Starting at

$1,649.99

118

4.5 based on 118 customer reviews

74
35
5
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06/02/2017 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19/11/2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

119 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Decent camera, awful LCD

Body Only 18/07/2018 by Chris Wiles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm sure this camera is fantastic. No issue with the quality of the images. Moved up from a Canon 80D. My issue, since moving up, is the LCD. It's borderline unusable in very bright warm weather.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Perfect companion

Body Only 16/07/2018 by Edgart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had a Nex 7 and a a6000 this was an obvious upgrade to use my alpha lenses and the E lenses. There is little to dislike about the device, I added a battery grip to get a better balance when using heavier lenses like the 18-200 E lens, which mainly lives on the camera for walks in the red squirrel inhabited local woods. The camera is amazing in low light, the colours are still good, even at 6400 ISO, and the focus is fast and accurate. The low weight encourages me to take it, rather than heavier more bulky micro 4/3 cameras with long lenses. The Sony autofocus alpha to E adaptor allows me to use one of my favorite lenses from my a77mk2 the 16-105 lens, with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best camera I could have purchased

Body Only 07/07/2018 by Y24SAD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera for family pics and holiday I am not a professional photographer but have seen many professional wedding photographer use this camera. Image quality is best you can get with a camera this size. A lot smaller than a dslr but quality is same. You buy lots of different lens. I’ve always used my mobile for pictures and video but moving to this camera has changed the meaning of pictures and videos. The pictures and videos even com out amazing in the dark which suprised me. I know some people say camera has too many settings it does but you just get use to them and they are there for a reason. If you thinking of buying this camera trust me do it you won’t regret it and it’s worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Crop Camera for the Price

Body Only 06/07/2018 by Jimmy7777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Once you learn the complex menus and set it up this little gem is spactacular...and the video is even more amazing in 4K.....10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for Money APCS Camera from Sony

Body Only 30/06/2018 by REM01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought December 2017, so far it doesn't disappoint me. Encounter a minimal issue but I'm glad the service center able to repair faster than usual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing photo quality

Body Only 22/06/2018 by DS442 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love everything about this camera. The photos it takes and the feel in my hands. It is very easy to use. I had 2 break in 2 weeks when I first got it. The 3rd one has been great. I had some bad luck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tiny but powerful

Body Only 22/06/2018 by LeDung (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since I step into the photography world, I'm a Canon user. But after 3 years holding a big dslr camera, I decide to give a try on mirrorless camera, especially sony mirrorless camera. After selling my canon 6d and all my gear, I decide to buy this sony a6500. Step down from fullframe to crop body is make me really nervous. Yet, I'm still a student and dont have much money to bump into sony fullframe camera. But the quality of this sony a6500 really amaze me. That's why i take a risk to step down to crop body. I really love the image quality i get from this camera. Besides, the filming features is really good on this body. I'm quite happy with my decision. But, It is not perfect and still got things to fix. The first thing is the design of this camera, i wish the size of it could be similar to sony a7 III. So it could give the holding feeling much better and more secure. Besides, the battery is another thing need to upgrade or can you guy sell it at a lower price. Compared to other brand like canon, nikon, they sell the battery at the same price with sony but the capacity of it is much bigger (1800 vs 1020) and it could shoot up to 900 shot and even more. Another thing i need to mention is the screen. Why you only make it touchable only for focusing and not for other features. This a little bit weird. Besides, i wish the screen could flip like the canon 80D or fuji xa5. One thing i need to mention is the menu and the feature, the sony a6500 has better menu than the a6000 or a6300 but it still need time to get familiar with, still quite hard to use. Overall, this is a good camera and i'm quite happy with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

What it can do

Body Only 07/06/2018 by Chinaman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only have it less than 2 weeks but like what I can do Regret it and other Sony cameras can record only 2 size formats . I love square former and 4x3 so have to take time to crop my pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lite and great images.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06/06/2018 by Jaz18 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only owned the a6500 a short time, but easier and more versatile to use than my older DSLR. Easy to use for street shots, videos, etc and many features found on more expensive cameras. I have been a photographer for many year, this is a great camera for a beginner or pro. Takes a little time to adjust to the smaller size and learn features to fully use this camera. Worth it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a6500 is AMAZING

