177

4.7 based on 177 customer reviews

143
22
9
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect replacement for my clunky DSLR

Body Only 18/01/2019 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Bought this as heard rave reviews, and having tried one out. Knew I'd get on with it well. I do a fair bit of video as well as stills and like hybrid shooting. (the aim is to get an fs5) Its easy to set up and has so many customise able features you can set it up to exactly how you want it, i also love how you can send to smartphone etc and can upload straight away

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Half-brick Update

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 05/07/2018 by kt30 (Canada)

I wrote a review on May 30th a couple of days after I received the camera; probably my original review has been deleted. The camera had an issue with the shutter button from the beginning and it does not always fire even when it focuses. I even tried different lenses. After all those weeks I am still waiting for a replacement in Ottawa. It is sad that Sony cannot send a replacement to the shop where I got it from. I have been a Sony shooter for years, but now I have strong reservations. I have a European trip approaching next week and have to rely on a half-functioning camera and my old back-up which is a Nex C-3. Needless to say how disappointed I am with Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

178 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great picture straight out of the box

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17/03/2019 by DavidSonyShooter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After upgrading from the a6000 to the a7 and now the a7iii I haven’t been disappointed at all and would not only put it against a similar price camera by any other manufacturer I would put it up against cameras two or three times the price. This camera is great for a novice straight out of the box right through to professional photographers. If I had one problem with my previous cameras it was battery life though third party batteries were inexpensive but the a7iii has an upgraded battery which just lasts when you need it to. The bag of functions in this camera is immense and can give you an option for the shot you need wherever it is and the weight to feature ratio means you can keep it in your hand shooting a lot longer. I could keep going on about this camera as it’s everything you need and bought with the kit lense which is also fantastic is priced to destroy the competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 17/03/2019 by SmS Creations (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy access buttons definitely make it easier when doing events.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best jump of ship I ever made

Body Only 05/03/2019 by ScruffyBear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quite simply the most perfect camera for me as a film maker and photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best value for money!

Body Only 04/03/2019 by gadhvi1987 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a7 iii about two months ago and I've been loving it since then. I had been using the Canon DSLR, crop sensor, and was thinking to upgrade to the full frame sensor. The dynamic range of Canon cameras are awful and I felt that even modern phone cameras have better colors than some of the Canon's entry-level to semi-pro DSLRs. My main reasons for choosing the a7 iii are IBIS, 10 fps, best in class eye-AF, amazing dynamic range (very close to that of Nikon D850), good bettery life and and excellent ISO range for low light shooting. All of these at a good price point made me buy this camera. However, a few downsides of choosing this camera are (i) You will have to buy very expensive Sony lenses now, (ii) Body grip isn't deep enought to hold it as comfortably as you could hold Nikon Z6 or Canon EOS R, (iii) Lens mount on the camera has a very low resistance to scratch so please have your lens mounted on the camera all the time if you can, (iv) Doesn't have fully articulated tilting screen with full touch functionality like a Canon's counterpart. Menu system in general is still confusing but you will get used to understand it better in few days. But again considering the price I am quite satisfied with all that a7 iii has offered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful camera

Body Only 04/03/2019 by jwillyf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first experience of mirrorless and it has been revelatory compared with my previous Canon DSLR. The kit lens only so so, but the native zoom and prime lenses I have are brilliant. The lighter weight of mirrorless is soon cancelled out when quality lenses are attached however. A very configurable camera with almost too many features and the illogical menu system does not help, and why no multiexposure facility? Battery usage is not too bad. These gripes aside, this is a wonderful camera, well balanced in the hand, offering lots of creative potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant camera!

