Starting at

$1,249.99

84

4.4 based on 84 customer reviews

52
23
4
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

In love again!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 28/08/2019 by Deadeye55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Came back to Sony after a couple of years away on Canon, really struggled with Canon, never felt easy. Now I’m back with Sony, it’s so much easier and much better results. Plus a great step forward for me from the 6000 to the 6400. Quality, speed and colour are gorgeous. Loving the 4k video and external power ability. A wonderful welcome home, thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Failed the test!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 06/05/2019 by GabrielG (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved the little camera for about 8 weeks, the time it took for the control wheel to failed. Features and images quality are excellent, but everything fails if it's not durable. The value ain't really there either if the product don't last! And the customer service is bad, with waits from 6 to 8 weeks to get it fix under warranty. BAD EXPERIENCE.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

84 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great little camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 25/05/2020 by Fablox09 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a6400 it's a great little camera packed of useful features that really improve the way you taking pictures and video.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing is not Enough

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 24/05/2020  (United Kingdom)

Get it with lens 18-135mm and feel the fun all the time while taking your photos or videos ..i do more videos than photos and i find it professional with the quality and audio as well .. GET IT Now

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic first Mirrorless

Body Only 19/05/2020 by asills03 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony a6400 takes a bit of time to learn up front but once you are acquainted it is a powerful tool to bring your photography game to the next level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

appears really well engineered

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 15/05/2020 by bertmoll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

really impressed with it so far, but soooooo much to learn

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Probably the best of the 6000’s

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 28/04/2020 by AndrewWG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a go anywhere camera, given my Nikon weighs a ton in comparison when out for a walk. Research led to buying this model out of the 6, photo & video results are excellent. Battery life is such that an additional one is advised also video doesn’t transfer from the SD card as expected, check your PC equipment is compatible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Loads of great features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28/04/2020 by Nick37 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been taking some great pics of family and some amazing video for my YouTube channel. (In 4K). I really like the remote features. You can’t spot focus from the app on your smart phone but you can if you connect it to a laptop via usb which I have found really useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Auto focus is astounding

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 26/04/2020 by Darren1a (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for the upgraded autofocus from my A6000 but wasn't prepared for just how good it was. Just excellent. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a6400- in my opinion great camera for newbie

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 24/03/2020 by rafalforeigner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i use this camera around 4months and im so happy with it. Is not dificult and is great quality. if you want you can see what i do on my instagram and youtube WPI-production. This is my first camera ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 24/03/2020 by jfmiow2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the 6100. I really like the auto focus capability, especially how the system can focus on both the human and animal eye. A good bit of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good images but core features missing

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 20/03/2020 by Sithrandil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall good image quality though the lack of lossless RAW is problematic. Also the convoluted menu systems and unclear options. I have a wireless flash but seem to only be able to select that option when the flash is on camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

amazing camera with few flaws

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 09/03/2020 by kennyC (Canada)

no question with how amazing this camera is. As much as I'm upset about the sony engineer can't fix such a small issue like having a same file no. over and over again after formating or using a new card doesn't make any sense. here's a my opinion. PRO; No record limit without overheating.(This is the big reason I havn't switch to other brand) great image IQ. AF is crazy good you can customize this camera to your workflow. CON: LCD and EVF screen are average.(small and not sharp) Menu is Badly organize. Can't have different FUN. menu for Video and photo mode My biggest con is the video file no.keep repeating from C001 after you format or put new card in. At the end, this is amazing camera. highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/03/2020

Hi kennyC,

Thanks for the input. Your feedback is really helpful to the people who are trying to purchase this unit. Thank you for the recommendation and have a nice day!

Regards,
David

0

Good all rounder

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 02/03/2020 by dvr1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting to grips with it as new to Sony but love the compact, light but sturdy build.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture quality

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 29/02/2020 by Babijaphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have done couple of photoshoots with a6400 and I'm surprised with image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely little camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 28/02/2020 by Bazza64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this primarily for vlogging, put it in a small rig cage, add a couple of cold shoe connectors so I can still see the flip up screen and it’s just the job. The face tracking is on another level all in all very pleased

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for the casual user

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 17/02/2020 by Marty50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to my A6000. It’s so much better than I am... I am just a weekend/casual intermediate photo guy and this hits everything I need from a camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Lots of good features

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15/02/2020 by terryelston (United Kingdom)

Bought a days back - took me a good three hours to come to grips with the very complex navigation system on the camera. I had the Sony RX100 so knew a bit about this one already. The readouts are not user friendly and I had to use YouTube to find out the important settings and how to get to them. The manual is a nightmare (you have to download it as well, no paper one). The first ten pages of the manual are links to the features!! You go snow blind trying to find anything out. It's always good once found and the camera is actually good - when you can find out how to work it! Next spot feature where you can easily tell the camera which part of the shot is most important for depth of field, nice wireless feature that works easily,