Body Only 05/06/2018 by jim27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

fabulous camera. great build quality and the image quality and software are fantastic. after a bit of practise with this camera the results are very impressive indeed. the only down about it is it doesnt come with a very good battery charger, i dont like having to have my camera physically plugged into a usb to re-charge the battery. but apart from that the camera is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera within a compact size

Body Only 01/06/2018 by BrunoGil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony A6500 camera combined with the SEL18135 lens is a great asset. It's compact and offers superbe features. The RAW images quality is impressive, even in low light. The JPEG pictures are excellent too. The autofocus is very fast and accurate in many situations. Great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality

Body Only 28/05/2018 by Johnbrandie (United Kingdom)

Bought a 6500 and a 16-70 Zeiss lens in December 2017. By April 2018 a fault occurred which required removing the lens for 30 seconds to clear. This fault became intolerable so both items were returned for repair. The camera was finally replaced with a new item but the lens had 5 items replaced. Totally gone off sony products due to this fiasco...expensive equipment and all had faults !!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

great camera

Body Only 26/05/2018 by Thanatoxx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got this camera like 5 day ago and I love it! I love this camera is super compact the built quality is awesome doesn’t feel cheap feels really good In your hand even for me that I do have big hands,menu settings is a little complicated but you get use to it,it has so much setting and so many great thing in menu that you gonna love it, so many pictures profile oh man the video quality is beautiful the battery life is average is your taking video so make sure you get a extra battery for photos I never run out of battery !!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

I love this camera

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 22/05/2018 by Peewee3568 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find the a6500 very easy to use and nice and light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16/05/2018 by billw917 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera a few weeks ago, upgrading from the a5000. I am still learning the differences, but what I have so far justifies the expense of the upgrade. Focus happens quicker. I do find the flip screen more limited than that on the 5000. Also, when in Intelligent Auto, I seem to have fewer options, but I only rarely use any Auto, sticking to P for nearly all shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My great compact mirrorless camera,,ever,,,,

Body Only 13/05/2018 by Kahimo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im very happy to have this little monster, very worth of money, im very happy to this beast,,,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great as a second video camera - less noticeable

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 11/05/2018 by bell2790 (Canada)

Bought this model in Singapore and traveled by cruise line through India, Middle east and Barcelona - Great second camera (use only for video) My only issue is the button to activate needed to use finger nail to video, its size needs to be more eco-friendly -

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quite complicated

Body Only 09/05/2018 by HJani (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera o months ago. I found is not user’s friendly. Settings are very complicate. Company want to give you too many options which very confusing. AF is quite poorly performing. In movie mode low lux lighting condition is not captured correctly.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 26/04/2018 by Taylordave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony A6500 it 3 weeks ago and it's awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very impressed with pertformance

Body Only 17/04/2018 by johnboy37 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as upgrade from a6000. Very impressed with improvements to handling, speed and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great expectations, poor experience

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 12/04/2018 by Aenaryon (USA)

main issues are the autofocus and the battery life. battery life it's rated at 320 shot, in reality, battery last, not longer than 50 shots autofocus performance are very poor, lenses mounted on this camera are all electronic that means more battery drain and slow autofocusing. many shoots I made were not in focus or missed due to the slowness of the lens. this never happen with the previus camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

The camera I was looking for.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06/04/2018 by GYUWISE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a 4K camera. Small, light and high quality camera. That is the Sony A6500.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Video Issue

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 23/03/2018 by swhaas4971 (USA)

I find this camera difficult to use. I actually traded a Sony Alpha a7-III because of the weight difference and my need for ease of use. However, as I used the video recording features, while pleased with the picture quality, I was greatly dismayed with the location of the recording button.. Why is the recording/end-recording button so small and why is it located at a corner of the camera which is difficult to locate when you are using either viewfinder to record . I found that I could not find this tiny button quickly and often had to resort to lowering the camera so that I could search for the thing in order to to stop recording. This button should be larger and located in a more readily accessible location, such as on the back or top of the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Lots of features - complex menus

Body Only 18/03/2018 by NickGolfDuck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very capable camera. Lots of features - I like the ability to download and use Apps like the time-lapse and picture style features. Menu set is complicated and difficult. The User Guide is NOT GOOD. Very sparse and not user friendly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This camera is the perfect size for travel.