Body Only 03/03/2019 by Dinsiep (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decided to upgrade to full frame recently and settled on this Sony as all the reviews have been so good. Having now used it I can see why. Very pleased with it - best quality pictures I have ever been able to take. Also love all the extensive customisation options as well to really personalise the camera. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

every one can be a pro

Body Only 02/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its so easy to use that every shot is amazing. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 02/03/2019 by james11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed to sony mirrorles cameras over a year ago i started with the A6000 then A7 then the A7mk2 now the A7mk3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Video and Photo amazing

Body Only 28/02/2019 by DJ Skillmaster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying the new Sony M3 the video footage has been just awesome, I love the menu that allows you to store your favourite settings, well handy when you are taking video and photo at weddings etc. Nice and lightweight not too bulky.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 27/02/2019 by Kamil W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having this for just over a month now and its the perfect camera for someone who wants to start to and learn everything there is about photography /videography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23/02/2019 by Greekevangelist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in July. Amazing camera, low light incredible. Im an amateur, but this camera produces incredible photos. For family photos get this camera. Forget using your phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simply great

Body Only 23/02/2019 by Stuart517 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought three weeks ago, still getting to grips with the technology. What an exceptional camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 22/02/2019 by Luc 03 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I came from Nikon 850 and I am pleased to have a lighter camera with so many features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Definitely has the x-factor for a camera

Body Only 18/02/2019 by HowieP17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was upgrading my old DSLR and wasn't sure which way to go - conventional DSLR or Mirrorless. After quite a bit of research it was obvious (to me at least), that mirrorless was the way to go. I only had a few 'must have' features that a camera must have - with the top one being fast auto focus. Other considerations for me were easy of use and being able customise the camera/buttons. Battery size/life was also a big factor for me. I brought the A7iii in store as I wanted to touch it and see it in action - the guy that demo'd it to me obviously knew is stuff and was able to demo the camera's features that I wanted to see (and more). The thing that really sold it for me was the speed of AI focusing and also the ability to manual move the focal spot while viewing/using the EVF by means of the multi-selector mini stick in shot (i.e. without having to move my eye away from the EVF). Have only been using the camera for 2 weeks so far - and already have been out on a couple of trips and got some amazing shots. The A7iii to me is an amazing bit of kit - does exactly what I need and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Camera!

Body Only 12/02/2019 by Murphyphotographic (United Kingdom)

So this camera and me... I'm one of those indecisive people who has tried literally every system, Nikon, Olympus, Canon - you get the idea, for my portrait and wedding photography business! I must say I have really settled with Sony. I started off buying a cheap used A7 and the Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 (incredible lens!), and became absolutely hooked, despite all the negative feedback from others at the time as being 'apparently' not as capable as say, a Nikon or Canon higher end FF camera. I have stuck with them ever since getting that original A7 and every iteration has gone from strength to strength. So eventually I held out and took the plunge with the new A7iii. This camera though is really something else...its AMAZING! More than what I thought it would be! Everything I used to love of The A7 or the A7ii is still there but 110% more. Its a stunning camera with a great feature set and really makes you love and enjoy taking photos all over again. Got to say Sony, the Eye AF is unbelievable. Such an incredible feature for a wedding and portrait photographer and really allows you to free up your mind and become more and more focussed on getting the shot. The value at roughly 1800GBP is tremendous for a camera of this level. Try this camera out with Sony native lenses and your won't regret it! Love mine! all my gear is now Sony and I really couldn't see myself changing anytime soon :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera i ever owned !!

Body Only 10/02/2019 by vanRhine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Leaving 30+ years Nikon behind, but so very happy and satisfied with my Sony A7 III. My eyes are not getting better so i rely more and more on the screen. In combination with the sofisticated AF-system this beats the D750 by far.... Lenses are also great, started with the 16-35 F/4.0, 70-200 F/4.0 and for now the 'T' 28-75 F/2.8. Saving for the Sony 85mm and 24mm prime's....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My best ever camera

Body Only 09/02/2019 by Furty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago having heard the rave reviews. It has surpassed my expectations. The quality of image, the features, the ease of handling are all a joy to have. I've completely switched from Canon to Sony as a result of this camera.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Full Frame Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09/02/2019 by Kristapple (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Sony Mirrorless camera and I am extremely happy with it. I have also bought the 16-35 F4 and I’m using the camera for both stills and video. The quality of which are both excellent. The menus definitely need sorting out, but the camera is highly programmable, and I’ve pretty much got everything under custom buttons now, so don’t need to dive into the menus to often. But overall I’m extremely happy with the camera, and would highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very impressed with the a7 iii

