Starting at

$1,899.99

13

4.3 based on 13 customer reviews

9
0
3
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best travel camera ever!

Body Only 29/02/2020 by NomadingNick (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera on B&H Photo Video (there is a student discount) I did about 5 months of research deciding on what to upgrade from my old a6000. It came down to 3 cameras, the a6600, the Fujifilm X-T3, and the Sony A7 mark III. After much research, hundreds of hours of youtube, rentals, borrowing lenses, etc, here are my reasons: SONY A7III (Full Frame): -In the end full frame was just too cumbersome. The weight didn't bother me at all, but the size did. I am a heavy, heavy traveler (a travel blogger). Let me tell you, I just finished a trip to 3 different continents (not including USA where I live) in the month of January. I couldn't imagine lugging around the A7III with the Tamron 28-75mm (what I would've bought) in my small/medium sized backpack; I wouldn't have room to fit anything else! In addition, the Tamron 28-75mm isn't wide enough on the 28mm end, therefore I would 1. Need to buy the Tamron 17-28mm in addition to, or 2. Need to buy the Sigma 24-70mm instead which is bigger and heavier than the Tamron 28-75mm! I've been to probably over 30 countries and i've learned over the years to travel light! It has made my trips so much more enjoyable. -So what about that awesome Bokeh and shallow depth of field everyone loves about Full Frame? For a travel photographer i've learned that too much bokeh is actually bad! Full frame is great for actual portraits, but realistically HORRIBLE for environmental portraits. When there is too much bokeh you don't see the surroundings therefore missing the point of that travel destination (not telling the story of the image). -Spend all the money to travel to Japan, but can't even see Mt Fuji in the background of the portrait because it is too blurred? Travel to Egypt, but can't tell that's a pyramid in the background because you're shooting at F1.4 in full frame? -I found that even on APS-C I prefer to shoot anywhere from F2.8 to F8 for environmental portraits. -Full frame lenses are $$$! -So full frame cameras was out of the question. APS-C for the win here (in my situation, yours could be quite different). FUJIFILM X-T3 (APS-C): At one point I pretty much settled on this camera. I played with this camera and the dials were just superb and it made shooting not just easy, but very fun (unlike that cheap plastic dial on the a6600). There is something very classic about all the dials on top that made this camera so fun to shoot with. I had used this (borrowed) camera with the Fuji 16-55mm F2.8 and it was sharp, color science was great, shoots at 4K/60, overall better APSC lens selection than sony APSC lenses, higher resolution, 2x SD card slot, higher FPS than Sony, AF-C custom settings, faster shutter speed (1/8000 compared to a6600's 1/4000), bigger AND better electronic viewfinder (EVF), and I can go on and on. So, there was only a few Fuji deal breakers that made me go with the Sony a6600... SONY A6600 (APS-C): In no particular order these are the reasons I ended up with the Sony a6600 in the end: 1. IBIS (in-body image stabilization). 1A. About 30-40% of my photos are at night or in dark places (cities, restaurants, lounges, etc.). When you travel blog you also blog food as well as it goes with the territory. And what are most restaurants like? DARK! IBIS in real life shooting helps me gain anywhere from 1 to sometimes 3 stops of extra light, that is huge. 1B. I shoot a ton of street photography at night, depending on the composition night time just sometimes looks better than day time. 1C. My favorite Sony (or third party) APS-C lenses do not have Image stabilization (Optical SteadyShot): Sony 16-55mm F/2.8 G, Sigma 16mm F/1.4, & Sigma 30mm F/1.4. Yes, full frame would have better low light capability but the trade off isn't worth the much higher cost nor the size for me. 2. Snappier, better autofocus than the X-T3, and eye-AF is just phenomenal. Ok, now you're wondering why an advance hobbyist photographer needs super, duper AF? You're right, I DON'T! But you know who does? The girlfriend who travels with me and knows nothing about cameras. If I want her to take awesome pictures of me I need easy AF to make her life easier so I don't spend wasted time explaining what buttons to push (a problem we ran into several times with the a6000). The AF is just better than the X-T3 for her, although I think both the a6600 and the X-T3 would suit me fine. 3. Smaller form factor. The X-T3 is small enough, but the A6xxx series is just even a step smaller (the body of the X-T3 or even the now X-T4 is pretty much the same size as the Sony a7 III). Again, weight is no problem for me, but fitting things in my small to medium backpack does. Also, the small girlfriend can hold the camera better. 4. Some added pluses that weren't the deciding factor but nice to have: Bigger battery, better grip for my hands, flip up screen. In the end all 3 cameras are amazing and I consider myself lucky to have all these first world problems on which camera to choose from. There is no camera better than the other, but yet there is a camera that will fit your needs better than others. So, find your problems and SOLVE IT! My problems were: 1. Needed IBIS because of all the low light I shoot in. a6600 solved it. 2. Needed a light form factor because I am set on traveling light as a frequent flyer. a6600 solved it. 3. Needed amazing AF so the camera-incompetent GF can use it. a6600 solved it. Your situation could be 180 degrees different than mine! Hope this long book helped! lol.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus on eye was bad

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 28/01/2020 by Surya20 (USA)

When ive bought this product i was expecting eye focus on video mode very smooth as afc in a6500. I was wrong! Autofocus in this model went so bad even i already put in slow for AF drive speed and standard in AF tracking sensitivity. Could sony make improvements for next firmware updates?