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 27/02/2018 by Old Traveler (USA)

This camera can do everything. Just take you time and all the selections will make sense. While most advanced photographers use many of the manual selections the automatic selections help you never miss a shot while you are learning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb cam

Body Only 20/02/2018 by Tom Geo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love almost everything about this camera ( I don't like the battery life but that is no secret in Sony mirrorless cameras). First image quality is awesome, the AF is ultra fast and super reliable. The touch screen is a plus saves me the time of changing my focus point. The camera feels good in my hands, very lightweight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Camera, wish there were more apsc lenses

Body Only 18/02/2018 by Kmanphotography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera after owning the a6000 for about 2 years. I loved the a6000 but this camera is something else. Sony has put in so much refinement into this camera. Almost every feature is an improvement over the a6000. Aside from the big and obvious changes that everyone talks about anyway, one of the less talked about improvements is the sturdier e mount plate. With the a6000, one of my biggest gripes was that if you put a heavy lens on, there would be a worrisome wiggle at the mount and it made the lenses feel less secure. That is totally fixed with this camera. I do have a few gripes in general with sony though, those being that they aren't giving their apsc line of cameras much attention in comparison with their full frame line up or a brand like Fuji. We want more variety in lenses Sony!! We want battery grips!! I've been a customer and a convert to sony for almost 4 yrs but come on sony! Show us APSC folk some love.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 09/02/2018 by newtimes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very nice product, I do need to go to school to learn how to use it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Compact

Body Only 01/02/2018 by richard747 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Changed a large SLR camera for this Sony Product. The Electronic viewfinder gives a good representation of SLR viewfinder. Even with 16-70 zoom it is still only 30% of the SLR weight. Good Handling with a solid feel. Picture quality very good. No real down side to this transition

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic small camera

Body Only 31/01/2018 by WIlling65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extraordinary camera, and I wish the others in the A series had some of its features, most notably the touchscreen focus. But there are still issues with overheating even though Sony has added the 'high heat' select in the menu. After an hour's shooting in a reasonably warm environment it will shut down. Fix that and Sony will have a truly pro small camera which suits gimbals and the like. One other feature that would help is a flip out screen to the left...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic Images

Body Only 29/01/2018 by Willmas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the a6500 a month ago because I wanted to reduce weight from a heavy full-frame body to something easier to carry. I have not been disappointed with the results. Coupled with the 16-70 F4 lens the two make a " carry anywhere" combination and I am thrilled with the images. Very natural colours and sharp from the centre to the edges.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A fine camera for all abilities!

Body Only 27/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been researching this camera for the past year and now finally have bought one. Truly superb and I have only just started to try out the video. Good to handle, very fast focus and with a wide range of features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera at competitive price

Body Only 16/01/2018 by Standonman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a good lightweight camera and this fits the bill

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 16/01/2018 by Akirashiba (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light, great for travelling. Can do what a lot of the more advanced models can. Really pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This camera is amazing in all...

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 10/01/2018 by StoykoLY (USA)

I'm very happy of: -Picture quality -Video quality -Full control for video and photo -Picture profiles (more dynamic range of s-log 2 and 3) - Slow motion with manual control and high bitrate - compact body - Internal stabilization (perfect for my Nikon prime lens) - Option to power camera with power bank (this give me all day shoot with no problem) - And I'm very happy with my test on rainy night (*The rain is not strong) I shoot with no cover with 18-105mm F4 OSS G lens and dont have any problem after that. -The camera have to many things who I love. I cant write all :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pity about the touch screen and the lenses

Body Only 10/01/2018 by Photofinish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera, which is reasonable value for money. I would recommend it, but it has two areas for improvement. Firstly, the touch screen is nothing like the one on my Sony mobile phone. If Sony can make good touchscreens (and interfaces) on their phones, why not their cameras? The second area of weakness is in the lens line-up. Whereas, the A7r cameras have a complete range of f/2.8 and f/4 lenses, the a6500 has an incomplete set of APS-C lenses which relies on third-party manufacturers to prop it up. Finally, the installable Apps have not been improved to match the exciting features on competitor's cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A truly superb camera.

