98

3.2 based on 98 customer reviews

25
25
14
17
17
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

How did I live without these?!

MDR-XB50BS 27/01/2018 by Rayray86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Xmas present I asked for running. Wireless for sports is way forward!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Build Quality is Cheap and Terrible.

MDRXB50BS/R 15/01/2017 by Grimes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first received this it didn't come with a carry pouch or case which is downer but what really disappointed me was it had already had signs like it was put together terribly and 2 months later pieces of it falling apart which is horrible...I really don't recommend buying these specific earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

98 Customer Reviews

0

Good Bass

MDRXB50BS/B 24/05/2018 by 14gomezm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones off of Amazon and they worked great for about a month. After that, there must have been a defect in the left side battery as it refused to work one day and would work the next. I stopped using them regularly and was going to send them back, but unfortunately, my dog got to them first.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Features!

MDR-XB50BS 20/05/2018 by jdiazrivera7 (USA)

I bought this a month ago and they are incredibly good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound over durability

MDR-XB50BS 20/05/2018 by generic (Canada)

I bought these about 2 months ago and the bass is amazing. For a Basshead like me they're very good. audio is adequate, not the best, but still acceptable. Battery life is amazing. One thing though is the durability. I had to glue back the volume button on the earbuds so that it stayed on. A weird air bubble also appeared under the power button because the rubber and the plastic separated. I treat my earbuds with care the most i can, but it keeps falling apart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good battery life, does what it says on the tin

MDR-XB50BS 14/05/2018 by frannie1001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good headphones with extra bass, long battery life, can't fault it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB50BS 13/05/2018 by Emsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Present is good quality and happy with product still learning new features

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great for athletes or fitness junkies

MDR-XB50BS 13/05/2018 by Tee Bird (USA)

Should have got these a long time ago. Great Bass!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Really great headphones!!

MDR-XB50BS 12/05/2018 by TyDr (USA)

I bought these about 4 months ago, and cant say enough about them. As a musician, i know pitch, bass, treble and crisp clear sound. These headphones are fantastic and provide that crisp clear and full sound i desire, as well as a long battery life. VERY much recommend buying these, in fact i may buy a back up pair.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sounds great!

MDR-XB50BS 10/05/2018 by RJS1 (USA)

just bought this - pairing was quick and easy. Listened to different music from Party, acoustic guitar and smooth jazz and the sound was amazing for its price!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Alright headphones but...

MDR-XB50BS 24/04/2018 by twitchtvitsluckshot (USA)

Good sound if you listen to a lot of EDM or Hip-Hop with the extra bass. But these are not durable. The casing on mine is falling apart already, exposing the board and the wiring under after around 3 months of use. The charging port cover cannot close either.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sounds Great but falls apart

MDRXB50BS/B 21/04/2018 by Foxhunter710 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound awesome, Battery life awesome, noise cancling is also awesome. However after 4 months the case split open and wont snap back together.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

worst product i ever had

MDR-XB50BS 17/04/2018 by cruex (USA)

buttons and the foams drop out often. i lost them already. also placing the microphone to the earphone is absoluteley a design. ux fail. i can't see any logical reason behind. it is impossible to speak with someone on the phone. also i alrady send some mails to Sony International and Sony turkey about the problems but i didn't get any response back.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Terrible construction

MDR-XB50BS 07/04/2018 by Earthchild (Canada)

Bought these 3 months ago. Now both the power button and the volume button have fallen off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2018

Hi Earthchild, we're sorry to hear what happened. We would like to hear more from you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thanks. -Erin

0

Happy user

MDR-XB50BS 02/04/2018 by Freyes1968 (USA)

I’ve had these headphones for about 6 months. I didn’t like them at first because they were uncomfortable to wear over a long period. But over time I found the “proper” way to wear them which made a world of difference. It’s comfortable to wear, it sounds good even while I’m exercising. The built of my headset is quite good. I carry it in my pocket without a case and it hasn’t fallen apart. Maybe the only downside is I cannot seem to connect it to my iPad, but works great with my iPhone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