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing Camera!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15/02/2020 by Hazzo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera last week and it is brilliant, I use it for taking photos for a car dealership and it is perfect, will start making videos with it soon too!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product for an amateur film maker.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 10/02/2020 by Tattoosbyjj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely blown away by the control and features on this a6400. Light, compact and plenty of available accessories to build a compact movie rig. Couple of cons Battery life is kinda shocking but can be fixed by battery grip and third party batteries are relatively Cheap. HDMI monitor + Gimbal capabilities are awkward in the fact you can use one or the other. HDMI external monitor works on its own as does gimbal but if you want a monitor and gimbal control use the Sony only allows a few pipelines so deems the HDMI useless whilst using gimbal control. PLEASE FIX THIS workaround is to control camera via Smartphone app and still have control over camera whilst using gimbal and Monitor. Not ideal but will have to do! Overall great compact and quality feeling camera for an amateur videographer/blogger

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 04/02/2020 by Ank22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

AF is amazing, very sharp pictures and great quality, very happy with it, highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

E6400 camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 19/01/2020 by Paraffin Pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 6 months ago and am working out to use it properly. I mainly take photographs of landscapes and mechanical models. I am trying to take simple wildlife photograph. I like the camera but will never give anything five stars.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Perfect for me.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06/01/2020 by Lottiebess12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present, I am so pleased with it, the pictures are so clear and it is light to handle and easy to use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pictures

Body Only 06/01/2020 by Macprudence (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and set up. I used a few YouTube videos for helping with explaining each setting. The only thing that doesn't make sense and will hopefully be fixed in future updates is the human and animal eye recognition. You have to go in manually to specify which one your getting ready to photograph each time. It would be nice just to point at either and the camera automatically knows which is which. Animals and children wont wait for you to fumble your way through the menu to set the human or animal setting. Other then that so far it's a great camera with stunning photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very nice small camera with great features.

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 21/12/2019 by Bathe it Daily (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased after reading many positive reviews. It has taken a while to get used to the menu, but controls are now becoming 2nd nature. The 18-135 kit lense is quite versatile for its size & pictures are reasonable quality, but not especially sharp. I will need to invest in a 1.8 prime lense to check out the low light capabilities. I’ve yet to use the video capabilities.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for video and surprisingly good for stills

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19/12/2019 by Scotty79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for video. I make my living from photography and increasingly need to use video too. I am very new to video, so I wanted a simple, easy to use back up, so that I don't have to stop shooting stills on my A9. I've been very pleased with the 4K video quality. I've tested it with a few stills as well and I have to say I am surprised at the quality for an APS-C camera. I wish there was the possibility to have a battery grip like the full frame models have - just to extend time which the camera is usable and to make it slightly easier to handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15/12/2019 by Bluetackphotograph (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent auto focus, surprisingly good in low light for a crop sensor. such good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Finally Won Over...

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13/12/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On a recent visit to the UK two weeks ago, I was gifted with an early Christmas present that turned out to be a Sony a6400. Never thought of crossing to mirrorless as I have two Nikon DSLRs, and I brought along this this trip. With the great photos and easy user-interface, it looks like I will be leaving the clunkier cameras back home.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent camera, with complicated menu system.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 11/12/2019 by LazySnapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great camera, with advanced features that works very well with my canon and sigma ef lenses using the MC-11 converter. Only fiddly bit is the lens removal button, which is awkward to use, otherwise it works superbly well with my medium sized hands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good features very good auto autofocus and light

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 06/12/2019 by granddad dogkeeper (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because it was good quality and produced good photographs.I needed some thing smaller and lighter than an SLR with changeable lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera but...

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 10/11/2019 by Anubis2490 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: - Excellent picture quality in 4k - Plenty of setting possibilities in 4k - Amazing autofocus even video mode - Light weight - Excellent picture quality in RAW Cons: - No tracking eye focus in video mode - No face detection if external monitor connected (Samsung Galaxy S10 plus via wifi) - No 60 fps or more in 4k - No IBIS - Poor battery life - Touch screen limitation - Power zoom speed not adjustable - Rolling shutter - Using DJI Ronin SC focus wheel for zoom: not smooth Walking with gimbal (DJI Ronin SC) the picture is shaking a little bit (other cameras, for example the Olympus Pen E-PL9 is not) - any solution (firmware update)? - The attached video has been made with Ronin SC, Sony 16-50 3.5-5.6 OSS lens, picture profile 10, no color grading, no warp stabilizer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Super fast eye AF

