105

3.2 based on 105 customer reviews

29
22
19
11
24
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14/05/2019 by Tree Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice clean user interface but has SiriusXM issues

XAV-AX5000 26/05/2018 by jmz15 (USA)

I just installed the AX5000 in my truck. I really like how the user interface is very simple, clean, and responsive. The CarPlay functionality is also very responsive. However, I also have a problem with the sound quality of satellite radio. Using the SiriusXM tuner module I hear a lot of crackling/distortion in the signal, even on simple stuff like the traffic and weather channel. It sounds like the input level is set too high inside the unit and is being clipped/over-driven.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

105 Customer Reviews

0

Disapointed with Android Auto and Carplay

XAVAX5000 21/06/2020 by avp7 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have concluded that there is an electrical problem with the USB, and thought it was my phone and/or cables. By the time I changed my phone, the warranty was over... Then I searched the forums and found that many, many people have had the same experience! Getting ready to ditch this product, after having enjoyed the Android Auto features for only the first couple of months after installation.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi avp7, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. Use a different USB cable to connect your mobile device and the unit and check if the issue is resolved. If you're using a long USB cable, try to use a shorter cable. SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Great for CarPlay

XAV-AX5000 10/06/2020 by Sparkee (Canada)

This is a good sounding stereo even with the car’s factory speakers. CarPlay works great to bring GPS and podcasts into the car. The 2 USB connections are only good if your music collection is mp3, the other formats are only compatible on the 1 connection that must be used for CarPlay. Sony also needs to work on the interface. It is a pity with such a large display the clock is really tiny at the top when playing the radio. The RDS is also a big fail displaying only 10 or 12 characters at a time instead of the artist name and/or song title like many other stereos do. The 5000 has a large display, use it. They could also provide quick access to the EQ when playing the radio or music instead of burying it in the settings menu. Even with it’s short comings it is a good sounding option providing good value for you money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/06/2020

Hi Sparkee,

Thanks for the feedback. Good to know that you're happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Works perfectly

XAVAX5000 03/06/2020 by ethan6969 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I installed this in my 2006 Honda CR-V in January 2019, and everything on it works fine, including the backup camera. The sound is great, so is the extra bass option. I mainly use this as an Apple CarPlay head unit, and I have no complaints. I’m also grateful that Sony keeps updating the firmware every now and then.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and easy interface!

XAV-AX5000 20/05/2020 by Junior217 (USA)

Very happy with this purchase. The sound is great and it's so much easier to use than my previous radio. I have found that the Android Auto issue is with the cable I was using. Once I spoke with my local Sony dealer and bought the 3' Anker USB cable, Android Auto has been great ever since. Highly recommend Sony products!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has never worked right

XAV-AX5000 15/05/2020 by Carl34711 (USA)

Lots of issues - doesn't recognize USB device when plugged in, issues with Android Auto and Pixel phones connecting to radio, the list goes on. $$$ spent with a tuner to show for it. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Not impressed

XAVAX5000 05/05/2020 by Sonysucksoverthetop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The last firmware update after 8 months waiting for a unit shutdown fix failed again. Nobody from Cruthfield can figure out this issue either.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great radio with one shortfall

XAV-AX5000 03/05/2020  (USA)

I installed this in my 2016 Jeep Wrangler and it is a huge upgrade. The sound settings are perfect and it has great sound. The one weak part is the SXM interface. I have had satellite radio in my cars for 15 years; a combination of factory and after market. All of them have been able to store song and artist alerts as well as direct tune capability...these two features do not exist on this radio. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

works great love the simplicity

XAVAX5000 25/04/2020 by sadu (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago. i wanted something simple that would utilize my phone for navigation and music. this is an excellent product. i use android auto and have had no issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/04/2020

Hi sadu, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Dual USB!!!