Body Only 07/01/2018 by Cav 79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traded up from the Sony A6300 to the Sony 6500 just prior to Christmas. I matched the camera with my Sony Zeiss 16-70 ZA lens, (a lens I heartily recommend as a good all rounder) The A6500 shares much of the ergonomics,electronics etc with the A6300. One of the main benefits is the in body five plane stabilisation system which I find very useful. An other advantage is the addition of the touch screen function, although as an older photographer I rarely use the screen other than a quick review of an image I could see the advantage when working with photo stacking for instance. The menu system is a joy to use, again being familiar with the A6300 there is not much of a learning curve. Images straight out of the camera are well balanced and sharp. The camera is a high end camera and as such in the hands of an enthusiastic/club photographer will not disappoint, Battery life I found to be adequate but I will always carry a spare. The build and weight of the camera is sturdy and very reassuring to hold. All in all everything works as well as it should. If you are new to the Sony CSC system it will take a little time to get to know the ins and outs but well worth any effort.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Impressive camera

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 02/01/2018 by Fabro (USA)

I am so impressed with how this camera performs! The IQ and low light capability are beyond my expectations! I've owned Nikon and switched to an A6000 because it was easier to take better photos because of the electronic view finder,, but the A6500 blows them both away in low light and IQ over all! If you don't crop an image,, the A6500 at 12,500 ISO give a good photo and real good at 6400 ISO! The silent shutter at 3 fps is amazing and the photo's are as good as when the silent mode is turned off! don't listen to the naysayers, this is an awesome camera! I am blown away and would not trade it for a camera costing double the price! Some of it could be due to the IBS, I'm sure but if your considering this camera, don't think twice, just buy it and enjoy the features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice camera, poor software

Body Only 30/12/2017 by BirgerNiss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used it for a week now, the camera lives up precisely to my high expectations. Very good image quality, very easy to operate. Light weight compared to my Canon 5DIV. Excellent for street photography. Transferring stills and video via wifi to PC is really bad! It takes forever to establish the connection (I have a super fast LAN), and very often the connection is broken during transfer. Transferring stills and video from my Canon works like a dream. Point of focus for 2018, Sony:-)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Very portable

Body Only 30/12/2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very portable purchase thiscamera as a back up to my Sony A9 I am very happy with both

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent but needs some tweaks.

Body Only 18/12/2017 by CharleyW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned this camera for six month now and used it heavily during that period. Overall I’m pleased that I’ve made the switch to Sony’s mirror less cameras. The picture quality for photography is excellent and the various autofocus modes do a great job 95% of the time. Shooting in low light produces great results. Personally I’ve used the camera more for filming and my videography work. I’m using three lenses with the camera, the Zeiss Batis 25mm (stunning lens!), Sony 55mm, and the Sony 18-70mm. I’m really pleased with the results I’m getting and the 4K, although taking up a lot of storage, delivers super quality. I’m also loving the 60 and 100 FPS modes for super silky slow motion. I have one gripe with the camera though and that’s its built stabalisating system is a bit glitchy. It has a mind of its own and can work superbly or have a bad day and stutter and jump at random points during filming which can be a nightmare and has on occasion ruined footage for me. As said, overall I’m glad I’ve made the switch to lightweight mirror less cameras. This needs a little more work by Sony. I’d rate it 8/10.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Fabulous little camera

Body Only 17/12/2017 by ViewAskew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera at a great price. It's a fantastic piece of kit, the IBIS really helps with some of the older Minolta glass I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

cool little monster

Body Only 13/12/2017 by drpixels (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't be happier with the photo and video quality of this camera really love every aspect of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera and fast auto focus.

