100

3.3 based on 100 customer reviews

40
15
8
11
26
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great sound!

MDRXB950B1/B 19/06/2017 by Rugerdabullmastiff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a pair of these and so far I am very pleased with the sound quality, the bass is great, and crystal clear sound. Connected to my phone right out of the box. Had a pair of Beats x for a day and the crackled non stop, Dre needs to stick to making raps period. Thanks Sony 30 + years and still my choice for sound quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Cheap Material

MDR-XB950B1 30/03/2018 by Upset Dan (USA)

I purchased these headphones in Dec. The part that holds the earpiece are plastic and seemed flimsy. Well while listening to the headphones plastic part broke, and it is not covered under the warranty. Waist!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

100 Customer Reviews

0

Great headphones

MDRXB950B1/B 12/10/2018 by cutterse (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using for the first time today and the sound is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

These were perfect - Until they broke

MDR-XB950B1 11/10/2018 by jazvondee (USA)

These were a gift from my BF for xmas less than a year ago. Amazing addition to my work routine. But today, the ear piece seems to have come off of it's swill and is now flapping by a cord. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent sound quality, but build quality is okay

MDR-XB950B1 10/10/2018 by armlesshobo (USA)

I've owned this pair for less than two years, and while I'm pleased with the sound quality and battery life, I'm not impress with the build quality. The plastic arm that connects the cans to the headband has broken in multiple places over time. No amount of crazy glue can keep it together. The kicker is that I take ginger care of them, and each time the plastic arms broke was when I would carefully take them off of my head.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I loved them - until they broke

MDR-XB950B1 10/10/2018 by Plloyd (USA)

I've treated my headphones very well and as I was putting them on this morning, the plastic piece broke. I'm just extremely disappointed in this b/c I spent nearly $200 on them and thought they would last significantly longer. BTW - everything else was awesome about them. Great sound, and very comfortable, but they're now a paperweight b/c their broken.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love and Hate...

MDR-XB950B1 05/10/2018 by rathna (USA)

Love the headphones -- sound quality, look and the fact that is stays charged all day. BUT the plastic always breaks at joint over left ear and hangs loose. Can still hear the sound! Tried to fix it umpteen times... unfixable basically and I'm still struggling....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones!

MDR-XB950B1 02/10/2018 by Rohlik32 (USA)

I have had these almost a year and they are a great pair of headphones with great bass. I would reccomend getting a case for them and being careful with them because the swivel broke on the previous version of these.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Its broken

MDR-XB950B1 28/09/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I broke it, but yeah its good. A bit fragile on the ear cups but other than that class.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good fitting headphones

MDR-XB950B1 27/09/2018 by Chuckle bro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these headphones just over a week, really pleased with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than the beats

MDR-XB950B1 10/09/2018  (USA)

I love the bass as is ..but there's a bass boost button, battery is great too last all day and sometimes forget to charge still plays, the only problem is that the piece holding the cup breaks and the other side is cracked and they sell the piece on ebay for a reason for 20 and they sell the hinge too but mine still good, ive seen many people selling their broken headphone, i had to glue mine because all customer service does is tell you to buy the piece when you just spended 140 for their cheap made headphones, the A1 headphones also had problems and customer service told me to buy the replacement cushion that was making the bass sound bad because i cleaned them and the glue holding the mesh was covering a sound port that is a hole that i messed with when i cleaned the cushions

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality

MDR-XB950B1 08/09/2018 by firstmark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to invest in these headphones about a week ago now to mainly use on my gaming pc at home, as my old wireless Philips headphones had started to play up on one of the headphones. After reading reviews and looking at websites I decided to try these mid price range headphones from Sony, I wanted to have a pair of headphones that I didn't need to keep charging so these with 20 hours of battery life sounded great. Also the colour was very appealing but the sound is amazing, its such a rich quality sound and with the extra bass which can be turned on or off depending on your requirements has to be heard. No problems connecting to my pc via Bluetooth and if used with a mobile phone you can even pause your music to take calls. For a midrange Bluetooth pair of headphones packed with great sound and features with no fuss I highly recommend these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great sound/ bad quality

MDR-XB950B1 07/09/2018 by Oscar2477 (USA)

The sound of the headphones are just amazing, but the piece on the left ear that made the headphone rotate just snapped and now the left ear is just hanging on the head band. I bout them about a year ago and they have been broken for 3 months now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Sound

MDRXB950B1/B 03/09/2018 by Sbruner9969 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot get it to consistently connect to bluetooth