XAV-AX5000 23/04/2020  (USA)

Worked great for my 2002 Z28. Glare does suck. But other then that 300$ for a double din with CarPlay! Awesome product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The worst head unit and customer service

XAV-AX5000 23/04/2020 by Noahhatessony123 (Canada)

I Original bought the Sony xavax 3000 which after only having for a few months constantly gave me issues, specifically with android auto and Bluetooth, after going through Sony's awful customer service, they ended up sending my the xavax 5000 as a replacement/upgrade. Well after using it for about 10 minutes this radio too has all of the issues the old one had! Android auto crashes every 5 minutes of use, regardless of which cable I use, and I've tried 5 with multiple phones! the unit constantly looses Bluetooth connectivity and you have to resync the phone. The usb wires are bulk and just stupid. Stay away from this radio at all costs! It will give you nothing but issues and when it does Sony will outright refuse to give you your money back. I will not be buying from Sony again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/04/2020

Hi Noahhatessony123, we are sorry to hear about what happened. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. Allow us to help you and turn your experience around. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Excellent Head Unit

XAV-AX5000 02/04/2020 by Vincent Hardeman (USA)

This is my second head unit. First one was bought over a year ago. Had issues with Home and Option button not working. Customer service replaced without any issues. However, after professional installation and over the warranty period the issues has begun again. No issues with the touchscreen but no response when pressing the home and option button. Reached out to customer support and basically I was told there was nothing they could do. Since I cannot access the home button there is no way to locate the serial number to research issues online. Was in love with the unit now its just a complete nightmare where I am unable to obtain all the features the unit was actually purchased for. Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated at this time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Look no further, best brand and best model

XAVAX5000 21/03/2020 by saint42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A while ago I installed a AX1000 in a truck. I was actually surprised by the speed and simplicity of the unit. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to upgrade the radio in my old 2008 Volvo XC90 and picked another well known brand. I was so annoyed by the fact that the unit was sluggish and WAY too many options on the screen. Then I remembered about the AX1000 that I installed in the past. So I ordered the AX5000 because of its big screen, and installed it with success in my 2008 XC90. What a BOMB this unit is. First of all, it starts in NO time. Then you have ZERO useless option showing up on the screen (meaning nothing about AppleCarPlay until you plug an iPhone, and nothing about Android until you plug an Android phone): This allow the screen to be simple and clear. Settings, USB1 and 2, XM, and sound options. Frankly what else do you need? The sound is really great and that's a reminder for me that if someone ask me to install an upgraded unit in their Volvo, I will only work with SONY. No reason to try anything else and be disappointed. Just go to the best right away. For $350, it is absolutely worth it. Having showed in my install to some of my friends, they all regret (no exception)having chose another brand and are trying to send return whatever they have in order to install the same as mine. My favorite 3 things about the unit beside an awesome sound: Speed at which it starts, responsive, and SIMPLE INTERFACE

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Everything I need

XAVAX5000 06/03/2020 by Bmcgarah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the easy to use functions of this radio, I have been using the CarPlay feature on my Harley Davidson SGS, and so far it’s holding up without any issues, the only flaw is direct sunlight on the screen makes it difficult to see being out in the sunlight on a motorcycle but in a car would probably not be an issue. Love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Oh my goodness. The sound is horrible!

XAV-AX5000 25/02/2020 by Slice0flife (USA)

Wow. I love the display, and the simpleness but boy... It’s so flat and I can’t get any quality out of ANY song. it turned my stock speakers into muddled music with no range whatsoever. I would rather have no music than this. Awful product. I’m usually a huge fan of SONY but this was their chance to win me over cause I usually buy Pioneer. Guess not. You lost me like Android has every time they entice me. I’m even considering moving to XBOX. SONY has been very lackluster as of recently. I’m just disappointed cause I like Sony. I do...I really wanted to like this but I would rather have my stock radio with no features cause it doesn’t make my ears bleed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Disappointed

XAV-AX5000 09/02/2020 by Thumbs18 (USA)

Made it exactly 12 months with no issues. 2 weeks after warranty expires the USB input stops working. Go figure. Sony says “ too bad, buy another unit”.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Sony XAV-AX5000/Q is an Excellent Radio

XAVAX5000 20/01/2020 by TGerm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellant Radio, easy to install, this radio outperformed my expedtations by far, I would buy it again if I sold my vehicle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Good product lacks some detail.