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 08/11/2019 by squiggles558 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first foray into Digital, and I don't regret it. This camera has a large buffer and excellent frame rate for multiple exposures, with a fast U3 sd card the writing speed is not even relevent. Amazing subject tracking coupled with face/eye auto focus make it fool proof. Would recommend the use of Sony glass for fast focus aquirement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No manual

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03/11/2019 by unhappywithsonyX2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have lost count of how many Sony consumer products I have owned going back to the Walkman. I was always extremely satisfied. And then I purchased tis camera. Bottem line is I will probably never use it for anything more than a point and shoot since it does not come with a manual. That's right, $1000.00 and you need to buy a tablet or stay at home in front of your computer. I was annoyed with the purchase before I received it since B&H failed to ship it overnight as promised. I guess we are living in a world of diminished service.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

quality of the photos is great

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 01/11/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple days ago and loving it every moment of using it. great camera with great price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Mirrorless Camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 31/10/2019 by Andy CI (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Packed with pro features, a little daunting with steep learning curve but excellent Youtube tutorials. The lenes are quality but expensive. Works well on a Webill gimbal. I am so pleased I went for Sony. I bought as a pro travel camera kit. The only issues are battery life and it overheated at about an hour shooting 4K video. I thought this issue was fixed. Overall should you get an A6400 - Yes!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

I love the auto focus and the 4K results!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13/10/2019 by Combatron209 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this during Gitex 2019 in Dubai. I'm really a noob in taking photos and videos so I needed to find something user-friendly. The person who assisted me showed me all the features and asked her the mosts basics for me to avoid having headaches in tweaks and adjustments. And that's what convinced me to get the a6400. Though I still made some research for tweaking the settings but it was ok.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

15

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 05/10/2019 by Ben32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this camera. I upgraded from the a6000 and it has absolutely been worth it. The improvements to autofocus and the colours are great. Have yet to try the 4K video but so far I’m extremely pleased. If you looking to upgrade from the a6400, this is definitely the one to get

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

14

0

Totally cool

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 02/10/2019 by hjy9406 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its a so clear and beautiful awesome camera This is my first camera but really cool! I strongly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great auto tracking

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 01/10/2019 by attillo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great auto tracking,lightweight,affordable,compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

11

0

Small and compact but high quality

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 23/09/2019 by voxmasterblau (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beeing a viewfinder lover i was always looking for cameras with a glass viewfinder. the electronic viewfinders, so far, where not satisfying, but this one is! so i decided to buy the camera and i‘am happy with. Beeing a constant traveller, i appreciate the small package and the very good wi-fi implementation which makes it easy to transfer images on a iPhone and from there to IG or 500px. value for money is excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

6

0

Superb all rounder, for all skill levels.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 22/09/2019 by Smiler66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently to fit in between my pro DSLR and Ricoh GR III and it certainly hasn't disappointed. The image quality is excellent and the focusing is lightening fast and accurate. I have found the menu system easy to use and intuitive. All in all a fantastic all rounder and so easy to transport with a couple of lenses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

Extremely difficult to learn

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 19/09/2019 by cgunning (United Kingdom)

I had no idea how hard this camera is to set up. Not only that but the qr code needed for transferring photos does not work or is out dated!! Plus when registering USA is not listed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

11

0

Fantastic mirrorless!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 04/09/2019 by typezero (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have 2 of these - one with the 35 f1.8 & the other with the 24 f1.8 - i shoot video and photography & to be honest this camera has renewed my interest in photography & video - I want to pick it up & go shooting every day - love it! There are some quirks & hiccups when transitioning over to a new system (I'm coming from Nikon) but I'm learning to get used to the differences (picture quality, colours, low-light, lightroom issues etc) & just experience the camera for what its good at - a great, all-round & fun multimedia camera in a light weight package.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Great feautures!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 31/08/2019 by AMNAVA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love all the features in the camera. Photos and videos are high quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small yet powerful!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 31/08/2019 by aturpin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the camera for about a month and the quality of the pictures is amazing. It might be a bit pricy but the camera body is compact enough and it's very portable. I would buy it again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

In love again!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 28/08/2019 by Deadeye55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Came back to Sony after a couple of years away on Canon, really struggled with Canon, never felt easy. Now I’m back with Sony, it’s so much easier and much better results. Plus a great step forward for me from the 6000 to the 6400. Quality, speed and colour are gorgeous. Loving the 4k video and external power ability. A wonderful welcome home, thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Great City Camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 16/08/2019 by Hube619 (USA)

