7

3.7 based on 7 customer reviews

4
1
0
0
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Output error message

MEX-XB120BT 15/07/2019 by Lime Time (USA)

Just installed in boat. Have a couple of days using the unit after tuning it in.. and while it sounds great. I'm getting the output error message as well from time to time at moderate volume levels. Unit just stops playing. Have to power down/back on. Wait a bit. Bummer.. What's up with the unit Sony??

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Do not buy

MEX-XB120BT 21/03/2019 by Okrc01 (USA)

I had two different mex-xb120bt units and neither lasted more than 10 days. The first one suddenly quit working as I was playing music and would not turn on. The second one began displaying "output error" (which indicates the internal amp is failing) before failing just as the previous unit did. I was not even playing music when it failed. I've checked that power is getting to the unit and that all fuses are good, including the one on the back of the unit. I've also checked the wiring with a digital multimeter. These units worked great while they lasted. The sound quality was great. There was great adjustability. They should be built to last at their price point. I have a four year old unit that works like new and cost a quarter of the this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

7 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use Great sound

MEXXB120BT 03/08/2019 by dick4725 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought after a friend was using his. Like the sound so much I bought my own.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Output error message

MEX-XB120BT 15/07/2019 by Lime Time (USA)

Just installed in boat. Have a couple of days using the unit after tuning it in.. and while it sounds great. I'm getting the output error message as well from time to time at moderate volume levels. Unit just stops playing. Have to power down/back on. Wait a bit. Bummer.. What's up with the unit Sony??

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Very poor volume

MEX-XB120BT 23/06/2019  (USA)

Had local dealer install this in my street glide. Can't hear after 50 mph. Dealer talked me out of just adding an amp to my old deck. Very disappointed

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Best stock car stereo I've owned so far

MEX-XB120BT 04/05/2019 by Eman66 (USA)

Had a pretty basic setup in the F150. Kenwood powering all main speakers with separate power for some sub transducers. Kenwood died so I bought one of these units from Crutchfield (kudos to those people too!!) Same setup. But the Sony MEX XB120BT, as a standalone unit, is pretty incredible. Easy to install and sounds great. Best basic car stereo I've ever owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Do not buy

MEX-XB120BT 21/03/2019 by Okrc01 (USA)

I had two different mex-xb120bt units and neither lasted more than 10 days. The first one suddenly quit working as I was playing music and would not turn on. The second one began displaying "output error" (which indicates the internal amp is failing) before failing just as the previous unit did. I was not even playing music when it failed. I've checked that power is getting to the unit and that all fuses are good, including the one on the back of the unit. I've also checked the wiring with a digital multimeter. These units worked great while they lasted. The sound quality was great. There was great adjustability. They should be built to last at their price point. I have a four year old unit that works like new and cost a quarter of the this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

As good as it get!

MEX-XB120BT 15/04/2018 by Rich K (USA)

I installed this myself and it is an awesome car stereo. Highly recommend it!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Easy to install

MEX-XB120BT 27/02/2018 by Dimon1983 (USA)

Great job Sony!this unit is loud enough for me and awesome sound,i don't even know why would someone have external Amp,unbelivable power coming out of it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5