40

4.2 based on 40 customer reviews

27
5
0
3
5
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sound so good I had to buy 2

GTK-XB90 29/09/2018 by Jordan13 (USA)

My wife bought me my 1st one for my birthday fell in love with it on the 1st time I used. It sounded so good I had to go buy another. Now with the Party chain this amazing. This speaker is well worth the money highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Tweeters dont really do anything. No clarity.

GTKXB90 11/01/2021 by Tyler7685 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well below average sound quality for blue tooth devices.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

40 Customer Reviews

0

Wow! It's amazing

GTKXB90 25/04/2021 by Paulie boy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this brand new for a great price. I am blown away on the quality of Sony party speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Awesome Speakers

GTK-XB90 07/03/2021 by Jenna210 (USA)

I bought 2 easy to link ... super loud great for gatherings anywhere

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great. Good base.

GTKXB90 23/02/2021 by Justinoo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this months ago and it's been my pride. And joy. I play music all day and. Use it to get away from all the news and bad things covid. It's all u hear I don't believe it's healthy. So. Buy a speaker like this and. Fall deep into music art and forget about the bad. Find the good. To also build your immune system happiness and self confidence

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tweeters dont really do anything. No clarity.

GTKXB90 11/01/2021 by Tyler7685 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well below average sound quality for blue tooth devices.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sound!

GTKXB90 31/12/2020 by Jim 44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this purchase and it has ben working great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The bass goes crazy

GTK-XB90 06/09/2020 by Ethan 88 (USA)

I have had this speaker for a year now and I still love it. Great sound and the Bass is Insane!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GTK-XB90 amaaaaazing

GTKXB90 13/08/2020 by crowsnest (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got this xb90 after returning the xb72 because of damage on the speaker when it was brand new . Decided to upgrade to the best one they make because this one was wireless and bigger subwoofer . So so glad I did . This one kicks the 72’s butt!!! Only thing I wish it had was fm radio like the XB 72 had but it has everything else included holder for phone !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2020

Hi crowsnest,

We appreciate the loyalty! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new GTKXB90. Make sure to download the Sony Music Center app. It lets you choose tracks, change sound settings and create playlists, all from your phone. The Fiestable plug-in puts you in charge of the light colors and lets you adjust EQ or activate DJ control. Make changes with a flick of your wrist, thanks to the intuitive motion control. Thank you for choosing Sony and have a nice day!

Regards,
David

0

No clarity. Am I doing something wrong?

GTK-XB90 07/08/2020 by Tyler7685 (USA)

I am usually surprised at how well these types bluetooth speaker units sound for what they are. But this particular unit seems to have some kind of an issue. It almost like the tweeters are not working properly. It sounds muffled and hollow. No definition to the sound, I want to turn the treble way up but cant. Very mid-rangey. But the unit is plenty loud and the bass is fine. On the socials I have found that this seems to be a widespread problem. Someone said try to use the USB instead of Bluetooth. So far I have used the RCA audio inputs and bluetooth. I need to find a device that can output via USB. I have a pair of vintage Sony APM 22-ESs and there is no comparison. Like night and day. I bought this because I was looking for something portable and in that aspect it is a nice unti. Perhaps I am doing something wrong with the software?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2020

Hi Tyler27,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your speaker. This is not the experience we want you to have. Let's isolate the issue by resetting the speaker to factory default setting. Simply Press RESET on the rear of the unit with a pin or other pointed object. (It's on the back and top side). Press the power button to turn the system back on.