XAVAX5000 11/01/2020 by RL Sink (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Need the ability to change wall paper, only because of this I should have chosen a different unit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Lacking features for something of this decade

XAV-AX5000 10/01/2020 by yoshiismyhomeboy (USA)

Came in the truck I bought. Was originally pretty excited to see a double din touch screen but became very disappointed when I discovered how little features it has. Not being able to add a custom wallpaper in 2019 is a joke. Much better with a pioneer or cheap tablet

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Awesome Receiver, Quick Boot Time

XAV-AX5000 30/12/2019 by GoeHeels (USA)

I bought this head unit along with the Sony XM-S400D Amplifier and could not be more impressed. The system boots quick. The interface is immediate. CarPlay is fantastic. When connected with the amplifier the sound is crazy clear and loud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like its looks and features

XAVAX5000 11/12/2019 by Tom42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this radio about 2 or 3 weeks and am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor connection with android

XAV-AX5000 21/11/2019 by Bradki (USA)

I have a s10 plus phone all updates done and will connect to head unit for 2-10 minutes and then disconnect and say USB device not supported I reconnect couple minutes later same issue. Tried with my wife's phone and my work phone and same issues. Very disappointed I paid 1300 to have installed with camera and it's just a touch screen radio now.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

1

0

CarPlay Issues, Lack of Features

XAV-AX5000 19/11/2019 by KVW4 (USA)

Expectations were let down in almost every department other than screen size. Yes, the screen is large, and there is even an equalizer...but that's pretty much all you get with this unit. CarPlay rarely works as intended. Restarting unit, updating firmware, restarting phone, shorter cables...every "solution" exhausted and still nothing from Sony. I really wanted to like this unit, but I really don't. SONY, fix the problem and release firmware updates. Please stop pretending like resetting units is going to fix an across-the-board problem with your product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

0

Great Unit!!

XAV-AX5000 18/11/2019 by JeepJK (USA)

I use this in my Jeep Wrangler & love the carplay feature. Over all it is a great unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

I love it

XAV-AX5000 25/10/2019 by Lukifer (USA)

I have had this unit for six months now the capacitive touch screen over resistive, was the kicker for me It works so well I am afraid to upgrade the firmware ( if it ain't broke don't try to fix it) once every three months or so the the screen will glitch or go dark home and back fixes the glitch and restarting the car the dark. When installing I had the issue with the dropping of the phone I fixed that and haven't had a problem by routing the actual USB connection on the back of the unit to the key tray under the unit in front of the shifter and hooking my USB cable directly into the units USB connecter. Problem solved hope this helps somebody who is having issues. Works great with my Pixel 3 XL Only wish they would drop Sirius for maestro integration or just give us the ability to remove the Sirius icon

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Simple operation

XAV-AX5000 18/10/2019 by Sunzu (USA)

You don't buy a Sony for its software which is best described as 'simple' and a bit clunky or it's phone connectivity. You buy a Sony for its signal processor which everyone knows is the best. They don't make Walkmans that cost $3000 for no reason, but their $170 one sounds terrific. My AX5000 makes it very easy to get perfect sound with the bare minimum of adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Galaxy S7 Edge constantly needs to be reconnected

XAV-AX5000 10/10/2019 by JMCJR (USA)

I bought this 2 days ago and had it professionally installed, I am completely disappointed. I bought it SPECIFICALLY to work with my Android phone(Samsung S7 Edge). It works fine for about 3-10 minutes at a time then disconnects. I tried reviewing every setting on the phone and the Sony 5000. With no luck. Now on Sony forums I am reading that This Unit the 5000 has had this compatibility issue for a long time? Something that people are changing to a shorter USB cord out the back of the head unit? How the heck do I figure that out?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

0

Amazing Headunit

XAV-AX5000 04/10/2019 by MrMoo (USA)

Most of these reviews complain about one little thing and bump the raiting down to 2 or 3. You should do research before spending hundreds on something. If it doesn't have the features you need don't buy it! This headunit is super responsive. It made my stock system sound better. Android Auto and Carplay work flawless (if it doesn't replace your usb cable).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Pretty Averege