Body Only 12/12/2017 by STMK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. Been playing about with it and it has a good set of features. The auto focus is super fast and makes switching focus fast and responsive. The burst setting is great with a buff for up to 300 images. Took some great pictures at the weekend of fireworks and did not have to worry about filling the buffer. The build in Time laps and hyper laps are also great. Only experimented with these so far but so easy to setup and use. So should results in some great video. Touch screen for focus is great. Would be nice to expand this to some menu selection or other onscreen controls.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Challenge for amateur

Body Only 11/12/2017 by perfectionist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Downloaded "Help" part of which could be simpler i.e.consider the amateur. Once I master I believe this camera will give me much pleasure. I'm a perfectionist!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great burst speed

Body Only 11/12/2017 by schishti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing product, the burst speed is amazing. The autofocus with a 85mm 1.4 gm isn't the best for burst, but is pretty good still. What would be amazing is if the silent shutter is improved like the A9 or A7riii. The silent shutter is really slow, with a really slow read out and slow speed. You can only shoot like one photo every 3 seconds with the silent shutter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

superb image quality and great features

Body Only 11/12/2017 by cypek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would have given it 4.5 rather than 4 if that was an option. the only interchangeable lens mirror-less I had before was a Panasonic GH1, after that I had a Nikon d5200 and now the a6500. please also note that I only used it for a few weeks, so bar far not used to all it can offer. so far I have a 35f/1.8 and 18-105f/4. my main use cases - kids running about, kids sports activities, general family photos (when I feel like carrying along something heavier than my phone) and videos of kids stuff. pros: light great picture quality great video quality very fast AF lots of features I did not notice overheating yet, but I never recorded for more than 20 min yet. battery life is OK (I have 3 batteries and that works well). cons: start-up time is not like DSLR (especially with a motorised zoom lens like teh 18-105) - this is my only real problem. if you power off to save battery, you need to provision a good few seconds (10+?) to get it back to ready. features need to be found through menus and buttons (and you have to remember which state gives what setting) - this is a matter of training. it feels like it was designed for the wide AF-A focus mode, and in other modes (like centre) it shows you there is a face, but you need to have it in the focus markers (or use touch screen) to get focus - that may be me still learning it. the UI (like the gyro display) is not 'live-fast' (I am not sure I tries the 120fps EVF yet. BTW, it took me a while to figure out the picture settings (had to download the actual full-blown manual).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Some huge features in a very small package

Body Only 05/12/2017 by jhmaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I am very pleased with my a6500. I bought it for video, but I am considering expanding the system and replacing my Canon stills kit (2 full frame EOS bodies and lenses from 15mm to 300mm). I have been working as a stills photographer for over 20 years and have used the EOS system all that time. Only now am I considering changing. As far as video goes the camera is also very impressive. On a one handed gimbal it is fantastic. Small and light, and the auto-focus does a great job. I heard a few negative things in reviews. Poor menus, battery life, screen brightness (particularly in 4K), touch screen responsiveness were all mentioned as was overheating. It's cold here so I haven't given the overheating issue a hard test yet but I have had it recording back to back 29'50" in 4K without problems. The batteries do go quickly but I have spares. Other than that those criticisms seem to be exaggerated. Downsides. NO CHARGER. That is just mean. I don't like the Play Memories stuff - put all the necessary stuff in the camera from the start. Panasonic does. Seems like a small thing, but the strap eyes rattle (not good for video) and need to be removed. Some manufacturers build in rigid ones into the body (Canon) that make no sound. I particularly love the fact that this is a very good stills and video camera and yet it is so small and light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So fast for sports.

Body Only 04/12/2017 by djshorte (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy using this camera. Its so fast for sports I catch 95% of my shots now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Performer

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 03/12/2017 by Walkingseed (USA)

I have had my camera for about a year shooting video, stills, wildlife and scenery. It has travelled with me from desert heat to Antarctica, chasing whales in zodiacs. Fast shutter speeds allowed me to freeze birds and whales. No problems with focusing on fast moving critters. I got it as an alternate to my A7 to extend zoom capabilty of ny 70-300 to 450mm. It works well in dimly lit bars and bright snow. Battery life could be better but thats what soare batteries and pockets are for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very nice camera! Great in low light!

Body Only 02/12/2017 by Rastapoliceman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily to shoot video and it doesn’t disappoint. The quality is superb and it’s low light capability is beautiful. It’s well made and feels robust. Most of the operation is very intuitive and the menus are easy to navigate. My only slight niggle is the size and position of the video record button. I’ve looked at allocating a custom button to this, but it doesn’t seem possible... maybe it is ? I’d looked at the BMPCC and the Panasonic, but the specification and versatility of this system made it my first choice. All in all it really is an amazing specification camera and I love using it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This really is a pro grade camera, superb quality.

