31

1.9 based on 31 customer reviews

2
3
2
8
16
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

RF400

WH-RF400 15/12/2018 by Steve39 (USA)

Very easy setup; great sound; no static or unwanted signal noise; reasonably comfortable headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Too Much Static For My Liking

WH-RF400 17/03/2020 by RobertMe (USA)

I bought these to play my guitar through my amplifier. There is an extreme amount of static or unwanted signal noise, which persists even when I turn off the guitar and amp. Does not meet my expectations or serve the purpose I bought them for. Any suggestions on how to eliminate the unwanted noise?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

31 Customer Reviews

0

Too much dispendious

WH-RF400 26/12/2020 by Homelander (Canada)

Interference poor sound too much dispendious for the quality bandit!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fifth Pair I own, and I just bought another Five

WH-RF400 09/12/2020 by Rmebrown (Canada)

The Sony RF400 and RF985R are great pair of headphones. I have purchased five of the RF985F headphones a few years ago and they have lasted till now. I just recently purchased five used RF400 headphones (headphones only with no base) on eBay and they look almost identical to each other and appear to use the same transmitter/charger Let me tell you I LOVE THESE HEADPHONES, and about the problems I have encountered with the RF985R's. FYI, we (my wife and I) are very, very heavy users of these headphones, and nightly we fall asleep wearing the headphones (only to wake in morning with them still on our heads). The headphones will last all day and night long usually on one battery charge. The Radio Frequency (RF) bands work pretty good without any cross talk between the channels (what I believe is three RF channels). There is a switch to change between them. It works well. The volume is good, and the headphones will be loud enough for most people (and I am partially deaf). There is no active noise cancelling, however, the over cup design does isolate most noise coming from the environment around you. The Radio Frequency distance is great, I have a 3500 square foot house and can walk anywhere in the house and still have good sound. PROBLEMS OVER TIME 1. If you are an eye glass wearer, over time the black plastic covering on ear cups will peal off where you slide your glasses on and off. So, the basic fix is to NOT put on your eye glasses while wearing the headphones. Live and learn. 2. Second, the battery will eventually go on these headphones. You will notice the battery will not last as long. Not a big deal really, do not be thinking that you need to go out and buy the Sony labelled rechargeable battery (you don't). These are basically just regular AAA batteries in a special housing that couples the two batteries. All you have to do is buy AAA single rechargeable batteries off of Amazon. 3. Third, the RF Transmitter, battery charger may break. The base will stop charging the battery. Not sure if it is the Transmitter or Headphones. Did not matter as I have five transmitters and extra sets of batteries always re charging. 4.. The fourth problem you will have is that the ear cup padding and top of the head padding loosens and the foam underneath starts to show. This problem may not happen if you sit up and watch TV with the headphones in the upright position. If you lay down with these headphones and watch TV, I think the pressure of your head causes unnatural angles, twists and turns putting pressure on the pads. This will cause the pad fabric to work there way loose. And show the foam under neath. A quick fix is black electrical tape, however, this can also cause the head phones to be less comfortable as over time the black electrical tape starts to dry out a little and can make wearing the headphones uncomfortable. 5. Finally, the ultimate will happen to theses wonderful headphones. THEY WILL BREAK, probably around where the ear cup attaches. If you regularly fall asleep with these wonderful headphones you will take off the headphones sometime in the night, and you will ultimately roll over on the headphones and break them. (four times and counting in my family). SO IF HAVE BOUGHT MORE. The fix again is black electrical tape, it will do me a few weeks until the new ones arrive. Stay turned, I am looking forward to my used RF400's coming before Christmas. Thanks Sony, if ever you need a heavy user to evaluate your headphones let me know. Be safe. I sleep with

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Short Battery Life

WH-RF400 04/11/2020 by re1954 (Canada)

In 8 months two Sony batteries failed to fully charge resulting in very short ,istening window. The cost of a replacement battery is moderate

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

HOW HARD IS IT TO SET UP BLUETOOTH PAIRING.

WH-RF400 15/10/2020 by bosha (Canada)

Horrible product, it just came in today and I'm returning it tomorrow. with that being said the sound on this product is nice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Horrible Sound Quality no Mic

WH-RF400 11/10/2020 by DarthNerdist (Canada)

Bought these today, used them for five minutes. Over $140 and worse sound quality than a pair of $20 Logitech headphones with a built in mic. Box listed a "Voice" setting. But all that means is the headphones will make voices sound clearer. Which it doesn't even do. No built in mic. Cheape plastics, does not feel sturdy at all... Will be returning these tomorrow. DO NOT BUY!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Comfortable and Neat!

