Skip to Content
9

3.9 based on 9 customer reviews

5
1
1
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

10 Customer Reviews

0

Great for Music Not for Phone Calls

WI-1000X 16/01/2018 by BLC1 (USA)

Best in class sound quality for Music. But when making a phone call the other party can hear all the conversations around you - even if people are talking 10 feet away. For some reason, the noise canceling reduces the background noise for what you hear but not for what the person you are calling hears. One other thing. I tried chatting with Sony Tech Support on the issue. They don't know anything about this unit. It took her 5 minutes just to find out where the pickup mics are for a phone call. She said they were in both ear pieces.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Marvellous!

WI-1000X 05/01/2018 by Niksles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for a Bose product and absolutely delighted with the choice. Fantastic sound quality, comfortable & excellent noise cancelling abilities. Expensive but worth the extra.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive step for in ear audio & noise isolation

WI-1000X 01/01/2018 by Dave007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An early review. This product was purchased after returning a competitors product in a similar, slightly cheaper price range. In comparison, simply the best noise cancelling i’ve experienced, I can’t make out any of the white noise I usually associate with noise cancelling, just silence 10/10. The audio experience is excellent for in ear drivers, noticeably better quality to my untrained ears, I don’t feel qualified to rate the audio quality. The reason the competitors product was return is due to the silicone covering releasing from the plastic body. The Sony product appears to be more robust there, time will show. A little worried about the soft foam pad around the back of the neck, again time will tell. The competition had a near useless mic for taking calls on. I own some £30 Sony plug-in in-ear head phones, which are really good for taking calls on. Surprisingly the WI 1000x perform worst than either of these options, reports suggest they are picking up all sorts of unwanted sound. A real shame as still looking for the perfect music/phone/Siri interface, room for improvement. On the strength of this product, I’ll be looking at buying some sony over ear 1000x or more excitingly buy in an over ear from the next generation. I have already steared a friend into buying the SONY MDR-EX750, insisting for noise cancelling and audio quality, Sony are hard to beat. Good work Sony. Thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Returned within minutes of first use; sad

WI-1000X 28/12/2017 by dtoubmd (USA)

I researched this and was looking forward to what sounded like a great pair of ANC-capable earbuds with good audio quality. I have a pair of wired Bose QC20s that are wonderful, but I'd love a good pair of wireless noise-cancelling earbuds and this sounded like the ones to get. But there are several problems: 1. The sound was low-volume, no matter what I did (and yes, the phone had its volume to the max). I finally created my own EQ in the Sony Connect app that maxed out everything, and that made it tolerable but still not great. 2. I read that one can't use chargers with the included microUSB cable (first, odd that this one cable is specifically required by Sony since it's no different from any of a number of third-party microUSB cables most people have). I don't believe it, but apparently some folks were told by Sony that not charging via a computer would void their warranties. Very strange since most chargers from Anker, etc are intelligent enough to not output too much wattage for specific devices. 3. The controls are hard to access. I had to keep taking off the device to see what I was touching since it was not that obvious via tactile feedback. 4. The entire setup with the Connect app was complex and in the end, I could never tell if I actually did have ANC engaged. Much of the additional complexity was unnecessary; the ambient sensor seemed to be best when turned off, and the same with the pressure control. In contrast, the Bose QC20's have one switch to turn everything on and the ANC is then automatically engaged and clearly on (the difference in sound when the ANC kicks in after 2 seconds is very marked; that was never the case with the 1000x earbuds from Sony). So sound and ANC were both pretty poor in my opinion. 5. Finally, the cover for the charging port is so tight that it was impossible to open without a metal part like a letter opener. Had I kept the earbuds, I would have ended up ripping that part off since it was just impossible to open even with a credit card. Also odd is the fact that when wired (nice touch, in theory), the volume and forward/back controls no longer work. That's not how any wired earbuds work and I have no idea why they essentially would cripple this functionality. Also weird that charging takes nearly four hours (my QC20's have 14-16 hours longevity and take no more than an hour to charge). So this was not what I would have expected, given many positive reviews and the cost.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

Read this before buy the headphone!!!

WI-1000X 12/12/2017 by Phat Pham (USA)

The headphone will not charge with portable charger or any charger. It only charges when plug into a computer, and that computer have to be on. Not in standby, sleep or hibernation mode, otherwise it will not charge "almost all headphones in the market do charge when the computer in standby or sleep mode except this headphone" . This is very inconvenient. If you use the headphone to travel and it runs out of battery. Good luck with that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

6

0

Good headphone but need few improvements

WI-1000X 12/12/2017 by tomtp3 (USA)

I just bought the Sony WI1000X few days ago. Everything operated smoothly, until I charge the headphone with my MacBook. When I put my MacBook into sleep mode and put it away the headphone stop charging. That's very weird because my Mac always charge other devices while it in sleep mode. So every time I charge the headphone I have to leave my Mac on. Also, the adaptive sound control is very slow and the sound of the headphone phone slow when listen to rap. Are these software issues or the headphone was designed this way? By the way I already reset the headphone but it's still like that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

They done changed the game with these!

WI-1000X 07/11/2017  (USA)

Unmatched sound quality, app is amazing! 10 out of 10 for sure! Wow Wow Wow!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

High quality noise cancelling wireless headphones

WI-1000X 31/10/2017 by hanspeed (United Kingdom)

Great sounding compact wireless headphones with variable noise cancelling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09/10/2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Awesome Idea

WI-1000X 14/09/2017 by Sherbear (USA)

Love the ease of wear, sound reduction. It's small enough to travel, wear as I walk. But, what about running will it sit securely on your neck and shoulder? No it bounces and just irritates. The price a bit steep, but hey it's made excellently. I enjoy knowing these are so well built by Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4