Body Only 09/02/2019 by Clicky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because I'm into wildlife photography, currently shooting with canon, I am keen to see how the eye focus will work on Wildlife. If it works as good as it does on people I will be all in

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Eye AF is a game changer, ISO is amazing

Body Only 07/02/2019 by Sheila P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been very happy with it overall, so far. The A7III is my primary wedding camera, with an A6300 as my back up. (Also have a second A6300 converted to infrared.) The main reason for updating my camera equipment was the Eye AF. My previous equipment had a marked tendency to lock autofocus on a high contrast background, rather than on people's faces. Obviously, for a portrait and wedding photographer, this was problematic at times, and potentially disastrous. Having Sony's eye tracking AF is an amazing improvement, to be sure. I do wish the A7III did not require the extra pushing of a button to engage the feature. That is one thing that is a bit of a disappointment, and actually the ONLY fault I have with this terrific camera. The focus is SO FAST, and the high ISO capability is nothing short of amazing. The compact body is still substantial, feels solid in the hand, but not bulky. I love the tilt screen and have used it multiple times to shoot a group of people on the dance floor from overhead. For sports shooters, the high ISO capability allows you to use faster shutter speeds to get the fast action shots, and the subject tracking does very well there, too. The menus can be a bit intimidating as they are so in-depth, but necessary in order for the camera to have such immense capability for customization. Perhaps Sony will do a software update at some point, so that the Eye AF can be engaged all the time? We can hope! And then this camera would be absolutely PERFECT. It's pretty close now!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I WANTED TO LOVE IT...

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 05/02/2019 by Nazali (USA)

The positive first: Images are crystal clear with quite pricey 55mm f1.8 lens; image quality amazing; 24-105mm f4.0 nice enough; low light capability is super. "My Menu" and Quick Access feature nice. The not so positive: 1) tilt screen - too stiff and not quite adjustable enough – why not a fully articulating screen Sony?; built-in flash and battery charger included would have been nice; 2) 24-105mm is not ergonomically compatible with the camera at all. The lens is quite heavy for the camera, so not balanced and with poor grip design shooting created spasms in my thumbs. After shooting a dancer on stage for about two hours had to wear a brace on my right hand for two days after. Forgot my monopod and paid the price. However, shots taken without flash were much sharper compared to my friend's Canon. The following week, I was outside shooting kids flying kites for two hours. Now both my thumbs ached for four days. What a drag. 3) I'm not a professional photographer and not young so I don’t carry two cameras or a lot of lenses. I would have been much more amenable to keeping the camera if Sony offered a longer zoom - 24-135 or 140mm F2.8 as I take so many types of photos - even in the course of a few hours on a Sunday (family group, candid kid shots, peacocks, landscape, indoor chanting meditation, food, etc); 4) while taking video, this lens sticks when zooming slowly in and out so there is no smooth transition - unacceptable; 5) touch pad & joy stick focus unpredictable and unreliable - drove me crazy. 6) After doing so much research and finally choosing the camera I wanted, the menu was a huge learning curve even though I own an older Sony, so I took a two-hour private class with someone already experienced on this model which helped quite a bit. I really wanted this Sony, was willing to overlook a few things, but in the end, after 2-1/2 months, the relationship with this camera didn’t gel - the clincher was hurting my hands. Yes, I could have tried a grip but had already made a substantial investment in time, accessories, money. I needed more than a great image out of the box. I wanted to enjoy it, become one with it, like I have with my other Sony camera, but in the end, decided to call it quits and sent it back. I will have some beautiful shots and nostalgia (memories with the pain removed). I’m truly disappointed and sorry to say good-bye. I returned the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

The greatest hardware, with the worst software.