XAV-AX5000 16/09/2019 by Jaswinder (USA)

I got this unit installed a week ago in 2013 Camry. I mainly bought this to use apple and android Car play. When I use the Waze app with android auto the top One-inch area is little blurry and it does't show the name of the road you are on as the Waze app shows on your phone.The second problem I encounter with my steering wheel controls. In my Camry I can not use the call button anymore instead I have to use voice to make a phone call. As a non-native English speaker it is not that easy to make Siri or google understand what you saying. I should be able to zoom in on maps and keep my desired settings as default but that option is not there. other than that its a good looking unit with a very responsive screen. I hope sony will consider addressing these issues in their next firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Best looking headunit...and that's it...run away!

XAV-AX5000 15/09/2019 by ericperry72 (USA)

I have had this unit since 3/2019 and I love the look. People think it's OEM in my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Problem is the unit itself in regards to Android auto. Useless. I have updated the firmware, same issue, random disconnect, shutdown, I even went out and purchased a new Android phone, LG Stylo 4..same issue. I used the oem cable that came with the phone, same issue. Then tried it with a Note 10+...same issue. So not only can I not okay CD's, as this is a media player unit and it's what I wanted, but Android audio doesn't work with dropping. The car audio shop replaced the headunit...same issue. I give up. Sony I thought you were back esp after your amps and that nice hi-res headunit but now...I can't recommend your product. And 2v output? And lack of a decent xover section with some form of DSP is crazy considering what pioneer and Kenwood offer in their media only models. I would sell this radio but I don't wanna scam somebody else.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

6

0

Update

XAV-AX5000 14/09/2019  (USA)

After reading all the issues with Apple CarPlay I wish I had seen these reviews before purchasing. I tried a couple things I read about for trouble shooting. Changing cables-didn't work. Reboot my phone - didn't work. Deleting "Sony" from Car play memory - worked twice. Then I had to reboot the phone again. Worked once, then no longer worked even though I was removing Sony from Car play EVERY SINGLE TIME I UNPLUGGED THE PHONE. I bought this for the Car play. Obviously the reviews I read were from people that had the product for a short time. Piece of carp and waste of money.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

Great while it worked

XAVAX5000 14/09/2019 by Ronp68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about six weeks ago, it was installed five weeks ago and now Apple CarPlay does not work. I have switched cables, using multiple cables. Sporadically it will work, maybe once every ten times yet it shows the phone is charging every single time. I have rebooted my phone- no luck. Reading the warranty it says I need to send the radio in. I didn't install it for a reason, Im certainly not going to try to remove it. I will call customer service tomorrow to see how frustrated they can make me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Bad Wrap

XAV-AX5000 13/09/2019 by BlurryFace (USA)

So I have to admit, I was a bit reluctant after reading all of the reviews about this head unit, but I took the plunge anyways and couldn't be happier. What piqued my interest was the obvious, Android auto and Apple carplay after playing around with a few of my friends' cars that had these features. I had the unit professionally installed and have not had a single problem with it. The display is very responsive, Android auto works flawlessly and the power out of this thing is enough to make my rear view mirror vibrate with pretty much any song with the volume at 1/3 it's capacity. I'm convinced the negative reviews may be due to user error because I absolutely love this thing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Affordable

XAV-AX5000 03/09/2019 by Michael_ATL (USA)

I am very disappointed by the quality of this stereo. Software crashes on apple car play and sometimes doesn't read the USB 1 port. I changed the cable but no improvements. I checked the software version and it is up to date. I would not buy this thing again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Good sound

XAV-AX5000 03/09/2019 by BESPS (Canada)

+++ Worm and nice sound. ----- Impossible to delete useless shortcuts on home screen Do not play HiRes audio files. Cant play video from usb 2 Cant work in 3way mode (sub, mid, tweet) Android auto only via cable, no mirror mode. When you are in android mode you cant operate songs if you are listening them not from phone :-) Overpriced at least 2times.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2019

