17

3.4 based on 17 customer reviews

6
2
4
2
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Professional installer review

XAV-AX8000 01/10/2020 by efroemms (USA)

I have been a pro installer for 20 years, and I installed this radio in my truck. The other reviews are very misleading. Updating the firmware will unlock many features others are complaining about not having, such as mirrorlink and customizable backgrounds. Those complaining about freezing and not working properly, need to swap their phone cable. A cheap or worn out cable will give these problems. This radio is fantastic, and has a 3 year warranty. Great job team Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony quality but lacks idatalink compatibility

XAV-AX8000 26/02/2020 by mistermac56 (USA)

Sony quality shines on this head unit. Unfortunately, the lack of idatalink integration is a deal breaker for me. Not quite sure why Sony only offers it in the AX210.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

17 Customer Reviews

0

love it

XAV-AX8000 02/10/2020 by james84 (USA)

I upgraded from the Ax5000 and I love it!!!!!! It works flawlessly!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent radio

XAV-AX8000 02/10/2020 by Stop Thief (USA)

I’m a Sony retailer and installed this in my demo vehicle. I love this radio. Sony is the easiest of all brands to operate. The sound quality is so much better than some other brands and while it’d be nice to have maestro compatibility (coming next year) it’s not a deal breaker on most vehicles. I’ve sold many of these and so far haven’t had any complaints. Keep up the good work Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional installer review

XAV-AX8000 01/10/2020 by efroemms (USA)

I have been a pro installer for 20 years, and I installed this radio in my truck. The other reviews are very misleading. Updating the firmware will unlock many features others are complaining about not having, such as mirrorlink and customizable backgrounds. Those complaining about freezing and not working properly, need to swap their phone cable. A cheap or worn out cable will give these problems. This radio is fantastic, and has a 3 year warranty. Great job team Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Honestly looks good but don’t work properly

XAV-AX8000 23/09/2020 by Big Prime J (USA)

Doesn’t always work freezes always takes a while to connect very problematic looking for a new radio

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Easy to use and now with wallpapers

XAV-AX8000 05/08/2020  (USA)

Screen is large and the system offers everything I need to include Carplay and WebLink (mirror your phone). In a Camaro, it’s perfect!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good unit, but not without issues.

XAV-AX8000 04/08/2020 by Just561 (USA)

I bought this unit specifically for Apple CarPlay. First issue was it did not come with a cage, which the installer told me was highly unusual. I don’t think he even believed me...just assumed I had taken it out already and lost it or something. I have no ideas where to find or buy the cage, so the unit just sits slightly loose in the slot. When the unit is working, it’s great. The problem is it will intermittently drop the CarPlay connection during use. I’m using the Apple lightning cable, and I know the phone is still connected, as the music continues to play. However, the CarPlay interface will crash and default back to the Sony home screen, only without the CarPlay icon at all. The only way to get CarPlay going again is to completely cut the power to the unit to do a full power cycle, which requires turning the vehicle off for about 60 seconds. Very strange, and irritating on road trips.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Dissatisfied

XAV-AX8000 23/07/2020 by Wacokid (USA)

Bought a new motorhome with this unit 2 weeks ago. Won’t work in several ways. Volume won’t work. Won’t turn off, home button won’t work. What’s worse, can’t get RV dealer to do anything

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Missing key features

XAV-AX8000 22/07/2020 by MitchInNY (USA)

Screen catches a lot of glare. Can only store one phone Bluetooth profile. Does Sony not know that more than one person might own a car thus wanting more than one phone to be able to connect to Bluetooth? In other words - my wife's phone is synced to the receiver. If I'm in the car by myself and want my phone to connect to the receiver I have to delete my wife's phone first. In addition the screen catches a ton of glare. Finally, satellite radio doesn't buffer at all so as soon as I go under an overpass I'll lose my signal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Love the screen size!

XAV-AX8000 13/07/2020 by Alpollon (Canada)

Just finished installing this into my 01 mustang, and was very happy with how it ended up sitting in the dash. CarPlay works great, super nice having Bluetooth that works again, and it sounds a lot better then my previous head unit. On my first drive with it however I was immediately greeted with a massive amount of glare on the screen that made it almost unusable at times. Was hoping that I missed a second screen protector but couldn’t see anything that looked like they was true. Waited months to finally get this, and so far I’m not sure if it was worth the wait.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Junk

XAV-AX8000 22/06/2020 by Austin96 (USA)

I had this unit in my Jeep Wrangler for about a month and I loved it! Until today. Completely started to spaz out and now I cant even listen to any music. So disappointed with Sony. Money back please!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Poor Screen Resolution

XAVAX8000 13/06/2020 by PMC52 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very difficult to see the screen in daylight. A lot of glare from non glare screen. In this day and age of sharp and bright displays, sad that Sony took this route for an otherwise good and well designed system. I would have gladly paid more for a better screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/06/2020

Hi PMC52, we regret that the car stereo did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Allow us to help you and turn your experience around. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely, Erin

0

Let’s say expensive garbage

XAV-AX8000 13/03/2020 by Doug603 (USA)