Body Only 04/02/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has managed to create the greatest Mirrorless camera on the market. It's only draw back is the Sony ecosystem of apps, and the necessary firmware update that you have to do in order for this camera to even read a memory card. You will love taking photos with this camera. You will hate interacting with any of the software that Sony has provided. Luckily, after the first few days, this will subside. Pro's: The camera, in all its form. Incredible sensor, auto focus system is just ridiculously fast, it maintains 10fps whilst auto focus tracking, low light, the feel of the camera (pinky grip is a great bonus) and the image quality. All flawless. Better then any DSLR I've shot. Cons: The menu system is huge, and reads like it's not written by a native English speaker. The camera required a firmware update to recognise a Sansdisk memory card. There is no battery charger included, you can only charge batteries in the camera, through usb so you can't use your camera and alternate charging. Updating the firmware required all sorts of firmware - I had to search how to use it as it just didn't work on a Mac. Any interaction with any software in the Sony ecosystem, ever. Even when posting this review, I have to come up with a "Nickname" that hasn't been taken by anyone else... *Submit* "nickname already used" *Submit* "nickname already used" *Submit* "nickname already used"...... In time, when I'm just taking shots and using other software, I know I will love adore this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Great for both photo and video!!

Body Only 03/02/2019 by JakeP95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For someone who shoots photos and videos, my last camera, Nikon wasn't great for video, it worked but autofocus wasn't helpful. Switching to Sony has made my career easier and gives me more time to focus on the creative style etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great camera, top quality images but.....

Body Only 01/02/2019 by Dadhairday (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the camera + 24-105 lens a few weeks but some great shots. Very clear from close up to landscape so a versatile option if you only have a budget for one quality lens. My only concern is dust spots on sensor already and I’ve only put the lens on once!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

I love this camera

Body Only 30/01/2019 by Suneet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought my new Alpha 7 III on New Year's Eve 2018. Decided upon this due to budget and a number of reviews I had seen on Youtube. I've not been disappointed at all. Sharp, focussed images, the video is crystal clear (built in mic is good, but I use it with an external rode mic. Image stabilisation in images/video is superb. I just love this camera so much. Can't recommend it more. The only thing I'd say is, don't buy it with the kit lens. Instead, save up and purchase a higher quality lens of your choice as you'd soon outgrow the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 28/01/2019 by Jeromesaha (United Kingdom)

Excellent product from Sony. I love eye auto focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 25/01/2019 by Ianc1990 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switched to this from a Canon DSLR. It can take a little bit of getting used to, especially with the complicated, unnecessarily shortened words menu, but you do get there in the end. The image quality that comes out of this body is absolutely stunning, and the complicated menu allows you to (eventually) change almost anything you could think of. It's just a shame about no built in intervalometer - a big feature that would be so easy for Sony to implement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features without durability

Body Only 23/01/2019 by Squidnuke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Feature are amazing but the random red spots that randomly appear on some photos only after a month of owning and all the complaints online about failing shutters and broken shutter leafs has me worried. i love this camera but i fear for its longitivity

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

the beast

Body Only 22/01/2019 by irsali (United Kingdom)

i moved from canon to sony and this camera is a beast . its user friendly. the auto focus is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

1

0

Great focussing, great image quality, no charger.

Body Only 21/01/2019 by Spilz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this for a couple of weeks now, I was originally pretty annoyed that there is no charger in the box. The battery has to be charged in the camera, which renders the camera useless when charging. I was equally as annoyed to find that the chargers are £85! The angular edges of the camera have already caused the paint to wear due to the strap rubbing against it. Neither of these problems would stop me buying the A7iii though, at the end of the day it's there to do a job, and having shot exclusively with Canon for 12 years, 7 of those professionally, it's head and shoulders above. The camera itself is brilliant, the image quality is amazing, and the focussing system is second to none. Keep doing what you do Sony. Please send me a charger ;)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Fantastic experience with my first full frame cam

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 20/01/2019 by Walshy690 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently and it is amazing. Love this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect replacement for my clunky DSLR

Body Only 18/01/2019 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Bought this as heard rave reviews, and having tried one out. Knew I'd get on with it well. I do a fair bit of video as well as stills and like hybrid shooting. (the aim is to get an fs5) Its easy to set up and has so many customise able features you can set it up to exactly how you want it, i also love how you can send to smartphone etc and can upload straight away

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 16/01/2019 by Foxy73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just bought this camera adout three weeks ago it is fantastic camera It is so simple to use and nice to hold

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

35

13

0

Simply Amazing!