Hi, BESPS!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Nice package but alas, CarPlay is unreliable

XAV-AX5000 23/08/2019 by E477 (USA)

Just purchased this unit. I like everything about it, except that CarPlay is unreliable. Sometimes it works, most of the time, not. I spent a lot of money to purchase the unit and get it installed with a backup camera. And the one feature I really wanted was CarPlay. Why is there no CarPlay icon on the screen to invoke it if the cable connection doesn't work? I've done all the troubleshooting steps, reset the unit, checked phone restrictions, swapped cables, etc. It just doesn't recognize the phone as being CarPlay enabled most of the time when it's plugged in. What a big disappointment. I'm taking it back and getting a competitive product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

2

0

Terrible Purchase

XAV-AX5000 09/08/2019 by Morgan24 (USA)

Bought my first AX-5000 in May, had it professionally installed and had an issue of not being able to hear people on the other end of the phone call. Sony sent a replacement radio to try and solve the initial issue. When I had the second radio professionally installed the same issue arose where no sound would come out of the speakers when on a phone call. BT radio worked, but never on phone calls. When I contacted Sony about a refund due to fear of the 3rd radio not working as well, I was informed that they couldn’t guarantee a refund, only a replacement and they could not reimburse any money paid for either install. I will never purchase another Sony radio period.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

Don't waste your money

XAV-AX5000 08/08/2019 by Jenn7522 (USA)

I bought this specifically for Android Auto and it never works. I have tried different cables etc. Nope. Junk. I can't make it 5 miles without it shutting down, freezing, etc. Save your money and buy something better.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Very easy to use!

XAVAX5000 20/07/2019 by Waterboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the apple car play and Sirius radio and it’s so easy to use. Brought my 2006 Tacoma back to life!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Apple CarPlay does not work!

XAV-AX5000 28/06/2019 by Jon O (USA)

This unit is fantastic and I could say so many great things about it but there’s one glaring issue. Apple CarPlay does not work, I’ve tested several phones and several cables and nothing makes it work. I always get “usb device not supported”. Or it might actually connect for a second then it starts freezing and eventually stops entirely and disconnects. Sony please help me with Apple CarPlay. I’m not the only one on this issue. Several people on the forums have this issue. I’m on the latest firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Car Play not supporting

XAV-AX5000 29/05/2019 by Dalip (USA)

Excilent to use & touch panel but not supporting car play

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Great product.

XAV-AX5000 26/05/2019 by Davis246 (USA)

I love this receiver. I wanted it from the first day I saw it on Sony website. The features are good. I have an android so the android auto works.. ( you need to download the app on your phone ) . I just wished it played videos like Netflix and others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14/05/2019 by Tree Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

0

Terrible Device /Lack of Support & Poor Car Play

XAV-AX5000 07/05/2019 by Unhappy_Sony_buyer (USA)

Main reason for purchase was to support Apple Car Play - it does not as of March 2019. Bluetooth reception is poor unless phone is close to the receiver. Looking to trade it in.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

4

0

Very Smooth.... But I Wish It Had MirrorLink!!!!

XAV-AX5000 06/05/2019 by NC508 (USA)

Very nice looking and sounding radio... The system's touch screen works very smooth and is also easy to understand the day to day operations of the radio.... My only complaint is there is not enough features like MirrorLink, A/V Inputs, Or a simple AUX plug... I understand that everything works threw the USB 1 or 2 on this radio but a few more features would put this radio over the top on all the other "high-end" systems out there..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Not waterproof

XAV-AX5000 30/04/2019 by NO H (USA)

I had this installed in my 2016 CVO SG and the installer did not ask me the type of riding I do. I ride whenever, wherever. I don't trailer my bike. Well one slight rain day in Dallas and I lost all my display. Carplay functions work when I plug in my phone but I have nothing on the display. I loved the radio prior to this day and Lucky 7 Customs Cycles did nothing to help me out so most likely I will be going back to stock HD head unit until someone comes out with a waterproof unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

24

0

Love it

XAV-AX5000 17/04/2019 by JNM3 (USA)