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good bass

MDR-XB950B1 28/08/2018 by Leo462 (USA)

Bought these on amazon on the 21st of this month, they arrived today 27th, they sound great and the bass is good,so far I only have one issue with them, while I'm listening to music (Pandora and music on my SD card playing through Samsung music app) it tends to skip every once in a while on random songs at random times. A song doesn't get skipped but it stops for half a sec then plays again. There's nothing blocking the device connected to it or the atena on the left side of the headphones, I've already tried resetting the headphones (5 times). They are within range of each other. Nothing has changed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality/breakage Issues

MDR-XB950B1 26/08/2018 by Hjohnson71 (USA)

Earpiece is held on and rotates on a small plastic pin that broke with gentle, reasonable use. I see there are many others who have had the same issue. So unfortunate to have paid this amount of money for a product that doesn’t stand up to normal use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good battery and decent sound, but low durability.

MDR-XB950B1 14/08/2018 by LMBrug (Canada)

I enjoyed using them but after a few months one of the ear speakers just popped out, and it was impossible to fix. Taping the headphones didn't provide enough structural integrity to keep them on my ears effectively either. And not long after the wires began to fray and I lost sound in that ear. After inspecting I realized that the connection area between the speakers and the head band is a small circular and thin bit of plastic. It allows them to rotate but seems to be broken relatively easily. Due to the little alcove that the piece fits in and the fact that the wires will come out with the speaker meant that gluing it back together was also impossible without the wire or other things getting in the way. If I'd been able to replace them right away I would have but couldn't due to unfortunate circumstances, so I will have to wait for my in-store warranty to kick in. I had upgraded to these from my MDR-10RNC wired headphones, and those were very durable, so I'd hoped the XB950B1 would be comparable. Unfortunately even my Gold Wireless gaming headset outlasted them, despite that headset being practically made of paper mache. Over all they are good headphones, with a really nice battery life and good sound quality for what I need, but durability for me is pretty important so that is one thing I find a little disappointing. If my next set proves to be more durable I may reconsider my review, but at the moment I have to bring it down to 3 stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2018

Hi LMBrug, We regret to hear that it failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, ~Ralph

0

Bass

MDR-XB950B1 10/08/2018  (USA)

so i bought this last week and i got to test them at bestbuy and they were great but i play pc games alot and so i wanted bluetooth headphones for my pc so i bought these and for some reason theres sony mdr xb950n1 stereo and hands free and hands free works all the time but sounds like garbage and the stereo sounds great but 90% of the time dont work in multi use like playing a game then watching someone its stupid i dont know might return them cause like why hear garbage that was 300$ otherwise its great works fine on my phone :D dont know if theres a fix hope there is if not gonna return them

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Mind blown

MDR-XB950B1 09/08/2018 by Muffins (USA)

I got these headphones from a competition at work and I was so impressed with their quality. The battery life is great, the bass effect is amazing, and all my music sounds way better. I love that I can cook and clean and do other household chores kind of in my own little world. The cordless feature makes this even easier. I love these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible Quality

MDR-XB950B1 24/07/2018 by rjh331 (USA)

I got this for Christmas 2017 and I liked them. My problems come with the fact that when I went to pick them up, the right earphone had disconnected from the headset. I had taken good care of them and this came randomly and I have no idea why.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

This is one of the best headphones

MDR-XB950B1 20/07/2018 by Nikitajas213 (United Kingdom)

These are definitely one of the best headphones you could buy, especially for the money. The quality, look and sound is amazing. The bass, as expected, is extremely powerful while also being well balanced. Volume is slightly quieter than my previous headphones but have much better bass and better overall. I would say these are better than my previous ATH-M50x

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Bad sony product

MDR-XB950B1 05/07/2018 by Griol (Canada)

big and uncomfortable headphones. They do not work stably, I can not connect them to bluetooth with Sony TV, they are badly and uncomfortably folded. the sound quality is still bearable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2018

Hi Griol, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

Awesome features with out of this world bass!

MDRXB950B1/L 26/06/2018 by Arafat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few months ago and I can't be more happy with the product! The bass is unrivaled and I highly doubt there are any other headphones on the market with this bass. After all these months, the product is as good as new. I will surely recommend everyone to buy this if they love music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome features with out of the world bass!

MDRXB950B1/L 26/06/2018 by arafat33k (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few months ago and I can't be more happy with the product! The bass is unrivaled and I highly doubt there are any other headphones on the market with this bass. After all these months, the product is as good as new. I will surely recommend everyone to buy this if they love music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The 950BT Model was better.