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

14 Customer Reviews

0

A fantastic APSC camera

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 08/04/2020 by S4Ducati (USA)

I have owned many a6xxx models and this one is incredible. I've paired it with the new 16-55 f/2.8G and the image quality is on par with my a7iii and a GM lens. In fact, the autofocus is better IMO. For me it's a a6500 on steriods.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great everything!! My 12year old boy loves it and

Body Only 25/03/2020 by Shemms (USA)

I bought this a week ago and OMG I love this camera! I had done my homework on the best bang for the buck and could not pass this up for starting a studio XZAC studios! I’m on a budget and this meets my photo/video needs! Thank you Sony again for a awesome product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

It's okay but expected better....

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 04/03/2020 by AldorPhoto (Canada)

I have been using the a6000 from its day one as my second camera for FF a7R. Finally decided to upgrade a6000 going to more advanced compact APS-C camera. My initial impressions are pretty mixed since from one side it is a step up from a6000 and first of all because of IBIS and better auto-focus but from other side the camera is not such good as I've expected and in many aspects it looks like downgrade from a6500. So my current thoughts are: Pros: 1. IBIS; 2. Much better auto-focus including Animal Eye AF; 3. Better battery. Cons: 1. IBIS and Eye AF are not such effective as expected; 2. Panorama mode and pop-up Flash were removed from the camera ; 3. Noise level and picture quality are not much better than a6000 (it is not the final verdict yet, I still testing); 4. Still only one memory card (not big problem for myself but it is what it is); 5.* Last but not least, Sony calls it a "Premium" camera, however, such expected (for 2020) and necessary features like Pixel-Shift and Focus bracketing are still absent which significantly limits usability of the camera and especially in Macro Photography area. Years old a6000 had some sort of in-camera focus bracketing through additional PlayMemories app but in a6600 even such capability was removed. Yes, still it can be used together with rails in studio but in the field (primary area of use of any compact camera) such capability is lost.... My current conclusion is: Sony a6600 could suit well as an upgrade for Sony a6000 (not going to other camera brand and continuing use existing lenses and workflow) but I cannot recommend it as a first Sony camera and, in my opinion in this case better to look for other model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One great Camera Light and does it all

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 01/03/2020 by sam311 (USA)

Bought this 2 days ago ,Camera is great I replaced my Sony a7III did not like it at all , What I need is something not so complicated as the a6600 . Plus much lighter that any other camera .Very highly recommended Great Price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Best travel camera ever!