The Sony A6400 is a great camera for walking in the city to take pictures. I have walked 4 miles in the city taking pictures with it. Yes in the 90 degree heat in the city has gotten the camera got damp with me holding it close to my body, but it didn't get effected and the pictures at the 100,000 ISO came out great! The battery life of 400 shots is rather low, but not any worse than many small cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best consumer camera I have ever owned

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 09/08/2019 by Simpix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The auto focus speed and tracking abilities of this camera are amazing. Since retiring as a professional photographer in 2013, I have tried various systems like MFT and Fujifilm and the older A6000. This new body outshines all of them and for me is the best compromise of size and features you can buy. One small request.........PLEASE Sony, give us an upgrade to your 16-50 kit lens (perhaps with a fixed F2.8 aperture) and also a battery grip like on the A7 series. That would make my life complete!!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Excellent quality images

Body Only 08/08/2019 by Artifax56 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera and am very happy with the image quality even with the kit lens 16mm-50mm. However, it becomes even better with the 18mm-105mm lens. Am now working with the F3.5 50mm/macro lens to see how well the still life and food images will turnout.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2019

Hi, Artifax56! That's great! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Good

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 24/07/2019 by Xande (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I,m so happy with and I really recommend it I am very impress

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb Camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 21/07/2019 by Oldfeller007snr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this three weeks ago, upgraded my a6000, image quality is fantastic both with the kit lenses and a more expensive 80mm 1.4 lens. Never looked back since moving from Canon. Initially the change was due to lighter gear but the image quality was an added bonus.(Thought the Canon was good.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

All-round good, but a couple of short-comings

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 06/07/2019 by carol9 (USA)

This camera packs in a lot of great features for a very low price. The image quality is good and I like features like the easy-to-access (and customizable) Fn menu. There are two things that I find disappointing: - First, I don't like the noise in higher ISO. I even find 800 ISO far too noisy. I try to limit all my shots at either 100 or 200 ISO. After reading that this camera did well in low light and at higher ISO - I was especially disappointed with the poor-quality image at higher ISO. - Secondly - IMO, the camera needs another button for customization or an additional wheel. Having multi-uses on each of the very few buttons and wheels is not convenient. (I'd almost bought a Fuji because of dials & wheels.) Anyway, overall, I'm happy with the camera for now. Wish list: - Better form factor. I like the grip on the a6400, but would like more external dials and buttons for ease of use. - Less noise at higher ISO. -

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Moving from a G-16 point and shoot to A6400

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 06/07/2019 by Kangal3632 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I turned to photography as a hobby upon my retirement. I had a high-end point and shoot but I was unhappy with the quality of the pictures which had a lot of grain issues. I thought I had a replacement camera picked out but when we visited our local sales and service point, they demonstrated my Sony A6400. The Sony had all the features that I wanted and it was a used camera (90 photos) so the price was right. I was a bit frustrated at the beginning as the previous user had set it up for him and it took a while to undo his changes so I could shoot the way I wanted. I paid less for the Sony A6400 than I was planning to pay for a top-of-the line point and shoot and I have a lot more options. I have large hands and the A6400 feels very comfortable when I pick it up or use it. It is not quite as pocket friendly as my old point and shoot but it is no where near the bear of a camera my wife carries. I love my A-6400 and have not looked back. The attached photos were all shot with the 16-50 stock lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best of the APS-C camera out there!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 06/07/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's perfect! Compact build I'm really impressed with the AF of the camera. Fast focus images, videos are very good. I never regret that I bought this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera, but...

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 02/07/2019 by Ricky B (USA)

I tell people that I was a Sony camera fan before it became popular. I have been shooting with Sony for a long time. So, I am a fan. I bought this camera a couple weeks ago from a local shop. I was set on getting the a6300 unit this camera came out. I do a lot of outdoor adventuring and wanted a good, small reliable camera in the back country with me. The a6400 fit the bill. I also bought it because I have been getting into some video work and wanted a good entry level camera for quality video. I also purchased a RODE VideoMic with it as well. A week after I bought it, I decided to try out my camera for video; however my external mic jack is...jacked. It doesn't work. Brand new out of the box, it doesn't work. I updated the firmware. I tried other mics. I cannot get it to work. The built-in mic works, but not the jack. Well, I contacted Sony, and all I was told was send it in to be repaired. I bought this camera cause I trusted it. I wanted it for the summer. Not so it can spend the summer in the repair shop being taken apart and reassembled. Even the shop I bought it from has no provision for manufacturers defective cameras. So, ridiculous. Anyway, now I am either stuck with a camera with out the option of decent audio or send it in and just dream about having it again. A camera and company like this ought to have a provision for screwing up without it costing the customer a disappointing experience. I will still shoot Sony, but this was certainly a disappointment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

brilliant camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 29/06/2019 by Andyc247 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a very heavy DSLR and lenses with this lighter and more versatile camera. Having had Sony cameras in the past I expected the build quality and internals to be good. I am not disappointed. My next move is to replace the standard lens which is fine except that I want a lens with a slightly longer reach possibly the 18-105mm F4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not as Sharp as A6000

