Z1R PREMIUM HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

$2,999.99

14

4.1 based on 14 customer reviews

11
0
0
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

14 Customer Reviews

0

Best headphones for Pop Music

MDR-Z1R 05/07/2018 by Matrix1989 (USA)

I've owned several other headphones including AKG K601, Sennheiser HD 598, Sony MDR-1A and Sony MDR-Z7, and in my opinion this pair of Z1R is the best so far for pop music, the sound is rich and well balanced, I just wanna listen to every song I have for once more. I really appreciate the use of the newly designed acoustic filter. However, I'm not happy with was the plastic housing, the metal housing used on the Z7 model seems to be much more durable and scratch-resisting. Also, the coating on the hanger is easy to wear off and get tin point too if you are not careful enough. These are well solved problems on the older Z7 and I don't know why Sony didn't adopt the merits from their old model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Understated Design with Luxurious Performance

MDRZ1R 24/06/2018 by Formula1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Over the past 40 years I have owned countless Sony products. From their TVs, compact and video disc players to Walkmans and many others in between. However, up until now I had never owned a pair of Sony high-end headphones. When I first saw the advertisements for the new MDR-Z1R I was immediately struck by their understated yet striking design. In reading about the technology and craftsmanship I was, needless to say, curious...if not captivated. So, after setting aside some considerable funding I decided to take a leap of faith and purchase a pair online. I received these a few days ago and have been giving them a pretty extensive workout since. I had been reading in previous reviews that they require a fair amount of break-in time to reach their peak performance capabilities. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised at how good they sounded right out of the box and they have only been getting better since. I was struck by their apparent balance across the entire frequency range with maybe a slight bump in the midrange, but that only seems to give the sound a bit more presence. It is not in any way disruptive of a completely enjoyable listening experience. Lower frequencies are tight and powerful and higher frequencies are not harsh or bright. It was a different sound signature than I had been accustomed to from other Japanese engineered products which always seemed to over emphasize the high frequency ranges. But not here, not with these headphones anyway. The sound is well balanced, non-fatiguing and among the best I have heard in comparatively priced headphones. I have a pair of Oppo PM-1 planar magnetic headphones that I have considered my reference and I can say that these certainly rival them for overall presentation and sound quality. As for fit, finish and quality, the Z1Rs are second to none. The ear pads feel luxurious and the band rests very comfortable across the head. The construction and feel of the unit is luxurious and shows off the tremendous quality and craftsmanship that has been put into this product. And while I have a read a few contradictory reviews I could find no fault with the design or construction of these cans. If there is one criticism it is simply that these headphones come at a price premium. At a suggested retail of almost $2300 these are not for the meek. But shop around and you can probably find them for a bit less. Regardless, they are worth the extra money if you are looking to make a significant commitment to your headphone listening and want a pair that will sound great and give you years of listening enjoyment. 5 out of 5 stars for this discerning listener! Good job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor quality control!

MDRZ1R 12/06/2018 by JKTRRT (USA)

Just picked them up 3 days ago and noticed that the paint on the back of the headphone has a missed painted spot. They are expensive and should have inspected for imperfections. I am not happy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

15

0

Madness!!!

MDR-Z1R 31/05/2018 by Amertat (USA)

I received this piece as a gift from a friend as a birthday present. I always promoted Sony for it’s products and was confronted by some complaints about their quality. I wanted to end those nonsense with this but when I found out about it’s price;well couldn’t do that anymore!!!there are many products with lower prices and worthy being called this one’s rival.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

8

0

End-Game Worthy Contender

MDRZ1R 22/05/2018 by Frank2523 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Excellent bassy sound that still brings out the micro details. Leather case Light and comfortable Headband Adjustment markers Detachable Cables Easy to drive Made-in-Japan Cons: You want top quality amps and dacs Painful hotspot on head if headband not adjusted properly 4.4mm balanced cable The Z1R is an amazing headphone. You got that rich bass that don't mask the details in the mids and trebles. The headphone is also light, comfortable and easy to use. The adjustment markers are very useful and I don't know why others don't do it. On the other hand, it did took me a couple of tries to find the right headband number for my head. If the headband is too long, it will create a painful hot spot on the top of my head. Sound isolation is just ok. It is not the best. The folding ear cup helps but to me the folding add more to comfort than isolation. This headphone does needs the right headphone amp and dac to truly bring out that thumping bass which I do have thankfully. (Bryston) Portability is bad due to its big size. And even though I love the leather case, it is not a portable one. But lets face it, unless you are made of money, you will probably not going to risk having this stolen or getting scratched by bring it outside. Finally, lets talk about cables. Even on such a high-end product, Sony went very Sony by including a 4.4mm balanced cable that only works on the 1% of the amp and dacs out there (TA-ZHE1S, HDV 820 and Sony Walkmans). All in all, Sony made an excellent end-game worthy headphone and even though I don't like the 4.4mm cable I would still recommend this product for its solid sound quality. Good job Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent headphone

MDR-Z1R 04/02/2018 by syed39 (USA)

My brother gift me the headphone and I think this model is the best headphone ever i used.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

ZIR PREMIUM HEADPHONE Simply the best

MDR-Z1R 17/01/2018 by Rauf (USA)

I am a Professor & two of my students purchased this Headphone. Invited me to enjoy music using this headphone. Splendid feeling,hard to describe it reception simply excellent. Both students describe it their immaculate treasure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

terable

MDR-Z1R 16/01/2018 by bald larry (USA)

i have had these for about 2 weeks and i dropped them and now they dont work :/

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

118

0

trash

MDR-Z1R 16/01/2018  (USA)

these are the uglyiest headphones and trash and never buy these ever again its the worst headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

111

0

Grand,speaker-like experience;plump+organic images

MDR-Z1R 29/12/2017 by R__S (USA)

I've had this for almost a year and feel they are a real breakthrough in headphones. It's a big, grand sound along with palpable, natural images with real-life spatial portrayal. They are not fatiguing, especially with the optional Sony-Kimber headphone cable made especially for the Z1R (available at Amazon). The Z1R to me has a wonderful warm resonance that does sound aggressive, but is still uncannily real. The music flows but has real impact and humanity. You may want to give up on speakers with these headphones. It's a unique sound that you will not find with any other headphones. Many high end headphones can be shrill and painful in the name of a vivid sound, but that can be hard to live with. Not the Z1R, it is inviting while also resolving, with a balanced sound that is riveting and still supremely musical and detailed. And it's very comfortable too. It is best with a good, fairly powerful amplifier. The Z1R is a real cure for over-shrill digital sound. It sound analog, almost vinyl-like with any digital input. It's an awesome achievement for Sony IMHO.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

5

0

superb headphones

MDR-Z1R 07/08/2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them to match the Sony headphone amp. They make a good match and provide wonderful listening. They are also very comfortable, despite their large size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

4

0

Outstanding on any aspect

MDR-Z1R 01/05/2017 by ThibS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have it for few months now, and I am still smiling each time I use it. Love the sound signature, very comfortable, very limited sound leakage (I use it at home and at the office). Would not recommend for nomad use though, mainly because of the size and the risk of damaging it if the wired gets caught as it can happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

9

0

Kando

MDR-Z1R 12/04/2017 by Sirencall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned a lot of top end headphones, and none have compared to these. They're different and that's why I like them. What these do that other top end headphones do not do is deliver emotion. Warm, buttery emotion whilst not compromising on the high fidelity experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

7

0

Best close headphones

MDRZ1R 07/03/2017 by Richguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With the new Walkman this the best combination i have bought in years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

13