Body Only 15/01/2019 by Grevis (United Kingdom)

I Bought this camera after I switched from another brand. And I just love the features and the quality which coming from this machine. I think this is the best camera on the market. I can shoot handheld photos from the night sky which is absolutely amazing. And the full frame 1080p slow motion ,with fast autofocus system the other best thing which they put in this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Brutal Design, Beautiful Output

Body Only 13/01/2019 by chet7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about a week ago, the A7iii is a major step up in many ways and step down in others. Still image quality and Autofocus capability are in another league compared to most other cameras I've used. These were the primary reasons I made the switch and I couldn't be happier. The biggest issue with the A7iii is a slight lagginess in physical control responsiveness. It's a nit pick to be sure, but it's lends to a very slight feeling of disconnected-ness from the act of taking a picture. The A7iii functions wonderfully but the physical act of turning the front and rear dials, pressing buttons, or adjusting the EV dial lags in responsiveness to what you see on screen. The concerns about the menu system being overcomplicated are exaggerated in my opinion. The features of this camera are complex and I really appreciate the ability to super customize the camera to my needs. Perhaps, adding some more explanation about what some of the features in the menu are would help. In the end, the quality of the image is all that really matters and the A7iii allows me to create the images I want to create with a higher rate of success than any other camera I've ever owned. Thank you, Sony for putting a camera of this capability within my reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Superb camera the best camera under £2000

Body Only 11/01/2019 by DaveB5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned for 2 months and have now sorted out my lens and I am delighted by the results I have obtained and the ease of use compared to other competetive micro four third cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Superb camera

Body Only 07/01/2019 by Davinbradley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to the A7iii from a canon 600D. This Sony is AMAZING! The focus system is phenomenal, the dynamic range is fantastic. Excellent full frame sensor. Best purchase ever !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

BEAST is an understatement

Body Only 06/01/2019 by ShotByDan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been shooting with Sony for a while. I was shooting with eh a7sii and it was amazing autofocus was not the best but I shot some killer shoots on it like Post Malone, Newsboys, corporate videos and many weddings but the A7III is awesome no crop in 120 frames amazing battery life (killed 2 batteries on a full day of shooting a conference) color science has gotten way better the shutter sounds really good and the 24mp is beautiful. Love this camera. the price is also one of the best parts!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful Camera; Significant Limitations

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 04/01/2019 by Mike0909 (USA)

This is a very powerful camera, no doubt. But it is ridiculous that it does not have Touch-To-Focus Remote Functionality through the mobile app, or a built-in Intervalometer. These are basic functions that Sony has left out with no sign of integration anytime soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

0

Great Camera in the Lab and at Home

Body Only 03/01/2019 by PapaB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Some of my engineering work involves RGB images under hostile conditions. We especially need low noise, high sensitivity, and consistent performance from several simultaneous shots. The Sony a7-III is the best camera we have used to date. We also use it more conventionally, where it is also a standout camera. Thanks for the back-side lighting and the design without a mirror - both are exactly what we needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Soo easy to use = User friendly

Body Only 03/01/2019 by Cruno 55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No need for complicated user manuals. The only minus is that it’s almost impossible to connect the camera to a WIFI network.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

love the picture quality

Body Only 02/01/2019 by Hypnomedi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a month working with the camera, I really love working with it. the weight, sharpness, colors . this is my first Sony. I have read and weighed many reviews , RAW files viewed and compared with other camera brands. I had my own brand for years ,and now I looked forward to the best price and quality for my budget. One negative comment in the reviews was usually that the menu is very complicated. I personally have no problems with that at all ! find enough videos and examples on the internet. You can set a series of buttons and your own menu so that the operation of the camera is only a matter of pressing the right button ! I still have a lot to learn with the possibilities that this camera has to offer, especially the use of the video capabilities, which I personally do not use much, at least for now. I am in any case very enthusiastic about the purchase, Plus points are photo quality, eye detection, fast autofocus, focus points and viewer. Minus points, can not really say a downside for the time being .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ideal full frame camera for enthusiasts

Body Only 01/01/2019 by RichieO (United Kingdom)

Bought this 2 months ago.. very pleased with the ergonomics of this model.. Pleasing results in low light photography.. Excellent colour saturation now I have the camera set up how I want..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 30/12/2018 by ColinO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera based on expert reviews and I'm very pleased with the results so far. The menu system initially appears complicated but after a while I found it easy to use and the assignment of particular functions to custom keys is really useful. It's a significant step up in features and capability from my previous camera so I was concerned this would not suit my needs - I needn't have worried. Glad I chose the A7 III.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image Quality even with the kit lens

