10

3.9 based on 10 customer reviews

4
2
3
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great, with a couple of issues.

XAV-AX200 04/11/2017 by Joe75 (USA)

Basically, this is the XAV-AX100 with a DVD player and SiriusXM added on. All other features are exactly the same. I LOVE this stereo other than 2 issues. The volume for Sirius is incredibly low compared to the other outputs. I’m hoping they fix this in a firmware update because it’s a pain to spin that tiny volume knob back and forth, which brings me to my other issue. I’m not sure if the face of the stereo is too wide or if the 3 dash kits that I own are too small, but this thing will not fit into any of them, making that little volume knob sit in the recess of the dash because the stereo doesn’t sit flush with the dash, and making it even harder to spin because it’s so close to the edge of the dash kit. I own other Sony stereos that fit just fine but this one doesn’t. Overall, this stereo sounds great, and the UI is very simple and clean, making it easier to use while you’re driving. Some of the other systems out there by other makers are just ridiculous with all the nonsense they cram into the home screen, etc. Hope this was helpful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

5

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great unit, frustrating startup message

XAV-AX200 01/11/2017  (USA)

Great head unit, but there's a tiresome disclaimer warning/acceptance screen at startup, prompting you to press ok every single time you turn on the unit. It's seemingly a minor issue at first, but after 20 rides on your car it becomes frustrating, unacceptable for a car radio enough to seek an alternative replacement. A simple "Accept and do not show again" option would be sufficient, at maximum on initial installation, after a firmware update, even once a month is perhaps ok, but every single trip, ever single turn on, is frustrating. Sony please sort this out, it's disappointed an otherwise satisfied customer. In my view, the warning is already spelled out and satisfied in the user manual, so shouldn't need to be displayed on the screen at all (perhaps with reboot after a firmware update it's necessary to display just once). Otherwise the integration is good and great features. It's a user friendly device generally.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

19

5

10 Customer Reviews

0

Great Sound, but

XAV-AX200 25/05/2018 by MerlinRider (USA)

The player is really great but what I do not like is when paired with my Sony High Resolution Walkman it does not give the same functionality as Apple's iTunes. There is no menu like iTunes has and I have to use the Walkman to make selections or just leave the Walkman on shuffle. I'm not recommending it due to this fact. A Sony to Sony product should result in a full working menu display on the unit, similar to an Apple iPod connected to a car unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Headunit

XAV-AX200 08/04/2018 by Cantuki (USA)

I just bought it barely 2 weeks ago for my 13’WRX Limited Hatchback and it’s amazing. Clean and clear audio with a great ability to adjust on the equalizer. I love that I have a volume knob and that the display is very simple to use. I have the DVD player also set up to run while driving so on long road trips I can listen to movies while my boyfriend can watch. I’m glad that I purchased this headunit and having apple car play has greatly reduced the risks of distractions now that I can use voice control on apple car play for all operations of my phone. Thank you Sony for designing a great product, one of the best investments for my car.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome stereo for my silverado

XAV-AX200 26/03/2018 by Carpdawg82 (USA)

I had a Sony xav651 I think that was in my trailblazer was awesome stereo but wanted car play so decided to buy this and came with Sirius Apple car play so it was a big thing I wanted for my Silverado to bring my 07 classic to the feature I ended up give my old Sony to my brother but all the features on this plus came with Sony speakers and amp for my Silverado and sounds so much better the factory Bose and like how I can get Apple Music and nav and also blutooth I’d diffently recommend this to any one other then sometimes the time screws up not a big deal or the warning o get had on both Sony’s but not a biggie

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better choices out there

XAV-AX200 23/03/2018 by Oldguy1959 (USA)

Had this installed at a pro stereo shop. Installation is fine. Whats with the warning every time I turn this on? Also, clock will not keep time. Adds 4 hours and 4 minutes every time I correct it. Not recommended.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

NIce unit

XAV-AX200 04/02/2018 by speedfan (USA)

Bought this unit after owning a similar Sony before, wanted to add Apple Play. Do not like the screen scrolling constantly, may get used to it in time. Easy to set up, have not used Apple Play at this time, wanted for camping trips in warm weather. Looks are as good as more costly units and it has great value in features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Haven't used it yet

XAVAX200 27/12/2017 by Louie Louie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present for my wife. Installed yesterday and demo today?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

8

0

Would be a great unit

XAV-AX200 13/12/2017 by rnvcrl (USA)

were it not for the annoying warning screen which demands attention on each startup, and will not go away no matter how long you try to avoid it. SONY, please fix! This is not safety! This is stupidity!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

16

5

0

Lots of features at a good price

XAVAX200 14/11/2017 by Just meeeeeeee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this receiver because it offered a factory look I wanted and wasn’t overly done with lots of blinking lights. One missing feature...the ability to scan favorite SXm stations with steering wheel controls, up/down scrolls through all stations offers. Defeats the use of steering wheel controls. Also wish AM/FM/SXM would be grouped as one like most modern vehicles. Much easier to scan thru stations when you’re looking for something. I do like the CarPlay features, one of the main reasons I chose this radio...CarPlay and SXM!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Great, with a couple of issues.

XAV-AX200 04/11/2017 by Joe75 (USA)

Basically, this is the XAV-AX100 with a DVD player and SiriusXM added on. All other features are exactly the same. I LOVE this stereo other than 2 issues. The volume for Sirius is incredibly low compared to the other outputs. I’m hoping they fix this in a firmware update because it’s a pain to spin that tiny volume knob back and forth, which brings me to my other issue. I’m not sure if the face of the stereo is too wide or if the 3 dash kits that I own are too small, but this thing will not fit into any of them, making that little volume knob sit in the recess of the dash because the stereo doesn’t sit flush with the dash, and making it even harder to spin because it’s so close to the edge of the dash kit. I own other Sony stereos that fit just fine but this one doesn’t. Overall, this stereo sounds great, and the UI is very simple and clean, making it easier to use while you’re driving. Some of the other systems out there by other makers are just ridiculous with all the nonsense they cram into the home screen, etc. Hope this was helpful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

5

0

Great unit, frustrating startup message

XAV-AX200 01/11/2017  (USA)

Great head unit, but there's a tiresome disclaimer warning/acceptance screen at startup, prompting you to press ok every single time you turn on the unit. It's seemingly a minor issue at first, but after 20 rides on your car it becomes frustrating, unacceptable for a car radio enough to seek an alternative replacement. A simple "Accept and do not show again" option would be sufficient, at maximum on initial installation, after a firmware update, even once a month is perhaps ok, but every single trip, ever single turn on, is frustrating. Sony please sort this out, it's disappointed an otherwise satisfied customer. In my view, the warning is already spelled out and satisfied in the user manual, so shouldn't need to be displayed on the screen at all (perhaps with reboot after a firmware update it's necessary to display just once). Otherwise the integration is good and great features. It's a user friendly device generally.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

19

5