Body Only 26/11/2017 by Luapmac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the superb a6000 and wow the upgrade is worth it. Really enjoying the addition of the touch screen and upgraded evf (electronic view finder). Coupled with the brilliant Sony 18-105mm F4.0 I am getting the best images ever. Take time to get to know the camera and you will be rewarded with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Quality Imaging

Body Only 25/11/2017 by Famous (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with this camera. Very quality images. I am new to photography and video and this camera has been a great one to learn on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Best APS-C on the Market

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 23/11/2017 by Jay Apple (Canada)

I recommend this camera to anyone who would like to move into the 4K video world and enjoy the simplicity and ease of use that comes with Sony Cameras. The button customization is incredibly useful. This makes shooting in the field fast and efficient. I use my a6500 for stills and video and achieve wonderful results. Go Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

the quality you`d expect from Sony

Body Only 22/11/2017 by timbo1965 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Video Great Lens Great Pictures I had to save to buy this camera but I wanted the best i could afford and this and the A6500 has certainly delivered on every front. I particularly like the apps!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 21/11/2017 by Cucciman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

During my latest trip to Tanzania I tested a Sony A6300 and I fell in love with the picture quality and its small size factor that is ideal for candid photos. So I decided to buy the A6500 as soon as I got back home. As professional reporter I work with travel magazines and I need an instrument to pair with my full frame equipment. I think that in many occasions the A6500 is much more useful than a larger and bulky camera. After all I need to be ready to capture a shot anytime and carrying with me the heavy equipment of full frame cameras with all the lenses is out of question. Sony A6500, specially together with the convenient 16-70 f4, is the perfect tool to have with me full time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just perfect

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 19/11/2017 by dev84 (USA)

It would take a lot of time for me to explain why this camera is perfect. I had nex-5n, a500, a5100, a6000 and now a6500. With this new model all shortcomings of earlier models are addressed. For example with a6500 you can manually (with one press of customized button) switch from viewfinder to lcd screen and proximity sensor turns on and off the viewfinder when it's selected, this way it's possible to have camera turned on with screen and viewfinder off. This was not possible in a6000, it was possible only to turn off the screen but the back light was always on. There is a lot of small and big modifications in a6500, it's a very high quality professional product - You can't go wrong with it! I use mine with selp18105g which is very nicely balanced with the camera, and a perfect fit to hold in hands while using it. Thx dev

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Overall a good camera

Body Only 19/11/2017 by Jon123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for the 120fps & 4K feature which I am happy with so far. A good little camera overall, however the menu system is tricky to get your head around. It’s compact size is also a big bonus - although it’s battery life is very poor - and the fact you only get one battery with this camera is disappointing due to this. Canon give two batteries with their cameras and there are functions on their models which I enjoy more than the Sony range due to its simplicity. The autofocus is okay - it works eventually - but I’ve found it to be slow on ocassions. A few issues, but on a whole I’m happy with my purchase due to the features it has as well as the cost being reasonable enough for my use purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great form-factor but disappointing

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 16/11/2017 by wrw627cinti (USA)

Several things exacerbate my dislike for the camera, e.g. 1. Deplorable battery life; just not big enough for all the things requiring juice; start-up lag time is a couple of seconds. 2. Fiddley little controls are ruff for old shakey fingers: the way some function suddenly doesn't work is often an inadvertent button-push that toggles an unwanted function 3. Rear LCD screen is impossible to read in strong sunlight - thereby hindering access to menus and adjustments like exposure comp! 4. Focus points should be accessible by touching rear screen, but that means they are reset to some corner by your cheek unless you lock them to, for instance, the center position. Focus point indicators very hard to see in bright sunlight; focusing via the contrast-detection is slow and fails more than in my Canon...an 8 year old technology! Phase detection focusing is only available IF you use the big A-mount lenses with an adapter!!! 5. Lens zoom ring and focus ring are virtually touching each other...easily mistaken if trying to touch-up focus; also, compared to every other ILC camera I've owned, mounting the lens to body feels "scratchy" and harsh - not precise. 6. Removal of SD card impaired by door only opening 90°: a finger nail buster. 7. In spite of largish APS-C sensor, the noise at even 800 DIN is noticeable. Stuff I've read says the new BSI (backside illuminated) sensors are the way of the future as they greatly reduce noise at high sensitivity. But, of course, that's another drain on the pathetic battery.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Simply the best