WH-RF400 14/09/2020 by Judy1978 (USA)

I am not sure why it's receiving poor views! I am personally enjoying these headphones. They are very comfortable and I love how simple and sleek the design is. If you are like me who just needs a pair to listen to music with good quality sound you do not need much more! If you are in the market for these I would say go for it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Don't waste your money

WH-RF400 13/09/2020 by Melissa54 (USA)

I bought these from Best Buy June 8 2020 and they are broke already! I think they are not charging. Foolishly did not buy the extended warranty through Best Buy. Now I have to go through Sony warranty department which is a no go, they appear to not be open due to covid ?? not sure why. Ended up having to buy a different brand.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

9

0

Very Disappointed

WH-RF400 15/08/2020 by CM R (USA)

I only bought it yesterday and returned it this morning. The picture on the package shows a stand holding headphones with a large TV mounted in the background. What it fails to show is the wire running from the TV to the stand and another wire from the stand to an outlet. It ruined the entire look of our living room. This product is not at all practical with a wall mounted TV. It would probably be fine if your TV is sitting on a stand that has room for the headphone stand.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

24

0

Poor design

WH-RF400 18/07/2020 by Tanker Steve (USA)

I just ordered a replacement pair from Best Buy. I am relieved I purchased the protection plan. The bracket that held the left earpiece broke one month into the lock down. Two months later they wouldn't charge. I returned them yesterday and my replacement one's will arrive tomorrow. They were not in stock at that store. I also purchased the protection plan again. My original pair broke 2 months pat the original warranty.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Sony RF400

WH-RF400 18/07/2020 by Meljef (USA)

I am on my second wireless headphone. After awhile the connection with headphone and bass doesn’t charge, About 2 years and they are both shot. What do I do now, just spend another $130.00. If the product would be made properly this shouldn’t happen. Maybe I’ll have to try a made in America product

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Head phoones

WH-RF400 11/06/2020 by dummy h (USA)

Hate it. No help in any direction poor connection. No one to help

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Great product!

WH-RF400 07/06/2020 by sarnold (USA)

Bought these for my dad, who has difficulty hearing, 2 years ago. He finds them very easy to use. Mom and I are able to listen to the tv at a lower volume or muted if we don't like what he's watching. Dad only has use of one hand so after years of using them, they have cracked. The battery is now not lasting as long. Looking to replace just the headphone and battery.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony should do better.

WH-RF400 02/06/2020 by Synonyms anonymous (USA)

I’m ready to return them. You have to unplug them from tv if you want tv speakers on and when you plug them back in it takes several attempts to get them to work. Too difficult. It should be easy. And if you can’t get it on the fixed audio option the sound snaps and pops occasionally.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

No where the quality of sound I expected.

WH-RF400 29/04/2020 by BobsBlues (Canada)

Very disappointed in the quality of sound from a product that's sole purpose is to produce sound!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/05/2020

Hi BobsBlues, we are sorry to hear that the headphones' sound did not meet your expectations. We would like to know more details of the issue that you are having and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

FAILED AFTER 6-MONTHS

WH-RF400 15/04/2020 by IMPARTIAL REVIEW (USA)

Bought new from Best Buy. Worked for 6-months, then failed to connect. I tried every trouble-shooting fix to no avail. Best Buy referred me to Sony. Sony referred me to a repair center. It's safe to assume, $100 headphones are cost prohibitive to repair. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone. And I'm not happy with Best Buy, nor Sony. They should back-up their products.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Cheap ear cushions

WH-RF400 12/04/2020 by John7491 (USA)

After two years the ear cushion liner is deteriorating and crumbling into little pieces.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Missing a very essential ption

WH-RF400 02/04/2020 by Newmzedo (USA)

If I had known when I bought this that in order to use it, It would need to be plugged into and unplugged from the back of the tv I would never have purchased it. If I If I want to watch tv using the head phones, I have to plug them into the tv, if my wife wants to watch tv with out the head phones she need to go behind the tv and unplug them, if you tv is on a wall you need a ladder to accomplish this. Wouldn't a switch on the device have been logical?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Too Much Static For My Liking

WH-RF400 17/03/2020 by RobertMe (USA)

I bought these to play my guitar through my amplifier. There is an extreme amount of static or unwanted signal noise, which persists even when I turn off the guitar and amp. Does not meet my expectations or serve the purpose I bought them for. Any suggestions on how to eliminate the unwanted noise?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Average item

WH-RF400 14/01/2020 by Urch (USA)

I bought this a month, I haven't been able to connect it with my TV and now i wished I can connect it to my Android phone but no.

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Bought these for my father to watch TV with us.