I wanted an alpine but the car stereo place talked me into this pile of junk. You get what you pay for. Total waste of money!! This radio never works right. Doesn’t connect to CarPlay right away I have to unplug and plug back in multiple times. Screen freezes on opening message so I have to shut my truck off and turn it back on. When I can afford the alpine radio I’ll be running this over with my truck. I HATE THIS RADIO!! $7k stereo installed in my truck and I can barely get it to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

34

0

A lot of bugs

XAV-AX8000 27/02/2020 by GreggUSA (USA)

I bought this about a month ago from BestBuy and had them install it in my Dodge pickup. 1st issue is the screen. A lot of daylight glare no matter which way they tip it. One design flaw is no way to angle towards driver which would reduce issues. 2nd, when using Android Auto and touch the screen and pull up my contact list, after clicking a contact to place a phone call it just sits there. I can go to the handset and place the call without issue or disconnecting the (factory) Sync cable. 3rd, I receive a text message, play it but when I go to reply, the unit says the signal is not stable enough (while streaming Pandora without a buffering) ??? Again, I can do this multiple tries with same error but go directly to the handset and reply without issues. 3A) Hit Google mic, say, send text and it throws an error message. Go to the handset and hit Google mic...no problem. 4th, no way to move app icons to order you would like shown on screen.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

7

0

Sony quality but lacks idatalink compatibility

XAV-AX8000 26/02/2020 by mistermac56 (USA)

Sony quality shines on this head unit. Unfortunately, the lack of idatalink integration is a deal breaker for me. Not quite sure why Sony only offers it in the AX210.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Killer Head unit!

XAV-AX8000 19/02/2020 by importsonly2004 (Canada)

bought this unit in the beginning of January, and have enjoyed it 100% since. Best sounding head unit I have owned

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2020

Hi importsonly2004,

Awesome! We're glad that you're having a great time using the car stereo. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Good, but not great

XAV-AX8000 04/02/2020  (USA)

I do like the radio, but it is not as good as it could be. I do like the screen, but it really needs to use all of the real estate better. You have this beautiful screen and Sony just ignores it. I would love to see a more dynamic screen that is interesting to look at. It does not do a lot to allow you to customize the screen. There are five back grounds and there is no way to put your own on the radio for the screen. It would be be very nice to have an equalizer display on this big screen to show you what is playing. Granted you do have equalizer customization, but nothing to show you what the music is peaking at. There are brightness controls, but I found the auto dimming for night driving to not work very well. I would like to be able to use the ATT button to flip between night time and day time modes. I don't really have any reason to use the ATT button. (It cuts down the audio input.) I wish it had more radio memories, especially for satellite radio. I filled the 18 selections up on XM and FM. It would be nice to have a phone app to control the radio. It does come with a remote, but I don't use it. I would really like to be able to tilt the radio at any moment instead of using a screw driver. You are not able to tilt this radio towards the passenger or the driver. There is a lot of kick back on the screen having high resolution or not having a better touch screen. I give that a pass. On the other hand having a user accessible video / audio in would be a real plus. There are adapters for this. It will play video off of the USB drive. For a car, I am not sure if there is a good use case for watching videos, but it is fun to do so. The sound is good, but I will probably need to replace the speakers to make this shine. I put this in a Toyota Prius V (2015) and the install took about 6 days to get right. I will cut Sony and the installer some slack, since it was the first install of this radio for the shop. What I like: The screen is large and bright for daytime use. The mounting is very customizable in height, depth, and vertical angle. (No Horizontal adjustments.. I bought this for Android Auto, (Goggle Maps) and it works. This also has Apple Radio. Sound quality is good. What I don't like: XM is not built into the radio. The auto cut over for night time brightness is not very good. The displays are not very interesting or very customizable. The Factory buttons for the radio / phone / etc on the steering wheel mostly work, but the radio gets lost when you are trying to change stations. It some times work, and some times takes several seconds, and some times doesn't work at all. This appears to be context related. Not having Bluetooth Android Auto. The phone and audio do work on Bluetooth, but my biggest use case for this is Google Maps, so I use the usb connection for the phone. There is only one USB port. You have the choice of using the USB Android Auto or a USB key fob for music. I wish I could leave the back up camera on all of the time if I wanted to. This is probably more of a Toyota problem. So in essence, I do like the radio, and it meets my needs fairly well. Toyota wanted $200 for updated maps, so I bought a new radio that lets me use my phone. However it is kinda boring. Why make this big screen if you don't put any eye candy on it? I hope they update the software on it on the next firmware release. At the very least they could make an Android Auto front end that is all customizable. Would I buy it again? Yes. If I already had Android Auto (Or Apple Radio), I would give it a pass. Toyota is putting Android Auto on some of the new cars. (Along with other car makers)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Retrofit to old truck

XAVAX8000 15/01/2020 by Sanjac272 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to install in a 1980 International Scout and it fit perfectly. The multitude of screen adjustments make it look like it was designed for the old truck. CarPlay is awesome. The size of the screen surpasses most factory screens in new cars. T.he only complaint is it didn't ship with a single DIN mount chassis. Found one online and problem solved.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3