easily slip off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wonderful Product

MDRXB950B1/B 09/12/2018 by Jacques123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a few months ago and I'm glad I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Isn't compatible

MDR-XB950B1 08/12/2018 by Triggered (Canada)

I tried to connect these headphones to my PlayStation but they would not connect and have paid 200$ for this that is a huge letdown and very poor craftsmanship

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
08/12/2018

Hi Triggered, we regret that the headphone failed to meet your expectations. This model is not designed for gaming purposes. We recommend using the headphones that are designed to work with PlayStation.


Regards,
Erin

0

Greatest sound

MDR-XB950B1 07/12/2018 by Lyandu (USA)

I bought my pair almost year ago and so far so good. The frame is not so durable for breaks easily. This is the perfect ear set I have ever had and I cannot get enough of them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good, but very fragile ... only plastic !

MDR-XB950B1 04/12/2018 by tibo11 (USA)

Hey Sony, i write a comment because i have the same problem as many people here. I wont put photo here because it's exactly the same things as JCCT "Bought two, both are broken.". I try to fix it myself, but, i can't find the hinge and cant remove the last part who stay on the headphones. I'm very disappointed because i use it 4h per day, and i'm really very happy about the song ... please, can u help people whith our problem ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

amazing bass

MDRXB950B1/B 02/12/2018 by fatfat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is worth you bucks.beast headphone out here worth buying on a budget

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!

MDRXB950B1/B 01/12/2018 by MDM555 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got this today, and oh my gosh! Spectacular! The sound is great, and the bass effect—holy cow! I am thoroughly impressed. Great quality, and would highly recommend to everyone who loves music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0