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 14/06/2019 by Steve2459 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I may have gotten a dud, but my camera is not as sharp as my old a6000. Unfortunately I discovered this too late as I started using it in place of the a6000. After a year I had need to use both at the same time and discovered the sharpness issue. It might be due to a glossy section in the mount where it looks like it was not coated with the same stuff that the rest of it was. Maybe light is reflecting weirdly giving it a softer look. If your coming from the a6000 be sure to compare the new model to it. Otherwise, the features on the a6500 are superior.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

7

0

The best of the best Sony camera a6400

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 06/06/2019 by Picoluvx19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What can I say I’m new on Sony camera and I Took some research and got the Sony a6400 with E pz 18-105 lens and I really love it good job Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says on the tin

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 04/06/2019  (United Kingdom)

A professional photographer (Glyn Davies of north Wales whose books ate linked to Prince William and Princess Kate)) told me about his used of his partner's A6300 occasionally when it's compactness is preferred to his other bigger cameras. My old Sony Cybershot needed replacing in readiness for a holiday in the Iberian peninsula. He highly recommended the A6400 to me and it's performed beautifully. I m still getting used to the manual mod

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Compact performer

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03/06/2019 by Rich21044 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed from my Sony A77ii because basically it was just too big and it discouraged me from taking it around with me, this one is perfect size fits in my pocket with the standard kit lens and is a dream to carry around after the A77ii plus it has all the features I'll ever need. The menu is a little difficult to navigate though and not all settings seem to be available as a custom functions e,g I wanted to be able to put focus magnification on the Fn option screen but you cant do that however after reading the manual (maybe should have started there) it appears you just double tap the screen (if you have touch functions enabled of course) and that does it. A little frustrated to find that the Animal Eye AF firmware update isn't available even though Sony have a competition running on Instagram to promote it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Great little APS-C camera with loads of features.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 02/06/2019 by Clickawaymedia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a secondary camera to go with my A7iii and chose this particular model for its flip screen. It's great for photos and for video, especially vlogging. It's a great camera for travelling light and fits in your pocket... but it doesn't lack on features. Probably the best camera in its price range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent features

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 29/05/2019 by Aitchyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the a6400 camera to replace my much heavier DSLR and have no regrets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fully featured DSLR

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 19/05/2019 by Jezza J (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m getting to grips with it but so far very impressed with the output .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera for Youtube!!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 16/05/2019 by jyswill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for youtube and it's fabulous!! Really fast AF and flip screen is best !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Crystal Clear Consistency

Body Only 13/05/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switch from Nikon 5300 to Sony a6400 was in comparison a night and day difference in quality when it came to the percentage of clear photos against slightly blurry photos. With the Nikon it was like gambling to get 50% satisfaction to an almost a 100% clear photos with the Sony a6400. As a professional producer and promoter of events I need to be able to trust the camera to make great decisions using AUTO mode as things fly by during an event. The Sony a6400 gave me the kind of results I could depend on for television and marketing purposes. I am super satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Failed the test!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 06/05/2019 by GabrielG (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved the little camera for about 8 weeks, the time it took for the control wheel to failed. Features and images quality are excellent, but everything fails if it's not durable. The value ain't really there either if the product don't last! And the customer service is bad, with waits from 6 to 8 weeks to get it fix under warranty. BAD EXPERIENCE.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
08/05/2019

Hi GabrielG, We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you still get an issue after the repair of your camera, you may send us an email at sonysupportusa@am.sony.com with your case number so we can review your file and help you further. We will also forward your feedback to the relevant team.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Small and was to handle

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06/05/2019 by Twinks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gradually getting used to my Sony with some good results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Video Bargain on the market - no time limit!!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 02/05/2019 by TommyzLBC (USA)

4K video is amazing for both depth and color space. If IBIS is not a major factor in your video shooting, this camera will compare with cameras costing far more. Finally, Sony has removed the 30 minute limit starting with this camera. Here's hoping they do the same with some other recent cameras (like the A7M3 etc.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30/04/2019 by JohnGill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A6400 2 weeks ago and what a difference to my previous A6000, the A6400 is just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great features

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15/04/2019 by Jamesie1930 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely pleased with this camera. I find it fascinating to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2