XB50 workmanship

MDR-XB50BS 27/03/2018 by kenw9900 (USA)

I bought these in-ear headphones one year ago. Easy to use, lightweight & great to use while working out @ gym. Last week went to gym, turned headphones on, did workout & removed to shutoff. SURPRISE! The rubber pads for turning on/off & volume were missing. Too bad as I have recommended these headphones to several individuals. Then this happens which changes everything as replacing them annually doesn't make for a good deal. Especially when I've only used them basically for 6 hrs weekly. I REALLY LIKE THEM SO HOPEFULLY SONY CAN FIX THIS UNEXPECTED PROBLEM. Product shouldn't fall apart so now wondering how best to replace this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Constant Static

MDRXB50BS/B 23/03/2018 by Party (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 weeks ago, and since day one, there has been a constant static humming in the background when pairing with any device. Absolutely horrible.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2018

Hi Party, we are sorry for the inconvenience this issue caused you. We recommend following the steps from the link below to isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00086441

Regards,
-Erin

0

Great audio

MDR-XB50BS 19/03/2018 by Vinayakgzn2 (USA)

5 stars for the sound quality but I would've really appreciated if they've provided build quality As per the amount they're charging for it. I Have been using it since last 1 year but outer covers condition is truly bad. It started remove all of a sudden...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great sound wont charge

MDRXB50BS/B 14/03/2018 by brendan4892429 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

these are great headphones. they sound great and block out all outside sound. they conncect easily. HOWEVER THEY DONT CHARGE. i had problems with charging very quickly. i would plug them in but the red light would immediately turn off meaning they were not connected. a few times i was able to get the light to stay on if it was in a certain spot and then did not move them. now they wont charge at all, i am looking for a replacement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superior Bass!

MDR-XB50BS 03/03/2018 by Pascal87 (USA)

I've owned much more expensive pairs of earbuds but these are truly worth it! The bass is much better than any wireless buds I've purchased in the past (and I've owned quite a few), the fit is comfortable in the ears for hours on end and the battery life is actually surprisingly long. The only complaint I would have about this product is that the power button was poorly designed and broke off shortly after I purchased it. Other than that, I would definitely recommend these!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Bluetooth head set.

MDR-XB50BS 02/03/2018 by Reggie_CS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy these a lot. I was forced to buy these whilst traveling. Unfortunately, on the first leg of my flight, I broke my earphones. I bought these because I like Sony and I wanted something Bluetooth, plus they were a reasonable price and have a good gaurantee. Since then, I appreciate these very much and they have good bass and battery life. I see a few reviews here and there about how they break easily and for that reason I really look after them to try and not be in that position. Should this happen...at least I have the guarantee.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Won't charge

MDR-XB50BS 01/03/2018 by comicslinky (USA)

I bought these headphones a couple months ago and they were pretty good but now i can't use them because for some reason they won't charge. Pretty upset :(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sound great but uncomfortable.

MDR-XB50BS 23/02/2018 by Jbernardh (United Kingdom)

If only using 1 earphone they always fall to opposite side and pull back on side in ear, seriously annoying, a clip of some kind to attatch to collar of clothing would work great, this really aggravates me and feels less worth it's price on this note.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Good sound. Cheap product. Horrible support

MDR-XB50BS 23/02/2018 by KevinM (USA)

Sound quality and battery life are good. Easy to pair. With the correct anchors the headphones stay in comfortably throughout my workout. The failure is in the buttons. The rubber covers over the volume and the power button both fell out. Have to use a pencil to turn on the headphones and control volume without the rubber covers. After a couple of months of chasing people I was finally told that no one provides those parts and I'd have to buy a new pair. Bye-bye, Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Power button fell off making it useless

MDR-XB50BS 20/02/2018 by sibesty (USA)