Body Only 30/12/2018 by DrJames (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera with kit lens 3 weeks ago. The image quality is great. I had moved from Canon with a few L series lenses. With the sigma adapter my Canon glass works well with the Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Needs time to sort out best settings

Body Only 24/12/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago so far so good After switching from A cannon 5d it takes time to get used to

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Super Quick Autofocus

Body Only 21/12/2018 by Kangolman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the Sony Alpha range for many years and the A7iii is simply the best camera I have used to date. I am getting around 98% success rate in both street and action and the Eye AF is just amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, but needs better touch screen!

Body Only 17/12/2018 by TekHousE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for a couple of weeks. I researched this heavily before purchase. I have moved to Sony from Canon. I have been a canon shooter for over 15 years. The A7III is really good. Believe all the reviews praising this camera. The only real minor issue is with touch screen functionality. It is not possible to make the touch screen work for the menus! What a huge oversight really. The other nitpick is the menu itself. It is overly complicated. But then, the camera does have a lot of features. It just seems overly convoluted. I think that maybe in a few more weeks I won't notice it, but for a newcomer to mirrorless Digital cameras it will be a little daunting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 10/12/2018 by TadasV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like it so much! It's just a great all around camera. Downsides are a screen scratches too quick, it would not be hard to use quality glass such as the one for phones and proper touch screen integration is needed for it to be a perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 08/12/2018 by iamconnor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A fantastic camera, hindered by really expensive lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Value

Body Only 01/12/2018 by Harry00 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A gorgeous camera with an amazing feature set and competitive price, especially considering elements such as it's low light performance and modes such as 'Silent Shooting'. There's something here for everyone and I would highly recommend this camera to any photographer looking to take a step up in production quality and in the medium as a whole.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera out there for the money

Body Only 29/11/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're in the market for a full frame mirrorless - this is an amazing choice. At least until Nikon/Canon get to 2nd or 3rd iteration of their mirrorless options, but that might take years. Meanwhile, this is just a killer camera. Super fast autofocus, even in low light, great ISO performance, good battery life, IBIS, Super35 mode for video, 4k, etc etc. You can read all the specs online, everywhere. I was considering this or the A7R3 for some time, but honestly, apart from higher refresh rate EVF and 42MP sensor (which I would struggle to justify the need for) - the A73 beats it everywhere else. So why are you still reading this? Just go and get one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just two things I would like to change

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 26/11/2018 by martinhm (USA)

This is a great camera! I was looking for a successor for my Canon EOS 5D II and so far I'm very happy with this camera (thanks to the Sigma MC-11 which allows me to keep using my Canon lenses that I've collected over many years). I use it mainly for still photography and when the situation allows for it I prefer a "down tempo" shooting style where I take the time to adjust the aperture, focus, and exposure manually. I'll not list the pros and cons. You probably already know them but I'll mention two things I hope Sony will change in a firmware update. 1) Few aspect ratios. It is only possible to choose 3:2 and 16:9. Where is square, 5:4 and 4:3, etc.? In such a feature-rich camera it sounds to me almost like an oversight not to include them. 2) Aperture preview and focus zoom do not get along. From Canon EOS cameras I'm used to having a dedicated DOF-preview button. This camera does not have one but you can assign the feature Aperture Preview to one of the C-buttons which will do the same. This is nice for seeing how the photo will look if you don't shoot with the lens wide open. Another feature I really like is the focus zoom function that allows me to zoom in and see exactly where the focus is. Unfortunately, these two functions do not work together. If I zoom in to an area to check the focus and press Aperture Preview the zoom function exits. I often use a manual 35mm Voigtlander lens (with a Leica mount attached to an adapter) so with that lens it's not a problem because I can control the aperture with the mechanical aperture ring on the lens. But it is ironic that I actually prefer a fully manual lens for my shooting style over one with a native mount that integrates with the camera's electronics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 12/11/2018 by Salomon1 (United Kingdom)

I have the camera for two months now, and it is very good. I use it for filming and photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 09/11/2018 by tomh9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a good value full frame camera - any from the a7 line are good value. The 7iii is outstanding, very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product and value for mooney

Body Only 08/11/2018  (United Kingdom)

I'm so happy and brought this couple of week before

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7iii is a Beast!