I had the 5000 installed on my Harley and it's a world of difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good, but not perfect

XAVAX5000 14/04/2019 by AudioGuy666 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product few weeks ago. Works almost as expected, except one little detail. 16kHz frequency (in equalizer) adjustment is pointless, it does not make any difference (confirmed with 2 units in two different cars). Sound quality is not bad, however is does not blow your mind. It is not a head unit for audiophiles! It is for average user, who cares more about features like access to ApplePlay,AndroidAuto etc. I would appreciate if 16kHz freq. adjustment could be replaced with 12kHz, which is more useful - maybe in next firmware update?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simple and clean

XAVAX5000 12/04/2019 by Frankielb72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a great deal on a multimedia product. Went online to crutchfield, got the kit and harness. Done, sleek and loud for a head unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty disappointed

XAV-AX5000 08/04/2019 by jamills68 (USA)

I’ve had this system and I’m not so satisfied , they did not get the rear view camera hooked up so it only comes on when you are in reverse , I have to manually go to camera and turn it on and off. The call back quality isn’t so great , and last it has glitches where it has lost my settings and once it went to rear view camera and I had no control of system at all . When I had arrived home and turned key off and removed it then it functioned again. This is a lot to deal with for a 400 buck piece of equipment .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

apple carplay and simplicity, perfect

XAV-AX5000 08/04/2019 by Pablo Jr (USA)

I bought it about a month or 2 ago, the head unit powers up instantly and connects to my phone in no time. For the price I could not find anything better with the same elegant look and features. Plan on adding a back up camera eventually so that is also a major plus. Cannot beat the value, and its a Sony which means it will outlast my car. Only downside is not being able to upload images to display as screen wall paper.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely annoying

XAV-AX5000 03/04/2019 by Michigan worker (USA)

I use my truck for work. It's somewhat of a mobile office. This keeps disconnecting while on the phone with clients, disconnects from gps while in route to job sites, and WONT disconnect my phone when I turn my truck off. I'm constantly calling clients back after my car stereo drops them. Constantly disconnects my phone. The bottom model factory stereo worked all the time. I can't go an hour without some error, disconnect, then total restart. How is it still connected to my phone when I turn my truck off away? Same for both of my phones. AA takes over my phone controls so I can't switch to the headset. WARNING, AVOID THIS UNIT 2017 RAM 3500 Samsung S9...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Good features after a day. Will post more later!

XAVAX5000 09/03/2019 by mboatner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great so far! Will cone back after we've used iy so far and elaborate, but so far so good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worth Every Penny.

XAV-AX5000 10/02/2019 by Uncle Nutzy (USA)

I bought this for my Nissan Xterra (standard factory 6 speaker sound system not the Rockford Fosgate premium system so no factory amp or subwoofer) and am very impressed with the wide range of functions and capability yet operation is so simple. The touch screen is very responsive and intuitive without being overly sensitive and fingerprints/smudges don't show as much as others I've seen. The display is bright and clear but not glaring. The sound output is breathtaking with crystal clear highs, mid ranges are not papery at all and bass is layered, deep and full with zero distortion at high volume. Works flawlessly with android auto using Waze and Spotify apps. I see some people reporting problems here and I think those may be due to them having bluetooth and USB 1 (Car Play/Android Auto) connected simultaneously. Use a good USB cable and disable bluetooth completely (not just disconnected but DISABLED) on your phone before connecting to Android Auto or Apple carplay. The backup camera is fantastic. The remote is good to have mainly for skipping tracks and adjusting volume without having to reach out to the unit and though I have seen much worse it could benefit from being a little more tactile and intuitive. The volume buttons are easy to locate though. I am beyond happy with this puchase. It doesn't just improve the vehicles sound system it improves the entire driving experience through better, broader yet simpler functionality, enhanced safety and refinement. I highly reccomend this unit for just about anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Unit

XAV-AX5000 10/02/2019 by BIG MOOSE (USA)

Got the unit for Christmas and I installed it myself. Great sounding unit. Only issue is that I can't use the USB cables for my Apple I-POD that I wish I could.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Unit but with Issues