MDR-XB950B1 25/06/2018 by DabR (USA)

Don't understand why companies always try to fix things that aren't broken, than end up screwing something that's perfectly fine up. I see it happen all the time with electronics. 950BT was my first purchase before these headphones and I prefer those any day, wish they still made them, instead of it's cheaper predecessor.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

You disappoint me SONY!

MDR-XB950B1 16/06/2018 by Wizard3000 (Canada)

First off I want to say I love these headphones! They are so comfortable to wear that I forget I have them on. I love the sound quality with the optional bass boost. I really like the convenience of Bluetooth and long battery life. Sadly the materials used to make these headphones is possibly the worst choice for the consumer Sony could have made. The plastic becomes so brittle exactly around the 1 year mark ( planned obsolescence?) The plastic starts to break down like all plastic does but usually it takes 10 years for plastic to become this brittle. Little cracks and pieces start to fall off until they are unusable. I want to buy another pair but the way these broke down after spending the most I’ve ever spent on headphones I am too angry to do so.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does not work with PC

MDR-XB950B1 12/06/2018 by Vikrant (USA)

Although sound is good when used on phone but since unable to use on my laptop bluetooth is bit strange , so unhappy for the same ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Simply the best

MDRXB950B1/B 10/06/2018 by JDL84 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are by far the best headphones I've ever owned and I have tried Bose and Beats headphones in the past but these blow the competition out of the water.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound

MDR-XB950B1 06/06/2018 by Sluggo (USA)

I've had mine for 16 months and I read the reviews about possible breakage so I was very careful with them. Only used them at home. The right earphone broke , making them unusable. Very disapointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Worst manufacturing quality

MDR-XB950B1 01/06/2018 by Sebasconsass (USA)

I bought these headphones, along with another pair, in August of 2017. Both pairs broke within 3 months. One of them was covered by manufacturers warranty, the other was not. That was the first issue: the fact that Sony does not take physical damage (that wasn't purposeful) as a part of warranty. Second issue: I got another pair of the ones that were on warranty in February (it took me a while to get the courage to call because I didn't want to be disappointed again)......I was disappointed again. That pair broke again just last week (end of May)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Really Nice headphones

MDR-XB950B1 25/05/2018 by Tyler buster (USA)

I got this headphones a year ago and they have a really good sound and great Bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Sound; Poor Design

MDR-XB950B1 22/05/2018 by gomwow (USA)

These are absolutely great headphones. Incredibly comfortable with good sound, battery life, and just overall usability. On the flip side though -- and the only reason for me posting this -- is that these headphones fell 6 inches out of my backpack, snapping the swiveling connector, and ultimately

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

For me is the best

MDR-XB950B1 14/05/2018 by Carlos28yc (USA)

I like its sound, its bass the best. I really like it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Headphones broke in less than 3 months

MDRXB950B1/B 01/05/2018 by EmGo369 (USA)

These headphones are horrible. I rarely used them, maybe about once a week at most and they did not even last me three months before the left earphone broke off. The exact same thing happend to my brother's headphones a couple weeks back and he's had his for over a year. These headphones should come with a case to protect them. These are way too expensive for them not to last or be protected with a case when not in use. Total waste of money, the store would not let me return/exchange them, not even get store credit. I purchased these on Black Friday and did not even take out of the package until Mid January. The broke in early March.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Great headphones but a tad flimsy

MDR-XB950B1 27/04/2018 by vybrantkid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound of these Sony wireless headphones - they're my first wireless headphone set (aside from Sony playstation platinum headphones which sadly don't work as a bluetooth headset on other devices other than a PS4), so overall i'm really pleased. They're light and comfortable which fit nicely around the ears. I could actually wear them all day without any discomfort. I feel they also cut out external noise a lot, even though this model isn't noise cancelling - so, they're handy for busy places like the trains or buses in the city. The earband does feel a little flimsy, and you need to treat these with kidgloves. Also they don't fold up. The only other downside is that they're a little low in overall volume compared to other headphones and the bass end is really really very strong, even at zero with no bass gain. The top end is really smooth and not harsh in the upper mid range like Beats headphones - if anything they could be slightly more present in the high end around 10-12k. Would've been nice to have the option to have eq treble/mids control as well as the bass control option to help balance out and personalise the sound in the Sony headphones app. These headphones seem to have a long bluetooth range - i can be on the other side of the apartment and the sound doesn't cut out - pretty liberating! I must say connecting to the iPhone for phone calls is a little clumsy. for e.g if I answer a phone call (whilst bluetooth is connected) most times if answer from the iPhone itself, headphones won't connect and you have to then manually chose the headset audio in the call options, which leaves your caller hanging. Only way it seems to work properly is to press the 'answer call' button on the headset itself. Other than that - for the money pretty decent!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome headphones