After approx 10 uses the power button fell off and now the headphones are useless. Sony are denying there is a manufacturing fault, yet there are hundreds of reports of the same issue. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Good enough for its price

MDRXB50BS/B 03/02/2018 by _Alex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My GF bought them for me. I am android (S8+) user and these headphones pairs really easy and automatically connects (immediately) connects to my phone after I turn them on. Oh, to pair them you can use NFC, it works GREAT. Bass is good, they sounds great for electro music. They are big overall for me and I do not like it, but it is hard to notice if you are not using hat. I need to notice that they fit ear well and not going out.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Stopped working

MDR-XB50BS 01/02/2018 by Ppoupette (USA)

I’ve had these for a few months and i’ve Truly enjoyed them. I pretty much always workout with them and then they suddenly stopped working yesterday. I’m truly disappointed :(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

How did I live without these?!

MDR-XB50BS 27/01/2018 by Rayray86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Xmas present I asked for running. Wireless for sports is way forward!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Long Battery life, durable

MDR-XB50BS 24/01/2018 by relaxandlive (USA)

I recommend these headphones for daily use. The sound is a bit too Bass'y but I bought them anyway. Not great headphones for running as you have to keep pushing them back into your ear but they will get the job done. I like the build quality. I have a very thick neck and the band is plenty long enough to hang around the back of my neck. They cancel out outside sounds pretty well!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Cheap product, buttons fall off!

MDR-XB50BS 24/01/2018 by jamesarg (USA)

This is a cheaply made product, after 3-4 months the volume buttons fell off and a several months later the power button fell off as well. Have to carry a pen with me to turn the headphones on/off. Unacceptable for a premium set of earphones!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Low mic volume

MDRXB50BS/B 24/01/2018 by brad1028 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great set of headphones but not usable with my phone due to low mic volume

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Terrible Quality

MDR-XB50BS 22/01/2018 by matclark42 (USA)

I got these about a month ago, I did nothing, broke. Terrible quality, I dont advise buying this product

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

It is a great product!

MDR-XB50BS 14/01/2018 by VictoriaL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound quality with reasonable price! The earphone has a clear instruction on how to recharge and connect. Reasonable battery life. The only thing I would suggest improvement is to make it a lighter weight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Bluetooth headphones

MDRXB50BS/B 10/01/2018 by JT_09 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this product for just over a year. Very happy with the battery life and connectivity with phone and Bose speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Hissing problem sucks, otherwise pretty sweet

MDR-XB50BS 10/01/2018 by ryro (USA)

1.) When the device connects to the source, it produces a hissing static sound that continues when the music is playing and when it isn't playing (volume of 3/10 I'd say, only isn't noticeable when your volume is above a 7/10). This disrupts the experience a lot for me, I'll be contacting Sony about this problem. 2.) Erganomics are fairly comfortable, the unit stays put - a rare quality. 3.) Counter intutive fitting and shape, can be confusing, I often try to put the wrong sides in. Unfortunately I would not recommend these on the basis of the hissing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

1

0

Great features easy to use

MDR-XB50BS 05/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband bought these for Christmas for me were just what I wanted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

0

Great sounds

MDR-XB50BS 03/01/2018 by mikegoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Take time to get the right ear bud and clip combination and you will be well rewarded with a great sound from a comfortable set of earphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Loud background hissing

MDR-XB50BS 30/12/2017 by Mad29 (USA)

These headphones sound great when they’re turned all the way up but at low volumes there is a loud hissing in both sides between and during songs. Super disappointed

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sounds great

MDRXB50BS/B 27/12/2017 by cth83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed some wireless bluetooth earbuds to work out with. So far so good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sound only comes out of right earbud

MDRXB50BS/B 26/12/2017 by Mwest017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Asked for a set of thesenfo Christmas to be able to use in the gym. Earbuds fit well, and setup was easy but sound is only coming out of right earbud:(

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0