XAVAX5000 24/01/2019 by lawmac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit primarily for the Android Auto function. When it works, it works great, but there seems to be a problem that I do not think is unique to this particular unit but all after markets units. The USB connection is very sensitive and will disconnect the phone from the head unit without warning. All I can recommend is using the best quality USB cable available. My particular phone uses a Type C which appears to be even more sensitive than other types of cable connectors. I usually have to disconnect the cable from the phone and reconnect, and AA will run again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Horrible Voice call quality

XAV-AX5000 21/01/2019 by Jimbo33 (USA)

Let’s start off with the good. CarPlay is responsive and works well. I don’t spend much time outside of CarPlay, as the Bluetooth calling and folder music search features are rather clunky. Now the bad. I’ve had this unit for 3 months, and have upgraded firmware, tried 3 different mics, and still have terrible voice call quality whether on Bluetooth or over Carplay. I get cutouts on the speakers during a call, but never with radio or music playing. The call receiver consistently cannot hear me, and says it sounds like I’m talking from inside a fishbowl. Putting the OEM car stereo back in immediately solves phone call distortion, as does using airpods, so this is not a poor cell reception or location issue. It only involves this unit. It so bad with this unit, that I pop in airpods for a call, then have to remove so music will play from the speakers afterwards. There’s been many wasted hours on tech support, and tearing the dash apart to try different mics, mic locations, and eventually trying the OEM stereo (which sadly works flawlessly). I’ve been a devout Sony purchaser for 20 years, but never again for automotive.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Great sound

XAV-AX5000 13/01/2019 by dinoroar (USA)

I had a fun time installing this device in my 2002 Honda CRV, but it worked out at the end. Great sounding system. The only thing that caught me by surprise was that you have to use the USB cord for android auto and carplay, but that was my fault.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Screen goes blank

XAVAX5000 12/01/2019 by Bonefish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With in a few hours of installation the screen went blank, you have to hit the home button then select whatever function you were using and it comes back up. Sometimes steering controls work and sometimes not.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Amazing!!!!

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by OrangeAvy (USA)

The sound quality of this radio is amazing!! Super easy to use and the Apple CarPlay is great. Google maps and Waze work amazing! A must buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great upgrade for Harley Davidson

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by Brnrbr247 (USA)

Bought unit for my Harley Davidson and it works great. Screen looks sleek mounted in dash and is very visible during the day when riding. I liked it so much I had 2 more installed in my vehicles.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Absolutely the BEST Value!!

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by Reillys77 (USA)

I absolutely love this unit! Super clean design, easy user interface and CarPlay works flawlessly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best CarPlay unit on the market

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by Caraudioguy (USA)

Fast, responsive, easy to use, not over done with complicated features and menus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

great value, great features

XAV-AX5000 07/01/2019 by ghettojay (USA)

Great unit easy to use. Looks great indash and sounds amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in dash on the market.

XAV-AX5000 07/01/2019 by Dobslob (USA)

I can’t say enough good things about this piece. It seems most reviews complain that it isn’t something else, but I’m thrilled with what it is and what it does. I have had zero issues with my iPhone connected to the radio and it does everything I want. I will have one in every vehicle that I can fit one into.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does not work with ipod Touch

XAV-AX5000 29/12/2018 by NickAudio (USA)

Bought the unit to use with ipod touch, will not read using USB. Is there a fix to this or do I need to return it?!