After resetting try it again, if the sound is still muffled and hollow, please find Sony Electronic’s Support information: Go to Sony website > click on “Support” > scroll down click on “Contact Support” > click on [Product Category] > click on “Email Question”

Hope this helps!
David

0

Awesome

GTKXB90 26/07/2020 by Kilgore601 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It sounds awesome Great value You won’t be disappointed Sounds even better with two

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/07/2020

Hello Kilgore601,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We appreciate it! Bring the dancefloor to life by activating EXTRA BASS mode. It enhances the low frequencies of the track, for beats that get everyone moving. The built-in rechargeable battery powers your party for up to 16 hours as well! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Zero bass below 60hz

GTK-XB90 11/06/2020 by JamesJJ1 (USA)

I bought this monster of a speaker so I could have something that hit low. Forget it. This thing has zero response on the low end. I eq'd it all the way up on the low end and it just is below the capability of the speaker. I don't know why you would design a speaker of this size without a full spectrum of response and even some sub base. Returned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/06/2020

Hi JamesJJ1,

We're so sorry to hear our XB90 did not meet your expectations. This unit actually features EXTRA BASS™. By pressing the EXTRA BASS button, It enhances the low frequencies of the track for a deep, punchy sound.

We will have your feedback noted for the improvements to our product.

Sincerely,

Romeo

0

Alsome

GTKXB90 28/05/2020 by Swann (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this 2 days ago and just love it nice sound I wish I can afford another one 2 would be nice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hi Swann,

Thank you for the feedback. You can bring two GTK-XB60 or
GTK-XB90 systems within 1 meter and pair them to play audio. See page 28 for details.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4697/d47cfba8df269571b0546ef0f060bbf3/46972271M.pdf

Regards,
David

0

poor installation instructions

GTKXB90 22/05/2020 by rich 45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this speaker along with your STR-DN1080 receiver. Using your manual I was unable to pair this speaker. Sonys live chat was unable to pair the speaker. Reading the manual over and over again and hunting and pecking, I purchased an optical audio cable which allowed me to use my TV screen to use the quick setup procedure. This procedure allowed me to pair this speaker to the receiver. The receiver still doesn't have the TV sound. The speaker gives an echo sound with the other speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Semi-Professional Sound in a simple package

GTKXB90 14/05/2020 by Jodie123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only buy sony audio products. These speakers were so good I bought two.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Jodie123, We're glad to hear you're enjoying both of your XB90 speaker. Just so you know, you can pair them using Wireless Party Chain. This creates an awesome soundstage perfect for your next party or get together. The XB90 also features easy carry handles and up to 16 hours of battery life. This means you can take the party with you and it can last all night. You may also enjoy controlling the lighting patterns and sound modes, all with just a few taps on the Sony Music Center App, then Fiestable App. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great Speaker

GTKXB90 08/05/2020 by Justin4248 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great customer service and shipping. Speaker is perfect for what I need it for. If you're in the market for a big speaker like this, definitely buy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi Justin4248, Awesome! Good to know that this is what you're looking for in a High Power Audio System. With this, you can hold an EDM party anywhere with EXTRA BASS beats from the GTK-XB90. Infinity Mirror lighting complete the festival atmosphere, and the rechargeable battery lets you play music even without mains power. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Amazing! You want one!

GTK-XB90 17/04/2020 by Meshtaljah (USA)

I’d purchased an older version of this unit and loved the sound. Then came the Bluetooth version and I’d found this unit. Wow the sound was amazing we took it camping and it’s sounds so good at high and low volumes. The battery life was perfect it lasted for over eight hours and I’d plugged it into my truck usb and it was good to go the next morning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/04/2020

Hi Meshtaljah, we are happy to hear that you like the sound and the battery life of the audio system. With this, you can hold an EDM party anywhere with EXTRA BASS™ beats from the GTK-XB90. Infinity Mirror lighting complete the festival atmosphere, and the rechargeable battery lets you play music even without mains power. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Unreal party speaker

GTK-XB90 06/04/2020 by WhamBamCam (Canada)