MDRXB950B1/B 21/04/2018 by Geminiisigns (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these since i previously had Sony headphones and liked the quality, but these new ones with Extra Bass is awesome they make listening to satellite radio easy and pleasurable. Glad i bought them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Poorly made

MDR-XB950B1 20/04/2018 by Faustm66 (USA)

This is so poorly made plastics piece broke but it customer fault

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

great while they last

MDRXB950B1/B 19/04/2018 by dyel1500 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a little over 6 months ago, great headphones and sound quality. but they snapped without warning or reason, not covered by warranty according to sony phone operator, and when the reffered me to a third party repair shop it was going to cost over $100, plus shipping there and back to get them fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/04/2018

Hi dyel1500, We regret hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We'll make sure that this feedback reaches a relevant team if ever changes are needed as we want our consumers to have the best user experience. Thank you very much for your input. ~Ralph

0

Great Sound but Defective Product

MDR-XB950B1 19/04/2018 by grok42 (USA)

The swivel broke just taking them off my head. Sony support says physical damage voids the warranty. I wish I had read a review before buying, it's obvious that this is a seriously defective product but Sony isn't owning up to their mistake.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Bad Quality

MDRXB950B1/B 10/04/2018 by ibomb17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 months ago and it already broke. I got a case with it and it still broke. If I can't get a repair I will never buy Sony products again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good sound

MDR-XB950B1 07/04/2018 by Food (Canada)

Bought these yesterday. So far so good. I like them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cheap Material

MDR-XB950B1 30/03/2018 by Upset Dan (USA)

I purchased these headphones in Dec. The part that holds the earpiece are plastic and seemed flimsy. Well while listening to the headphones plastic part broke, and it is not covered under the warranty. Waist!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

That bass!

MDRXB950B1/B 30/03/2018 by Purple Hayes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound. Great buy. And the price was right.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Does not connect to more than on device at a tiome

MDR-XB950B1 29/03/2018 by Rick9559 (USA)

I am really disappointed with these. The quaility sound and comfort are great. But I want to use on my Computer (main reason I bought them) and some times on my anforid phone. Works ok on phone but cannot get it to easily connect to Pc. Sorry IO bought them

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Terrible durability

MDR-XB950B1 03/03/2018 by lezod (USA)

I used to own the MDR-XB950BT and when that broke I got this. After owning this for about the same amount of time (less that one year) it broke too. The sound stil works perfectly but the plastic that holds the actual headphone has snapped in multiple spots. I have maybe dropped this thing twice. These would have been plenty good if the plastic parts were made of metal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Don't buy product broke and Sony won't fix

MDRXB950B1/B 27/02/2018 by WestWashPark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones for 7 months and while listening to music one side just fell off. I didn't abuse my headphones just from normal wear. It appears where they twist is a defective plastic piece. I wouldn't suggest buying these as they are not well made.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Connection issue

MDR-XB950B1 17/02/2018 by Aadi (USA)

I bought the model but it does not connect with my ps4 please do something

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

I really love these headsets!

MDRXB950B1/B 17/02/2018 by PSANDPCGAMER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headsets are better than Beats! The Extra Bass is the thing I like about these headsets!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound

MDR-XB950B1 08/02/2018 by DanielTheNoob (USA)

I love this headset, its so comfortable and the bass is amazing, sad that i can't pair with the PS4 eia Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Reveiw: Good Sound

MDRXB950B1/B 07/02/2018 by brad12345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about 4 months ago and the battery and sound quality is pristine also i dropped them a few times but one time while playing basketball they fell off and snapped in half.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

the plastic part

MDRXB950B1/B 29/01/2018 by fl08 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this on Dec 25, just 1 month later I have had the problem, the plastic part is easily broken off , I called Sony for help, but no useful, so disappoint.

3

1

0

Great look n deep bass,good in edm n pop music

MDR-XB950B1 27/01/2018 by NgHoong (USA)

This is my dream headphone but im student not enough money,my gf bought it n give me surprise

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Highly recommended

MDR-XB950B1 14/01/2018 by Orkiks28 (USA)

I had these headphones for almost three years. Great sound and bass quality. Sadly my dog chew the ear muff, luckily I was to find replacement ones and it was easy replacing the old ones. I recommend it to everyone looking for a headphone or looking to replace their Beats.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1