3

18

0

Looks good but Functions weirdly

XAV-AX5000 29/12/2018 by EDisEPIC (USA)

I bought this thinking I was getting a high end product and in some aspects I did. The unit itself looks nice, runs noticeably fast on Android Auto and the back up camera and radio functions work great. But Android Auto on this unit is buggy. The screen will randomly go grey making you exit completely to restore what you were doing or will randomly just exit to the stock Sony screen which then you have to click on the AA button to go back to AA and then you have to go back into maps and let the maps recalulate. all these things take away from the safety aspect of having a smart/Android auto unit.and for costing as much as it does I expected better. I really hope that Sony releases a firmware update with some fixes. these bugs are present on my Pixel 3, OnePlus 6T and Samsung Galaxy S7. None of these bugs have showed up on any other Android auto units I've used. The last thing I think this unit needs is a brightness slider for the rear camera. my camera is really washed out with this unit and if I had the ability to tone it down that'd be great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

13

0

AA works great but Bluetooth calls are an issue

XAV-AX5000 20/12/2018 by DanNJ (USA)

Had this unit for over a month and had to have a second one installed due to poor call quality through Bluetooth and AA. Speakers are crackling when on a call. No issues with playing music or receiving directions from AA. Unit is bright, responsive, and fast. playing music off a thing drive is tedious and you can only shuffle within one folder so if you have music organized by band and then album no dice on shuffling that discography you proudly made. Truly hope Sony is able to address these or I'll be looking for a new unit and a refund

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

11

0

Android Auto drops, Charges slow, the rest works

XAV-AX5000 20/12/2018 by AlessioTheTruth (USA)

Well. You buy this unit because it has android auto. Which is very problematic on my android OnePlus3t phone. Fully updated new firmware installed on the head unit. My phone is the latest android 8.0.0 i found it to work better when i removed facial unlock features. Now i have to restart my phone once a day to get it to work. All the music apps have to be opened on the phone first then you can get them o function on the head unit. Pretty dissapointed. Hope they fix this if its on sony side ,which i believe it is since my phone works fine on my mothers subaru with built in AA and Carplay 2018 model. I also tried my fathers onplus 5t and the same issues with this head unit. The other features work fine, radio is great, back up camera which i installed is great. The phone option works wonderfully and everyone can hear me fine with no funny noises or echoes.=, honestly the phone is the best part of this head unit which i use often. THE FAST CHARGING is the opposite. NOT FAST its actually so slow that if your phone is on it will drain while plugged in. NOT GOOD, especially if your phone is on and running apps while charging, my 7-eleven charger with 2.1 and 1.1 amps work much faster. Head unit always tells m it does not recognize my usb source when using my phone to play songs off it. had to get a usb stick and even then it was only able to recognize certain file types. movies in mp4 but not mp3 weirdd. If sony doesnt fix this via firmware. Ill never buy another sony head unit ever and instantly go to alpine. Sorry. Wanted to love this headunit but it just has basic core functions that dont work. The screen is responsive, which in 2018 not a shocker but at this point ill take anything I can to brag about this head unit. I hear the 100 model sony is better. Maybe stick with that.,

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

13

0

Nice display, siriusxm and backup camera.

XAVAX5000 08/11/2018 by Nickyd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works great as advertised. Has siriusxm and backup camera

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lacking

XAV-AX5000 07/11/2018 by subsquoch (USA)

Installed this into my wifes vehicle. Updated the firmware. Unit works fine but is lacking in terms of features. My main complaint is that her new 6th gen, 32gb, Ipod touch isnt compatible with this unit via either of the USB ports. When I connect the touch via BT I am able to make the connection and play the music but I cannot select different folders - I can only listen to the music in the order it is in the ipod and when all songs from a particular artist are played, the music stops. Pretty disappointed...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

20

0

You get Android auto and good sound but thats it.

XAV-AX5000 05/11/2018 by 9walker (USA)

If you are looking for a unit that plays music and do android auto. This is it. Android auto works perfectly. The sound quality is exceptional. But come on!! Its year 2018 and I cant change the wallpaper or customize desktop. Is that too much to ask for a 400 dollars unit?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

15

0

It Would be a great Head Unit.....

XAV-AX5000 26/10/2018 by Bevinet (USA)

As far as I am aware this is pretty much the top of the line, but Android Auto is failing and see lots of people in the support forum having the same experience as I am. My installer did a great job and the unit works fine, but AA keeps disconnecting and I know this is not an issue with my phone or cables as my wifes car (which has AA) is just fine. In my opinion, Sony need to provide an update for this to fix these know issues. I have no idea if Apple Car Play has similar issues or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

13