Body Only 05/11/2018 by Uddini81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have upgraded from Sony a7s. This camera is WOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

WHAT A CAMERA!

Body Only 30/10/2018 by TimDTNT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A phenomenal camera with amazing features. The AF is spot on, Eye AF amazing... A wedding photographers dream

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

camera from future

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 22/10/2018 by dykumu vejas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a camera for the sony 7 III a few months ago. I used to be my colleague, so I was so familiar with the camera. I met the quality for commercial purposes, but I did not like the life of the battery. After this problem was released, I did not doubt it and drastically shifted from the other firm to the iSony. Take 5-year warranty, quiet shutter speed, dual-focus system, full-screen focus. fantasy Face Detection The focus on the eye system is also unrealistic. I was not going to put 1600 in the past to keep up with quality. Now that quality is up to 5000. Of course, there is a lot of determination for glitches, but to understand and what is needed. instruction is poorly informative. Plus, the battery is not recharged through the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Fabulous camera!!

Body Only 18/10/2018 by Fred55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few days ago and immediately put it through its paces by taking it on a short trip to Eskdale in the Lake District. This camera replaces my trusted Canon 5D Mark iii which is an amazing camera but is getting too heavy for me. I am so pleased I made the switch to Sony. The Alpha 7 mark 3 is as good if not better than my Canon full frame DSLR. I am so impressed with the fast auto focus, the quality of the pictures (beautifully crisp) and the eye recognition focus. This feature is a real game changer for me. I also bought a Sigma converter which allows me to use my Canon EF lenses (Be careful, it will NOT work with EF-S lenses though!). I bought this Sony camera with a Sony/Zeiss 24-70mm lens and the Sigma converter for Canon lenses from Jessops in Nottingham and I was very impressed by the service. Tom who is their Sony specialist was superb and gave me some excellent advice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

good

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13/10/2018 by SokPhin (United Kingdom)

i would like this produce so much ! and i will try take time with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

No brainer

Body Only 13/10/2018 by joaolpinho (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finnally arrived from my first trip with this camera and it delivered what was promised, good quality photos with amazing low light capability and a smooth slow motion footage. It's size is compact and when combined with a small lens it becomes easy to fit it into a backpack along with other necessities for the day, BUT when using a lens like for instance the GM 24-70mm f2.8 you start to feel like there could be 2 more centimetres in height to enable you to grab the camera with all your fingers. Now, I have to say that when shooting all my fingers are accounted for on the camera, but when reveiewing or walking with the camera in my hand my pinky starts feeling lonely on the bottom of the camera. Overall it is a great great product, the best value for money right now. I just wont give it 5* for the size issue (even though mirrorless are supposed to be small they don't need to be the minimum size possible) and also for the body that could feel more heavy duty like the DSLR cameras feel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Awesome gear

Body Only 12/10/2018 by Youdonneedtoknow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great auto white blalance, great ergonomic great sensor, great dinamic range. just need something to cover the senzor when changing lenses, i have sony 7 iii for two weeks now and I have dust spots on my sensor,that's something what needs to be develop and fix the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Speedy focus

Body Only 12/10/2018 by gordonelll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This still a recent purchase and I am coming from Canon DSLRs so am still on a learning curve but so far everything I read seems spot on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very disappointing