I bough two of these more or less for partying and bringing to parties and they have been unreal. With two hooked up with the part chain option inside a house at full volume you have to be more or less yelling to talk to someone that is not beside you, and you can feel the bass from anywhere in the house when they are on full volume even without the extra bass mode. The sound clarity probably isn't the best on the market but for noise and bass it definitely is a game changer. Every outing i bring them to its constant compliments and questions on the "twins" as i call them. Another selling factor that doesn't disappoint is the battery life and portability. Even if you have them at full volume (with Extra Bass and the lights on) the battery easily lasts up to 3.5 hours, have done it multiple times and have never had to use the stamina mode if i want the battery to last i just turn off lights and turn the volume down to 65-75% and the battery will last over 6 hours with a full charge. They weigh just over 30 pounds i believe so pretty heavy but i usually have people with me helping so carrying one isn't bad at all as it has handles on either side but 2 is kind of awkward still kind of looking for a bag to get for them. These speakers are gnarly and a lot more portable than you would think, i take them everywhere, the beach, parties, the hockey dressing room, in my car a couple times. Probably the best speakers i have heard at a party for as long as i can remember. The only downside is portability which isn't a problem for me because all the other features and pros of the speaker heavily outweigh that for me, and the fact that it isn't water resistant or even technically dust resistant which isn't fully true because i have had beer/water spilt or splash on them as well as them on the beach more or less in the sand and have just been super careful around them which is easy because they are so loud you can put them away from most areas they would get destroyed. Overall these speakers are pretty gnarly and i would love to have a couple more. Ps the dj app is pretty funny to play around with and the lighting control is pretty dope.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/04/2020

Hi WhamBamCam, we appreciate your detailed review of our great product. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Excellent Bass

GTK-XB90 14/03/2020 by Perstn (USA)

Ive had this since Christmas and I haven't had something ever make me so happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/03/2020

Hi Perstn, we're happy to hear that you are having an enjoyable experience with our product Thank you so much for commending Sony! ~Earl

0

Another great Sony Product

GTK-XB90 01/01/2020 by Ryanpeng (USA)

Love the product. I have had it for over a year and fills an average room nicely with sound. Is there going to be an updated more powerful version? Lets hope so I want to add to my collection.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

GTKXB90 25/08/2019 by mary07 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love that is portable can take it any where without caring the cord, has great sound and the bass makes a big difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2019

Hi, mary07!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Unsatisfactory!!!

GTK-XB90 14/08/2019 by Meech911 (USA)

I bought this speaker 3wks ago and I’m highly disappointed! I’ve had the opportunity to own the model gtk-xb7 and it blows the gtk-xb90 out of the water. Bass is way better on the gtk-xb7! Sony dropped the ball on the bigger more expensive gtk-xb90, sacrificed sound quality probably because of the battery.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/08/2019

Hi, Meech911!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. To get a better bass quality on the unit, try turning on the EXTRA BASS function of the unit. Please refer to the link below for the instructions:

https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4697227113.pdf ( see page 23 )


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

This speaker is the bomb...

GTKXB90 07/07/2019 by doomhead187wmdiym (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would tell all my friends to get this speaker...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

does not work

GTK-XB90 06/07/2019 by oneputt (USA)

I purchased 4 of these and the party mode as never worked without errors. so much potential but clearly a software issue and not just a glitch with a few speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hello, oneputt!

We're sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Awesome

GTK-XB90 18/04/2019  (USA)

Just a warning to anybody with epilepsy. Do not but if you have epilepsy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Weak highs and sound is filtered out below 60hz

GTK-XB90 02/04/2019 by Delta Delta Kilo (USA)

Bought 2 for a stereo setup about a month ago. Plenty loud for a Bluetooth speaker, can’t say I wasn’t expecting more for 350$ each but I’m still happy. For those curious about bass response it’s alright if your not used to speakers that go all the way to 20-30hz, these fall off very sharply (almost as if Sony filtered it out) below 59-60hz, don’t buy for their deep bass claim, buy for a nice loud DRY outdoor party, while they “seem” decently water resistant they aren’t rated for any water resistance and more than likely wouldn’t survive a fall into the pool.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Good features

GTKXB90 26/03/2019 by Maddy1661 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the gtkxb90 on March 3 of this year. Used it a few times had to return it to Best Buy volume control broke and speaker was blown.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
29/03/2019

Hi Maddy1661, we regret to hear what happened. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com for further assistance. Regards, Erin

0

Unexpected purchase

GTK-XB90 14/03/2019 by Brandon Sound guy (Canada)

I bought this speaker but I was originally going to get the 501G Sony speaker but. Apparently it wasn't on sale meanwhile it was but long story short got this and I was blown away very good quality and please this is a music download and use app and have high quality audio this thing will sound amazing even if you just do the custom equalizer settings it will sound 10x better then factory settings

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great speaker.