Body Only 13/11/2017 by Sonyboy 42 (United Kingdom)

Having had the experience of large dslr’s and struggling with the weight and awkwardness I invested in the original Sony e series cameras and lenses and progressed to the current A6500 and what a pleasure it is to handle and use, not heavy or awkward, quality is excellent and a joy to use, quite simply the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

Body Only 12/11/2017 by ELam (United Kingdom)

I am happy with all the feature from A6500 and is compatible with all my Sony E-mount lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just keep getting better and better

Body Only 11/11/2017 by Elliott C (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony cameras for a while now and I have recently acquired the a6500 and what can I say another great quality camera. I am still learning about the. Camera but so far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great but missing critical features.

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 09/11/2017 by Nathaniel007 (Canada)

Superior picture quality, but lacking some critical features... the sony playmemories apps are not intuitive and do not offer IN CAMERA 4K TIMELAPSE ability. I would also appreciate a mode to record AUDIO ONLY. And a way to assign the clear zooming function to the scroll wheel. These could easily be fixed in a software update and are features that a camera of this price should have by default. Lastly in terms of the physical design attributes it would be best in class by miles if it had a fully tilting 360 degree screen and a battery 50 to 100% larger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good

Body Only 06/11/2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I traded in my A6300 for it and it has lived up to my expectations. A very good camera. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile basis for system

Body Only 05/11/2017 by Mike565 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6500 as an addition to my a6000. There are two main advantages which it has over the a6000, IBIS and the ability to tag photos with GPS data. The in-body image stabilisation means I can get great results from all my old Minolta lenses. I have tried GPS tagging before, with a phone app that needs clock synchronisation between the phone and camera, and then using Lightroom to complete the process. The Sony app works by connecting the phone and camera when you switch on the camera, and the phone sends the GPS data to the camera when you take a photo, all via Bluetooth. Very simple, and works every time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 09/10/2017 by chopin864 (USA)

a very good camera. i wish the touchscreen will be better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Near perfect ‘Go Anywhere’ camera!

Body Only 09/10/2017 by Injun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A6500 was bought as a replacement or upgrade to my A6000, particularly for its features: improved sensor, 5-axis ISS, touch screen and better ergonomics. Indeed, A6500 has not disappointed me! Majority of my praises will already have been published .... so I would like to focus on couple ‘mods’ Sony should make via the next Firmware Update: 1. Ability to switch-off ‘Touch Screen’ option or make it a Custom Option. 2. Electronic Level display should larger and brighter. 3. Display short explanation of menu selection/option (see or similar to Panasonic LX100 system). Otherwise, A6500 is an excellent (near perfect) camera and I would highly recommend to any photographer either upgrading or from new.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love the camera

Body Only 23/09/2017 by N8ty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have very much enjoyed playing around with the camera. It has great colors and even tone. The biggest thing is that I don’t like the light meter as much seems to underexpose, so I had to adjust the metering modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This little buddy have all!

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 22/09/2017 by StoykoLY (USA)

This little buddy have all what I need for video and photo needs. Compact body, in camera stabilization, big sensor with 24MP, full sensor read 6K for 4K movie recording, slow motion, S-Log, Incredible auto focus, amazing low light performance and so many other things! I stop here because is to many things that I like :) p.s. For users who talk of poor battery live: I adapt 5200mAh battery for hot shoe mount and because camera allow usb charge I can shoot all day :) For overheat problem I test camera with 4K plus activated auto focus,WiFi, Bluetooth, External battery plus internal attached and write 32GB SD cart on one file with NO PROBLEM on 30 degrees Celsius.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little package

Body Only 19/09/2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent AF and IQ. Handy in the pocket and works well with E and FE lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lots of different features and options.

Body Only 04/09/2017 by Steve_t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because of its size since I was going on holiday to China and didn't want to carry my Sony a77 and lenses because they are too heavy.. The standard selp1650 lens is very good wide open and zoomed out (landscapes and quality holiday snaps) but not particularly good for portraits. More apsc portrait lens options would be appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0