Body Only 11/10/2018 by fabio_dell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bough this A7 MIII one month ago after a long research on the web. I come from a Nikon D7100 and I wanted to switch to a higher performance camera. In the beginning I was not so convinced about going for a Full Frame camera but after many many hours spent watching reviews and reading specs, the INTERNET convinced me to for a SONY A7 III + Tamron 28-75 f2.8. They were saying "it's worth 2000$ more it's worth more than a D850 which cost much more...". For these lenses reviews were sensational as well. Once received my sony and unboxed, it seemed to me to have a cheap camera in my hands. Mounting the lenses I noticed a weird friction but at the end the lenses mounted easily, it was just a strange feeling. Now going straight to the point I will summarize here the good and the bad points: GOOD POINTS: - Low light performances during videos. Here I'm really impressed by this camera, I never seen something like that before. - Very good ergonomics. I have medium hands and the camera fits perfectly in them. BAD POINTS: - I thought AF speed was much faster especially during videos. With photos, my Nikon D7100 was faster than sony. About videos I really can't compare but I expected a much higher speed. - During video recording, if there are several people in in the shot, the camera continuously changes focus from a person to another one because maybe it choose that another face is better than the previous one. - EYE autofocus once catched, is very unstable and the little square appears and disappears continuously. It's confusing during the shot. - Center lock on AF is not very stable on the subject and actually you can't trust it. Sometimes the focus on the subject it's not very accurate, sometimes it is completely lost. - Turn on time very slow compared with my D7100 (2 seconds and strange noises happening during this time). - Very expensive lenses. - Low monitor quality: not so big, not so bright. The resolution is not very high considering this will be your main window on the world. The space for the monitor has not well optimized considering the total space available. - Viewfinder has different colors than the monitor. Here the resolution is even lower than the monitor and looking through that it's very irritating. - Smartphone APP very poor. It's almost impossible to use that for professional purpose. You only can use that like a game. - Maybe my unit is defective but there is a problem with the SD card slot 1. Inserting the SD card is not very easy. In my case to attach the SD card you have to push very deep with fingernails. Sometimes it happens that when you turn the camera ON for a couple of seconds it shows "NO CARD" message. Some other times it is ok. So now I'm very disappointed with this camera, it seems to be a game where time after time I discover a new defect with this camera. It seems to me like a fake Ferrari, where maybe there is something really taken from a Ferrari. The rest is taken from FIAT. Nevermore SONY, I'm really sorry about that, I almost want to cry.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

9

0

Amazing all round performance and features.

Body Only 03/10/2018 by I3R0k3N7FEET (United Kingdom)

I bought this just as the Canon EOS R came out, and I was very tempted to go for the Canon, would have saved a little money over the A7III + the 24-105 G lens. however, I am glad I went with Sony, despite a few niggly problems, such as 1. it is heavy! 2.non flippy screen! 3. takes a while to get around the UI. 4. takes a little while to get used to the focus modes and how they can change. 5. the 'weather sealing' is a little underwhelming. the fact is, this thing takes amazing shots all thanks to that sensor, and right now for my uses, that sensor means everything, when combined with the fantastic range of lenses available, this simply captures the moments I want regardless of lighting conditions. I have barely got used to it and am blown away, and the battery life is fantastic. The primary things that would make this 5 stars is, a full flippy screen, and an improved UI, but on that latter note, its far better than Nikon's UI. Overall Glad I went to Sony, and this camera delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Excellent camera. Very fast autofocus! Love it!

Body Only 03/10/2018 by Gert1972 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago. Still very happy that i got it. I really love the camera with my tamron 28-75mm F2.8 lens. Very fast! Awesome photo quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7 111 What a camera

Body Only 26/09/2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a camera! leave Nikon and Canon for dead This is the best camera I have ever own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fast focussystem and many possibilities

Body Only 25/09/2018 by Revodiver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

with the different focusing systems it really easy to make pin sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A World Of Difference From My Nikon DSLR

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 24/09/2018 by dem_crumblies (Canada)

I finally purchased a full frame camera, and while I have always been a Nikon user, I wish I made the jump to Sony earlier. The camera feels good in my hands, solidly built and it has been what was missing in my life. Love the dual SD card slots. I easily adjusted to shooting with the monitor instead of the viewfinder, makes a world of difference seeing shooting with the screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing top quality in every way!

Body Only 23/09/2018 by JaWalUk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing. Sharp. Detailed images. Ergonomics, buttons, switches are fantastic. Battery life amazing. Beautiful upgrade from my previous APSC cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

An awesome camera !

Body Only 20/09/2018 by Emgee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and i used it at a wedding for video. I am still learning this camera but I am in love with it so far. It brings a lot of value to my projects. It is a well built camera with magnificent capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0