WH-RF400 04/01/2020 by Helene K (USA)

I bought the headphones so my father can watch TV with us. I wanted him to put the headphones on and raised the volume on the headphones and keep the TV at regular volume for the rest of the family. When I plug the cord into the TV, the headphones worked for my dad but there was no volume for us. Could you help?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

0

MATERIAL FALLING APART

WH-RF400 17/12/2019  (USA)

PIECES OF BLACK MATERIAL FALLING OFF ON MY FACE.I HAVE TO CHECK MY FACE BEFORE I GO ANYWHERE. PADS HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE ON BOTH OF MY SETS. VOLUME ADJUSTMENTS NOT HIGH ENOUGH FOR SENIORS. STATIC NOISE WHEN YOU TURN THEM ON.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Worth Every Penny!!

WH-RF400 16/12/2019 by Art39 (USA)

I don't know why the negative reviews! I bought these headphones about 2 weeks ago and have been perfectly happy with them. The range is great (I can walk through the house while listening with them and the reception doesn't drop off). Also the audio quality is excellent! I would give them five stars if the controls weren't so small and hard to use. Overall, though, this is a great product for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointed

WH-RF400 17/11/2019 by SilentCinemaSadBoy (USA)

I read a lot of good reviews for these on Amazon and picked up a pair locally from Best Buy. After setting up I was getting a distorted signal with a high pitch whine and occasional slight drop out, but it was clean when audio wasn't transmitted. I could sometimes turn my head and get static.Tried charging them longer, same thing. Tried changing adapters for the phone jack on my receiver. Same problem. Exchanged them for another set, same problem. Connected them to another device. Same thing. Returned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

RF400 don't work consistently after 9 months

WH-RF400 26/08/2019 by Phil from Michigan (USA)

Wonderful sound for 8 months, after which they go dead suddenly and cannot be revived. When this happens they are fully charged, so that is not the reason. I also tried pushing the frequency button - that didn't help at all. Finally I gave up and just turned the TV volume up to the annoyance of my wife. The previous Sony model, which I threw in the garbage, exhibited the same deficiency. I thought it was my fault. That's why I purchased these. Now that I read the almost unanimous terrible feedback from other customers I realize I made a mistake buying these.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Worked great for a couple months

WH-RF400 31/05/2019 by scwalker909 (USA)

After figuring out that I had to plug the audio in to the back of the cable box (tv had no usable output), I learned that use on streaming sites was not easily possible. That was okay. Then, after a couple of months, the phones quit consistently working. No green light, no sound. Other days they mysteriously worked fine. Now it's steadily been nonfunctional for the past two weeks. Like the concept, but embarrassed by my loyalty to Sony and this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Poor quality plastic parts crack

WH-RF400 24/05/2019 by Richard1944 (USA)

I received a pair of these wireless head phones in June of 2018 for my birthday from my Daughter. They started to peel off the black head set and after 10 months the plastic that hold the ear pieces on started to crack and had to be glued because Best Buy refused to make an even exchange. Save you money not worth the money..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Doesn't work with A9F TV w/o plug & unplug

WH-RF400 18/05/2019 by Lisa358 (USA)

Bought headphones for Sony A9F TV. Was told by salesperson at store where I bought the TV that they would work easily. Plugged them in; paired; and connected. Turned them on and had great sound. Turned them off and TV speakers didn't work. Apparently I have to unplug headphones to get TV speakers to work and re-plug when I want the use headphones. I contacted Sony help and no response. Tried online help. No help there. Very expensive earmuffs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Excellent sound but pads don't last

WH-RF400 19/04/2019 by Flaps 70 (USA)

Headphones continue to give great sound, but the faux leather cushions don't last; after a couple of years the cushions deteriorate and deposit bits of black residue on whatever you are wearing. Not worth the money for just a couple of years of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Hoping...

WH-RF400 07/03/2019  (USA)

İ hope Sony Upgrade his 9.1 dolby digital HW700-DS Headphone after 5 years!

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Don't buy them

WH-RF400 14/02/2019 by Mal S (USA)

These are great when they work, I bought a set in Best Buy about 2 years ago, and they worked fine until about 8 months ago when they just stopped working. Having bought the extended warranty with them I brought them back and get them exchanged, the replacement failed within two months, they exchanged them again, the second replacement failed in November, they exchanged them again, the replacement failed last week, they just stop working, no sound! It is a pain because the set is mounted on the wall, getting to wires and connecting and reconnecting is difficult. Also, they don't work with Netflix or Amazon. I have had it they are junk! I am going to get a refund and look for other headsets. Malcolm

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

RF400

WH-RF400 15/12/2018 by Steve39 (USA)

Very easy setup; great sound; no static or unwanted signal noise; reasonably comfortable headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0