GTKXB90 16/02/2019 by Tf00008 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few months ago on Black Friday for only $300. Absolutely love it. Great sound, it’s loud/good bass, Bluetooth sync up super quick. It’s listed as $450, and I don’t think it’s worth that, so I’d wait for another sale.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great Features.

GTK-XB90 29/12/2018 by Kane193848 (USA)

Sometimes difficult to use, but all technology is; other than that great speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ok

GTKXB90 24/12/2018 by Heavy Chevy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

On box it says could hook up multiple without wire. Don't see it happening

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

Sound so good I had to buy 2

GTK-XB90 29/09/2018 by Jordan13 (USA)

My wife bought me my 1st one for my birthday fell in love with it on the 1st time I used. It sounded so good I had to go buy another. Now with the Party chain this amazing. This speaker is well worth the money highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

GOOD !!!!

GTKXB90 04/07/2018 by OrOi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

really nice one !!!! it is more than i expected !!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Cool Speakers!

GTKXB90 04/06/2018 by Tony 56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Neat Way of Combining Speakers! Great Sound and Lights!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

"It's a Sony" Xtra Bass

GTK-XB90 26/05/2018 by SuperSony83 (USA)

Sony has developed an array of great sounding speakers with their new extra bass line. The GTK-XB90 is no exception. It has awesome features like daisy chain adding with other models, customizable equalizers for better sound, DJ effects that enhance music playback so you can be the life of the party and it's portable with a rechargeable built in battery. Sound is good but it's better with the Sony music center app. If you have a good equalizer app on your phone for your music, the sound can be adjusted even more to really get the best sound out of the GTK-XB90, or any Bluetooth speaker for that matter. Overall, great value and good sound in a fairly small speaker but I recommend you get two for true stereo sound. Excellent quality and reputable reliability from Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great features

GTK-XB90 17/05/2018 by jan05 (USA)

It works very gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

MEHHHH

GTK-XB90 02/03/2018 by HAZOX0525 (USA)

Bought this about 2 weeks ago and must say that at low volumes the bass sounds on par with a jbl boombox at max volume, I was expecting more bass, I also own a Sony Shake-5 home system and am currently trying to see if I can connect them together

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

HORRIBLE AND POOR QUALITY SOUND

GTK-XB90 19/02/2018 by Keekeh (Canada)

I just unboxed this GTKBX90 bluetooth speaker that was advertised saying things such as powerful sound xtra bass and this thing can't take the deep bass and highs are lost even though it has three tweeters. The 7" wooffers rattle like cheap cardoboard. The only good things are that it is bluetooth and it is battery operated. Everything else sucks, it looks great but it does not delivered what it promised. I am returning this thing and buying a BOSE S1

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/02/2018

Hi Keekeh, we're sorry to hear that. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

Awesome Speaker

GTK-XB90 21/01/2018 by Paulszedshed (Canada)

only had this 4 a week but I am unbelievably happy with the size and quality of sound from this unit. ordered unit online because no one carried it around here. had a great conversation with the Gentec help line because the tracking # Purolator gave them didn't work. She straightened it out and called me back immediately. got a new tracking # and received it the next day.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

excellent

GTKXB90 17/12/2017 by ghv2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i may buy me another oneto do party chain , so happy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

easy set up audio in and out for wired application

GTKXB90 11/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this speaker sounds great but i added a 8 inch sub to increase the the bottom end

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Beautiful symphony style sound.

GTK-XB90 11/12/2017 by Bigdogman333 (USA)

Words cant explain the sound of this speaker. Just amazing quality sound. Perfect for any occasion. I use mine as a sound bar. Make movies so realistic I'm in it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5