Body Only 29/02/2020 by NomadingNick (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera on B&H Photo Video (there is a student discount) I did about 5 months of research deciding on what to upgrade from my old a6000. It came down to 3 cameras, the a6600, the Fujifilm X-T3, and the Sony A7 mark III. After much research, hundreds of hours of youtube, rentals, borrowing lenses, etc, here are my reasons: SONY A7III (Full Frame): -In the end full frame was just too cumbersome. The weight didn't bother me at all, but the size did. I am a heavy, heavy traveler (a travel blogger). Let me tell you, I just finished a trip to 3 different continents (not including USA where I live) in the month of January. I couldn't imagine lugging around the A7III with the Tamron 28-75mm (what I would've bought) in my small/medium sized backpack; I wouldn't have room to fit anything else! In addition, the Tamron 28-75mm isn't wide enough on the 28mm end, therefore I would 1. Need to buy the Tamron 17-28mm in addition to, or 2. Need to buy the Sigma 24-70mm instead which is bigger and heavier than the Tamron 28-75mm! I've been to probably over 30 countries and i've learned over the years to travel light! It has made my trips so much more enjoyable. -So what about that awesome Bokeh and shallow depth of field everyone loves about Full Frame? For a travel photographer i've learned that too much bokeh is actually bad! Full frame is great for actual portraits, but realistically HORRIBLE for environmental portraits. When there is too much bokeh you don't see the surroundings therefore missing the point of that travel destination (not telling the story of the image). -Spend all the money to travel to Japan, but can't even see Mt Fuji in the background of the portrait because it is too blurred? Travel to Egypt, but can't tell that's a pyramid in the background because you're shooting at F1.4 in full frame? -I found that even on APS-C I prefer to shoot anywhere from F2.8 to F8 for environmental portraits. -Full frame lenses are $$$! -So full frame cameras was out of the question. APS-C for the win here (in my situation, yours could be quite different). FUJIFILM X-T3 (APS-C): At one point I pretty much settled on this camera. I played with this camera and the dials were just superb and it made shooting not just easy, but very fun (unlike that cheap plastic dial on the a6600). There is something very classic about all the dials on top that made this camera so fun to shoot with. I had used this (borrowed) camera with the Fuji 16-55mm F2.8 and it was sharp, color science was great, shoots at 4K/60, overall better APSC lens selection than sony APSC lenses, higher resolution, 2x SD card slot, higher FPS than Sony, AF-C custom settings, faster shutter speed (1/8000 compared to a6600's 1/4000), bigger AND better electronic viewfinder (EVF), and I can go on and on. So, there was only a few Fuji deal breakers that made me go with the Sony a6600... SONY A6600 (APS-C): In no particular order these are the reasons I ended up with the Sony a6600 in the end: 1. IBIS (in-body image stabilization). 1A. About 30-40% of my photos are at night or in dark places (cities, restaurants, lounges, etc.). When you travel blog you also blog food as well as it goes with the territory. And what are most restaurants like? DARK! IBIS in real life shooting helps me gain anywhere from 1 to sometimes 3 stops of extra light, that is huge. 1B. I shoot a ton of street photography at night, depending on the composition night time just sometimes looks better than day time. 1C. My favorite Sony (or third party) APS-C lenses do not have Image stabilization (Optical SteadyShot): Sony 16-55mm F/2.8 G, Sigma 16mm F/1.4, & Sigma 30mm F/1.4. Yes, full frame would have better low light capability but the trade off isn't worth the much higher cost nor the size for me. 2. Snappier, better autofocus than the X-T3, and eye-AF is just phenomenal. Ok, now you're wondering why an advance hobbyist photographer needs super, duper AF? You're right, I DON'T! But you know who does? The girlfriend who travels with me and knows nothing about cameras. If I want her to take awesome pictures of me I need easy AF to make her life easier so I don't spend wasted time explaining what buttons to push (a problem we ran into several times with the a6000). The AF is just better than the X-T3 for her, although I think both the a6600 and the X-T3 would suit me fine. 3. Smaller form factor. The X-T3 is small enough, but the A6xxx series is just even a step smaller (the body of the X-T3 or even the now X-T4 is pretty much the same size as the Sony a7 III). Again, weight is no problem for me, but fitting things in my small to medium backpack does. Also, the small girlfriend can hold the camera better. 4. Some added pluses that weren't the deciding factor but nice to have: Bigger battery, better grip for my hands, flip up screen. In the end all 3 cameras are amazing and I consider myself lucky to have all these first world problems on which camera to choose from. There is no camera better than the other, but yet there is a camera that will fit your needs better than others. So, find your problems and SOLVE IT! My problems were: 1. Needed IBIS because of all the low light I shoot in. a6600 solved it. 2. Needed a light form factor because I am set on traveling light as a frequent flyer. a6600 solved it. 3. Needed amazing AF so the camera-incompetent GF can use it. a6600 solved it. Your situation could be 180 degrees different than mine! Hope this long book helped! lol.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Excellent focusing and iq

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 20/02/2020 by Cfcheuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to A6600 from A6500. Focus tracking is much improved. Low light noise is much less. IQ is much better than specification aline suggest. Very pleased with the A6600.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Simply love the a6600

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 01/02/2020 by arobi44 (USA)

Received my copy just before Christmas. This is my go-to camera for just about everything. Moved up from the a6000, which a a great camera. Size and weight are perfect for me. I highly recommend this camera -- it's just great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Autofocus on eye was bad

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 28/01/2020 by Surya20 (USA)

When ive bought this product i was expecting eye focus on video mode very smooth as afc in a6500. I was wrong! Autofocus in this model went so bad even i already put in slow for AF drive speed and standard in AF tracking sensitivity. Could sony make improvements for next firmware updates?

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

It has all I will ever need in a camera!

Body Only 20/12/2019 by seniorager (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for only a few weeks and I am impressed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great camera

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 06/12/2019 by Larry54 (USA)

He a6600 is a great camera. The picture quality is excellent. It is very fast compared to earlier Sony DSLR cameras. The new grip with high capacity battery is very ergometric. The 16-55mm f2,8 lens is very sharp and perfect for people and portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Very nice grip, very good build quality

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 22/11/2019 by Ingy50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just got it so haven't taken many shots but what I have taken I am very imprest

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Disappointment.

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 24/10/2019 by Nosfeu (USA)

Disappointment. I was waiting for Sony to make 4k 60fps. This camera is functionally the same as the a6500. The rest is marginally better. With this update, it makes no sense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

13

17

0

Fantastic Camera

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 19/09/2019 by ttrace (USA)

For me this camera is amazing. With the kit lens it weighs less than a pound. Took it hiking in Montana and great images, super light, fits in the fanny pack I wear. video is great. Great codecs. Has focus peaking and can put on old Nikon glass with a cheap adapter. really a gem of a camera even though a few years old now. Does not have an audio input, but I have a separate recorder for that. Am looking into the 6400 for audio and log profile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

23

0

Why doesn't the camera have a standard MP4?

ILCE-6600 / ILCE-6600M 17/09/2019 by 1Disappointed2 (USA)

Have you learned nothing from customer complaints about a6400 video incompatible with social media and mobile device video editing? Why does this camera have only Sony video formats? Do you not understand the common need to quickly upload and share in social media? Social media and mobile devices are not interested in Sony proprietary video formats.

Design

Average

12

37